User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 379 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 379

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2012
    3
    A rather depressing movie. More of a rant at God than anything else in my opinion. I think the message that it was trying to deliver shot itself in its foot. It portrayed a group of men, thrown into a terrible and life threatening situation, with the odds stacked against them (throw a couple of super, mutated wolves into the mix ^^). Each one of these seven plain crash survivors die horrific and brutal deaths...nature was truly unforgiving to them. The suffering these characters endured can well be related to what people experience everyday, but can be dealt with differently, and this I think is where the movie fails miserably. Liam Neeson's character comes to the conclusion that because God doesn't help him in his horrible situation, therefore God doesn't exist and life, suffering, and ultimate death is all meaningless. From humanities limited and finite understanding, this is a reasonable evaluation and mindset BUT on the other hand, very juvenile and naive as humanity does not have all the answers. In light of the latter point, selling God short as portrayed in this movie was ignorant and cheap shot in the philosophical ring. What is suffering in a finite period of time, compared to ETERNAL joy and happiness? It is but a mere flicker in time. The two cannot be compared, especially over a divine plan. Perhaps Liam Neeson's character should have pulled the trigger in the beginning. It would have saved me from watching the most depressing movie ever made. Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    2
    Repetitive and disappointing. Predictable. Cliche'd horror-like-B-movie death of characters picked off one by one by pore CGI wolves. To boot, and most unsatisfying, it was concluded with fade-to-black anticlimactic and severely premature ending. Not worth your time.....
  3. May 24, 2012
    10
    A movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that's not for everyone, but for some, you'll find yourselves a new poem to recite (you'll get my meaning once you watched the whole movie). Expand
  4. May 19, 2012
    6
    Bit too obvious outcome. The ending was revealed like 15 min into the film. Only thing that makes this movie watchable is Liam Neason. Everything that guy touches turns to gold. So it could have been allot better if the story line wasn't given in the beginning.
  5. May 24, 2012
    7
    If you are looking for an epic Liam Neeson film, I don't recommend this one. I chose to give this film a 7, because it's the first time that I have seen Liam Neeson portray such a deep character (besides in Schindler's List, ofcorse). I personally enjoy Neeson's films where he plays these kinds of rolls..where we can actually see him act. Don't get me wrong, Star Wars and Taken were great movies, but in this film you get to witness Neeson taking on every day life issues that many of us face: fear of death. Neeson is tested in his strength, knowledge, and faith as he battles the bitter freezing cold in Alaska after his plane crashes. I would watch it again, but I would not pay for it again. Great movie to see if you truly love Liam Neeson. Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    5
    Weird movie, and by weird i mean a movie that make no freaking sense at all no matter how you slice it, the wolves are completely unnatural and have superpowers
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film is an obvious metaphor for God's existence and whether or not these so called criminals and bad guys can get a second chance. First off it explains how this area are for only tough oil riggers, you assume that Liam Neeson's character must be one of them. Everyone else has some type of bad baggage and you are lead to think Liam Neeson must to. Then the plane crashes and the men must fight for their second chance. The wolves are the final test for these men to prove themselves worthy, in a sense. Blaintantly, it raised the question is God real? If Liam Neeson fights off these wolves, then God is real, as he gave him a second chance. If he dies, then God is not real. The movie is definite food for thought packed with action scenes and some emotionally tolling sequences. Expand
  8. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    The feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes in this film, I ultimately feel that everything they contribute could be done by simply using the elements. The reason this matters to me is because most of the havoc that the wolves are causing ring false to me and take away from the characters who need to be fleshed out much more than they ever are. In the end I think that is what keeps this movie that is trying to say a lot about life from saying much of anything at all. Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Start was good, but than- directors show that they are complete idiots, go and explore nature you **** good movie. ask hunters or people who live in farms, wolfs never do that things witch you can see in movie. i'm hunter and know that. i was disappointed. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I love Liam Neeson, great movie .
  11. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The best movie ever, I just loved it, Its great! Great work by Liam Neeson and i get scared by those wolves Just the best movie of all times
  12. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    I saw Jon Stewart interview Liam Neeson for this film, and he wisely avoided talking about this terrible film. The wolves are evil cartoons, any 14 year old would know their behavior is completely unrealistic. The dialogue is written at a grade 5 level (who could possibly write such drivel?). I kept waiting for the story I had hoped for, a Jack London yarn of Alaska in winter, or a Farley Mowatt fable of men lost in the barren lands. Instead I was served a film that seems to have had no script, no plot, and no plan, and a complete disregard for the characters and the audience. Expand
  13. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    I expect a lot when I hear see Liam Neeson's name in a film but this film was very slow-paced and boring at some points. It couldn't gather my attention nor there were any horrifying moments when it comes to survival thrillers. Main theme was very good, like the plane crashing and being stuck in the middle of nowhere, but this film could not generate that charm.
  14. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    While The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). The film has a troubling start until the wolves arrive and it suffers from a very slow middle act. It also doesn't have characters that we like, believe, or care about, but we still hope that the idea of these men as a group could make it. On the positive side, there's Neeson, dealing out effortlessly cool machismo vibes with a hint of doggedly tired age. He is worth a glance here. Plus, as I already said, he gets to punch wolves. Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    Without a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability to ambush in flawless battle-line formations, make an incredible ammount of noise in the woods, repell down clifs and viciously seek human blood with historically uncharacteristic flair. A 12 year old child with acceas to Animal Planet could point out the shockingly unrealistic portrayal of wolves here. Expand
  16. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Grey is directed by Joe Carnahan with style. This is one of the best survival films I Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Oh man, was this movie depressing. But, it was fantastic. A movie about facing death, and how it can come at any moment. The movie teaches us to cherish one very important thing: Life itself.
  18. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Awsome movie, loved it but i dont get it why the wolves didnt group up and didnt attack them right away they were like some supernatural monsters who secretly killed them one by one.
  19. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    It shows exactly, exactly what is real. When Liam asked God for help, he meant that. However, nothing happened. That's exactly what happens in real. God doesn't do miracles. You have to do it yourself. That's my best part of this movie.
  20. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Not what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of well worn territory and this is no exception. The film starts very slowly, almost dreamlike, but follows with a very real plane crash and its aftermath, neeson and co. then have to trek through the wilderness avoiding the wolves that seem to be tracking them. The film lulls slightly here but picks up in the second half and gradually draws you in, credit to carnahan for making the situation very real and believable, with a harshness that runs right through to the end. The film has a lot of minor quibbles and is definitely not a regular mainstream watch, but caught in the right mood it has some interesting things to say and says them very well indeed. Expand
  21. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that
    feeling. He may be a bit full of himself and on the macho side but he's got a movie to be proud of. This is the best Neeson movie since Schindler's List. Expand
  22. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This movie was great everything was great.everyone performance was great.the story was great but i didn't understood what happened in the end so i am recommending on seeing this movie
  23. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look cool, but they fail to impress me on an intellectual level. Now, here we have "The Grey". This movie is a departure from Joe Carnahan's style. . .in a good way. This movie is toned down to a much more believable level and it has substance. A great script that has not only great dialogue and characters, but this movie's script possesses very deep philosophical and poignant moments. I walked into this film feeling that my heart strings wouldn't be threatened. This movie tugged at them up a great deal. Liam Neeson gives the best performance I've ever seen him give. I honestly thought that Neeson would be the typical badarse he's been fond of playing as of late, but his character (and all of the other as well) is so multi-dimensional, complex, and most importantly, real. The soundtrack is as touching as it is chilling. Joe Carnahan proved me wrong. This movie is a phenomenally entertaining, moving, thrilling piece of cinema. I implore everyone to go see it. Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is neither action nor survival, but rather an existential portrait. It showcases a small band of engaging and sometimes mysterious characters, and as time progresses and their numbers dwindle, the cloud of death looms ever darker above them, and they must each in their own way confront it. Their responses range from heartfelt, to tragic, to calm acceptance, and is quite the graceful psychological study. Of course, the movie's ultimate tale is of a man who goes down fighting, even though he has absolutely nothing left to fight for, and is an incredibly moving testament to how important life and existence themselves are to us, and that even in our darkest hours, there is still a darker hour before us that we might fear above all else. It's as an inspiring film as it is depressing, and a truly wonderful gem that well deserves a good long look. Expand
  25. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone had had tried to convince me to watch a film about a group of men fighting for survival after a plane crash in the dead of winter in Alaska while a pack of wolves were on the hunt, I would have laughed in their face. With that being said, I thought this was a really good film! Thrilling, emotional, well-written, solid performances, action, humor, tonal cinematography, The Grey delivered! Also, it was surprisingly deep and had some interesting characters. Many people will likely hate the ending, but I actually thought it was perfect. Expand
  26. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    The grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, but eventually they start being presented in a cleche way. The attacks become too often, and the wolves themselves are used too much like Hollywood monsters. This starts to compete with the higher, more artistic sensibilities in the movie instead of enhancing them. This is also definitely one of the bleakest films I have ever seen, with a nihilistic agenda I absolutely disagree with. However, Liam Nieson gives a great performance as always, and I can't deny that overall it's a gritty, gripping movie which is way better than most movies that come out in January. In fact, it might be one of the best January releases ever. Expand
  27. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    The Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting me to wonder how they were going to make it out of their ordeal. However, the overall tone of their struggle left me with a negative tension throughout. Expand
  28. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    The Grey is very very brutal, which makes this film a good white knuckle thriller. Liam Neeson is tremendously good and the plot is very thrilling as it thickens but the film does have some Cliches story wise. The story wasn't compelling to any other film, which is good but The Grey needed some help in story writing. Overall, this taunt thriller is good for a Friday night.
  29. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Now I was going to give this movie a 7 but I realized the ending was good and every time I think of this movie I like it more and those are good movies the ones every time you think about it it gets better so watch heck buy it on blu ray
  30. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada. Liam Neeson has the gravitas. Brought me to tears, the heroism in this film, but not mindless, hard earned and with fear.
    Existentialism par Excellence
    Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    Definitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten. honestly i did not understand this movie because instead of going to get out of the hunting zone they walked farther into it which is more dangerous. you never know when the wolves will come so its one of those all of the sudden someone is dead. Expand
  32. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Not how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really in great danger. One of Liam Neesons best performances in my books. Highly recommended. Expand
  33. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    The story is really interesting and the acting is really good.There is not a lot of action but the story and the characters are really interesting and that's why we can watch it without getting bored.
  34. Nov 17, 2014
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. At first I thought that this movie was going to be your average survivor movie, I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie's engaging plot, incredible music and fantastic dialogue complete engulf you this movie. With one of my personal favorite endings this movie leaves you thinking but completely satisfied. In my opinion this is truly the best movie of all time.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.