Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Join Will, Simon, Jay and Neil as they go on mental holiday in Malia in pursuit of booze, fanny, minge, sex and booze. It's one wild week they're sure to never forget if only the can remember what happened in the morning. They're out of school, out of the country and out of their league.Join Will, Simon, Jay and Neil as they go on mental holiday in Malia in pursuit of booze, fanny, minge, sex and booze. It's one wild week they're sure to never forget if only the can remember what happened in the morning. They're out of school, out of the country and out of their league. (Wrekin Hill Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Sep 1, 2012
    80
    Like any holiday, it is episodic and suffers from repetition but this is gag-for-gag the funniest film of the summer and a fitting end to a much-loved series. So long boys, it's been great to know you.
  2. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Sep 7, 2012
    70
    Satisfies as a standalone experience.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 7, 2012
    63
    It turns out that constraint is really what the show is all about, or to put it another way, I'm disappointed that they turned my horny-teen comedy into a gross-out comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Sep 8, 2012
    50
    If nothing else, The Inbetweeners Movie proves that raunchy comedies about horny teens aren't just an American quirk.
  5. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Sep 4, 2012
    40
    Even the show's disciples may feel like they've been cheated.
  6. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Sep 4, 2012
    38
    Oh, the hilarious awkwardness of placing privileged white kids in a place where they don't belong.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Sep 6, 2012
    12
    If nothing else, The Inbetweeners Movie earns itself a footnote in any comprehensive history of local movie exhibition. This has got to be the first time a wedgie has been inflicted onscreen at the Kendall.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Although the movie isn't as good as the series I would still definitely recommend it, It's funny and still sticks to the same type of comedyAlthough the movie isn't as good as the series I would still definitely recommend it, It's funny and still sticks to the same type of comedy as the series. Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    9
    The Inbetweeners Movie is a very well done witty comedy that properly ends the Tv series. While I may be American, I catch on very quickly andThe Inbetweeners Movie is a very well done witty comedy that properly ends the Tv series. While I may be American, I catch on very quickly and understand everything that is going on. I have always been avid fan of the Inbetweeners series, but I did not enjoy the American version of the series. The film is absolutely hilarious and is brilliant in sense of humor and story. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a great sense of humor and loves a crazy story about 4 teenagers who experience a wild holiday that they will never forget. I am looking forward to the film's sequel this August! Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    The inbetweeners is concluded with an excellent film that involves a moving but funny plot line and a fine performance from the four mainThe inbetweeners is concluded with an excellent film that involves a moving but funny plot line and a fine performance from the four main actors. well done! Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    This movie is absolutely hilarious, Americans will not understand it, and will give bad reviews as they don't understand British comedy. ItThis movie is absolutely hilarious, Americans will not understand it, and will give bad reviews as they don't understand British comedy. It kept me laughing throughout and did so to all of my mates. Because we can relate to it, whereas Americans cannot. (Yes, i'm British) Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Summary
    +Very good comical writing, with nice twists.
    +Good acting from the cast particular from Will (I will refer to characters by character name not the actor who plays them).
    +Great scenes that help to make the film more iconic when compared to average comical films.
    -Most of the characters personalities are not explored leaving most to be uninteresting.
    -The film lacks originality when compared to “Kevin and Perry Go Large”, which follows a very similar storyline yet with more twists than the Inbetweeners movie.
    -The films story is very predictable with not enough turns to make the story remarkable.

    In short in my opinion the film is ok for a Friday/Saturday night watch, but compared to Kevin and Perry Go Large, the film falls flat, hence it is nothing that is outstanding.

    Full Review
    I wish to say at the start of the review that my actually score is that of 6.5. This is largely due to the vast variety of comedy in the film, ranging from clever remarks from Will, to crude humour from the cast on the whole e.g. James snorting poo with coke.

    As a send-off to the brilliant Inbetweeners series, the film does a good job. It still maintains what was a great feature of the series which is the continuation of the conflicts between the personality of the 4 friends (Will, Simon, Jay and Neil). This is particularly the case with the conflict between the sensible Will who fails to understand what a Lad’s Holiday really consist of; and Jay who wants to go all out looking for easy booze and sex (and fails at the sex part till the end). Therefore with regards to being true to its source material the film does a god job. Unfortunately one thing fans of the series will notice is that the film in many ways feels restrained, with regards to how crude the film is. This is probably due to the fact its rated 15 (Teen) instead of 18(Mature). While this is understandable because the directors of the film wouldn’t want to deny the film to potential viewers, it has negative impact on the quality of the comedy. Another thing the fans will notice is how iconic characters from the series are hardly featured in the film. This can be seen by how Mr Gilbert is only used in a one minute farewell speech to the students, which annoyingly is one of the most worthy moments of the film.

    With regards to acting again this is a mix bag. It is certainly worth giving credit to Will, who is by far the best portrayed character. He real adds to the comedy of the film, because he provides to a nerdish prospective on an otherwise stereotypical party movie. Unfortunately the other characters are really dry. This is particular true of the 4 girls the lads meet up with, because while each having their own quirks, they are not exploited enough, thus making them less special. However possible the greatest weakest character is that of Simon who spends the time ignoring obvious access to minge (Lucy) in favour of his ex. However he fails to portray much emotion beyond mediocrity.

    However possible the main issue of the film is that of how predictable the story is. It is clear what will happen once the four lads meet the 4 girls, (spoiler) each of the four lads will each shag one of the girls. This wouldn’t be such a bad thing if the film had enough twist to make the story interesting throughout. Unfortunately there isn’t enough twist, to make the story stand out, because many of the twist feel more like fillers. This can be seen with the character Richard who was added to add some sense of quirkiness to the film, but instead adds very little to the film other than confusion.
    Furthermore the predictable nature of the story in many ways makes the film feel contrived and nonsensical. An example of this can be seen by how in one part of the film Will mention how he is thinking of committing suicide, which is a huge over-reaction. Them literally 10 seconds later after basically being told by Neil you only live once, Will becomes all happy and up to get “royally f***ed up”. Another example of this is that of how the main characters (with the exception of Will who throws up throughout the end part of the film) have the remarkable ability to drink countless shots and not be affected at all, e.g. the characters never struggle to walk in a straight line etc.

    All this amounts to a film which while funny at first, lacks the needed elements to make it anything more than an average comedy.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2014
    4
    Oh my god. What a **** mess.

    As a fan of the TV show, this movie is quite a disappointment to me. It seems like they’re cashing in the
    Oh my god. What a **** mess.

    As a fan of the TV show, this movie is quite a disappointment to me. It seems like they’re cashing in the show’s popularity by making a movie as a continuation rather than making another season of the show which I loved.

    The humor of this movie. What happened? Were the creators of the show got lazy in writing a clever funny joke in this movie? The humor seemed too forced and begs the audience most of the time to laugh because “it’s gross and we should laugh at it”. This movie lost the witty, sarcastic, brash humor of the show. Instead, this movie has unnecessary toilet humor and garbage humor.

    Fortunately, in the final minutes in the movie, there was a part that was so funny that in that part is the typical Inbetweeners humor that should have been featured in the entire movie. Also, I liked Will’s classic witty voice-overs but both of the good things about the humor of this movie in this paragraph is not enough to save this mess.

    I hated how the Simon and Carly dilemma thing is the only way to make the movie’s plot move. The Simon and Carly dilemma used to be a cute, funny running gag in the show but this movie shows it’s a quite a problem. To see Simon from being one of my favorite characters in the show to the most annoying character in this movie is devastating. What’s even more devastating is that Jay is more likable in this movie than Simon.

    As much as I really hated the plot, I liked how it ended. Without spoiling too much, let’s just say it ended with a happy ending. Like really a happy ending where the boys got what they finally wanted.

    Even though it had its moments, The Inbetweeners Movie turns out to be a one huge **** mess of a movie to one of British TV comedies’ greatest gems.

    I won’t see the sequel. I’ll act as if this movie never happened. Instead, I will make my own version of what happened after the finale of the show. Simon never got to see Carly again and went off to Wales, Will goes to the university obviously, Mike marries the woman whom he had sex with and almost accidentally making her pregnant and Jay either becomes a male porn star or the British lad version of Barney Stinson.
    Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    1
    This movie was uninteresting to the point I would turn it off. I did watch the movie till the end and I conclude honestly that this was theThis movie was uninteresting to the point I would turn it off. I did watch the movie till the end and I conclude honestly that this was the worst movie I have ever seen. The characters where uninteresting and the acting wasn't that good at all. During the whole movie there wasn't any joke at which I laughed. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers