The Last Confederate: The Story of Robert Adams Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An explosive, richly detailed Civil War saga of fierce combat, honor and the will to risk all that’s precious for love or country. (Strongbow Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. The film's long suit is the chemistry between the leads: Julian Adams, if occasionally stiff, has a strong, sometimes Matthew McConaughey-like presence; newcomer Gwendolyn Edwards shows spark as the beautiful Eveline.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    40
    Undone by a thorough lack of visual craft.
  3. 40
    A film that plays like warmed-over "Cold Mountain."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. AngieL.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    For someone who isn't usually thrilled with historical films, I'm surprised I enjoyed this one so much. I don't understand For someone who isn't usually thrilled with historical films, I'm surprised I enjoyed this one so much. I don't understand some of the critic comments I've read, as I thought this was a thoroughly enjoyable film. I was almost mesmerized by the acting of Julian Adams. I think he was amazing; he drew me right into the story. The narration was, I thought, a plus to the film. I think one of the best things about this film was that it made me stop and THINK about that war, and how heart-breaking it must have been for so many that had ties to both sides. Although there were some well-respected actors in this film, it was Julian Adams that carried the story. He was believable and quite charismatic, with there being an almost Robert Redford quality about him. I am looking forward to seeing more of him in the future. I understand that he is soon to be starring in a new film with one of my favorite actors, Andy Garcia... along with Morgan Freeman, Bruce Willis, Robert Duvall and others. What a cast! It's called "The Last Full Measure." Collapse
  2. Patrick
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Obviously a very personal film for the makers. A nice change from all of the junk out there. Cinematography was exceptional and a very fine Obviously a very personal film for the makers. A nice change from all of the junk out there. Cinematography was exceptional and a very fine job with the acting and sets. Very interesting to see a story straight from the source and it makes the movie. Some small points to be criticized as with all movies but this is a real joy to watch. Expand
  3. JohnB.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    "The Last Confederate" is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen, right up there with "The Long Engagement"> Gwendolyn Eedwards is "The Last Confederate" is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen, right up there with "The Long Engagement"> Gwendolyn Eedwards is astonishing in her first movie role and -- you read it here first -- she is destined, I believe, to be an important actress. At a time when American culture has become a hellish landscape of vulgarity, profanity, degeneracy, perversion, with , except for a few exceptions, a complete lack of nobility, integrity,honesty, high ideals, ethical commitment, devotion, or sacrifice, with few exceptions, this movie reminds us of a time and a place in American history when refined language, gentility of manners, and honorable behavior where the norm for many, and admired by all. The overwhelming majority of soldiers on both sides of the brutal conflict were NOT fighting over the liberation of Negroes at all. This is an extraordinary romance, with duty, honor and devotion taken seriously. God-willing, we could embrace those values again and emerge from our rampant barbarism. Expand
  4. ChristineP.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    A wonderful film!!! I enjoyed it all the way to the end !!! Would love to see more films like this one !!
  5. JohnG.
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    Overall a good film taken from an actual historical account. However, the lack of authenticity of the military costuming was the main Overall a good film taken from an actual historical account. However, the lack of authenticity of the military costuming was the main drawback, being a Civil War historian. The acting is above average and the flow of the story is good. Considering the amount of experience among the cast and crew it was well done. Expand
  6. JaredC.
    Jul 2, 2007
    5
    It was alright, I think there was too much drama than action.
  7. CathyB.
    Jul 29, 2007
    4
    A glossing over of the Civil War. Disjointed and confusing. Beautiful cinematography.

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.