Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1381 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,009
Mixed:
142
Negative:
230
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JoesephP.Feb 6, 2010
Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, but you can't watch 2 hours of a tactical inaccuracies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterF.Feb 5, 2010
Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like you could be there, in Iraq... I like how it points out the real issues with warfare and the people who choose to go to war. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Feb 4, 2010
This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
HenryK.Feb 4, 2010
This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ForrestL.Feb 3, 2010
I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DoreneNFeb 2, 2010
I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 1, 2010
A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better film and that got a 67 (84 from users) from the critics, who I believe have been a little out of touch with reviews for 2009 films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimHJan 27, 2010
I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything about Hurt Locker is done well. It's flawless. But that does not ensure greatness. A few days after seeing it I remember only a little about it: mostly Brian Geraghty's scenes. He's given a juicy role and he fills it well. The rest is really merely good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EtienneW.Jan 27, 2010
Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you are about to experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbJan 24, 2010
A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic catharsis. But I found this film oddly 'flat' overall. Still, it's worth seeing this if you want to see a compelling story about the war in Iraq. [I think it would have been better to see this on the big screen, rather than on my little 27" flat screen.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
peterCJan 21, 2010
Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it being sudden in many regards went with the films depiction of the Iraq War. Also I did not see any hype behind this movie it just kinda crept in and took a lot of people by surprise with no hype whatsoever. Though on the film. If you like war films that don't follow the over the top climatic battles and heroes like Saving Private Ryan, but prefer more subtle films that show it more so for how war really is, you will enjoy this film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomRJan 21, 2010
I'd never heard of it until I rented it. I had zero expectations and was blown away by this movie. This is on par with "Full Metal Jacket." Each war makes a soldier wacky in its own unique way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanSJan 20, 2010
Truly an immersive war movie. An eye-opener. As I was watching it I was thinking about whether this is as good as classics like "Full Metal Jacket," and it's nearly at that level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricLJan 19, 2010
Amazing. Not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobTJan 19, 2010
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnLJan 19, 2010
This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RLJan 18, 2010
Wow! What a movie. Outstanding . I dont watch many flicks because so many are crap. But this one is different: Suspenseful. Believable and pushed every emotional button. Watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AleneV.Jan 17, 2010
Extraordinary. More than a war film - a profound human drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
robertiJan 17, 2010
True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElwenilJan 16, 2010
Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd compare The Hurt Locker to Black Hawk Down and if you liked BHD, you should like The Hurt Locker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rwJan 16, 2010
A very realistic and suspenseful film, with terrific acting (particularly from the lead actor) and well defined characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleMJan 13, 2010
If Avatar beats out this, and the other nominees for that matter, I'll be mad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SJan 13, 2010
I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BryanBJan 12, 2010
As another Vet and EOD tech I give this film a 7. Yeah it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreJan 11, 2010
This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a handful of heart. Renner gives a helluva performance. Worth seeing!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThayerH.Jan 11, 2010
Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SethA.Jan 11, 2010
Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls themselves a war film appreciator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricO.Jan 10, 2010
The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexSJan 4, 2010
A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
michaelwDec 23, 2009
Simply the best movie in a military setting.... Nothing quite like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JodyTDec 21, 2009
If this movie does not get an Oscar, something is terribly wrong in Hollywood!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbarawDec 18, 2009
I really liked this movie. It made the confusion, fear of the war real. The humanism, the desire to do a job well, how the three members of this team got through the days differently..I thought it was great film making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joebDec 17, 2009
best film of the year - bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EFOct 29, 2009
I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story involving unlikely friends, which doesn't try to embellish war. Some rope moments but generally good, not too sure about the ending. Good Solid Film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankROct 25, 2009
this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the exact definition of what a large selection of movies are, this one just happens to deal with a current event you are tied into and you took things personally. Get over it, it's a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithPOct 13, 2009
I like The Hurt Locker. The movie isn't boring. This movie gets an A+ from me. I highly recommend this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillFOct 11, 2009
By far one of the best war movies made. This movie may or may not be an accurate representation of what bomb squads in Iraq are faced with but it is a fantastic film regardless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimP.Oct 6, 2009
An awesome film about the adrenaline of war, and why those who do it well, do it very well!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MichaelMSep 17, 2009
Good film, not great. The camerawork really disappointed me. Some of it was spectacular, but some of it was shaky close ups that were just plain annoying. I Love artfully filmed close up shots, but I simply couldn't focus on what was Good film, not great. The camerawork really disappointed me. Some of it was spectacular, but some of it was shaky close ups that were just plain annoying. I Love artfully filmed close up shots, but I simply couldn't focus on what was being filmed or going on. Sniper scene in the desert was great. Acting was good, but nothing fabulous. Again, good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesGSep 15, 2009
Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there is really their way of telling the industry "give us more Iraq films!". Also keep in mind this film was sold for only 1.5 million, it was very low budget. You have to adjust your expectations. All the ratings of zero are completely irresponsible. On no conceivable rating scale could this movie be a zero. People rating it a zero are really just saying they personally couldn't watch it given the lack of realism. That is completely different from how critics rate movies, critics do not just give their own idiosyncratic personal opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CanaanBSep 15, 2009
Do not trust the naysayers, this movie was absolutely great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaeljSep 13, 2009
I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanSep 12, 2009
Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its clearly a private company, the clues are obvious. Please think more Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesPSep 6, 2009
one of the most thrilling war movies ever made. Jeremy Renner is going to become one the new actor to look out for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFSep 4, 2009
"Total bore"? "Forced tension"? What are the people knocking this film on?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PepijnSchmidtSep 2, 2009
byfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it'sbyfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqi military forces look identical and their uniforms arn't hard pressed. god that was a great movie..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexPSep 1, 2009
This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JamesOSep 1, 2009
Anyone who gave this movie below a 6 is being dumb. Its a great movie, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregQAug 27, 2009
Not much depth here. Well filmed and great acting all around, but the events in the movie don't match what really happens. Very entertaining, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceDAug 25, 2009
I don't even like war movies. But this is an amazing film. Perhaps even "perfect."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelWAug 24, 2009
An instant classic which surpasses many of the most esteemed war films from the past. The Hurt Locker is on the short list of greatest war films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobMAug 24, 2009
Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what they're talking about and in this case I can't agree more with them, except maybe the last two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnMAug 23, 2009
Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was unrealistic; derived from other war movies instead of from Army procedures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyCAug 21, 2009
This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and the certainty of war that drives James. This film must be interpreted through the opening quote. War is a drug. This film is about how human beings respond to that stimulus and how and why it becomes an all-consuming entity to some and a dice game to others. This was an excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFAug 20, 2009
This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie in particular) are stellar. Overall, this is a great film and I hope people see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesAug 20, 2009
As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I thought it was a good movie and worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 20, 2009
Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenHAug 18, 2009
Not only the best movie about the Iraq War but one of the best war movies EVER! Rarely does a war movie capture the feverish intensity, conflicting morality, and brutal reality of battle and the soldier. Simply awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanBAug 16, 2009
Just superb. Hush up all veterans and appreciate a rollicking good ride. Thanks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NedWAug 16, 2009
I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was not one in 2004. I have little knowledge of how this kind of work really is carried out. I, too, wish that Ms. Bigelow and her writer had spent more time making sure that they had their facts straight. As a viewer I wish that I had been shown a more correct picture of how the modern Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobnAug 15, 2009
I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself is not apparent until the end, at which point it is anti-climactic. The camera work and acting is great. I would describe it as an action/suspense popcorn movie more than a serious war film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonBAug 15, 2009
What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
shawnAug 14, 2009
Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. we've been there and done that one enough. barring the rampant inaccuracies i do lament that there was a missed opportunity to show the real carnage and utter horror these bomb makers inflict on the iraqi ppl. it was alluded to when the main character was back home. after reading a number of these reviews it occurs to me how polarizing this movie is. by those that have never served and those that have. i have served in one capacity or another for close to 20 years.13 yrs in uniform, these past 6 as a private contractor. its understandable why the military experienced will blanche and boil about this movie. but ur judging a HOLLYWOOD movie based on realism. that alone seems flawed in the extreme. u are applying a high level of bias to a purely fictional account because it doesn't sync with the reality we have experienced. its a movie ppl. rating this based on realism is like rating Star Wars on its realism. Hollywood is not in the business of realism its in the business of selling movies. get over yourselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinAAug 13, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to both list the blatant accuracies that you site, and to refer some movies that do portray the soldier's plight in an accurate way. In the meantime, this movie was spectacular, realistic or unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mrcriticAug 12, 2009
Ok so many soldiers and military ppl are not liking this movie cuz they say its not real ok good maybe it not BUT the movie is brilliant specially the tension they have created in few of the scenes SOOOOO my militants pal ITS MOVIESSSS enjoy them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PJWAug 11, 2009
Amazing performances and a great story. In my opinion, the best movie of the year so far. Jeremy Renner is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
um.....yum?Aug 11, 2009
Its a good movie, hovering above okay. The critics went high wire with this. I don't really support the troops, I don't think this war is necessary. We did this out of reaction and not thinking. This film definitely did not Its a good movie, hovering above okay. The critics went high wire with this. I don't really support the troops, I don't think this war is necessary. We did this out of reaction and not thinking. This film definitely did not convince to have a respect for the troops but them again that wasn't the point of the movie. I don't like the characters especially the main character. He's annoying and arrogant. Their all overly masculine people and there was that conversation between the two guys talking and one if them makes fun of the other, teasing him that he probably went to Harvard. Its as if going to a good school is a pussy thing to do and war is for strong big boys that are real men, its all bull shit. I'm happy he got shot. There was some images that turned simple things like a bullet hitting the sand really beautiful. Overall, I liked this film. I came with a open mind and enjoyed myself. Its probably not gonna become the years best and I'm not sure if its gonna be up there but its better than a lot of stuff that came out this year especially this summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeoffRAug 10, 2009
Superb story, acting and cinematography. Definitely agree with Damion K, people need to know how to rate a movie, and th fact that this movie isn't totally realistic isn't the point. Its fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamionKAug 9, 2009
First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero is generally a testament of ignorance and blatant disregard for helping other people judge whether or not a movie is worth seeing. That being said, this movie isn't necessarily about military accuracy, which is where so many people are getting hung up. The movie is broken down into psychoanalyzing the personalities of three very different people and their perspectives. On one hand, you have the cool, rational team member, Anthony Mackie (Sergeant JT Sanborn), whose sole goal is to survive the campaign. He is sharply contrasted by Jeremy Renner (Staff Sergeant William James) whose goal, apart from the adrenaline rush, is to make a difference in the lives of the people in Iraq. Brian Geraghty (Specialist Owen Eldridge) plays the intermediary - caught in a war he has no idea why he's involved, depicted by his inability and indecision about fighting unless absolutely provoked, but willing to do the best he can. The acting and cinematography in the movie is superb. Each of the three characters brings something different to the table. I was on edge for much of the movie because the people's perspectives, emotions, and actions were volatile to the point that there was no real predictable outcome. Anyone could die at any time, anyone could turn against each other (given the group dynamics), anyone could be left behind. The art direction of each combat scene shows you only what you need to see to establish the feeling of tenseness. It's simply fantastic. There was some "irrational decision making" that occurred during the movie (such as splitting up down alley ways to hunt for possible suspects). But you have to look at those scenes as more than just their face value. The particular scene in which the three team members split up, leads to a confrontation between Specialist Owen and Sergeant James in which William was forced to admit his guilt, mostly to himself. It was perhaps the first time, in a long time, that he had stepped outside of his own shoes to see what his decisions were doing to those around him. It is much more poetic than spelling things. If I had to complain about this movie, it would be that it went on a little bit longer than necessary. But it is hard to say what some of the established mood would have been if scenes were cut short. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KingHAug 9, 2009
No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
richardhAug 9, 2009
Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SamRAug 9, 2009
A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AKhanAug 9, 2009
This is a very intelligent and gripping thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffAAug 8, 2009
What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which they return. The experience is as intense as it is educational. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jeffhAug 8, 2009
The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobWAug 7, 2009
Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JoshEAug 6, 2009
I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnQAug 6, 2009
This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart from the brilliant suspense and action, apart being about war this film's messages is about human nature. It is most definitely a work of fiction. People who criticize it as not being realistic missed the point entirely. I have never been blown away like this by a film EVER. If you have ever experienced something (no matter what it is ie, drugs, sex, danger, nature) that completely touches you to your core, and cause you to reevaluate how you want to live your life, then you will get this movie. The moral of the story has nothing to do with war, but of the wants and needs of the human physique. This film is absolutely brilliant and if you don't think so, your not smart enough to get it and are probably a dull shallow person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
saAug 6, 2009
I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahGAug 6, 2009
This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film is probably the best film this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomoRAug 6, 2009
Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnBAug 6, 2009
The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanitaAug 6, 2009
Great story line and acting with such a realistic feel and directing, it had an organic, documentary feel to it. Awesome all around. And funny if you had enough spine to laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScotTAug 5, 2009
Terrific movie......one of the better war movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hcAug 5, 2009
Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, writing--structure--all of it was terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleMAug 5, 2009
This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western Front." However, in WWI the soldiers were by and large either drafter or duped into fighting for something they never really understood. In the Iraq War of The Hurt Locker, the soldiers are still fighting for something they don't quite understand. Many of the people they are supposedly fighting for would just as soon blow them up, and even the kids on the streets jeer at them. In Iraq, as contrasted to WWI, however, the soldiers are volunteers. What motivates them to fight and be brave? Is it possible they have become addicted to war? Sounds far-fetched but this film makes it seem pretty plausible. The soldier in this film has repeated edge-of-death experiences as would be expected since he has to defuse bombs. In his spare time, he tries to find a human face or a reason for why he is risking his life. For instance, perhaps he is really fighting for the young boy selling DVDs with whom he plays some soccer. Or perhaps, he is fighting for his buddies and comrades-in-arms. None of these quests for the meaning of war prove successful. Yet when he returns to peacetime in the states, life is even more meaningless. Only that edge-of-death, adrenaline-filled existence in war seems to have much meaning to him. Time to volunteer again! In WWI a soldier might have had a locker of mementos from home to remind him what he was fighting for. In Iraq, the soldier has a locker of mementos from all the edge-of-death experiences he has lived through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Aug 3, 2009
Finally, a movie about the war in Iraq that has no political slant in either direction. A war movie about war and the soldiers fighting it. On that basis - Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JAug 3, 2009
To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful
9
AdamCAug 2, 2009
Outstanding and realistic warts and all realism makes this movie compelling viewing. This isn't a war movie. This is a movie about ordinary people who do an extraordinary job while facing their own problems.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousMCAug 2, 2009
The sense of Iraq as a sort of moon landscape made for some great scenes. Music matched well overall, tension in early scenes was very high, even if it was over the top ridiculous and unrealistic. Movie breaks down around the half way pointThe sense of Iraq as a sort of moon landscape made for some great scenes. Music matched well overall, tension in early scenes was very high, even if it was over the top ridiculous and unrealistic. Movie breaks down around the half way point and doesn't seem to know what it wants to be. later scenes cross the line into stupid territory. I'd say it's a missed opportunity, here you've got a big beautiful podium with all the bells and whistles and a great art style and you get stage fright. It's mediocre overall but will wear way long in the tooth for most viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceTAug 2, 2009
Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyS.Aug 2, 2009
Realistic depiction of Army soldiers action, emotions, pain and suffering.Suspenseful as their rotation winds down. The audience never knows who if any will survive till the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBAug 1, 2009
Best war movie since Private Ryan and Platoon. Not for the fain of heart. Truly riveting and intense. Why would one ever go back once their tour is over?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AronRAug 1, 2009
Regardless of the technical or militaristic accuracy of the film, (and I feel like I have to remind some reviewers here that making training videos and/or documentaries is NOT what Hollywood does) - this IS a fantastic piece of film-making Regardless of the technical or militaristic accuracy of the film, (and I feel like I have to remind some reviewers here that making training videos and/or documentaries is NOT what Hollywood does) - this IS a fantastic piece of film-making that director, cast and crew should be enormously proud of. A must see for all film enthusiasts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonMJul 30, 2009
One of the best films of the year thus far, and certainly the best Iraq war film. Well performed and well directed -- hopefully this baby will earn some Oscars.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EllaCJul 29, 2009
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen in several years. Beautifully directed and acted. Riveting from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JanshcDJul 26, 2009
Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of several question left hanging. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KenF.Jul 26, 2009
Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their service too. But even if The Hurt Locker falls short in some of its military details (just like most war films, even the best of them), it is an outstanding film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JosephBJul 25, 2009
Extremely tense from the get go! Very much like the tension in from the Clouzet movie Wages of Fear. I found myself not breathing so as not to set something off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJJul 25, 2009
This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the movie's theme was not forced and instead rather subtle (even enough to make some viewers miss some of it) though very powerful. the ending is by far the most well put together i have ever seen in a war film. NOTE: In terms of accuracy and factualness though some scenes may seem fake (sniper scene) my sister who i saw it with is a psychologist who works for the VA, she told me that the characters were dead on in terms of emotions and the way the interact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful