Focus Features | Release Date: July 9, 2010
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 288 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
217
Mixed:
43
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 26, 2011
Above all the things "The Kids are all right" depicts, its optimistic till the end; a movie that understands and respects happiness and the value of family.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
smijatovJan 13, 2011
One of the ever-growing "real life" type of films, that features interesting cinematography. The screenplay is rather clever and the situations and dialogues, especially, are at times so hilarious, while at other times are heart wrenching.One of the ever-growing "real life" type of films, that features interesting cinematography. The screenplay is rather clever and the situations and dialogues, especially, are at times so hilarious, while at other times are heart wrenching. Bening and Moore give astonishing performances, closely followed by Ruffalo, who was rather surprising, I might add. I had not expected such a good performance from him.

I would argue against the allegations that people have been putting forward, that this film trivialises gay marriage or gay relationships in general. It does not. If it did, Moore's and Bening's characters would not have overcome their problems and the story would not have had a happy ending. It is a rather insightful film, and yes, these things can happen to people in real life. It is not like this film claimed to be the ultimate truth about gay relationships. It is not like every "straight" film has pretensions on its importance in portraying how ALL straight people behave. One should not have double standards in this case - IT IS A GREAT FILM. Full stop. Enjoy it - definitely worth of Oscar glory for its excellent performances, as well a rather witty and interesting screenplay! A must-see.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MangogroveSep 13, 2010
Annette Bening's performance alone made this movie for me, though there were many things to find delightful about it. She can say so much with her face -- thankfully she has left it alone to have such depth of expression. I left the theaterAnnette Bening's performance alone made this movie for me, though there were many things to find delightful about it. She can say so much with her face -- thankfully she has left it alone to have such depth of expression. I left the theater feeling good after this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PhantasmalAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It creates awkward situations for the audience. I like that because it strangely makes you feel like you're more involved in the film. It's funny, sad, and exasperating at times. The message it gives is nice too. I do believe that marriage is a lifelong commitment, and in a world where divorce is so prevalent it's definitely refreshing to see a film where the family stays together regardless of what lust can do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Christopher_G2Apr 30, 2011
The Kids Are All Right is very well acted, funny, and entertaining independent production, and beyond all else it just fells real. The problems this family has are real problems families have all across this country and planet, and the factThe Kids Are All Right is very well acted, funny, and entertaining independent production, and beyond all else it just fells real. The problems this family has are real problems families have all across this country and planet, and the fact that this happens to be a gay couple in question doesn't change that. There is nothing trumped up here, but that doesn't mean what happens isn't very interesting to say the least. Benning gets the most attention for her acting in this film, and deserves the praise, but unfortunately Moore does not get near the same recognition for a role I think is nearly as impressive. Ruffalo, as a sperm donor creating relationships and havok in the lesbian household, is also terrific. Very well done, easily one of the 10 best films of 2010 and deserving of its BP nomination. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SierraMtzAug 28, 2010
The Kids Are All Right" is an exceptional film judged by any angle. Superb acting, original plot line, realistically imperfect characters, and a foray into meaningful topics. The movie delves into the complexity of long term relationships,The Kids Are All Right" is an exceptional film judged by any angle. Superb acting, original plot line, realistically imperfect characters, and a foray into meaningful topics. The movie delves into the complexity of long term relationships, the inexorable rise of youthful independence, and the uncertain glue that holds families together. Highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
This has to be one of the most fun films in a long time. The movies plot is ever so simple; where two kids meet their sperm donor. Things seem to be okay at first, but it just seems that donating sperm probably wasn't the right choice. HeThis has to be one of the most fun films in a long time. The movies plot is ever so simple; where two kids meet their sperm donor. Things seem to be okay at first, but it just seems that donating sperm probably wasn't the right choice. He develops a deep relationship amongst the family and tension soon runs high. The way that the movie is told is so plain, where dialogue and the variety of characters takes over and turns the movie into a lighthearted and touching story that is a rarity in hollywood. The movie is sexy, funny, and just pure entertainment with a good story. You'll be able to sit down and really know the characters one by one without becoming so tense on what happens next. Just sit down, relax, and enjoy the show. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
TonyOct 12, 2010
This film is a perfect portrait of the modern American family and a true acting showcase for Bening, Moore, and Ruffalo. Each of them brings complexity to the characters and are perfect for their respective roles. Cholodenko's script is veryThis film is a perfect portrait of the modern American family and a true acting showcase for Bening, Moore, and Ruffalo. Each of them brings complexity to the characters and are perfect for their respective roles. Cholodenko's script is very much Oscar-worthy, and the film deserves all of the praise being heaped upon it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 4, 2010
I couldn't stand this movie. I'd rather rent Made In America starring Ted Danson and Whoopi Goldberg once again instead. I highly recommend that you don't see this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 30, 2010
I really liked this film, but a couple of things that happen seem unrealistic to me which keeps me from elevating the film to a 9 or 10. First is the relationship between Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo - I don't think that would happen inI really liked this film, but a couple of things that happen seem unrealistic to me which keeps me from elevating the film to a 9 or 10. First is the relationship between Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo - I don't think that would happen in real life. Second, and most importantly, is the way the family treats the Mark Ruffalo character at the end. The acting, however, is great all around, especially by Annette Bening. She should lock up an Oscar nomination for sure. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jan 6, 2011
An atypically arranged American household amidst delicate and often awkward moments, "The Kids Are All Right" captures the melodramatic tension that accompanies kids living in a far from normal reality. Here, they must juggle mixed emotionsAn atypically arranged American household amidst delicate and often awkward moments, "The Kids Are All Right" captures the melodramatic tension that accompanies kids living in a far from normal reality. Here, they must juggle mixed emotions towards a male figure they never had the chance of experiencing; until now. With their long lost patriarch returned, this greatly open family must deal with the potentially damaging effects of letting in a familiar stranger. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
nachocanoAug 26, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was phenomenal don't get me wrong, until it reached it's climax. At it's core the story directs most of its animosity towards the most innocent of characters. What angered me the most is that Paul (played by Mark Ruffalo) was shown as the antagonist when all he was was innocent. The plot directs most of its animosity towards the vulnerable characters while leaving the other dumbfounded at Julianne Moore. She of all people is portrayed as the protagonist of the picture and by the end is forgiven for her actions; the audience must accept this. I on the other hand did not want to accept this simply because her selfishness allowed her to screw up to her degree. It was her elusiveness that allowed her to get out of her horrid situation by simply blaming a man who wanted nothing more but to be involved; also he was incredibly innocent and had never experienced purpose. However, the first 1 and 20 minutes of this film are a pure joy filmed with drama and comedy, as for the ending you will feel unsatisfied and will not have a sense of closure which every audience member deserves. 7/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
serfloodAug 12, 2010
You know, I wanted to LOVE this film, because of political reasons mainly, but more because I completely respect the actors involved (Moore, Benning and Ruffalo). I walked away really liking the subtleties of the plot development andYou know, I wanted to LOVE this film, because of political reasons mainly, but more because I completely respect the actors involved (Moore, Benning and Ruffalo). I walked away really liking the subtleties of the plot development and characterizations, but in the end I wanted more resolution to be carved out of the third act. Not that the film doesn't come to a nice rest after the convincing drama ensued by the conflict at hand (won't disclose hence I spoil anything). My main concern was whether I'd been given enough time to understand Benning's character, or had been given enough scenes with her to truly appreciate her. This critique might fall beyond a review, and for that I apologize. I'd recommend it, if for no other reason then it is built to cause discussion about family, marriage and the complexities of these institutions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ChonquistAug 24, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THis film really explores some trials of life previously explored in other films such as cheating and a family falling apart, this movie does it with lesbians. The family primarily is normal so as not to be shown biased to the gay community which i thought was great, the ending was the only door left for improvement, as although it ended lightly and probably made most people smile, it left no resolution to Ruffalo's character, somewhat leaving him in the dust. But essentially, that is the most plausible outcome to this light and fun story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraAug 22, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The seating arrangement at dinner time gives the moviegoer a pretty good indication as to why Laser(Josh Hutchinson) feels the urgent need to make contact with his sperm donor. The fifteen-year-old boy doesn't have the same status that he'd enjoy in a patriarchal family environment. Outnumbered by women, three-to-one, the fifteen-year-old boy is seated at the farthest point from Nic(Annette Bening), the dad dressed in mom's clothing who occupies the chair, traditionally reserved for the "man of the house", at the head of the table. Because he was sired by Jules(Julianne Moore), the weaker mom, Laser, hierarchically speaking, independent of chronological age, can't begin to compete with his sister Joni(Mia Wasnikowska), who, in this alternative family, is the stronger sex and originated from the stronger womb, the breadwinner's womb. Judging by their names, it would seem that the moms favor girls, since the college-bound Joni was named after singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell, while the boy got affixed with a gimmicky appellation which suggests that the moms were hard-pressed to name one man they revered enough to bestow their child with his reflected glory. The matter of Laser being all right without a father, to me, lies at the heart of this film. Before dinner is served at Paul's house, Nic comes across a crate filled with the sperm donor's albums, which includes Mitchell's seminal album "Blue". It's a telling moment, because the moviegoer can glean how the women, and perhaps, the filmmaker, perceive men. Vinyl, a format thought to be warmer than the compact disc, becomes the embodiment of women, while the CD, by default, comes to represent men, since it requires a LASER. Women are analogue, and men are digital, but Laser, after years of being raised by two women, is vinyl, too. By the end of the film, sitting in the backseat as Jules drives, Laser realizes that he likes being analogue, being analogue is all right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JennetPJan 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why is everyone trashing the ending of this film and how it treats Paul? I find the end wonderfully subtle: after talking to Paul, Joni changes her mind and takes the gardening hat he gave her to college with her. That tells us--those of us who are paying attention, anyway--that the door is open to what he asked for: to see her again someday. SO much better than the hugs-all-round-and-redemption-for-everyone sledgehammer that usually ends films about family conflict. I mean, think about it: when an affair rocks a marriage but doesn't break it up, how often is the outside lover forgiven and re-embraced by the family? Is "never" a safe estimation? All in all, TKAAR is a wonderfully subtle film about people struggling to understand one another and themselves. It's also that rare film that shows people with genuinely good intentions, though often confused about what goodness is and how to achieve it. The acting is staggeringly good, especially from the two Oscar nominees. Julianne Moore is, as usual, first rate, but hers is an easier role (and we've seen versions of this character from her before) than the other two. Bening plays a less likable character, and she plays her fearlessly, not softening her edges yet offering glimpses of her underlying vulnerability. And Ruffalo, as Paul, was equally complicated: a careless, overgrown boy bedazzled by instant fatherhood--and rather good at it, until he mistakes Jules's sexual acting out for a short cut to the family he suddenly wants. Good stuff, fresh, believable and deeply affecting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DaveBommieSep 6, 2010
Fantastic storytelling, acting and characterization. Loved the ending as each of the characters ended up in a place they needed to be, but in a completely realistic way. This is one of the best movies of the last ten years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Dec 19, 2010
Rich, natural performances by three amazing leading actors, Annette Benning, Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo. I had not seen any of them in a similar role before, which enhanced their ability to pull off these roles even more. The very humanRich, natural performances by three amazing leading actors, Annette Benning, Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo. I had not seen any of them in a similar role before, which enhanced their ability to pull off these roles even more. The very human traits of these characters are flawlessly translated to screen, supported by an extremely strong story and perfect direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
thedarkorbMar 25, 2011
The Kids Are All Right has an very interesting premise, some well written humor, and some great acting going for it. Perhaps most notably is the portrayal of the dynamics involved in a family featuring two moms. The two moms are the highlightThe Kids Are All Right has an very interesting premise, some well written humor, and some great acting going for it. Perhaps most notably is the portrayal of the dynamics involved in a family featuring two moms. The two moms are the highlight of the movie as they act like a real believable couple. Unfortunately the film does have some issues that hold it back from being a great movie. Most notably would be that much of the sexual content feel unnecessary and/or is too drawn out. The only other real issue I found with was the move was, without giving anything away, that the ending was rather abrupt and many things were left feeling unresolved. Despite these faults it's a good movie, just not the great movie it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrDec 3, 2010
A different approach in the institution of marriage and parenthood, on a story based on two married women whose children decide to meet the "sperm-donor" father and how this uncovers shades of their relationships they had never actuallyA different approach in the institution of marriage and parenthood, on a story based on two married women whose children decide to meet the "sperm-donor" father and how this uncovers shades of their relationships they had never actually confronted before. The whole cast is magnificent whilst the script intelligently uses humour which saves the film of being over-dramatised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Stephchan1901Nov 14, 2010
Benning, Moore, and Ruffalo lead an all star cast about a disfunctional family that deal with issues such as sexual orientation, sperm donners, childhood curiousity and becoming an adult. "The kids are Alright" knows how to tackle thoseBenning, Moore, and Ruffalo lead an all star cast about a disfunctional family that deal with issues such as sexual orientation, sperm donners, childhood curiousity and becoming an adult. "The kids are Alright" knows how to tackle those issues, and does it superbly in a well-paced manner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
brewcrewprideNov 11, 2010
The extremely original, "The Kids Are All Right" certainly can make its own standing in cinema and that mainly is because it thrives off the performances by a top notch cast that is sure to score Oscar nominations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
olympiansOct 30, 2010
The beauty of this film is that it speaks to everybody irrespective of their family set up. It's about love, jealousy and ultimately forgiveness. Bening and Moore are superb in it and very believable as a lesbian couple I thought. I thinkThe beauty of this film is that it speaks to everybody irrespective of their family set up. It's about love, jealousy and ultimately forgiveness. Bening and Moore are superb in it and very believable as a lesbian couple I thought. I think this is one of those films you will either love or hate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DukeJan 4, 2011
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wishmasterDec 19, 2010
haha this movie is a mixture of emotions makes you sad and makes you laugh, the script is amazing with phrases where to go, but the perfect fusion of Annette Bening and Julian Moore 2 amazing performances that deserve their awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
podunk411Jan 8, 2011
This was a surprisingly great film about family--- though lighthearted in a lot of ways, I'm was surprised by how touching it really was. All the performances were spot on, including the kids and I especially loved Annette Benning'sThis was a surprisingly great film about family--- though lighthearted in a lot of ways, I'm was surprised by how touching it really was. All the performances were spot on, including the kids and I especially loved Annette Benning's performance. The film isn't swinging for the fences, yet sits with you afterward and I have to say it is one of the better movies of 2010. Definitely give it a shot on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DCLeahyDec 22, 2010
A poignant ,bittersweet, and remarkably funny take on paternity, family, and infidelity that features a stellar cast that fully realizes the complex emotions that accompany real families with real troubles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
0102Jan 9, 2011
Fantastic, original and funny movie. Moore and Bening is a couple where connection between them is extraordinary. Ruffalo plays a father that I have never seen in another movie. All them and the children are a lovely family to forgetFantastic, original and funny movie. Moore and Bening is a couple where connection between them is extraordinary. Ruffalo plays a father that I have never seen in another movie. All them and the children are a lovely family to forget problems. Lisa Cholodenko wrote a wonderful script and the direction is a comedy that describes current and modern family Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
darrrnJan 7, 2011
Simply put: a genuine movie that is a perfect portrayal of modern society.

Mark Ruffalo gives yet another great performance; The Kids Are All Right is a brilliantly written script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissFeb 19, 2011
It is nice to finally see an older lesbian couple with two teenage children making it into the mainstream movies. There is great acting in a real life story, claiming that keeping a family together can be at times very hard, but it is worthIt is nice to finally see an older lesbian couple with two teenage children making it into the mainstream movies. There is great acting in a real life story, claiming that keeping a family together can be at times very hard, but it is worth working on it. A very recommended social study in the form of entertainment cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews