Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 786 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
74
Negative:
579
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FrankiPJul 2, 2010
Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
MikeY.Jul 3, 2010
My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
EvanNJul 2, 2010
I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BobMJul 5, 2010
I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
7
Helena1313Aug 15, 2010
ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time itok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
ovovfreebandzSep 22, 2015
This is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that showThis is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when it was being used. I really thought the lead actor's performance was top notch and I an surprised he has not been in much since. That being said, this film is not prefect. I didn't like how M. Night did not appear in the film and I would have liked it if HE was Aang. He would have had the acting chops to pull of such a role. On a first watch, this film may not seem like much. But under the surface this is a physiological thriller with incredible action, great performances and phenomenal special effects. I give this 9 out of 10 and challenge you if you didn't like this film to re watch it again through a different point of view and go in with an open mind if you haven't seen it before. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DeannaEJul 1, 2010
This is in my top 5 favorite movies. I absolutely loved it. I'm sorry that no one else seems to.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
CollinM.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
SteveW.Jul 3, 2010
If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
validaSep 27, 2010
This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so IThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
FranzJul 2, 2010
Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful
9
Marcela-annieAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
beaRaipMay 28, 2011
Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzlyTerrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
takousaJul 1, 2010
Don't believe those critics. As a big fan of the animated series, I enjoyed the film a log. I would love to the sequels.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
9
thebrickknightAug 15, 2010
After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
clockworkboy1Aug 21, 2010
as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
11 of 62 users found this helpful1151
All this user's reviews
9
moviefreak12Nov 3, 2010
a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
moviefanDec 6, 2010
I have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I wasI have never seen the cartoon so I knew nothing about this story before I watched the movie, however, I had read several of the reviews here on metacritic prior to seeing this film (yes, I watched it anyway!). I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I fully expected to dis-like this movie and consider it a waste of time but it was much better than most of these reviews would make you believe. Perhaps if I was a fan of the series I would have found more fault with it but I thought that the visuals were awesome at times, I liked the story, it was kind of like Lord of the rings of the "elements world", albeit not nearly as good! I do wish that the movie had been about another half hour in length because it did feel a bit rushed at times as if the story was moving very fast and giving you just the basics. I did not have a big problem with the acting, not Oscar caliber but not bad either. I was partially motivated to see this movie because I have a 3D television, so I bought the 3D blu-ray, It had some of the best 3D visuals that I have seen yet, they really tried to take advantage of the technology and did a great job. If you just want be swept into a mystic fantasy world with a good story and some fantastic visuals I don't think that you would be disappointed. If you are a die-hard fan of the series then I have no idea! I'm looking forward to the next one to see how the story progress's. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
R6exJun 23, 2013
I enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it isI enjoyed the movie greatly. The atmosphere was great. The setting and environment were beautiful. The girls are sweet. Airbender him is likeable. The kungfu moves were smooth and sleek. And of course, the great movie will not be what it is if not for the awesome special effects of air, water, fire and earth. Too bad the movie is so short. It should be twice as long! Anyway, I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang andI really enjoyed this movie, while it doesn't have the same emotional power that the anime had, and some cheesy moments, it's still a great movie, the characters are extremely well interpreted, I'm also glad they didn't use the Aang and Katara relationship, and I hope they don't, looking forward to the next movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Mikester7Feb 24, 2011
Very awkward dialogue and pretty terrible acting, it was good that they atleast kept the story true to the actual cartoon. Aside from the compacted story it was quite lacking in all areas.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
MalasawasJan 18, 2011
I watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only forI watched the entire show, also this movie, so I'll try to give my best to make a reasonable comparison, if it's possible. By first, I don't think is a non-sense movie, is not fair to compare a movie intended to get attetion not only for children but for adults too. Of course the expected in this case is to find what we found: a more ''serious and... why not? dark movie''. So, al least for me, is not an excuse to say it's worthless to be seen because it doesn't keep the humor of the TV show. In second place, we cannot say that the characters are not ''well-performed'' because is just a movie which tries to get the best of a full season! Come on! It is really unfair to say it's bad because of this! I've seen enough for a first movie... we have to let Night S. at least explore the characters deeper along the trilogy, not to ''make a wall''... In 3rd place... I don't know you guys but the martial arts scenes, when they're practising... the movements are really amazing!! They give a really nice sensation of peace all around... And... well, what else i can say? To be objective... Night is neither Clint Eastwood nor Steven Spielberg... but he has a really good career... with he's own personality... movies like Signs, Village and Sixth Sense are all movies of suspense... non-conventional and in a way of thinking... odd... but he's gaining personality, he lives his watermark in every each of them... if i say ''he is bad'' because of this... whoever could say ''Tim Burton is a bad director because of he's darky madness'' but... c'mon! Tim Burton has gone way too far of the expected madness, is brillant! And Night is good for me too, neither the best nor the worst. And TL Airbender is a nice movie, well adapted for it's lengh and with nice Sound Score (James Newton Howard) and efects. What was not really good was the 3D effect, since it was not though for it... but released 3D anyway. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
FolstarSep 3, 2011
Negative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (thatNegative reviews of this film follow a common message: this movie was bad because it was bad. Sometimes critics cite the bad [child] acting, the confusing story (my 4 year old niece understood it all just fine...), bad visual effects (that did not look like water being bended- I know these things!) or how it was not exactly like the cartoon in every single aspect, but overall this film is considered bad because it is a bad film. That is powerful and air tight logic. So feel free to join the masses and condemn this film is you hate things like clear cut good and bad, characters with motivation, sacrifice, redemption, character growth, loss, duty, and a whole host of other classic story telling motifs otherwise nonexistent in modern cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chrisnachFeb 14, 2011
Didn't read the book or watched the cartoons, but the movie is awesome. I'm sure that this rating isn't correct there are way, way, worse movies out there. Stop hating the M.Night movies, they're all good.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
reidan1Apr 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie and history... Very similar to the original Tv-series... And the Visual Fx, Wooow!!! Excellent choice, with action and entertainment to share with the family... Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
SradMay 20, 2011
Having seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn'tHaving seen several of the avatar cartoons with my nine year old son, we watched this movie with very low expectations due to the terrible ratings. I honestly do not understand why this movie got shredded by most people. Sure, it isn't exactly Oscars material but I thought it was reasonably entertaining, particularly if you have seen the cartoons (may not all make sense if you haven't). Great special effects and an average storyline surely deserves more than most of the critics and user ratings? In summary - if you enjoyed the cartoons, this movie is worth considering. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
moviesRawsomeAug 21, 2011
i love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had ai love this movie and i dont know why cause this movie sucks in almost ever way possibly from the acting to the story telling. and for me i was lucky i have had seen the cartoon show so i did know what was going on because the movie had a hard time telling it. To me there is only one person to blame M.Night this guy directed, producted, and wrote the movie. His story was just a mess there was no flow at all to the pace the story jumped place to place without really telling us why. the diologe was horrible as it only was used to tell what was going on and it didnt even do a good job of that. the acting was bad but to me its m.nights fault there to as script was just so poorly written. but know im getting to the part where i liked the film the music score is the best i have heard in a movie simply untouchable. the special affects just kick ass and the costoms and the beauty of the avtar world is breath taking and the fight scenes are ok. the slow montion kinda sucks though and if you look at it there really isnot that many fights anyway. and still even with that said i still have no idea why i like this movie haha but it just works for me and maybe it will for you so it cant hurt to see it or can it?.haha Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyMay 31, 2013
damn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoondamn girl are you ready to swag out with ANNNNNGGGGG (Aang) and super soaka (sokka) oh and lets not forget our boy uncle EARo (Iro) the names alone automatically get a ten outta ten and the top notch acting oh boy this is why all cartoon series need a a live action movie because this is so hip hoping dawgs screw the cartoon that was terrible and this is the greatest piece of art ever Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
SunfulOneJun 10, 2012
As I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best filmAs I've never watched the series, I had no point of reference and no expectations of this film, which is likely beneficial in this case. As it turns out, the so called "critics" are wrong, as they usually are. While it's not the best film ever made, it's captivating, the effects are awe inspiring, the score is wonderful. The only suggestion I could give would be to extend the length from 90 minutes to 2 or 2.5 hours (given the series' history and following noone would complain). This would allow for more natural and in depth character development and backstory. I hope Paramount hasn't pulled the plug on the film series as I'd love to see what's next. I rate the film B- or 3.5 out of 5 stars! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
InverseCriticNov 7, 2013
The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparingThe cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews