Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    A silly, if fun, futuristic sci-fi romance.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 28, 2013
    60
    The Host gets bogged down in its “who’s kissing whom now?” dynamics, and it becomes all too easy to snicker at it.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Mar 29, 2013
    50
    As with the Twilight series, The Host's infelicities—drab dialogue, ridiculous plotting, more emotional crises than there is story—are enlivened by its thematic eccentricities.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 28, 2013
    40
    Watch closely and you might even spy a better film inside, straining to break free.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    The Host basically comes down to a vote for Team Jared or Team Ian. I voted myself into oblivion about half an hour in. Niccol, who once added mystery and suspense to the sci-fi of 1997's "Gattaca," is no match for the giant marshmallow that is The Host.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 28, 2013
    30
    Dopey, derivative and dull, The Host is a brazen combination of unoriginal science-fiction themes, young-adult pandering and bottom-line calculation. That sounds like it should work (really!), but it never does, largely because the story is as drained of energy as are its moony aliens.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 29, 2013
    0
    It's really a dramatic sinkhole.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 53
  2. Negative: 21 out of 53
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twilight aside, please allow me to comment on the cinematic masterpiece that was The Host. The poignancy of this quality film stemmed from a script that allowed the characters to truly tap into a world of emotion far beyond human comprehension. Indeed, this movie is quite literally, "out of this world," as alien lifeforms--nay "souls," as they are called--take over all bipedal hominids. All bipedal hominids, that is, save for a group of hardy individuals called The Resistance. Though originally unable to accept Wanderer/Melanie as one of their own, they eventually [spoiler alert] learn to accept her as the lovable, alien-infested being that she is. The striking originality and angst-ridden drama of this film lended itself to a powerfully emotional experience that will remain with me for many a year to come.
    #love #this #movie
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    I loved it! I believe this movie was done incredibly well. The film adaption very closely followed the plot and actions of the book written byI loved it! I believe this movie was done incredibly well. The film adaption very closely followed the plot and actions of the book written by Stephenie Meyer. I would strongly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga".Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison. Meanwhile, this story is not even remotely close to Twilight and if a different person was credited with creating it, I honestly feel that the ratings would be so much higher. That's because this is actually an incredibly original plot that develops really well throughout. If you want to say that the premise is silly or whatever, go ahead. It's an alien movie for crying out loud. If you don't lower you suspension of disbelief a little bit then every single science-fiction movie also becomes silly, what makes this one different? Go in expecting the premise to be out there because that's the foundation of the plot. Now, the acting, while solid, could've delivered more emotion but that also seemed to be part of the point. Some of the plot points were also a little weak but not enough to ruin the viewing experience. Overall I was very pleased with this film and found it quite entertaining. If people would open their minds a bit and let go of the Twilight relationship, I think most of them would as well. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    I was feeling a bit dragged about The Host. I thought the trailer was better than the movie itself. I agree with the critics. This is not theI was feeling a bit dragged about The Host. I thought the trailer was better than the movie itself. I agree with the critics. This is not the Stephanie Meyer movie I know about. But now since the "Twilight" series finished, maybe I'll give it a shot on The Host. It may be a disappointment just like Beautiful Creatures, but I'll rent it. Maybe I'll just read the novel instead. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    3
    The biggest sin of this film is that it is so dull, it is completely forgettable. I saw the movie a while ago but I can't remember a singleThe biggest sin of this film is that it is so dull, it is completely forgettable. I saw the movie a while ago but I can't remember a single thing about it. Acting is subpar, the story is sloppy, action is dull, interesting sci-fi concepts are barely explored and the hackney love story is generic and boring. There is nothing about this movie that I hate, but there is also nothing I like. It is just lazy garbage made to cash off of the success of Stephanie Myers far more popular and unintentionally funny Twilight franchise. I would recommend this movie if you enjoy watching paint dry. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers. The Host is a science fiction film of 2013 directed by Andrew Niccol, based on the novel by Stephenie Meyer with Saoirse Ronan, William Hurt and Diane Kruger.
    In a not too distant future our planet has been invaded by an alien race called "Souls" that to live must take the body of another living being. Most of the people were "owned" by the "Soul" but a small part resists including Melanie (Saoirse Ronan), a girl who was captured and in which the cover you have entered a '"Soul" to find out where are the last survivors. But the girl is strong and the '"Soul" called Wanderer, is slowly infected by his human emotions. Having escaped from the clutches of those who held them captive, Melanie, along with the Wayfarer will start a journey to return home and to embrace the people he loves the most.
    The film is a real failure. Fails to bring the viewer into the story and even to appreciate certain characters. Besides, the film proves tedious and has not found any original (even though he had an idea based not bad). Some scenes unwittingly create laughter especially in those romantic. A film that leaves nothing to the viewer. The direction is discreet while Saoirse Ronan has proved an excellent actress.
    Collapse
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    You can't make me see this film even if you paid me. The effects were painful to the eyes, the story was a rip off of other Sci-Fi films, andYou can't make me see this film even if you paid me. The effects were painful to the eyes, the story was a rip off of other Sci-Fi films, and acting was so bad it made who could have been good characters look bad. With hope, Stephanie Meyers will never get involved in movies again. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers