The Host

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 177
  2. Negative: 70 out of 177
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Was a great movie! Finally something different that doesn't have a terrible ending. Was a little worried about the film because of the other reviews but the story seemed so interesting and was! I feel like it was better the a 8 but can go into a 9 just because of other films I have seen!
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison. Meanwhile, this story is not even remotely close to Twilight and if a different person was credited with creating it, I honestly feel that the ratingsBelieve it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison. Meanwhile, this story is not even remotely close to Twilight and if a different person was credited with creating it, I honestly feel that the ratings would be so much higher. That's because this is actually an incredibly original plot that develops really well throughout. If you want to say that the premise is silly or whatever, go ahead. It's an alien movie for crying out loud. If you don't lower you suspension of disbelief a little bit then every single science-fiction movie also becomes silly, what makes this one different? Go in expecting the premise to be out there because that's the foundation of the plot. Now, the acting, while solid, could've delivered more emotion but that also seemed to be part of the point. Some of the plot points were also a little weak but not enough to ruin the viewing experience. Overall I was very pleased with this film and found it quite entertaining. If people would open their minds a bit and let go of the Twilight relationship, I think most of them would as well. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    This movie wasn't that bad. I had read the book about a year ago, so "filled in" a lot of information myself that wasn't there in the movie. However, if a person HADN'T read the book, they would probably give it a 4 because it was slow moving. There were poignant moments that I enjoyed seeing come to life, but this is really a movie for those who have read the book. It doesn't stand onThis movie wasn't that bad. I had read the book about a year ago, so "filled in" a lot of information myself that wasn't there in the movie. However, if a person HADN'T read the book, they would probably give it a 4 because it was slow moving. There were poignant moments that I enjoyed seeing come to life, but this is really a movie for those who have read the book. It doesn't stand on it's own. There's so much more detail in the book about Wanderer (her life, history, struggle between being a Soul and reconciling it with her new feelings and behavior, dealing with Melanie, etc.) and you only get 1/20th of that from watching the movie. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    This is not a bad movie despite the critics reviews. Saoirse Ronan acting in the film was great and the plot while not strong ended in a satisfying way.The portrail of the struggling Wanda and the occasionally funny Melanie helped when the movie got occasionally dull.
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twilight aside, please allow me to comment on the cinematic masterpiece that was The Host. The poignancy of this quality film stemmed from a script that allowed the characters to truly tap into a world of emotion far beyond human comprehension. Indeed, this movie is quite literally, "out of this world," as alien lifeforms--nay "souls," as they are called--take over all bipedal hominids. All bipedal hominids, that is, save for a group of hardy individuals called The Resistance. Though originally unable to accept Wanderer/Melanie as one of their own, they eventually [spoiler alert] learn to accept her as the lovable, alien-infested being that she is. The striking originality and angst-ridden drama of this film lended itself to a powerfully emotional experience that will remain with me for many a year to come.
    #love #this #movie
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    I liked this film. The presence of Ronan, Hurt, Kruger, and a few others really made up for some of film's weak spots. The story is somewhat generic, but it still works. They add an interesting twist to the "love triangle" formula which is what I believe proves to be one of the stronger aspects here. It's beautifully filmed and that along with several other strong points truly makes up forI liked this film. The presence of Ronan, Hurt, Kruger, and a few others really made up for some of film's weak spots. The story is somewhat generic, but it still works. They add an interesting twist to the "love triangle" formula which is what I believe proves to be one of the stronger aspects here. It's beautifully filmed and that along with several other strong points truly makes up for the film's transgressions. At least we are dealing with a genre that's a bit more forgiving as opposed to glittery vampires. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    The best part of this movie that is being overlooked by it's critics is the genius and the wonder full progression of how each main character comes to terms with their ethics, being honorable and doing the right thing. Each one of them are put in situations where it would be much easier to take the easy way out and give in to their anger violence and prejudice and be like every one else ofThe best part of this movie that is being overlooked by it's critics is the genius and the wonder full progression of how each main character comes to terms with their ethics, being honorable and doing the right thing. Each one of them are put in situations where it would be much easier to take the easy way out and give in to their anger violence and prejudice and be like every one else of their species and not uphold honor and integrity. There are not enough movies out there like this one and there needs to be more. The movie makes so many good points about character and overcoming our primitive responses and showing us how violence and oppression can be overcome with non violent solutions and more forward moving ways of being and thinking. Expand
  8. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Pacing
    - The pacing was very good for the time restraints it has (800+ page book into 2 hours movie) thing flowed from scene to scene. The emotional flow is about the same as the book with pieces taken out to shorten the film Action
    - There gun fight and chases though they are quick and don last as long we can chalk that up mostly to length. Though there is not as much action and many my
    Pacing
    - The pacing was very good for the time restraints it has (800+ page book into 2 hours movie) thing flowed from scene to scene. The emotional flow is about the same as the book with pieces taken out to shorten the film Action
    - There gun fight and chases though they are quick and don last as long we can chalk that up mostly to length. Though there is not as much action and many my have thought. There a still scene intermixed helping the flow of the movie.

    Cinematography
    - Really nice looking Andrew Niccol does a fabulous Job using wide camera angles to show case the scenery Which is stunning even for a desert. He captures the emotion of character using the camera to show their face and eyes to help show you how the characters are felling. This was very well done.

    Production
    - I personally Love the cave scene I feel as though they did a really good job with something of this magnitude (a huge interior living cave system),
    -The desert scene are well shot and make you feel lost as if you where in the desert with the characters
    -The scene in Louisiana Are very well shot used many land marks that look and feel Futuristic and metallic.
    -This is same look is used for the look of the vehicles, tools and accessories used and it's pulled off very well Has flashes of Andrew Niccol's visual style
    -Which lead to Costumes, they were great as souls the where a vintage style, as the cave dwellers they look and feel worn in and practical. Music
    - Score throughout the film good Scored by Antonio Pinto* He does a fabulous job using the score to help convey emotions and help the pacing of the movie flow
    -There is also an official soundtrack that has many great artists, and it is very good and worth checking out bit and pieces of this are dispersed throughout the film. Emotions
    - It was touching in a few scenes, but at times I felt it kind of sputtered and never really took off. Andrew Niccol is not an actor's director and I wish he were because (as written below) some scenes the actors could've been directed/pushed more.

    Acting
    - Solid no weak links amongst the actors/actresses who had speaking parts. Saoirse was good, She thoroughly pulled off the duel roll of Melanie and Wanda, Which she separated by using different accents Melanie(southern, Wanda proper and soft) And she did very well my only Gripe was that to communicate while preventing confusion was to talk outside(no Voice over) as Wanda and talk inside (using a voice over) as Melanie, and feel it might have been better to keep some of the audiology in her head to better convey that, but that would be hard to do and would be confusing to the audience seeing as it’s the same voice.
    - Chandler Canterbury Started out rocky his first experience could have been a little better But she is a very good young actor and can show a lot of emotion. William Hurt was, in my mind, the standout. I see critics really liking his performance. He was funny when needed and he really was this character. Max and Jake were good. They both have a very good presents in the film Jake is able to steel scenes to it balances out with Saoirse -Boyd and Doc were very good. Though i wish they both got more screen time and character development If I had to rank the cast -
    William Hurt (great)
    Boyd Holbrook (awesome screen presence)
    Max Irons, Jake Abel (both were good)
    Diane Kruger (Very solid)
    Francis Fisher (solid but she had minimal screen time)
    Saoirse Ronan (good to fantastic), Chandler Canterbury (pretty good)

    Directing
    - It was good. He has an attention to detail, thought I do wish he could have fixed certain scene and flow like the rest to the movie, but those were very few and everything else worked. His visual style is great I personally love it. 8.5 Overall it was a solid movie, a solid adaption, but it felt a little rushed a point and is missing aspect from the source they could have lent to making it better.
    Expand
  9. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Ignore the basically clueless media reviews…..this is a very intelligent
    and deeply intuitive film by the man who wrote the screenplay for “The
    Truman Show” and who both wrote and directed “Gattaca”…..so forget the “Twilight”-related baggage (which the critics apparently can't)…..go to it with fresh eyes and enjoy the entirely believable and cohesive sci-fi world that Andrew Niccol
    Ignore the basically clueless media reviews…..this is a very intelligent
    and deeply intuitive film by the man who wrote the screenplay for “The
    Truman Show” and who both wrote and directed “Gattaca”…..so
    forget the “Twilight”-related baggage (which the critics apparently can't)…..go to it with fresh eyes and
    enjoy the entirely believable and cohesive sci-fi world that Andrew
    Niccol has created……this is better film than (the interesting) “Looper”
    and an infinitely better film than the current darling of the media
    critics “Amour”.
    Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    This was an excellent movie. I can why people might not like as it is a bit OTT but you can't deny the acting was excellent by all. They should actually turn this into an actuall saga like the Darren Shan.
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    I can't say this is a masterpiece, although it isn't a like Twilight saga. No, The Host is a great movie. If you have read the book, you can notice the movie is on rush but I think this is OK because the original story is really wide. The storyline is great (8/10), the direction is quite good (7/10), the acting is very good (8/10). I really enjoyed The Host because there aren't too muchI can't say this is a masterpiece, although it isn't a like Twilight saga. No, The Host is a great movie. If you have read the book, you can notice the movie is on rush but I think this is OK because the original story is really wide. The storyline is great (8/10), the direction is quite good (7/10), the acting is very good (8/10). I really enjoyed The Host because there aren't too much romantic scenes, there are some action and a bit of Sci-Fi, too.

    All in all, it's a great movie for those, who neither like absolutely romantic films nor absolutely Sci-Fi. It's a movie for those, who would enjoy a film featuring all of these genres.

    So 8,5/10 9/10
    Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Ok so first of all, It's not going to win any awards or be one of the biggest movies of the year. But in saying that it's not at all a bad movie. I haven't read the book so i don't know how closely it follows the story. But i enjoyed the movie enough to want to read the book. The actors are great and the action is fun. It's also funny and touching in parts! I only wish it had been thatOk so first of all, It's not going to win any awards or be one of the biggest movies of the year. But in saying that it's not at all a bad movie. I haven't read the book so i don't know how closely it follows the story. But i enjoyed the movie enough to want to read the book. The actors are great and the action is fun. It's also funny and touching in parts! I only wish it had been that tiny bit better. It lacked something. What that is I'm not quite sure. But it could've been so much better. But still i enjoyed it and would watch it again Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, that was really amazing
    Dont compare this with Twilight.

    Earth has been inhabited by an intellegent alien species known as "Souls." Although an incredibly peaceful race, Souls can only survive by being inserted into a host body, taking control of their minds. In an effort to discover the secret whereabouts of some of the last remaining human resistances, the Soul Wanderer has been inserted into the human being Melanie Stryder, who was captured while attempting to locate her family. After insertion, Wanderer comes to realize an unsettling fact- Melanie has not faded away in consciousness, and in fact is putting up walls in her mind to prevent her family from being found. As time passes and Wanderer tries to break Melanie's walls, she begins to feel sympathetic toward the humans Melanie loves so dearly- her brother Jamie and her partner, Jared Howe. Wanderer becomes torn between loyalty to her own race, trying to give information to the argumentative Seeker assigned to her, and her blossoming love for the humans in her memories. As Wanderer's and Melanies trust builds, they embark on a journey through the desert to find the resistance, nearly dying in the process. Wanderer awakens to find herself captive in the den of the enemy, and realizes her problems have just begun: the humans want her dead, the doctor wants to experiment on her, she may have accidentally lead the Seekers here, and she has become hopelessly in love with Jared, the man who belongs to the human she occupies. What follows is an inspiring story of friendship, love, and loyalty in which the bonds of human brotherhood are tested, and an alien discovers that in all the planets in the universe she has experienced, humans are the only race she would give her life to save.
    Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    I haven't read the book, so i found this movie very enjoyable, interesting and kinda of fresh for me. I didn't realize that the time went by so quick but it still a good one. This movie shows human interactions and emotions such as hate, love, fear, trust, courage and hope.

    If you are after a non stop action movie, then don't go watch this. If others said that the book was much better
    I haven't read the book, so i found this movie very enjoyable, interesting and kinda of fresh for me. I didn't realize that the time went by so quick but it still a good one. This movie shows human interactions and emotions such as hate, love, fear, trust, courage and hope.

    If you are after a non stop action movie, then don't go watch this. If others said that the book was much better than the movie, then maybe i will go buy and read the book. Again, i enjoy this movie and it's a very entertaining one for me compared to horrible die hard 5.
    Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    Not sure why this film is getting suck bad reviews the story is good and for a near two hours movie i was never bored and did not look at my phone for the time once unlike so many films with better scores. Saoirse Ronan was great i thought she gave a really good performance its not a complete sci fi or a romance drama so don't think it another Twilight So make your own mind up but itsNot sure why this film is getting suck bad reviews the story is good and for a near two hours movie i was never bored and did not look at my phone for the time once unlike so many films with better scores. Saoirse Ronan was great i thought she gave a really good performance its not a complete sci fi or a romance drama so don't think it another Twilight So make your own mind up but its worth a watch in my book Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I went into this film with expectations based on the trailers I had seen. Basically, the movie studio apparently was afraid of what they had created, and released promotional material that was so pedantic, so wanton of a touristed veneer, that it completely obscured the artistic and dramatic genius that this film engenders.

    I'm a hard-core science fiction fan. I cried when Defying
    I went into this film with expectations based on the trailers I had seen. Basically, the movie studio apparently was afraid of what they had created, and released promotional material that was so pedantic, so wanton of a touristed veneer, that it completely obscured the artistic and dramatic genius that this film engenders.

    I'm a hard-core science fiction fan. I cried when Defying Gravity was killed. Sunshine is one of the best SciFi movies ever made... so.

    The Host is nothing like the trailers would suggest. It is hardcore Sc-ifi presented in one of the most dramatic and believable scenarios I can think of in recent times. This movie is at least on par, if not more monumental then Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

    Andrew Niccol has directed his opus. While his work to date has been good, this finally distinguishes him as a great director of film.

    Saoirse Ronan once again demonstrates an unbelievable talent for acting. She is able to portray the conflicted alien inhabiting the human body as well as the trapped human soul with amazing skill. The Academy will have no choice but to recognize her acting talent sooner rather then later.

    The story is simple but deep. While I might have liked a more empirical explanation of the how and why the aliens conquered us, what is portrayed manages to imply just enough to make the story believable and understandable.

    To go into more detail would rob the next curious mind of the wonder of the film. Suffice it to say that this movie is worth watching.
    Collapse
  17. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Maybe not an awe inspiring flick, but the drama isn't as bad as some say it is. Perhaps there are some cringe worthy moments, but they were interestingly explored, and coming from a sci-fi fanatic background, I still remained tuned in for the ride until the end.

    I've seen worse attempts, such as Twilight, but this stands on it's own, if a little limp.
  18. Jan 11, 2015
    8
    Director Andrew Niccol (Gattaca, In Time) is known for taking ideas presented in short stories and turning them into something magical for the big screen. The Host is loosely based on Robert Silverberg's classic, Passengers, and tells the story of aliens who come to earth and use human beings as host bodies. Once inside, the aliens replace their humans consciousness for their own purposes,Director Andrew Niccol (Gattaca, In Time) is known for taking ideas presented in short stories and turning them into something magical for the big screen. The Host is loosely based on Robert Silverberg's classic, Passengers, and tells the story of aliens who come to earth and use human beings as host bodies. Once inside, the aliens replace their humans consciousness for their own purposes, but some are able to resist this process and even control their alien host. Melanie Stryder (Saoirse Ronan) is one of those people, and while she can't rid herself of the alien presents inside of her, she can control it. Saoirse Ronan stars and it is great to finally see her in a movie that is worth while. Ronan is one of the top young actresses in Hollywood, but she keep playing roles like Hanna, in terrible films that do little more than to allow her to show off her talent. In those films, she was the only thing worth watching, so putting her in a film that's actually good, really gave her the opportunity to shine and she was amazing. Ronan played the role of Melanie, trapped in her own body but also played the alien Wanda that was inside of her. Once gaining control of Wanda, Melanie seeks out her family, which are part of the resistance. He main love interest is played by Max Irons, who was also terrific. Known more as a model and background character, this was really one of his first starring roles, and he was fantastic, playing a man caught between his love for this girl and his hatred for the alien inhabiting her. The Host has it all, an alien race, chasing a fugitive on the run, leading up to a major dilemma, wrapped inside a love story. Silverberg's Passenger is a favorite of mine and I knew with Andrew Niccol at the helm that this was going to be a good film, but I had no idea how innovative and intense the story would be, and for that, The Host is the latest film to join our list of must see movies. Expand
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I like Sci Fi but I like a great movie with a beautiful story even better. This is both so it is a winner. Very well done and I usually read the book before I watch the movie. I am glad I did not in this case. I had just watched Pacific Rim with my son at the local IMAX 3D and was amazed at the special effects but it was missing something, like a story. The Host filled in the gap and I amI like Sci Fi but I like a great movie with a beautiful story even better. This is both so it is a winner. Very well done and I usually read the book before I watch the movie. I am glad I did not in this case. I had just watched Pacific Rim with my son at the local IMAX 3D and was amazed at the special effects but it was missing something, like a story. The Host filled in the gap and I am very glad I watched it. I guess I am saying it was better than Pacific Rim in my book! Expand
  20. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    Why Would the writer-director of "In Time" make a Stephenie Meyer adaptation? In time was a good suspenseful science fiction thriller film Niccol has some good imagination with science so why is he making a movie about Meyers book? i do not know or care all i am just saying is i did not see Twilight cause i hate the movies also i hate Lautner and Pattinson. So anyways when i watchWhy Would the writer-director of "In Time" make a Stephenie Meyer adaptation? In time was a good suspenseful science fiction thriller film Niccol has some good imagination with science so why is he making a movie about Meyers book? i do not know or care all i am just saying is i did not see Twilight cause i hate the movies also i hate Lautner and Pattinson. So anyways when i watch this movie all of the cliche's of Meyers and her books are exactly the same also its exactly like twilight so why don't critics who get paid to watch her failed movies should bring a check list each time when you a Meyer movie. this movie i found entertaining , interesting the reason why i give this a 7/10 is its corny cheese vampire romance bull **** Grade B- Expand
  21. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    I loved it! I believe this movie was done incredibly well. The film adaption very closely followed the plot and actions of the book written by Stephenie Meyer. I would strongly recommend this movie to anyone.
  22. Apr 16, 2015
    7
    The host - the book - was the very first book that I stop reading after three chapters, I gave up because I thought it was tedious and boring. It's also the reason why I have this rule, whenever I pick up I read up to three or four chapters and if by then I'm not not hook or interested in the story I put it down. So when the host - the movie - came out in 2013 the only thing that got meThe host - the book - was the very first book that I stop reading after three chapters, I gave up because I thought it was tedious and boring. It's also the reason why I have this rule, whenever I pick up I read up to three or four chapters and if by then I'm not not hook or interested in the story I put it down. So when the host - the movie - came out in 2013 the only thing that got me interested was Saoirse Ronan. At the time, I remember thinking "What the F*ck is she doing in that movie?" but she was in it, so I gave it a shot, putting all of my preconceived ideas about it aside.

    Once I saw it, I was pleasantly surprised, the plot was far more interesting that I gave it credit for. I was not sure where it stemmed from but when I realized that it was The Truman Show, Lord of War, The Terminal Andrew Niccol behind The Host I got the idea. The movie is intriguing, engaging, and quite riveting, it's a lot less cheesy than what I expected, actually less than what the marketing suggested. The Host is smart with good action sequences and another stunning performance by Saoirse Ronan.

    The acting is probably the other thing that makes this movie a better one. Ronan is completely badass in The Host because she manages to show you two different characters in that one film. They have the same body and same voice but there is not doubt that it is two characters on screen. Her co-stars Jake Abel, Max Irons, Diane Kruger, Frances Fisher & William Hurt are holding their own. The Host is a well rounded movie, So I wonder what went wrong? My guess is a bit of timing and marketing faux-pas. The movie came out in the wake of Twilight fatigue, which was not a smart move, and it was Marketed as another cheesy love story when we already had five years of cheesy Edward & Bella love story. And also let's face it the pace was a little slow but I don't think that hurt the movie.

    Andrew Niccol's take on The Host was intriguing, sophisticated and entertaining. @wornoutspines
    Expand
  23. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    This movie is amazing, one of the best of 2013. I don't understand why the critics hate it so much, is such a strong and pretty story. The book is so cool, probably they hate because it's Stephanie's Meyer, maybe that's it.
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Curtis Woloschuk
    Apr 7, 2013
    20
    Steven Spielberg famously retained his childhood sense of wonder. On this evidence, Meyer has maintained a nine-year-old's notion of titillating romance.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 3, 2013
    40
    This film adaptation feels like YA, with cat’s-cradle love matches, soft-focus sexuality, and a main character who never satisfactorily makes the transition from page to screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 29, 2013
    0
    It's really a dramatic sinkhole.