The Green Hornet

The Green Hornet Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 455 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Britt Reid, son and heir to Los Angeles' largest newspaper fortune, is a rich, spoiled playboy who has been happy to maintain a direction-less existence. When his father James Reid dies, Britt meets an impressive and resourceful company employee, Kato. They realize that they have theBritt Reid, son and heir to Los Angeles' largest newspaper fortune, is a rich, spoiled playboy who has been happy to maintain a direction-less existence. When his father James Reid dies, Britt meets an impressive and resourceful company employee, Kato. They realize that they have the resources to do something worthwhile with their lives and finally step out of James Reid's shadow. Kato builds the ultimate weapon, The Black Beauty, an indestructible car with every weapon imaginable and Britt decides that in order to be heroes, they will pose as villains. With the help of Britt’s new secretary, Lenore Case, they learn that the chief criminal in the city is named Benjamin Chudnofsky. He has united all the gangs under his power, and he quickly sees that the Green Hornet is a direct threat to the prosperous criminal underworld he controls. (Sony Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jan 12, 2011
    80
    The film is a blast.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 12, 2011
    75
    A big, boisterous action-comedy - a funny, exciting and intentionally goofy summer movie that just happens to arrive in the middle of January.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jan 14, 2011
    67
    Has enough kicks and verve to keep the winter blues at bay, at least for a little while.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 13, 2011
    50
    Too much. Too numbing. Too coy. And ultimately too violent.
  5. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    The Green Hornet is what you get when someone who dropped out of high school to do standup comedy, then spent a decade in movies and television, conceives a Hollywood "passion project." [24 Jan. 2011, p. 82]
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jan 14, 2011
    38
    The high point might be the opening scene, before the stars arrive on screen.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jan 13, 2011
    0
    May not be the most tedious superhero movie ever - the competition is admittedly tough - but it is certainly in the running.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 127
  2. Negative: 33 out of 127
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG.I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG. Geez, how many times have critics underrated movies? Anyways, the movie was great, acting was great, action was excellent, and overall just plain badass and worth your time. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    There is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it'sThere is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it's indescribable. So . . . See it. End of story. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

    I brought a friend of mine
    I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

    I brought a friend of mine with me and he thought the same way he thought the movie was good.

    The 3-D was post converted, after the movie i was like it did not need to be in 3-D.
    I thought the green hornet was pretty good
    Collapse
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    6
    Let me be honest, I didn't expect this movie to be somewhat close to a decent superhero movie, but surpisingly, it was still enjoyable. ILet me be honest, I didn't expect this movie to be somewhat close to a decent superhero movie, but surpisingly, it was still enjoyable. I mean, who would have expected Seth Rogen to play an iconic superhero. But somehow, it works. But there were some problems with this movie. One, some of the martial arts sequences look really cheesy. Second, the storyline is stale. I mean, the father being framed of dying from a bee sting, I just don't understand. Third, Christoph Waltzs' portrayl as Chudnofsky. He went from being a tremendous actor in "Inglorious Basterds" to this. His portrayl just did not impress me. But on the other hand, it has some good moments. The action was amazing, their was some surprisingly good humor and Jay Chou, "Kato" kicks-butt. Overall, this superhero movie has things to love and hate at the same time, but it still tends to be enjoyable. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    This movie is a mix of crap and pure genius, with unbelievable action stunts, random jokes and the 'bro' thing. It went too fast, but it wasThis movie is a mix of crap and pure genius, with unbelievable action stunts, random jokes and the 'bro' thing. It went too fast, but it was deadly enough but yet kinda lame. This movie is so bipolar its hard to even write a few sentences about it. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    4
    Simply boring. I expected more from Seth Rogen, or did he just to this for the money?
    I'm not sure that it's political correct to have an
    Simply boring. I expected more from Seth Rogen, or did he just to this for the money?
    I'm not sure that it's political correct to have an asian actor to be a driver for a rich man in 2011.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    Easily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears noEasily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears no semblance to the fantastic TV and radio shows it pretends to be based upon. Written by troglodytes and acted by a gaggle of abrasive creeps with an end result on par with the very worst of the worst films in cinema history. Shameful, unfunny, repellent, shoddy and insincere buck-grabbing at its most egregious. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2011 Winter Movie Scorecard

    2011 Winter Movie Scorecard Image
    Published: March 7, 2011
    With the winter movie season officially over, we highlight the best and worst films of early 2011, and evaluate box office performance for the year so far.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: May 2011

    DVD Release Calendar: May 2011 Image
    Published: April 28, 2011
    Our handy calendar lists the film and television DVD and Blu-ray releases coming in May, from "The Green Hornet" to season three of "True Blood."
  3. Film Friday: The Week’s Biggest Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: The Week’s Biggest Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 25, 2010
    Our weekly roundup of news about upcoming films is loaded with new trailers, including the first looks at the Bruce Willis-starring "Red," Seth Rogen's take on "The Green Hornet," the upcoming comedy sequel "Little Fockers," and the George Clooney-starring "The American."
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.