User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2014
    0
    A disgrace. The show this movie was based on was pure entertainment tinged with a gripping coming-of-age story, characters you wanted to be real, and some of the best animated combat ever. This is an empty vessel of plot, explanation, and exposition, with special effects that rarely pop and inexperienced child actors that make you feel as if you're watching an elementary school play. It's a terrible movie and an insulting adaption of one of the best TV shows out there. M. Night is a butcher. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    A disgrace to a show that clearly knew how to be awesome, and a disgrace to cinema all together. The last airbender is without a doubt the worst movie I've ever seen.
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    I genuinely think that this movie is not as absolutely unbearable and completely full of **** as most people make it out to be. But it is undeniably bad. Nominating Dev Patel for a Golden Razzie was very harsh but overall the acting is atrocious. Mainly due to the title character Aang played by Noah Ringer. How the hell did he even get through the audition process with a face which looks constantly surprised and in pain at the same time. Pretty much everyone else with the exception of Dev Patel (who is alright) is bad, but not to the point of self harm like Noah Ringer. Reading other reviews most people claim that the cheesy dialogue is the worst thing about the whole movie, I have to admit I agree with them all. Sure it isn't Tommy Wiseau's The Room, but damn this is written by the same guy who directed The Sixth Sense. What the **** happened? Out of every second of The Last Airbender which I watched the only above average and enjoyable aspect of it was Zuko's storyline (Dev Patel). Maybe if I could be bothered to watch the anime TV series it might be better, I hate to admit it but I actually thought his banishment was pretty cool. However the last scene (which is only in there for the minute chance of a sequel) they totally ruin it and attempt to bring in even more family conflict to create drama. Every attempt at drama in the movie fails though, I did not care one bit about the bull**** love story between Sokka and Yue (who's penis haircut was the best part of the movie). Overall M.Night Shyamalan really should have made the movie much less crap for it to be enjoyable. I have never summarised a movie so bluntly before. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Just awful. Not only does M. Night Shamalamadingdong completely butcher everything good about the tv show like the epic large scale fight scenes involving powerful benders battling it out with great direction and technique (Now just floating bits of rock shot at people that could easily have been thrown more effectively), the developed characters (there is no emotion in this film, everything we hear anyone say is monotone back story, due to fact they tried to fit 500 minutes of plot from the first season of Avatar into a 90 minute movie) and the beautiful world you want to explore with these characters on their adventure (the setting just feels uninspired as **** no effort went into replicating the amazing detail of the show's world), he also shows how awful he is at directing fight scenes (they are seriously boring and drawn out), casts some of the worst child actors ever to grace the big screen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbi7xUd5TPc *sigh*) and fails to record some sound and light his scenes properly! This is a disgrace to the tv show and films in general, whoever gave this production the thumbs up was probably the same person who approved Dragon Ball Evolution. Avoid this at all costs. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Aside from the visuals, everything about this movie is terrible and is a big middle finger to us moviegoers and fans from the show. Do not see this movies at all.
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    1
    Um dos filmes trágicos do cinema
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    3
    Wow was this movie a disappointment! The whole movie felt rushed! I think that was the biggest problem with the Last Airbender. This should be made into a series so they can get into the story better, but instead everything is thrown into one movie. If this movie is the first time you`re learning about these characters you will not care for them.I use to watch the show and that was so much better on every level. The Trailer sure got me excited, but man did it fail.I guess if you have no expectations it is an alright movie, but for the rest of us it fails hard! Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    1
    Avatar: The Last Airbender is a great TV show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen. This movie is terrible. Fans of the show will hate the film. The movie rushes through the plot only featuring the beginning and finale of the show and one or two moments in between. The acting is terrible with a lot of bad actors and underdeveloped characters that are nothing like those from the show. Additionally, various character names are mispronounced, which is insulting to the fans of the show. The effects and action are decent at times but for the most part it looks stupid. Even if you don’t watch the show you will dislike this movie. There is no substance in terms of story or characters. If you haven’t seen the show this movie will confuse you because you will not understand what you just watched and why this show is popular. If you haven’t seen the movie yet avoid it at all costs. This is an awful movie with almost nothing good about. The show offers nothing in terms of characters and story, which will piss off die hard fans and confuse non-viewers. This movie is garbage and I am grateful that the other two season were not given movies. Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    An absolutely terrible movie, The Last Airbender takes the first season of a decent kids show and makes it into a mess of horrible acting and confusing plot that makes the movie completely unlikeable by newbies and more than disappointing for fans of the series, having watched it with the former and been the latter. However, the saddest part of this film might be that it takes itself so seriously. In the end, it deserves ever Razzie it got. Expand
  10. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    None of the movie made any sense and lack everything that made the tv series special. It even pronounced the names wrong (Ang was pronounced "Ung" and Saka was pronounced "Soaka"). In a nutshell, I want it to be eradicated from the face of the earth!
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    I honestly don't think an actual movie can get as bad as this one. It has terrible acting, a terrible script, cheesy effects, and missing out on some of the most important parts of the show. They even changed most of the names and the way the people bend their elements. Although this isn't the worst one I've seen, it sure is close to it.
  12. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I saw the midnight showing with a group or hardcore friends and fellow fans. The audience was actually laughing throughout that movie at just how bad it was. The only thing that this film has going for it, is the special effects. Thats it. Its bad. Stay away.
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    What kind of awful crap was this? "The Last Airbender" is surely one of the dullest ever made in the history of filmmaking. I would recommend you to buy a pack of chips rather than pay for this boring and ridiculous junk. Also, if you have seen this in 3-D, this is probably the worst use of 3-D ever.
  14. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The cartoon was the best cartoon EVER, and I'm not exaggerating. I saw the movie about a year ago and it got on my Top 15 favourite movie list. I understand everyone has an opinion of their own, but I think anyone giving this a 0 by comparing it to the cartoon is completely overreacting. Whatever Shayamalan did was NOT a big deal. The soundtrack, bending effects, and scenery were so beautiful and felt like the cartoon if it was in real life. Sokka didn't need a different name, nor did Aang, but Noah Ringer looks like an "Ahng" to me. So hate me, I loved watching "The Last Airbender." Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    Oh no, i hope there isn't a sequel. Too cheesy CGI, and boring dialog. Don't watch this movie, unless you get to watch it for free. The only thing good was the story, but that can't save it.
  16. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Movie of 2012 and 2011 nobody should ever see this movie the acting is horrible and the story is the dumbest story ever heard in a long time since 2006 NO BODY SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE.
  17. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    This movie gets a lot of bad rap because: 1) It wasn't as good as the series, not even close. 2) They pronounce the names wrong (even if Shyamalan thought he had good reasoning) 3) They screwed up uncle iroh 4) They screwed up the way people are supposed to firebend. But despite this the movie still managed to entertain me and if you are a fan of the series, seeing live action bending fights really made the movie worth watching. Expand
  18. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Not as bad as I heard it was, maybe because I haven't seen the show. Leaving that aside, the movie is just painfully mediocre, the potential is there and the CGI was great, its just not used well enough.
  19. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    I personally watched the Avatar: the Last Airbender show very occassionally, and while i liked it-it was cool, I did not watch it enough to consider myself among the biggest of fans. From this perspective, I can say I kinda enjoyed this movie.
    I thought the acting was not the best, but it wasn't Twilight bad (though Twilight, imo, was a bad series as the books as well). The CGI wasn't the
    worst, but I personally like CGI unless it is like the CGI in sitcoms on TV (like when a character dreams he has super powers and it has terribe CGI showing. them). The story is understandable in the sense that the Percy Jackson movies were- you understand it if you've read the book,or in this case watched the TV show, but it is still quite different. and the action, while not making sense sometimes (like when the earth benders float a rock rather than doing something cool) it was good enough
    I personally liked this movie. But I understand the ppl who hate it. This movie is just a generic movie, and the TV show was amazing- not to mention the lack of major parts of the show due to it being just 2 hours- and another thing, a generic movie like this does not have to exceed the 1 hour 30 min mark. I give this movie an F for the biggest fans of the series, a D-E if you were a fan but not an intense fan- like watching- the- series- fifty- times- in- a- row- intense, a C for those who uderstood the series and was just looking forward to watching a generic movie to pass the time

    *Also, I got this movie on Redbox, so I only paid 1$, so i thik it was at least worth that
    Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    This is what you get for cramming an entire season's worth of story into a film that isn't even 2 hours long. The plot is terrible, The acting is pathetic, and the special effects are very weak. Easily one of the top 10 worst films of all time.
  21. Oct 6, 2013
    4
    Well it was better than the Dragonball movie that came out a while back which was also based on a famous anime hahaha but still it wasn't by much. I mean the movie started ok but I wish the story was more worked out and what's with the end, is there a sequel to it?
  22. Sep 24, 2013
    1
    No... Just no.. If you are a fan of the TV series "The Last Airbender" then this movie should have severely pissed you off. It left out a ton of storyline, characters, and 75% of the journey the characters took! It even ended on a severe cliff hanger which should have even pissed even non-fans off! And to make matters worse, there is NOT going to be another movie! Apparently, the director intended on covering the whole story, just in sections, but ended up not having the funds to do so! If you're going to cover a interesting series like The Last Airbender, then actually FINISH IT! Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This movie is awful. Mispronunciation of the names, horrible effects, and the acting is just horrendous This movie sets a new standard for bad movies, especially when it's based off a kids show!
  24. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    Absolute sht. This was definitely the worst movie I have ever watched. Poorly executed and terrible acting, just everything was wrong with this movie.
  25. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    The Last Airbender was a complete and utter travesty. With a solid fan-base nothing could go wrong, right? Wrong. Shyamalan was handed pure gold with this film, but his lack of experience in action directing resulted in a film soiled by terrible adaptation, acting, directing, and shoddy special effects. If they do decide to go on with the trilogy with M. Night at the helms, it could be good night for The Last Airbender legacy. Expand
  26. Jul 15, 2013
    2
    El ultimo maestro del aire es una mezcla de cine malo y un gran error de este buen director así como hay muy buenas peliculas de este sobresale esta pero de lo mala.
  27. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Thank God he was the last one, let's just hope there's no prequel in the works. Hopefully Midnight Shazam will have enough common(sixth)sense to actually think about what might make an interesting film after his appalling run of garbage. I seriously doubt it to be honest and I can see people of the future being awarded the Midnight Shazam award for utter rubbish at The Golden Raspberries.
  28. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    I love anime, and when this movie came out, I was very excited to see it, but the movie is just wasted potential. I can relate to those who hate the movie, why? Because everything was wrong, there are more contrasts than comparisons between the anime and the actual cinematic release. The characters weren't the same, the lore wasn't the same, everything was wrong. M. Night has taken one of the best story lines and ruined it, thanks for crushing such a great franchise you bastard. Not only was everything wrong, but the movie wasn't good, it was actually terrible, the acting was atrocious, the execution was just a mess, the script was abysmal. This movie just infuriates me. Even if you haven't seen the anime or any anime, you will relate to us anime fanatics by hating this movie. Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2013
    2
    While "Avatar: The Last Airbender" remains one of my favorite shows of all time it was just heartbreaking to watch "The Last Airbender" movie. Characters portrayed in the shows were performed so differently in the movie, and although this does not affect my score, it did affect my thoughts on the film. The film was rushed, little to no humor, and felt dark in tone in general, which did not benefit the film. The acting was horrible, and it left little to no impressions on the characters in the film. While the television show brought a bright and smiling personality, even with a sinister villain, the movie turned darker to appeal to an older audience, which doesn't work at all. Visuals are great however, and it was the only thing in the film that made me interested during the rushed action scenes. I guess, more time in the film was needed to make this any better. Expand
  30. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    Anyone who gave this movie above a 2 obviously has never seen the show, has really bad taste in movies, or is retarded. This is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. The effects are awful, so are the actors, dialogue, fight scenes, etc.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 23 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    20
    This is all enormously disappointing, of course, since the best we could hope for from a live-action "Avatar" adaptation is the mind-blowing equivalent of our first encounters with wire-fu, rather than this cartoony nonsense.
  2. The movie is "Star Wars" with martial arts, plus a touch of "The Last Emperor." Technically, it's not badly done; I enjoyed the physical clash of elements, the water balls rising like sculpture in the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    63
    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing.