The Last Time I Saw Macao

The Last Time I Saw Macao Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A wonderfully mysterious, shape-shifting feature from celebrated filmmakers João Pedro Rodrigues and João Rui Guerra da Mata, The Last Time I Saw Macao is a detective tale that blends film noir, documentary footage and personal travelogue to intoxicating effect.A wonderfully mysterious, shape-shifting feature from celebrated filmmakers João Pedro Rodrigues and João Rui Guerra da Mata, The Last Time I Saw Macao is a detective tale that blends film noir, documentary footage and personal travelogue to intoxicating effect. [Cinema Guild] Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The effort is commendable and the complicated emotions of the piece (for a place and a people) come through loud and clear. To paraphrase the great Ms. Russell, the movie has the power to make you laugh and the power to break your heart in half.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    The essayistic remembrances provide the filmmakers with a brilliant exit strategy when the noir business has nowhere to go but in circles.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 11, 2013
    75
    As a ruminative travelogue-cum-dissertation, Rodrigues and Guerra Da Mata’s film is often haunting, and its portentous and mournful atmospherics ultimately help compensate for the nagging impression that it’s a work almost too personal for an outside viewer to fully penetrate.
  4. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A sly, amusing if underconceptulized and needlessly elliptical inquiry into truth, memory and appearances.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    A beautiful film every shot like a photograph and put it all together and I feel I have been to Macao. I enjoyed the plot, a mystery, andA beautiful film every shot like a photograph and put it all together and I feel I have been to Macao. I enjoyed the plot, a mystery, and that too so ingeniously shot it carries the viewer along with longing. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.