Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Dec 19, 2012
    90
    The Guilt Trip surprises by avoiding the obvious. It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Well, it's a masterpiece compared with 'Little Fockers,' the last movie featuring Barbra Streisand.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    The Guilt Trip is not about Rogen, bubbeleh. Streisand is her own once-in-a-lifetime trip, looking gawjuss with that divine voice and those killer fingernails, and the sight of the lady scarfing down four pounds of beef at a Texas steak joint is one a Streisand lover can now cross off her bucket list.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Dec 18, 2012
    50
    A timid, modestly pleasant time-passer distinguished mostly by its unexplored potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 19, 2012
    50
    It's a one-joke movie, if "Jewish mothers are annoying" is a joke. But just as a film about boredom should not actually be boring, no movie should credibly simulate the experience of being stuck in a car with Barbra Streisand for eight days.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2012
    42
    The jokes mostly fall flat and the dramatic scenes fall even flatter.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 18, 2012
    38
    Audiences deserve a resounding "mea culpa" for the embarrassing dreck, masquerading as comedy, in The Guilt Trip.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this movie!! Barbra is fantastic and has some touching scenes and her comedic timing is spot on. Great movie to see around this time of year!! Collapse
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    I'll be honest, I went into this movie with very low expectations. My thoughts on the matter changed very quickly. This movie has an incredible feeling of sincerity, and feels about as real as a movie can get. Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand were phenomenal, and genuinely funny throughout the whole movie. A heartwarming finale really rounded off one of my favorite movies of the year in a year of really bad movies. 9.5/10 Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    A good clean comedy that you can bring your kids too! This movie showed off more of Streisand's comedic side, rather than Rogen's. The humor is for all ages, which was nice because I had my mom and son with me to watch this one. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    The Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of a late 20s guy acting embarrassed with his mom around. Who among us haven't been in similar situations? I saw it with my mom so that made it even better. Do the same if you can whether in theaters or at home. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    6
    As far as road trip movies go, it could be argued that this film is nothing special, except that it stars Barbra Streisand in almost every scene, which make is extremely special indeed. Still beautiful at 71, and having gained a little weight which just serves to make her more endearing, Streisand still has that translucent, ivory skin that has an almost ethereal quality to it, and she still frosts her hair to perfection. Her character is fascinating because, if I’m not mistaken, this is the closest she has come to giving her audience what may very well be a small glimpse of her real self. Although her character is certainly meant to be exaggerated and comical, which sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t, there appears to be a momentary unveiling of Streisand in the real-life roles she has played as wife, lover, and mother. Especially mother. Especially Jewish mother.

    As the mother of an organic chemist (played by Seth Rogan) in his late twenties, who has invented his own non-toxic cleaning product made entirely out of edible ingredients, Streisand’s character, Joyce, displays every kind of maternal sentiment when she gets to travel with her son on an eight-day cross-country road trip. The purpose of the trip is to sell her son's product to K-Mart, Costco, and other big distributors. Sometimes Joyce's maternal impulses are in direct conflict, since she is both neurotically possessive of her son’s love and attention (the father is deceased), and at the same time deeply troubled that her son is still unmarried. She tries to play matchmaker even as she tries to convince herself that she is all her son needs.

    She is overly nostalgic about the past, particularly about the days when her adult child was a little boy, and she falls asleep watching home videos. She fondly remembers when her little scientist used to do experiments in the basement wearing goggles that were four times bigger than his head. She loves to collect tchotchkes, and the ones with frog motifs are her favorite--her house is nearly overwhelmed with frogs. She frets that her son chose to leave his home with her in New Jersey to attend graduate school in California and fears that he did so to get away from her. She also has a fear of remarriage or connection with any other man because she never got over a true love who readily gave her up over thirty years earlier when she had an offer of marriage from the man who became her husband.

    The road trip is a time of confrontation with all her conflicting emotions about her son, and she is forced to confront the ghosts from her past. Seth Rogan is unusually sensitive and understated in this film; it would seem that working with Streisand brings out the best in him. And there are scenes where it is possible that the two of them are ad-libbing. The most entertaining scene is when Mom enters a restaurant contest to see if she can, within an hour, eat a full meal that includes a 4.5 lb steak. The prize is that the meal is free if she succeeds. Watching Streisand’s character eat like a horse is actually very entertaining (“food is love,” she tells her son), and if Streisand is anything like that in real life, you have to bless that girl’s healthy appetite. A must for die-hard fans of Barbra Streisand.
    Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Only a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If you want to watch something that lacks any charm, wit, or humor then this is the movie for you. I'm running out of ways to say "terrible." Oh yeah, here's one more....if I had to chose between watching this movie and having my fingers cut off, I'd learn to type with my tongue. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers