The Hangover Part III

The Hangover Part III Image
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 505 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 19 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 22, 2013
    80
    Galifianakis, though, is the key here. Able to smash a scene to smithereens with the simplest of lines, the hirsute comic is as unpredictable as ever, yet takes director Todd Phillips’ bait to up the stakes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 22, 2013
    60
    And so the real question isn't whether director Todd Phillips' third -- and, he insists, the final -- installment in the unabashedly crude, very R-rated comedy trilogy is funny. Of course, it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 22, 2013
    50
    Director Todd Phillips has delivered a film so different from the first two, one could even ask if this is even supposed to be a comedy. I'm not saying it's an unfunny comedy wannabe; I'm saying it plays more like a straightforward, real-world thriller with a few laughs than a hard-R slapstick farce.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 22, 2013
    38
    Nothing about this rote exercise feels remotely fresh. It's a re-tread of the 2009 original, sans the inspired lunacy.
  5. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    The Hangover Part III plays more like a caper film — “Alan’s Eleven,” perhaps — than a comedy. While Phillips ably handles the action sequences, he and co-screenwriter Craig Mazin can’t juggle both genres in the screenplay.
  6. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 22, 2013
    25
    If the first "Hangover" movie were this awful, there never would have been a Part Two. This is a joyless, unfunny mix of comedy and drama, a complete waste of time, with exactly one good joke in the entire movie. It comes in the first minute. After that, you can leave.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 23, 2013
    0
    Not just bad, but weirdly, fascinatingly bad.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 140
  2. Negative: 42 out of 140
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    IGNORE THE REVIEWS. The movie is hilarious. I saw it in a packed cinema and everyone was laughing throughout! It is a different, darkerIGNORE THE REVIEWS. The movie is hilarious. I saw it in a packed cinema and everyone was laughing throughout! It is a different, darker approach to the trilogy and it works! Its the perfect balance of sinister/hilarious. The Hangover is usually centered around Stu but now it's Alan's movie and the change pays off. DEFINITELY WORTH YOUR MONEY, THIS METACRITIC SCORE IS AN ABOMINATION!! Expand
  2. May 23, 2013
    8
    Not nearly as good as the first one, but certainly funny!
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    It's completely different than the previous ones but no way it's as bad as everyone says. It's a good movie, I didn't had high expectationsIt's completely different than the previous ones but no way it's as bad as everyone says. It's a good movie, I didn't had high expectations and it's a solid thing Collapse
  4. May 16, 2015
    5
    The story continues and for that reason alone makes this better than Part 2, but again has dragged along all the annoyances in particular withThe story continues and for that reason alone makes this better than Part 2, but again has dragged along all the annoyances in particular with the character Leslie Chow. He is like if Goerge Lucas went all the way with jar jar binks in StarWars. Conceptually a trilogy seemed like a good idea, but a complete lack of originality has dampened what was mostly an enjoyable film. I will say the sequels to the 2009 classic don't ruin the mythos of this trilogy, all 3 are entertaining, but for me it's when Leslie Chow didn't die from an overdose in the second movie when this trilogy fell flat. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    The first 40 minutes are terrible and only gets slightly better by actually becoming an action film. It carries a darker more serious toneThe first 40 minutes are terrible and only gets slightly better by actually becoming an action film. It carries a darker more serious tone that doesn't have the pay off as the first film but succeeds in being better than the second, if you call that an accomplishment. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    3
    I don't know what I expected after the worse-than-the-first-movie sequel and all the trailers to this one. Perhaps, funny jokes, more screenI don't know what I expected after the worse-than-the-first-movie sequel and all the trailers to this one. Perhaps, funny jokes, more screen time devoted to Doug (Justin Bartha), and less to Zach Unpronounceablakis and the Chinese moron... Of course, all of that was quite silly of me, the series dropped the bar even lower. In fact, this isn't even a comedy any more, but an action/adventure movie with some humorous moments. The opinion of this movie is basically based on your opinion of Zach Whateverakis and his character. If you, for some awkward reason, liked him in the previous parts, this movie may very well entertain you. If you didn't, like me, and hate his utter bloody stupidity, then you'll be mostly bored with this movie. It's watchable, but I wouldn't recommend spending your hard-earned money on it. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    0
    The third and last installment of the Hangover saga gives far too much screen time to the increasingly obnoxious Alan character. ErroneouslyThe third and last installment of the Hangover saga gives far too much screen time to the increasingly obnoxious Alan character. Erroneously described as a “man-child”, Alan seems to be a borderline narcissist psychopath. The plot includes plenty of cruelty against animals, abuse of the elderly and shocking lies (such as telling a child you are his father when you are not). Expand

See all 140 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 8, 2013
    Watch the latest trailers for "The Hangover Part III" and "Iron Man 3" and upcoming films from Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Sarah Polley, and M. Night Shyamalan. Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news, including details on projects from Brad Bird and Jon Stewart.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.