User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 99
  2. Negative: 45 out of 99
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Cool and creepy, i seriously cannot understand why critics hated this movie, are you all high? are you retarded? who knows, either way, i really enjoyed it.
  2. Mark
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    This film is an epic in of itself. It is a miracle and unforgettable tale never to be foroggten. Wes Craven once again delievers his brilliance right to the screen. The scares come at the right times and the horror is downright unfrogettable. It is a filmaking achivement that nobody will ever surpass. Excellet.
  3. ShryllK.
    Mar 19, 2007
    8
    I judge horror movies not as a critic, but as a horror moviegoer who wants some gore and some plot and suspense. This movie had little to work with but did a hell of a good job at delivering what it should have. A masterpiece.
  4. Anabelle
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    The best horror movie to be released in the United States since The Descent. It is the goriest and the most vital in every way. It will be sure to generate controversy and shake up audiences. Once the word gets out that this movie is perfect, this movie will be a smashing success. I loved everything.
  5. HondoJ.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Freshman director Martin Weisz ambitiously tackles the world's newfound nuclear fears with the terrific "The Hill Have Eyes II," a sparkling update of the Wes Craven classic. The American Southwest subs for the Middle East and mutant cannibals as terrorists in this thinly veiled metaphor of atomic terror and diplomatic ambiguity. What are we to make of the stunning imagery of Freshman director Martin Weisz ambitiously tackles the world's newfound nuclear fears with the terrific "The Hill Have Eyes II," a sparkling update of the Wes Craven classic. The American Southwest subs for the Middle East and mutant cannibals as terrorists in this thinly veiled metaphor of atomic terror and diplomatic ambiguity. What are we to make of the stunning imagery of National Guard troops, standing in for the American military-industrial complex, delivering nuclear materials to the region, then left shortly thereafter to deal with the horror unleashed by the power of the atom? Indeed, Weisz's interpretation of Muslim warriors as depraved mutant cannibals may be too saucy for the politically correct crowd, but others may find it a provocative statement on the war between cultures. This political thriller could use a little more confidence in itself and not rely on corny gore or wan sexual assaults, since the Cravens have created a masterpiece along the lines of "Z," "The Parallax View," and "JFK." I believed that the hills do have eyes, and that Oscar will have his golden eyes on this cinematic gem next February. Expand
  6. MarkL.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    After shocking audiences worldwide with a breathtaking remake of his legendary original film, Wes Craven is back for more. This time, it is better than ever, and I mean every word of it. This movie is downright brilliant. It is scary and outstanding, controversial, offensive, disgusting and it is a true masterpiece for its class.
  7. PeterS.
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    The fact that this film has turned into a political debate is outrageous. People should simply see the movie for what it is, and that is simply a decent horror movie follow up to a classic remake that will never be forgotten. It is nothing less or more than a reenactment of the 60s movie with more glamorous actors. It is fun, and yeah it has its nasty parts. But it is a horror movie The fact that this film has turned into a political debate is outrageous. People should simply see the movie for what it is, and that is simply a decent horror movie follow up to a classic remake that will never be forgotten. It is nothing less or more than a reenactment of the 60s movie with more glamorous actors. It is fun, and yeah it has its nasty parts. But it is a horror movie people. Get over yourselves and just judge the movie from a honest standpoint. Expand
  8. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    Brilliant, creepy, brutal, that pretty much sums up what this movie is, at least to me, i really enjoyed this movie, it kind of reminded me of the descent
  9. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    The hills have eyes II was not, to be honest, something i thought i would enjoy, given that the army has never had a strong record of providing believable characters, but, if you will excuse my sudden burst of 'certified' criticism, most of the characters in this film are not only believable, but decent, only two of them didn't do well: jacob vargas, he seemed a little stereotypeish, angryThe hills have eyes II was not, to be honest, something i thought i would enjoy, given that the army has never had a strong record of providing believable characters, but, if you will excuse my sudden burst of 'certified' criticism, most of the characters in this film are not only believable, but decent, only two of them didn't do well: jacob vargas, he seemed a little stereotypeish, angry mexican army guy... really, and whoever the fat guy was, how the hell did he even make it to the level of private??? but another thing that really surprised me was that this was scary... genuinely scary... this is a rather solid sequel to one of the best remakes in recent memory - samarathenymph xoxo Collapse
  10. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Well cast, scary, not pg-13, like stay alive, it may have a small pacing issue, but that is really the only thing wrong, it is a great horror film, and that's what people need.
  11. Apr 21, 2015
    8
    This is trash,gory and it has a lot of action.The acting is not that good and the story is not original but thanks to the action scenes and all the gore,the movie is never boring.
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Felix Vasquez, Jr.
    10
    This horror fanatic doesn't have room for Craven in his genre anymore. Collect your cash and call it a day already, Wes.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    50
    Though written by Wes Craven and his son, Jonathan Craven, this is pretty standard stuff: A lot of creeping through dark tunnels with just enough characterization to help you keep track of who's still alive, but not enough gore to really satisfy fans of Aja's bloodbath.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    38
    As a fan of the genre, and someone who genuinely loves such recent horror efforts as "The Descent" and "The Host," I respectfully suggest that the atmosphere for horror movies might be better if moviemakers stopped making ones like this.