User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 424 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 424
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OmarA.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    The Lion King is more than a 10 I give it a 100. The Lion King is the best movie I have ever seen!
  2. KevinG.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    The best Disney film ever drawn.
  3. Bequiet!Thismovie'sgreat!
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    A beautiful movie that needs better respect from everyone who says "'Lilo and Stitch' was better. It had no singing". True, "Lilo and Stitch" is a great movie, but not the greatest. "The Lion King" contained no sign humanity. Had there been humanity, this movie would be a disaster. It had gorgeous animation and true characters. If only disney made more movies like this.
  4. Mandys
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    best film ever!!!! camera angles are very great! detail of shading in the characters, backgrounds and the way the film has been animated couldn't have been any better. people who don't see the sense of the film are just brainless and don't have any kind of imagination and a sense of seing films in a different way! it's the best traditional animated film by far and i best film ever!!!! camera angles are very great! detail of shading in the characters, backgrounds and the way the film has been animated couldn't have been any better. people who don't see the sense of the film are just brainless and don't have any kind of imagination and a sense of seing films in a different way! it's the best traditional animated film by far and i wish there will be more films like that in future. Expand
  5. GustavoH.R.
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    An animated tear-jerker. And a glorious one at that.
  6. KellyJ.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    If i could I would give this movie a 13! Best Movie since Beauty and the Beast.
  7. GlennM.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest Disney film of all time and possibly the most greatest cultural achievment of the the 20th century. I dont feel these critic reviews are accurate because they only watched this once and did not fully grasp the brilliance of this fim in its entirity.
  8. AlexJ.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Are you guys crazy? How can you give 0 or 3 to such a classic movie? If you don't like it, then you have a big problem as far as taste is concerned. Lion King is probably the best cartoon ever made. It is worth more than the Universal Acclaim Score. It is worth a nice and clean 10.0.
  9. MattP.
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    It's a great children's film.
  10. Vixi
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    This was the last great Disney film - and in my opinion the best. I don't understand how anyone could give it a low score. So, OK, all the animals do celebrate at the beginning, but to mark it down because of this is missing the point - it's like taking Lord of the Rings and saying 'thats a bad film because those creatures don't exist.' It is great entertainment This was the last great Disney film - and in my opinion the best. I don't understand how anyone could give it a low score. So, OK, all the animals do celebrate at the beginning, but to mark it down because of this is missing the point - it's like taking Lord of the Rings and saying 'thats a bad film because those creatures don't exist.' It is great entertainment with fantastic songs and a powerful storyline - way better than the pixar stuff that's taken over. Expand
  11. NickL.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    i love this film so much. I used to watch it when i was little but i didn't really understand the meaning of this film. before, it was just a film which entertained me. now after i watched it, not only does it entertain me but also gives me a message. This film is truly the best film ever made, it's entertaining, friendly, funny and makes me feel like a new person. i rate this i love this film so much. I used to watch it when i was little but i didn't really understand the meaning of this film. before, it was just a film which entertained me. now after i watched it, not only does it entertain me but also gives me a message. This film is truly the best film ever made, it's entertaining, friendly, funny and makes me feel like a new person. i rate this movie an 11. Expand
  12. Simbapeter
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    What can I say about it? Since 1994 when I was 16 I saw the movie here in Venezuela. I could not imagine how good it was. I'm 24 now and "I can't wait to see it" bad joke I know. I just want to say that. If you didn't see it in the past, run to your nearest Imax theather and see it. At least rent the VHS video and you will see that this movie worth the money you will expent on it.
  13. PaulM.
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    Saw it as a youngster and loved it. And even now, I say it's the greatest Disney movie ever made.
  14. G.M.D.K
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    One of the best films of all time!
  15. Paul
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    How can you not like this movie???
  16. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    BEST MOVIE EVER!
  17. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    Hakuna Matata!
  18. MelissaG.
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    It's the best, seriously. I love it all.
  19. EmilyW.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    This is one of my favourite films of all time. I remember seeing when i was younger (i'm 17 now!) and i recall the fact that i thought it was brilliant the first time i watched it, and it still is!!! From the start of the opening song, it continues to move you throughtout the movie. When Mufasa dies i cry so much!!! It still gets me everytime!!! The first time i saw this movie was This is one of my favourite films of all time. I remember seeing when i was younger (i'm 17 now!) and i recall the fact that i thought it was brilliant the first time i watched it, and it still is!!! From the start of the opening song, it continues to move you throughtout the movie. When Mufasa dies i cry so much!!! It still gets me everytime!!! The first time i saw this movie was also the first time i cried at a movie (so my mum says!!). Apparently a boy saw this film when his own father died and it helped him get through it. So this film means a lot to other people as well. Uh, such a fantastic film!!! The songs were great awell!!! WATCH IT!!! Expand
  20. PatrickD.
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    A great Disney movie. For all you people who immedetly reject it becasue its Disney, I have to say: It has a better plot than your Kill Bill movies.
  21. MandieQ
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Lion King is a wonderful movie for kids... Some people not like the miovie because euther they don't have a good enough imagination to appricate it funny characters or they are just to old to like disneyclassic
  22. AliceM.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Can i start with who ever anoymnus is, is out of his/her mind. There isn't a song every other minute for one and honesly the lion king wouldn't be half as good without the music. Disney is serious since wen hav they done a movie like that now. I mean the incredibles that was one of the mist popular films for kids not blade. Yeahe things change now and then but Disney are still Can i start with who ever anoymnus is, is out of his/her mind. There isn't a song every other minute for one and honesly the lion king wouldn't be half as good without the music. Disney is serious since wen hav they done a movie like that now. I mean the incredibles that was one of the mist popular films for kids not blade. Yeahe things change now and then but Disney are still the most respected film makers of all time. It's not made for kids anyway why does everyone say that Disney touches the heart of any human being who has one. They are emence. Anyway!! Lion KIng is just amazing it has everything a good film needs when i say everything i mean it. It's a film you just can't fault. At school we are doin my favourite film project in English I'm doing Lion King. I'm 13 yet i still love it to bits and so do all my mates. Even if Disney made films just for kids it wouldn't matter because to be honest growing old is compulsery but growing up is optinal and everyone has a kid inside! Expand
  23. Katherine
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite Disney movie. I know that it is not that it does not have very much facts, but it's just a movie. It's fantasy, and fantasy can have anything. So yes I give it a 10.
  24. Tino
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    This is just the best movie that Diney has made. It's my favortie too. I'm 18 years old and I still watch the movie over and over again. The best music, the best animation, what else can you want?
  25. NedP.
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    I usually don't care for animated movies but this film is the real deal, this is one of disney's best animated moviesif not the best. The animation is top notch and flawless. This film also features superb work from the vocal cast James Earl Jones, Jeremy Irons, Whoopi Goldberg. This is a standout.
  26. JaredB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cast, led by Jonathan Taylor Thomas and Matthew Broderick, was simply amazing. The animation was absolutely brilliant. The movie is just incredible. If you haven't seen it, I strongly recommend it for kids and adults
  27. JoshG.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best movie disney ever created. It is one of the few movies that makes me laugh, cry, and it's very touching at the same time. I never saw this movie until I was about twelve, which I really regret. It teaches about pride, facing your fears, and many other things. Simba is one of the best characters Disney will probably ever make. I almost cry whenever I think This is probably the best movie disney ever created. It is one of the few movies that makes me laugh, cry, and it's very touching at the same time. I never saw this movie until I was about twelve, which I really regret. It teaches about pride, facing your fears, and many other things. Simba is one of the best characters Disney will probably ever make. I almost cry whenever I think about it. I really hope they make another Lion King movie. Thank you, disney, for this great classic. Expand
  28. JohnM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Agreeing with most of the reviews, I have to say this is my all time most favorite movie that Disney has created even though it was created in 1994. I first watched it when I was very little and never understood the true meaning of what was going on, but thought of it as a sort of comical movie with some sad bits. I admit that I cried at the point where Mufassa had died, but only a true Agreeing with most of the reviews, I have to say this is my all time most favorite movie that Disney has created even though it was created in 1994. I first watched it when I was very little and never understood the true meaning of what was going on, but thought of it as a sort of comical movie with some sad bits. I admit that I cried at the point where Mufassa had died, but only a true film artist could give such emotion into a movie. Now that I have watched it a few more times, I get the full view of the movie and understand what I did not before. This is one of the only movies that I know of that has been this extraordinary and well thought out. I give tremendous respect to the creators of the excellent animation. Expand
  29. J
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    The is the most amazing film ever created by disney. I cannot imagine anything they could have done better. It is a memerable classic, and touches the heart of young and old alike.
  30. MichelleP.
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    Come ON people! This is the greatest Disney animated feature (next to Spirited Away) ever! The animation is beautiful, the songs are either beautiful or catchy, and it was just an all-around fantastic film! This is the kind of movie Disney doesn't make enough of. Now they're making corny films like "Treasure Planet" and "Scamp's Adventure". It's no wonder this got a Come ON people! This is the greatest Disney animated feature (next to Spirited Away) ever! The animation is beautiful, the songs are either beautiful or catchy, and it was just an all-around fantastic film! This is the kind of movie Disney doesn't make enough of. Now they're making corny films like "Treasure Planet" and "Scamp's Adventure". It's no wonder this got a 98. I thought it deserved a 100 (it's the most acclaimed animated film in history!) but 98 is good enough. Way to go, Disney! Expand
  31. HunterH.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    Yup, Lion King is great. To Michelle P. - Spirited Away was NOT a Disney movie. They just dubbed Hayao Miyazaki's masterpiece and slapped their name on it. Just so posterity knows. :)
  32. JessicaK.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    It's so obvious that people will look at this movie, and say, "Oh yeah...the Lion King, it's the dumbest movie ever because it's a kid's movie, a disney movie, and it has songs". The fact that it's a movie for kids doesn't mean it's only for kids, it means it'll be appealing for them. I mean, Spirited Away was called a Kid's Movie, yet the It's so obvious that people will look at this movie, and say, "Oh yeah...the Lion King, it's the dumbest movie ever because it's a kid's movie, a disney movie, and it has songs". The fact that it's a movie for kids doesn't mean it's only for kids, it means it'll be appealing for them. I mean, Spirited Away was called a Kid's Movie, yet the older ones can still love and enjoy it. The fact that it's a disney film doesn't mean anything at all. This is one of disney's better movies along with other masterpieces like Beauty and the Beast. That movie (and the Lion King) have been enjoyed by childeren, teenagers, and adults alike. The reason most people think disney movies are stupid, is because they haven't gone back to the old ones, which, like the Lion King and Beauty and the Beast, are true classics, and most of the disney movies out are either a poor ones like, Treasure Planet or the new sequels to the disney classics like Peter Pan or Lady and the Tramp, or they're mediocre films like Tarzan or Lilo & Stitch. As for the songs, so what? Chicago had songs, and it was still fantastic (in fact, that was main reason it was fantastic). The Lion King included some memorable catchy songs as well, go buy the soundtrack if you're too embarassed to see the movie. Yes, the animals do talk, but that's because there's no humans seen or mentioned in the film at all, so it wouldn't ruin it. The animation was positively gorgeous. Not a single character looked absurd. The lion's movments when walking were done so accurately, and the voice acting is perfect. The plot may sound small, but when you watch the movie or read the script, you'll see what a true epic it is. I think the Lion Kind deserves more praise, respect, and a higher score (but it's still a universal acclaim, and I suppose that's good enough). See it, and be amazed at its beauty. Expand
  33. MitchH.
    Apr 23, 2003
    10
    Probably one of the best Disney films. It packs a powerful story that deals with a lot, death of a father and finding out who you really are. This is a lso a very funny movie with excellent animation. Kids will love it and adults too. I loved this movie.
  34. NicoK.
    May 21, 2003
    10
    Best 2D animated Disney film. No exaggeration.
  35. ElizabethK.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    It is the best movie I have ever seen.How can you not like it.If you gave it a zero you are weird.
  36. SneiblyM.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    I wish i was a lion.
  37. liz
    May 13, 2005
    10
    R U guys crazy who gave it a 1-3?this movie is the best pure disney movie of ALL time,no ifs,ands,or buts end of story,bye bye.
  38. IvyP.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    This is an awesome movie! Its got emotion, humour and an excellent storyline! People, this is a true classic!!
  39. GeorgeP.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    The thing that makes this movie truly a masterpiece is the fact that it deals with real life. I believe this movie was created to present the meaning of the greatest thing that human beings face.This is the circle of life. I watched this film when I was six and it really stigmatized my life(I'm 18 now).The combination of the melanholic and celebrating soundtrack together with the The thing that makes this movie truly a masterpiece is the fact that it deals with real life. I believe this movie was created to present the meaning of the greatest thing that human beings face.This is the circle of life. I watched this film when I was six and it really stigmatized my life(I'm 18 now).The combination of the melanholic and celebrating soundtrack together with the vivid characters make this movie so wonderful and appealing to all ages.This is definitely one of Disney's greatest successes that has been a strong example to many kids all over the world incuding me. It has beautifully taught us about the meaning and the values of life. This film will always be in our hearts. Expand
  40. ChrisM.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Perhaps it's because it's an essential part of my childhood, but The Lion King will always be regarded by me as one of the greatest cartoons ever made. Yes, it's an adaptation of Hamlet, but one that communicates with children and adults alike. There is depth to Simba which is unparalleled in many other Disney movies. Perhaps it's nostalgia, but I think kids today Perhaps it's because it's an essential part of my childhood, but The Lion King will always be regarded by me as one of the greatest cartoons ever made. Yes, it's an adaptation of Hamlet, but one that communicates with children and adults alike. There is depth to Simba which is unparalleled in many other Disney movies. Perhaps it's nostalgia, but I think kids today cannot comprehend what they're missing. I, for one, miss the anticipation of the yearly 2-D Disney cartoon. I guess I'm still a kid at heart. Expand
  41. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    A classic that will live forever in the hearts of kids who grew up watching this movie, like me. I am really shocked that the movie doesn't have a high user score. Oh well, Hakuna Matata, no worries!
  42. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    A timeless Disney classic that soars near the top of the list of 'Best animated films of all time'. Heartfelt, featuring a stunning musical score and superbly animated, this is one of Disney's finest achievements, and a must watch for fans of animated films.
  43. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    While the Disney Renaissance presented us such great classics like "The Little Mermaid", "Beauty and the Beast", and "Aladdin", they released another movie that has talking lions and other talking animals and such great wonder also known as "The Lion King". Before I begin, let me ask one question: Why is it that every movie you have saw just literally become such great classics? It'sWhile the Disney Renaissance presented us such great classics like "The Little Mermaid", "Beauty and the Beast", and "Aladdin", they released another movie that has talking lions and other talking animals and such great wonder also known as "The Lion King". Before I begin, let me ask one question: Why is it that every movie you have saw just literally become such great classics? It's because of their creative efforts and mere pride and this movie is one of them.

    The story tells of a young cub named Simba (Jonathan Taylor Thomas), the son of Mufasa (James Earl Jones) who is destined to become king of the Pride Rock. One day, Simba's ruthless evil uncle Scar (Jeremy Irons) plots to take over Pride Rock by killing his father and tricks Simba into feeling guilty which causes him to flee from the kingdom never to return. Once he disappears, he meets two friends named Timon, a meek rat, and Pumbaa, a warthog who helps teach him the meaning of "Hakuna Matata". A few years later, after reuniting with his friend Nala, Simba, now an adult (Matthew Broderick) realizes that he doesn't know who he is anymore and is aware that Scar has destroyed everything that the lions had hunted for. He is then persuaded to return to Pride Rock and must overthrow his uncle to restore the kingdom to its rightful place.

    After its success at the box office with $783 dollars which marks this movie as the 32nd highest grossing feature film, everything else has been praised due to Disney and their intelligence.

    The music score by Hans Zimmer and the songs written by Elton John and Tim Rice were considered to be successful in cinema history, The animation and characters were very memorable, The acting was superb and the cinematography was terrific.

    The Lion King is one of the greatest animated movies of all time and is one of my childhood favorites that will teach me that this movie means no worries. Thank you Disney. With your charm and brilliance, a thumbs up from me.

    10/10
    Expand
  44. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A masterful film that is the absolute best from Disney. I say this is my favorite animated film of all time, if not my overall favorite. Disney put their best effort into this film, and all the haters can suck Mufasa's nuts.
    10/10
  45. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Disney's greatest movie. Every song in this movie is at worst extremely good, with Circle of Life and Can You Feel the Love Tonight just being amazing; the worst song in this movie is better than most musicals' best songs by a fairly wide margin.

    Amazing, beautiful animation, a solid story, strong characterization, good flow it just works.
  46. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    An outstanding film, back when people put there heart into everything to be proud of there achievements and to express there talents which were recognized by Disney later choosing the cast very, very well. This film I want to say is my best Disney film however I also love Aladdin :). Then B&TB and Hercules. Anyway. This film has a lot of guidance and morals for all ages. Makes me thinkAn outstanding film, back when people put there heart into everything to be proud of there achievements and to express there talents which were recognized by Disney later choosing the cast very, very well. This film I want to say is my best Disney film however I also love Aladdin :). Then B&TB and Hercules. Anyway. This film has a lot of guidance and morals for all ages. Makes me think whats happened to Disney :( Mufasa (James Earl Jones) is Simba's dad and has the perfect voice for a strong lion teaching his son the lessons in life. Like not to take being future king for granted, it's not about getting your own way. And that everyone is one. He also tells his son about the stars, and if he is not here in later life, then to look up at the stars as all of the great kings are up there watching over him. Samba being a small cub has to learn the hard way because of his evil uncle scar. At first he truss to trick samba and forces him to go against his fathers will. It ends up with samba leaving pride rock, but finds two true friends who bring him back to his normal self with the help of an old friend and his fathers friend who christened him at birth. Samba returns to pride Rock some years later, returning the once great land back to how it used to be. And continues with Simba and Nala having a child of there own. And continues, the circle of life. such powerful scenes that can make grown men cry (who are not dead inside) and powerful voice acting that fit each roll perfectly. A brilliant soundtrack that fits very well. And also the meanings and morals in this film alone are what society today is very rappdley loosing. If only James Earl jones could be the king of England! Ohh and must say that I love zazu too :) (probally spelt it wrong) Expand
  47. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    I first watched The Lion King when I was eight, and enjoyed it for all the quirky characters. But after rewatching it years later, I discovered the deeper meaning behind it. This is one of my favorite movies of all time, and is the last epic disney movie. They could have done better with Lion King 2, but you cant win all the battles. And to the people that said that this is a rip offI first watched The Lion King when I was eight, and enjoyed it for all the quirky characters. But after rewatching it years later, I discovered the deeper meaning behind it. This is one of my favorite movies of all time, and is the last epic disney movie. They could have done better with Lion King 2, but you cant win all the battles. And to the people that said that this is a rip off of Kimba the White Lion, What the **** are you talking about? I read the plot line, its about humans trying to kill animals. I dont understand your point of view to this movie. And this is also probably one of the darkest things I have ever seen, and I saw Suckerpunch and played Portal. Expand
  48. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    This movie brings back so many childhood memories. I loved it then and I love it now and I will always love it. Recommend it HIGHLY. In my opinion, one of, if not the best, Disney movie
  49. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Classic. Emotion, suspense, stunning visuals and audio, great storyline, entertainment- what more can you want from a movie? The Lion King is the best animated movie of all time. An epic story, but better visuals.
  50. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    The Lion King may not be *the* greatest movie of all time, but it's probably in the top 10 or so. The plot is pretty standard fare, but it doesn't even matter, because it's all about the presentation of that story. Speaking of which, the animation, voice acting, songs, and emotional element of The Lion King carry it to such great heights, and come pretty close to perfect. I look back onThe Lion King may not be *the* greatest movie of all time, but it's probably in the top 10 or so. The plot is pretty standard fare, but it doesn't even matter, because it's all about the presentation of that story. Speaking of which, the animation, voice acting, songs, and emotional element of The Lion King carry it to such great heights, and come pretty close to perfect. I look back on it today, and some of the opening scenes still give me goosebumps when I watch the sun rising over the savanna. And then you have the saddest scene in just about any modern Disney movie... those who've seen it (everybody at this point) know what I'm talking about. All in all, it's a beautiful film of love, fatherhood, death, betrayal, revenge, friendship, and rising to destiny. Expand
  51. May 12, 2014
    10
    The Lion King is the best ever Disney movie and the best animated movie of all time. It is an emotional and heart warming journey. The Lion king showed what a powerful and stunning film it was in 1994 and why to this day it is still the best Disney movie of all time.
  52. May 29, 2011
    10
    The best animated movie of all time. And one of the greatest movie ever made! Every time I see The Lion King I get a special feeling inside me, something that I can't explain with words. The movie is so beautiful and the characters are memorable. The songs are excellent, the soundtrack made by Hans Zimmer is so touching and the opening scene itself are breathtaking. The Lion King is a trueThe best animated movie of all time. And one of the greatest movie ever made! Every time I see The Lion King I get a special feeling inside me, something that I can't explain with words. The movie is so beautiful and the characters are memorable. The songs are excellent, the soundtrack made by Hans Zimmer is so touching and the opening scene itself are breathtaking. The Lion King is a true masterpiece. Expand
  53. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Emotionally resonant and beautifully animated. The Lion King stands tall within Disney's pantheon of classic family films. This should have gotten a Best Picture nomination at the1994 Oscars. 4/4 stars.
  54. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the greatest movies of all time, if not the best animated one. Only few movies can take a very sad moment and then turn around and make you life when just a few minutes.
  55. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    An epic and lovely adventure in every way, this animated production is definitely an icon of its genre. First of all the storyline is great, very unique and funny that will submerge you into a whole new world inside this movie with its very well made visual production and style. The plot is interesting and entertaining too, with a friendly story and a light atmosphere that takes exitingAn epic and lovely adventure in every way, this animated production is definitely an icon of its genre. First of all the storyline is great, very unique and funny that will submerge you into a whole new world inside this movie with its very well made visual production and style. The plot is interesting and entertaining too, with a friendly story and a light atmosphere that takes exiting shifts as it progresses introducing different scenarios that all together construct a beautiful movie. The characters are just adorable with charming performances, and often a musical number with a memorable soundtrack is included that adds to the wonderful experience this is from beginning to end. Expand
  56. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. A truly wonderful film for the whole family. This movie is a cartoon but it is more compelling, emotional then most non animated films. Truly spectacular.
  57. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    You can't go wrong with classic Disney. The Lion King is phenomenal in every aspect - the songs, the characters, the animation, and the musical score by Hans Zimmer. It's an amazing movie and it's guaranteed to entertain people of all ages for years to come.
  58. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    When Simba is young he is naive to the world. Like any child he easily believes almost anything someone tells him and he is eager to discover new things. When his father tells him that one day he will to be king, Simba immediately gets that sparkle of astonishment in his eyes. However being the naive child he is, he thinks being king is all about having power and just doing what he wants.When Simba is young he is naive to the world. Like any child he easily believes almost anything someone tells him and he is eager to discover new things. When his father tells him that one day he will to be king, Simba immediately gets that sparkle of astonishment in his eyes. However being the naive child he is, he thinks being king is all about having power and just doing what he wants. This can symbolize the way kids think when they are little, they think growing up means you can boss around anyone you want and you have no responsibility. As he goes into exile he develops a more carefree attitude and thinks he has found what it means to be an adult. Like many of us when we were teens, we didnâ Expand
  59. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    I seriously can't find any flaws. It's a masterpiece. It has great visuals, a touching and epic story, and many songs and sequences that make you cry not only out of nostalgia, but also because it's just so touching.
  60. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Amazing movie, set the bar for modern-day animation, really stays in your heard for years after you watch the movie, with exceptional work on soundtracks by the brilliant Hans Zimmer. The characters are depicted extremely well, making viewers empathetic with characters like Simba, Mufasa, Zazu etc. Overall, this is a great movie and will be remembered for generations.
  61. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    A wonderful work of animation that is vibrant with color, song, and a stellar emotional core.
  62. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If you have not seen this movie, do so. The Lion King is my favorite movie ever, on all levels. It's not just a fantastic kid's movie. It's a movie that just about all people can enjoy. There are no flaws that bring down this movie whatsoever. Every single level of production goes way beyond its expectations. From the excellent main cast to the classic musical numbers, everything aboutIf you have not seen this movie, do so. The Lion King is my favorite movie ever, on all levels. It's not just a fantastic kid's movie. It's a movie that just about all people can enjoy. There are no flaws that bring down this movie whatsoever. Every single level of production goes way beyond its expectations. From the excellent main cast to the classic musical numbers, everything about this movie is memorable. This film should be used as a tool for up-and-coming animators who want to make movies at the same level of this movie. There aren't any movies that are as good as this, and there never will be another movie that even surpasses this movie in quality. The Lion King is an epic masterpiece that takes so many risks and overcomes all of them. Expand
  63. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    With it's amazing animation, great voice acting, funny humor, amazing music, and stunning visuals this movie is a masterpiece and is worth seeing many times.
  64. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    My words are not necessary! I'm sure you watched this masterpiece...if you haven't seen it, then do it now! The soundtracks are amazing! The story is very instructive and emotional, a pure perfect Disney classic!
  65. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    A classic tale of "survival of the fittest", The Lion King is an all-time classic for the ages that will never die and will remain as one of the best animated movies ever made.
  66. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    I grow up with this and my children's will, too. I have no intention to make them watch the (sorry) of cartoons of these days. This is just a masterpiece. Extremely funny, engaging, colorful, intelligent. Immortal.
  67. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I watched this wonderful masterpiece when i was only six years old. Up to now i have still remembered every detail about it, about the story that i know inspired millions of people not only children but also adults all around the world. This is like "The Godfather" for children, with a little exception that it is bright, funny and, most importantly, humanitarian. I think even grown-up menI watched this wonderful masterpiece when i was only six years old. Up to now i have still remembered every detail about it, about the story that i know inspired millions of people not only children but also adults all around the world. This is like "The Godfather" for children, with a little exception that it is bright, funny and, most importantly, humanitarian. I think even grown-up men can learn something meaningful from Disney's greatest animation - The Lion King. Expand
  68. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Lion King is probably not my absolute favorite Disney film, but it's still a piece of my childhood I will always cherish. The story is outstanding, the characters are unforgettable; of course there is really nothing I am saying that hasn't been said before. That scene at the end where Simba walks up Pride Rock to become the new King still gives me chills to this day. If you have not seen The Lion King, you really should, it's one of Disney greatest films, however I do like some others a bit more Expand
  69. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    The Lion King is my number one favourite Disney film of all time, I'm dead serious. It was hands down the best Disney film I had ever saw in my entire life. It has a great storyline, interesting characters, vibrant art and terrific animation, brilliant music and songs, they were so catchy and memorable. And the voice acting was also very good, except for Matthew Broderick who is theThe Lion King is my number one favourite Disney film of all time, I'm dead serious. It was hands down the best Disney film I had ever saw in my entire life. It has a great storyline, interesting characters, vibrant art and terrific animation, brilliant music and songs, they were so catchy and memorable. And the voice acting was also very good, except for Matthew Broderick who is the weakest actor of the game, giving Simba a pretty bland voice, but Simba is still a decent character. My favourite characters are Mufasa because he is the best character of the film, he had a fatherly personality and he wishes that Simba can be the future king, James Earl Jones gave a great performance for Mufasa, which gave him a deep and powerful voice similar to a lion's roar and also Timon and Pumbaa the comic relief meerkat-warthog duo, they were likeable characters and pretty funny as well and taught Simba to forget everything of how bad the past was, like my favourite song Hakuna Matata which was catchy and lighthearted in my opinion which reminds me of Bare Necessities from The Jungle Book, but different tunes and lyrics. The only flaws are Simba and Nala who are the weakest and blandest characters of the movie, but not that bad at all, and that's it. Only one flaw and that's it! This movie is a masterpiece. I gave this movie a 10/10. Expand
  70. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    Disney's best film by far, is still a great epic to be seen by all Disneyphiles out there.

    A adaption of the classical Broadway hit, the film is magnificent and a spectacular triumph displaying every element of Disney's promises for great entertainment . The story of a young exiled Lion who must return to his pack after it has been taken over hyenas, to fulfill his destiny as their
    Disney's best film by far, is still a great epic to be seen by all Disneyphiles out there.

    A adaption of the classical Broadway hit, the film is magnificent and a spectacular triumph displaying every element of Disney's promises for great entertainment .

    The story of a young exiled Lion who must return to his pack after it has been taken over hyenas, to fulfill his destiny as their rightful king, is still a well memorable classic among generations of fans.

    Featuring a great score by Hans Zimmer, the film is completely undeniably spectacular and must be watched more than twice....

    A CERTIFIED MASTERPIECE!
    Expand
  71. Jun 11, 2015
    10
    Uma animação épica, esse filme é sentimental, demostra personagens com personalidades convenientes, filme que demostra felicidade, paixão, medo, e muito mais, algo realmente animal e incrível!
  72. Eric
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    THis film is a definite masterpiece, nearly flawless. The story is excellently told, the soundtrack is breathtaking. The animation is a feast for the eyes. There's plenty of humor for adults and kids. This has classic written all over it.
  73. KittyC.
    Jul 24, 2004
    9
    Okay, so in my opinion, this isn't worth the Universal Acclaim Score. However, it is highly entertaining and a good Disney film.
  74. ChrisS.
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    One of the top Disney films of all time.
  75. raVen
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    Go on -- see it again. Disney simply refuses to make them like this anymore, and that's sad. After renting this, I suggest you work your way backward. Hunchback, Beauty and the Beast, The Rescuers movies, Aladdin, Little Mermaid, Jungle Book, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Snow White, all of them... ...and remember the excellence we used to expect from Disney before they became Go on -- see it again. Disney simply refuses to make them like this anymore, and that's sad. After renting this, I suggest you work your way backward. Hunchback, Beauty and the Beast, The Rescuers movies, Aladdin, Little Mermaid, Jungle Book, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Snow White, all of them... ...and remember the excellence we used to expect from Disney before they became addicted to CGI. Expand
  76. RoastBeef
    Apr 14, 2004
    9
    A pure Disney classic!
  77. AndrewM.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    Gratifying Disney classic that conjures more emotions in 90 mins than one would have thought possible. Like others of the genre, it is a cliched film but this doesn't detract from the experience. Each character in TLK evokes a different response from the viewer but all are as memorable as each other. I'm not a real musical lover but all of the songs in this film are brilliant Gratifying Disney classic that conjures more emotions in 90 mins than one would have thought possible. Like others of the genre, it is a cliched film but this doesn't detract from the experience. Each character in TLK evokes a different response from the viewer but all are as memorable as each other. I'm not a real musical lover but all of the songs in this film are brilliant compositions and perfectly situated in the storyline. Never a dull moment, this film will beguile all who cross its path. Expand
  78. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Its one of the greatest animation films of all time for a reason (if not the greatest). The Lion King is great from start to finish. I really enjoyed it and I am confused that it has recieved such a low score from critics and users when its so much better then that.
  79. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    This is one of Disney's best movies, it has likable characters, humor, action, drama, a great plot, ultimately this is one of the best movies ever a must see.
  80. Mar 5, 2015
    9
    Deeply heartfelt and pure. A stunning movie. .
  81. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    This movie was simply well made. The songs were memorable and amazing, the characters were believable (and arguably acted more human than many movies with human actors), and the animation was vibrant and lush, depicting a unique style of art, and still getting the movements of the characters down pat. The story really digs deep into Simba's character, which leaves the other characters aThis movie was simply well made. The songs were memorable and amazing, the characters were believable (and arguably acted more human than many movies with human actors), and the animation was vibrant and lush, depicting a unique style of art, and still getting the movements of the characters down pat. The story really digs deep into Simba's character, which leaves the other characters a bit stagnant, but that's not to say they aren't developed. They each have their own part to play in the story. The comic relief detracts from the heavier story just enough to keep the feature from being too depressing (it is disney, they like a lighter feel to their movies).

    Now, on the controversy some people have brought up about "Disney ripping off 'Kimba: The White Lion'", I looked into it, and in terms of story and characters, it seems the two are separate. Some art direction seems to have gone the same direction, although Disney and the guys who did Kimba did start working together on a project related to Kimba. The project was scrapped, but the people who had worked on the project probably decided to adapt some concept art to Lion King. Btw, the similarity of the names "Simba" and "Kimba" is probably coincidental, considering most of the names in "The Lion King" are based on Swahili words (simba means 'lion').

    Regardless, it is a solid movie that I recommend.
    Expand
  82. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    A beautifully drawn animation allied with a strong narrative and fantastic musical numbers made "The Lion King" one of the Disney greatest accomplishments.
  83. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Disney animation's "The Lion King" is a masterpiece and the godfather of all animations.
  84. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    Honestly, The Lion King may not get the highest rating from me but it will always be my favorite animated movie of all time. Star studded cast that does their job well, Great and memorable songs, Likeable characters. Only thing I don't care for was the casting of Matthew Broderick as the adult Simba, I didn't feel that he fit the part well. Aside from that, It's a great movie and onceHonestly, The Lion King may not get the highest rating from me but it will always be my favorite animated movie of all time. Star studded cast that does their job well, Great and memorable songs, Likeable characters. Only thing I don't care for was the casting of Matthew Broderick as the adult Simba, I didn't feel that he fit the part well. Aside from that, It's a great movie and once again, My favorite animated film of all time. Expand
  85. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    If you don't like The Lion King than I don't like you.
  86. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    One of Disney best movies. Simba and Mustafa are awesome characters and the story is heartwarming. Animation's best movie is the Lion King, screw the Aladdin and Snow White, this is the best Disney movie of all time!
  87. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    One of the best animated Disney films ever (if not the best), puts Frozen to shame. It is also one of the most successful films ever (not only animation). Great story, great message, amazing characters, iconic moments, probably the best Disney soundtrack ever and several heartbreaking and emotive scenes. The minutes at the beginning when Mufasa talks to his son alone are so full of beautyOne of the best animated Disney films ever (if not the best), puts Frozen to shame. It is also one of the most successful films ever (not only animation). Great story, great message, amazing characters, iconic moments, probably the best Disney soundtrack ever and several heartbreaking and emotive scenes. The minutes at the beginning when Mufasa talks to his son alone are so full of beauty and depth. Or just the first 5 minutes where we get introduced to the whole experience thanks to the amazing and unforgettable main song beat almost any other animation film in recent years. The Lion King is in the top 20 of most successful films ever adjusting by inflation. Frozen does not even make it to the top 100. That gives you an idea of the phenomenon it was. So deserved. Expand
  88. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    An amazing masterpiece of animation by Disney. With such power and thought into it, it's no wonder this film is as acclaimed as it is. The voices fit the characters perfectly, the music's rhythm coincides perfectly with the tone of the movie. And Timon and Pumbaa ease the tense moments with pure hilarity. As amazing as Hamlet itself.
  89. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    One of the biggest hits created by Disney in 1994 was The Lion King. This movie entices children with its memorable songs and fantastic characters. It is one of Disney’s greatest musicals, even though there are some scary moments. Despite the few violent scenes, the overall messages portrayed are hope, love, family, and responsibility. This film is a great choice for children as well asOne of the biggest hits created by Disney in 1994 was The Lion King. This movie entices children with its memorable songs and fantastic characters. It is one of Disney’s greatest musicals, even though there are some scary moments. Despite the few violent scenes, the overall messages portrayed are hope, love, family, and responsibility. This film is a great choice for children as well as adults.
    The film is about Simba (Jonathon Taylor Thomas) and how he “just can’t wait to be king.” That being said, his evil Uncle Scar (Jeremy Irons) is extremely jealous of his brother Mufasa (James Earl Jones) because Mufasa is the king of the jungle. His extreme jealously gets the best of him, and Scar has Mufasa killed by a stampede and makes Simba feel responsible. Simba, feeling overwhelming guilt and despair, then runs away and becomes friends with Pumbaa (Ernie Sabella) and Timon (Nathan Lane) who teach him that the best philosophy is “Hakuna Matata”, which means no worries. Simba is having the best time while with Timon and Pumbaa. He feels free and great about himself because he has nothing to worry about. Simba grows up thinking he has escaped his childhood until his old friend Nala, who is living under Scar’s leadership, finds him and tells him that the tribe has been having severe issues.
    The Lion King was originally inspired by William Shakespeare’s play, Hamlet. The Lion King’s themes and imagery relate to cultural and political situations in the United States and Africa. Along with this, many parts of the film resemble a famous Japanese television show Kimba the White Lion. Two characters in this show are Kimba and Simba. In The Lion King, the camera angles and composition are almost identical to this television show. The voice of Simba almost believed he was working on a remake of Kimba because he was familiar with the show. The movie is mainly about lifestyle choices and collective responsibility. This is where the majority of the movie got several of its ideas.
    The protagonist, Simba, starts off as a rebellious character whom then grows up and learns to accept his responsibilities instead of seeking revenge. The characters in the film are always filled with energy which shows how much hard work went into each character and their personality, looks, and overall appearance. Each character has there own appealing look and personality, which draws so much attention to them. Along with this, they each have a voice that is very engaging to listen to. The characters have comical senses of humor and perform each scene in a joyful way. When Mufasa emerges in a cloud for Simba and talks to him, he gives Simba hope and inspires him to go and regain his throne. This scene shows how family is always there for you, even when all hope is gone. Not only are the characters funny, but they have a meaningful and serious side as well.
    The Lion King is a spectacular film for all ages. Although the movie is a cartoon, it is appealing to adults as well because it has a message behind it that can captivate even the oldest of audiences. Even if the children do not grasp the entirety of the overall message, they still love the film because of its entertainment. It keeps you interested the entire time and captivates everyone into feeling compelled to finish it. The directors and producers used great sounds effects and were able to get the audience to sing along with them. The colors and their brightness that was used enhances the film and makes it much more enjoyable and fun to watch. Every scene has an attracting look and amusing music, which always makes it pleasurable to watch. They used music to connect the funny scenes back to the overall message such as “Circle of Life” and “Hakuna Matata”. Circle of Life is played during the ceremony when Simba is born and at the end for Simba and Nala’s newborn club. Simba is baptized here and the whole kingdom comes together to see him. Hakuna Matata is played when Simba arrives at the jungle home and continues to play during a sequence in which Simba grows up. This shows that Simba puts his problems behind him and lives the life he wants. The music makes a child not want to take their eyes off the screen because of the energetic characters and catchy rhythm. The filmmakers used animated programs to show their visuals. The stampede scene was created in a 3D computer program so the characters could be multiplied. The visuals are very clever and give off a fun, loving, and spirited tone. The movie is presented with amazing animation, music, and choreography. The animators of the story studied real-life animals for reference and some even journeyed on a trip to Africa. This assisted in how the animators made the characters act during many of the scenes. This also helped them to better understand the animal environment and way of life. A wildlife expert visited the studio to help the writers with the animal behavior and to help the artists with their drawings. Brenda Chapman, one of the story heads, said that writing an original story is very challenging because there is nothing to fall back on.
    The Lion King displays that if one is in a dark place, be strong and take the next challenge as it comes. Each character has there own way of doing this, which makes the film so much more interesting to watch. The film portrays many different ideas and responsibilities making it a movie for everyone to watch and enjoy with a lesson learned. The writers created a wonderful original story. The filmmakers did an incredible job with the characters, scenery, and animation. The Lion King is a warm, loving, fun film that everyone should have a chance to see.
    Expand
  90. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This classic Disney movie has catchy songs, wonderful colours and lovable characters! Obviously it is one of the disney movies to feature death, which I think in a way is good to ease children into the idea of it.
  91. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    The king of Disney indeed. The Lion King marks the pinnacle of Disney's Renaissance of the 1990s, and the best film to come out of that studio ever. Taking its roots from Shakespeare and Hamlet, it is more grown-up and epic than one would expect. Definitely one to keep on your DVD shelf.
  92. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    If you haven't seen this movie, then you definitely need to watch it this instant! It's a spectacular film with plenty of laughs for kids and even hidden themes for adults. Definitely a Disney classic.
  93. Jul 8, 2015
    9
    When people talk about their favorite Disney film, 'The Lion King' is an answer that always comes up, no matter what generation of Disney you're talking about. The 1990s was a very strong decade for the Walt Disney Studios, as they came off a string of successes with 'The Little Mermaid' (1989), 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991) (this is MY favorite Disney film) and 'Aladdin' (1992).

    Even
    When people talk about their favorite Disney film, 'The Lion King' is an answer that always comes up, no matter what generation of Disney you're talking about. The 1990s was a very strong decade for the Walt Disney Studios, as they came off a string of successes with 'The Little Mermaid' (1989), 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991) (this is MY favorite Disney film) and 'Aladdin' (1992).

    Even after 'The Lion King', there were other films that were not appreciated by the critics mostly, but audiences loved anyway, 'Pocahontas' (1995) and 'The Hunchback of Notre Dame' (1996) spring to mind.

    'The Lion King' is essentially Hamlet, but with lions, it opens with the best opening sequence I've seen in any film, animated or live-action. "The Circle of Life" is an iconic song to open with an we see the sun rising and all the different animals of different breeds gather around to witness the birth of their new future king. A lion cub is lifted before them and the animals bow together. The lion cub is Simba and we witness his adventure in the movie.

    We meet his uncle Scar (Jeremy Irons) who is jealous as he wants to be king, but the birth of Simba compromises his chances, and his brother Mufasa (James Earl Jones) tries to reason with Scar.

    Simba gets into a predicament where Scar plans to kill Mufasa and tells Simba to run away. Unlike Disney's 'Bambi' (1942), the death of Mufasa happens on-screen and can be traumatizing to the younger audience.

    As Simba has run away, he meets a meerkat and a warthog, Timon and Pumbaa who raise Simba from his teen years into his adulthood. But when Scar is king of Pride Rock, the entire group want Simba back and gain his status as the rightful king.

    Of all the Disney films released in the 1990s, 'The Lion King' is the one people speak highly of the most, and for good reason as it is less sugar-coated than 'The Little Mermaid' and 'Beauty and the Beast' and less comical than 'Aladdin'. The movie tells a serious story with the occasional comedy to lighten up the mood for when the film gets too serious. The songs are catchy too and the story is not hard to follow, even for kids.

    So why did I give this film a 9 instead of the perfect 10 everybody is rating it? Well, I do think that 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991) is actually the best film from Disney and 'The Lion King', for me, has some flaws that prevent it from being perfect. Everybody seems to over-praise this film, but here are my problems.

    The songs for me, were a little disappointing, considering they are by Tim Rice and Elton John, I only loved "The Circle of Life" and "Be Prepared"...I found "I Just can't wait to be King" and "Hakuna Matata" a little annoying, even as a kid. "Can you feel the love tonight?" felt a little shoe-horned in the film, but the Elton John version is brilliant.

    Certain things happen in the third act still make no sense to me, even as a child I didn't understand and still don't understand now. Let's just say that a certain character admits their faults and the film can end after that. I couldn't help but feel that the third act felt rushed just so it can get to the conclusion.

    However, the positives do outweigh the negatives, the animation is still as beautiful as ever (particularly "The Circle of Life" sequence), the film tells a really good story and there is pure heart and emotion put into this picture.

    I don't think 'The Lion King' is the best Disney film of all time, that title, for me, goes to 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991), but this is definitely in my top 10.
    Expand
  94. May 6, 2012
    8
    Who would believe this is my first time watch this classic Disney jewel in the crown and the location was ruefully in the plane. After last year's mega-successful re-entering into 3D multiplexes, clearly it becomes more urgent for me to cancel it from my unfinished masterpiece list (there are more horrifying ones on my list which I wish I could show it here). THE LION KING is a timelessWho would believe this is my first time watch this classic Disney jewel in the crown and the location was ruefully in the plane. After last year's mega-successful re-entering into 3D multiplexes, clearly it becomes more urgent for me to cancel it from my unfinished masterpiece list (there are more horrifying ones on my list which I wish I could show it here). THE LION KING is a timeless artwork, it's technical index could not remain its cutting-edge 2D advances in 1994, the story nevertheless is in perfect pitch for audience from every degree of ages, the HAMLET-inspired plot could feasibly find more evocation with adult groups while the colorful appealing is irresistible for youngsters. It's an archetypical win-win Disney Animation. The narrative is tightly intriguing, the O.S.T. is top-notch although I can hardly admit Elton Johnâ Expand
  95. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Very good plot, with an unforgettable music and makes you think about the blows of life. I do not see bad things, but on the contrary, this great, amazing, wonderful and serious, but I do not give 10, and I'll tell you why: the movie itself is good, but the characters like Scar and the hyenas were disturbing , desperate and perverse. You can not think clearly about the attitude of theseVery good plot, with an unforgettable music and makes you think about the blows of life. I do not see bad things, but on the contrary, this great, amazing, wonderful and serious, but I do not give 10, and I'll tell you why: the movie itself is good, but the characters like Scar and the hyenas were disturbing , desperate and perverse. You can not think clearly about the attitude of these characters, I was left stunned. And the other characters did not cause me any grace, except Mufasa, which was great, but the others are ridiculous or strange, this was the only bad thing about this movie. Expand
  96. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    AHHHHHHHHHHH SEVENYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

    To start off, this is the movie your kids deserve to watch and nothing less quality if you want to like good movies in the future. I kid kid, but although I give this movie a 8, it's actually more of a 8.5 for me. The movie is easy to understand and it was purposely made for youth so don't get so uptight about this movie not being Shawshank or
    AHHHHHHHHHHH SEVENYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

    To start off, this is the movie your kids deserve to watch and nothing less quality if you want to like good movies in the future. I kid kid, but although I give this movie a 8, it's actually more of a 8.5 for me. The movie is easy to understand and it was purposely made for youth so don't get so uptight about this movie not being Shawshank or Inceptionlike. That being said, this review is for those who haven't seen it.
    Music...easy A man. This is stuff that you should know even in your sleep. It's a kid movie so expect the musical aspect to seep in here and there. Sing along too or else you're just not experiencing what the producers made

    Plot/Characters: im 20 years old and I'm still not ready to accept some of the scenes but I know that every movie needs a basic problem and solution. That being said, this is a timeless work.

    I appreciate that the writers actually took time to research the animals and setting shown in this movie. That is bonus points for me when someone does their homework and executes perfectly.

    If i had to describe this movie in one word, it would be: rainbow. The reason for that is that you will feel all those colors in the rainbow throughout this movie. Yes, it's animated but don't let that ever dictate what is good.

    Watch this with a friend and call up a homie that has seen this before. I recommend calling up the crew to get that singalong going on.
    Expand
  97. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    It surely isn't the best Disney movie but it's still a powerful and emotional adventure. In my opinion, the film will be more appropriate for grown-ups. I'm not saying that kids shouldn't see this, it's just that adults might find the themes in the film more understandable and suitable.
  98. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Funny how Disney and Pixar can make films and get praised for them. I mean, I love the songs - Hakuna Matata is my favourite - it's understandable though that they can say it's merely 'a coincidence' that this is similar to another animation and obtain a huge profit. It's unfair how companies like this can prey on the smaller ones for the sake of it. They can add these certain things toFunny how Disney and Pixar can make films and get praised for them. I mean, I love the songs - Hakuna Matata is my favourite - it's understandable though that they can say it's merely 'a coincidence' that this is similar to another animation and obtain a huge profit. It's unfair how companies like this can prey on the smaller ones for the sake of it. They can add these certain things to films, but I'm not saying that they're bad. I love how they can inject humour into animation, which I only really saw when Timon and Pumbaa were on the screen, and actually make the characters work, but this doesn't mean it's completely original. I don't think The Lion King can actually be given a higher score, because, although it did work, it didn't feel like they had done it themselves. Expand
  99. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    The Lion King has great characters and a lot of memorable songs. I think that the story is thin and short though, which makes the idea of the film very simple.
  100. Aug 12, 2014
    6
    "The Lion King" deserves praise for its unique animation design and its messages about "the Circle of Life". A decent attempt to create a picture both thought-provoking and suitable for all audiences. Its main weaknesses are an overall short and somewhat shallow plot and some stereotypical characters, as well as some disturbing views about monarchy. Its soundtrack is the culmination of"The Lion King" deserves praise for its unique animation design and its messages about "the Circle of Life". A decent attempt to create a picture both thought-provoking and suitable for all audiences. Its main weaknesses are an overall short and somewhat shallow plot and some stereotypical characters, as well as some disturbing views about monarchy. Its soundtrack is the culmination of Disney's using pop music in its productions, and some songs are very good, even a bit commonplace and perhaps unevenly positioned throughout the film. A good attempt that was slightly overrated because of its simplicity and wide approachability. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Sep 12, 2011
    63
    Although far from the worst offender in Disney's canon, The Lion King is nevertheless host to many of the less savory qualities common to the studio's output.
  2. For all the undeniable merits, it somehow feels manufactured, and thus, to a degree, calculated - the product not of a collective imagination taking esthetic chances, but of an imaginative collective putting the rivets into a well-wrought plan that can't go awry.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Faires
    78
    It's a thumping good adventure.