User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 155
  2. Negative: 67 out of 155

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    This is a film made by people who look around and are disgusted by the banality of modern life. They made it to shock and they made it to disgust-becuase the world has become a disgusting place to live in. I thought the acting-especially the doctor-to be very effective-its the best portrayal of insanity I've ever seen. I wonder how the other actors felt about doing the gig that they had toThis is a film made by people who look around and are disgusted by the banality of modern life. They made it to shock and they made it to disgust-becuase the world has become a disgusting place to live in. I thought the acting-especially the doctor-to be very effective-its the best portrayal of insanity I've ever seen. I wonder how the other actors felt about doing the gig that they had to do in order to get this film done. I am glad it wasn't me. That being said I thought it was a friggin' hoot to see some dumb chick get a bunch of ...well-I'm not going to say it-I'm sure worse things have happened in real life anyway. In Detroit. Hence all the abandoned houses there. Or something. I'm not sure what. Oh well it must been weird. I guess. OK I suppose. I mean like whatever. Really. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    It does its job at shocking the audience extremely well, going for a dark approach rather than just torture porn. It even has some legitimate tension. However, it's not enjoyable in the slightest in the way some exploitation films are.
  3. Aug 9, 2014
    2
    The Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world in any way, which would've made the movie work. Instead, it relies on shock value to make it good. It tries to scream "cult classic", but it will neverThe Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world in any way, which would've made the movie work. Instead, it relies on shock value to make it good. It tries to scream "cult classic", but it will never get there. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    5
    The Human Centipede is brutal, shocking, and disgusting all in one--- needless to say disturbing. Sure it had these violence scenes, but It's really the idea that's disturbing. Nevertheless this movie is one of a kind, shocking as it is. This is just a movie you have to see for yourself.
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    0
    Truth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not a fan personally) but The Human Centipede takes things to a whole new level.

    I'm not quite sure how anyone could look at the plot for this movie and
    Truth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not a fan personally) but The Human Centipede takes things to a whole new level.

    I'm not quite sure how anyone could look at the plot for this movie and still want to see.
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's been a lot of interest in this film since it was released. Not to do with the actors, the acting, the acclaim or the director, but because of the gross subject matter. This film will disgust you. It's not completely bad; the scene where the Japanese guy has a moment of meta-awareness and existentialism is almost a good scene. Almost.

    The film itself is filled with hammy acting, the likes of which you've probably never seen. not to be too harsh, but I doubt anyone attached to this is going to go one to have a stellar acting career. Like the original Saw idea, the whole film is based around a simple premise, the Saw's case, how to constraint a budget by keeping two people in a room for the majority of the film. Unlike Saw, you never really engage in the film in the same way, mainly due to the aforementioned acting.

    Maybe one day this film will be seen as a B Movie classic. but not yet. Expand

  7. Jan 5, 2014
    1
    My head hurts, my mind feels violated, and my eyes are damaged after watching this absolute mess of a film. Painfully boring and unimaginably disgusting. The real sicko is not the guy in the film, but whoever decided this story should be put to cinema.
  8. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Just terrible. Boring and disgusting. Pointless. The most horrifying thing about this film (terrible acting aside) is the fact that someone actually came up with this ridiculous concept.
  9. Dec 27, 2013
    1
    The most disgusting vomiting trash I have ever seen. It's barely watchable and the image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing images in any movie. It's a sick film by a sick director. Make sure you bring a barf bag to this nauseating so called horror film.
  10. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    If you are deciding whether or not to watch it, don't watch it. While not as gruesome as I thought it would be, proves that a plot based off one gross-out idea can get tedious. Earns it's points for acting. Also, I won't be going to Germany any time soon.
  11. Nov 3, 2013
    3
    Terrible. Disgusting. Ridiculous. Those are the first three words that comes to mind. "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", directed by Tom Six, is a sick-minded mess. This is an example on how not to make a film. And the worst part is, by looking at the title, I have a feeling that a sequel is yet to come.
  12. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    holy crap was this movie messed up and crazy and how does some one think of this and they people could do this that its surgical true thats pretty freaky and i want to watch the second then the 3rd when that comes out
  13. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    Not a fan of torture porn, but this was not good, I give it a 4-5 though because it however did keep me wanting to know if the girl gets out. Torture porn is terrible someone said Saw is torture porn no films like The Human Centipede and Hostel are torture porn, The film isn't scary. For the most part the girl and guy play a good game of cat and mouse. The cop is retarted. Her friend isNot a fan of torture porn, but this was not good, I give it a 4-5 though because it however did keep me wanting to know if the girl gets out. Torture porn is terrible someone said Saw is torture porn no films like The Human Centipede and Hostel are torture porn, The film isn't scary. For the most part the girl and guy play a good game of cat and mouse. The cop is retarted. Her friend is unrememberable The other guy was retarded. This is one of those terrible films that you just want to push through to the ending cause you really want to see what happens, but at the same time you want to turn away. I get it,while watching this (Im 16) in my living room eveytime I heard the steps creak I would quickly turn away from the movie letting my mom or brother catch me watching this would be more embarrising then me (A BOY) putting on a blonde wig and acting like Hannah Montana. Watch on Netflix if your curious. If you see part two avoid that,its literally nothing special at least the first one had a better story and better actors. The second is just thereto showcase disgusting things. NETFLIX. Expand
  14. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I was curious about this film and so I gave it a shot. That's really the only reason I'd recommend it to anyone. Besides an intriguing and grotesque concept, the acting is dreadful, the writing is weak, and nothing happens except naked people screaming and crying.
  15. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    A totally disgusting movie.
  16. Nov 1, 2012
    2
    Could not bear to watch, scarred the surface of my brain. Gross and gruesome, not for the faint-hearted. Giving a 2 out of 10 for score is dedicated to Dieter Laser, playing the role of the sadistic character, Dr. Josef Heiter.
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    most people don't seem to like this film because it's tasteless and horrific... DID YOU EVER STOP TO THINK THAT IT WAS BY DESIGN????? what were you expecting? when you watch a film about three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, you had better prepare yourself for three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, otherwise, you are a really stupid person and i hate you, but anyway, this is a rather wellmost people don't seem to like this film because it's tasteless and horrific... DID YOU EVER STOP TO THINK THAT IT WAS BY DESIGN????? what were you expecting? when you watch a film about three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, you had better prepare yourself for three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, otherwise, you are a really stupid person and i hate you, but anyway, this is a rather well made and effective horror film, and that's why i really enjoyed it, also, dieter laser showed the same phenomenal acting ability that you could expect from a top-ranking hollywood star, (you know, ones that actually deserve to be labelled 'stars') Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    After what I heard I was expecting something worse than Two girls One Cup but what I got was 3 people crying and a German dude shouting for an hour and a half. The film has a grossly inspiring story (if a bit crap). Dr Heiter is an ex surgeon who decides to kidnap 3 tourists and connect them together mouth to anus to form the human centipede. A simple concept, well filmed but poorlyAfter what I heard I was expecting something worse than Two girls One Cup but what I got was 3 people crying and a German dude shouting for an hour and a half. The film has a grossly inspiring story (if a bit crap). Dr Heiter is an ex surgeon who decides to kidnap 3 tourists and connect them together mouth to anus to form the human centipede. A simple concept, well filmed but poorly executed at times, puts more emphasis on trying to shock than being an entertaining experience. Expand
  19. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    It isn't a bad film and the premise is actually a rather interesting one, but the film moves so slowly at certain points. It does put some awful thoughts in your mind about the pain and horror of being in that otherwise unforeseeable situation but it is still a decent film. I particularly liked the ending, thought it was much better than the usual horror film ending.
  20. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    This Movie Is Very Very Mental..
    Very Scary But Needs To Be Cleaned Off In Bits
    DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IF YOU GET SCARED EASILY
  21. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    Wowser. As a fan of Horror I thought it was time to watch this notorious film- for better or worse. It actually was better than I expected but that's not saying a lot. Sometimes the writing and direction seemed comically bad and it was hard to tell if this was a deliberate ploy to elicit humour or to fit within b-movie expectations. At other times I was totally convinced by the horror IWowser. As a fan of Horror I thought it was time to watch this notorious film- for better or worse. It actually was better than I expected but that's not saying a lot. Sometimes the writing and direction seemed comically bad and it was hard to tell if this was a deliberate ploy to elicit humour or to fit within b-movie expectations. At other times I was totally convinced by the horror I was witnessing. It has one of the best chase sequences ever put to film if you ask me. In the end I decided it was a 5/10 film because some parts of it were most excellent, like the concept itself, and other parts were downright silly, like the dumb lines the actresses were given. Torture porn is not my thing but this is the best of the few that I've seen. If only it had been directed by David Lynch with a rewrite or two... Expand
  22. Apr 16, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I want my life back. I now cannot hear the word centipede without remembering this atrocity of a movie. I think I abused someone about this on another website's comment section just for making a centipede remark that had nothing to do with this movie. I was as disbelieving as the characters as to what was going on until the first time the front guy took his first long call. Yes I said it, the one you take after that first cup of coffee in the morning. If do not want to feel violated psychologically, please spare yourself and don't watch this sick s**t. I give it a 1 coz I hear there is a Human Centipede 2 out there so I'll probably need room for a lesser review. Expand
  23. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    There is nothing good about this film. Director Six claims that his movie is 100% scientifically accurate, but this could not be further from the truth. Incredibly gory, bad and stupid acting, and loaded with movie mistakes, this is by far the worst movie I have ever seen in my life.
  24. Jan 23, 2012
    3
    Probably the most disturbing, repulsive, stomach churning film I have ever seen. Truly horrific but done simply for the gag effect. The actor who portrayed the "doctor" was pretty good but the other actors were terrible. Characters did unbelievably stupid things. It was just too much.
  25. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    This movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it's shock value halfway through the movie. It begs the question why they didn't try to separate themselves. I can't believe this was actually made into a fullThis movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it's shock value halfway through the movie. It begs the question why they didn't try to separate themselves. I can't believe this was actually made into a full movie and it's just laughable at best. 0/10 Expand
  26. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    This film shouldn't be categorized as a horror, there's nothing scary about it at all. The film's plot is so full of holes, and that "100% Medically Accurate" tag is a joke. If you want to keep your sanity, skip this film.
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE is underrated, I enjoyed watching it, although the acting wasn't good and it could have shown a bit more than what it did.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    This is a boring move. Not much happens and there is not much gore. But it is really funny. It is another movie that falls under the so bad its good section of movies.
  29. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    There are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but the lack of substance already puts it below what you would normally expect. In addition though, the Human Centipede is a sick and disturbing movie thatThere are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but the lack of substance already puts it below what you would normally expect. In addition though, the Human Centipede is a sick and disturbing movie that has no general appeal in its story, and absolutely no substance. The graphic content alone makes the movie nearly unwatchable, but the rest of the movie is just as painful. From laughable dialogue and situations, acting, and a bland mood that doesn't make the movie more exciting or scary. The Human Centipede: First Sequence is just a sick, horrendous movie that no one should watch. From a film and general perspective, this movie is abysmal. Expand
  30. Sep 20, 2011
    6
    This is the most f*cked up movie I have ever seen! I like the plot but i think that the actors are really bad and it seems like they weren't completely sure what to do with this idea. I actually found this movie to be more than a comedy than a horror haha, because of how bad the actors are. My favorerit part of this film was when one of the girls got ruffied the other girl said what wasThis is the most f*cked up movie I have ever seen! I like the plot but i think that the actors are really bad and it seems like they weren't completely sure what to do with this idea. I actually found this movie to be more than a comedy than a horror haha, because of how bad the actors are. My favorerit part of this film was when one of the girls got ruffied the other girl said what was that?! The scientist replied ''date rape drug'' lol. This movie is very screwed up and it couldve been better if they had better actors, better pacing in the movie, they put more thought into it, actually tried to be somewhat scary. But if you like screwed up movies than check out the human centipede. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. More of a stunt than a script, The Human Centipede (First Sequence) should get a modest amount of I-dare-you ticket sales, but it's about as mass market as a dogfight.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter DeBruge
    20
    Only real payoff is seeing the monstrosity assembled, and though that will surely earn the Dutch writer-director a cult reputation on the genre circuit, "going there" does not a movie make.
  3. The movie stinks to heaven.