The Joneses

The Joneses Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Joneses are rich, beautiful and seem to be the perfect family. There's only one slight problem. They’re not actually a family, but a team of stealth marketers which moves into upscale communities in order to hook the neighbors on all its wonderful toys. Try to keep up. (Roadside Attractions)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 83
    The Joneses turns out to be a smart little comedy that tosses some sharp little darts at our consumer-driven culture.
  2. 75
    Surprising, inventive and crisply, merrily written and directed by Derrick Borte, The Joneses is a brisk, captivating entertainment. Think Ozzie and Harriet on speed.
  3. A sharp sendup of suburban conformity and American materialism, The Joneses does burn through its credit by the end. But it's flashy enough to catch our eye, and keep our interest nearly all the way through.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    60
    A meta-satire that doesn't quite come off.
  5. What could have been a biting black comedy taking product placement to the logical extreme instead is so obviously predictable that even a savvy cast led by David Duchovny and Demi Moore can't sell it.
  6. 50
    Either this is a tragic family or a satirical one, and the film seems uncertain which way to jump.
  7. 38
    Slick as a pig and reeking of phony sympathy for recession-wracked consumers, The Joneses is a black comedy about stealth marketing made by a filmmaker who's evidently much too close to the subject to bite the hand that feeds him.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    If you liked Last Chance Harvey,you'll love The Joneses. It has that same dramdy touch that Last Chance Harvey does. It's one of Demi Moore'sIf you liked Last Chance Harvey,you'll love The Joneses. It has that same dramdy touch that Last Chance Harvey does. It's one of Demi Moore's best movies. Don't miss it. Expand
  2. DarrenY
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    So on the one hand, it had somewhat one-dimensional characters, and there's a point in the movie where I felt that the plot became So on the one hand, it had somewhat one-dimensional characters, and there's a point in the movie where I felt that the plot became predictable. But on the other hand, I thought that the satire in this movie was so sharp and biting that I'll be remembering the message of this movie for a long time. I really enjoyed the meta-commentary inherent in the concept of the movie. And I can see that Hollywood would be afraid of further characterization (I would have enjoyed perhaps another hour of exploring the different facets of the main characters) at the risk of turning away mainstream viewers more interested in a popcorn flick than a deep movie. Summary: If you enjoyed the Truman Show, and Thank You For Smoking, I bet you'll enjoy this (admittedly flawed) parable of modern consumerism. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    7
    Unexpectedly good. Somewhat predictable, but interesting. Definitely a thought provoking look at our need to 'keep up with the joneses'. IUnexpectedly good. Somewhat predictable, but interesting. Definitely a thought provoking look at our need to 'keep up with the joneses'. I agree with 'Darren Y' 'somewhat one-dimensional characters', but overall more than worth my $1.00 at Redbox. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    This was a surprisingly enjoyable film. I had never heard of the film before I saw it on TV but the premise intrigued me so I took a chance.This was a surprisingly enjoyable film. I had never heard of the film before I saw it on TV but the premise intrigued me so I took a chance. Mulder acted extremely well, Amber Heard probably gave her best performance and as per usual Gary Cole was phenomenal. The storyline was fantastic and had it been paced ever so slightly quicker I think I would have given this a 9. I felt it waned ever so slightly in the middle. Still, more than worth a view and I would definitely recommend it! Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2010
    6
    La premisa de la opera prima del exdirector de comerciales Derrick Borte es interesante -una familia falsa se muda a unos suburbios pudientesLa premisa de la opera prima del exdirector de comerciales Derrick Borte es interesante -una familia falsa se muda a unos suburbios pudientes de Estados Unidos para provocar la envidia consumista de los vecinos- pero su realización es timorata e inconsecuente. Lástima por el reparto, encabezado por Demi Moore y David Duchovny. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2011
    6
    David Duchovny is excellent in this movie. Its a good movie but I cant help feeling that the studios saw a movie that was too dark ( which itDavid Duchovny is excellent in this movie. Its a good movie but I cant help feeling that the studios saw a movie that was too dark ( which it scratched towards the latter part of the movie ) and polished it off. The result has changed what could have been a dark movie into an enjoyable Sunday afternoon movie. The ending kills off any notion of it being alternative. I liked it, just felt that there was something else there which was unfortunately sidelined. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Joneses, or how to come up with a great idea and be unable to do anything with it. Why? Lazy writing. What started out to be a great satire, dark and cynical, turns out to be a soft romantic comedy in between Duchovny and Moore, with all the other characters being solely here as extras (what was the point of the son's coming out again?!?!??! And the daughter's love story with a married guy?!?!?). And once again, Hollywood couldn't help but make a cheesy happy ending with the two ending together, and the movie ends on a let's-not-piss-our-audience-off-this-is-entertainment-goddam-it note, that clearly states that over consumption and credit card debt should in no way be blamed on irresponsible consumers behavior (let's not insult our audience please) but only on those mean and evil marketing guys who mess up with our brains and make us wanna get always more stuff. The film almost feels as if Derrick Borte started writing it with pure intentions and then some advertising executive stormed into his office and made him write the second and third act of the script with a gun to his head. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.