Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 5, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 927 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
735
Mixed:
102
Negative:
90
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EddieM.Jun 5, 2009
Oh what to say, this could be the best comedy of the year, everyone in the film is hilarious, and to top it off with mike tyson, everyone needs to check this film out, acting was superb, and the movie was just genuinely funny. Oh and make Oh what to say, this could be the best comedy of the year, everyone in the film is hilarious, and to top it off with mike tyson, everyone needs to check this film out, acting was superb, and the movie was just genuinely funny. Oh and make sure u stay after the credits, some of the funniest parts are in it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ByronO.Jun 6, 2009
Although I am a huge Zach Galifianakis fan (yes there are some of those) I came into this movie with pretty low expectations. I was extremely surprised by the movie as a whole. The writing and storyline were good, but the acting by Ed Helms, Although I am a huge Zach Galifianakis fan (yes there are some of those) I came into this movie with pretty low expectations. I was extremely surprised by the movie as a whole. The writing and storyline were good, but the acting by Ed Helms, and particularly Zach G. (who carried the movie) was excellent. The entire theater was laughing throughout the whole movie. This was one of the best comedies I have seen in a while. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JordanG.Jun 6, 2009
Hilariously funny movie with a brilliant cast. Zach Galifianakis and Ed Helms were absolutely hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeffB.Jun 7, 2009
There has never been a statue made of a Critic.. and this is why..get a Real JOB and wake up from your Hangover.. how could you not find this Funny?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DaveJun 7, 2009
From start to credits, I laughed with few pauses. Where other comedies have failed, The Hangover doesn't treat the plot as a to-do list to run through after the gags are done, it keeps it fun and involved.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ZulaJun 23, 2013
This movie is brilliant. I think one of the stupidest movie in the world, but it makes me laugh and has a great cast with actors appreciable and estimable! Great film!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
makakusDec 5, 2010
Great movie! extremelly true and funny! Very funny, I would say! Will recommend! People who think this movie is not good, I think they should watch The Box...(Cameron Diaz). After that, they will appreciate it a lot more and realize that theGreat movie! extremelly true and funny! Very funny, I would say! Will recommend! People who think this movie is not good, I think they should watch The Box...(Cameron Diaz). After that, they will appreciate it a lot more and realize that the money spent on making the move has not been wasted! Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
2
badbrushJul 30, 2011
I sometimes wonder if i just watched the same movie as everyone else...it was quite possibly the worst film i have seen in years. dumbed down jokes, repeated scenes, terrible acting and poor storyline. I'm guessing it appeals to people whoI sometimes wonder if i just watched the same movie as everyone else...it was quite possibly the worst film i have seen in years. dumbed down jokes, repeated scenes, terrible acting and poor storyline. I'm guessing it appeals to people who have been in this situation...... Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovDec 25, 2010
The Hangover is one of the best "straight-out" comedies in the last decade! It is not the 'intelligent' type of comedy, such as "Lost in Translation" or "Sideways," but it's a crowd-pleaser!! The hilarious screenplay is just perfectly writtenThe Hangover is one of the best "straight-out" comedies in the last decade! It is not the 'intelligent' type of comedy, such as "Lost in Translation" or "Sideways," but it's a crowd-pleaser!! The hilarious screenplay is just perfectly written and, quite frankly, though the situations are completely insane, they seem rather believable in the film. The cast is also rather good, so overall it is a great comedy that will make you laugh harder than the vast majority of comedies out there, nowadays! Great film! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
"The Hangover" is a brazenly brainless comedy that doesn't know what its doing. But guess what; that's why its funny.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
Boosemo12Jun 4, 2011
I wanted to like it, I really did.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
JackHJun 17, 2009
This movie was stupid...not stupid funny, just stupid. After 45 minutes, my girlfriend and i both looked at one another and completely agreed that this was a waste of time. If you enjoyed movies like Pineapple Express or Strange Wilderness This movie was stupid...not stupid funny, just stupid. After 45 minutes, my girlfriend and i both looked at one another and completely agreed that this was a waste of time. If you enjoyed movies like Pineapple Express or Strange Wilderness and found them entertaining and clever...then yeah, you'd probably enjoy this movie. If you value well written movies or genuinely good comedy, pass on this POS. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful
0
CazatuzDec 16, 2010
This is the most overrated mess known to man. Someone seriously needs to explain the Hype cause I dont get it. Its Stupid, Not funny at all. over rated to the fullest.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
2
zig16Nov 26, 2010
It shows how bad the movies are for THE HANGOVER to get this score. This movie sucks so bad I shut if off in the middle. I couldn't take it anymore. What were you all smoking when you went to see it? Crack?
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
1
Leinad177Oct 22, 2010
Take the movie Dude Where's My Car, remove the plot, cast and humor.
Then add hire some idiots with no acting experience to play the main cast.
Add a common prescription drug which people hardly know anything about. And then you get The
Take the movie Dude Where's My Car, remove the plot, cast and humor.
Then add hire some idiots with no acting experience to play the main cast.
Add a common prescription drug which people hardly know anything about.
And then you get The Hangover...

A bunch of guys completely forgot what happened last night and spent the entire movie trying to figure it out. Extremely dull and unoriginal.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
7dogguyFeb 15, 2012
This movie barley ever made me laugh. The plot line was terrible, all the humor was childish and the characters were annoying. If you like movie plots were people get drunk wake up in the morning not remembering anything with stupid obviousThis movie barley ever made me laugh. The plot line was terrible, all the humor was childish and the characters were annoying. If you like movie plots were people get drunk wake up in the morning not remembering anything with stupid obvious humor though out be my guest. This movie is an example of why all the other countries hate us. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
MarkLJun 30, 2009
Funny with a hint of character progression, but the bro atmosphere, random events, and physical comedy, while executed well, become repetitive and boring halfway through.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
4
TomPJan 10, 2010
The movie contains a lack of humor rarely found in well reviewed comedies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LeahRJan 9, 2010
Devoid of wit or ingenuity. Relies completely on vulgarity and cruelty to be funny. I find vulgar and cruel jokes funny in doses, but an entire movie predicated upon them is just tedious. The fact that most of America seems to disagree with Devoid of wit or ingenuity. Relies completely on vulgarity and cruelty to be funny. I find vulgar and cruel jokes funny in doses, but an entire movie predicated upon them is just tedious. The fact that most of America seems to disagree with me on this point is depressing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DesBJan 5, 2010
Absolute garbage. The movie tried way too hard and never made any sense. I thought the plot would make for an interesting movie but the amounts of random garbage thrown at the viewer(way way random than one would expect at Vegas).. just felt Absolute garbage. The movie tried way too hard and never made any sense. I thought the plot would make for an interesting movie but the amounts of random garbage thrown at the viewer(way way random than one would expect at Vegas).. just felt over the top. I cannot possibly understand how people enjoyed this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PeteL.Jun 5, 2009
The trailer looked great & the film surpassed my expectations. It was non stop laughs from start to finish as we discovered what happened that fateful. A great comedy movie that isn't a "lads" film & isn't just full of purile slapstick.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DaveFJul 6, 2009
Obviously, a real split in opinion on this movie. I guess some people don't enjoy laughing or think a comedy must be ever so tasteful or maybe just walk around with a stick up their a$$ and it hurts too much to laugh. Personally, I Obviously, a real split in opinion on this movie. I guess some people don't enjoy laughing or think a comedy must be ever so tasteful or maybe just walk around with a stick up their a$$ and it hurts too much to laugh. Personally, I thought this was one of the funniest movies I've seen in years. I laughed out loud (along with eveyone else in the theatre) enough times that I lost count. Sure it was crude, but c'mon what did you expect when you saw a tiger, Mike Tyson and a baby in sunglasses in the trailers? Galifianakis, Helm and Jeong (Mr. Chow) were simply hilarious and the reveals became funnier as the movie went on. The credits tied everything together perfectly, contrived or not. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JulienF.Jan 21, 2010
Watched half of it, couldn't stand a minute more, just dreadful, vulgar and nothing funny about it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Jan 31, 2010
Stereotypical and obvious laughs. Overrated with few laugh out loud moments. Unmemorable and predictable.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
EliJ.Jan 3, 2010
I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw the remote at the screen, when he jumped out of the car and beat them up was just plain awful. I love crude humor and physical comedy as much as the next guy but taking a movie that has that kind of Big Libowski feeling to it and adding a stupid scene like that just made me want to puke. The guy pulling his own tooth out was absolutely terrible, the fact that they stole a cop car and it wasn't recovered before the next morning was completely unbelievable. Oh yeah its impossible to count cards on a multi-deck table too. After that scene i knew for sure that this movie is bent on amusing stupid teenagers and college frat boys. I laughed at Galifianikis quite a few times so he was basically the only reason i didn't give this movie a big fat zero. Thumbs down be watchable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KimCMar 21, 2010
I wish I had that 2 hours of my life back. Heard all year about how fantastic it was, finally rented it, and I agree with all the other posters here: vastly overrated, not the slightest bit funny, with unbelievably crude and ludicrous I wish I had that 2 hours of my life back. Heard all year about how fantastic it was, finally rented it, and I agree with all the other posters here: vastly overrated, not the slightest bit funny, with unbelievably crude and ludicrous situations. I can find humor in raunchy movies like 40 Year Old Virgin or Superbad or Tropic Thunder, but this travesty has none of the charm or plot or character development of those films. One of the worst I've ever seen, and the closing credits will make you want to take a shower. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
CecilNov 20, 2009
Other than Zach Galifianakis, this one had no redeeming qualities. I don't see how anyone but boys 13 to 18 could relate to this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KaseyJan 14, 2010
Such a dumb movie... Scenes that are supposed to be funny but aren't, bad acting, lame script. It was a good idea for a movie but they didn't even come close to pulling it off, for me at least. There was only one part that made me Such a dumb movie... Scenes that are supposed to be funny but aren't, bad acting, lame script. It was a good idea for a movie but they didn't even come close to pulling it off, for me at least. There was only one part that made me laugh, couple others made me smile slightly. Very surprised it's even rated this high. 2 stars for the one line that made me laugh in the alter lol... The movie was worth it for that one line. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
grantApr 17, 2010
First off, I heard everybody saying how awesome this movie was, so I decided to watch it on New Years with some friends on my Xbox. Crap. That's all it was--I laughed maybe twice. The huge amounts of acclaim for this movie makes me First off, I heard everybody saying how awesome this movie was, so I decided to watch it on New Years with some friends on my Xbox. Crap. That's all it was--I laughed maybe twice. The huge amounts of acclaim for this movie makes me thing, more than ever, that I don't belong in this society. Large amounts of Alcohol can't make this movie good. My only explanation is that everybody must've been high--and even then I can't see so many falling for it. I don't understand this country. I'll give it a 2 for 2 Laughs which is generous. I should rate it based on the number of laughs it was obviously trying to get and failing...the score would've been way way worse. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CarolynBMay 15, 2010
Never laughed once. I haven't been into adolescent humor since, well, I was and adolescent. I guess I do not find movies funny that focus on the gross, irresponsible, idiotic and implausible. This is 2 hours of my life I will never get back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KentOct 13, 2009
Through the entirety of this film I giggled (Note: giggled, not laughed) maybe twice, three times if I'm feeling really generous. Call me humourless but seeing people hurt themselves in many "wild and whacky ways" is hardly what I Through the entirety of this film I giggled (Note: giggled, not laughed) maybe twice, three times if I'm feeling really generous. Call me humourless but seeing people hurt themselves in many "wild and whacky ways" is hardly what I consider to be humour. I mean come on. I could have written all the "funny" elements of this film when I was five (but God forbid I was EVER that stupid). Great, the guys constantly hurt themselves, whoopee. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KennyNov 4, 2009
It is a comedy as superficial as unoriginal. Movie with moral that can be seen approaching from a distance, you learn without seeing her. In the U.S. has been a surprise box office, becoming one of the great comedies of the summer, but the It is a comedy as superficial as unoriginal. Movie with moral that can be seen approaching from a distance, you learn without seeing her. In the U.S. has been a surprise box office, becoming one of the great comedies of the summer, but the truth is that the phrase: 'What Happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas', could be trouble in this movie' What happens in the film stays in the trailer '. "The Hangover" is a trap for those who hoped for a refreshing comedy. A very heavy and boring pace, where you surprised at any time in the light of crap that happen to the three protagonists. To be more clear, and spared the nonsense and verbiage without foundation, saying it is a comedy that has nothing new to offer, and offer entertainment offers neither. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LilithCDec 29, 2009
Spot on review. A vile movie. Due to my work schedule I wasn't able to see it in the theater. I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I love a raunchy comedy as much as the next person as long as it's funny. The Hangover Spot on review. A vile movie. Due to my work schedule I wasn't able to see it in the theater. I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I love a raunchy comedy as much as the next person as long as it's funny. The Hangover wasn't funny at all. I found the references to pedophila frankly disturbing and any parent who would allow their baby to be in a film to do a mock masterbation scene should be locked away for good. Anyone who finds pedophilia to be worth a laugh needs to do a shot of hemlock for the greater good and gene pool cleansing. If this is what passes for humor in America - especially among the American male, we're doomed. Sign of the times as to how stupid we Americans are. We're becoming an Idiocracy. There's a film the inbreds who loved the Hangover should check out but I fear it's message would be lost on them. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JoelleGNov 23, 2009
Sigh...more vulgar than funny. There were a few laughable moments but it falls in line with all the other supposedly slpastick but mostly dirty humored films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeXNov 29, 2009
Awful. Just Awful. I have no idea why this movie received such good reviews. Its the most predictable and cliched "comedy" I've ever seen. Didn't crack a smile even once during this 100 minute torture test.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
BrandyFDec 26, 2009
No comedy value whatsoever...i had heard it was clever so was very disappointed. It is totally stupid and not funny at all...I gave it a "1" for the baby being such a good sport.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
jbobbyjonNov 22, 2011
if you saw the previews, you saw the movie. it's obvious the guy who wrote it had a few funny ideas about all the funny things that can happen when your drunk and decided to make it into a movie. the movie is basically getting from funnyif you saw the previews, you saw the movie. it's obvious the guy who wrote it had a few funny ideas about all the funny things that can happen when your drunk and decided to make it into a movie. the movie is basically getting from funny moment A to funny moment B. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
eTurkeyMay 28, 2012
'The Hangover' is one of those buddy comedy films where you have to stop asking questions, grab a bucket of buttery popcorn, sit back and enjoy the ride. Character development is virtually non-existent and not everything is correctly wrapped'The Hangover' is one of those buddy comedy films where you have to stop asking questions, grab a bucket of buttery popcorn, sit back and enjoy the ride. Character development is virtually non-existent and not everything is correctly wrapped up and explained by the end of the movie. Regardless this is a truly funny feature. The unpredictably and random events are what I'm sure most people will highly appreciate. The lack of a proper narrative is fine and although some people might be put off by the nudity I thought it was brilliantly amusing Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
savannahrummelDec 31, 2011
I just didn't get it. Everyone kept telling me The Hangover is the funniest movie of the decade so I expected the funniest movie of the decade. I didn't get it. The movie had it's funny moments and it certainly is a quote-able movie, but II just didn't get it. Everyone kept telling me The Hangover is the funniest movie of the decade so I expected the funniest movie of the decade. I didn't get it. The movie had it's funny moments and it certainly is a quote-able movie, but I didn't think it was anything remarkable. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Psyco6Mar 11, 2012
This movie is just bad. The jokes are simple and cheesy, the whole "plot" of this movie is about friends who go to Vegas (just like everyone else has for the longest time). after a night they cant remember the guy who is getting married isThis movie is just bad. The jokes are simple and cheesy, the whole "plot" of this movie is about friends who go to Vegas (just like everyone else has for the longest time). after a night they cant remember the guy who is getting married is lost and the rest of the movie is spent trying to find him. If you like simple stupid movies like those who have will ferrel in them then you'll like this movie. If not then skip it and see something alot better. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
BergensGJan 5, 2010
I believe comedy is mostly about the performance, and the theori that is behind the performance. If you want those laughs where your brain tickles anyway (only comedy that does it for me). In this film I wasn't bored, and sometimes I I believe comedy is mostly about the performance, and the theori that is behind the performance. If you want those laughs where your brain tickles anyway (only comedy that does it for me). In this film I wasn't bored, and sometimes I even smiled of the comedy they presentet for me, but not once did my brain tickle. For me that is the art of comedy, too create moments where I actually laugh even if i try to resist. I don't give this low rating because I think the story is boring or the acting doesn't convince me. It simply didnt make me laugh. The movie could possible even have been funny on paper, but the result isn't. To be a little more spesific: the awkward moments arnt awkward, and the bizzarity isn't bizzar. Once again, I dont think this movie was broken already in the manuscript fase (maybe it was, maybe it wasnt), it might look like the performance from the actors and the directing is the blame for this not working. (excuse my bad English grammar, working on it). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
averyDec 6, 2009
Not funny. I wish it were. But I like 'Wedding Crashers' humor, which is crude and clever. The humor in 'The Hangover' isn't clever. It's all reactive. Even a good line like "you're dressed like a Cholo on Not funny. I wish it were. But I like 'Wedding Crashers' humor, which is crude and clever. The humor in 'The Hangover' isn't clever. It's all reactive. Even a good line like "you're dressed like a Cholo on Easter" from 'Knocked Up' is way way funnier than anything in 'The Hangover'. Nobody will ever quote this film, because none of the lines are funny. Mostly sight gags, situational mishpas, and pissing in public jokes. Don't get me wrong. I like crude, so long as it's clever. Galafinkis (whatever his name is) isn't funny. But being unfunny is his schtick, right? I mean he's intentionally not funny. This is SNL/'Hot Rod' grade humor. And there's barely any t and a in it. Also, the pacing is leaden. Poor Cooper is burdened with a lot of lame straight man lines that state the obvious. It's just not funny. Maybe you have to be in college. I don't know. I had high hopes. I'll go watch Wedding Crashers and Mr and Mrs Smith for the sixth time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MiKEDec 23, 2009
This movie had sooo much potential!!! I was getting ready for the movie to be laugh out loud funny, but it never got there.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
TheGorillaOct 7, 2011
After the movie, I felt drowsy.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
ScraperMay 27, 2011
I like JoelZ's response below "no particaular scene really stands out, just brilliant from start to finish." Usually when something is **** brilliant, you can at least pick one stand out scene, my man. One long cliche for the McDonalds public. Enjoy!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
Toby023May 27, 2011
Yeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutesYeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutes because I would realise how bad it was the first time round. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroApr 8, 2011
This is the first comedy I watched where I did not laugh once. Not once, I am serious. What is the problem with this movie ? First of all, it is very obvious that these guys are not friends, but just actors working together. There is not theThis is the first comedy I watched where I did not laugh once. Not once, I am serious. What is the problem with this movie ? First of all, it is very obvious that these guys are not friends, but just actors working together. There is not the slighest feel of a real bond between these guys. They never act like friends, they never talk like friends. Then, each one of the main characters is a cliche, at its worst. The nerd, the fat guy, the handsome guy, and the reliable dreamgroom.
The jokes are not funny, and always out of place. Why was this movie made ? Each and every idea has been exploited before, and much, much better...
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
DominicEApr 18, 2010
An over rated, over anticipated movie. I didn't find this movie funny at all.
3 of 11 users found this helpful
3
dr.strangeloveAug 16, 2009
standards are LOW ....

the 'dumbing down' is almost complete ...... do NOT believe what the 'critics' say about this one ....... it is pretty HORRIBLE ...... the only half amusing thing in this film are the still
standards are LOW ....

the 'dumbing down' is almost complete ......

do NOT believe what the 'critics' say about this one ....... it is pretty HORRIBLE ......

the only half amusing thing in this film are the still photos that come up during the end credits .......

3 out of 10
where i'd give 'pineapple express' 7 and harold and kumar 8.5 and something like 'dr.strangelove' a 10
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
7
heyitsmegrif4Feb 13, 2012
Sadly the film lacks a huge amount of heart, but where it lacks in that category it makes up for in tons of laughs, fantastic performances, and originality. I give this movie 73%.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
JoelZJan 22, 2010
One of the best movies i've seen in a while, no particaular scene really stands out, just brilliant from start to finish.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BarryZOct 2, 2009
A few lines and sight gags that made you smile but this thing got old and predictable quickly. It seemed like a bunch of cliche ideas that were haphazadly stung together. Probably what you wind up with if you smoked a couple bowls, wrote A few lines and sight gags that made you smile but this thing got old and predictable quickly. It seemed like a bunch of cliche ideas that were haphazadly stung together. Probably what you wind up with if you smoked a couple bowls, wrote down your unrelated thoughts, and tried to tie them together with a lame plot. If you must, wait until it rents and being 'high' when watching it could only improve it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
TylerKJun 10, 2009
Relying on cheap gag scenes and rarely on witty clever dialogue it gets old real quick and part of you keeps waiting for something hilarious to ensue.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ScottS.Jun 20, 2009
Mostly trashy and stupid, with a few chuckles here and there. Juvenile and immoral types will like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
CJJun 9, 2009
Lame. Shocks are not enough. How about some character development? And you don't have to be a critic to spot lameness. Sorry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesHJan 19, 2010
Very funny, the writing is excellent and cleverly pieced together. The cast is terrific, especially Ed Helms. Very well edited, good score, outstanding pace. One of the better comedies of the last few years.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KokoJJan 2, 2010
VERY WELL DONE. The script was good. the acting was good and the entire movie was funny and thoughtout. There were no moment where youn wanted to get up and leave. This film is so worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanSJan 3, 2010
This movie was hilarious. The situations were ridiculous and the characters were all crazy out of their minds on drugs. Watching the fallout of their antics is good old fashioned family entertainment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ColinMar 10, 2010
This movie was so hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArielCMay 20, 2010
I think this movie is one of the most hilarious of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mikegJun 3, 2010
This was one funny movie. As the movie progressed, each scene became funnier and funnier. By the time the Chinese mobster was let loose from the trunk and unloaded on the three guys, I was howling. Later, when he tells the guys to suck on This was one funny movie. As the movie progressed, each scene became funnier and funnier. By the time the Chinese mobster was let loose from the trunk and unloaded on the three guys, I was howling. Later, when he tells the guys to suck on his Chinese Nuts, forget it. I was laughing too hard. The next day I tried to describe these scenes to my wife and I couldn't stop snickering. Just the memory alone got me laughing all over again. It was contagious. My wife started laughing along with me as I tried to tell her between laughs how the guy told everyone to suck on his Chinese nuts. And that was just two scenes that were out and out hilarious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvanW.Dec 23, 2009
What are you talking about Kenny? The film adresses cliches used in it and avoids them in some parts, making for something truly original. By the way... it's freakin highlarious!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
pgJun 10, 2009
Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's basically like a 'dude, where's my car' redux. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
katrinr.Jun 21, 2009
I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it probably wasn't so bad, but all the positive reviews just make me go "REALLY?". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LauraWJun 25, 2009
Tasteless, mean-spirited, not funny, violent. Can you tell I was disappointed?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PaulAJun 20, 2009
The few funny bits aren't redeemed by the non-stop vulgarity and crassness. Will appeal most to demented junior high boys.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveTheBabeJun 26, 2009
This was an absolute waste of time. The characters actions, of which we see very little, were not believable to the behaviors that they displayed the next day. There was no chemistry, the scenes felt forced and scattered as if there were a This was an absolute waste of time. The characters actions, of which we see very little, were not believable to the behaviors that they displayed the next day. There was no chemistry, the scenes felt forced and scattered as if there were a dozen frat boys trying to tell a coherent story. I don't think I laughed out loud once, each line was cliche and unoriginal. This movie was cruel and moronic and in no way clever or funny. I can't believe the amount of people who enjoyed this film, it breaks my heart that we will most likely see more films like this in the future. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
bobjJun 30, 2009
The worst movie i have ever seen, truly abominable. i fear for humanity, the US in particular, given this films success. stupid--I never laughed once.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TomGJun 6, 2009
While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LarryKJun 9, 2009
Although "Hangover" turned out not to be the 10 my wife and I had hoped for, we found ourselves howling loudly at the many hilarious scenes. We are not fans of raunchy and vulgar movies, but this one at least kept most of the raunch just on Although "Hangover" turned out not to be the 10 my wife and I had hoped for, we found ourselves howling loudly at the many hilarious scenes. We are not fans of raunchy and vulgar movies, but this one at least kept most of the raunch just on the adult side of juvenile which made it not only a little more tolerable, but actually amusing. However all the enjoyable humor of the movie instantly dissolved, and every decent bone in our bodies was violated when disturbing pornographic images appeared along with the movie credits. Whether or not they liked the movie, every critic should have issued a warning about these images. Despite one critic writing, "you WANT to stick around for the credits ... and you don't mind one bit," the last thing we wanted to see was an explicit image of a woman performing oral sex. If it can be assumed that the majority of movie audiences who can tolerate some level of vulgarity, would welcome grotesque pornography, then we had better reexamine our values as a society. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JulieASep 19, 2009
I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie is not all the rage that some make it out to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickC.Jan 26, 2010
The year's best comedy by far.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrankB.Feb 18, 2010
I wish there was a rating above 10 so the dumb people that vote 0 wouldn't bring this movie down. It is physically impossible to be any funnier. There is a reason that this is the #1 comedy of all time on the DVD charts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JillS.Apr 18, 2010
Hilarious movie.I must watch for Superbad and Knocked Up lovers. Zach Galifianakis has an amazing part in this movie as well as Ed and Bradley.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobbR.Nov 26, 2009
One of the best movies EVER!!!! I can't wait till it comes out on DVD, after seeing it in the theater.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JenniferK.Dec 22, 2009
It was ok, but only a few laughs. Watch Very Bad Things....much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeramieCJul 19, 2009
Wow, I haven't seen a movie this over hyped since...last summer! Not nearly as funny as all the bro's out there seem to think, but then again...UFC is really popular.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeffDJul 27, 2009
Overdone raunch that lacked true humor. More like a middle school bathroom conversation between preteens that never happened.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnBJul 7, 2009
VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel that with the story they had they could have made this much more funnier. without zach galifinakis i would have gave this movie a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
jimmyfAug 19, 2009
This movie was obviously written for five year olds. Amusing at best. Manages to combine plain bad taste in places with weirdness in others.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleJan 12, 2010
Outstanding! I didn't know what i was getting myself into. My brother said it was good, to me it looked like any other Vegas drunk comedy. I was very glad to find out it was anything but ordinary. I couldn't stop laughing. I had to Outstanding! I didn't know what i was getting myself into. My brother said it was good, to me it looked like any other Vegas drunk comedy. I was very glad to find out it was anything but ordinary. I couldn't stop laughing. I had to watch it again, the jokes keep coming so steady that i laughed so hard i missed a lot of the movie. It sucks to be that guy that hated it, this movie is GENIUS! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DominicLJan 13, 2010
The movie was about 4 guys going to Las Vages for a barchler party one ends up getting lost This movie was like no other,it was outrageously funny must see movie, they didn't waste time with off topic things This movie left you wanting The movie was about 4 guys going to Las Vages for a barchler party one ends up getting lost This movie was like no other,it was outrageously funny must see movie, they didn't waste time with off topic things This movie left you wanting more,it wasn't slow and boring,it was fun and out going film all the way threw I think this movie was amazing and a must see film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JacobLJun 12, 2010
R rated movies have always felt a little too dirty for me. With all the adult content I sometimes wonder whether I can handle an R rated movie. Up until today the only really good R rated movie I saw was Super Bad. However, the Hangover R rated movies have always felt a little too dirty for me. With all the adult content I sometimes wonder whether I can handle an R rated movie. Up until today the only really good R rated movie I saw was Super Bad. However, the Hangover knocks that movie out of the ballpark. The plot of the film is essential these four guys have decided to have a bachelor party in Vegas. So they go out and have a good time. Come next morning though the bachelor is nowhere to be found and three guys can't remember anything from the night before. So begins their hilarious quest to find Doug, the bachelor. Most of the humor in this movie revolves around these guys finding out what it was they did the other night. Without giving anything away all I'm going to say is that these guys did some serious s-word. The core of this comedy is these guys finding out what they did through the consequences of their actions. Throughout a good portion of that part of the film I was laughing my head off. However, the jokes began to dry out after the trunk incident. Nonetheless when this water is boiling it makes the kettle whistle. For any parents reading this let me assure that the Hangover isn't the most adult movie in the world. Most of the R rated content comes in the form of the language used. In fact there was nothing really that disturbing in this movie. Nonetheless, this movie is still for the more mature audience. The Hangover is the comedy. It will make you laugh so hard that you'll either throw your head back clap your hands, or both. However, the humor fails to endure for the entire film . Nonetheless, the movie is hilarious long enough for me to give it an 85/100. However, since Metacritic doesn't do decimals I'm stuck giving my secondary opinion. Bottom line go watch this movie for what it's worth, this movie is a freaking good time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MickeyR.Nov 27, 2009
Pure comedy. Loved it from the first to the last, the direction was in some ways unique, but not the only one of its kind. It was worth the wait to watch this movie, the trio couldn't have been more perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
caleblDec 25, 2009
Though the film has strong performances, there are far too many gaps in the movie that just aren't funny. Zach G. makes up for the lack of comedy with a standout role.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PeterJDec 29, 2009
Okay, if I had only watched in once I would have given it a 5, but it was actually funnier the 2nd time around. Still not as funny as everyone makes it out to be, and I doubt I'll watch it a 3rd time unless there is nothing else on and Okay, if I had only watched in once I would have given it a 5, but it was actually funnier the 2nd time around. Still not as funny as everyone makes it out to be, and I doubt I'll watch it a 3rd time unless there is nothing else on and it's on cable somewhere. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillK.Nov 29, 2009
One of the best comedies I have ever seen, really enjoyable to watch with a great story and cast.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jamesbDec 26, 2009
Just saw it 2nd time and it still was funny. i haven't laughed this hard @ a comedy in ages. maybe some of the jokes are cheap but they come in such good acting you don't care. the plot is brilliant, it keeps you guessing Just saw it 2nd time and it still was funny. i haven't laughed this hard @ a comedy in ages. maybe some of the jokes are cheap but they come in such good acting you don't care. the plot is brilliant, it keeps you guessing what's next. its refreshing for the comedy genre to have a main plot that actually intrigues. for a comedy flick, it doesn't get much better than this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ArkonBladeMay 25, 2011
its been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. its jokes can be clever , rediculas and ruanchy but pulls them off pretty well. after waching it 3its been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. its jokes can be clever , rediculas and ruanchy but pulls them off pretty well. after waching it 3 times which i dont think ive done for any commedy since the wedding crashers i can still get a few laughs out of it . its a solid commedy in years where every other one is very predictable or about as funny as waching a door close . Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JobadkinsNov 15, 2010
Are you kidding me?How can you not like this movie.Every part of this movie is amazing and funny.I have been waiting for a movie like this to come out for years.This is the kind of movie you can watch over and over again and relate to it inAre you kidding me?How can you not like this movie.Every part of this movie is amazing and funny.I have been waiting for a movie like this to come out for years.This is the kind of movie you can watch over and over again and relate to it in one way or another.I hope they make a sequel cause it's set up were it can have a great sequel.Great movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
There are plenty of great moments in this raunchy comedy and it's definitely the funniest movie of the 2009, combining abdsurdity and vulgarity like I have never seen before.Still, I also feel like it relies too heavily on shock value toThere are plenty of great moments in this raunchy comedy and it's definitely the funniest movie of the 2009, combining abdsurdity and vulgarity like I have never seen before.Still, I also feel like it relies too heavily on shock value to induce a response from the audience rather than actual substance (though I'll feel that way about any movie that feels the need to show an old man's ass crack for no reason). It's not brilliant but it definitely gets the job done, and then some. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LamyaaadkinsNov 15, 2010
I agree with my sweet heart husband, This movie was and still very deep, If you talk about real this movie real than real, trust this word and believe it.Just watch with more focus because every part relate the other and never never changeI agree with my sweet heart husband, This movie was and still very deep, If you talk about real this movie real than real, trust this word and believe it.Just watch with more focus because every part relate the other and never never change your mined to watch it, watch this movie over and over because very grate movie. I give this movie 10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DualRadiusAug 28, 2010
One of my favorite comedies of all time. Purely for entertainment. Not a kids movie whatsoever.

Pretty much every scene generates laughter. The entire theater roared for most of the flick.

Definitely one to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gofigureSep 1, 2010
LOVED IT!!!! Can't wait for the 2nd one to come out because I enjoyed the whole story and 'Alan' is a hoot!! I watch this movie again and again. Hope the 2nd is just as good OR better!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kingshahidJul 26, 2011
This was one of those movies I had little expectation walking into. It turned out to be hilarious. Now I have this urge to go to Las Vegas. The second part to hangover just sucked so this first installment really gets its thumbs up!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MagmaWalrusSep 9, 2010
It's a good movie, there's no denying that, but it just didn't meet the expectations set by my friends and some of the reviews I read. I'm not the kind of guy who is too critical on comedy movies, but I just didn't find this THAT funny. SomeIt's a good movie, there's no denying that, but it just didn't meet the expectations set by my friends and some of the reviews I read. I'm not the kind of guy who is too critical on comedy movies, but I just didn't find this THAT funny. Some jokes were forced, and some plot elements were just stupid and unfunny. However, the movie did have a lot of extremely memorable and hilarious quotes, and Alan is a hilarious character. The plot is kinda dumb, but obviously it isn't meant to be taken seriously, so who cares? I'd recommend seeing it with friends, and it's definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Stephchan1901Oct 1, 2010
Quite Frankly one of funniest movies since Knocked Up. And newcomer Zach Galifianakis Steals the show. Though it has its flaws the movie simply cant be missed.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
BoySamusMetroidJan 31, 2012
This is a great "Vegas" movie. It has its share of laughs and very well-done sequences, with a bit of humor for everyone, though it specializes in the vulgar. The main reason I truly like this movie is because it is a comedy that doesn'tThis is a great "Vegas" movie. It has its share of laughs and very well-done sequences, with a bit of humor for everyone, though it specializes in the vulgar. The main reason I truly like this movie is because it is a comedy that doesn't sacrifice the plot for cheap jokes. The story is well-done and well-presented, and makes the viewer care, or at least wonder, about how it is going to end. Unless you have a very dirty sense of humor, it won't be hysterical by any stretch of the imagination, but the quality acting and script delivers both laughs and a story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
roddersj04Apr 2, 2011
The Hangover is a story about...Do I really need to tell you the plot to this film? I'm sure you could work it out from the title, as well as from this review The Hangover is probably the funniest movie to come out during the 2009 movieThe Hangover is a story about...Do I really need to tell you the plot to this film? I'm sure you could work it out from the title, as well as from this review The Hangover is probably the funniest movie to come out during the 2009 movie season. The laughs flow out naturally, be it from the main four cast members, from characters who appear one time (the cops especially) or just from a random reveal (wait for the valet to return, and wait for them to open the trunk) Not everything is revealed (Where did the chicken come from?) and some suspension of disbelief is required (Mike Tyson has no guards to stop three men taking his tiger?) but trust me, this film leaves you in stitches so many times and is so fun, you won't care. Oh, and once you've finished watching this movie, stick around during the credits where you'll get a montage of pictures showing a number of things the characters did back in their forgotten night A film you won't want to forget Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
xXAnthonyXxJan 15, 2011
Very funny movie. It has alot of funny moments, hardly a time where the laughing stops, the actors do an amazing job and you want to stick around for the credits.....trust me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews