Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 10, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
98
Mixed:
39
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CoryC.Sep 5, 2007
I wish I could give this a higher vote than 10. My favorite movie ever. Rape scene not needed? What the hell? The Carter family didn't need to be attacked by the mutants, but they were. That's what Lizard wanted to do, and though I wish I could give this a higher vote than 10. My favorite movie ever. Rape scene not needed? What the hell? The Carter family didn't need to be attacked by the mutants, but they were. That's what Lizard wanted to do, and though emotional, it was awesomely done. You really feel like you know the characters before they kill them. It wasn't TRYING to do anything, I don't think. It wasn't shying away from the horror of what it would really be like to be attacked unawares by such vicious creatures. This was the most intelligently, well done movie I know of, and I loved it with a passion! Aja, I wish you would direct THe Hills Have Eyes 3 and continue the plot with Bobby, Doug, Brenda, Katheryne, and Beast. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
HorrorCoffeeApr 9, 2012
If you compare this to the original Hills Have Eyes there are some differences but I have to say I enjoyed it. It really wasn't a Horror movie but it was pretty good. Usually remakes sucks pretty bad but this wasn't a BAD remake.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
MattApr 20, 2006
Tedious, predictable and not an ounce of originality. Maybe obvious comments for a remake, but the fact that it was helmed by Alexandre (High Tension) Aja raised my expectations considerably. What a shame he quite obviously caved into Tedious, predictable and not an ounce of originality. Maybe obvious comments for a remake, but the fact that it was helmed by Alexandre (High Tension) Aja raised my expectations considerably. What a shame he quite obviously caved into film-company expectations and just chucked out a standard mall horror. If I see another film that has a 'reveal all' from a wall covered in newspaper clippings, I will throw myself under a train, I swear. Occasionally bloody, but the completely one-dimensional characterisation and extremely dodgy political message are what really shock. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Good acting by a solid cast, It kept you interested in it from start to finish, and it was good. A lot better then the original film. I really enjoyed this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DeviousBastardApr 19, 2011
Does a good job at making you feel sorry for the victims and glad that the bad guys gets it in the end. Overall a pretty thrilling piece of work but it's for people with a very strong stomach.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Tiki7690Aug 23, 2012
This film is, at times, absolutely brutal and entirely un-enjoyable. But at other times it is dripping with an atmosphere of pure dread, fear, and creepiness that will make you shiver. The suspense and intensity of the scares is as high asThis film is, at times, absolutely brutal and entirely un-enjoyable. But at other times it is dripping with an atmosphere of pure dread, fear, and creepiness that will make you shiver. The suspense and intensity of the scares is as high as possible; prepare yourself for repulsion and a cranked up heartbeat. I've never really gasped to a movie; I'm a guy, and a hardcore horror fan, but I couldn't help it at times.

Despite the buckets of disgust and horror, though, the great cinematography, combined with that, make this a horror film to be remembered. Brutal, gross, creepy, and intense, it's almost not a movie, but an experience. True Horrror.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
khutchNov 14, 2013
It's nothing groundbreaking, never think of leaving your comfort zone, everything is shown here you've probably seen in another place, but who cares? It's fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
Equally amusing and scary "The Hills have eyes" creates enough suspense and horror to give of the feeling of being in a really bad situation. And I mean REALLY bad. I liked the film, and thought it deserved a decent rating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
GamingGuyJul 12, 2014
The movie was good. It wasn't the same as Wes Craven's film. But Aja really did a good job. The acting was decent which is why I rated this a 6. There was some parts I personally thought was fake especially Brenda's rape scene and one cryingThe movie was good. It wasn't the same as Wes Craven's film. But Aja really did a good job. The acting was decent which is why I rated this a 6. There was some parts I personally thought was fake especially Brenda's rape scene and one crying scene. As for Bobby, he really was great. I believed that all his parts were well acted. and believable. Especially at the scene seeing his father getting burned alive. **** kill those **** Nice!! The make-up was outstanding especially for Lizard and Ruby. But the only thing that was disappointing to me was that in the 1977 version, Ruby was a normal human being. Then the re-make showed her as all deformed which I thought was stupid. Other than that, Lizard was badass!! But damn, that make-up was just done well. I mean, it was done very well!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
charlieW24Oct 2, 2012
'The Hills Have Eyes' begins with a fresh, strong and horrifying start, but as the film hits the last third it feels like everything you've seen before and with a bit of cheesiness in there. As mentioned the start is strong acting and truly'The Hills Have Eyes' begins with a fresh, strong and horrifying start, but as the film hits the last third it feels like everything you've seen before and with a bit of cheesiness in there. As mentioned the start is strong acting and truly horrifying for a horror film, but blood and needless gore replace where there could have been more dramatic humanity and thrills. Worth a watch for its start, but a bit disappointing towards the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
IamMensaMay 28, 2012
Let me put it this way...they should take a grand tally of all who enjoyed this movie, tell them they won a trip to an isolated tropical island deep in the south pacific, fly them all there and then us normal people can test nuclear weaponsLet me put it this way...they should take a grand tally of all who enjoyed this movie, tell them they won a trip to an isolated tropical island deep in the south pacific, fly them all there and then us normal people can test nuclear weapons on. How do you sit at the round table doing a read through or brain storm and say, "yeah so in this scene where Mutant A is holding a gun to the babies head while he sucks milk out of the mothers boob all while his other mutant buddy rapes the same mothers 14 year old daughter should be **** awesome and then we'll burn the father/husband alive" and think that that's ok? A: How do you even think of that to write it, and B: how do you ever think that will make a good movie? I followed God and walked out of this movie, and the whole world should follow. The fact they had the audacity or delusion to make a sequel is beyond baffling. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
The Hills Have Eyes is lacking only in delivery. It needs a twist, a catch, something to captivate the audience and leave them satisfied at the end. Instead, it just ends.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
cam_hunt95Nov 28, 2012
I thought the movie was pretty decent, until the last minute where the director decides to screw you over and laugh in your face. Was going to watch the second, and then was told it was not relevant to the first one. Disappointed
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ChrisJMay 14, 2006
This film is brutal. The violence and the rape scene are far from enjoyable. My girlfiriend and me (she chose to see this, by the way, i thought it looked bad) walked out feeling absolutely appauled, which is exactly what we were supposed to This film is brutal. The violence and the rape scene are far from enjoyable. My girlfiriend and me (she chose to see this, by the way, i thought it looked bad) walked out feeling absolutely appauled, which is exactly what we were supposed to feel. I can't honestly say I like this film but dear God is it good. More remakes like this please Mr Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricY.Mar 11, 2006
This movie was very interesting. I enjoyed the suspense and the freaks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KatieJ.Mar 10, 2006
This was by far the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. It was very disturbing. I would not suggest to anyone to EVER see this movie. It should have not even been put in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JosephP.Mar 17, 2006
I went in not expecting much and came out a lot more satisfied than one would imagine. One thing Aja gets right is the desert atmosphere, the scenery makes the film all the bit better. I myself have interest in nuclear testing and such so I I went in not expecting much and came out a lot more satisfied than one would imagine. One thing Aja gets right is the desert atmosphere, the scenery makes the film all the bit better. I myself have interest in nuclear testing and such so I might have came to like more than the next person. But everyone should apreciate things such as the test village in which the mutants live, a picturesque 50s suburbian environment in a desolated desert. All in all it's one of the better horror movies I've seen lately. Also the kills are shocking and satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeL.Mar 21, 2006
It is a true horror movie in that it makes you feel uncomfortable with what your seeing. Its quite gruesome and sickening so it really does well. However, its easy to get bored with the same scene-set in the dessert and the casting It is a true horror movie in that it makes you feel uncomfortable with what your seeing. Its quite gruesome and sickening so it really does well. However, its easy to get bored with the same scene-set in the dessert and the casting wasn't too great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GMD.Mar 20, 2006
Compelling on its own terms,"The Hills Have Eyes" scares the living hell out of the audience by its violent cinemetography and dark and realistic direction taken by Aja's point of view. A freightning film throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Mar 31, 2006
I've seen virtually every horror movie ever made and am a strong critic of the field -- so I hope you can trust what I have to say and expect credibility. H.H.E. makes Devil's Rejects look like an afternoon get together for tea in I've seen virtually every horror movie ever made and am a strong critic of the field -- so I hope you can trust what I have to say and expect credibility. H.H.E. makes Devil's Rejects look like an afternoon get together for tea in the rectory of your local church. The gore is absolutely brutal. I found myself doing something I haven't done in the the movie theatre in many years -- shifting uncomfortably from the brutality and closing the fingers of my hand into a fist while wincing at the expression of pain on the screen. I found myself looking around the theatre thinking to myself "95% of the the guys who blindly brought girlfriends or wives to this movie are going to pay a HEAVY price on the drive home!" I am absolutely shocked that, here in Canada anyway, all you needed to do to see this movie is be accompanied by something over the age of 18. NOBODY under 18 should be allowed to see this much violence. Our rating system is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieApr 17, 2006
I went to see the HIlls Have Eyes with one of my friends the day after it came out, and I loved it. I know alot people DON'T like it because it was so brutal and disturbing, well yes, it is disturbing.. but you really have to remember I went to see the HIlls Have Eyes with one of my friends the day after it came out, and I loved it. I know alot people DON'T like it because it was so brutal and disturbing, well yes, it is disturbing.. but you really have to remember that it is a horror movie, and if you know anything about the original, then you wouldnt be so surprised about how much gore and blood they've shown. It's quite understandable that people would squirm and be uncomfortable, but before you go see a movie, perhaps you should research it and find out what you're going to be seeing. On another note, I thought this was a great movie, because they didn't hold anything back from you and you leave the theater feeling so shocked that you can't believe what you just saw! The actors are wonderful, in only about two hours they bring so much to their character that you believe they're real people, the make up artists had a heck of a job to do and they did it excellently! I mean, if you watch a movie, and all you get out of it is how horribly bloody it was, you're not really seeing it for what it really is, are you? You should try to appreciate how much time and effort so many people have put into it, and you might see it in a different light. All in all, I was thoroughly impressed with the movie and would see it again any day, just not in the company of parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexZ.Apr 7, 2006
I just couldn't resist the trailer on TV, seeing people running out of the cinema and vomiting. I thought this might be worth the while. So I brought some friends and went into the cinema... Now I have to mention how that movie I just couldn't resist the trailer on TV, seeing people running out of the cinema and vomiting. I thought this might be worth the while. So I brought some friends and went into the cinema... Now I have to mention how that movie didn't live up to my expectations . Sure, there were some gory scenes but I would've prefered more shocking moments instead of 45 minutes boredom before some slaughter scenes, which, in my opinion, weren't scary at all. Just gory. I have to admit that the rape scene was sick, also not scary though, just incredibly sick. I am really sorry that I seen that movie because of that scene but I won't have a hard time forgetting it. There are MUCH, as in much better and in many others, and more thrilling movies of that kind that I would recommend over this one. As another person said here: The movie is also easily predictable. Save your money. Good example for what a good trailer can do, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BethanyMay 9, 2006
This has got to be one of if not the most disturbing film i have ever seen. There was nothing interesting in the entire film, scenes of rape, and suicide make you want to throw up rather than entertain you. I would have to say that the This has got to be one of if not the most disturbing film i have ever seen. There was nothing interesting in the entire film, scenes of rape, and suicide make you want to throw up rather than entertain you. I would have to say that the trailer really fooled many people including myself. And furthermore, if you honestly liked this film and gave this film a good rating, there is something TERRIBLY wrong with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DianeJun 16, 2006
this movie is sick, sick, sick! i almost barfed in the middle of the theater. thank god is was a dollar movie. its funny that the dvd is including graphic scenes not shown in theaters..but what can possibly be more graphic than the original. this movie is sick, sick, sick! i almost barfed in the middle of the theater. thank god is was a dollar movie. its funny that the dvd is including graphic scenes not shown in theaters..but what can possibly be more graphic than the original. i can't imagine what they can think of thats worse than what i saw. The level of fright was based on gore and not real triller suspense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sp3Jul 15, 2006
GREAT MOVIE! Alexandre Aya is one of most talented young directors. His previous movie "Haute Tension" was also brilliant. this movie is a MUST SEE for all horror fans
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WilleG.Jul 2, 2006
awful, just awful - the horror genre is truly dead - gore and over the top violence does NOT equate to a quality horror flick - anyone can throw together a mindless slasher, which is all this flick amounts to - been there, done that to DEATH awful, just awful - the horror genre is truly dead - gore and over the top violence does NOT equate to a quality horror flick - anyone can throw together a mindless slasher, which is all this flick amounts to - been there, done that to DEATH already - horror is more about mood and suspense, not shock value and the constant threat of hack and slash gore laden nonsense at every turn - some of the scariest flicks in history were also some of the most bloodless films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickM.Jul 5, 2006
for the most part this was lame. the plot was lame, and the so called scary parts were simply gorey fight scenes that anyone could have thought of. it was rather disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
cybrswtAug 1, 2006
This was an ok horror remake, I liked the story line better in the original but the graphics was much better in the remake ( story line almost follows the original but not as good ).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
K.DemelAug 4, 2006
For the most part that i saw it wasnt really scary u just felt sorr for the ppl getting tortured and crap but it seemed like it had a lot of action. on of the best horror movies i saw next to the saw movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanA.Mar 8, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie. Probably one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. Great plot, and the gore and intensity level is just over the top. The ending was kind of confusing, but it was still good, knowing there are more out I absolutely loved this movie. Probably one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. Great plot, and the gore and intensity level is just over the top. The ending was kind of confusing, but it was still good, knowing there are more out there. The number 2 doesn't look as good though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MelissaM.Mar 11, 2006
I honestly think this movie was horrible. This most definitely goes on my list for one of the worst movies I've seen. When watching this film it just seemed that everything happened so fast and that not many things were explained in I honestly think this movie was horrible. This most definitely goes on my list for one of the worst movies I've seen. When watching this film it just seemed that everything happened so fast and that not many things were explained in detail. Also the acting wasn't all that great and the movie was also very predictable, I actually sat there and knew what was going to happen next. I was expecting a very scary and very gruesome movie and what did I get out of it? Nothing. The previews before the movie were better. Now a days horror movies that are coming out are just not like they used to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DamonC.Mar 11, 2006
Directors these days equate horror with graphic, gruesome violence. Er, no. What this movies lack (and it lacks completely) in terms of atmosphere and suspense, it makes up in repetitive, mind-numbing gory set pieces that merely shock as to Directors these days equate horror with graphic, gruesome violence. Er, no. What this movies lack (and it lacks completely) in terms of atmosphere and suspense, it makes up in repetitive, mind-numbing gory set pieces that merely shock as to how senseless it all is. Let me repeat - senseless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeTMar 11, 2006
Best horror movie in far too long. Aja is a genious and managed to make an exciting and frightening remake that manages to be 100% better than the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackO.Mar 10, 2006
the most intense and chilling movie i have ever seen. period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BawnT.Mar 10, 2006
You know, this movie might have really been disturbing if I hadn't seen The Devil's Rejects. This movie has similar scenes, but unlike that great film, this one feels fake, staged and rather pathetic, as if the makers were thinking You know, this movie might have really been disturbing if I hadn't seen The Devil's Rejects. This movie has similar scenes, but unlike that great film, this one feels fake, staged and rather pathetic, as if the makers were thinking "oh boy, are we gonna disgust the audience or what!" like some 7 year old kid making a movie. Like a lot of the recent crop of terrible "horror" movies, it turns about halfway through from a rather tense, frustrating film (where you're sure to see someone swoosh past the front of the camera too fast to see them at least 4 times) to an all out action/violence fest once the director knows we've seen too much of the bad guys to be scared of their mere presence. Good thing the one member of the family that has never held a gun before can become a one man killin machine. Some interesting scenes, but all bogged down by terrible, booming soundtrack on every.single.scene. However, good for laughs; most of the people in the theater were either laughing along with me by the end or had left. So there ya go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HalB.Mar 12, 2006
A better-than-average movie for this genre -- the atmospherics of the New Mexico desert are creepy and effective. [Spoiler omitted.] But I agree with the EW reviewer who points out that the "monsters" themselves are victims; at least there A better-than-average movie for this genre -- the atmospherics of the New Mexico desert are creepy and effective. [Spoiler omitted.] But I agree with the EW reviewer who points out that the "monsters" themselves are victims; at least there is one sympathetic "monster" in this over-the-top tale of mutant revenge. The killings are gut-wrenching to the extreme. Definitely not a "date movie"! Very similar to "Wolf Creek"... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeamusS.Mar 12, 2006
Arguably one of the best Mainstream horror films I've seen in a long time. Following the basic huminization of the ultimatly doomed characters, you feel their exhilaration as they truly kick ass. By far the best performance by a dog Arguably one of the best Mainstream horror films I've seen in a long time. Following the basic huminization of the ultimatly doomed characters, you feel their exhilaration as they truly kick ass. By far the best performance by a dog ever commited to film Dear Mr. Aja I have a new faith in you It's breakfast time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyencokeMar 14, 2006
The movie wasn't bad at all. I was expecting much much more gore, i'm not sure why these people are getting so worked up, it wasn't really that gory. It had a few jumps at times... Aside from that not a bad movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KazT.Mar 15, 2006
Billed as a scary movie, a remake of a 70's horror classic, the makers miss almost as much as the MPAA for giving it an R rating. Rape, murder, and torture are not scary, and this movie has plenty of those and no scare at all--the lucky Billed as a scary movie, a remake of a 70's horror classic, the makers miss almost as much as the MPAA for giving it an R rating. Rape, murder, and torture are not scary, and this movie has plenty of those and no scare at all--the lucky ones really die first. Twenty-something males leaving movies to keep from vomiting is a sure sign that something is disturbingly wrong. I had high hopes going for the first 30-minutes until the "filter" that keeps people from bringing only their darkest and most sickening nightmares to life stopped working. "Beyond gruesome" one critic rightly remarks. While I got a refund, I can only hope that I forget the most disturbing images I've seen out of the hundreds of movies I've seen in the theaters over the years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisT.Mar 18, 2006
From what the critics were saying I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly suprised. This is a good but disturbing movie. Anyone with a weak stomach be warned. What I found more disturbing than ever was a family bringing their 3 From what the critics were saying I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly suprised. This is a good but disturbing movie. Anyone with a weak stomach be warned. What I found more disturbing than ever was a family bringing their 3 young kids to the movie...and sat through the whole thing! That should be illegal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BabloE.Mar 24, 2006
Why do we have to get a remake of another 70/80s trash-movie when there are so many good movies that could really use a redo ??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
julesw.Apr 28, 2006
Best movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianMay 12, 2006
Yes, this movie was predictable, and yes, it was sick as hell. People left the theater feeling like crap after the "scene" (those watching would know what I'm talking about) But what some don't understand is that that's what Yes, this movie was predictable, and yes, it was sick as hell. People left the theater feeling like crap after the "scene" (those watching would know what I'm talking about) But what some don't understand is that that's what horror films are REALLY supposed to do- make you horrified. A lot of horror movies have failed at doing that lately, and thats exactly what this movie did, and that's why it gets a good vote from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayD.May 15, 2006
It is very simple why this movie is a 5. The first half of this movie *mos def* delivers! However, the second half of this movie is "Rambo on crack" and is quite retarded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AnthonyL.Jun 20, 2006
Shock horror indeed. The concept is ok, the kills are ruthless and horrifying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KaylaJun 24, 2006
I thought this movie was actually pretty scary, if not predictable, and would've been a pretty good movie except that one part. Everyone else has been to grossed out to say it, but when the hillbilly thing raped that teenager, that was I thought this movie was actually pretty scary, if not predictable, and would've been a pretty good movie except that one part. Everyone else has been to grossed out to say it, but when the hillbilly thing raped that teenager, that was too much. I am pretty liberal on violence and stuff, like explicit scenes in movies, but a teenager? And a mom? That's terrible. I can't beleive some guy sits in his room somewhere and thinks about this stuff. This movie was like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, except it pushed boundaries that should probably be kept in place for todays movies. I'm only 14 and I'm disgusted a teenager would be portrayed in a movie like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CBJun 27, 2006
This movie is a disgrace to filmaking there is nothing to drive the movie after three character are killed in like less then 5 minutes in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JerE.Jul 13, 2006
this film is ann utter disgrace to horror movies. it wasn't scary, it was disturbing. And anyone who rated this high should really be questioned by authorities for certain tendencies. Rape, murder, torture, blood, guts......repulsive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisW.Jul 16, 2006
Too stupid to even comment on. If you're thinking of renting this... just rent ANYTHING else and it will be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SaL.Jul 2, 2006
plot: medium in general... this movie was disturbing and confusing!! it isnt a horrror movie.. its just about sick ppl tryna get revenge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RD.Aug 23, 2006
Very Scary at times. The violnce is very gruesome and morbid. Yet Lizard and Pluto are very menacing and cold-blooded in their performances. At times, the black humor rocks. But the movie essentially is TIMEPASS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JrebAug 8, 2006
First High Tension and now The Hills Have Eyes....Alexandre Aja is becoming one of my favourite horror movie directors. This was a good movie. Very disturbing, very gory, and very tension filled. Everything I love in my horror movies!!!!!!! First High Tension and now The Hills Have Eyes....Alexandre Aja is becoming one of my favourite horror movie directors. This was a good movie. Very disturbing, very gory, and very tension filled. Everything I love in my horror movies!!!!!!! The only problem is that the characters aren't that great and th plot is a little loose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JanFeb 18, 2007
This movie pretty much lacked everything from what I expect of a real good (horror) movie. Quite a lot of scenes are embarrassingly bad or stupid in an unfunny way, other scenes just boring. 3/10 from me since watching this movie felt like a This movie pretty much lacked everything from what I expect of a real good (horror) movie. Quite a lot of scenes are embarrassingly bad or stupid in an unfunny way, other scenes just boring. 3/10 from me since watching this movie felt like a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TrishS.May 17, 2007
This movie was trying to hard to get a reaction out of viewers. I love horror movies, but this was a joke. Rape scene was not necessary and the movie was just boring. Lame, lame, lame!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AngelHeartJul 19, 2007
Theres only so much a film lover can take before saying enough is enough! Yet another remake and yet another complete waste of space. No tension, a useless cast of cardboard cut outs, characters that never connect with the viewer, I could go Theres only so much a film lover can take before saying enough is enough! Yet another remake and yet another complete waste of space. No tension, a useless cast of cardboard cut outs, characters that never connect with the viewer, I could go on and on. This film would get vertigo in a sewer! Garbage with a capital G. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeB.Mar 12, 2006
A shocking and gruesome beast of a movie. But it comes with emotional complexities that are unexpected in studio backed horror productions. The social commentary is a little clumsy, but this can be forgiven because it at least the filmmakers A shocking and gruesome beast of a movie. But it comes with emotional complexities that are unexpected in studio backed horror productions. The social commentary is a little clumsy, but this can be forgiven because it at least the filmmakers attempt to make a point of all the madness. Far better than the Chainsaw remake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnMar 16, 2006
The acting in the lead roles was better than in the original, but the role of the villains was ruined by the lame backstory and the lack of characterization given to them. It's a gory thrill, even if it disappointed me, and I would The acting in the lead roles was better than in the original, but the role of the villains was ruined by the lame backstory and the lack of characterization given to them. It's a gory thrill, even if it disappointed me, and I would easily recommend it over any other horror movie remake in the past few years, except for maybe "Willard" and "Dawn of the Dead." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilyM.Mar 16, 2006
A classic of modern horror, absolutely terrifying and intense. Better than any of the horror movies to come out in America in the last decade. Makes Saw look PG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyV.Mar 19, 2006
i would've given it a 10 if it were more realistic....maybe more character development for the mutants would've done it....the character development for the family was very good and oh so shocking and terrifying when they are i would've given it a 10 if it were more realistic....maybe more character development for the mutants would've done it....the character development for the family was very good and oh so shocking and terrifying when they are brutally slaughtered...my friend cried throughout the film, not because she was scared, but because she found herself connected to the main characters...i was literally on the edge of my seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeF.Mar 19, 2006
Great film. I actually cared for the characters in this film. That doesn't happen often in horror. I'm usually cheering for Jason or Freddy.. whoever the villian is. Alexandre Aja definetly has a future in the horror genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MovieFanaticMar 22, 2006
If you liked the Devils Rejects (huh? 4get that movie? yup thought so) then you will like this film. Who the hell gave this 4 stars!!!??? haha If u like Rape, Blood, and Goofy men that look like Jabba or the cyclopse from the movie 'The If you liked the Devils Rejects (huh? 4get that movie? yup thought so) then you will like this film. Who the hell gave this 4 stars!!!??? haha If u like Rape, Blood, and Goofy men that look like Jabba or the cyclopse from the movie 'The Goonies' then you will love it! Only people who are not true horror fans will think this is actually scary! HAHA girls were the ones jumping in the theater I practically was enjoying my popcorn. Its totally crap! Only little 14 yr olds will think this is 'cool' and who made this? Hicks living in the midwest? A girl getting raped from the back and front is something only teenagers can think of as scary! ITS A TOTAL SCI-FI FILM, not horror or scary at all! The trailors are MISLEADING! Im so mad after reading all the reviews from the people who got their $9.50 back, I was about to walk off only if I knew I could buy myself dinner at least! CRAP movie! SAVE YOUR MONEY b4 the first half!! The whole family except 3 die in the end...its stupid and soooo predictable, not scary at all!!! Wes Craven is an idiot and I think he just humilated himself and his reputation with this idiotic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Apr 16, 2006
Doug(Aaron Stanford) is a liberal, therefore a wuss. He needs mosquito repellant, a hat to protect his head from the sun, and most pointedly, anti-gun. Interestingly, when Doug finally has no choice but to pull the trigger, his face is Doug(Aaron Stanford) is a liberal, therefore a wuss. He needs mosquito repellant, a hat to protect his head from the sun, and most pointedly, anti-gun. Interestingly, when Doug finally has no choice but to pull the trigger, his face is covered in blood(read: red state, NRA advocate). His conservative father-in-law would've been proud. A political subtext runs rampant throughout "The Hills Have Eyes", which doesn't quite excuse the almost unforgiveable sadism, but at least you can't accuse this film of not having a brain. The level of violence is almost on par with the still-notorious "Man Bites Dog". What distinguishes "The Hills Have Eyes" from its ilk is a pretty game attempt at establishing character before the inevitable bloodshed. The level of acting here is unusually good for such a violent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Creepy fun in the beginning, but then becomes overkill towards the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeJul 22, 2006
If you don't like gore, don't see it.....simple as that. But it's definately satisfying for those of us who do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmurabiM.Aug 16, 2006
"The Hills Have Eyes" enjoys of pride and suffers of prejudice. This is a good remake from the Wes Craven original: enjoyable, interesting and creepy; the new version has some interesting points of view, including the poltical one. The new "The Hills Have Eyes" enjoys of pride and suffers of prejudice. This is a good remake from the Wes Craven original: enjoyable, interesting and creepy; the new version has some interesting points of view, including the poltical one. The new version had some creepy feeling and an aura of terror and tenderness that seems at first glance paradoxical. Unfortunately, the movie has the prejudice of critics and devotic fans of the original: it looks terribly innecessary. If the studios, filmmakers and talent involved in these remakes of 70s horror films put their creativity on some original ideas, we could have movies more appealling and interestng, and not the same but with a different (renewed but boring) taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanA.Aug 18, 2006
I thought The Hills Have Eyes was a really great remake. You actually cared about the characters, and it was nice becuase instead of a bunch of ditzy teens like most new horror movies, The Hills Have Eyes centered around a family fighting I thought The Hills Have Eyes was a really great remake. You actually cared about the characters, and it was nice becuase instead of a bunch of ditzy teens like most new horror movies, The Hills Have Eyes centered around a family fighting for survival in a foregin land. I would have given this movie a 10 if it were not for the "now what?" ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseFeb 13, 2007
Easily the best horror movie of 06'. It was possibly the best remake of a film that I have ever seen. The violence is awesome, people are taking it way to far. Excellent movie. The sequel doesn't look all that great. I wish Easily the best horror movie of 06'. It was possibly the best remake of a film that I have ever seen. The violence is awesome, people are taking it way to far. Excellent movie. The sequel doesn't look all that great. I wish Alexandre Aja was directing it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenR.Mar 24, 2007
This film was really good. The atmosphiere and visual style were effective. The story benefits from its reworking from the original as viewers cannot be certain what to expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TFNov 17, 2007
I dont know wats with all the bull from you ppl it was a good movie and it made we wana see the original there have been worse movies (dawn of the dead remake) so dont rate it as the worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Ven-WedeJan 9, 2012
There's one thing a horror movie should never be -- boring. Even in this new age of meaty, blood-soaked torture-porn, horror films are able to maintain audiences' interests by either being legitimately interesting, or being brainless fun (punThere's one thing a horror movie should never be -- boring. Even in this new age of meaty, blood-soaked torture-porn, horror films are able to maintain audiences' interests by either being legitimately interesting, or being brainless fun (pun very much intended). The Hills Have Eyes, however, is as dull and pointless as the protagonist's baseball bat. Scenes drag on for far too long, and the cast are completely incapable of making you care for their characters' safety. Yet, unlike better horror movies, the most annoying characters aren't even given the satisfaction of a gory death. Avoid this like a lumbering mutant redneck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
I actually really liked this movie. Had quite a few good kills, Kept you interested through out, and overall it was simply a good horror movie. I would recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BryceHooglandJul 9, 2012
Horror Director, Alexandre Aja, directs a fairly decent horror film, which is rare for films that genre today. I remember seeing this film when I was 13 and really liking it a lot, so watching it again and seeing how I felt was fun. AjaHorror Director, Alexandre Aja, directs a fairly decent horror film, which is rare for films that genre today. I remember seeing this film when I was 13 and really liking it a lot, so watching it again and seeing how I felt was fun. Aja directing is really fast paced that keeps you wanting to watch the entire film. This is great for the audiences that watch films for entertainment. Aja likes to use gore a lot in his films, so you know going into The Hills Have Eyes that there will be a lot of gore. The violence in this film is realistic and enjoyable if you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hMar 4, 2013
Crap that is. Do not watch this unless You have the mental capability of a child. Serious, mature people can not take this movie seriously. Gross, slasher with no brains.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SEROJJan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie with very few scary and a lot disgusting scenes! There were so many unnecessary scenes! Like the one where a zombie steals mom's body and eats it! That's not scary, that's disgusting! The rape scene as well! I think if we ignore some of the negatives, this is actually a good horror movie but with very few scary scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 28, 2015
The first half of the movie without being boring is smooth but the second half where everybody dies and where the girl gets her breast milk sucked up is just pure genius.Alexandre Aja achieved here a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jun 26, 2015
I was a pretty big fan of Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes and this is a remake that actually gives the original a run for its money. The first thing that this movie got right was getting Craven involved again which also happened with theI was a pretty big fan of Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes and this is a remake that actually gives the original a run for its money. The first thing that this movie got right was getting Craven involved again which also happened with the remake of Last House on the Left. I'd say that the acting is above average. This film does have a few good jump scares but for the most part it relies on he terror of the scenario that the characters are placed in, the second act was really intense and it was probably the best part of the film. There are points where it gets a little gruesome but I just couldn't take my eyes off. The ending doesn't hold up after the intensity starts to tamper off but if you are a hard core horror junkie then you will likely enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Dec 5, 2014
Another insanely fun and gory film from Alex Aja. It started out kinda slow in the first half with really only one big attack scene in the travel trailer. The second half was much more thrilling, and I love how the Doug fought back againstAnother insanely fun and gory film from Alex Aja. It started out kinda slow in the first half with really only one big attack scene in the travel trailer. The second half was much more thrilling, and I love how the Doug fought back against the mutants. Two minor problems though: I wish there would have been a bit more explaining for Ruby, and I would have liked to known a bit more about the mutant that used the walkie-talkie to coordinate attacks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WJSJun 19, 2015
Although I saw the original 'The Hills Have Eyes", I don't really remember all that much about it. I wish I could say the same about this slow moving, extremely violent and bloody remake which just isn't that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nathazioOct 24, 2016
The hills have eyes (2006) overall is a good movie including all around great acting especially from Emilie De Ravin with an outstanding and emotional performance the movie succeeds to entertain but is missing something extra and suffers fromThe hills have eyes (2006) overall is a good movie including all around great acting especially from Emilie De Ravin with an outstanding and emotional performance the movie succeeds to entertain but is missing something extra and suffers from being common at times with predictable jump scares and some common character displays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ninosanAug 20, 2016
Wow this was a gore fest, in a good way of course.
It doesn't shy away from showing you some disturbing violence, and makes you face the horrors that are the murders and the murderers themselves.
The bad decisions made by some characters
Wow this was a gore fest, in a good way of course.
It doesn't shy away from showing you some disturbing violence, and makes you face the horrors that are the murders and the murderers themselves.
The bad decisions made by some characters made it painful to watch at some parts but besides that, this is by far one of the best slasher movies I've ever seen.
Watch it if you like a whole lot of blood, and don't shy away from some top notch brutality.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HassalehOct 14, 2016
This is an atrocious piece of filmmaking. Rape and extreme violence for the sake of cheap thrills with no deeper message at the core. Do not watch this garbage, you'll never get back the time you spend on it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews