Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 904 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
832
Mixed:
45
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Being a big fan of both action movies and Pixar movies, I knew this movie was right for me. And sure enough, I ended up really enjoying the movie. Felt just like watching some of the great superhero movies out there.
15 of 17 users found this helpful152
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Brillance cannot begin to describe this movie. Pixar has made its best movie since Toy Story. A wonderful story, with compelling charcters mixed with action scenes that are better than action films. Pixar has put out a true masterpiece withBrillance cannot begin to describe this movie. Pixar has made its best movie since Toy Story. A wonderful story, with compelling charcters mixed with action scenes that are better than action films. Pixar has put out a true masterpiece with The Incredibles. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
AeabottsDec 29, 2012
Let me say this is my favorite movie of all time. The storyline is one of the best i've ever seen, i mean come on, a family of superheros, who ever thought of that. It is so original and well written that it deserves a 10 across the board.Let me say this is my favorite movie of all time. The storyline is one of the best i've ever seen, i mean come on, a family of superheros, who ever thought of that. It is so original and well written that it deserves a 10 across the board. Each character is built magnificently and fully, i never feel like one of the characters is just a sideshow, each on has a specific role and they fill it perfectly. What makes this movie so great is how you can relate to it, even though its about superheros. Their family and characters can easily relate to yours or people you know. overall this is one of the best animated films of all time. And i read the negative reviews and i mean come on, you just wrote those reviews to hurt its overall rating, there was no other point Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystFeb 5, 2013
Didn't like this when it first came out and ignored it when it aired on cable TV. I gave this movie another try and I realized what I was missing. This is a great family film. It's action-packed and most importantly its got a wonderfulDidn't like this when it first came out and ignored it when it aired on cable TV. I gave this movie another try and I realized what I was missing. This is a great family film. It's action-packed and most importantly its got a wonderful message that Pixar never fails to deliver. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Bird has created the unprecedented film that is not just a grand feature-length cartoon but a grand feature, period, a piece of animation that's involving across a spectrum of comedy, action, even drama.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
I thought it was great. Some parts in the film are a little slow but overall its a great film. I enjoyed it from start to finish. The one flaw is that it could have been a bit shorter but besides that its still good.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxMar 5, 2014
in my childhood, it was my favorite animated movie
after years, it still continuing very amazing
the pixar disney don't let down in their epic 3D animations
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
armandos.Apr 1, 2005
Brad Bird's previous film THE IRON GIANT was more focused and had a unity of vision, while this movie is more all over the map. However the first rate animation and the likeable characters certainly made this an enjoyable flick. All the Brad Bird's previous film THE IRON GIANT was more focused and had a unity of vision, while this movie is more all over the map. However the first rate animation and the likeable characters certainly made this an enjoyable flick. All the money spent on this production certanly shows on the screen, but untilmately how you relate to the protagoninsts makes all the difference-Brad Bird breathes life into his characters better than anyone else making animated movies at this time. Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DanBurritoOct 9, 2015
Here it is. The single greatest superhero movie of all time. And it's not made by Marvel, nor is it made by DC. It's made by Pixar. Like many Pixar movies it takes an old concept-a family of superheroes-and makes something completely new andHere it is. The single greatest superhero movie of all time. And it's not made by Marvel, nor is it made by DC. It's made by Pixar. Like many Pixar movies it takes an old concept-a family of superheroes-and makes something completely new and astonishing from it. The animation is breathtaking, the voice acting is great and it features talented direction of Brad Bird-our generation's Walt Disney-to make it even better. The jokes are witty and brilliant and the characters are interesting. WHY MUST WE WAIT A YEAR FOR THE SEQUEL?! UPDATE: we must now wait four years. No. No. Nooooooooooooooooo! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BlazinBlitzerJan 9, 2016
This was my favorite movie of all time when I was a kid. While not my favorite movie anymore, it still is one of my favorites as a teenager. Even then, through a critic's point of view, it's still a fantastic movie, and is arguably the bestThis was my favorite movie of all time when I was a kid. While not my favorite movie anymore, it still is one of my favorites as a teenager. Even then, through a critic's point of view, it's still a fantastic movie, and is arguably the best Pixar movie of all time.

Fantastic voice acting, lovable characters, unique idea with breathtaking execution. This movie is also really hilarious in a way that can have you connect with the characters. The movie is also quite unpredictable for a movie intended for kids; however, this isn't really a "kids" movie. I see many elements in the movie adults would love. The movie also makes a successful attempt at being an uncliche ending for a cliffhanger. This is really bold for a kid's movie, and even for Pixar. However, this movie will leave satisfied and filled with glee with the best "superhero" movie of all time (until The Dark Knight came around).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MGRFeb 8, 2005
One of the negative comments I see concerns the message of the movie, or one of them, which regards being special and proud of it. After 40 years of the trend in this country being to downplay people's special talents so as not to One of the negative comments I see concerns the message of the movie, or one of them, which regards being special and proud of it. After 40 years of the trend in this country being to downplay people's special talents so as not to offend those who apparently don't have any, it's refreshing to see something publicly promote the idea that it's ok to work your butt off, develop your talents, and use them. We were shown by the movie that anyone can have super powers; if they aren't born with them, they can technologically enhance their own set of abilities, but what is important is how they use them. Syndrome, so aptly named, could have been a great asset to the superheros, but his motivation was not to love what he was doing and do it as well as he could, but to dominate. Fueled by wounded pride and jealousy, he created his fate. These are good messages. These are also messages for entire nations which may commit technological hubris. (cough, cough... no names need be mentioned) The movie runs as deep as it is entertaining, and is truly a movie for our time. Those who found it lagging in spots neglect to consider the power of suspense. Also, I don't think the movie would have held together as well without the background of the first half. Everything played into the causes/effects of the chase scenes and the climax. This is moviemaking at its finest. Absolutely one of the best of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SPYBREAKApr 7, 2005
A beautiful film packed with loads of action, great adventure and awesome powers. Well worth purchasing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnFrostNov 4, 2004
Pixar's best most incredible fun film yet. A great popcorn film with all the action and humorous moments you could want. The cool James Bond style and comic book superhero family struggles make for the most entertaining film of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AMovieCriticDec 4, 2004
The Incredibles was a fun movie. The animation was amazing, and it shows that Pixar's animation is STILL better than Dreamworks, (after the amazing-looking Shrek 2, I started to wonder.) Aside from the animation, the action sequences The Incredibles was a fun movie. The animation was amazing, and it shows that Pixar's animation is STILL better than Dreamworks, (after the amazing-looking Shrek 2, I started to wonder.) Aside from the animation, the action sequences are top notch. Some of them towards the end of the movie just had to be seen to be believed. So why a 7 instead of a 10? Pacing. The movie gets off to a relatively slow start. Much of the first 45 minutes could have been cut, frankly. A lot of it seemed to drag. At 1 hour and 55 minutes, the movie was way too long, and cutting some of these early scenes would have been nice. The movie is also not as funny as I had thought; from the commercials and trailers, I got the impression that it was an action movie more than a comedy, (if you're expecting a comedy, you're better off seeing Spongebob,) ....still, a couple more jokes would have been appreciated. Similarly, there were sometimes really large gaps between the action. More action would also have been nice. (instead of saving most of it for the last half of the movie.) Overall, The Incredibles was worth seeing. It was action-packed, it had cool characters and settings, (Mr. Incredible's journey to the island for the 2nd time was amazingly well done and imaginative,) and the movie had some cool messages in it. Still, better pacing, more jokes, and maybe better spread-out action would have made this movie perfect. As it stands, though, this movie is worth seeing. It's the first movie from Pixar after Toy Story that I actually liked. -Note; This movie is rightfully rated PG. (A first for Pixar) some of the action scenes are fairly intense, and it may be too much for younger kids. Everyone else will enjoy it, though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
burtonmJan 12, 2005
Incredible in every respect: story, dialog, characters, effects, integration. Even appeals to all ages. A perfect movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.A.Jan 30, 2005
I loved it, very funny with beautiful CG.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Jan 30, 2005
There are a couple scenes that don't entertain, but they're the exceptions. This movie is great fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GlennKJan 4, 2005
Great fun for the whole famiky. Amazing visual effects, Pixar sets a new standard.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottM.Jan 5, 2005
Totally wicked!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
matthewh.Feb 10, 2005
It was the best movie i ever saw. every 10 mins something cool happens. i even had a dream about it. keep an eye on jack-jack now will you.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Feb 23, 2005
In this nonfanboy's humble opinion, there have been far too many superheroes leaping, bounding and flying across our movie screens lately, and yet I think that even Sam, Tobey and Kirsten would agree, with no shame attached whatsoever, In this nonfanboy's humble opinion, there have been far too many superheroes leaping, bounding and flying across our movie screens lately, and yet I think that even Sam, Tobey and Kirsten would agree, with no shame attached whatsoever, that they had the SECOND best comic book crusader movie of 2004. (Hellboy was an honorable, if distant, third.) The crown, if not the cape, has to go to Pixar's and writer/director Brad Bird's endlessly clever, exciting and eye-filling account of the Parrs, a family of superpeople, forced for years to hide their special powers and talents due to legal restrictions, who get an opportunity to spring back into action when geek-gone-wild Syndrome threatens the world. Bird, who worked on The Simpsons during the years when it really mattered and hadn't reduced itself to a mostly meaningless, self-contradictory jokefest, also gave us the 1999 animation masterpiece The Iron Giant, and The Incredibles shares with it Bird's scrupulously detailed yet charmingly playful eye for retro production design; the streamlined, mid-20th century Levittown look of The Incredibles' world not only makes every frame a work of art but also makes the movie's first half the greatest 1960s family sitcom ever made for small screen or large. The second half, in which action takes over without ever superseding humor, characterization or relationships, is quite simply the best James Bond movie ever made without 007 (and most of the ones with him, for that matter). If there's a downside to this, it's my fear that the Bruckheimers and bays will completely miss the point that you need a great script in order to pull this stuff off, and will wastefully kill off several stuntpeople attempting to do the live-action equivalent of Bird's computer gymnastics. The Incredibles continues Pixar's record for on-the-nose vocal casting; Craig T. Nelson enjoys the finest two hours of his career EVER (and yes, that includes the Coach episode where Hayden Fox appeared to wet his pants on live TV); Holly Hunter as Elastigirl (who could be aka Fleximom) completely erases the blot on an otherwise perfect career that was known as Little Black Book; and Samuel L. Jackson as Frozone has his most memorable movie moments since the dogs-vs-pigs debate with John Travolta in Pulp Fiction. Speaking of Quentin Tarantino, The Incredibles would make a terrific double feature with Kill Bill Vol. 2 (if you can get the kids to bed) since it's the perfect illustration of David Carradine's speech about what it's like to be born, like Clark Kent, with superpowers that you're always aware of, but have to keep hidden most of the time in order to coexist with mortals. It's far more profitable to discuss The Incredibles from that standpoint than to waste too much space trying to break down its politics, as some have attempted: it takes on both Big Law and Big Corporations, and so can't be easily pegged as either a red-state OR a blue-state movie. (If anything, it's Libertarian.) Regardless of whether The Incredibles picks up the Best Animated Feature Oscar of 2004 or not (and its failure to do so would comprise the biggest injustice of the night), it certainly holds the record for Most Self-Effacing Movie Title Of All Time. If anything, "incredible" doesn't even halfway begin to describe it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AiisyaW.Mar 15, 2005
This was a truly great movie. In addition to great animation, it also presents a touching story that children and adults can enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerN.Apr 20, 2005
Wonderful. You'd have to be a truly miserable person to not like this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MargeauxS.Apr 4, 2005
Its INCREDIBLE!!!! One of the best Pixar combinations for youngsters and adults alike. I can't stop watching it!!! Can't wait for the next one!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ConnieM.Apr 7, 2005
I loved this film! Pixar rocks again! Geeks with plasma screen tvs! prepare to be dazzled as those super cool scenes of exotic locals and bad guy hangouts from all your fav's (James Bond, Star Wars, Fantasy Island ect.) are served up in I loved this film! Pixar rocks again! Geeks with plasma screen tvs! prepare to be dazzled as those super cool scenes of exotic locals and bad guy hangouts from all your fav's (James Bond, Star Wars, Fantasy Island ect.) are served up in amounts Costo never dreamed of! Plus, the feminists in your life (the kind that like thier mom...and dad) will be happy with Elastagirl turned mega mom! She's tough, technichally savvy (I love her piliot's lingo and cool reserve) and has a womanly body! The "when everyone is special no one is" threat to our heroic family is a battle cry to original people to be themselves because it's better for everyone. This is a great boost in an era when anybody who's labeled as "gifted" is encouraged to get along being like everyone else. As if being smart, pretty, talented or just..different (pick anything you like or don't like) were a disease and not a gift. If you want a fun hour and a half cue cheezy music...and cry: "To the video store, away!!!" PS don't wear a cape if you fly there (ha ha inside joke that you too can enjoy after seeing the film). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackBalderAug 23, 2007
One of the best Pixar movies that is very enjoyable, funny, but not as good as "A Bug's life, Toy Story, Toy Story 2, or Monsters inc."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMSep 21, 2007
My Favorite Animation Movie Ever! From Start To Finish, It Was Completely INCREDIBLE!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleHDec 29, 2004
What's not to love...sweet, funny, thrilling and strangely moving. One of the best and more adult pictures of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeA.Jan 12, 2005
The Incredibles is the Best Picture of the year. It blends genius special effects with laugh-out-loud comedy, rip-roaring action, and touching family values into the best CGI film ever made, and one of the best films of the 21st Century so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.Oct 19, 2005
Finally, a good movie! This is one of Pixar's best, knocking off the first Toy Story. It slyly skewers the classic comic book movie and action movies in general, all while being hilarious and fun!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlbertU.Jan 2, 2005
Another wonder, by Pixar,,,,I wish that I had shares in this company.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielCJan 20, 2005
Awesome family film, great fun for the whole family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJ.Jan 22, 2005
My son (7) thought this film was brilliant! We both laughed at the scene where the car door was crushed and wouldn't shut. The whole thing was entertaining. If you miss this film, you'll kick yourself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JeffFeb 27, 2005
Better than Shrek (1 or 2) Better than Finding Nemo, way better than Shark Tale. This close-to-Masterpiece gives Toy Story a run for its money as the best Animated 3-d film of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickMar 15, 2005
Fabulous movie. funny smart & superheros with human problems.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanielW.Mar 28, 2005
One of the very best pictures of last year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaceyG.Mar 29, 2005
Absolutely Incredible. Blows Nemo out of the water.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MelissaApr 14, 2005
Don't listen to J Barr what's-his-name! It was great! I myself didn't think it would be good just because it was animated, and now look at how I feel! It's one of my favorite films! Wait to go, Pixar!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidKApr 7, 2005
Best movie since Finding Nemo. Great for the whole family. What more could you ask for?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Incredibles''''' is a [[2004]] American computer-animated action-comedy superhero film about a family of superheroes who are forced to hide their powers. It is Pixar's sixth animated feature film. It was written and directed by Brad Bird, a former director and executive consultant of ''[[Wikipedia:The Simpsons|The Simpsons]]'', and was produced by [[Pixar]] and distributed by [[Walt Disney Pictures]].

The Starring Voices Are Craig T. Nelson As Bob Parr Holly Hunter As His Wife Helen Parr Sarah Vowell As Their Teenage Daughter Violet Parr Violet Spencer Fox As Their Young Son Dash Parr Dash Jason Lee As The Supervillain Syndrome Samuel L. Jackson As Frozone And Elizabeth Peña As Syndrome's Beautiful Assistant, Mirage The Incredibles Mirage. Bob's Yearning To Help People Draws The Entire Parr Family Into A Battle With The Villain Syndrome And His Killer
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
YellowKirbyDec 6, 2015
It comes as a surprise that Pixar's "The Incredibles" is the greatest and most entertaining out of all the superhero movies made to date, as unlike Marvel and DC, Pixar have had no experience in the genre before 2004. It has an intriguing andIt comes as a surprise that Pixar's "The Incredibles" is the greatest and most entertaining out of all the superhero movies made to date, as unlike Marvel and DC, Pixar have had no experience in the genre before 2004. It has an intriguing and well told story, as well as likeable main characters and a well-crafted villain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
First of all I need to say that this was snubbed for a best picture nomination in 2004. I haven't seen The Aviator or Sideways but I actually thought this was better than Million Dollar Baby and the best movie I've seen from 2004. It's almostFirst of all I need to say that this was snubbed for a best picture nomination in 2004. I haven't seen The Aviator or Sideways but I actually thought this was better than Million Dollar Baby and the best movie I've seen from 2004. It's almost perfect in terms of kids movies. Its animation, storytelling, character originality and humor is so satisfying that I could watch this movie once a week and never get tired of it Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
From super hero action to the importance of unity as a family, Pixar's "Incredibles" just amazes me of their powerful appeal and last. Man, it's just incredible....
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Fantastic animation, great action, originality and talented voice work make for a very entertaining Pixar adventure that pushes boundaries on the Pixar level. I give this film 87%.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
also, my favorite Pixar movie next to Finding Nemo and the Toy Story trilogy.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJul 7, 2014
One of Pixar's best, just under 'Toy Story'. It felt like every good superhero movie mixed in to create one juggernaut of a film. Funny, smart, and presses on the important issue of family, I recommend this to any Pixar enthusiast.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Nov 27, 2013
It would be very cliche to say it was incredible, but it was. Very clever story told with such poignancy. It really is great for all ages, which is something Pixar knows how to do well. Just fantastic.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"The Incredibles" is truly incredible. While mastering inventive storytelling with CG animation; where can you go wrong. Its story is able to mask spectacles and is a great tribute to superheroes. Which super hero action and the importance of"The Incredibles" is truly incredible. While mastering inventive storytelling with CG animation; where can you go wrong. Its story is able to mask spectacles and is a great tribute to superheroes. Which super hero action and the importance of family, you are left hanging off your seat for more. With "The Incredibles", they do give you much more than an ordinary super hero flick. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
Amazing film AGAIN from Pixar. I'm not a big fan of superhero films but this one really amazes me. It has the comic element that is mixed with family affair and sympathy. Graphics are incredible and the plot is very exciting. This is anAmazing film AGAIN from Pixar. I'm not a big fan of superhero films but this one really amazes me. It has the comic element that is mixed with family affair and sympathy. Graphics are incredible and the plot is very exciting. This is an animation to a whole new level...... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 18, 2011
If you want an animated film with a lot of action and a great story then The Incredibles is right for you. It also has a great villain that makes the plot very convincing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
This Is A Really Good Movie... I Think Somewhat Overated... VERY VERY GOOD! The Best Movie Of 04! :D
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
10
ShooshieRFeb 8, 2005
Incredible. Oh... they already used that. Ok... Fantastic! Really, I can't wait to add the DVD to my Pixar collection. I nominate it for best picture! (not merely best animated picture, but best PICTURE picture!)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustMy2May 7, 2016
One of the very few movies I'd ever consider giving a perfect 10 score. This is partly because this movie is superbly crafted in all ways, and partly because it speaks to me so strongly on a personal level.

You see, *I am Mr. Incredible!*
One of the very few movies I'd ever consider giving a perfect 10 score. This is partly because this movie is superbly crafted in all ways, and partly because it speaks to me so strongly on a personal level.

You see, *I am Mr. Incredible!*

This cartoon character captures ME so perfectly it's uncanny! He is everything I am, both for better and worse - he has exactly the same strengths and weaknesses of character, and he suffers exactly the same dilemmas and life challenges. If someone ever cared enough about my little existence to make a cartoon caricature of me, Mr. Incredible is precisely what they'd come up with. How could I not absolutely love him! :-)

I understand this personal reason to adore this movie is irrelevant to YOU, dear reader, because you're most likely not a real life Mr. Incredible. So you'll just have to enjoy this movie for being a superbly crafted piece of entertainment that makes you proud to be a human being, just because human beings could make such an awesome movie. That will have to suffice for you poor scrubs who didn't get portrayed with a lead role in the movie!

But it should still deserve at the very least a strong 9, if you have a single sensible bone in your body.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DavidC.Nov 10, 2004
No matter what you think of the plot, story, and humor, the Incredibles is another great step for 3D animation. On the surface it may not seem so, but anyone with 3D animation or modeling experience will say the same. "Cars" looks incredible too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 5, 2004
What more could you want? This movie is the best entertainment on film you could possibly hope to have this year. Flawless animation, presentation, voice acting and all those tiny details bring it to life far more vividley than any other What more could you want? This movie is the best entertainment on film you could possibly hope to have this year. Flawless animation, presentation, voice acting and all those tiny details bring it to life far more vividley than any other animated film to date.. save of course, other selections from Pixars library. Go see it... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OriolG.Jan 9, 2005
A movie recommended to everybody. One of the best animation movies ever. It has everything, comedy, drama, action, and all in top-notch storytelling and visuals. It is also funny how a new family of superheroes beats all the spiderman, hulk, A movie recommended to everybody. One of the best animation movies ever. It has everything, comedy, drama, action, and all in top-notch storytelling and visuals. It is also funny how a new family of superheroes beats all the spiderman, hulk, x-men and other recent comic hero based movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joeye.Mar 20, 2005
I loved it. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Nov 20, 2004
I was relieved that this show was closer to Monsters Inc. (which I loved) then Finding Nemo (which I hated). A great blend of style and substance. On top of that...Elastigirl is just hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexK.Nov 29, 2004
The Best Computer animation movie. Pixar is my favorite animation studio. Studio Gihbli is the second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JinC.Nov 6, 2004
first of all, i think that bird's fingerprint is just the kind of anarchic touch to keep pixar EVOLVING instead of stagnating and eventually dying like disney. things like people actually dying, the misuse and outright ABUSE of power by first of all, i think that bird's fingerprint is just the kind of anarchic touch to keep pixar EVOLVING instead of stagnating and eventually dying like disney. things like people actually dying, the misuse and outright ABUSE of power by protagonists and a genuine sense of PERIL was like a blast of fresh air. evolve or die. if you tell the same sacharin stories over and over again, you cannot but fail. second, i don't have kids and am not really keen on having any. i am not in favor of a 'kid friendly' world - i am an adult and i want my world flavored with all kinds of 'adult' delights. also, i am as anarchic as they come (at least in the subculture of mainstream internet forums :)). and yet, i found the ultimate MESSAGE of the movie to be very very disturbing. the last message can be summed up in the track meet at the end of the movie and can be expressed thusly: "life is not that complicated. not everyone is special but if you are, take every unfair advantage and triumph over the norms.... or if not exactly triumph, then caretake them... as you would a pet." many movies these days talk about those who are 'special' vs. those who are not. xmen (this motif comes from the comics however), harry potter, spiderman and now the incredibles.... not an uncommon message... the bible itself (old and new testaments) is rife with favoritism... the idea of a chosen people, those who are chosen, get a LOOOOOOOOOT of slack (david and bathseba being a prime example... but dave's whole life is full of preferential looking of the other way) vs. the well meaning guy that tried to steady the ark of the covenant when it was about to fall, touched it and was killed instantly. and yet, i find it disturbing. and in this time place and setting, it reminds me of those who are born into privelege and education vs. those who are born into poverty and crime and the approach of the two major political parties in america in how to address such inequitable situations.... i liked the movie A LOT - perhaps one of the best super hero movies ever made - the tirade about the practicality of capes is worth the price of admission alone. and who the villain ends up being is not only great but PERFECT... inspired writing really. but the movie is on many levels quite disturbing. it is perhaps VERY true and very accurate to the way of the world as it is. but the fact that there is no wider commentary on that situation other than an endorsement of the status quo is problematic to me. but i like the movie that much more because it is disturbing in that way... as subversive as pixar's message in its very first movie, toy story: a REVERSE PINOCCHIO - you are nothing but a toy and you never will be... learn to deal with it. but with such nuanced and perhaps disturbing messages, should i be worried that others on picking up on iit? jin Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Nov 6, 2004
Great! Imaginative, clever, witty. Looks good. Could probably be analyzed by graduate students doing dissertations - on its themes of suburbia and the System and what it does to that superhero inside all of us. Gosh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenJ.Dec 2, 2004
Pixar's best film, and the most enjoyable, inventive, imaginative thing I've watched for an extremely long time. Astounding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigC.Jan 16, 2005
A sharp, funny, wonderful film. It just goes to prove that you can make an intelligent movie and still appeal to all audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hamedJan 19, 2005
So better than dreamworks' shrek and shark tale!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VinceH.Feb 28, 2005
Easily the best animate feature of 2004, but this is also my least favorite Pixar movie. It depends a lot on action scenes, which I find boring (though Brad Bird stages them in inventive and entertaining ways). The best stuff is in the first Easily the best animate feature of 2004, but this is also my least favorite Pixar movie. It depends a lot on action scenes, which I find boring (though Brad Bird stages them in inventive and entertaining ways). The best stuff is in the first hour, the details about the normal lives of The Incredibles, which is packed with hilarious scenes and dialogue (I would've liked to see some more stuff of the kids at school and home). Still this is superior family entertainment and which once again proves that Pixar is currently in the midst of an extraodinary nonstop streak of classic animated features that easily rivals (or maybe tops) Disney in its prime. I cannot wait to see the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveT.Mar 18, 2005
I've simply never seen a better film. The use of architecture is stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DickM.Mar 31, 2005
Incredibly good fun!!! the very best animation, suprassing shrek and toy story. some critic dont like the first half, complaining about its way of criticizing 'normal life' , i think they are wrong, its as funny as the other half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lakinp.Apr 4, 2005
THE BEST FILM EVER !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davezJul 20, 2007
Great Fun!!! Surprisingly dramatic for an animated film with lots of comedy. A standard by which all future animated films will be compared. the dvd is better than the movie (I loved the extra interviews of superheroes not shown in the Great Fun!!! Surprisingly dramatic for an animated film with lots of comedy. A standard by which all future animated films will be compared. the dvd is better than the movie (I loved the extra interviews of superheroes not shown in the movie.) All emotions are evoked. Ratatouille cannot compare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 1, 2008
Another great film by Brad Bird. This was a digital achievement for Pixar. It is one of the animated films along with Spirited Away, Kiki's Delivery Service, Ratatouille, Totoro, and The Iron Giant that delivered a fantasy for fans that Another great film by Brad Bird. This was a digital achievement for Pixar. It is one of the animated films along with Spirited Away, Kiki's Delivery Service, Ratatouille, Totoro, and The Iron Giant that delivered a fantasy for fans that are a geek of heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreH.Jun 25, 2009
Easily one of the best movies ever made, and probably one of the best CGI movies ever made, with special features to make it last.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Ikarus14Aug 25, 2009
Just when Pixar where in danger of repeating themselves, Brad Bird ('Iron Giant' and 'Ratatouille') came and took them elsewhere for the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianCNov 10, 2004
This is Pixar's best movie yet. And the others were great. This movie is a classic, and will be as good 20 years from now as it is today. You can't say that about Shrek 2 with all its dated jokes. Also, the late 50's / early This is Pixar's best movie yet. And the others were great. This movie is a classic, and will be as good 20 years from now as it is today. You can't say that about Shrek 2 with all its dated jokes. Also, the late 50's / early 60's look is beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewLNov 12, 2004
This was a great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HafeezK.Nov 13, 2004
The most entertaining movie so far this year. Enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganH.Nov 13, 2004
This movie was fantastic! I can't wait to see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KTNov 19, 2004
This movie really is fantastic. It has a great story, great characters, and fantastic graphics. It is enjoyable from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewC.Nov 22, 2004
For me, this movie came completely out of left field. This movie is such a suprise from Disney, that I was astonished they could still make such an incredible film even till today. The story is well-thought out, and the action sequences are For me, this movie came completely out of left field. This movie is such a suprise from Disney, that I was astonished they could still make such an incredible film even till today. The story is well-thought out, and the action sequences are entertaining and well choreographed(sp). Also, the cliches add a certain superhero flair that makes it all the more fun to watch. In my opinion, great for everyone. I thought Disney was losing their touch, but they created another classic, which I didn't think was possible since the time of The Great Mouse Detective and Toy Story to a lesser extent. Incredible Film. Note:The beginning sequence "Bounding" gets a 4 from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffG.Nov 22, 2004
This movie should "have a warning" ?!?!? It does, ladies. It's called a PG rating. That means Parental Guidance Suggested. Quit blaming others for the fact that you don't have the judgement skills to be a good parent. This movie This movie should "have a warning" ?!?!? It does, ladies. It's called a PG rating. That means Parental Guidance Suggested. Quit blaming others for the fact that you don't have the judgement skills to be a good parent. This movie rocked, and my 10 year old loved it too... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarnieC.Nov 24, 2004
Great movie for older kids & adults. The first hour dragged a bit and the subject matter was dark at times, but overall I really enjoyed this movie. The biggest drawback was the lame, preachy cartoon short at the beginning - Pixar dropped Great movie for older kids & adults. The first hour dragged a bit and the subject matter was dark at times, but overall I really enjoyed this movie. The biggest drawback was the lame, preachy cartoon short at the beginning - Pixar dropped the ball there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenG.Nov 25, 2004
This was one of the best times I've had at the movies...I had a stupid grin on my face from beginning to end, and I'm smiling now as I write this. Don't miss this clever little masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YeoJ.Nov 28, 2004
Totally cool. Everything cool. Nothing is not cool. You gotta go catch it whether you like it or not!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StelP.Nov 5, 2004
My wife and I absolutely loved it!!! The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of 10 is that it had a few minutes that dragged a bit just before halftime...then it kicked in for the ENTIRE second half! All I'll say about the 2nd half is My wife and I absolutely loved it!!! The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of 10 is that it had a few minutes that dragged a bit just before halftime...then it kicked in for the ENTIRE second half! All I'll say about the 2nd half is that Dash (the little boy) steals the show. There's much more of a plot than I expected, and it has a solid, pro-family theme that gives it strength throughout the movie and crystallizes at the end. It's not the eye-candy of Toy Story or Finding Nemo, but overall, it may be the most satisfying of the Pixar flicks. Bravo!!!! Oh yeah...and the short animated story that precedes the movie is also a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StacyL.Nov 5, 2004
F...ing Awsome Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Steve-OA.Nov 7, 2004
Wow. That's it, wow. This was easily the best PIXAR film ever made and I absolutely loved Finding Nemo, Toy Story, even Monster's Inc. Now, if you're skeptical and thought that this would be the next "Bug's Life"( which I Wow. That's it, wow. This was easily the best PIXAR film ever made and I absolutely loved Finding Nemo, Toy Story, even Monster's Inc. Now, if you're skeptical and thought that this would be the next "Bug's Life"( which I hated.) fear not, that's how I felt and look at how much I loved it. P.S. The preview of THE NEXT pixar film, "Cars" actually looks pretty cool, it's got Larry The Cable Guy (Git-R-Done!) as its main character, plus, during the race, it PLAYS GREEN DAY'S "ARMATAGE SHANKS!" Awesome, see it with your family, your friends, by yourself, either way, you're going to love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
joviNov 7, 2004
This movie reads like the old James Bond films. Full of action, excitment, and humor. The animation is great and the story, simple in form, is wonderful. The film relies on it's story and characters to deliver all the good stuff a film This movie reads like the old James Bond films. Full of action, excitment, and humor. The animation is great and the story, simple in form, is wonderful. The film relies on it's story and characters to deliver all the good stuff a film should have and at no time do you feel like you are watching a 'just for kids' cartoon. A classic for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyT.Nov 9, 2004
Not sure I liked the message. But maybe I got the wrong one. Pixar always does a good job with its animation but its the story we look for and this one was a little weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KCNov 9, 2004
See this movie. It's worth the 10 bucks. It wallows in sterotype a little, but it's mostly good fun. Up there with Aladdin for best animated mainstream movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarisaM.Dec 2, 2004
I thought this movie was going to be kinda kiddish, but it turned out to be really funny and I loved it! Edgna was great, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PerlaN.Dec 2, 2004
Smart, touching and exuberant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Dec 27, 2004
I can't believe people are saying it isn't that funny - I suggest you guys watch it again and keep an eye out for some of the more suBtle jokes. These were occuring just as much in the first half of the movie and I think it is I can't believe people are saying it isn't that funny - I suggest you guys watch it again and keep an eye out for some of the more suBtle jokes. These were occuring just as much in the first half of the movie and I think it is unfair to say it starts slow. I was chuckling the whole time and lol'ing often. Best film of the year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
xzDec 2, 2004
Great..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianaS.Oct 14, 2005
It is so funny and exciting! They should film more movies like this one. Awesome job, Pixar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mikeykJan 21, 2005
Well, what could i say. This was like the "Shark Tale" of Pixar. Not nearly as funny as Finding Nemo, or Monster's, inc., this movie was not as good as a lot of critics dubbed it to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyM.Jan 29, 2005
Ive gotta give pixar a hand. They finally did it. Finding Nemo had great color and Animation, but I have to say that the Incredibles has more action and humor that i thought a movie could never have in one. The scene when the young boy Dash Ive gotta give pixar a hand. They finally did it. Finding Nemo had great color and Animation, but I have to say that the Incredibles has more action and humor that i thought a movie could never have in one. The scene when the young boy Dash is running through the woods and hits water is absolutley astounding, they realy hit it big on that. Pixar diserves most credit for their new movie The Incredibles, for the title says it all. the movie is truly INCREDIBLE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderR.Feb 19, 2005
The movie "The Incredibles" was spectacular! There was never a boring moment. It was either funny, action-packed, or full of suspence. I would definitely watch this movie again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraFeb 26, 2005
Brilliant, funny, fun, just great, makes you want to be a superhero!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilR.Mar 30, 2005
Indefatigably delightful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Apr 10, 2005
There was lots to like here. But the cracks are starting to show up in the Pixar approach. By reverting to people (even Superhero types) as the characters, it becomes clearer that stereotypes are driving the plot. But a valiant effort There was lots to like here. But the cracks are starting to show up in the Pixar approach. By reverting to people (even Superhero types) as the characters, it becomes clearer that stereotypes are driving the plot. But a valiant effort anyway. Mr Incredible was a bit of a bore with his vanity and (overly drawn out) affectations of mid-life crisis, and the children's (especially the daughter) characters were very sketchily composed. But Mrs Incredible was a delight, as were Frozon and a number of the other minor characters. And the special effects looked good, but the bar has been raised so high now, that effects don't really grab one like they used to. The irony of the various pop culture references (Bond, Fantasy Island etc) was pretty good though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwayneGApr 16, 2005
I love this movie, I have seen every pixar movie in existance, and this movie is one of the best, aside from toy story. The humor is great, it has a lot of humor for adults as well as goofy fun for the kids, this movie rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful