Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 7, 2013
    75
    There’s a reason that it lacks the highs of "Wedding Crashers": The Internship puts us on the side of those who are trying to hold on to respectability, not tear it down.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 6, 2013
    75
    The Internship is the movie version of a goofy dog that knows only a few tricks but keeps on looking at you and wagging his tail, daring you not to like him. Down, boy. You win.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jun 2, 2013
    60
    This big-hearted underdog comedy from director Shawn Levy is, much like its two leads, exceedingly affable and good-natured despite being undeniably long in the tooth.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 5, 2013
    50
    Product placement aside, there’s an admirable, even sweet, message about fellowship and misfit pride shot through the whole script, and Vaughn is rather touching as a kind of cuddly uncle figure to his fellow interns.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 7, 2013
    42
    There’s a potentially good comedy to be made about old-school guys trying to make a go of it in a youth-dominated digital marketplace, but director Shawn Levy and screenwriter Jared Stern overdose on moronic excursions.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 5, 2013
    40
    The Internship has some funny moments. The cast is too talented for it to come up completely dry. But for a movie about a place so filled with ambitious climbers, it is far too lazy.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 6, 2013
    10
    For those of you on a really tight entertainment budget, you'll be paying at least 8 cents per minute not to laugh. Your money is better spent on beans and rice.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 80
  2. Negative: 19 out of 80
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Personally I loved this movie and am really surprised at the negative reviews. The story was tight with great acting and plenty of humorousPersonally I loved this movie and am really surprised at the negative reviews. The story was tight with great acting and plenty of humorous lines throughout. By the way the comedy wasn't just stupid sex jokes... it was actually decent, witty stuff for the most part. The story also had a nice overarching theme concerning the positive effects of change in life which I appreciated. In any case go and watch this. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Ignore the bad reviews about this movie. The Internship is a great comedy movie! The idea f trying to get a job at Google is really quiteIgnore the bad reviews about this movie. The Internship is a great comedy movie! The idea f trying to get a job at Google is really quite cool!
    I have to say though, one of the scenes (I'm not going to say because it is a spoiler) is a bit wrong and goes for too long too.
    I'm guessing that about 95% of the bat reviews are just people with too high expectations.
    Either way, The Internship is a good Friday night Comedy!
    I hope they make a sequel!
    Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    This film was surprisingly really funny. I wouldn't say that it was a stand out in any way but it is most certainly not a bad movie like a lotThis film was surprisingly really funny. I wouldn't say that it was a stand out in any way but it is most certainly not a bad movie like a lot of people have been saying. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    I was honestly surprised by this movie. I was expecting a typical Vince Vaughn movie and in some parts, got just that.
    I enjoyed it though. I
    I was honestly surprised by this movie. I was expecting a typical Vince Vaughn movie and in some parts, got just that.
    I enjoyed it though. I thought it was a fun, entertaining story.
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    You can't say that The Internship is a great movie, and you can't ignore the fact that it is not that good of a comedy because you hardlyYou can't say that The Internship is a great movie, and you can't ignore the fact that it is not that good of a comedy because you hardly laugh while watching this movie. But is it a complete bullsh**? no it is not, it is fun, entertaining and interesting. It is pleasing to the eyes to see both actors' chemistry, uproarious funny positive energy, they did whatever they can do to make this a better comedy, but did they succeed? Even these actors can't save this two hours of cliched google commercial. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The chief reason I went to see this was because Aasif Mandvi was in it....and even his character was pitiful!!! this whole movie seemed to have been written by /for 12 yr old pubescent boys...and was one L O N G tedious advert for Google. Well, we knew pretty well that they'd be picked as the winning team...eventually....because it's intended to demonstrate how many zillions of people are employed and wealthy thanks to high tech espec google. It was TRITE, predictable and boring. THough I loved seeing shots of San Francisco and google's campus...but with millions of unemployed Americans out there seriously needing work, not unlike Vaughn's character, foreclosed, fired and without a dime....it was a crappy film made by a crappier film corporation /exec producer...a man who stole plutonium from the US in order to furtively build the first nuclear bomb in the M/E, Arnon MIlchan..now a corporate hero despite his criminal activities. boo on all of it Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    It's an outdated recruitment video for Google and it would probably have been more fitting to be in movie cinemas a decade ago. They probablyIt's an outdated recruitment video for Google and it would probably have been more fitting to be in movie cinemas a decade ago. They probably should also have gotten better comedy actors than these two. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers