• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Their relationship on the rocks, a young Brooklyn couple heads to a remote B&B to work things out. But from the moment they arrive at The Happy House it's one disaster after another, and they soon begin to suspect they've wandered into a real life horror movie. Events escalate from weird toTheir relationship on the rocks, a young Brooklyn couple heads to a remote B&B to work things out. But from the moment they arrive at The Happy House it's one disaster after another, and they soon begin to suspect they've wandered into a real life horror movie. Events escalate from weird to terrifying as they contend with the house's batty owner, her imposing son, a moody Swedish lepidopterist, a pedantic English professor, an extraordinarily rare butterfly, the world's best blueberry muffins, a .44 Magnum, a demented serial killer, and one very strict rulebook. [First Run Features] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Apr 30, 2013
    70
    It's hard to be certain whether the film's placidity is an ironic gag, but the modesty at work turns out to be pretty likable, as strange as that sounds.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Apr 29, 2013
    63
    D.W. Young navigates his varying moods with an ease that's particularly impressive for a director making his feature debut, but he never capitalizes on his ability to coax down our guard.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    May 2, 2013
    20
    The film, a sleepy, low-budget affair, merely enacts a series of horror movie clich├ęs, as if that were enough. Its bland actors and wit-free script do nothing with the familiar elements but present them.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Highly entertaining twist on the awkward B&B experience that turns a couples attempt to reconcile their marriage into a freakish jaunt throughHighly entertaining twist on the awkward B&B experience that turns a couples attempt to reconcile their marriage into a freakish jaunt through a maze of masterful deviant character portrayals and creatively clever plot consequences. Loved the undertone imagery, from the pointed background rhythm of the cuckoo clocks to the fear of the seemingly domed fate of the trapped vacationers, "like fish in a barrel Great sound track and character symmetry. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Great movie. Rare combination of high tension as well as several laughs that all works well together. The character development and actingGreat movie. Rare combination of high tension as well as several laughs that all works well together. The character development and acting is superb. I thoroughly enjoyed. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    I totally enjoyed this movie. With its quirky cast of characters and haunting soundtrack, it made me laugh, cry and shriek in horror. A goodI totally enjoyed this movie. With its quirky cast of characters and haunting soundtrack, it made me laugh, cry and shriek in horror. A good watch for Halloween. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    8
    To me some movies are memorable but most are not. This little movie somehow managed to entrench itself firmly in my mind and just won't letTo me some movies are memorable but most are not. This little movie somehow managed to entrench itself firmly in my mind and just won't let go. I really enjoyed the odd cast of characters and the visual tone. The music/soundtrack is great. If you've ever wondered why you try to avoid bed and breakfasts at all cost this movie may provide a clue. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Pulls you in and keeps you chuckling with its ironic take on the creepy B&B experience of sharing a home with a complete stranger, with allPulls you in and keeps you chuckling with its ironic take on the creepy B&B experience of sharing a home with a complete stranger, with all their quirks and baggage. Some real gems in the character lineup. A refreshing, droll take on the horror genre. Collapse

Trailers