The Incredibles

The Incredibles Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 863 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Known to the world as superheroes Mr. Incredible and Elastigirl, Bob Parr and his wife Helen were among the world's greatest crime fighters, saving lives and battling evil on a daily basis. Fifteen years later, they have been forced to adopt civilian identities and retreat to the suburbs toKnown to the world as superheroes Mr. Incredible and Elastigirl, Bob Parr and his wife Helen were among the world's greatest crime fighters, saving lives and battling evil on a daily basis. Fifteen years later, they have been forced to adopt civilian identities and retreat to the suburbs to live "normal" lives with their three kids, Violet, Dash and Jack-Jack. Itching to get back into action, Bob gets his chance when a mysterious communication summons him to a remote island for a top secret assignment. [Disney] Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    100
    A work of huge, if unobtrusive, ambition -- a vision of modern life, appropriate for sophisticated adults as well as for kids, that is both satirical and, of all things, inspirational. It's a great film about the possibility of greatness.
  2. 100
    A visually thrilling experience.
  3. Pixar again hitches top-notch storytelling to the very best in CG animation.
  4. 90
    The movie is full of wonderful little touches: Syndrome, the bad guy, is drawn to remind viewers of "Heat Miser" from the classic Christmas cartoon "The Year Without a Santa Claus."
  5. Clever, buoyant and surprisingly human.
  6. 80
    The action sequences are choreographed with the crackerjack timing expected from Pixar, but the film's funniest and most affecting moments exploit the tension between a special family and a world that insists on dulling them down.
  7. 60
    The fun hardens into Fun after he's (Mr. Incredible) lured out of retirement and imprisoned in a remote island compound, though the sleek computer animation is spellbinding as usual.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 211
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Being a big fan of both action movies and Pixar movies, I knew this movie was right for me. And sure enough, I ended up really enjoying theBeing a big fan of both action movies and Pixar movies, I knew this movie was right for me. And sure enough, I ended up really enjoying the movie. Felt just like watching some of the great superhero movies out there. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Incredibles''''' is a [[2004]] American computer-animated action-comedy superhero film about a family of superheroes who are forced to hide their powers. It is Pixar's sixth animated feature film. It was written and directed by Brad Bird, a former director and executive consultant of ''[[Wikipedia:The Simpsons|The Simpsons]]'', and was produced by [[Pixar]] and distributed by [[Walt Disney Pictures]].

    The Starring Voices Are Craig T. Nelson As Bob Parr Holly Hunter As His Wife Helen Parr Sarah Vowell As Their Teenage Daughter Violet Parr Violet Spencer Fox As Their Young Son Dash Parr Dash Jason Lee As The Supervillain Syndrome Samuel L. Jackson As Frozone And Elizabeth Peña As Syndrome's Beautiful Assistant, Mirage The Incredibles Mirage. Bob's Yearning To Help People Draws The Entire Parr Family Into A Battle With The Villain Syndrome And His Killer
    Expand
  3. davez
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Great Fun!!! Surprisingly dramatic for an animated film with lots of comedy. A standard by which all future animated films will be compared. Great Fun!!! Surprisingly dramatic for an animated film with lots of comedy. A standard by which all future animated films will be compared. the dvd is better than the movie (I loved the extra interviews of superheroes not shown in the movie.) All emotions are evoked. Ratatouille cannot compare. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    also, my favorite Pixar movie next to Finding Nemo and the Toy Story trilogy.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    I have no idea just how often I have seen this movie, and yet, I still enjoy it every time. It isn't my favorite Pixar movie but it'sI have no idea just how often I have seen this movie, and yet, I still enjoy it every time. It isn't my favorite Pixar movie but it's definitely somewhere at the top of that list. I love the animation. I love the voice acting. I love the characters. Such a wonderful parody, like watching the Fantastic 4 in a more "realistic" setting (I use that word very loosely for obvious reasons.) But, if I had to critique, I would say that the movie does focus a bit too much on Mr Incredible, particularly the first half of the movie. It does, however fix this in the second half, but I felt the rest of the family could have been a bit more included in the beginning and given a bit more time each to see how they were coping being "normal." Overall: A highly entertaining movie that will always be a centerpiece of my collection. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2015
    9
    It comes as a surprise that Pixar's "The Incredibles" is the greatest and most entertaining out of all the superhero movies made to date, asIt comes as a surprise that Pixar's "The Incredibles" is the greatest and most entertaining out of all the superhero movies made to date, as unlike Marvel and DC, Pixar have had no experience in the genre before 2004. It has an intriguing and well told story, as well as likeable main characters and a well-crafted villain. Expand
  7. FranciscoM
    May 31, 2009
    4
    Not original, not funny, but enjoyable.

See all 211 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: May 5, 2016
    We rank all 17 Pixar films from worst to best.
  2. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  7. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.