The Host

The Host Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    A silly, if fun, futuristic sci-fi romance.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 28, 2013
    60
    The Host gets bogged down in its “who’s kissing whom now?” dynamics, and it becomes all too easy to snicker at it.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Mar 29, 2013
    50
    As with the Twilight series, The Host's infelicities—drab dialogue, ridiculous plotting, more emotional crises than there is story—are enlivened by its thematic eccentricities.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 28, 2013
    40
    Watch closely and you might even spy a better film inside, straining to break free.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    The Host basically comes down to a vote for Team Jared or Team Ian. I voted myself into oblivion about half an hour in. Niccol, who once added mystery and suspense to the sci-fi of 1997's "Gattaca," is no match for the giant marshmallow that is The Host.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 28, 2013
    30
    Dopey, derivative and dull, The Host is a brazen combination of unoriginal science-fiction themes, young-adult pandering and bottom-line calculation. That sounds like it should work (really!), but it never does, largely because the story is as drained of energy as are its moony aliens.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 29, 2013
    0
    It's really a dramatic sinkhole.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 53
  2. Negative: 20 out of 53
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twilight aside, please allow me to comment on the cinematic masterpiece that was The Host. The poignancy of this quality film stemmed from a script that allowed the characters to truly tap into a world of emotion far beyond human comprehension. Indeed, this movie is quite literally, "out of this world," as alien lifeforms--nay "souls," as they are called--take over all bipedal hominids. All bipedal hominids, that is, save for a group of hardy individuals called The Resistance. Though originally unable to accept Wanderer/Melanie as one of their own, they eventually [spoiler alert] learn to accept her as the lovable, alien-infested being that she is. The striking originality and angst-ridden drama of this film lended itself to a powerfully emotional experience that will remain with me for many a year to come.
    #love #this #movie
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    I loved it! I believe this movie was done incredibly well. The film adaption very closely followed the plot and actions of the book written byI loved it! I believe this movie was done incredibly well. The film adaption very closely followed the plot and actions of the book written by Stephenie Meyer. I would strongly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga".Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison. Meanwhile, this story is not even remotely close to Twilight and if a different person was credited with creating it, I honestly feel that the ratings would be so much higher. That's because this is actually an incredibly original plot that develops really well throughout. If you want to say that the premise is silly or whatever, go ahead. It's an alien movie for crying out loud. If you don't lower you suspension of disbelief a little bit then every single science-fiction movie also becomes silly, what makes this one different? Go in expecting the premise to be out there because that's the foundation of the plot. Now, the acting, while solid, could've delivered more emotion but that also seemed to be part of the point. Some of the plot points were also a little weak but not enough to ruin the viewing experience. Overall I was very pleased with this film and found it quite entertaining. If people would open their minds a bit and let go of the Twilight relationship, I think most of them would as well. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    The movie is not a Sci-Fi movie, it’s a love story with some science fiction elements. The plot is dull, the acting is regular and the visualThe movie is not a Sci-Fi movie, it’s a love story with some science fiction elements. The plot is dull, the acting is regular and the visual effects are fine. I believe it is a hard book to adapt (cause half of the story takes place on the head of the main character) and they did what they could in 2 hours, but I felt it all in a weird dull-rush, some of the things didn’t make sense. The idea is good but the movie didn’t quite capture it. Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    A silly "teen beat" approach to typical sci-fi invader tropes, this overly done and half baked psuedo love story provides more laughs thanA silly "teen beat" approach to typical sci-fi invader tropes, this overly done and half baked psuedo love story provides more laughs than gasps. exhibit a) the chemistry between these kids is non existent, making for some unintentionally hilarious scenes. not the fault of our young cast, who struggles with utterly ridiculous dialogue though with promising conviction. exhibit b) the narrative get's lost into an ostentatious dive by the whim of over dramatic "love cues" or quite simply, poor writing. let's face it, Stephanie Meyer doesn't really know what she's doing. an unlearned writer who got lucky with 'The Twilight Series' by tapping into the narrative routine that was more like a "teen idol poster" to a novel, Meyer was able to exploit what teenage girls "really want"; having been undermined with sexist literary schemes that harken back to the "damsels in distress" or "suzie homemakers in white aprons", with a twist. what's her modus operandi? a subversive heroin who balks and crumbles at the feet of a prototypical blue-eyes, who reminds them what it's like to be a woman. you couldn't write dialogue anymore jarring to 50 years of women's lib if you tried. exhibit c) there must have been a better way to engage the audience with the pivotal "two voices in my head" scene. a scene wherein both the writer and director attempt to circumvent the drama with a true, honest to god commentary on the anagonist's jungian state, which would translate into this sort of thematic reveal and open up the plot and central theme of the movie. unfortunately, it's far more sillier on screen than it was on paper. in fact, who even writes this stuff? oh, yeah.....exhibit b.

    cold special effects that add to the atmosphere but operate as nothing more than breaks of eye-candy, this story will expose Meyer for what she really is. a fake. *2 out of 5 stars*
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2014
    2
    Horrible movie to watch. Alien parasite like creatures taking over human bodies to accomplish, well, something. I don't really know, I wasHorrible movie to watch. Alien parasite like creatures taking over human bodies to accomplish, well, something. I don't really know, I was bored most of the time watching it. Acting was bad, story was bad, characters were boring. Waste of time. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    You can't make me see this film even if you paid me. The effects were painful to the eyes, the story was a rip off of other Sci-Fi films, andYou can't make me see this film even if you paid me. The effects were painful to the eyes, the story was a rip off of other Sci-Fi films, and acting was so bad it made who could have been good characters look bad. With hope, Stephanie Meyers will never get involved in movies again. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Episode Review: Late Show With David Letterman Series Finale

    Episode Review: Late Show With David Letterman Series Finale Image
    Published: May 21, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about David Letterman's final episode as host of CBS's Late Show.
  3. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  4. 2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    Get a list of this year's Emmy winners, find out which experts made the most accurate predictions, and read reviews of host Neil Patrick Harris and the Emmy broadcast from a variety of TV critics.