Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 446 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 19 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 22, 2013
    80
    Galifianakis, though, is the key here. Able to smash a scene to smithereens with the simplest of lines, the hirsute comic is as unpredictable as ever, yet takes director Todd Phillips’ bait to up the stakes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 22, 2013
    60
    And so the real question isn't whether director Todd Phillips' third -- and, he insists, the final -- installment in the unabashedly crude, very R-rated comedy trilogy is funny. Of course, it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 22, 2013
    50
    Director Todd Phillips has delivered a film so different from the first two, one could even ask if this is even supposed to be a comedy. I'm not saying it's an unfunny comedy wannabe; I'm saying it plays more like a straightforward, real-world thriller with a few laughs than a hard-R slapstick farce.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 22, 2013
    38
    Nothing about this rote exercise feels remotely fresh. It's a re-tread of the 2009 original, sans the inspired lunacy.
  5. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    The Hangover Part III plays more like a caper film — “Alan’s Eleven,” perhaps — than a comedy. While Phillips ably handles the action sequences, he and co-screenwriter Craig Mazin can’t juggle both genres in the screenplay.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 22, 2013
    25
    If the first "Hangover" movie were this awful, there never would have been a Part Two. This is a joyless, unfunny mix of comedy and drama, a complete waste of time, with exactly one good joke in the entire movie. It comes in the first minute. After that, you can leave.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 23, 2013
    0
    Not just bad, but weirdly, fascinatingly bad.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 129
  2. Negative: 37 out of 129
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    IGNORE THE REVIEWS. The movie is hilarious. I saw it in a packed cinema and everyone was laughing throughout! It is a different, darker approach to the trilogy and it works! Its the perfect balance of sinister/hilarious. The Hangover is usually centered around Stu but now it's Alan's movie and the change pays off. DEFINITELY WORTH YOUR MONEY, THIS METACRITIC SCORE IS AN ABOMINATION!! Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    8
    Not as funny as one. But still better than two. This was a good end to a good trilogy. Pacing was kinda slow at times and they still showed to much in the previews. But not enough to where all the jokes were told. Only real complaint is no ending pictures. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    It's completely different than the previous ones but no way it's as bad as everyone says. It's a good movie, I didn't had high expectations and it's a solid thing Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    5
    DO NOT leave The Hangover Part III when the credits start to roll. You’ll miss one of the funniest scenes in the whole movie. I work at a movie theater, and after every single showing of the movie I watch as impatient audience members rush for the exits only to miss the movie’s ridiculous stinger scene. Hold your pee for two more minutes (You don’t even have to wait until the credits are completely over, as the scene comes in after only about 30 seconds of credits).

    Unfortunately, for those who do make haste for the exit doors (and I can’t say I blame you for doing so) The Hangover Part III will be remembered for being…well…forgettable. It’s not a bad movie. It just isn’t a very funny one.

    Read More http://www.recomedia.net/filmtv/the-hangover-part-iii-review/
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    4
    There are a few laughs in the film, and it's great to see these actors together again, but the entire affair is just flat and lacks forward momentum. The first Hangover is a modern comedy great, along with Wedding Crashers, Bridesmaids and Old School. It's very tough to make comedy sequels that work, though. Even the credits sequence wasn't all that funny but stay for it and see for yourself! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    Uggh...not a good movie. Never got the negative reviews from Hangover II as I still found it funny despite it being a "Remix" to the first Hangover. This one has a brand new plot, not recycled, however it is just not funny. Found a few laughs but overall it is easily the worst of the trilogy. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    This is a movie with people that have too much time on there hands. I think it is very unrealistic. I would warn people to not waste there money. This movie is for the people that have no life and basic losers. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews