Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 30, 2009
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
54
Mixed:
15
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TarekM.Jan 1, 2010
Finally a correct homage to the 80's horror flicks without any stupid quotes or irony. Rock on Ti West!
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
horcrux2007Apr 3, 2015
Having heard only good things about this movie from critics and fans, I had to check it out. I gotta say, it certainly didn't disappoint me! The House of the Devil is essentially an 80's movie that was released in 2009. It has all the zoomHaving heard only good things about this movie from critics and fans, I had to check it out. I gotta say, it certainly didn't disappoint me! The House of the Devil is essentially an 80's movie that was released in 2009. It has all the zoom shots, freeze frames, occult themes, and blood that you'd expect from one while not succumbing to the cheap jump scares and bad CGI that's present in many of today's horror films. The movie is about a college student who takes a babysitting job during a lunar eclipse. However, instead of taking care of children, she has to take care of this mysterious old woman who never leaves her room. The dark house, her employers' odd behavior, and this strange woman upstairs adds a layer of mystery to the film, but that mystery can only go on so long until it becomes boring. The slow middle act is only a distraction for what is to come, however, and the film takes a complete 180 into its third act and becomes a bloody, scary, and intense film that kept me gripping my seat for the final 30 minutes. It's on Netflix if you're interested. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Regarding the buzz 'bout it paying tribute to the classics, I agree with it. I saw the clear influences of Polanski especially his film Rosemary's Baby. It didn't meet my expectations but I still thought it was good. It's clever and theRegarding the buzz 'bout it paying tribute to the classics, I agree with it. I saw the clear influences of Polanski especially his film Rosemary's Baby. It didn't meet my expectations but I still thought it was good. It's clever and the tension slowly builds up until you're left with a disturbing and inexplicable climax. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
eLipseSep 25, 2014
I love horror movies but this movie was pretty much a boring piece of crap. I went in with mildly high expectations since it got so much praise by the critics and was left severely disappointed. I don't know how anyone could have found thisI love horror movies but this movie was pretty much a boring piece of crap. I went in with mildly high expectations since it got so much praise by the critics and was left severely disappointed. I don't know how anyone could have found this scary. I kept thinking if I can just stick with this movie through the boring parts I'll eventually get to the scary parts, but yep you guessed it. There are none. Not one. I'm being kind by giving this a 3. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
hopefulcynicOct 4, 2014
Making me physically uncomfortable for 15 minutes does not make up for the fact that the other 80 minutes of this film are painfully boring. It started off alright, but took forever to get to where it was going. When it got there it reallyMaking me physically uncomfortable for 15 minutes does not make up for the fact that the other 80 minutes of this film are painfully boring. It started off alright, but took forever to get to where it was going. When it got there it really got there, but after such a long drawn out build up it came and went too fast. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
RoadwarriorDec 10, 2011
It does indeed build an intensity via nostalgic 80's occult angst but it drags out for far too long for so little reward. The leading lady performance is plausible but she cannot single handedly float the film out of it's disappointingIt does indeed build an intensity via nostalgic 80's occult angst but it drags out for far too long for so little reward. The leading lady performance is plausible but she cannot single handedly float the film out of it's disappointing anti-climax. It does have that one good 'jump' moment worth missed heartbeat or two. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
[Anonymous]Feb 16, 2010
It seems this got high votes for presenting an 80's style movie. But that isn't enough to say it is good. Sure it was something different, but my friend felt that this was a ripoff of Tarantino style of homage to older style films. It seems this got high votes for presenting an 80's style movie. But that isn't enough to say it is good. Sure it was something different, but my friend felt that this was a ripoff of Tarantino style of homage to older style films. For me, I love slow brew suspense and horror movies, but this was just flat out dull and the similarities to Rosemary's Baby were disappointing. The only thing scary was that we actually sat through it. If it hadn't been a guy's night movie, none of us would have finished it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
zachFeb 10, 2010
The last 10 minutes are just horror cliches. Once the ritual took place i predicted exactly what would happen utterlly horrible no reedeming qualities what so ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GeoffMcNultyFeb 4, 2010
A nearly perfect attempt at making a slow-burning horror movie from the early 1980s. Hindsight is 20/20.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielP.Nov 1, 2009
I liked the stylish retro feel of the movie but that was all that I liked. All but the last 20 min of the movie were a bad attempt on subtle suspense (I was just bored). Just as the film started getting good... it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpencerNov 2, 2009
A pitch-perfect homage to the glory days of 80's horror, that never once stoops to satire. Every scene is crafted with finesse and absolute devotion. This film feels like a collection of all the memorable bits of horror that we look A pitch-perfect homage to the glory days of 80's horror, that never once stoops to satire. Every scene is crafted with finesse and absolute devotion. This film feels like a collection of all the memorable bits of horror that we look back on fondly, from the lighting, sounds, music, and atmosphere without any of the demerits. Meaning it adheres to the strict genre conventions while at the same time transcending them. Oh, and most importantly, the build up of tension and atmosphere is unbearably intense and it is scary as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndrewS.Nov 4, 2009
The build-up hints at something great lurking around the corner... and even pushes your wits at anticipation. And pushes it more, and more, and even more still. The only 'scares' are ridiculously unexplainable, coming in the last 5 The build-up hints at something great lurking around the corner... and even pushes your wits at anticipation. And pushes it more, and more, and even more still. The only 'scares' are ridiculously unexplainable, coming in the last 5 minutes but are too cheap and too fleeting to make up for a movie that really amounts to nothing but an homage to the look (but little else) of 80s horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JTDec 12, 2009
The plot for this film has been done a million times (or is it two million?). But the thing that gives it an edge is that the characters are smart & realistic, aspects which are usually tossed aside in 99% of other horror films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulDDec 3, 2009
This movie is awesome. Rarely are horror movies crafted with such obvious care and attention. It relies on pacing and quality rather than in-your-face relentless violence or cliche shocks. One of the best horror movies of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewK.Nov 12, 2009
To those who have said the pay-off is not worth the build-up, I'd say maybe they're not approaching the film the right way. The build-up IS the pay-off. The fear and anticipation seething greater and greater (a fear and To those who have said the pay-off is not worth the build-up, I'd say maybe they're not approaching the film the right way. The build-up IS the pay-off. The fear and anticipation seething greater and greater (a fear and anticipation our heroine believes she is feeling naively) is what has the viewer on their seats edge despite what seemingly inane activites the heroine is performing. And, to me, when the climax finally does come, it doesn't seem ridiculous as it does surreal (we were warned from the beginning after all). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Christopher_G2Oct 14, 2015
The House of the Devil is one of the better done homages to 80's horror films I have seen in the modern era. The story builds in a very deliberate manner, introducing the characters and it's simple but engrossing story in a deliberate buildThe House of the Devil is one of the better done homages to 80's horror films I have seen in the modern era. The story builds in a very deliberate manner, introducing the characters and it's simple but engrossing story in a deliberate build that surrounds you in creepy atmosphere and increases over time the tension. The film follows a sweet college girl desperate to make some money, gets involved in something she didn't expect; it may not seem like the most original plot, but the way it plays out in not too cliché ridden. Periodically the movies hits with a bang, but mostly it's a gradual climb to the gripping final act. The middle act certainly will frustrate some viewers with it's pace, and it that may make it tedious on a re-watch, but for me the first time through I really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamesCannonOct 27, 2014
Superb horror throwback. I actually prefer this horror release to the newer and shinier Cabin the Woods. Though they are two completely different types of movies, this one had great atomsphere and tension, reminiscient of great horrorSuperb horror throwback. I actually prefer this horror release to the newer and shinier Cabin the Woods. Though they are two completely different types of movies, this one had great atomsphere and tension, reminiscient of great horror classics. The ending was excellent in my opinion. Some may get annoyed with the slow burn pacing but I thought it was just right. To top it off it has one of the great michael mann character actors Tom Noonan who is fabulous in this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cjm868Apr 1, 2016
An awesome throwback to classic suspense/horror movies. It's clear that the best effort has been made to make it look like this film is straight out of the 1970's. It works too, it really does look like a movie that was made in the 70's; TheAn awesome throwback to classic suspense/horror movies. It's clear that the best effort has been made to make it look like this film is straight out of the 1970's. It works too, it really does look like a movie that was made in the 70's; The clothes, locations/sets, music, hair etc. are all spot on... at least they appear to be because I wasn't around back then.

There's a lot of waiting in this movie but that, like the era emulation, is part of what makes The House of the Devil so good. The suspense builds, "when is something going to happen?" is something that went through my mind a few times, not in a bad way, in more of a "the suspense is getting to me," kind of way.

I'd like to see more movies like this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JoellemmSep 23, 2016
Ti West creates just what he appears to set out for, a homage to 80's horror flicks, so for this, it is hard to criticise. Cheesy, predictable, and ridiculous, but unlike most modern horrors, it sets out for this; whilst remaining tense andTi West creates just what he appears to set out for, a homage to 80's horror flicks, so for this, it is hard to criticise. Cheesy, predictable, and ridiculous, but unlike most modern horrors, it sets out for this; whilst remaining tense and thrilling, which it achieves. Does not provide anything new, the plot and hints are overly simplistic. But, its entertaining enough, and a refreshing change. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AndrewdeekingJan 10, 2015
Just an average horror film. Alot of build up for not alot of scare. Just my opinion!

It would've been better if perhaps there wasn't as much attention to detail. Like boring detail.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MattBrady99Oct 15, 2016
How many times have you heard people praise movies or TV shows just based on it's 80's theme and it's nostalgic references. It's happening all the time now.

"Stranger Things" (TV show) "200 Cigarettes" "Wet Hot American Summer" The
How many times have you heard people praise movies or TV shows just based on it's 80's theme and it's nostalgic references. It's happening all the time now.

"Stranger Things" (TV show)
"200 Cigarettes"
"Wet Hot American Summer"

The list goes on, but I don't want to be here all day. Yeah, it's cool seeing this film or music from the 80's there as the scene plays out. But why do I have this feeling that it's only there because the creator or director wants it there just because he likes that movie or song. The same goes with the setting and the feel that I think is missing in these homages. It just doesn't feel like it's the 80's, even if you throw in the endless references and throw backs.

But then you get a film like "The House of the Devil" that went out of it's way to look and feel like one. It's seriously impressive of the amount of effort and detail that Ti West puts in this. It's the reason why I think "The House of the Devil" stands out from the rest in terms of what it's going for that others try to do. It's more than a homage, it's the real thing.

Now Ti West can be a hit or miss for me. I either like or dislike he's movies. I do respect the guy for doing different projects and tackling themes in movie. I mean, sure, it's nothing new for directors tackling different themes, but for some reason I always keep an eye out for what Ti West dose next. And in "House of the Devil" Ti West brings a very slow burn movie that uses it's homages fittingly in it's film making. He demands you to be patient for what the movie is building up to and doesn't shy away from doing so. It was filmed with 16mm film, giving it a retro stylistic look that matched the decade, which actually did match the decade quite well. Now this what I like to see from Ti West and I can take this as a heavy reminder why this guy is a talented film maker even at a young age.

But what stops "House of the Devil" from being a great movie for me is it's pasting issues. And I know the movie is building up to it's creepy climax as I said before, but it dose take awhile to get there. I found myself kinda bored with some scenes that seem to drag on a bit. I guess you got to have good patience, which I'm 50/50 on me.

While I praise the film for getting the 80's look and feel right visually, but not quite on the audio or sound. Have you ever noticed in 80's movies where the sound of objects, doors and guns firing sound like 80's audio. How awesome would it be if that was included here. This may be a small complaint, but hey, every little detail can make a big difference.

Overall rating: "The House of the Devil" may not be everyone's type of film, just judging by the mix feedback from other people. But for my experience, I enjoyed what I've seen, even if it feels short.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
vandylan92May 24, 2016
I thought this movie was OK. It's not original and the ending was quite disappointing, but I like how they build up a mood rather slowly as opposed to many other horror movies which just go into wacky overdrive after about 5 or 10 minutes. SoI thought this movie was OK. It's not original and the ending was quite disappointing, but I like how they build up a mood rather slowly as opposed to many other horror movies which just go into wacky overdrive after about 5 or 10 minutes. So that is a big plus in my book.

Don't expect any master piece in any sense, but it's an OK movie to be watching for some distraction. I didn't find it scary at any point, but if you find it scary or not I guess depends on your personality.

I also like the 1980s feel of the movie. Not just that it's set in 1983, but it feels like it could have been made during the 1980's and for me that is plus.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews