Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 13, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 706 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
351
Mixed:
92
Negative:
263
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MonikaB.Jul 4, 2008
I hate bad reviews about a good movie, we all think different, E.U. already paid the movie cost, 60 M.D. so, if you go again and again to see a Shayamalan movie that's beacuse you like something in them, or no?. For me it has stunning moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BoomManJul 5, 2008
Completely agree with comment of " C Andersson ", see below... The critics of this page seem to hate Shyamalan, and they prefer to give better reviews to movies that always show the same again and again, like HULK or Transformers, that only Completely agree with comment of " C Andersson ", see below... The critics of this page seem to hate Shyamalan, and they prefer to give better reviews to movies that always show the same again and again, like HULK or Transformers, that only want to get a lot amounts of money, giving us more of the same : special effects, explosions and stupid car chases, don't you get tired with the same?...and why you don't accept this flim so different/ singular/ unique... brilliant !. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OmharN.Jul 5, 2008
They must to escape, there is something dangerous in the air, are they terrorist?, are we treating bad our planet?, could these things really happened?, many who saw this film said that this story is full of absurd moments and situations, I They must to escape, there is something dangerous in the air, are they terrorist?, are we treating bad our planet?, could these things really happened?, many who saw this film said that this story is full of absurd moments and situations, I think they need to see to believe ( like that tsunami ), our behavior really have consequences. The movie is good, not excellent but you must decide for yourself, have your own criteria. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarioDev.Jul 5, 2008
It's true, only 37 reviews make an universe?, the universe of the voters here is much bigger, this movie is better than Lady in the water, why less grades, 34? , are nuts critics?, Ruins and The Mist better than this original tale? Let It's true, only 37 reviews make an universe?, the universe of the voters here is much bigger, this movie is better than Lady in the water, why less grades, 34? , are nuts critics?, Ruins and The Mist better than this original tale? Let me laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArthurS.Jul 8, 2008
No matter what others say about this, you must go to see it for yourself, critics are not perfect, me neither, the movie is good, you decide.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CristianN.Jul 9, 2008
When the main character (s) have to run away from "the danger element" such as.. Apocalypto, turn the movie in one of my favorites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LucyB.Jul 9, 2008
I wanted to give this a lower rating but I did enjoy and would watch it again. M. Night just has a way to improve a bunch of ideas. I did enjoy the concept of it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RommelP.Aug 4, 2008
One of my best this 2008, I dont like fiction, superheroes tired me, this film in its whole concept is a new experience for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeofthejungleAug 6, 2008
Funny, good dialogues, good level of suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BRockSep 27, 2008
An awesome concept ... algae bloom in a human affecting environment. Awesome movie for those that like something more than just your cut and dry Action/horror flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelLJan 7, 2009
I'm going to try to hard to defend this film, but I will say that I really enjoyed it. I don't understand how so many critics and fans hated it. Then again, I seem to be one of the few people out there in the world who loved The Village.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SergioO.Sep 23, 2009
There's something everyone is missing, even Mr. Shyamalan. Despite the fact the plot sounds so strange (but not impossible if you read a little about what plants can do when they're in danger), and most people I've watched There's something everyone is missing, even Mr. Shyamalan. Despite the fact the plot sounds so strange (but not impossible if you read a little about what plants can do when they're in danger), and most people I've watched this movie with ended so shocked, this is a movie about love. Call me a complete fool, or idle, but for me this is the most romantic movie ever made. My point is, this is not a love-movie, but shows what love can do. And maybe this is what people are not seeing, that we need more love to get through these rough times. In the end, this is what love is all about: being confused, being mad, sad and happy. That's why love here seems so real! This is a great movie because it grows by itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelMDec 14, 2008
Tense and occasionally touching movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniferRJun 13, 2008
it wasn't horrible, and how the film was made was pretty. I did like it though. I think a good movie means that you don't think about how long it has been while your watching it, and i didn't think that at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElginJun 14, 2008
The only thing not great in this film is the use of dialogue. The basic story, scenarios, camera-work, etc. are wonderfully subtle-- I only wish the dialogue were the same, but it sometimes hammers home the point of the film too early or too The only thing not great in this film is the use of dialogue. The basic story, scenarios, camera-work, etc. are wonderfully subtle-- I only wish the dialogue were the same, but it sometimes hammers home the point of the film too early or too much. I wish Shyamalan would get someone to just touch up his dialogue a bit and his films would be 9's and 10's all the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MajorH.Jun 14, 2008
Decent enough B Movie flick. I enjoyed it despite some stilted performances. Definitely had a few scares and tense moments, and surprisingly, some genuinely (and intentionally) funny moments as well. Give it a chance, you won't be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TommyBMJun 14, 2008
It is good!!, original, only if you want to see a different style of make movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobR.Jun 15, 2008
Way better than the critics are leading us to believe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YadissJun 16, 2008
I can understand one thing, for many people what they is afraid of, or dont understand is considered as fool as insane !, just remember "Birds" is a classic, but it doesn't have a story with head nor feet. what really happened with the I can understand one thing, for many people what they is afraid of, or dont understand is considered as fool as insane !, just remember "Birds" is a classic, but it doesn't have a story with head nor feet. what really happened with the birds?, why they killed people?, is nature rebelion, you kill our natural world but they want to survive...maybe killing us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TottoJHBJun 16, 2008
I Knew it will have a sequel, thats why the ending is not satisfactory, but I like it, Night for me is a genius, and is not true the actings are bad !, c'mon is fantasy, a storytale, but we never know the tragedies that will happend, I Knew it will have a sequel, thats why the ending is not satisfactory, but I like it, Night for me is a genius, and is not true the actings are bad !, c'mon is fantasy, a storytale, but we never know the tragedies that will happend, like 9/11. sorry for mention it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloriaG.Jun 17, 2008
Fortunately I was to see it, I like it a lot, I didn't heard some "empty" reviews or critics, they are not gods to know what is right, I rather my own opinion and I enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YandirahJun 18, 2008
Maybe its not perfect ! but I dont believe in critics, for me the movie works perfectly, it was what I expected. Saga?, I read that, I will wait the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloryG.Jun 18, 2008
Underrated by critiks, no the films, I mean Director M.N. Shyamalan, they hate him since he was nominated for 6 oscars, they cant forgot that nor forgive him, he didnt want noms, only made good suspense movies... The Happening is so good Underrated by critiks, no the films, I mean Director M.N. Shyamalan, they hate him since he was nominated for 6 oscars, they cant forgot that nor forgive him, he didnt want noms, only made good suspense movies... The Happening is so good that seems bad, and is so easy for us the criticism , irony? yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SanY.Jun 18, 2008
Forgettable?, never!, some scenes you'll never can forget them, the movie surprises me many times...example: follow Spencer Breslin if u like this Disney kid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BoxxerX.Jun 19, 2008
I enjoyed it, it has amazing moments, really good comedy touchs, I wanna see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ForrestHJun 19, 2008
Am I the only one that got this movie? I thought it was a great spin on the whole "we're killing mother earth". It's an intelligent horror movie which I think is what catches people off. The trailers were excellent at building Am I the only one that got this movie? I thought it was a great spin on the whole "we're killing mother earth". It's an intelligent horror movie which I think is what catches people off. The trailers were excellent at building interest in the "horror" of what ever is happening and then when you go see the movie, you realize it's not monsters or aliens, it's something you have to think about. I really enjoyed it and couldn't believe how many chuckle were built into such a horrifying story. Masterful but not widely received, I guess. I'm still a big M. Night fan though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MyriamB.Jun 21, 2008
I have seen hundred's of scary-suspense movies, many are so bad, but this is so smart that you can take it as a comedy or what it is, a paranoic-scary-suspense movie, find the details, not only go to eat pop corn, jeje.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisP.Jun 21, 2008
If you're a REAL fan of M. Night, then you should like this one as much as I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossyP.Jun 21, 2008
For me Cloverfield is garbage, and this one a jewel, can you see the difference?, or did you see something, any image in the first one?. Thank you Shyamalan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WendyW.Jun 21, 2008
In a genre that lack of surprises Happening give fresh ideas in a summer where superheroes and special effects get the most of theaters & screens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful