The Hot Chick

The Hot Chick Image
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jessica Spencer is convinced she has the perfect life. She's the hottest, most popular girl in high school, head cheerleader, and dating the dreamy quarterback. But she gets a big dose of reality when she wakes up in the body of a 30-year-old man (Schneider)! (Touchstone Pictures)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. 75
    I haven't laughed harder at anything this year, but I would have a hard time recommending this gender-bending gut-buster to anyone who doesn't have a high threshold for crude sexual humor and stereotypes.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    63
    Faris is delightful, in fact, and she steals the movie right out from under Schneider.
  3. 50
    The cast, save the charisma-free Schneider, is uniformly hilarious, and deserves classier high jinks than this Juwanna Tootsie roll.
  4. Rob Schneider runs an obstacle course of taste and emerges remarkably unsullied, considering the choices he faces.
  5. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    30
    At best routinely assembled -- at worst barely competent. The slapstick is labored, and the bigger setpieces flat.
  6. The first half hour of Hot Chick, before the switch, plays like soft-core porno from the '60s. The rest plays like a bad "Saturday Night Live" sketch stretched to the breaking point.
  7. A comedy that surpasses stupidity, and not in entertaining ways.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    You're gonna laugh out laud with Rob Schneider if you choose to watch this movie! I highly recommend it to any positive human being and toYou're gonna laugh out laud with Rob Schneider if you choose to watch this movie! I highly recommend it to any positive human being and to those who want to watch something that will make them laugh! Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    The movie was completely demented, but I laughed a lot. Simple story with a lot of crazy characters that just seemed to work. The movie isThe movie was completely demented, but I laughed a lot. Simple story with a lot of crazy characters that just seemed to work. The movie is what it is. Stupid, but pretty damn funny. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    7
    I love this movie! it's super funny and the parts are Perfect!! I don't get the negitives on this movie???!?!?!? I love it! WatchI love this movie! it's super funny and the parts are Perfect!! I don't get the negitives on this movie???!?!?!? I love it! Watch it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. BitBurn
    Sep 21, 2007
    6
    I mean, on a Wednesday night, it's worth the rental. Rachel McAdams is too good of an actress for these kinds of b-movies. There are a I mean, on a Wednesday night, it's worth the rental. Rachel McAdams is too good of an actress for these kinds of b-movies. There are a few good funny scenes for sure though (that is why I gave it a 6) but overall it's very incoherent and too stupid at times. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    There are so many things wrong with this movie. First off the plot was horrible. A male criminal switches bodies with a female high schoolThere are so many things wrong with this movie. First off the plot was horrible. A male criminal switches bodies with a female high school student. This is a movie for high school and college kids with very low attention spans. There where only a couple parts that where funny everything else seemed like it was trying to hard. The girls in this movie are popular just like in all teen movies, but this is no Easy A or Mean Girls. So please stop making these types of movies Rob Schneider and stick to doing cameos in Adam Sandler movies. . Collapse
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    2
    Besides a few minor laughs spread through out the movie, It was pretty stupid. So stupid that I can not recommend this to anyone. ReallyBesides a few minor laughs spread through out the movie, It was pretty stupid. So stupid that I can not recommend this to anyone. Really disapointing imo. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.