User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    This is an absolutely hilarious movie, Most americans will hate it because theyre stupid and have retarded comedy, but it is honestly a masterpiece of comedy, the show is better, but the movie is a satisfying end to the franchise. 8/10
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    4
    Oh my god. What a **** mess.

    As a fan of the TV show, this movie is quite a disappointment to me. It seems like they’re cashing in the show’s popularity by making a movie as a continuation rather than making another season of the show which I loved. The humor of this movie. What happened? Were the creators of the show got lazy in writing a clever funny joke in this movie? The humor
    Oh my god. What a **** mess.

    As a fan of the TV show, this movie is quite a disappointment to me. It seems like they’re cashing in the show’s popularity by making a movie as a continuation rather than making another season of the show which I loved.

    The humor of this movie. What happened? Were the creators of the show got lazy in writing a clever funny joke in this movie? The humor seemed too forced and begs the audience most of the time to laugh because “it’s gross and we should laugh at it”. This movie lost the witty, sarcastic, brash humor of the show. Instead, this movie has unnecessary toilet humor and garbage humor.

    Fortunately, in the final minutes in the movie, there was a part that was so funny that in that part is the typical Inbetweeners humor that should have been featured in the entire movie. Also, I liked Will’s classic witty voice-overs but both of the good things about the humor of this movie in this paragraph is not enough to save this mess.

    I hated how the Simon and Carly dilemma thing is the only way to make the movie’s plot move. The Simon and Carly dilemma used to be a cute, funny running gag in the show but this movie shows it’s a quite a problem. To see Simon from being one of my favorite characters in the show to the most annoying character in this movie is devastating. What’s even more devastating is that Jay is more likable in this movie than Simon.

    As much as I really hated the plot, I liked how it ended. Without spoiling too much, let’s just say it ended with a happy ending. Like really a happy ending where the boys got what they finally wanted.

    Even though it had its moments, The Inbetweeners Movie turns out to be a one huge **** mess of a movie to one of British TV comedies’ greatest gems.

    I won’t see the sequel. I’ll act as if this movie never happened. Instead, I will make my own version of what happened after the finale of the show. Simon never got to see Carly again and went off to Wales, Will goes to the university obviously, Mike marries the woman whom he had sex with and almost accidentally making her pregnant and Jay either becomes a male porn star or the British lad version of Barney Stinson.
    Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    I'm sorry? 44 out of 100? mixed or average reviews?!
    Seriously I think critics need to drop the serious acts sometime soon and embrace the odd immature one. This is a great film, full of laughs and many fairly grimacing moments; hence the name, The Inbetweeners. Likewise: a great family film.
  4. Aug 7, 2014
    8
    Despite the performances across the board being somewhat inconsistent, some continuity gags being the most enjoyable for the original series' most loyal fans, an admittedly cliched plot, you can't help but smile at the sense of comradery and British mateship comedy that is so perfectly inculcated in this film.
  5. May 20, 2014
    9
    The Inbetweeners Movie is a very well done witty comedy that properly ends the Tv series. While I may be American, I catch on very quickly and understand everything that is going on. I have always been avid fan of the Inbetweeners series, but I did not enjoy the American version of the series. The film is absolutely hilarious and is brilliant in sense of humor and story. I highly recommendThe Inbetweeners Movie is a very well done witty comedy that properly ends the Tv series. While I may be American, I catch on very quickly and understand everything that is going on. I have always been avid fan of the Inbetweeners series, but I did not enjoy the American version of the series. The film is absolutely hilarious and is brilliant in sense of humor and story. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a great sense of humor and loves a crazy story about 4 teenagers who experience a wild holiday that they will never forget. I am looking forward to the film's sequel this August! Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    It is a bit like a glorified TV episode, which is a bit hit and miss for me anyway. Granted there are some pretty good gags, but as a movie, it falls flat in too many areas.
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    The highly anticipated sequel to the hit British television series makes it cinematic debut, will the 22 minute an episode sitcom translate well to the big screen? The answer to put it simply is… Yes. As the boys prepare to go on a “mental” lads holiday together, Simon has to come to terms with the end of his relationship with Carli.

    With the last episode of the television being a bit
    The highly anticipated sequel to the hit British television series makes it cinematic debut, will the 22 minute an episode sitcom translate well to the big screen? The answer to put it simply is… Yes. As the boys prepare to go on a “mental” lads holiday together, Simon has to come to terms with the end of his relationship with Carli.

    With the last episode of the television being a bit of a let down I didn’t have high expectations for the film. I was pleasantly surprised. With gag after gag the Inbetweeners Movie delivers hilarious lines of dialogue which will leave you with stitches of laughter.

    The Inbetweeners Movie went simple in narrative structure which I was happy about because I knew that with a big complex story the film wouldn’t work. The simple love story which is portrayed for each of the maim characters is simple but effective. The film delivers its usual crude humour in the style of self-fellatio, jokes and general mocking of each other.

    The film which unlike any other really gave a community spirit when I saw it in theaters last year, the whole place rocking with laughter. I can’t believe I even began to doubt that Iain Morris and Damon Beesley could do anything with these characters that was unfunny.

    As heated arguments get between these best friends hilarity occurs, if that is from sissy fighting, owing someone 50 euros or just simply sleeping in the wrong place. You can’t go wrong with The Inbetweeners Movie, a light-hearted and surprisingly uplifting comedy.

    In hindsight it wasn’t a very good movie… I hope you didn’t believe a word of that last bit, this is a great movie and unfortunately I will never ever forget it so I can re-experience it for the first time again. But luckily for the world of comedy the highest grossing British comedy ever released is allegedly releasing a sequel sometime in 2014, I’m officially excited.
    Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2013
    2
    The TV series was very funny but this was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. All of the proper jokes came from Greg Davies, who's in the movie for about 2 minutes. Everyone else just stood around saying penis over and over again.
  9. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Summary
    +Very good comical writing, with nice twists.
    +Good acting from the cast particular from Will (I will refer to characters by character name not the actor who plays them).
    +Great scenes that help to make the film more iconic when compared to average comical films.
    -Most of the characters personalities are not explored leaving most to be uninteresting.
    -The film lacks originality when compared to “Kevin and Perry Go Large”, which follows a very similar storyline yet with more twists than the Inbetweeners movie.
    -The films story is very predictable with not enough turns to make the story remarkable.

    In short in my opinion the film is ok for a Friday/Saturday night watch, but compared to Kevin and Perry Go Large, the film falls flat, hence it is nothing that is outstanding.

    Full Review
    I wish to say at the start of the review that my actually score is that of 6.5. This is largely due to the vast variety of comedy in the film, ranging from clever remarks from Will, to crude humour from the cast on the whole e.g. James snorting poo with coke.

    As a send-off to the brilliant Inbetweeners series, the film does a good job. It still maintains what was a great feature of the series which is the continuation of the conflicts between the personality of the 4 friends (Will, Simon, Jay and Neil). This is particularly the case with the conflict between the sensible Will who fails to understand what a Lad’s Holiday really consist of; and Jay who wants to go all out looking for easy booze and sex (and fails at the sex part till the end). Therefore with regards to being true to its source material the film does a god job. Unfortunately one thing fans of the series will notice is that the film in many ways feels restrained, with regards to how crude the film is. This is probably due to the fact its rated 15 (Teen) instead of 18(Mature). While this is understandable because the directors of the film wouldn’t want to deny the film to potential viewers, it has negative impact on the quality of the comedy. Another thing the fans will notice is how iconic characters from the series are hardly featured in the film. This can be seen by how Mr Gilbert is only used in a one minute farewell speech to the students, which annoyingly is one of the most worthy moments of the film.

    With regards to acting again this is a mix bag. It is certainly worth giving credit to Will, who is by far the best portrayed character. He real adds to the comedy of the film, because he provides to a nerdish prospective on an otherwise stereotypical party movie. Unfortunately the other characters are really dry. This is particular true of the 4 girls the lads meet up with, because while each having their own quirks, they are not exploited enough, thus making them less special. However possible the greatest weakest character is that of Simon who spends the time ignoring obvious access to minge (Lucy) in favour of his ex. However he fails to portray much emotion beyond mediocrity.

    However possible the main issue of the film is that of how predictable the story is. It is clear what will happen once the four lads meet the 4 girls, (spoiler) each of the four lads will each shag one of the girls. This wouldn’t be such a bad thing if the film had enough twist to make the story interesting throughout. Unfortunately there isn’t enough twist, to make the story stand out, because many of the twist feel more like fillers. This can be seen with the character Richard who was added to add some sense of quirkiness to the film, but instead adds very little to the film other than confusion.
    Furthermore the predictable nature of the story in many ways makes the film feel contrived and nonsensical. An example of this can be seen by how in one part of the film Will mention how he is thinking of committing suicide, which is a huge over-reaction. Them literally 10 seconds later after basically being told by Neil you only live once, Will becomes all happy and up to get “royally f***ed up”. Another example of this is that of how the main characters (with the exception of Will who throws up throughout the end part of the film) have the remarkable ability to drink countless shots and not be affected at all, e.g. the characters never struggle to walk in a straight line etc.

    All this amounts to a film which while funny at first, lacks the needed elements to make it anything more than an average comedy.
    Expand
  10. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Considered to be "The Young Ones" for a new generation, "The Inbetweeners" have done extremely well at being consistantly funny episode after episode, Season after season.

    From what i've read the show is so popular it has been broadcasted worldwide, the funny dialogue, vulgarity and expense of all the 4 main leads has obviously entertained, so much so it got a film release. Kicking
    Considered to be "The Young Ones" for a new generation, "The Inbetweeners" have done extremely well at being consistantly funny episode after episode, Season after season.

    From what i've read the show is so popular it has been broadcasted worldwide, the funny dialogue, vulgarity and expense of all the 4 main leads has obviously entertained, so much so it got a film release.

    Kicking off (not to long, maybe a year) after the final series, this outing has the boys heading to Malia, Crete obviously to get what else? booze and babes. Again from anyone who watches the series knows the success comes from how very different each character is.

    Will McKenzie (Simon Bird) is the posh kid, short tempered, up himself and hates being proved wrong and is eventually driven into deprived acts that will no doubt lower himself on the social ladder he so desperately climbs.

    Simon Cooper (Joe Thomas) is a kid who has desperately been infatuated with his nextdoor neighbour, tracing her to beyond creepy, eventually he is the only character to have had a girlfriend, nevertheless the situation's they put him in have inevitably backfired on him and ended up embarassing himself, something will end up looking stupid or dangling out (yes, i said that)

    Jay Cartwright (James Buckley) is a kid who just 24/7, obviously you'll wonder why they hang around with him but nevertheless he's one of the main driving force's to try new things in the group, yet as always doing more damaged then good.

    Neil Sutherland (Blake Harrison) is an idiot, dumber than a rock yet always end up getting in some sexual endavour much to the dissapointment of everyone else.

    All i'm saying is take one out the mix and the show would flop, nevertheless the film however was very entertaining.

    Seeing as how many TV shows to film adaptation suck ("Kevin & Perry" is a prime example) i'd be lying if i said this film wasn't predictable, it's obviously recycling alot of what made the Series so good (anyone who watches the show will know what i mean), but nevertheless IT IS FUNNY.

    Recycling yet adding, lowering the harshness of the aftermath, It see's the boys constantly defeated in their quest in everyway possible.

    Final Verdict: Obviously in the lamest sense, it is like watching a long episode from the series, it's everything a fan of the show could want.
    Expand
  11. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Translating a small screen half-hour comedy series into an hour and half long movie is not always easy and the last few years have been littered with failed attempts like Kevin and Perry Go Large. Fortunately, while not as consistently funny as the three seasons of television on which it is based, The Inbetweeners Movie successfully captures the spirit and humour of the show.

    The movie
    Translating a small screen half-hour comedy series into an hour and half long movie is not always easy and the last few years have been littered with failed attempts like Kevin and Perry Go Large. Fortunately, while not as consistently funny as the three seasons of television on which it is based, The Inbetweeners Movie successfully captures the spirit and humour of the show.

    The movie itself finds the boys, having now left school, making their way to Greece in search of girls. Of course their dreams soon turn into a nightmare of embarrassment making for cringe-worthy, but often very funny, humour. As has always been the case the four leads show excellent on-screen chemistry and the four characters complement each other superbly. I was a little disappointed that, since the film is set outside of the school environment, we see very little of the always funny Mr Gilbert (Greg Davies) but anyone that was/is a fan of the TV show will certainly enjoy this.
    Expand
  12. Nov 3, 2012
    1
    This movie was uninteresting to the point I would turn it off. I did watch the movie till the end and I conclude honestly that this was the worst movie I have ever seen. The characters where uninteresting and the acting wasn't that good at all. During the whole movie there wasn't any joke at which I laughed.
  13. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    The inbetweeners is concluded with an excellent film that involves a moving but funny plot line and a fine performance from the four main actors. well done!
  14. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Although the movie isn't as good as the series I would still definitely recommend it, It's funny and still sticks to the same type of comedy as the series.
  15. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    When I went to see this movie in the theater, without haven seen any of the original episodes, I was open for it.
    I was positive suprised. It was a great experienced. I went with a friend (Oh frieend) and we bothed laughed at most of the jokes.
    But when I watched it alone on Blu-ray, the laughs where halfed. Im still going to give it the score it deserves, because it entertained me in
    When I went to see this movie in the theater, without haven seen any of the original episodes, I was open for it.
    I was positive suprised. It was a great experienced. I went with a friend (Oh frieend) and we bothed laughed at most of the jokes.
    But when I watched it alone on Blu-ray, the laughs where halfed.
    Im still going to give it the score it deserves, because it entertained me in the theater.
    But if you are going to watch a movie like this, watch it with other people. It makes the experience better.
    Expand
  16. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    This movie is absolutely hilarious, Americans will not understand it, and will give bad reviews as they don't understand British comedy. It kept me laughing throughout and did so to all of my mates. Because we can relate to it, whereas Americans cannot. (Yes, i'm British)
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Sep 8, 2012
    50
    If nothing else, The Inbetweeners Movie proves that raunchy comedies about horny teens aren't just an American quirk.
  2. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 8, 2012
    33
    In other words, here's the same slop you've seen before, only with brand new accents. Also, more pooping.
  3. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Sep 7, 2012
    70
    Satisfies as a standalone experience.