The Holiday

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 203

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BronaghH.
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    I liked this movie a lot. It made me laugh and also clap my hands. Very good movie indeed.
  2. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    7
    This film includes a witty script by director Nancy Meyers and good performances by Kate Winslet, Jude Law, and Cameron Diaz. But the movie is stolen by the unlikely duo of Jack Black and 91-year-old Eli Wallach.
  3. AmandaS.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    This movie was a true love story. it appealed to a real audience and it touched me in place that most others fail to reach.
  4. CurtisS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    I am not ashamed to admit that I enjoy a good chick-flick. And this is a good one. Not great. But very good. (To give you some idea of scale, 1982's AN OFFICER AND A GENTLEMAN, 1983's TERMS OF ENDEARMENT and 1942's CASABLANCA are ~great~ chick-flicks--great movies.) Cameron Diaz, Jude Law, Kate Winslet, and Jack Black star in THE HOLIDAY. The movie is about two women who I am not ashamed to admit that I enjoy a good chick-flick. And this is a good one. Not great. But very good. (To give you some idea of scale, 1982's AN OFFICER AND A GENTLEMAN, 1983's TERMS OF ENDEARMENT and 1942's CASABLANCA are ~great~ chick-flicks--great movies.) Cameron Diaz, Jude Law, Kate Winslet, and Jack Black star in THE HOLIDAY. The movie is about two women who trade houses, (one in L.A. and one in England), and get romantically involved with men they meet there. A guy who looks like Jack Black gives most normal guys false movie-hope that they could ever date a girl who looks like Kate Winslet... But, Jack is funny. He writes movie music--and no one seems to notice that movie soundtracks to romantic comedies are not written by women. Ever. But women do direct beautiful movies on occasion. (Nora Ephron, for example.) At 136 minutes, director Nancy Meyers' film is not too long. It's just that I wish the emotional payoff at the end were a whole lot stronger. Of course, there is the Hollywood-obligatory (and always premature) fornication. Actually, love stories on film are traditionally a protracted exercise in longing. Usually, once the two declare their love for each other and kiss, the credits roll. I would like to have seen more scenes of the the relationship between Jack and Kate. The film includes impossibly beautiful shots of the English countryside. If you want to redecorate your house and make it look like happiness incarnate, this is the film to see. Making one of the men a book editor and the other man a film-score composer and one of the women a film-trailer producer adds to the movie-romance homage. There is even a great scene in a Blockbuster movie store where Jack is commenting on movies, (tangentially reprising his role for a moment from HIGH FIDELITY). The camera briefly shows us that one of the stars from one of the classic movies Jack is praising is in the store next to them, and this person overhears him. This is a beautiful romance feel-good movie with a lot of class, kindness and beauty. While not an emotional powerhouse, I do recommend it. My rating: 8.2 out of 10. C The most important truths: "...the Word (Jesus) was God..." "...the Word (Jesus) became flesh..." >>John 1:1;14. "He who believes in the Son (Jesus) *has* everlasting life; and He who does not believe the Son (Jesus) shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him." >>John 3:36. For by *grace* you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the *gift* of God, *not* of works, lest anyone should boast. >>Ephesians 2:8,9. Believe in Jesus: that He is God, that He suffered and died on the cross for all of your sins: past, present and future; that He was buried, that He physically rose from death on the third day--and you will be immediately forgiven, saved forever, and go to Heaven the minute you die. *** Please check out my blog site, which is frequently updated: http://believersworldview.blogstream.com Expand
  5. BcM.
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    Very enjoyable. Drags a little, and my husband was bored. Not me. Fun characters and fun story line. Suitable for most people because the sex scenes were very underplayed.
  6. AnthonyS.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Contrary to Rev. Rikard's response, I felt that Diaz & Jude's relationship was deep and meaningful despite its predictability. For me, they made the movie. They clicked so well together, their onscreen chemistry combined with a fantastic musical score (thanks zimmer!!) get a 9 out of 10 stars in my book. Only downside to the film was that the ending dragged on for a bit in the Contrary to Rev. Rikard's response, I felt that Diaz & Jude's relationship was deep and meaningful despite its predictability. For me, they made the movie. They clicked so well together, their onscreen chemistry combined with a fantastic musical score (thanks zimmer!!) get a 9 out of 10 stars in my book. Only downside to the film was that the ending dragged on for a bit in the last two scenes, other than that, no quibs! Expand
  7. MichaelP.
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    This was pure chick flick, which is not my favorite genre, but I was surprised at how well I was entertained The beginning is a bit of a stretch in terms of believability, but once it gets going, if you suspend your disbelief a little bit, it works well. Good acting, real-seeming interaction between characters (for the most part) and a lot of original dialogue. The famous, aging film This was pure chick flick, which is not my favorite genre, but I was surprised at how well I was entertained The beginning is a bit of a stretch in terms of believability, but once it gets going, if you suspend your disbelief a little bit, it works well. Good acting, real-seeming interaction between characters (for the most part) and a lot of original dialogue. The famous, aging film director feature added a nice touch, and so did the lightening fast cameo appearance by Dustin Hoffman. A well made film, but my instincts are that many men will really find this film boring, too "mushy." Expand
  8. SusanB
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    Definitely for the ladies. A two-for-the-price-of-one romantic comedy. It has its flaws (too long, Diaz still can't act) but for the most part it is heartfelt and sweet and uplifting. Too much time is spent on the Diaz/Law relationship and not enough time on the Winslet/Black pairing. Also, I would have liked more of Eli Wallach's character and his friendship with Winslet. But Definitely for the ladies. A two-for-the-price-of-one romantic comedy. It has its flaws (too long, Diaz still can't act) but for the most part it is heartfelt and sweet and uplifting. Too much time is spent on the Diaz/Law relationship and not enough time on the Winslet/Black pairing. Also, I would have liked more of Eli Wallach's character and his friendship with Winslet. But generally speaking, I walked out of the theater smiling. Also, very happy I went with girlfriends instead of husband!! Expand
  9. JakeC.
    Dec 9, 2006
    7
    Movie was better then expected. Well-written script. Jack Black playing the role of a serious actor was intresting.
  10. MarkBayer
    Jan 23, 2007
    8
    This extremely likable, pleasant seasonal snowball will go down in 2006 film history as The Other Kate Winslet Movie. Her beautifully shaded, finely modulated portrayal of the intellectually and emotionally frustrated suburban housewife in Todd Field's Little Children is indeed a performance for the ages, but her more popularly accessible work here as a lonely woman who Finds True This extremely likable, pleasant seasonal snowball will go down in 2006 film history as The Other Kate Winslet Movie. Her beautifully shaded, finely modulated portrayal of the intellectually and emotionally frustrated suburban housewife in Todd Field's Little Children is indeed a performance for the ages, but her more popularly accessible work here as a lonely woman who Finds True Love after trading homes (and continents) with another (Cameron Diaz) is absolutely nothing to sneeze at either. In fact, Winslet has a monologue more than midway through the film in which she laments the plight of being in an unequal, unrequited relationship with someone who treats her with cavalier disrespect and absolutely no regard for her well-being that had the audience I saw this with sniffling and reaching for Kleenex. (OK, full disclosure time: I was among them.) The fact that Jack Black (nailing an image-busting role that nevertheless takes advantage of his many one-of-a-kind qualities), as a friend of hers who has the potential to be something more, then rejoinders with the perfect, tension-releasing reply is an indication of just how much of a master of crowd-pleasing, satisfyingly manipulative entertainment Nancy Meyers can be. Since professionally and personally splitting with her former partner Charles Shyer (The Affair of the Necklace, Alfie) Meyers has definitely proven herself to be the talented one in the former duo; she elicited a wonderfully graceful, career-redefining performance from Diane Keaton in Something's Gotta Give (as well as Keanu Reeves's most charming work ever in the same movie) and proved in What Women Want that the same Mel Gibson who spent the last several years torturing, crucifying and eviscerating the main characters in his own directorial efforts actually has a light comic side too! Meyers works similar wonders with Jude Law as well; maybe part of it is the desult of pairing him with the delightful Diaz, but this is the first movie I've liked him in since The Talented Mr. Ripley in 1999. If Meyers has an essential flaw, it may be that she's a wee bit TOO eager to please: a movie that features a cute old man, two cute little girls AND a cute dog may be pushing a tad too hard. Perhaps Meyers needs to bring a little less of the cute and a little more of the funny, especially since her contributions in the latter category, such as Black's Bobby McFerrin-like renditions of various popular movie themes, really score. But it's impossible not to like a romantic comedy in which, for once, the mismatched couples we see at the beginning of the movie have overridingly good reasons for NOT belonging together, and one or the other halves isn't getting romantic walking papers for having allergies or liking Styx or some other stupid, contrived reason that serves no other purpose than to make the dumper look unnecessarily petty and superficial. Sometimes you don't necessarily want your cinematic entertainment to reinvent the wheel; you just want NICE, and The Holiday fully delivers. And as recent Christmas-themed movies go (it seems like we get half a dozen new ones every season), ones like this and last year's Christmas in the Clouds and the three-year-old Love, Actually not only perform the essential service of counterbalancing such juvenile junk as Surviving Christmas and Deck the Halls, but provide the very warm feeling of being smooched under the mistletoe by your favorite person while standing in front of a warm fire a few moments before you open that one Christmas gift that's EXACTLY what you wanted. Collapse
  11. T.B.
    Apr 13, 2007
    7
    This certainly doesn't rival Hollywood at its best, best a 20/100? That's ridiculous. A film can be funny and warm - and be good, even if the writing isn't as crisp and clean as something Jane Austen might have penned. The problem with the film is that it tried to tell two stories, when it had only one - Cameron Diaz and Jude Law. And the other problem, which should be This certainly doesn't rival Hollywood at its best, best a 20/100? That's ridiculous. A film can be funny and warm - and be good, even if the writing isn't as crisp and clean as something Jane Austen might have penned. The problem with the film is that it tried to tell two stories, when it had only one - Cameron Diaz and Jude Law. And the other problem, which should be evident, is Jack Black. It's no wonder that Diaz and Law received the majority of the screen time. Expand
  12. LindaL.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    It's two, two, two romantic comedies in one. Nothing very profound here -- unless, perhaps, you feel urgently in need of trading lives with someone in a nice place far away, as the women get to do here. But if you're in the mood for a romantic comedy, this will hit the spot nicely. Likable actors, some funny lines and an enjoyable score.
  13. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    Is it possible for Nancy Meyers to ever fail us? The Holiday is charming and romantic in every way necessary. The chemistry between these actors is astonishing. I'd watch this one at any time of the year.
  14. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    The Holiday is one my all-time favorite rom-coms. At a seemingly lengthy 2 hours and 15 minutes, a typical romantic comedy would crumble and overstay its welcome; thankfully, The Holiday is not your typical rom-com. It features some strong central performances by actors that have great chemistry together. The result is a wholly satisfying film where you actually care about the characters involved.
  15. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Never have I ever had a musical score move me like this one. It fits the story so well. It brings the characters to life in a way that is absolutely indescribable. It takes a movie that would be maybe a 7 and converts it to a strong 10.
  16. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    guys do not watch this movie!! its a chick flick and lovely. .though joe black and kate winslet let it down.Jude law is lovely in it i really enjoyed it
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    A lavishly overstuffed gift basket of a movie.
  2. It's formulaic but with a big heart.
  3. 50
    The Holiday is no vacation. Sloppy writing, an overindulgent editor, and poor casting have taken an intriguing premise and transformed it into an uneven mess.