User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    The Innkeepers is like an old horror film, but one of the best old horror films, the story is sorpresive, the cast, the situation, oh my god! a really scare film. The Innkeepers is a classic.
  2. May 2, 2012
    0
    This movie should be classified as a porn for the amount of **** it sucked in the longest 100 minutes of my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Move over Gigli and Troll 2; you have just been de-throned!!

    Absolute Garbage!!!! This isn't even a movie!!!! The 2nd worst movie I've ever seen, losing only to Ti West's other extremely terrible film Cabin Fever 2. Ti West PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    never make another movie again!! You are the epitomy of the word hack!! If I ever meet you, I owe you a kick in the ****!! I will never watch another one of your "films" (if they can be called that) ; and I will instruct every single person I talk about movies with to do the same!! Honestly Ti West, do you even know what a ghost movie is!? Have you ever seen one!? I am actually asking you. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTHHHHHHHIIIIIIINNNNINGGGGGGGGGG HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNNNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the slowest freakin movie I've ever seen; worse than Drive, but at least things happened in Drive!! I wish I could give this movie a 0, but the ratings only go down to 1. Seriously, how is this a movie?? What happened?? Honestly, someone explain it to me; what happened!? After 40 minutes 1 ghost shows up for literally 3 seconds, then nothing else happens until there are 13 minutes left in the film (inlcuding credits), and even those scenes did not make up for the complete waste of my time!!
    This is a ghost story that keeps you guessing: Why Am I Still Watching This!? This is like a slightly higher budget version of Ghost Hunters!! Just watch SyFy if you want to waste your time; at least when you turn that on you're expecting to never see a ghost!!!!!

    I actually enjoy watching bad movies, but this was on a whole other level!! It's like West had a bet to see if he could completely rip off and ruin The Shining and The Woman in Black and still make a profit!! It is clear that they allow mental patients movie and internet access because anyone who gave this movie a good review is either 12 or in an insane assylum!! I have never been more pissed about a terrible movie in my life!! I hope you enjoy waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting for nothing to be around the corner, or behind them, or appear at all!!!!! It is literally just a 100 minute viral scare video you can find on youtube, which would explain West's homage to it in the first scene of the movie!! He is laughing in your face and saying, "HA, that's exactly what you are about to watch!! Enjoy and here's some classical music to ease your pain!!" Thank god I didn't pay to see this!!
    Expand
  3. May 27, 2012
    4
    There is a true lack of personality in this film, if you've never watched a horror film this may be okay for you. If you do enjoy horror's expect a heavily recycled plot complete with bad character development and extremely long and drawn out anti-climactic suspense. The two main clerks don't act like real clerks would: Sarah Paxton has an extremely poor sense of acting and you will often find lines spelt out that would never naturally come from a human mouth. Characters often spell out what they were doing as if the visuals weren't enough for us to tell what was going on. Overall the film has very poor research into human behaviour for a low budget film: Character development is an absolute vital on a low budget because the point is to rely entirely on consistent dialogue. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    3
    The scariest aspect of this movie for me was the terrifying and very irritating fact that I actually paid money to watch it!! That said, I suppose that I could always use the dvd as a coaster for my tea cup, and keep the box as a novelty door stop.
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    I was looking for a good horror movie, that fell under the radar, to promote for halloween, and I was told that the Innkeepers was that film, but it wasn't. This film is so clique, stealing almost everything from other films of the same genre. They had the nerve to give this movie an R rating and call it the must see horror movie of the year, but truthfully, its slightly more scary than a Disney movie! An old hotel is going out of business and the two remaining employees decide to investigate the long history of ghost sightings at the establishment. There are only a couple guests, giving them the perfect opportunity to investigate. The only thing this film uses in order to frighten you is random things jumping out at you, which most of the time aren't what you expect them to be. There is also a creepy old woman staying there who can talk to the spirits and predict the future, but if that isn't bad enough, there is of course the investigations themselves. Using nothing but a old tape recorder, they go looking for EVPs, using every phrase and question they could steal from Ghost Hunters. Yeah, the Innkeepers really is that ridiculous and the only really shocking thing about this movie is that someone actually gave it an R rating! Was the MPAA associate a little girl or elderly woman, because honestly, Monster House was scarier than this thing was. Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    7
    "The Inkeepers" (2011) is a suspense-horror thriller, written and directed by Ti West, which takes place in the Yankee Pedlar Inn Hotel (which really exists, in Torrington, Connecticut, USA), and tells the story of the two last attendants in this centennial Inn (Claire - Sara Paxton and Luke - Pat Healy), which is about to close and having his last weekend, along with the rare (and strange)final guests in the Hotel.

    The hotel has a history of being haunted, due to a woman who committed suicide in the past there (Madeline O'Malley), after learn that her husband died, and two attendants try always when possible to investigate when the hotel in search of apparitions or signs supernatural, to prove it, with "professional" ghost hunters equipment(as seen in series).

    Well done visually, the film has a classic filming approach, which emphasizes the place, almost always empty - it is very interesting the opening, with images of the site since its founding in 1891 until the present day, and 98% of the movie goes on inside it or around it. Also I liked the sub-division into three chapters of the film at key points, like a book, each chapter presenting a different climate.

    The trail is suitable both musical and sound effects ones, and perfect for this film and its narrative, nothing worthy of an Oscar, but well produced and I do not offer any criticism of the acting of the characters (yes, they are well characterized), especially the two protagonists. Another detail: the cast is reduced, up to 15 people, but well selected.

    Initially the film, which I consider more a Thriller, shows a trend towards comedy, and passes gradually to the suspense and finally to terror. Gory scenes are mostly absent until the end, where they are relevant, and the script emphasizes the psychological of the characters, especially the main character, the young and naive Claire.

    The Innkeepers ends up being one more example that a movie with cast and limited production does not necessarily mean something bad, beating many current films with a greater budget - a well-written script is crucial.

    For those who like stories of old-fashioned thrillers, this movie is a very pleasant experience, and not abuse of blood, and have a atmosphere of ghost story without being something heavy or appellative - contrary to what many fans expect a horror movie has a lot of blood and violence, full of special effects. A good movie to watch.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Good old hotel horror movie with a hot young actress in Sara Paxton, the only problem is it's not as scary as you keep hoping its going to be. The other main character who works as a team with Sara Paxton to understand the paranormal activity happening in the hotel does a good job as well. The camera work and scenery is great, its just not as scary as you keep expecting it to be. It doesnt try to explain or sum up the events either, which i dislike. Leaves it open to the audience to decide whats really going on. The supporting characters you could care less about as well. Decent horror flick in a hurting genre in need of good flicks. Expand
  8. May 7, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, in order to make changes to my review, I just write a new one? That's how I'm interpreting it. This movie was absolute crap! They might as well have had some dumb blond running in the woods and tripping on air while being chased, and then had to go to every scary sound she heard, because you know, when you hear a suspicious sound, you go right to it... can't people make scary movies that aren't predictable? Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    I found this film to be quite fun. Not scary, just quite entertaining. I liked the characters and, at times, found them pretty funny to watch. If you want a proper 'Jesus I'm not going to sleep for the next 3 weeks' sort of horror film, then this isn't the one. Sure, it made me jump a couple of times but it was nothing new and didn't do anything that you wouldn't expect from your standard haunted house sort of horror. It did rely on jump scares, which was a shame, because more subtle scares would have really upped the film for me. Fairly decent, not too heavy horror to watch with a friend but by no means has a classic been born. Expand
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Great old style horror film. Cinematography is great the acting is too. Don't listen to the critics go see it for yourself!
  11. Nov 5, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is boring and predictable. Why is it that the ghosts NEVER move? Why do the characters who have just had a panic attack suddenly decide to split and never show up again, even if they say they'll be back in a minute? If your colleague saw a piano being played right in front of her, and she ran up to your door and started banging on it, begging and screaming, don't you think you'd get out of bed and open it with some urgency? In the movie, we are told that Madeline wanted to live. So, what did she gain by killing Claire? I kinda thought she was going to possess her and take over her body or something. Also, I noticed how Claire carried around an inhaler, meaning she had asthma. Right away, we as an audience can already tell that that spells her imminent doom. But it's not played very well. How about a scene where she has an attack and realizes she lost her inhaler by dropping it? That would have been tense watching her frantically looking around for it and therefore potentially putting herself in harm's way. The old man was possibly the only scary scene, which I must admit, I thought he was a full bodied apparition from Madeline's time (or maybe that was the case). Leanne was a completely useless character. If she were removed from the story, it wouldn't have changed it one bit. Oh well, this movie was disappointing. It hurts to see all the opportunities that could have been fleshed out. We need better writers because I'm honestly starting to get sick of all these lame budget movies ruin one of my favorite genres. I guess the difficulty with storytelling is that it all has to reach a climax and when your movie deals with ghosts, that's kinda tricky to pull off. The one here feels contrived and ineffective because the rest of the movie is just boring. Expand
  12. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    The lack of CGI, slow pacing and good character development make this a refreshing film in a genre saturated with cliches and intolerable, badly written characters.
  13. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    The Innkeepers occasionally rises to the occasion and manages to be a worthwhile horror film. It could have been a great one were it not for one unfortunate problem: its lead. When the role is as central as this one, it requires a good actress. Sara Paxton could be best termed serviceable, but does not hold interest for long and has some regrettable scenes. In many other ways The Innkeepers is quite good; it features a slow build up to some startling sequences and a thrilling climax. Paxton stars as Claire, an employee at a closing hotel. She and her co-worker Luke (Pat Healy) ponder the story of Madeline O'Malley, whose ghost supposedly wanders the building's hallways. The two are attempting to document her existence with audio (not video) recording devices. For the most part, not much happens. Claire and Luke converse and are generally likable, and every so often one of the few guests appears. These scenes may seem slow, but director Ti West uses them to lay the groundwork for genuine scares and suspense. If the set up sounds similar to Paranormal Activity, the results are different and decidedly better. Dingy surveillance footage is replaced with good cinematography (and a plot), the characters come off as fleshed out individuals instead of pawns for a jump scenes, and the conclusion ultimately satisfies. If only the lead had been more capable. Still The Innkeepers is mostly enjoyable, and hearkens back to the times when horror films were actually scary. Expand
  14. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    I have wanted to see THE INNKEEPERS for a while, but after I watched it I was kinda disappointed. The only problems I have with this movie (and HOUSE OF THE DEVIL, which is another Ti West film) is that the film is quite slow, in fact, you could even same that the film is too slow! It builds up the tension for an hour or so, but it doesn't deliver it properly. The climax, which was basically the ending, was creepy but it wasn't scary. You basically can see all the scares in the trailer, which is definately far better than the actuall film. Overall, I thought the acting was decent and it was creepy in parts, it started off fun but then it becomes slow and leaves for waiting for an hour and doesn't end up delivering the horror properly. Expand
  15. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Great movie, reminds me of the 1970's horror movies. The slow pace and peculiar timing creates atmospheric tension. One of the best ghost stories since 'The Others'.
  16. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Awesome movie not only for it's creepy jump scares but also for lovable characters, great story, atmosphere, humor and mystery all done very well and preformed perfectly. 10/10.
  17. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    The Innkeepers is a good movie, but only if you have the patience to sit through a film where nothing happens until the last ten to twenty minutes. Ti West's The Innkeepers is an old fashioned horror film that contains the slow burning formula that older horror flicks contained. I myself don't mind slow films, but films where you have to wait until the last ten to twenty minutes annoys me. They could atleast have had more stuff going on in the middle of the film rather than everything happening in the end. Also, what I didn't like was that everything that happened in the end was basically all the horror parts in the trailer. So no bother watching the movie when you can just watch the trailer and you see every horror moment that has happened in the film. But besides those moments, The Innkeepers is both well acted and well directed and it manages to keep you watching for the tedious 70 plus minutes before something happens. Collapse
  18. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    what is wrong with the world??? this movie is in the top 10 of 2012 horror movies of many sites, but is boring and stupid as hell!! actually looks more like a "horror movie for beginners". TERRIBLE, SIMPLY. Not even funny for the worst. Saved just by a cute actress, sympathetic and charismatic, and good technical aspects that gives its retarded story some charm. Seriously so many good scripts in America and this hit the screens. I can't detail better how stupid and childish is this movie, but thats it, if you are 10 years old is the best way to watch a light horror movie. You cant ever trust a movie made by somebody called T West, be warned! Expand
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    the innkeepers is perfect in every way, perfect performances, perfect pacing, perfectly crafted scares, all with no gore whatsoever, ti west is a phenomenal director/writer.
  20. Dec 1, 2012
    4
    "The Innkeepers", in brief, is an hour and a half of slow-paced minimalism interrupted briefly by moments of genuine, unnerving suspense. The characters are shallow and pretty boring - we never learn very much about them, we don't become attached to them, and so you're not very interested in what happens to them. They feel more like outlines of characters than actual, believable, fully-developed ones. The story behind the ghosts is left almost entirely unexplained, so we don't understand anything of the few "happenings" that occur and are teased with a twist to the facts that never comes to light. With so much potential in this concept and setting, it's sad that the film is so wholly vacant of substance - the only thing it's got going for it is that the spare moments of slow suspense are pretty effective, and sometimes leave you painfully nervous about whatever's about to happen. However, this also means that director Ti West is capable of making a decent horror film, yet somehow he pulls off only scraps of a decent horror film, mixed in with a somewhat impressively limp arsenal of filler and empty storytelling. If you enjoy slow-paced movies with little to no payoff, perhaps you'll enjoy "The Innkeepers" - otherwise, your hour and forty minutes is better spent with something else. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 9, 2012
    60
    I wanted very much for West's new movie to evoke films like "The Others" or "The Orphanage," which made me, in the moment at least, a believer in ghosts. The Innkeeper's payoff lacked that kind of oomph, and weirdly, the pairing of Luke and Claire brought movies about work relationships, like "Clerks" and "Office Space," more to mind than ghost stories.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    West's throwback style and disdain for excess allows his characters to shine.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 3, 2012
    63
    The Innkeepers is no masterpiece, but you may well leave with your nerves expertly jangled.