The Lady

Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 18, 2012
    63
    The Lady is more professional but, for me, "They Call It Myanmar" is more useful. Lieberman answers questions that Besson does not think to ask.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 13, 2012
    75
    The Lady is a portrait in moral and physical courage, a sort of analysis of what constitutes greatness.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    63
    An appropriately respectful and dignified biopic.
  4. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Apr 16, 2012
    65
    The accomplished actress Michelle Yeoh, who brought the project to Besson, is a regal beauty who brings off an uncanny resemblance to Suu Kyi largely through posture and the trademark flowers the activist wore in her hair.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 14, 2012
    63
    The goings-on can rarely be called truly compelling, even if they're almost always generally pleasant.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    4
    What? If I don't have a bad memory, I remember that this movie be launched the last year, and what happen? was delayed, and I think: I canWhat? If I don't have a bad memory, I remember that this movie be launched the last year, and what happen? was delayed, and I think: I can watch the movie, but after have other delay, and finally when we can watch the product, I can say that the movie is regular. The story is good, but have a bad development, in some parts is boring, in other interesting, but the biggest part of the movie is boring. The cast have regular performances, and is not good. I think that the movie cause all this things, after the delays, watching this, sorry but The Lady is regular. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    4
    There's something immobile at the center of The Lady, a kind of Botoxed biopic with an unlikely director - Luc Besson - manning the syringe. AThere's something immobile at the center of The Lady, a kind of Botoxed biopic with an unlikely director - Luc Besson - manning the syringe. A bad, bad film. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    5
    This handsomely mounted picture is, at nearly 2 1/2 hours, far too long and indigestible for a film whose protagonist spends most of herThis handsomely mounted picture is, at nearly 2 1/2 hours, far too long and indigestible for a film whose protagonist spends most of her screen time under house arrest. Full Review »