Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 781 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
73
Negative:
575
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
itseverywhereAug 14, 2010
I'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, aI'm being more than a little generous. The movie is the logical extreme of what movies like Avatar have wrought. Excellent aesthetics, absolutely atrocious acting. The movie is a butchering of the cartoon, with horrible, awkward dialogue, a plot consisting mostly of exposition, and flat characters with very little to like.
The sad thing is that the cartoon is one of the best written and intelligent children's shows in recent memory, yet it gets adapted into a horrific film. If you like the cartoon, watch it for a laugh. If you never watched the cartoon, keep this movie off your list.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
Bullet97Aug 14, 2010
In my opinion, this movie is a polished turd. The polishing is the neat look. But if you polish a turd, its still a smelly turd. I can't believe how bad M. Night screwed up. He was good years ago, but now he sucks. If he just directed it andIn my opinion, this movie is a polished turd. The polishing is the neat look. But if you polish a turd, its still a smelly turd. I can't believe how bad M. Night screwed up. He was good years ago, but now he sucks. If he just directed it and didn't write it, it would be good. But his writing really sucks! Its like a two-year old wrote it!! Im a huge fan of the show, and M.Night's writing really screwed it. First, whats with the wrong pronounciation!! Second, the writing is so rushed that they don't have room for any little millimeter of soul or heart. Finally, there's horrible acting, laughable dialouge, bad 3-D, and dissapointing action. Whether you're a fan of the show or not, skip this movie!!! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
Marcela-annieAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
PevalwenAug 12, 2010
I viewed this film with all expectations wiped from my mind, knowing that the animation is so successful and the majority that had already seen the film spoke poisonously of it. Regarding that, I didn't think it was as bad as everybody seemsI viewed this film with all expectations wiped from my mind, knowing that the animation is so successful and the majority that had already seen the film spoke poisonously of it. Regarding that, I didn't think it was as bad as everybody seems to have expressed. As a movie, it wasn't at the highest quality, with cringe-worthy acting at times, cheap-looking computer effects and heavy, excitable bending movements. However, apart from that, it wasn't bad at all (or at least, would be extremely impressive if it were a university project or television drama). I enjoyed seeing the characters in a different medium and saw it merely as a bit of light entertainment; and with no pressurizing expectations, that to me wasn't a problem. The story was fast-paced, a bit blunt and at times confusing, but apart from that I found some of the changes from the original interesting and liked seeing the flash-backs in to characters' pasts. I also liked the small changes, such as Yue's change of hair colour as she was converted spiritually, Azula's peevish and more-like-her-age appearance and the different but balanced pair that was Iroh and Zuko, who I found showed better acting skill than most of the cast. Sokka was okay too, but I think Iroh won the prize for best actor among the others, who mostly looked as if they could have come from an ameture but very successful drama group. M. Night Shalalalaman had a big challenge to write, produce and direct a 1 1/2 hour movie and fit 20 episodes-worth into it. The outcome was successful and I really enjoyed viewing The Last Airbender, but I wouldn't be surprised if some of the crew had worked on the likes of Power Rangers in the past as well. It had potential to be better if the director hadn't taken on so much responsibility individually, but even if it could have been better, what is there is good enough for me! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
kidcoyoteAug 11, 2010
I was skeptical when I heard M. Night was directing it. The movie wasn't "bad" but the story just seem so rushed. If you never seen the cartoon series you would be completely lost to what was going on and who any of the characters are. WhileI was skeptical when I heard M. Night was directing it. The movie wasn't "bad" but the story just seem so rushed. If you never seen the cartoon series you would be completely lost to what was going on and who any of the characters are. While the acting wasn't the great, it was on par with just about every other child actor in any other movie I've seen. I just hope this doesn't kill any chances of more Airbender movies being made,get a new director and new writers and this movie series could rival the Harry Potter series if done right. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Long ago in a forgotten land there were four nations Earth, Air, Fire and Water the four fabled nations lived in peace and harmony with one another that is until the ruthless and power hungry fire nation declared war on the three otherLong ago in a forgotten land there were four nations Earth, Air, Fire and Water the four fabled nations lived in peace and harmony with one another that is until the ruthless and power hungry fire nation declared war on the three other nations. Only the fabled AVATAR the master of all four elements could stop them but when he was needed the most he vanished, for a hundred years, the Fire nation ruled thinking that the only threat that had the power to defeat them was long deceased. That is until a young water-bender from the Southern water tribe and he smart mouth brother find a young boy trapped in ice they soon find out to be the new AVATAR a young air-bender named Aang who is the three nations last hope of saving there world from the dominate fire nation. In 1999 a young up and coming director by the name of M. Night Shyamalan directed his first big budget film to critical and commercial success that film is called "The Sixth Sense" which today still stands as the highest grossing horror movie in history grossing 293 million dollars domestically and 672 million dollars making it not only the highest grossing horror film domestically but he highest grossing horror film worldwide a feat that no other film of the genre has been able to surpass to this day. Shyamalan then followed his huge success with the equally impressive "Unbreakable"(2000), Shyamalan's take on the superhero tale and although "Unbreakable" lacked the mind blowing twist ending of "The Sixth Sense" it is still one of his most ingenious and thought provoking works. Then two years later Shyamalan tackled the frequently told tale of visitors from another world with "Signs"(2002) using his signature flare and stark storytelling to create his finest work since his breakout film "The Sixth Sense.â Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
RansackAug 11, 2010
The Last Airbender is what you might call "a movie you must see because it was an awesome tv show" don't some people realize that most cartoon adaptations don't work? Obviously this one didn't, because of its poorly constructed plot, poorThe Last Airbender is what you might call "a movie you must see because it was an awesome tv show" don't some people realize that most cartoon adaptations don't work? Obviously this one didn't, because of its poorly constructed plot, poor acting, and racism. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
mehAug 11, 2010
The animated version is far and away the pinnacle of its existence. This movie felt far short of that pinnacle. Stiff acting, bad casting and the machinations of M. Night ruined what would have been an epic film. Now, it's just one ofThe animated version is far and away the pinnacle of its existence. This movie felt far short of that pinnacle. Stiff acting, bad casting and the machinations of M. Night ruined what would have been an epic film. Now, it's just one of those movies used to babysit your nephew on a Saturday night. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
YujunWuAug 11, 2010
Agree with you
JohnM.
Jul 2, 2010
The effects and action scenes where well done, but the dialogue suffers as it feels like it was zooming through the avatar universe.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
TylerSJul 6, 2010
Poorly written, rushed plot, horrible dialog, painful acting, amazing effects, ok fight scenes. The "benders" took way to long to get the elements moving. Watch the cartoon series and skip this disaster.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
2
DaveCJul 6, 2010
I have to hand it to M. Night, he is THE most consistent director in Hollywood... Every film he makes is consistently worse then the last! Check out all his movies on metacritic: 64, 62, 59, 44, 36, 34, 20... in that order!
9 of 11 users found this helpful
2
DaveJul 6, 2010
Being a huge fan of the animated series on Nickelodeon, I was skeptical when I heard that that a live action movie was in the works, and it seems my skepticism was well placed. Everything I loved about the animation was missing in this film, Being a huge fan of the animated series on Nickelodeon, I was skeptical when I heard that that a live action movie was in the works, and it seems my skepticism was well placed. Everything I loved about the animation was missing in this film, most notably the personalities of the characters. Where the television cartoon had wonderful character, in this movie they might as well have all been zombies. Horrible acting, overworked dialog and for a movie that was supposedly 3-D, only about 5% of it was visibly so. I had to keep taking off my glasses to see the diffference and honestly it was hard to tell then too... This was the first book in four if they follow the animated program. I won't bother with the other 3 films. I wish now I spent the money to check out 'The Karate Kid' instead. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AangAJul 6, 2010
1) My name is Aang not Oong! Everyone else's name is correct, why not mine? 2) My markings (Arrow) are a lite blue (kind of turqoust) color with no hieroglyphics. And it goes all the way down and around my body (arm and legs). 3) 1) My name is Aang not Oong! Everyone else's name is correct, why not mine? 2) My markings (Arrow) are a lite blue (kind of turqoust) color with no hieroglyphics. And it goes all the way down and around my body (arm and legs). 3) I'm a kid that loves to play around in all the books. I'm not that serious, yet. 4) Sakka, is a comedic strategist who loves to pick on his sister. He is not a serious warrior. 5) Katara, is a strong courageous and inspiring leader, not a needy little girl. 6) The "Fire Nation" wants to take over the world. They don't care about the spirit world. This movie was the worst movie my kids and I saw all year! We walked out very disapointed. My recommendation to all of my friends is to wait for the dvd to see me and not to waste your money! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakePJul 6, 2010
Absolutely terrible in every respect. The movie was incredibly dull; I found myself more concerned with how uncomfortable the seats were than what was going on in the movie. The acting was incredibly poor, the special effects at times were Absolutely terrible in every respect. The movie was incredibly dull; I found myself more concerned with how uncomfortable the seats were than what was going on in the movie. The acting was incredibly poor, the special effects at times were okay, but nothing special. The fight choreography was the worst I've seen in quite some time. The plot had more holes in it than old socks. Moreover, there was absolutely NO character development. We aren't given any reason to care about Sokka, Aang, or Katara! They are just there. I went into the theater unaware of the bad reviews or anything like that, and I thought it was absolutely terrible. Why do they allow M. Knight to continue making movies? This was so poorly written that no matter who directed it, it wouldn't come out with decent reviews. A failure in every possible way. I guess if you are going to fail, fail big. That's exactly what M. Knight did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KenFJul 6, 2010
How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can How is it possible that no one has caught on yet? M. Night Shyamalan is a JOKE FILMMAKER! He's a latter day Andy Kauffman. I was shocked that no one seemed to catch on after The Happening. A man slapped a lion in the face! How can people have attempted to take this film seriously? It was obviously a comedy. This film is exactly the same. You can't tell me that it wasn't a joke for him to cast Aasif Mondvi as the heavy, or that the entire cast woodenly reciting terrible and mostly pointless dialog would have passed muster for any major studio film that wasn't intended to be taken with tongue firmly in cheek. Seriously, this movie was a comedy, and the joke was on everyone who tried to take it seriously. One of the more enjoyable movies I've seen this year. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
1
anonymousanonymousJul 6, 2010
The only reason this movie doesn't get a 0 is because of the cool special effects (saw it in 2-D). If you're a fan of the show don't watch it, the horrible script, worse acting, worse camera work, and worse decision to take The only reason this movie doesn't get a 0 is because of the cool special effects (saw it in 2-D). If you're a fan of the show don't watch it, the horrible script, worse acting, worse camera work, and worse decision to take the fun out of it make this an awful movie. the fight scenes weren't very good either, unlike in the show it looks like interpretive dance. I didn't like anything in the movie besides the special effects, and it basically ruined the show for me. don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ChadSJul 6, 2010
"You think you're heaven-sent/Gonna get your halo bent," goes Calvin Johnson, as only the ex-Beat Happening frontman can, on "Halo Bender" from The Halo Benders' second album "Don't Tell Me Now"(a collaborative effort with "You think you're heaven-sent/Gonna get your halo bent," goes Calvin Johnson, as only the ex-Beat Happening frontman can, on "Halo Bender" from The Halo Benders' second album "Don't Tell Me Now"(a collaborative effort with Built to Spill's lead singer Doug Martsch), a song that perfectly captures the egomaniacal auteur's fall from grace, especially when the atonal godfather of indie ululates(with some paraphrasing): "It's the ["Last Air]bender"/A real career-ender," which sadly just might be the case. So murky, so haphazardly executed are the special effects, let alone, "mis-en-scene" after "mis-en-scene", it wouldn't be a stretch to say that this would-be fantasy epic is, at times, the filmic equivalent of ramshackle indie rock. Clearly, staging action scenes is not this writer/director's forte. They have the look of a full-dress rehearsal with the cameras rolling. For instance, a confrontation that pits Aang and the Earth Benders against the Fire Benders seem to unfold a step too slow, as the Avatar(Ana Eng from the They Might Be Giants song would have been more entertaining), who seems to control air with the use of hula, is undermined by elemental special effects that materialize at an almost glacial pace, as the mortal enemies use air, water, and fire against each other to farcical effect. Even worse than the failed stabs at spectacle, the filmmaker, who normally coaxes wonderful performances out of his young perfomers(Rory Culkin & Abigail Breslin from "Signs", and especially, Haley Joel Osment from "The Sixth Sense"), gets three bewilderingly bad ones here(especially Jackson Rathbone: Is Sokka supposed to be a coke addict?), although to be fair, the dialogue is atrocious in its sheer perfuntoriness; the words nothing more than time-filers to bide time before the next incompetent action set-piece. While Aang's true identity and the James Cameron film both sharing the same name can't be helped, the filmmaker, like M.C. Hammer going after Michael Jackson(back in the day), seemingly wants moviegoers to think of him in Cameron's league, since "The Last Airbender" references "The Abyss"(the water-shaping and the giant wave), which is unfortunate because the abyss is where this prodigiously talented(but obviously slumping) filmmaker is heading toward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AngtheairbenderJul 5, 2010
Well, Metacritc's score is almost spot on. This film has tons of problems. And you can tell this film was rushed so badly and almost no heart was put into it. The characters have little personality, and if you're going to this film Well, Metacritc's score is almost spot on. This film has tons of problems. And you can tell this film was rushed so badly and almost no heart was put into it. The characters have little personality, and if you're going to this film to see the cleverness and for all of the great memorable characters, you will be very disappointed. Almost no humor is present, and Sokka doesn't even tell one joke in the entire film or make a sarcastic remark, which is what his whole character is about!! The effects are mediocre at best, and could've been so much better. I don't know why the say some of the names differently, which is stupid. The charcters hardly resemble themselves from the series except Katara and Sokka which made me happy, but then again Sokka isn't funny at all, and all Katara does is cry and protect Aang. I hated all the things they changed in this movie too; it just ruined it and insulted my intelligence.. The only scenes I appreciated and liked isthe beginning in the South Pole, the blue-spirit scenes and the very end. And the action scenes you see in the trailers, is basically all of the action that's in the movie, which just ruins it even more. Shyamalan didn't care about this movie at all or very little. The entire first season crammed into 90 minutes is not enough for this film, and if he cared about it, he would give the fans what they wanted and make it a 2 1/2 hour film with an extended edition for the die-hard fans and actually have character-development and a story that resembles the actually first season by 70% atleast... It just makes me sad that this film was made, it should've never been created in the first place, and did nothing for the fans and it tells you Shyamalan cares more about money than us... I'm so angry; I could've written a screen-play ten times better than this!! And I wish I could direct a new-film just to get it right!!! The only reason it deserves a four which is being nice, is that it looks like some effort was put into it and atleast they got some characters that resembled their animated counterparts and it was somewhat related to Book One and gave me inspiration to write my own screenplay to redo this horrible masterpiece, and making go back to watching and appreciating the animated series even more. Have super low expectations if you see this... Short Review: It's not a good film and it will disappoint many Avatar fans, and the characters have no personalities and the film is way too rushed. Also has lots of stupid changes and Shymalan is a horrible director. Don't see this in the theaters, rent it if you're a fan or you just want to entertain and calm down some kids or just for a good pop-corn film. I would've liked this film more if I didn't see this in the theatres, because I expect such a better experience. Have low expectations in be in a good mood for a better experience. 4/10. Shorter Review: Just rent it if you're a fan with very low expectations. 4/10. I don't have much to say about the acting since they're just kids and haven't really started an acting career yet. And is mostly Shyamalan's fault for not being a better director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SunnySJul 5, 2010
I'm a fan of the series. A huge fan really. I believe M Night really tried hard to create a good movie, but the idea of this movie should have been dropped ages ago. The main problem was is that such a HUGE storyline had to be covered I'm a fan of the series. A huge fan really. I believe M Night really tried hard to create a good movie, but the idea of this movie should have been dropped ages ago. The main problem was is that such a HUGE storyline had to be covered in a matter of less than two hours. Therefore, the entire movie suffered. Parts were left out, random stuff had to be made up. Also, the characters were pretty bad, and were under-developed as a rest. Other problems include that the director, for whatever reason, decided to change fundamental parts of the series. Idk why he made the fire nation a bunch of brownies and made the protagonists white. Also did he really have to change the pronunciations? It was a noble effort, but it was truly a dismal failure. I like the graphics though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveFJul 5, 2010
Character names mispronounced, the story drastically altered save for the beginning and the end of the first season, terrible acting, and much much more. The bending in this movie is frantic and long winded compared to the series, taking Character names mispronounced, the story drastically altered save for the beginning and the end of the first season, terrible acting, and much much more. The bending in this movie is frantic and long winded compared to the series, taking multiple gestures to move even the smallest amount of an element, and the fire benders can't even generate their own flame. All in all in was just poorly executed from its very creation, I wish I could get my 12 bucks back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobMJul 5, 2010
I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
5
CAJul 5, 2010
Not horrible... could have been better. Still fun and wasn't a waste of time. I'd buy the DVD.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jplJul 5, 2010
ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to ok. I watched the series from start to finish and will eventually have the dvd set. I really dont get the reviews saying its the worst movie of all time. I mean its a nicktoon series. **if you expected lord of the rings then you deserve to be dissapointed** I did think it was too short and certain things were left out. Pronounciation of certain names were a non issue to me. I think people are reading much more into this movie than they should have. Its a childrens cartoon series made into live action movie and M.N.S did a pretty decent job. Yes the acting was a little off but have any of you seen the cartoon? No oscard for the cartoon or movie for sure. Its still a GREAT family movie that me and my niece and nephew enjoyed. **yes it seemed rushed **yes the pronounciation was off (((who cares)) **yes stuff was left out.. ((cant have a 12 hour movie folks)) **yes it was a GREAT MOVIE. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
7
LouiseRJul 5, 2010
If you liked the Avatar series on Nickelodeon, this is worth seeing. It's a little slow in spots and obviously it's difficult to condense a year of the series into one movie, but I liked it a lot and look forward to Book 2.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
CharlesBJul 5, 2010
The movie missed more than scenes. The characters' names were mispronounced throughout the film. My god, all you have to do is watch the episodes on streaming Netflix to get the name pronunciation correct! Secondly, all the characters The movie missed more than scenes. The characters' names were mispronounced throughout the film. My god, all you have to do is watch the episodes on streaming Netflix to get the name pronunciation correct! Secondly, all the characters spoke in the same voice as M. Night Shyamalan. There was no character development because the characters were too busy delivering exposition of what they were going to do next like films from the '60s. The television series' dialogue actually relayed the personalities of the characters. The word usage, delivery, etc. was perfect in the series. The pacing of the movie was horrendous! M. Night Shymalan is supposedly making this a trilogy based on the other three books (Water, Earth, and Fire). He could have easily took pivotal scenes from the series that illustrated relationships, character development, and action into a single fail-proof storyline. Instead, he used the series as inspiration to his dull mediocre script writing. What studio executives deemed him worthy to write a movie? All his movies have subpar writing. Someone at Nickelodeon lend this man a writer! Now, let's move onto the casting. How are you going to place Sokka and Katara in an eskimo village, yet make them as white as the whitest people in Denmark? A story about Chinese folklore, which uses Chinese characters throughout the series should be appropriately casted. This isn't Charlton Heston in the Ten Commandments and segregation is running rampant throughout the land! M. Night truly left me scratching my head on his casting choices, especially with The Karate Kid (aka The Kung Fu Kid) casting Asian thespians. Directing is a different monster. It is a skill that is only learned with practice. After M. Night Shyamalan has poorly directed previous movies, one would believe a child/teen movie, which has a plethora of resource material, would be easier to manage and direct. I sadly viewed this poor choice of cameras, unbelievable acting, and poor cinematic effects throughout the movie. It was like watching a colorblind child paint by numbers with his feet in a dark room. Now, to the special effects, action sequences, and element bending! This was totally amateur hour at the Apollo. While the bending was horribly used, the martial arts (aka meditative Tai Chi scenes that littered the movie in order to drag it out) showed promise, but eventually let you down when infused into combat. SPOILER ALERT! Why would you cut the one trailer scene that stuck in everyone's head from the movie. Watching Aang bend the elements from the top of temple was awesome. When I thought Hype Williams held the worst movie of all time title with Belly, here comes M. Night Shyamalan with his alchemy to turn an almost perfect animated series into the worst cinematic effort done in mainstream Hollywood. Believe me, mainstream Hollywood continually makes worse and worse efforts. I don't fault the writing team of the Avatar television series for not assisting Mr. Shyamalan, but I do fault Nickelodeon for allowing this debauchery to pass through focus groups and test. I will not continue my critique of this film because this film suffers from more problems than words in a 90-page script. I just two question for all the Hollywood executives out there. How does M. Night Shyamalan get new projects to ruin? Why do the studios respect this obviously arrogant amateur that hasn't learned from his previous mistakes or respect the source material of his movies? I really wanted M. Night Shyamalan to win against the Hollywood machine. However, he's the Icarus of the Industry, and this film was him allowing his own cloudy vision take him too close to the Sun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MatthewLJul 5, 2010
I was impressed in this movie. The dialogue might be dull at times, but the story was compelling and easy to know. I really like the special effects, the 3-D use, the battles, the music. I jsut like the film, even the acting was good. Come I was impressed in this movie. The dialogue might be dull at times, but the story was compelling and easy to know. I really like the special effects, the 3-D use, the battles, the music. I jsut like the film, even the acting was good. Come on fans, you will like it. Don't let the negative reviews get on you, it is a enjoyable film. See it in 3-D. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JordacheR.Jul 5, 2010
This movie was horrible. No one on the cast could act, or pronounce anything right. The plot itself was taken from season 1 of the cartoon, but the events were so mixed up, jumbled, and changed for the worse. It was like M. Night Shyamalan This movie was horrible. No one on the cast could act, or pronounce anything right. The plot itself was taken from season 1 of the cartoon, but the events were so mixed up, jumbled, and changed for the worse. It was like M. Night Shyamalan didn't even watch a single episode before making this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JanaiLJul 5, 2010
That movie was horrible it made me sooooooo mad they said names wrong, skipped a lot of important information, had horrible actors and actress, mad Appa look scary and ugly. I am a HUGE fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender and during the whole That movie was horrible it made me sooooooo mad they said names wrong, skipped a lot of important information, had horrible actors and actress, mad Appa look scary and ugly. I am a HUGE fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender and during the whole movie i sat there thinking in my head what in the world is this thats not how they found the Avatar thats not what even happen snd why is Aang soo serious hes a 12 year old kid in the cartoon he is a fun goofy kid i mean during the whole movie it was "I will save them" "something is wrong with the fire nation" i mean come on really imma end with this i was highly afended that Zuko was not hot and where was the scar on his face i mean i didnt see squat and by the way don't spend an extra $5.45 to see in 3D its not worth it M. NIght never again you need to quit like now!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChrisB.Jul 5, 2010
Such a horrible adaption of a great cartoon. Was so disappointed in this. I also couldn't believe he would get the names wrong of all things. Did M. Night even doing any research before filming this. Don't waste your time or money Such a horrible adaption of a great cartoon. Was so disappointed in this. I also couldn't believe he would get the names wrong of all things. Did M. Night even doing any research before filming this. Don't waste your time or money on this pile of garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MonkeyloverJul 5, 2010
they cant create fire out of nothing, iroh isnt fat ( and now its eeroh) aang is now ong, sokka is Soekka appa is ugly momo is there but never even given a name, and just sits in thebackround, people are to serious, HORRIBLE ACTING except they cant create fire out of nothing, iroh isnt fat ( and now its eeroh) aang is now ong, sokka is Soekka appa is ugly momo is there but never even given a name, and just sits in thebackround, people are to serious, HORRIBLE ACTING except maybe dev pattel and ms. sparks, but thats because everyone around them sucks so much. fights are boring compared to the cartoon series, and there is no giant fish thing at the end. however it did have a nice explosion, and the end made me cry. because it was so horribly bad. oh, and no kiyosho warriors. who wouldn't want to see sokka in a dress for comedic effect? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesBJul 5, 2010
According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that According to many reviewers, both the cartoon and the movie used racial categories for their characters, but they differed from the cartoon to the movie. How does that make the movie racist, but not the tv show? That's like saying that a movie where a woman defeats a man is sexist, but one where a man defeats a woman is not. It's completely illogical. In my opinion, this movie did a fine job of showing that none of the races (as defined by element, not by skin tone) were inherently evil, good, heroic, or corrupt. The movie showed many inoffensive, interesting, or even heroic characters within the fire nation, and at least one corrupt character from another nation (the monk who betrays Aang--sorry for the spoiler.) Compare this with the utter racist filth that characterized the film 300, or with the pretentious, implicitly racist assumptions of the film Avatar, and one has to wonder why this charming, but not particularly bloody or hate-filled, film has won the worst condemnation from our culture. Perhaps just for not being adequately ironic or spiteful? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
DavidRJul 5, 2010
Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new Really enjoyed it. Keep in mind the first start trek movie. They have to explain a lot, because the magic is the original parts of the story. So yes, fans of the tv show are bored with stories they already know, but what about the people new to the story? Keep in mind all the reviews are from fans of the shows. Of course the movie is going to deviate from the show. I had a wonderful time and enjoyed the movie a lot. My one critisism is that Sokka was not funny enough. They went for goodlooking instead. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
3
BrianOJul 5, 2010
My 4 year old loved only as a 4 year old could. Now me as the grown-up I was highly disappointed. I knew that taking such a rich tapistry such as Avatar:The Last Airbender and adapting it for the silverscreen would be a challege. But M. My 4 year old loved only as a 4 year old could. Now me as the grown-up I was highly disappointed. I knew that taking such a rich tapistry such as Avatar:The Last Airbender and adapting it for the silverscreen would be a challege. But M. Night gets a big F in writing. First he screws up the entire sub-plot of the series, which is the love story of Aang and Kateria which is one of the most endearing parts of the series. Secondly he ignores important foreshaddowing senerios, and dismisses entire major charatcters. Did anyone else miss the Keoshi warriors or Jung Jung? Both which are important elements the later books. The relationship between Zuko, and Iroh was underdeveloped. And last but not least the timeing of important dioglouge was misplaced. On the good visually the movie (in 2D) was well done, and the costumes were correct. The biggest mistake was letting M. Night write the adaption. A well written story can keep an audience in there seats and interested for .3 or 4 hours at a time, Think of Gahndi, or Lawerance of Arabia. Unfortantely, he tried to put a Persian Miniature on a postage stamp, and failed in his effort. Should the series be continued I recommend letting the orginator write the screen adaption. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CourtneyLJul 5, 2010
This is one of my favorite series and M. Knight completely ruined it. I was so excited to hear that they have turned this show into a movie. All great expectations went down the drain during the movie. Even the creators of the show This is one of my favorite series and M. Knight completely ruined it. I was so excited to hear that they have turned this show into a movie. All great expectations went down the drain during the movie. Even the creators of the show pronounced the characters names correctly, so why is it that they changed it? It sounds so stupid. If you have never seen the series, i find that you are going to be SO lost. The actors could have been so much better. Sokka was awful and sukos scar was hardly even there! Aang was not light hearted and Katara was just there. Why did the creators let M. Knight direct this film? He obviously has no idea what he's doing. I'm so upset. The movie is a disaster. I hope when they do the next two books, a new director/actors are chosen. Better yet, they should redo the whole f****** film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
terrygJul 4, 2010
Needless to say, as a fan of the cartoon, I was deeply disappointed. The movie felt rushed & peiced together,there was no character development, the dialouge was horrible, and the acting was literally laughable. I do not understand how Needless to say, as a fan of the cartoon, I was deeply disappointed. The movie felt rushed & peiced together,there was no character development, the dialouge was horrible, and the acting was literally laughable. I do not understand how M.Knight can take something that was handed to him a a silver platter and mess it up so badly. There is just no reason for this. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DylanCJul 4, 2010
Quite possibly the WORST movie I've ever watched and I've watched a lot of movies! Bad acting, bad script, just plain bad. The special effects are the only reason this movie gets a 1 instead of a 0.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CharlesfJul 4, 2010
This is not a good movie. Very, very poorly done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherHJul 4, 2010
Not nearly as bad as the drones are saying. Geez, it's like they've got a personal score to settle with the reviews. Was it great, no; but my 9-year old loved it. In the grand scheme, who is this movie for anyway!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronDJul 4, 2010
Decent. Had some stilted acting towards the beginning, but overall good (especially in 3D).
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JazzHJul 4, 2010
M. Night is best at original not putting his artistic spin on an adaption. He white-washed the whole cast not one other leading actors were Asian. Why was Dev Pevel casted let alone considered he doesn't look nothing like prince zuko M. Night is best at original not putting his artistic spin on an adaption. He white-washed the whole cast not one other leading actors were Asian. Why was Dev Pevel casted let alone considered he doesn't look nothing like prince zuko and didn't attempt to what happen to the hair cut what happen to the burn over his eye. If they do still make chapter two in to a movie I hope it's re-casted w/ possibly with a new director otherwise it's already lost me as a fan! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PhillipRJul 4, 2010
Had potential but did not deliver a single drop or it. I was really anticipating this movie but ended up greatly disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OliviaRJul 4, 2010
I rather plunge to my death than watch three seconds of this "movie." But hey, at least we all know that M Night hasn't lost it! He hasn't lost the ability to induce mass suicide. It's a shame that I don't have an actual I rather plunge to my death than watch three seconds of this "movie." But hey, at least we all know that M Night hasn't lost it! He hasn't lost the ability to induce mass suicide. It's a shame that I don't have an actual "movie" to review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoradTJul 4, 2010
Think Dragonball Evolution but WORSE. Nuff said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewBJul 4, 2010
With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work With a running time of under 2 hours, the film covers the events of the entire first season... the plot felt really rushed as they tried to relay as much information to the audience as possible, and the kid playing Aang really needs to work on his acting skills to compliment his kung fu... but the film had some great filming, some excellent special effects, and some truly awesome fight scenes. The movie is not completely broken, but everything happens way to fast to really allow for a smooth flow of events. I'm really hoping they break the sequels up into two 2 hour films to allow for more development with the characters and events. I still enjoyed it and think it is worth seeing, but the plot really is way too crammed for a 1 hour and 40 minute film to cover. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
EMJul 4, 2010
No surprise the movie sucked given the director at the helm. What is most criminal and continues to be Hollywood's most befuddling mystery: why/how M. Night continues to get projects (to destroy). My kids were doubly disappointed, first No surprise the movie sucked given the director at the helm. What is most criminal and continues to be Hollywood's most befuddling mystery: why/how M. Night continues to get projects (to destroy). My kids were doubly disappointed, first by the movie being simply so bad, but second -- and more importantly -- their expectations were crushed given their sheer enjoyment for the animated series. They had such high hopes, and yet I kept warning them that M. Night directing was a very bad sign, he's ruined one movie after another. Daddy was right again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CharlesRJul 4, 2010
everything fun or heartwarming or joyful was bleached, wrung, beaten on a rock and then hung out in the breeze. And then it rained and a volcano erupted and all the ash stuck on. This is the in-flight movie they play on that handbasket to Hell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AustinS.Jul 4, 2010
I don't get it. How could he possibly ruin this movie??? All he needed was to copy and paste the scripts from the original series, add in some appropriate actors for the role (perhaps some that had emotions and fit the race roles), and I don't get it. How could he possibly ruin this movie??? All he needed was to copy and paste the scripts from the original series, add in some appropriate actors for the role (perhaps some that had emotions and fit the race roles), and get the names right. Instead we get slow action with incomprehensible plot line. I thought the series was amazing and would love to see the second two with all new actors, except for Dev Pate who did welll, and replace Shyamalan with the original writers and directors. Shyamalan hasn't had a decent movie since The Sixth Sense. I see dead career for this director and writer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JJJul 4, 2010
Uwe Boll eat your heart out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanNJul 4, 2010
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
8
B.P.Jul 4, 2010
Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
8
JamareeMJul 3, 2010
ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie ALRIGHT, yes the movie wasn't perfect, there were some things they needed to work on, yes, but let's think about this...he had TWO hours, and ONLY two hours to place all of Book One into. NOW, a cartoon to movie/ comic to movie isn't supposed to PERFECTLY replicate the thing it is picked off from, it is SUPPOSED to be used to make an exciting experience to people new to the series to get people to read/watch the thing the movie was made from, and Avatar did a good job, with the limited time they have, and if you are one of those people who think, "Oh, the voices weren't perfect, or the people weren't perfect." I want to to tell me ONE live action movie where the people look the EXACT same as the people they portray as WELL as sound the same. So in conclusion, they did a good job with the time and resources they had. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
LucianoJul 3, 2010
I'm a big fan of the tv show the butchard the movie paramount should be boycotted for this sh%T. I have never been so disappionted. what were they thinking. was mks drunk or high when he made the movie. find out were the 150 mill went I'm a big fan of the tv show the butchard the movie paramount should be boycotted for this sh%T. I have never been so disappionted. what were they thinking. was mks drunk or high when he made the movie. find out were the 150 mill went because it didn't go in to the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
brandonwJul 3, 2010
I'm giving the last airbender a B- the fight sceens where exciting to watch but the diologe throught the movie was really horrible and character developet was not as good but they did enogh to make a ok movie.
4 of 9 users found this helpful
10
SteveW.Jul 3, 2010
If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
0
joshuas.Jul 3, 2010
A terrible script intensified by the abysmal acting destroys this already lackluster action film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlistairF.Jul 3, 2010
Uwe Boll, should have been the director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrishennJul 3, 2010
Hollywood needs to stop its racist casting if it expects to continue to appeal to a non-white audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
yuyof.Jul 3, 2010
The most horrible and bad made film EVER! Night lost his good direction and talent. Poor man that steal money from poor Americans. He is a talent-less man. Can we sue him? Fire him from making movies. My rate? F
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NeilPJul 3, 2010
If anyone has even watched the anime show, they'll know that those dumb hour long fancy movements that they shoved at us in the movie will have left right when they saw it because it doesn't take literally 30 seconds of arm If anyone has even watched the anime show, they'll know that those dumb hour long fancy movements that they shoved at us in the movie will have left right when they saw it because it doesn't take literally 30 seconds of arm exercises to bend water in the real show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisAJul 3, 2010
One of the worst movies I've seen. The effects were off (and by off i mean not timed right at all) the actors were cardboard cutouts and had NO comedy (like the series does) at all. The plot had soo many holes and scenes missing. One of the worst movies I've seen. The effects were off (and by off i mean not timed right at all) the actors were cardboard cutouts and had NO comedy (like the series does) at all. The plot had soo many holes and scenes missing. Overall one of the worst movies I've seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EbriamHJul 3, 2010
Not good, just not good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeY.Jul 3, 2010
My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
AndrewLJul 3, 2010
Anyone rating this higher than a 4 is just trying to trick you into making a terrible, terrible mistake. The movie was feculent. Poor acting, endless exposition, completely drained of humor and characterization. You could do a seminar on how Anyone rating this higher than a 4 is just trying to trick you into making a terrible, terrible mistake. The movie was feculent. Poor acting, endless exposition, completely drained of humor and characterization. You could do a seminar on how not to make a movie from this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WilliamJJul 3, 2010
This Movie was very dissapointing. The acting was very horrible, the script was plain, and the climax was very anti-climatic. I had high expectations for this movie...but it was a struggle to stay asleep. May I please get back the hour + I This Movie was very dissapointing. The acting was very horrible, the script was plain, and the climax was very anti-climatic. I had high expectations for this movie...but it was a struggle to stay asleep. May I please get back the hour + I spent painfully in theatre? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickC.Jul 3, 2010
I spent $13 on a ticket to see "The Last Airbender" in 3D on opening night. I was nervous due to the overwhelmingly negative response by professional movie critics everywhere. Critics very rarely tend to agree with each other, and yet they I spent $13 on a ticket to see "The Last Airbender" in 3D on opening night. I was nervous due to the overwhelmingly negative response by professional movie critics everywhere. Critics very rarely tend to agree with each other, and yet they were united in their stance that this movie was cinematic trash. Yet, I still gave the movie the benefit of the doubt because I had enjoyed some poorly reviewed movies in the past and I was a fan of the animated series on Nickelodeon. This was the biggest mistake I have made in all of my life. Everything about the cartoon has been lost in translation to film, even things as simple as the pronunciation of the main character's name. The screenplay and dialogue were extremely poorly written. The acting could have been great and it wouldn't have saved this movie, but it's arguably one of the worst parts of the movie. The 3D effects are completely unnecessary and for about 75% of the movie, there are next to no 3D effects. I have seen plenty of bad films in my life, and thankfully none of them have been memorable. This movie stands alone however, because I will never be able to forget just how awful this movie was. It is, with no exaggeration, the worst movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertW.Jul 3, 2010
Very well done for fans of the cartoon, and even people who did not watch the cartoon liked it.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
ShawnBJul 3, 2010
This movie is a colossal waste of time. Critical aspects of the plot were left out, the movie scenes hopped around at a dizzying rate, the acting was thoroughly unconvincing, and the explanations were excessive and sometimes confusing. The This movie is a colossal waste of time. Critical aspects of the plot were left out, the movie scenes hopped around at a dizzying rate, the acting was thoroughly unconvincing, and the explanations were excessive and sometimes confusing. The characters had no depth. The bending -- which is thier ability to manipulate air, water, fire, and earth -- was just a bunch of weak tai chi moves with a little a bit of special effects at the end. The ending was ridiculous. This movie was bad, very bad. If you were into the series, you're going to need counseling after the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
YoungH.Jul 3, 2010
Horrible directing.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JamesJul 3, 2010
I typically trust Ebert, Travers, and others here who awarded this film such scathing reviews. But for some reason I still felt the need to see this movie, thinking that these critics were sometimes subject to harsh overstatement. I typically trust Ebert, Travers, and others here who awarded this film such scathing reviews. But for some reason I still felt the need to see this movie, thinking that these critics were sometimes subject to harsh overstatement. Unfortunately, this movie was unfathomably bad, and one of the worst films I've seen since 10,000 BC. Do not waste your money on this. The more who do, the more likely it is that the studio will let him make a follow-up, and that is something that nobody wants. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
EJJul 3, 2010
I am 17 years old and i loved the avatar series and my opinion of this movie is comming from a fan of the show's point of view; being that I am a part of the teenage demographic that this movie was targeting, I think I can speak for I am 17 years old and i loved the avatar series and my opinion of this movie is comming from a fan of the show's point of view; being that I am a part of the teenage demographic that this movie was targeting, I think I can speak for most airbender fans. this was by far the biggest disaster of a movie I have seen since Dragon Ball came out. I guess the best way to write this review is by the rating scale provided by yahoo: story, acting, direction, visuals, and overall. Story: I have got to give them credit for trying to stick to the series's storyline, but they made a massive fail in execution. The movie tried way too hard to reenact each episode and fit it into a movie that's under 2 hours long. also, the fire benders couldn't bend fire out of the air (all but one) which was EXTREMELY disappointing and i didnt understand why they chose to make that change. Acting: As for the acting of the movie, it was horrendous: everyone in the film either over-acted the whole time or didn't act it out enough to make me feel attached to the characters. when there was tragedy going on I either felt like "what?" or "so, I've only seen you in like 3 minutes of screen time. who cares if your not around anymore." in other words, I never got attached to the characters like i usually do in good films. some of the dramatic moments were actually more humorous than sad. Direction: the direction of this movie was EVERYWHERE! I watched all of the episodes from the cartoon since it came out when i was about 14 years old so i know all about what they talked about in the movie with no explanation necessary, but for anyone that was new to the airbender storyline would have no idea what was going on after about 1/3 of the way through. they mentioned very important things from the series that play a major part in the story very quickly with little or no explanation IE: the "hidden library" was HUGE in the series and definitely required more talking than it was given in the movie, the spirit world left you feeling confused about what was going on, and alot more that im not even going to get into. Visuals: the bending in the movie really left you wanting more (not in a good way), it was super disappointing and did not look very fun to watch. the bending looked more like a dance with no elemental outcome than bending. im not too concerned with "the scar" that everyone in getting all worked up about, because if someone had a burn wound like he did in real life it would look very similar to what we saw in the film. anyway, i wish they had put more effort out on the bending factor and not chose to skip or shorten fight scenes by merely "scaring" away the bad guys (you'll understand if you dare to watch this movie). Overall: the movie was overall a cop-out of a film. i guarantee that the fans would have loved to wait a little longer for the films release if they would have gotten a better job on just about everything in the movie. I'd like to end this review on a good note and that note is..... (drum role) the trailers were pretty sweet looking, just watch them and bask in the mystery of not watching the film. trust me, it'll be better if you not know what it actually looks like, just use those images to visualize what it looks like and you will have a better time thinking about it, i did. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KennyJul 3, 2010
The movie's effects were awesome, but everything else could have been better. The characters' dialogue was very awkward and lacking that certain feel. I watched some of the cartoon episodes and Aang's character was portrayed The movie's effects were awesome, but everything else could have been better. The characters' dialogue was very awkward and lacking that certain feel. I watched some of the cartoon episodes and Aang's character was portrayed differently in the film. Aang, as I recall, was quite carefree and had fun in the cartoon. In the film, however, Aang is very serious and I don't think he smiled once throughout the film. The story did not have good transitions. I mean I could follow what is occurring, but again it could have been better. I was very bored during the film probably because I did not really care for the characters. My friend who had wanted to see the film fell asleep and so did the person sitting on my other side in theaters. Again, the only parts of the film I enjoyed was the effects. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful
10
FranzJul 2, 2010
Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful
9
mikegJul 2, 2010
Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special Did anyone agt all watch the seires???? jizz look the film followed a more serious note of the avatar series everyone was cast well except uncle. the film hit the major parts of the first season spot on and was beautifully rendered special effects. it sets up great for the rest of the seires. which would be another three films book two earth and then a two part book three due to the excessive amount of story to be told. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
7
JoshuaJJul 2, 2010
The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new The opening titles for this film is well presented, but the live action attempt at making the introduction of the show seem to be out of placed, and cheesy, considering how since the whole martial art theme in films are overdone, and for new comers of this story, they might feel that this is going to be what they've been seeing for a long time. The first ten minutes to fifteen minutes of the film literally mimics the first scenes in the first episode of the Avatar: The Last Airbender, and though I can say hardcore fans are satisfied, but for the new audience they might feel that the first fifteen minutes were very rushed in terms with pacing, and cheesy when it came to dialogue, and utterly complex in story. Though, after this, some narrative came and reminded the audience on what's going on, and what they should focus on. M. Night is obviously trying to get a point across, since the basic story elements can be complexed, and though this story came from a tv show, there can be a full episode with nothing but flashbacks explaining everything. M. Night did well not confusing the new comers, but the transitions with the film when it came to the set change/location change on Aang's journey, this could be worked out much better. The acting within this film is not that bad as what many critics make out to be, and numerous of hardcore fans who have nothing better to do than live in a fantasy world, where films should perfectly depict an Anime-influenced show unto real life. It wasn't Academy Award winning good either, but the actors played out these simple personalities well, and since this is the first season adaption, and if you've been really watching the show, then you'll know these characters really aren't fascinating from the gecko, to where an actor can really bring out that Oscar winning performance. For young actors who played the trio, it's better than watching most young actors who often appear on the Disney Channel. Consider this a good thing. For the villains in this story, the Fire Nation, which consists of the Fire Lord, General, Prince Zuko, and his Uncle, they are B-List actors here who have a good track record, and they provide wonderful performances, and the way M. Night darken this story a little bit on the serious side, these actors pulled it the hell off. You don't know how much I was into it when I watching them on screen, and for the Avatar's actor, Noah Ringer, there is something about this boy that makes me like him, it's his presence that really pulls this film through. The effects within this film is top-notch, and it's different compared to other special effects I've seen in other films this year and last. It's about time that there was more fantasy combat in these fantasy films, besides the creatures. Damn. Really though, there's nothing to say about the effects, but I will say this to get this out, the 3-D version is a bad attempt to get more money. Watch the regular version of this film, and you won't be disappointed if you would be a centralist for once in your life, and look past those neg. reviews. This is my review of the Last Airbender, and it's great to share my opinion, and hopefully we'll get a sequel, because I want M. Night to have another crack at this, this film is worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
2
sameeraJul 2, 2010
I have watched the cartoon series many times over and M Night Shyamlan has made a mess of what was originally a wonderful story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankiPJul 2, 2010
Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
EvanNJul 2, 2010
I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
ToddDJul 2, 2010
100minutes of my life I will never get back. Worst movie I have seen since "To Die For" back in 1995. The story is weak. The cast was horrible. Monkies could have made a better adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JenKJul 2, 2010
Now, I had fun watching this movie, but only because I went with 2 of my friends and we all went in to the movie knowing that it was terrible (so we went just to laugh at it). There are so many flaws with this movie it honestly seems Now, I had fun watching this movie, but only because I went with 2 of my friends and we all went in to the movie knowing that it was terrible (so we went just to laugh at it). There are so many flaws with this movie it honestly seems intentional. The fighting was alright at some points but then it gets to a point where you are thinking "Let's see...you bend water and this fire bender here is using fire, PUT THE GOD DAMN FIRE OUT SO HE CAN'T USE IT!". There is also some very helpful narration brought to you by Katara and it's about as pointless as giving a snake a pair of shoes; the entire movie, instead of letting the audience SEE what is going on you just hear things like "We went this way and Ang was thinking this and that, so blah blah blah". Why do I have to look at a tree in the distance as she is explaining what evidentally happened instead of seeing what ACTUALLY happened instead!? Also there were some of the corniest moments I have ever seen in a movie, in the Last Airbender. It's just too much to rant about...but if you want to see it anyway, expect a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DamonP.Jul 2, 2010
I'm pretty sure The Happening was actually a movie about what happened to people after they watched M. Knight's remake of one of the best animated series ever made. I was close to throwing my body into a moving combine too after I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DillonJul 2, 2010
As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome As a devoted follower of the series, I must ask, "Why is everyone hating M. Night for this?" Granted, the film had B-Movie dialogue and sometimes shaky acting. But all-in-all I found it to be a faithful adaptation of the series. A welcome change to me were correct pronunciations of characters' names. The film was a bit rushed and had lackluster 3-D effects, but I would gladly see it again. I only hope enough people share my opinion that we get a sequel. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JoshM.Jul 2, 2010
When I heard that M. Knight Shyamalan would be directing the live action adaptation of my favorite cartoon of all time, I felt like kicking a puppy. This man is a sham, he is not a director, he is a destroyer of all things glorious. He is When I heard that M. Knight Shyamalan would be directing the live action adaptation of my favorite cartoon of all time, I felt like kicking a puppy. This man is a sham, he is not a director, he is a destroyer of all things glorious. He is nowhere near qualified to direct any film, let alone one with so much potential. He took brilliant source material, and ruined it. I would not be surprised if the script itself was written in crayon. To Shyamalan, I have only one thing to say. I hope this movie buries you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MiguelaJul 2, 2010
This was quite possibly the most disappointing moment of my life, after waiting an entire year for this movie to come out, it fell completely flat, with unnecessary name changes to horrible special effects, to bug-eyed acting, the cartoon is This was quite possibly the most disappointing moment of my life, after waiting an entire year for this movie to come out, it fell completely flat, with unnecessary name changes to horrible special effects, to bug-eyed acting, the cartoon is more life-like and realistic than this. I almost cried in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexanderE.Jul 2, 2010
I enjoyed this movie despite what everyone else is saying about the film, it might not be the best movie to ever hit the screen but i will take this movie any day of the week over sparkling vampires!!!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ParinSJul 2, 2010
Awful, and not helped by the amount of people troling. Collin M. - youz trollin. And I take my hat off to you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MattK.Jul 2, 2010
Your money would be better spent on highly addictive, life threatening drugs, they would do less damage to your intelligence and self-esteem. Terrible movie, and a failure in every imaginable way.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
EchoJ.Jul 2, 2010
For those who have seen the show, the movie was a disaster. The pronunciations were wrong, major events were left out, key characterizations were missing. It was all out horrific and I am appalled that I wasted the money on something that I For those who have seen the show, the movie was a disaster. The pronunciations were wrong, major events were left out, key characterizations were missing. It was all out horrific and I am appalled that I wasted the money on something that I was so looking forward to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
daveS.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was by far one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was terrible, even for a childs movie. The plot was hard to follow, and changing the pronunciation of the characters names was retarded. M. Night should just quit The movie was by far one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was terrible, even for a childs movie. The plot was hard to follow, and changing the pronunciation of the characters names was retarded. M. Night should just quit directing anything, because when its all said and done, the last good movie he made was "The Sixth Sense". I've seen the cartoon and it blows the movie out of the water, and hopefully they don't let him make the next 2 books. (If they're even made because of how crappy the first one was). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CollinM.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
0
MarissaL.Jul 2, 2010
This movie was a travesty in comparison with the original animated series. Endless streams of exposition (sometimes repeated again in a "voice-over flashback"), wooden, wooden dialogue, and nonexistent 3D. The movie also takes the animated This movie was a travesty in comparison with the original animated series. Endless streams of exposition (sometimes repeated again in a "voice-over flashback"), wooden, wooden dialogue, and nonexistent 3D. The movie also takes the animated series' progressive handling of gender and race issues and skewers it. Every villain in the movie is a person of color. Every heroic character with a name is white. Every person of color who does a heroic action--aside from Iroh--needs inspiration from a white character before he can take action. In the movie, a woman never gets to show herself the equal or better of a man in any act that both are capable of doing. And adding a CGI dragon and three 3D CGI dewbacks did nothing to cover the massive amounts of boring exposition, genderfail, and racefail. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AnnaZ.Jul 2, 2010
Ridiculously boring, too much exposition, unconvincing characters and world
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnM.Jul 2, 2010
The effects and action scenes where well done, but the dialogue suffers as it feels like it was zooming through the avatar universe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeremyH.Jul 2, 2010
Just horrible.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
SeanO.Jul 2, 2010
I love the original cartoon of Avatar: The Last Airbender. And I am rarely critical of almost any movie I see. But there were several problems I had with this movie 1. The said several of the character's names wrong. Sokka, Aang, Iroh I love the original cartoon of Avatar: The Last Airbender. And I am rarely critical of almost any movie I see. But there were several problems I had with this movie 1. The said several of the character's names wrong. Sokka, Aang, Iroh were not said like it is said in the cartoon. 2. Why can the Firebenders not bend fire without fire around them? In the cartoon they didn't have to manipulate fire. They could make it on their own. 3. Why are the characters so serious. In the cartoon they are pretty funny and light hearted. Especially Aang and Sokka. In this movie, there was rarely a comical moment to be found. 4. They rushed the story. If you have not seen the cartoon I could definitely see why someone would be put off by what occurred in the movie. It went by so quickly that it was hard to tell what was going on. It is only an hour and 45 minute movie. They could have extended another 30 minutes and told the story better. (Even though another 30 minutes might have been torture to everyone who thinks the script and acting was horrible.) Overall I think with some new direction this could be a good live action crossover. With a new director and new script writer, I think it would be okay. I still found it mildly enjoyable because I love the cartoon so much, but can easily see why people would be put off by it. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful
1
SamanthaS.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was nothing like the cartoon. It left out important details and moved to fast for the viewers. For the people who never seen the cartoon will really be lost to what's going on. Also there is no reason why this should be a 3D The movie was nothing like the cartoon. It left out important details and moved to fast for the viewers. For the people who never seen the cartoon will really be lost to what's going on. Also there is no reason why this should be a 3D movie, there were no special effect...M. Night Shyamalan missed the mark on this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
CranstonP.Jul 2, 2010
M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it. Mispronouncing names, choosing kids who CAN'T act, and failing to develop the characters, has proven that he no longer knows what he is doing. Unless you have seen the M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it. Mispronouncing names, choosing kids who CAN'T act, and failing to develop the characters, has proven that he no longer knows what he is doing. Unless you have seen the series, you will have no idea what is going on. I have seen the series and I spent the entire movie filling in the gaps in my head. Someone else needs to take this project over and remake the first one. Poor form M. Night. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
1
BenJul 2, 2010
Giving this movie a 1 is generous. How does M. Night call himself a fan of the show? How does he call himself a director? Both fans and newcomers will absolutely hate what I begrudgingly call a film. Shame on you M. Night for continuing your Giving this movie a 1 is generous. How does M. Night call himself a fan of the show? How does he call himself a director? Both fans and newcomers will absolutely hate what I begrudgingly call a film. Shame on you M. Night for continuing your egotistical joyride in the movie industry. The only redeeming quality to this movie is that I hope is put the nail in his directorial coffin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyB.Jul 2, 2010
I'll start with the disclaimer that I'm a fan of the series. But I'll set away from that to review this movie on it's own merits. This movie is lacking two key features a movie needs. 1) Characters. It's nothing but I'll start with the disclaimer that I'm a fan of the series. But I'll set away from that to review this movie on it's own merits. This movie is lacking two key features a movie needs. 1) Characters. It's nothing but people saying lines. You could swap around actors and it would have made no difference. There was zero performance in this movie. 2) Story. This movie is a series of events poorly linked together by narration. They tried to compress a whole season of TV storyline into 2 hours, and they failed. At the end of the movie, I felt like I had sat through maybe 30 minutes of a story, despite how much ground they tried to cover. So you may be able to put those two things aside and try and enjoy the action. Good luck. The action is boring. The bending is fairly well done with CGI, but the fight choreography is not interesting at all. it's slow, lacking skill, and looks clumsy. There are not knock down drag out fights in this film. Just weird slow down/speed up cinematography with CG over it. Now, back as a fan of the series. If you love the series don't see this movie. It's not going to ruin your love of the series, it's just not good. They make weird changes, like pronouncing almost every name differently for no reason. Ang is now "awng" and Saka is now "Soo-ka" It's just unexplained and weird. This movie is just like you watch short snippets of the first season, but with poor acting and boring fight choreography. Oh, and how could I forget, the dialogue is first grader material. I mean, it's TERRIBLE. "I searched the library, and found a scroll in the library!" Sometimes a movie will use poor dialogue to help move along the story, or to try and explain a lot in a little time. This move was NOTHING BUT THAT. Right from the start, the first 5 or 10 minutes it was awful, and it continued the whole way through. Honestly, even if these people CAN act, they're going to have a hard time doing it with this dialogue. This movie is the antithesis of the series. No character, no plot, not fun, no good action. It's not just a failure to fans of the series, this movie is a failure to movies as a whole. It's just poor film making from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottM.Jul 2, 2010
Incredibly frustrating and inexplicable debasement of simply wonderful source material.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
KCJul 2, 2010
It was done like he didn't care about the characters and their personalities, and as if pretty graphics with no attention to detail or development = translating an amazing story to the big screen. It was like he watched the series for It was done like he didn't care about the characters and their personalities, and as if pretty graphics with no attention to detail or development = translating an amazing story to the big screen. It was like he watched the series for 10 minutes, cut all the story and left all the "cool looking" parts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful