Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 26, 2010
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 734 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
666
Mixed:
54
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KellyPDec 30, 2010
It's not often that the audience claps at the end of a film - but The King's Speech is certainly deserving. In addition to the remarkable performances all around, the pacing - not rushed, the cinematography and the brilliant script combine toIt's not often that the audience claps at the end of a film - but The King's Speech is certainly deserving. In addition to the remarkable performances all around, the pacing - not rushed, the cinematography and the brilliant script combine to make this one of the best films of the year (and beyond). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BSporckJan 23, 2011
When a film makes you feel the pain of the character just by watching his face, then you say, "wait this a movie", you know the acting is superb. This is an outstanding movie and I am surprised it received a R rating.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
GilgafishFeb 11, 2011
Truly a great movie. The King's Speech has never made me want to learn more about history than ever! I try to watch a variety of films and it seems that the historical/informative ones seem to pull me into the plot the most.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Critic_PleaseFeb 12, 2011
A brilliant story that speaks in fewer words. It is a humanizing of even the highest of class. Portraying the beauty in the stiffness of English regality. And yet, the unconquerable human drive to face even the most intimidating personalA brilliant story that speaks in fewer words. It is a humanizing of even the highest of class. Portraying the beauty in the stiffness of English regality. And yet, the unconquerable human drive to face even the most intimidating personal insecurities. A will to conquer and a leader to truly drive a nation. Go see it. This drama has heart, not glitz, and message that needs to be remembered. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Kaizoku2793Feb 16, 2011
One of the best movies of the year second only to Social Network. The King's Speech is about a king overcoming his stutterâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BritinLANov 28, 2010
Great film. Beautifully written, acted and directed. Colin Firth did an amazing job and I couldn't agree more that he deserves a Best Actor nom and Rush a Best Supporting nom. I highly recommend seeing this film or you'll regret it come next March.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
simlew86Jan 13, 2011
Simply superb. It's hard to fault a film that is shot so beautifully, scripted so eloquently and performed breathtakingly across the board. I'm not usually a fan of period dramas, but Tom Hooper has expertly crafted an emotional fable with aSimply superb. It's hard to fault a film that is shot so beautifully, scripted so eloquently and performed breathtakingly across the board. I'm not usually a fan of period dramas, but Tom Hooper has expertly crafted an emotional fable with a fine balance of witty humour and heart wrenching moments. There is simply nothing to criticise, from the awkward opening to the rousing finale, the King's Speech is a delight to behold throughout. Firth naturally delivers a sublime performance, but the support is as equally magnificent. Helena Bonham Carter and Geoffrey Rush especially simply chew up scenery whenever on screen. Their relationships with the stammering King George a constant highlight. The first film I've seen this year, and what a fine way to begin a year of film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
snow_walkerJan 17, 2011
Saw this in an old movie theatre in North London with a very respectful audience, average age 50, where it was respectfully received and much appreciated - albeit without spontaneous applause. All concerned, Firth, Rush, Bonham-Carter, HooperSaw this in an old movie theatre in North London with a very respectful audience, average age 50, where it was respectfully received and much appreciated - albeit without spontaneous applause. All concerned, Firth, Rush, Bonham-Carter, Hooper did a superb job. One of the best of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mikaJan 18, 2011
Great movie!!! Wonderful acting, beautiful story and director Tom Hooper did a great job. Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush are brilliant and I highly recommend this movie before Oscar!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OpheelyahJan 23, 2011
Wonderful movie. Sensational acting from Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. It has everything, humour, drama, history and most of all entertainment. If it doesn't win awards there is definitely something wrong.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
nc_jjFeb 1, 2011
"The King's Speech" is an amazing story that is full of great performances an amazing screenplay and brilliant, skillful direction. This is, simply, a movie not to be missed!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MilkDudFeb 22, 2011
Possibly the best movie I have ever seen in quite awhile. I do not like sitting through English flicks and was not looking forward to watching this one. I savored every moment and was surprised when it ended. It blew me away that is forPossibly the best movie I have ever seen in quite awhile. I do not like sitting through English flicks and was not looking forward to watching this one. I savored every moment and was surprised when it ended. It blew me away that is for sure. I predict hands down - Colin Firth best actor - and this movie wins best for the Oscars. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bu99Mar 7, 2011
A moving and funny film is hard to get but Tom Hooper and David Seidler did a great job. The Oscar was well given and I think everyone should see this movie it's a story of bravery and friendship. I got to say that Helena Bonham Carter wasA moving and funny film is hard to get but Tom Hooper and David Seidler did a great job. The Oscar was well given and I think everyone should see this movie it's a story of bravery and friendship. I got to say that Helena Bonham Carter was really different on this movie we are used to see her in crazy roles like Red Queen in "Alice in Wonderland" or Bellatrix Lestrange in "Harry Potter". Colin Firth deserved the oscar it's a hard role to play and he was great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewAvenueApr 30, 2011
Isn't it weird how this movie was rated R yet Battle: Los Angeles wasn't?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SUPERFLYMar 21, 2011
This was a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I saw this a while ago (before the BAFTAs and Oscars) but decided to come back now to write a review. I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it, so I went in with no expectations. I'm glad toThis was a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I saw this a while ago (before the BAFTAs and Oscars) but decided to come back now to write a review. I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it, so I went in with no expectations. I'm glad to say that I didn't come away disappointed. I've never been a fan of Colin Firth, but I have to give credit where it's due, he is excellent in this. Geoffrey Rush is amazing as well. I couldn't see this film working with any one else in those roles. The story is interesting, the script is well written, and the acting is spot on. What more could you want. It was nice to see a film that hasn't made me feel like I've wasted my time and money. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SetsunaSeieiApr 3, 2011
Extremely well done, sensible and historically accurate, The King's Speech is probably the best movie I have seen in 2010. Acting was superb, something you sadly can't say of the majority of movies shown in today's cinemas, and by the end IExtremely well done, sensible and historically accurate, The King's Speech is probably the best movie I have seen in 2010. Acting was superb, something you sadly can't say of the majority of movies shown in today's cinemas, and by the end I felt really enriched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BINFORDApr 13, 2011
This one was as good as advertised.
NOT an action movie by a long shot.
This movie gives this Royal a sense of human frailty to the viewer. Firth and Rush do a phenomenal job! Great script, great acting what this movie needed was a few more
This one was as good as advertised.
NOT an action movie by a long shot.
This movie gives this Royal a sense of human frailty to the viewer.
Firth and Rush do a phenomenal job!
Great script, great acting what this movie needed was a few more sunny days, but that is England's weather for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
log0fan1Jul 12, 2011
The King's Speech is a wonderful film about a man finding his voice when the world needed to hear it most, but that's only the plot as it may be described at a more superficial level. Deeper themes on friendship, confidence, self-worth, love,The King's Speech is a wonderful film about a man finding his voice when the world needed to hear it most, but that's only the plot as it may be described at a more superficial level. Deeper themes on friendship, confidence, self-worth, love, respect, and hard work are all highlighted in this touching and powerful instant classic that's sure to speak to every viewer who has ever suffered through any physical, mental, or emotional shortcomings and fought to overcome. Supported by a witty, meaningful, and self-assured script; strong direction; great sets and costuming; seamless performances; and impeccable intangibles; The King's Speech is a complete film, a modern masterpiece with old fashioned sensibilities and a timeless message that's sure to live on for decades to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheSportSpinJun 17, 2011
Fantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives the quintessential George IV. Rush and Carter are tremendous Of course these fine performances would be wastedFantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives the quintessential George IV. Rush and Carter are tremendous Of course these fine performances would be wasted without David Seidler's screenplay and Tom Hooper's light hand directing such fine stars. He allows them to fully immerse themselves in their characters and brings the audience in with their performances. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CCostaSep 9, 2011
The acting was superb. It's a very moving story and you realize it just in time for the end. I simply loved it, actually there's not much more to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
josecastroJan 6, 2012
Encantador retrato de la vida de un rey y la forma de superar sus problemas personales y reales quedas satisfecho momentos hilarantes y grandes actuaciones de las mejores películas del año
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahn77Aug 23, 2015
Although it's a good, clear and smooth movie that entertain you about 2 hours, but there are some holes in it. Of course is one of the best movies of the decade, but it doesn't mean that it's a masterpiece
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
penders627Dec 3, 2010
Nice conversation. I like it so much.Its really A wonderful story of friendship and how families operate.Really very nice.I have no words to describe it.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
calabash5Dec 8, 2010
The definitive scene for me is when Bertie breaks down and cries. I can't help but compare it to Firth's brilliant dissolving into tears as George in A Single Man.
Firth didn't pull out just another crying scene from his bag of acting
The definitive scene for me is when Bertie breaks down and cries. I can't help but compare it to Firth's brilliant dissolving into tears as George in A Single Man.
Firth didn't pull out just another crying scene from his bag of acting scenes.
He's brilliant, Rush's brilliant, HBC perfect.
Lovely script. Beautiful film that pulls the watcher into the life of Bertie. What he sees. What he feels.
Brilliant all 'roud.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
fletcherDec 10, 2010
Two acting titans: Rush and Firth; every mature character actor in the UK; Helena!; the Brits do it again. The film was a delight to watch and the viewer is given a wonderful reprieve from the simplistic, the empty,the 3D onslaught!
15 of 18 users found this helpful153
All this user's reviews
8
stuartDec 15, 2010
If anyone believes this is a "glimpse into young Queen Elizabeth's life" I have a bridge to sell you. This is just a very well-acted movie with undertones of positive propaganda for an elite group who self-named themselves royalty, king,If anyone believes this is a "glimpse into young Queen Elizabeth's life" I have a bridge to sell you. This is just a very well-acted movie with undertones of positive propaganda for an elite group who self-named themselves royalty, king, queen, prince, etc. (If they don't keep up the myth of their specialness who will?! We might remember how the family got rich in the first place: two hundred years of stealing and murder). This movie is a superb piece of cinema nonetheless. It reaches depths of emotion and highs of the best acting seldom seen on the big screen. This is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
krum080Dec 22, 2010
Rush and Firth's performances held this rather long movie together. Fantastic costumes, scenery, dialogue and cinematography took this from a historical film to 2 hours of fun. Rush deserves at LEAST the golden globe.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Bec215Jan 4, 2011
I'm glad, in the end, that this movie took so long to bring to the screen (the Queen Mother asked it not be made until after her death) because this movie belongs to Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. Firth has a rare gravitas and elegance toI'm glad, in the end, that this movie took so long to bring to the screen (the Queen Mother asked it not be made until after her death) because this movie belongs to Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. Firth has a rare gravitas and elegance to play a royal like few actors alive, and Rush keeps his character slightly off-kilter, without ever slipping into camp or silliness. Bonham-Carter is genius as the Queen Mum - a woman who in life was far from the (figuratively) sterile royal cliche... I like to think of her as a proto-Diana. The movie benefits from the relatively spare set decoration - it would have been so easy to go the usual path and turn the decor into another character... but keeping it wisely in the background, the trio are kept front-and-center, as they should be in a character-driven movie.

You don't have to be a 'film' fan to love this movie. Everyone cheers for an underdog. In sum, this movie lives up to the hype, and coming on the heels of A Single Man and a resume to die for, should firmly cement Firth as one of, if not the, finest actor of his generation.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Catizinha594Feb 18, 2011
There is no doubt, that one of the main reasons for this film to be so famous is because of the performances of the actors, who were, let me say, splendid. The king that cannot give a decent speech in front of his people, goes to a miraculousThere is no doubt, that one of the main reasons for this film to be so famous is because of the performances of the actors, who were, let me say, splendid. The king that cannot give a decent speech in front of his people, goes to a miraculous speech therapist that helps him get his voice to lead the nation into war. The acting isnâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
PendragonFeb 1, 2011
A certain dramatic and comedic license was adopted for the outstanding film, "The King's Speech", with Mr Logue's grandchildren remarking that the King's unorthodox but highly effective speech therapist never swore in front of the King orA certain dramatic and comedic license was adopted for the outstanding film, "The King's Speech", with Mr Logue's grandchildren remarking that the King's unorthodox but highly effective speech therapist never swore in front of the King or ever addressed him by his intimate family name of "Bertie." Geoffrey Rush brilliantly portrays a brash, irreverently witty and staunchly egalitarian Australian healer, unabashed by the elevated status of his patient, sympathetically and convincingly rendered by Colin Firth, as the tormented and acutely shy Duke of York, who stood at the apex of the British aristocracy. The film is engrossing, compelling, poignant and enjoyable.

The actual historical facts, though, also bear some objective examination. The real Lionel George Logue (1880-1953) was born in Adelaide, South Australia, and, after leaving School, studied elocution, music and theatrical acting. He even worked for a time in a gold mine in Kalgoorlie. A Christian Scientist, with some Methodist influences, he devoted himself to healing - treating World War One returned soldiers suffering from shell-shock induced speech impediments. From 1924, he practised speech therapy in Harley Street, London, using fees paid by wealthy clients to accept poorer patients free of charge.

In 1926, the Duke of York consulted him about the Duke's painfully severe stammer. Logue diagnosed poor coordination between larynx and diaphragm, giving the Duke rigorous exercises for one hour's duration each day. Using tongue-twisters, Logue helped the Duke to rehearse his major speeches and coached him for his Coronation in 1937, following the enormously disruptive abdication of Edward VII the previous year, a crisis which almost brought down the British Monarchy itself.

King George VI, as the former Duke became, made Logue a Member of the Royal Victorian Order (MVO) in 1937 and elevated him to the rank of Commander (CVO) in 1944. Logue attended the King for the V E Day broadcast on 8 May 1945. Both men retained a friendship for the rest of their lives - with Lionel Logue dying in London on 12 April 1953 (being survived by his three sons) and with the King dying a little more than a year earlier on 6 February 1952 (being survived by his widow and two daughters, one of whom being the present Queen Elizabeth II.)

The totally unexpected accession to the throne by King George VI, who never saw himself as being King in the place of his brother, "David" or Edward VII, depicted the ethical differences between the two brothers. The Duke of Windsor, as he became, was something of a self-indulgent, willful and shallow playboy, who threw everything away for Mrs Wallis Simpson, an American divorcee with a talent for collecting wealthy husbands and who was detested for the rest of her life by the remaining House of Windsor. The Duke of Windsor's hope of an eventual reconciliation with his own family was never realized and he was to spend the rest of his life, aimlessly wandering Europe with his domineering paramour, until his death. His brother, King George VI, resolutely shouldered the burden of ruling Britain during the darkest days of World War Two and accepted his elevation to the Monarchy with a courageous sense of duty, however much he dreaded the responsibilities he was expected to discharge. A heavy smoker, his death was caused by a lung cancer related heart attack. His heiress and successor, Queen Elizabeth II, throughout the five decades and more of her own reign, has drawn upon the example of selfless duty and hard work set for her by her late father.

Much of the King's effective implementation of his role is perhaps due to the unconventional but healing practices of his Australian rescuer who took on perhaps the most important task any citizen of the British Dominions could perform during the 1930s and 1940s - that of encouraging the King to encourage his subjects. This film celebrates that commitment and that accomplishment.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
dancesfloFeb 10, 2011
This is a powerful and deeply moving story, told against the backdrop of a critical juncture in modern history, of the emergence of a deep friendship out of a professional relationship between two men who would otherwise never have sociallyThis is a powerful and deeply moving story, told against the backdrop of a critical juncture in modern history, of the emergence of a deep friendship out of a professional relationship between two men who would otherwise never have socially interacted. The screenplay, written by David Seidler (who also wrote Tucker: The Man and his Dream), is excellent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NunoBispoFeb 14, 2011
Very pleasant movie. Great script and storyboard. Great screenplay and scenes. Excellent acting performances from Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. It's a marvelous movie based upon actual historical facts, but in my opinion never the win theVery pleasant movie. Great script and storyboard. Great screenplay and scenes. Excellent acting performances from Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. It's a marvelous movie based upon actual historical facts, but in my opinion never the win the Oscar nominated for Best Movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LeysGeddesFeb 16, 2011
Please go to YouTube, search for The King's Speech and you'll find my review: 'The King's Speech - a stammerer's view'. I'm the non-celebrity in the bright blue shirt and, like King George VI, I stammer!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Derek666Feb 17, 2011
I just love the depth of character Colin what's his name? brings to the title roll. Yet again a film worthy of all the applauds and more .
P.S
I haven't seen it yet ! Don't want to spoil my image I have of Colin what's his name?.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
slik286Mar 3, 2011
Riveting performance by Colin Firth. It's a shame people can't name more of his movies:
http://www.quizmatics.com/quiz_templates/film_quest/2/
If you haven't seen this yet - do yourself a favor and watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews