Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1359 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
989
Mixed:
142
Negative:
228
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ZoeRJan 25, 2011
Certainly one of the most emotional movies I have ever watched. I was completely immersed in the characters and story line. I was left both breathless and aching for more. I was still thinking about it months later. Can any film expect moreCertainly one of the most emotional movies I have ever watched. I was completely immersed in the characters and story line. I was left both breathless and aching for more. I was still thinking about it months later. Can any film expect more than that? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BeauDec 24, 2011
This little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-officeThis little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-office behemoth "Avatar" at the Academy Awards and take Best Picture. It may not be a film for the actors, but it is a film for anybody who likes to be wowed by amazing sights and amazing direction. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chicagopianoAug 12, 2011
I went into this movie expecting Black Hawk Down but I wasn't disappointed when i didn't get it, instead i really enjoyed the slow paced yet interesting story. Critics enjoyed this movie for a reason, they are professionals who have studiedI went into this movie expecting Black Hawk Down but I wasn't disappointed when i didn't get it, instead i really enjoyed the slow paced yet interesting story. Critics enjoyed this movie for a reason, they are professionals who have studied hard in the field of film, they know what they're talking about. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Seifer706Aug 14, 2011
I watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic,I watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic, and I'm really disappointed as to why this movie was on that article. First things first, this movie is not a patriotic movie; this movie is there to show the dehumanizing effects warfare can have upon a person, so I don't know why people can call this a "flag-waving" film when it clearly shows a man practically abandoning his own child to re-immerse himself in warfare. Second, a lot of people complain about the "Sniping" scene as being too boring or just plain unrealistic; this is not Call of Duty, okay... When it comes to sniping in real life, it can take hours to kill a specified target, there is no killstreaks and no quickscoping and if staying in the hot sun all day means that the enemy won't snipe at you back, then that's the best option to take to make sure you get out of there alive (the only thing that seems unrealistic is how an IED Unit has great skill when it comes to using an M107, that evades even me, but that's not reason enough for me to call the whole scene unreal). In truth, this is one of the greater military movies that I have ever seen (It defiantly stacks up mo movies like Apocalypse Now and Platoon, not saying its better, that's up to you, the viewers) and this movie didn't deserve to be in the previously mentioned article just because its not CoD-leveled action or just cause it doesn't have explosions every single microsecond. Definitely a movie worth watching (if you haven't already) if you are into the classical Vietnam-era films, you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kingasa2020Nov 10, 2011
The Hurt Locker is an energetic, pulverizing movie that really shows you what its like for the troops on the other side of the country, and, is supremely well acted. Go see the hurt locker while you can
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJan 5, 2013
In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
Within minutes of this dramatic
In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
Within minutes of this dramatic realisation beginning, my heart is beating to the point of me believing "I could just reach over and let Guy Pearce know whats going on", my point to this is that director Kathryn Bigelow (Point break) has created this epic yet simple, unprecedented, sometimes frightening, drama/war film that shows then relatively unknown actors, portraying just more numbers on a document sent on 365 day rotation in Iraq, in particular an EOD squad, just what can happen in a regular day in war.
This film deals with the emotional barriers that soldiers face in the line of duty, the difficulties of 'routine' life but most of all, it deals with everlasting effect of what being a soldier does to not just your physical well-being, but your mind.
After an explosive opening, we see Sergeant First Class William James (Jeremy Renner), team leader of the specialised EOD unit also consisting of Sergeant Sandborn (Anthony Mackie) and Specialist Owen Eldridge (Brian Geraghty). The two soldiers see their leader as a reckless redneck due to his lack of safety and disregard for the rules when it comes to a POA on disposing bombs.
Jeremy Renner carries this film to greater heights than one could possibly have hoped for. As the film progresses we watch the team unravel and get an insight into the day to day activities, or lives of these embedded heroes, a dramatisation, yes, but one so close to the heart it could throw a juggernaut suit on you and take the dreaded steps in the searing sun.
I can't say much more because a film like this needs to be seen and not read about, a masterpiece in every aspect, beautiful, frightening, realism taken to new heights and pushing boundaries like no other, easily in contention for one of the best films in the past decade.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 31, 2011
7 out of 10 by users as of December 2011, really? It deserves better than that! Sure, it is no Saving Private Ryan but it has a VERY intelligent plot involving bombs and the war sequences are entertaining. Besides, the reconnaissance scenes7 out of 10 by users as of December 2011, really? It deserves better than that! Sure, it is no Saving Private Ryan but it has a VERY intelligent plot involving bombs and the war sequences are entertaining. Besides, the reconnaissance scenes are very unfolding and suspenseful which is the most thrilling part of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Nov 28, 2015
I have never really enjoyed war films. I am by no means a pacifist, but to me all the stories seem to be the same, and until now, I've been uninterested. It wasn't until viewing the Academy's best picture of 2010, The Hurt Locker, that II have never really enjoyed war films. I am by no means a pacifist, but to me all the stories seem to be the same, and until now, I've been uninterested. It wasn't until viewing the Academy's best picture of 2010, The Hurt Locker, that I started to see things differently. In these films, it's not so much the story line that matters, but rather the characters that are featured in the film. The description of The Hurt Locker is just as bland as any other war picture, the story of a unit in Iraq that is responsible for disarming explosives. What makes this film so unique and made it the best film of 2010 was William James, played remarkably well by Jeremy Renner. Renner is known as an action star, so when I saw him nominated for best actor, I couldn't believe it. The truth is Renner's performance in this film was outstanding, because for once, he simply played himself. Renner may have been portraying a Sargent in Iraq, but the personality was his own. Director, Kathryn Bigelow, has become known for letting actors be themselves in developing their characters personalities, to the point where even some of the dialogue was in the spur of the moment. The Hurt Locker is a powerful film, with remarkable events and heartbreaking moments, but it's the films personality that is larger than life. I enjoyed every second of this film and it was truly the best choice the Academy could have made for best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Connor_MonteithAug 3, 2012
An intelligent movie that intrigues and excites. It is dramatic, tense and the odd bit humorous. This is one of the few films that I would actually call a masterpiece
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
raidetMay 8, 2012
Entirely typical wartime propaganda that actually very forcefully tries to paint the citizens of the country being attacked and exploited as the bad guys. Absolutely vile.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in theFirst off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in the movie can be so intense that'll it'll keep you guessing what'll happen. Overall, this is a amazing movie. One of the greatest war movies ever. Highly, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Andy86Jul 4, 2012
Great movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. IGreat movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. I understand that many parts of the movie are "unrealistic", as many people have complained about, but 100% of fictional movies are unrealistic. They have spice up aspects of life to make the film entertaining. I don't believe they mean any disrespect to those in uniform. They're merely trying to make the movie entertaining for the audience. But I understand this is a sensitive subject. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PennerAug 1, 2012
This is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky cameraThis is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky camera but most of the time it was used in this film was from the main characters' perspective (you got a glimpse of what they saw). When I actually did see the shaky camera it didn't really physically make me nauseated but it did annoyed me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Oh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almostOh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almost calls forth the sweat on your brow. I ventured further onto the edge of my seat than I knew was humanly possible. When these soldiers are attempting to diffuse mysterious explosives, it almost feels like your well-being is in the balance as well. This long, exhilarating piece is just pumping at the edges with pounds upon pounds of heart-racing, pipe-bursting tension. The Hurt Locker is slow, punishing and weighs down upon you with a pressure that you don't want to stop. Masterful cinematography, directing, acting and vision. Everything is flawlessly clear both visually and intellectually. At no point did I find myself asking about the plot or wondering why something happened. It carries the mark of a great movie which is, you come close to forgetting that it is a movie at all. It becomes real. It leaves you utterly and hopelessly captivated. This was a film made with clarity, vigilance and purpose. So damn good I can't stand it. One for the ages. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 20, 2013
This is a very good movie about the Iraq war. I like Jeremy Renner a lot. the cast is very good and the story is awesome. I like this movie a lot. Best movie of 2009
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mailinhJan 7, 2014
Usually I don't really enjoy war films, but this one is fantastic. I've never seen a movie of this genre which is as genuine and gripping as "The Hurt Locker" with stunning actors and a touching story. Kathryn Bigelow's film leaves me stoked behind.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MarkT2014Jan 5, 2015
It's rare to find a realistic intelligent film. This is one of them.
Unbelievable acting in the last scene. It was truly powerful.
It shows the true color of terrorism in the Middle East, and pretty much rips apart all the conspiracy
It's rare to find a realistic intelligent film. This is one of them.
Unbelievable acting in the last scene. It was truly powerful.

It shows the true color of terrorism in the Middle East, and pretty much rips apart all the conspiracy theories and international media bias against U.S. military.

I give this film 10 with full respect.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ChazeManNov 9, 2014
Every single negative review I see on this site is due to "inaccuracy". Film is art ladies and gentleman, not reality. No matter the subject matter, any and all disbelief should be suspended when watching film. This is a classic mistake ofEvery single negative review I see on this site is due to "inaccuracy". Film is art ladies and gentleman, not reality. No matter the subject matter, any and all disbelief should be suspended when watching film. This is a classic mistake of many movie goer who expects realism. Look at elements and themes within a film, and stop tallying up real life impossibilities. This film is a masterful work of art, thematically and emotionally. There is a reason for the 94 meta score on this site, it does not lie. The film is great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Young_NachoAug 8, 2015
Something about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspensefulSomething about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspenseful each scene was. However, there were some problems that I feel it had (excluding all the comments about how non accurate it was to what REALLY happens with EOD teams in iraq, cuz everyone seems to be commenting on that) I feel it lacked a solid meaning in the end. I understand the theme of his "war addiction" but the movie as a whole didn't seem to touch on that at all until the end. if the film makers were going for that feeling to be taken away from the movie, they didn't seem to stress it enough. Nonetheless i enjoyed it and I am a fan of war movies that aren't just about the typical war fighting and this is one of them. Props to the filmmakers for this new style. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Hurt Locker isn't about war, per se. I personally am not a fan of violence and for that reason tend to shy away from these types of movies as well as knowing a lot about combat, like was happening here. But I still found myself sitting at the edge of my seat (or bed) in anticipation.

This movie's strong point was easily the suspense. A wise man once said that he'd rather have a bomb under the table and not explode, than have the whole room blow up. These bombs did blow up, but I think Bigelow certainly took a piece of advice from Alfred Hitchock here, and props to her! Without suspense, it's just another war movie. The Hurt Locker is so much more. It's about James's need – and other's (Sanborn & Eldridge's) aversion – to being out there. It contemplates our differences and puts them in an environment where these differences shine through and lives are risked, and lost, daily.

Everything that we have been shown previously goes against James's demeanor, and he almost defies the odds to still be alive. The Superman of diffusing bombs in Iraq. Yet we see how one kid has the potential to pull at his heartstrings which is something that we learn his own kid even can't do to make him stay away. Because the rush of adrenaline and the need to risk his life is the only thing he loves anymore. It's his life, simple as that.

"This box is full of stuff that almost killed me." I'll never understand the way he puts his life on the line, but I'm not William James. Movies let us get to know people we'll never meet and take us to places we'll never be. I really can't think of a better example of a movie that fully encompasses that sentiment. We're transported. We're there. We see the fear and the danger and we're enthralled by what makes Sergeant First Class William James tick, because that thing is different for all of us.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Regn752Oct 24, 2015
First of all, this movie is not 100% realistic. If you want that, go watch a documentary or war footage. This was still produced by Hollywood, but I guarantee it is the most realistic war movie Hollywood has produced in a long time.

This
First of all, this movie is not 100% realistic. If you want that, go watch a documentary or war footage. This was still produced by Hollywood, but I guarantee it is the most realistic war movie Hollywood has produced in a long time.

This movie is not focused on all out combat action scenes. It focuses on the very real new threat that was IED's (Improvised explosive devices). The movie centers on a small EOD squad, having lost one of their specialists, a replacement is called in and follows the squad through their routine drama and suspense of disarming bombs that can very well kill you.

An absolute much watch for military enthusiasts.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
avamiller21May 2, 2016
An important, intense, nail-biting experience -- really quite unforgettable.

Check out the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-278-The-Hurt-Locker-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
virtualPresenceJul 18, 2016
Im truly interested into watching a quality films only. And I think I developed a sense of quality film production. This is the one. Totally satisfied with actors and the writing. The only thing which sucks is -> the film like this should beIm truly interested into watching a quality films only. And I think I developed a sense of quality film production. This is the one. Totally satisfied with actors and the writing. The only thing which sucks is -> the film like this should be longer for 1 hour more like 3.5 hours of "highly realistic film" which suck my attention for the whole film into it and when it was done I wanted more but. If you want highly relistic film and anter into film to forget eistence than action drama hurt locker is for you. A MUST TO SEE.... very cool. actors does not feel to act at all ut so real.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JasonBAug 15, 2009
What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Feb 4, 2010
This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 20, 2009
Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BobWAug 7, 2009
Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SamRAug 9, 2009
A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
michaeljSep 13, 2009
I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HenryK.Feb 4, 2010
This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JoesephP.Feb 6, 2010
Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, but you can't watch 2 hours of a tactical inaccuracies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeyT.Mar 11, 2010
Oh boy, the smear campaign still ensues. Wow, if you love dying for your country go back to Iraq or Afghanistan.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TroyRMar 9, 2010
It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want hyper-accurate realism, go watch a documentary or a training film. This movie isn't about the military, per se. Nor is it about Iraq or a particular war or conflict. It is about three guys--one of whom feels quite at home and has found his niche dealing in dangerous situations which, for better or for worse, create a lot of stress for his peers while he is also impressing the hell out of the bosses. Conflicts arise, and the wartime setting itself takes its toll on everyone to one extent or another. Great movie. Do not miss. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RichardJJul 19, 2009
This is an excellent depiction of this most unusual war where the enemy has little to identify them to our military. It is the best film about the war with terrorists that we will see for a long, long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KenF.Jul 26, 2009
Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their service too. But even if The Hurt Locker falls short in some of its military details (just like most war films, even the best of them), it is an outstanding film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyS.Aug 2, 2009
Realistic depiction of Army soldiers action, emotions, pain and suffering.Suspenseful as their rotation winds down. The audience never knows who if any will survive till the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshEAug 6, 2009
I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jeffhAug 8, 2009
The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AKhanAug 9, 2009
This is a very intelligent and gripping thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SethA.Jan 11, 2010
Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls themselves a war film appreciator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeeMar 8, 2010
One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only real "point" is to inform you of how soldiers in Iraqi bomb squads think and feel. After you see the movie, you remember what it FELT like, but not what actually happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterC.Mar 9, 2010
Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its innaccuracies -- and no-doubt there are a few of those and a few exaggerations toom all in the interests of strengthening narrative or drama -- rob themselves of what it a truely moving portrait of a man, who just happens to be a bomb disposal expert working in Iraq. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeahM.Apr 15, 2010
Jeremy Renner was amazing and the movie made me anxious - I could feel the tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NotaryDJun 28, 2009
A nearly flawless film. The plot is simple, the characters complex, and the tension unbearable at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHJul 15, 2009
Pretty good, but for a movie about a explosives specialist defusing bombs in Iraq there weren't nearly enough explosions OR transforming robots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephBJul 25, 2009
Extremely tense from the get go! Very much like the tension in from the Clouzet movie Wages of Fear. I found myself not breathing so as not to set something off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesAug 20, 2009
As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I thought it was a good movie and worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamCAug 2, 2009
Outstanding and realistic warts and all realism makes this movie compelling viewing. This isn't a war movie. This is a movie about ordinary people who do an extraordinary job while facing their own problems.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hcAug 5, 2009
Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, Felt shell shocked coming out of this film---really intense piece but with very little big action CG crap--yet psychologically totally thrilling. This is definitely a fictionalized story, but I don't care, the acting, direction, writing--structure--all of it was terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffAAug 8, 2009
What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which What a great film all around. I would be very interested to know how realistic this account is because I left the theater with a more profound respect for those who serve in our modern wars as well as a deep sadness for the world to which they return. The experience is as intense as it is educational. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankROct 25, 2009
this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the this was an extremely intense movie, i was on the edge of my seat through the majority. For the naive people like RW who gave this movie a 0 because it's a "fairy tale set in current event setting", congratulations you just gave the exact definition of what a large selection of movies are, this one just happens to deal with a current event you are tied into and you took things personally. Get over it, it's a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewMJun 27, 2009
Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is how the soldiers are in a pointless battle that they cannot win or really change, yet they are committed and hooked to it... I am a film snob, but this is the only movie all year besides Sin Nombre that I really enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinAAug 13, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was exciting from the get-go and never lets up. As far as it being realistic? I'm not one to ask as I've never served. For all of the comments by those who have served, it would be beneficial to both list the blatant accuracies that you site, and to refer some movies that do portray the soldier's plight in an accurate way. In the meantime, this movie was spectacular, realistic or unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyCAug 21, 2009
This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and This was not a documentary about bomb disposal. This was a film about the human reaction to the overwhelming fear and finality of war. It's about the despair that feeds in Eldrige, the denial of the Col., the emptiness of Sanborn, and the certainty of war that drives James. This film must be interpreted through the opening quote. War is a drug. This film is about how human beings respond to that stimulus and how and why it becomes an all-consuming entity to some and a dice game to others. This was an excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension &
New man joins bomb disposal team in Iraq, day-to-day job of diffusing bombs & avoiding crossfire, camaraderie, conflict, decisions.
Almost documentary/fly-on-the-wall style film that does a fantastic job of capturing the atmosphere, tension & overall danger of these soldiers lives.
The acting & dialogue are very natural, great cameos, top-notch cinematography & the claustrophobia of the "bomb suit" scenes are thrilling & uncomfortable.
Excellent incidental music too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tonyGreenJan 6, 2012
A war movie with real complicated protagonists. Great tension, great action but great psychological intrigue too. War is a drug, and so is the movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZMP17Jan 3, 2011
Well deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm notWell deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm not saying that Avatar wasn't a good movie but how many people actually saw HL before Avatar? 48 million to 2 billion box office gross (rounded down) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonJan 23, 2015
When Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before hisWhen Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before his actions have serious consequences for everyone.

With explosives everywhere and every civilian a potential enemy The Hurt Locker brilliantly portrays the intense nature of working and living in war torn territory. The movie is about far more than just men blowing things up however and as the movie unfolds we learn about the motivations of each of the men involved giving us a fascinating insight into their world.

With brilliant performances all round The Hurt Locker is one of the best war movies ever made.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanAug 28, 2012
The Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to peopleThe Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to people and relationships, and how a single moment can change your life forever, or suddenly end it. The best, and most thought provoking scene in the film is one of relative calm, when EOD Seargeant Will James (Jeremy Renner) is on leave from active duty, and looks simply lost while wandering down the cereal isle of an American supermarket. Renner is excellent as James, who is essentially an adrenaline junkie, an addict to thrills and near death experiences, and who is obsessed with getting his next fix. Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty also impress as James' squad-mates, a by-the-book straight man to James' impulsive maverick leader and a jittery and inexperienced young specialist respectively. Guy Pierce and Ralph Fiennes are good as always in minor but quite pivotal roles. The characters are layered and interesting, the expertly paced, sweat-inducing bomb disposal scenes smartly replace the standard running-and-gunning battles found in almost all other war films (there's only one straight gunfight, and even that is drawn-out and minimalistic) and Mark Boal's script is believable and dramatically affecting. I'm quite ashamed to admit that this is the only one of Kathryn Bigelow's films I've seen, but she's undeniably talented behind the camera, grounded and naturalistic in her style (other than using a little well-executed slow-motion for the biggest set pieces) and most pleasingly, unlike her ex-husband Mr Moneybags Cameron, she doesn't yet appear to have been consumed by her own hype. The Hurt Locker is a masterful piece of dramatic storytelling, an excellent analysis of the driving forces of humanity, and one of the cleverest examinations of the impact of war to ever grace the silver screen. It's a crime that no woman before Bigelow has won the Best Picture Academy Award, but The Hurt Locker sets a fine example as the first film to break this trend, and it didn't need in excess of $200,000,000 to do it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
cylixdemasMay 24, 2011
This is a great picture that is able to capture a tense moment on film. There will be a great deal of intensity that will place you on the end of your seat. This is the best war movie of the decade.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxJan 19, 2012
I liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this pointI liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this point that just totally let me down, Even to the point where it was a bit predictable. Still, It was a good film and worth the watch.

IMO - Definently more worthy than Avatar to win the oscar for best picture.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DongangstarDec 31, 2011
This is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then youThis is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then you shouldn't watch any movie. Of course the protagonist takes risks which can not be the reality, but it's movie - use your imagination, this is made to entertain people, it's not a documentary, just enjoy it, don't think too much. Great acting by all actors - I believed the emotions, very well done - nice cinematography as well! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AwesomeReviewerMay 11, 2012
The story of â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwOct 10, 2014
I enjoyed Bigelow's film very much--it's a very accurate depiction of the unique problems both of the war in the Middle East and that soldiers of any war face--that fighting and surviving is all they know, to the deficit of everything else. II enjoyed Bigelow's film very much--it's a very accurate depiction of the unique problems both of the war in the Middle East and that soldiers of any war face--that fighting and surviving is all they know, to the deficit of everything else. I understand why it was shot the way that it was, though handheld, jerky movement isn't my cup of tea. This film gets a lot of hate because it beat out Avatar at the awards ceremonies. Though it's a very good film and deserving of great recognition, I don't think it's the best that Bigelow can do. I'm curious what she's going to try next. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JpJuarioJan 30, 2014
''Excellent.'' ''Brilliant!'' ''Full of Suspense and Intensity.'' '' An Absolute Knockout! The first 12 mins will mess-up your life. One of the Best Films of the decade. The Best Action film I've seen in year's. The Actors are winning. The''Excellent.'' ''Brilliant!'' ''Full of Suspense and Intensity.'' '' An Absolute Knockout! The first 12 mins will mess-up your life. One of the Best Films of the decade. The Best Action film I've seen in year's. The Actors are winning. The Film editing is brilliant. The Best Action-'Thriller ever made! Renner, Mackie and Gerahty were Terrific. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
CaesaroctopusMay 2, 2015
An excellent movie. Well-made and well acted, The Hurt Locker is an evocative and poignant picture of the War in Iraq and its soldiers. Jeremy Renner's character in particular is one of the most interesting characters in a war movie to date:An excellent movie. Well-made and well acted, The Hurt Locker is an evocative and poignant picture of the War in Iraq and its soldiers. Jeremy Renner's character in particular is one of the most interesting characters in a war movie to date: A Cavalier and Good-Natured Cowboy in an IED suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeMay 31, 2015
This is a truly powerful film.That job is pretty though and the movie shows it perfectly even if the movie is inaccurate with this job.With a very good script,an original idea,convincing characters and very good acting,The Hurt Locker is anThis is a truly powerful film.That job is pretty though and the movie shows it perfectly even if the movie is inaccurate with this job.With a very good script,an original idea,convincing characters and very good acting,The Hurt Locker is an awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 19, 2016
Once again, I feel disappointed with users. The Hurt Locker will make you keep on loving and loving because of its side-to-side story that just can't move anywhere from the locker.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AlexSJan 4, 2010
A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DimitriKMar 8, 2010
A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
8
RyanSJan 20, 2010
Truly an immersive war movie. An eye-opener. As I was watching it I was thinking about whether this is as good as classics like "Full Metal Jacket," and it's nearly at that level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 1, 2010
A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better film and that got a 67 (84 from users) from the critics, who I believe have been a little out of touch with reviews for 2009 films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
robertiJan 17, 2010
True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnLJan 19, 2010
This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RandyTMar 9, 2010
I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be like if it really was accurate to what is actually happening in Iraq? Sure, you guys would probably think it was great and super realistic, but then think how much everybody else would like it... Not so much. This movie was made with entertainment for the general public in mind. Only stupid people are going to watch the movie and think "Wow, that's what Iraq really is like!" since smarter people know that it's just a movie and is dramatized and exaggerated to make it more suspenseful. Yes I know, I haven't been down to Iraq so I don't know what it's like, but I can confidently say that the majority of the tasks and missions you take part in wouldn't make a very good action movie, which this film is trying to be. I hope some people understand this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JanshcDJul 26, 2009
Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of several question left hanging. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AnnMAug 23, 2009
Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was unrealistic; derived from other war movies instead of from Army procedures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
saAug 6, 2009
I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenF.Feb 8, 2010
One of the best war films in recent memory. The suspense almost kills you at times. Renner is a revelation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EFOct 29, 2009
I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story involving unlikely friends, which doesn't try to embellish war. Some rope moments but generally good, not too sure about the ending. Good Solid Film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasJul 22, 2009
I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky camera work. I had to leave Cloverfield, but I never felt bad in this one and I really don't remember the shakiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
shawnAug 14, 2009
Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. we've been there and done that one enough. barring the rampant inaccuracies i do lament that there was a missed opportunity to show the real carnage and utter horror these bomb makers inflict on the iraqi ppl. it was alluded to when the main character was back home. after reading a number of these reviews it occurs to me how polarizing this movie is. by those that have never served and those that have. i have served in one capacity or another for close to 20 years.13 yrs in uniform, these past 6 as a private contractor. its understandable why the military experienced will blanche and boil about this movie. but ur judging a HOLLYWOOD movie based on realism. that alone seems flawed in the extreme. u are applying a high level of bias to a purely fictional account because it doesn't sync with the reality we have experienced. its a movie ppl. rating this based on realism is like rating Star Wars on its realism. Hollywood is not in the business of realism its in the business of selling movies. get over yourselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobnAug 15, 2009
I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself is not apparent until the end, at which point it is anti-climactic. The camera work and acting is great. I would describe it as an action/suspense popcorn movie more than a serious war film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NedWAug 16, 2009
I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was not one in 2004. I have little knowledge of how this kind of work really is carried out. I, too, wish that Ms. Bigelow and her writer had spent more time making sure that they had their facts straight. As a viewer I wish that I had been shown a more correct picture of how the modern Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Aug 3, 2009
Finally, a movie about the war in Iraq that has no political slant in either direction. A war movie about war and the soldiers fighting it. On that basis - Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleMAug 5, 2009
This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western This was a very different kind of war film. When you come right down to it, the horrors of the war in Iraq are probably nowhere near the horrors that WWI soldiers went through, especially the WWI presented in "All Quiet on the Western Front." However, in WWI the soldiers were by and large either drafter or duped into fighting for something they never really understood. In the Iraq War of The Hurt Locker, the soldiers are still fighting for something they don't quite understand. Many of the people they are supposedly fighting for would just as soon blow them up, and even the kids on the streets jeer at them. In Iraq, as contrasted to WWI, however, the soldiers are volunteers. What motivates them to fight and be brave? Is it possible they have become addicted to war? Sounds far-fetched but this film makes it seem pretty plausible. The soldier in this film has repeated edge-of-death experiences as would be expected since he has to defuse bombs. In his spare time, he tries to find a human face or a reason for why he is risking his life. For instance, perhaps he is really fighting for the young boy selling DVDs with whom he plays some soccer. Or perhaps, he is fighting for his buddies and comrades-in-arms. None of these quests for the meaning of war prove successful. Yet when he returns to peacetime in the states, life is even more meaningless. Only that edge-of-death, adrenaline-filled existence in war seems to have much meaning to him. Time to volunteer again! In WWI a soldier might have had a locker of mementos from home to remind him what he was fighting for. In Iraq, the soldier has a locker of mementos from all the edge-of-death experiences he has lived through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesGSep 15, 2009
Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there Great movie, get over the lack of realism. Realistic scenarios would not have worked. The movie is about the tension and feeling of Iraq that it creates, and it does a good job. It does seem highly overrated by the critics, but I think there is really their way of telling the industry "give us more Iraq films!". Also keep in mind this film was sold for only 1.5 million, it was very low budget. You have to adjust your expectations. All the ratings of zero are completely irresponsible. On no conceivable rating scale could this movie be a zero. People rating it a zero are really just saying they personally couldn't watch it given the lack of realism. That is completely different from how critics rate movies, critics do not just give their own idiosyncratic personal opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rwJan 16, 2010
A very realistic and suspenseful film, with terrific acting (particularly from the lead actor) and well defined characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimHJan 27, 2010
I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything I watched this as a personal double bill with Full Metal Jacket. While I would say that FMJ is flawed it also has higher dramatic points and more involvement int the end, including some gut wrenching, unforgettable sequences. Everything about Hurt Locker is done well. It's flawless. But that does not ensure greatness. A few days after seeing it I remember only a little about it: mostly Brian Geraghty's scenes. He's given a juicy role and he fills it well. The rest is really merely good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Feb 12, 2010
An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, An intensely powerful film that relentlessly depicts the horrors the soldiers endure in Iraq. Well acted by everyone, very realistically filmed by director Kathryn Bigelow, it has a grittiness that adds to the tension. Completely believable, with many unforgettable scenes, the scene with the suicide bomber who gave himself up can't easily be forgotten. Disturbing, thought provoking and unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
icecreamFeb 13, 2010
Its somewhere in the 8 rating and b grade. Not a A movie by any stretch, I just don't get how critics even exist on a professional level. Like a professional gambler there is no such thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveHJul 11, 2009
Very realistic movie with great acting. I'm not an Iraq veteren so I cannot vouch for authenticity but it seemed real. I think the movie was a bit too long and a few scenes didn't quite make it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gm101May 10, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I certainly did enjoy this movie. Characters were more likeable than I thought. However, I felt the plot involving the Beckham kid wasn't resolved, and that still bugs me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lholzMar 15, 2011
Hurt Locker was very good. The acting was really fine, the plot moved along and it exceeded my expectations. There was a nice sense of humor within the continued suspense. The connection between the protagonist and the boy selling DVDsHurt Locker was very good. The acting was really fine, the plot moved along and it exceeded my expectations. There was a nice sense of humor within the continued suspense. The connection between the protagonist and the boy selling DVDs humanized the already very human story. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
SindriFeb 18, 2011
Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the
Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the American EOD unit company Bravo which is located in the midst of an explosive conflict in Baghdad as the new team leader. Seargent J.T Sanborn and specialist Owen Eldridge are not overly enthusiastic about the new leader which they are going to spend the next 38 days with, and their willingness to give him the benefit of the doubt is diminished when James early on shows himself of as a headstrong and hazardous danger seeker who fearlessly enters the line of fire to disarm bombs while they have to stand as frightened bystanders in the background. "The Hurt Locker" is directed by Kathryn Bigelow "Point Break" (1991) and "Strange Days" (1995), and is based on the observations of freelance writer Mark Boal "In the valley of Elah" (2007), who was embedded with a US bomb-squad during the Iraq war. In a minimalistic and documentaric way it describes the relationship between three soldiers and their individual ways of coping with life in a war zone where death is always breathing down their necks. With hand-held camera movements, extreme close ups, slow-motion scenes, long takes and extreme long shots, Kathryn Bigelow creates a knife-edged intensity and a grayed realism which is remarkable. Her intimate and continuous focus on the three main characters creates a compressed narrative which strengthens the viewers empathy.

"The Hurt Locker" is a film about young men who voluntarily enlist to serve in Iraq well aware that the risk of dying is immense. It asks no questions about why they choose this kind of job, but rather focuses on how they deal with life in an uncontrollable death zone and how this affects their mentality. Even though this is a war movie at first hand, it's also a pulsating action thriller, a psychological drama and a concentrated character study about three men, their rivalry and their evolving friendship. The acting is captivating, but Jeremy Renner stands out as adrenalin rush-seeker Will James in an impressive role interpretation. "The Hurt Locker" is one of the first films to recognize the bomb disarmers and to depict war as something addictive. This an unconventional war film with brilliant war scenes, skilled photography and convincing milieu depictions.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Cotts1988Apr 30, 2011
I did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant,I did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant, particularly that of the lead, which contributes to the story's believability. In different times it probably wouldn't have won an oscar, but ultimately whether it did or did not is irrelevant. The Hurt Locker is more than worthy of watching and very entertaining. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
j30Oct 7, 2011
If I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie isIf I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie is really intense and has electrifying performances. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraNov 18, 2011
THE HURT LOCKER is an emotional, well-directed and well-acted war film that is quite well made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheTacoShackDec 6, 2011
**** awesome movie. Enough said but since there is a 150 character min I mus say random **** Blahahahahah Dick fart lolololololololllllllllllllllllllllllgfgfgf
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 25, 2012
I personally think it's incredibly underrated by users. Hurt Locker was a well done film. It was interesting to watch, well acted, and manage to suck you in all at the same time. Definently worth watching imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews