User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 154
  2. Negative: 66 out of 154

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    0
    This movie is my **** nightmare! Do not watch this movie, spare yourselves from the mental scarring that this movie will inflict upon you. Ever since I have watched this movie I have not been able to get my full nights rest. The image of the human centipede was, and still is, stuck in my head. I seriously regret watching this movie. Please do yourselves a favour, and do not watch this movie. You will be thanking me for my advice for the rest of your lives. I wish I could invent a time machine to just erase the very thought of this movie from my head. I get the chills just thinking about the movie. Please, just don't watch this movie. I think I'm going to catch Hannah Montana from the Disney Channel. Have a nice day everyone. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    Ok, Legit WTF just happened. This movie consumed my soul and made me think deeper to the depths that humans will go to in order to get what they want. What they want I don't know. It appears to be torture porn because this movie was 2 hours of torture porn
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    This film shouldn't be categorized as a horror, there's nothing scary about it at all. The film's plot is so full of holes, and that "100% Medically Accurate" tag is a joke. If you want to keep your sanity, skip this film.
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    This film is a deep epic. It's about the struggle of two prostitutes during a European tour around Germany.. You'd think they'd go to Berlin, or maybe the theaters, perhaps visit the site of the Holocaust. But no, they visit dark scary woods. Long story short, the poor whores become a centipede. The film captures the struggle of these two woman, coping with not just selling their bodies, but also being linked ass to mouth. The worst part of this movie, is the German scientist! How dare an actor try to take this epic, feel good of our generation, into a horror film. I give this movie a 5. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    Run for the hills. Not only does this film cross foreseen boundaries, it fails to do it with any form of success. It's vile, full of boring dialogue, and a movie that should be skipped by even those who can stomach its atrocious premise.
  6. Oct 7, 2010
    0
    I love sick films, but this movie was just retarded. 100 % medically accurate? Really? Tom Six is known for a horrible film about gay guys, and I think 300 people saw that. So he decided to put his face on the map with this art-house crap, that isn't artistic, but it is crap. Feces, though fun to say, does not make a movie. It's not really graphic, it's not scary, it's not well-acted, and it really isn't that disturbing. The idea of it is, but it's just another way to kill people. In reality, parts b and c wouldn't last more than a day or two. If that... wow. What a sh!t film. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    If you're at all tempted to see it, you should. It's not terribly scary, nor is it as psychologically haunting as the positive critics' responses led me to believe. But there is, of course, something fascinating about "exploitative" film-making: how grossly horrific can one go? Still, have respect for whomever might watch the movie with you, and make sure no one's going to walk in while you're viewing it. Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This movie is definitely for the "horror film junkie" It's been along time since I've seen a movie that made me insist on others watching. You just have to have an appreciation for B movie horror that will literally make you gag, but also has really funny moments. It ROCKS!
  9. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    awfull disturbing horrible, the biggest crap i have ever seen in my whole life, the person that created this "work of art" must be sick, HAS to be sick...
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    There are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but the lack of substance already puts it below what you would normally expect. In addition though, the Human Centipede is a sick and disturbing movie that has no general appeal in its story, and absolutely no substance. The graphic content alone makes the movie nearly unwatchable, but the rest of the movie is just as painful. From laughable dialogue and situations, acting, and a bland mood that doesn't make the movie more exciting or scary. The Human Centipede: First Sequence is just a sick, horrendous movie that no one should watch. From a film and general perspective, this movie is abysmal. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2012
    2
    Could not bear to watch, scarred the surface of my brain. Gross and gruesome, not for the faint-hearted. Giving a 2 out of 10 for score is dedicated to Dieter Laser, playing the role of the sadistic character, Dr. Josef Heiter.
  12. Oct 25, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's certainly not boring, and it was fun seeing exactly how the doctor would get the people into the configuration, but after that, it's pretty darned gross. When he urges the front guy to "eat, eat", so he can get the whole process going, I came about as close as I've ever come to dry heaving in a movie. So yeah, I'm glad I saw what all the fuss is about. But I can now see why Roger Ebert didn't want to give it a star rating. It's really pointless to do so. But I have seen worse! Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2010
    0
    A creepy, disgusting concept that shouldn't have made it into production. The plot and acting are horrendous, and once you actually see what happens to the girls and the asian guy, there's no reason to keep watching.
  14. Oct 16, 2010
    1
    Oh dear. What a mess of a film, in so many ways. The only reason I've given it a 1/10 is because maybe, just maybe, a very forgiving fan of the Saw movies could derive some entertainment from this. Otherwise, in terms of acting, narrative, psychological intensity, inventiveness, and just about every other aspect of the film, it is a failure.
  15. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Hahahaha! I watched the first 20 minutes of this then was on first forward through the rest of it. I honestly do not think I've seen anything more bizarre than this throughout the year. It was truly revolting but the only reason I haven't given it 0 is because I think there is something to the underlying story. As it is, it drags itself from minute to minute with lousy dialogue and some really bad acting. With some tweaks here and there it could be a decent horror movie. In its current I'd recommend staying away from it. Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2010
    5
    Loved the movie but i think it was inaccurate in the sense that my human centipede actually fetched. It lived for like a solid 2 weeks so kudos to my A, b, and c. I'm sorry hades that you paid 15 bucks for an independent film. They don't want you to pay any amount of money for it that's why there indie. Pay to watch Bad Boys 2 or something.
  17. Dec 22, 2010
    2
    There are some things that should not be made into movies; splicing people ass-to-mouth is one such thing. There is absolutely nothing interesting, thrilling, or remotely entertaining about this film.
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That movie was insane. It was kind of funny when the Asian guy had to take a **** I hated the ending. I didn't really like the movie. I'd like those hours of my life back. Expand
  19. Oct 14, 2010
    4
    I'm not gonna follow the trend of these reviews and say that this is a horrible horror movie. It actually isn't, it just suffers from a bad use of its budget, which is a shame, because the idea of a, "Human Centipede," is just the disgustingly nasty thing the horror genre needs. The story basically follows a crazy ex-surgeon in Europe who kidnaps two American female tourists and some Japanese guy. You can pretty much tell what is gonna happen to them just by looking at the title, and yeah, he does turn the three people into a human centipede. And yeah, it is pretty effing nasty, and you might gag more than once. Without going into too much detail, I'll just say that they are fused from mouth to rear end, so going number 2 isn't pleasant but quite graphic (Yeah, they show it, and that is one of the nastiest parts of the whole movie.) but the fact that this movie does something any other horror film hasn't shows that it is unique. And unique is something much-needed with all these crappy horror flicks managing to crawl out of the Sci-Fi channel and onto the store shelves where they suffocate the stuff that is managing to separate itself from the group. I'm actually not gonna recommend this movie to anyone, but if you are willing to manage through some sick stuff then I guess this is worth a shot. Otherwise, just stay in your safe cubby-hole and don't try anything new, that's what you have been taught. Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2010
    6
    I love horror movies, and this film while not traditional in the amount of blood nor gore it does create that gross feeling you get when watching a movie knowing what will happen to the characters before they do. The idea of the doctor's creation is rather disgusting, and I personally felt a bit queasy when feces was passed through the poor "test-subjects". This is not a scary film, and is not a great horror film however I did enjoy it, and i would recommend this for people who want to see something a bit shocking for a change instead of the run of a mill slasher gore fest. Expand
  21. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    This movie could have been a 10, but since the doctor gets off with a painless death I must say its the biggest pile of crap ever made. I hate Tom Six!!!!
  22. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Accurate? NO
    Scary? NO
    Well acted? NO
    But I enjoyed this thing from beginning to middle to end! (PUN INTENDED). Just sit back and appreciate the fun and disturbing nature of this thing. It's a foul, original horror idea and the villain is a total wacko. If nothing else, the movie is memorable and makes people talk. With so much boring garbage out there I enjoyed every inch of this one.
  23. Dec 3, 2010
    3
    After hearing about how sick and disturbing movie this is I was severely let down. This is only disturbing to those who mostly watch Pixar animations, if you've ever seen a properly disgusting cat III flick where everything is shown in gruesome detail this movie will only anger you. Acting is surprisingly not painful to watch, direction & other technical aspects are fine for a horror flick. Too bad the horror itself, which is supposed to be the main thing here, is severely lacking. Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Just terrible. Boring and disgusting. Pointless. The most horrifying thing about this film (terrible acting aside) is the fact that someone actually came up with this ridiculous concept.
  25. Jan 5, 2011
    8
    Tell you what. If you don't like this then you don't 'get' the whole body-horror genre, and David Cronenberg may as well have made 'Boo!' films like Halloween. Watch the film, which is deliberately minimalist, and imagine yourself in the middle-girl's position. That's why the film works. This is a horror movie which reaches inside you and twists and tugs at your primal fears, not just the fears that occupy your conscious mind. This is true horror, which didn't even need gore to work. This film is more Clive Barker than Steven King, and I can give it no higher praise than that. Expand
  26. May 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. This movie is poor. The original idea is the only thing holding it up, and if that isn't making you vomit, which it really isn't for most people, then there's just nothing here. As a movie, this is poor. Characters do not get much more shallow than this. You have the blonde bimbos, the crazy scientist and the random asian guy. After the first twenty minutes you begin to realise this movie has no idea what to do with the idea it has, and instead of giving a plotline, the human centipede meanders around aimlessly for half an hour before a bold escape scene. That's it. That's all there is. That is The Human Centipede.

    That's not a good movie guys, no matter how much it made you puke. There's nothing here.
    Collapse
  27. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    The Human Centipede Omg Nastey, iv never seen anything like it vile IT good how they done it but its the most vile thing you caould doo. but i feel for the dogs more aha. why would anyone think of doing anythinmk like this ill never no but the worsted film iv ever watch!
  28. Jan 23, 2012
    3
    Probably the most disturbing, repulsive, stomach churning film I have ever seen. Truly horrific but done simply for the gag effect. The actor who portrayed the "doctor" was pretty good but the other actors were terrible. Characters did unbelievably stupid things. It was just too much.
  29. May 31, 2011
    8
    I may regret this critique, but I thought this film hit the mark, and hit it well. Never have I seen a film that was so repulsive and grossed out the strongest of stomachs! Yet, this film has a sort of finesse about it. Laser gives one of the most grotesque performances I've ever seen and he drives this film to the very end. No, I don't believe you could watch this over and over again, but once you start, you can't stop just for the sole fact of wanting to know what the hell is gonna come next! Expand
  30. Feb 19, 2014
    0
    Truth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not a fan personally) but The Human Centipede takes things to a whole new level.

    I'm not quite sure how anyone could look at the plot for this movie and
    still want to see. Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    This is easily the worst movie ever made. From the start, you regret watching this cinematic abortion. The image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing thing you will ever see. Watching this movie makes you wonder if there is hope for humanity in the future. It makes you wonder if there is hope for the horror genre in the future, or if everything else will just be pieces of **** like this horrible film. This film (I don't even want to call it a film) goes beyond the so bad you want to see it. This is a film so bad that after watching it you want to wash your eyes out with vinegar. It goes beyond torture porn films such as Saw, and creates its own genre. Films this bad will now be known as Human Centipede's. Also, it should have had an NC-17 rating. Expand
  32. Sep 20, 2011
    6
    This is the most f*cked up movie I have ever seen! I like the plot but i think that the actors are really bad and it seems like they weren't completely sure what to do with this idea. I actually found this movie to be more than a comedy than a horror haha, because of how bad the actors are. My favorerit part of this film was when one of the girls got ruffied the other girl said what was that?! The scientist replied ''date rape drug'' lol. This movie is very screwed up and it couldve been better if they had better actors, better pacing in the movie, they put more thought into it, actually tried to be somewhat scary. But if you like screwed up movies than check out the human centipede. Expand
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE is underrated, I enjoyed watching it, although the acting wasn't good and it could have shown a bit more than what it did.
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    This is a boring move. Not much happens and there is not much gore. But it is really funny. It is another movie that falls under the so bad its good section of movies.
  35. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    This movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it's shock value halfway through the movie. It begs the question why they didn't try to separate themselves. I can't believe this was actually made into a full movie and it's just laughable at best. 0/10 Expand
  36. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's been a lot of interest in this film since it was released. Not to do with the actors, the acting, the acclaim or the director, but because of the gross subject matter. This film will disgust you. It's not completely bad; the scene where the Japanese guy has a moment of meta-awareness and existentialism is almost a good scene. Almost.

    The film itself is filled with hammy acting, the likes of which you've probably never seen. not to be too harsh, but I doubt anyone attached to this is going to go one to have a stellar acting career. Like the original Saw idea, the whole film is based around a simple premise, the Saw's case, how to constraint a budget by keeping two people in a room for the majority of the film. Unlike Saw, you never really engage in the film in the same way, mainly due to the aforementioned acting.

    Maybe one day this film will be seen as a B Movie classic. but not yet. Expand

  37. Dec 27, 2013
    1
    The most disgusting vomiting trash I have ever seen. It's barely watchable and the image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing images in any movie. It's a sick film by a sick director. Make sure you bring a barf bag to this nauseating so called horror film.
  38. Jan 5, 2014
    1
    My head hurts, my mind feels violated, and my eyes are damaged after watching this absolute mess of a film. Painfully boring and unimaginably disgusting. The real sicko is not the guy in the film, but whoever decided this story should be put to cinema.
  39. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    After what I heard I was expecting something worse than Two girls One Cup but what I got was 3 people crying and a German dude shouting for an hour and a half. The film has a grossly inspiring story (if a bit crap). Dr Heiter is an ex surgeon who decides to kidnap 3 tourists and connect them together mouth to anus to form the human centipede. A simple concept, well filmed but poorly executed at times, puts more emphasis on trying to shock than being an entertaining experience. Expand
  40. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    There is nothing good about this film. Director Six claims that his movie is 100% scientifically accurate, but this could not be further from the truth. Incredibly gory, bad and stupid acting, and loaded with movie mistakes, this is by far the worst movie I have ever seen in my life.
  41. Apr 16, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I want my life back. I now cannot hear the word centipede without remembering this atrocity of a movie. I think I abused someone about this on another website's comment section just for making a centipede remark that had nothing to do with this movie. I was as disbelieving as the characters as to what was going on until the first time the front guy took his first long call. Yes I said it, the one you take after that first cup of coffee in the morning. If do not want to feel violated psychologically, please spare yourself and don't watch this sick s**t. I give it a 1 coz I hear there is a Human Centipede 2 out there so I'll probably need room for a lesser review. Expand
  42. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    Wowser. As a fan of Horror I thought it was time to watch this notorious film- for better or worse. It actually was better than I expected but that's not saying a lot. Sometimes the writing and direction seemed comically bad and it was hard to tell if this was a deliberate ploy to elicit humour or to fit within b-movie expectations. At other times I was totally convinced by the horror I was witnessing. It has one of the best chase sequences ever put to film if you ask me. In the end I decided it was a 5/10 film because some parts of it were most excellent, like the concept itself, and other parts were downright silly, like the dumb lines the actresses were given. Torture porn is not my thing but this is the best of the few that I've seen. If only it had been directed by David Lynch with a rewrite or two... Expand
  43. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    most people don't seem to like this film because it's tasteless and horrific... DID YOU EVER STOP TO THINK THAT IT WAS BY DESIGN????? what were you expecting? when you watch a film about three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, you had better prepare yourself for three people being sewn mouth-to-anus, otherwise, you are a really stupid person and i hate you, but anyway, this is a rather well made and effective horror film, and that's why i really enjoyed it, also, dieter laser showed the same phenomenal acting ability that you could expect from a top-ranking hollywood star, (you know, ones that actually deserve to be labelled 'stars') Expand
  44. Nov 3, 2013
    3
    Terrible. Disgusting. Ridiculous. Those are the first three words that comes to mind. "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", directed by Tom Six, is a sick-minded mess. This is an example on how not to make a film. And the worst part is, by looking at the title, I have a feeling that a sequel is yet to come.
  45. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    This Movie Is Very Very Mental..
    Very Scary But Needs To Be Cleaned Off In Bits
    DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IF YOU GET SCARED EASILY
  46. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    It isn't a bad film and the premise is actually a rather interesting one, but the film moves so slowly at certain points. It does put some awful thoughts in your mind about the pain and horror of being in that otherwise unforeseeable situation but it is still a decent film. I particularly liked the ending, thought it was much better than the usual horror film ending.
  47. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    A totally disgusting movie.
  48. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I was curious about this film and so I gave it a shot. That's really the only reason I'd recommend it to anyone. Besides an intriguing and grotesque concept, the acting is dreadful, the writing is weak, and nothing happens except naked people screaming and crying.
  49. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    Not a fan of torture porn, but this was not good, I give it a 4-5 though because it however did keep me wanting to know if the girl gets out. Torture porn is terrible someone said Saw is torture porn no films like The Human Centipede and Hostel are torture porn, The film isn't scary. For the most part the girl and guy play a good game of cat and mouse. The cop is retarted. Her friend is unrememberable The other guy was retarded. This is one of those terrible films that you just want to push through to the ending cause you really want to see what happens, but at the same time you want to turn away. I get it,while watching this (Im 16) in my living room eveytime I heard the steps creak I would quickly turn away from the movie letting my mom or brother catch me watching this would be more embarrising then me (A BOY) putting on a blonde wig and acting like Hannah Montana. Watch on Netflix if your curious. If you see part two avoid that,its literally nothing special at least the first one had a better story and better actors. The second is just thereto showcase disgusting things. NETFLIX. Expand
  50. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    holy crap was this movie messed up and crazy and how does some one think of this and they people could do this that its surgical true thats pretty freaky and i want to watch the second then the 3rd when that comes out
  51. Aug 9, 2014
    2
    The Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world in any way, which would've made the movie work. Instead, it relies on shock value to make it good. It tries to scream "cult classic", but it will never get there. Expand
  52. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    If you are deciding whether or not to watch it, don't watch it. While not as gruesome as I thought it would be, proves that a plot based off one gross-out idea can get tedious. Earns it's points for acting. Also, I won't be going to Germany any time soon.
  53. Mar 12, 2014
    5
    The Human Centipede is brutal, shocking, and disgusting all in one--- needless to say disturbing. Sure it had these violence scenes, but It's really the idea that's disturbing. Nevertheless this movie is one of a kind, shocking as it is. This is just a movie you have to see for yourself.
  54. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    It does its job at shocking the audience extremely well, going for a dark approach rather than just torture porn. It even has some legitimate tension. However, it's not enjoyable in the slightest in the way some exploitation films are.
  55. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    This is a film made by people who look around and are disgusted by the banality of modern life. They made it to shock and they made it to disgust-becuase the world has become a disgusting place to live in. I thought the acting-especially the doctor-to be very effective-its the best portrayal of insanity I've ever seen. I wonder how the other actors felt about doing the gig that they had to do in order to get this film done. I am glad it wasn't me. That being said I thought it was a friggin' hoot to see some dumb chick get a bunch of ...well-I'm not going to say it-I'm sure worse things have happened in real life anyway. In Detroit. Hence all the abandoned houses there. Or something. I'm not sure what. Oh well it must been weird. I guess. OK I suppose. I mean like whatever. Really. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. More of a stunt than a script, The Human Centipede (First Sequence) should get a modest amount of I-dare-you ticket sales, but it's about as mass market as a dogfight.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter DeBruge
    20
    Only real payoff is seeing the monstrosity assembled, and though that will surely earn the Dutch writer-director a cult reputation on the genre circuit, "going there" does not a movie make.
  3. The movie stinks to heaven.