New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2653 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,401
Mixed:
82
Negative:
170
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MBReviewTeamOct 8, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. It has great acting, great special effects, and a great musical score. I HIGHLY recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LukeT.Sep 24, 2006
I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done for Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, and the crew. My one tiny quibble: no Saruman. I understand the reasoning for leaving him out, but I and others who have seen it felt that it left that part of the story unfinished. Yet, that decision made the extended edition that much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
The best of the trilogy, a film you can watch 30 times and still love. Shame its just out of the top 5. (hmm... none of the top 5 are recent films) But if it was up to me this would be #1 and the other two would be about #6 or 7.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.Jul 13, 2006
Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read the books loved the movies. There always has to be special needs people out there who have to be different from everyone else. if only natural selection were still working as effectively on human beings, because none of you would be alive right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshR.May 18, 2006
The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an awe-inspiring conclusion to what is arguably one of the greatest trilogies ever conceived - fantasy or otherwise. I wasn't there when the original star wars trilogy opened for the first time at the movies. I always felt that I missed out on something - the buzz and excitment that inevitably accompanies the opening nights of truely great films. I'm just glad that I was lucky enough to see the full Lord of the Rings trilogy on the big screen - knowing full well that this will go down in history as one of the greats, and may never been shown on the big screen again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxW.May 17, 2006
Tolkien unravels an amazing book. Jackson resulted an amazing movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoW.May 17, 2006
HE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
KamranK.Apr 3, 2006
If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative type (i.e. you can't get into a fantasy world because it is 'unreal'), this movie may seem boring. This is a sci-fi movie. And your brain needs to be stimulated to accept the details of a new world. So the ones who complain about it being long shouldn't just see it in the first place. They aren't the type suited for it. For people who do care about depth and thought provoking ideas in a fantasy, the extra long nature of the movie is just what they had been in dire need for. Also, if we didn't have such a long run, the first tag to be thrown on the movie would be 'mindless action'. Incredible story and direction make this the finest on-screen moment I've ever seen. There are those who would complain about The Army of Dead being too unreal. But if you look closely, the whole trilogy including The One Ring bit is unreal. The way that you connect part of imaginary world to your own is the real thing. And the story clearly expresses the desperation in which Aragorn used the Army of Dead in the battle for Gondor. Whereas he did comprehend the fact that the army can be used only for a single time and this certainly wasn't his last battle before Sauron's downfall. This is one of the main aspects that I love about the trilogy, i.e. the relationship between hope and actions based on it. The story is a dark one which holds many paths and choices for the main characters. And though they don't have any hope, they still go for the best they could have hoped for. And through the complex plot line, we're explained many bits of sayings we interpreted only as 'quotes'. Such as "even the smallest one can change the course of history" or "don't be too eager to deal out death and life, for even the wise cannot see all the ends". To summarize it all, this movie is as much for eyes as it is for brains. Lord of the Rings did change many aspects of my thinking. And as the movie trilogy was my introduction to the phenomenon, I give it a 10/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamXApr 1, 2006
Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted anotherFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Jordan`PatraoMar 10, 2006
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a legacy, thats with as few as The Godfather and Shindlers List. K so stfu you virgins cause this is the best fantasy you'll every lay your eyes on. mmmk? Im not much for the books, font is too damn small, im sure they're good though. The movie left tolkien no shame. Jacksons sendin her home happy. Runnin for prez next elec. Vote for Me!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RajivI.Mar 3, 2006
Simply awesome! Words fail me to describe what I felt when I was watching this movie. Certainly, one of the finest achievements in the history of cinema & certainly the most stupendous achievement in 21st century cinema so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 26, 2006
It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a total of ten hours of film. In order to do the master works of fiction any justice, every character must say their good byes, every action must be taken to blow the audience away. I found, then, that I wasn't only plastered to my seat, my eyes welling to the brim with tears, but that I wanted to remain with each character long after the story had ended. And for producing that profound want alone, the film deserves the rating I gave it, as well as for it being quite simply one of the great master works of cinema. These are the essential images magic is made of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 3, 2006
Peter Jackson is an absoloute marvel at filmaking, even the spectacular action scenes have their share of emotional beauty. The Return of the King is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, surpassed by Jackson's King Kong.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
J.kJan 4, 2006
It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCJan 3, 2006
If "Fellowship" and "Towers" were considered epic filmmaking, "The Return of the King" is super-epic. The battles are bigger, the emotions are stronger, the scenery is grander. You don't want the story to be over quite yet, and JacksonIf "Fellowship" and "Towers" were considered epic filmmaking, "The Return of the King" is super-epic. The battles are bigger, the emotions are stronger, the scenery is grander. You don't want the story to be over quite yet, and Jackson does his best to stretch it out as long as he possibly can! It's a culmination right to follow the previous two films and worthy of the awards bestowed on it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeDec 14, 2005
First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot less. Anyone who's read this book should agree that if Peter Jackson had ended it the same way tolkein did it the climax would have come at the hour-and-a-half mark, with 3 more hours to go, which is fine for a book which is read in multiple sittings but tourture for a movie. I'm glad Jackson ended it like he did and wrapped everything up. Well done sir! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamuelU.Dec 5, 2005
One of the greatest films of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
patrickd.Nov 12, 2005
Beautiful camerawork, breathtaking shots, majestic action and a perfect fantasy enviroment make up this conclusion. It's really long though, and I still believe it's overrated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JiggyG.Nov 7, 2005
A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.Sep 20, 2005
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines the other two in most respects - acting, direction, cinematography, and overall story depth are but a few that spring to mind.
Make no mistake, this trilogy (which not long ago most thought would be impossible to make) is a cinematic achievement rivalled by few, and bettered by none.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KevinP.Sep 14, 2005
The best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielB.Sep 3, 2005
The greatest epic fantasy of all time. Movies will never be the same again!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
MichelleB.Aug 18, 2005
DA BEST MOVIE IN DA WORLD!!...i am mrs bloom yea!! legolas's wife..bow to da princess!! i love legolas!! lord of the rings rock!!!!! muahahahaha!!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Aug 14, 2005
Very Very Very Good Movie, The Best Movie I've Ever watched. It keeps you in suspense, it makesyou feel like your in the movie in a weird way.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NtranceD.Jul 18, 2005
What is wrong with the people that give this a 1? You have to have no taste at all just to give this masterpiece of touching editing and wonderful acting, combined with the best effects of all time, in a true Tolkien-worthy style, anything What is wrong with the people that give this a 1? You have to have no taste at all just to give this masterpiece of touching editing and wonderful acting, combined with the best effects of all time, in a true Tolkien-worthy style, anything less than a 6. Perhaps this movie is too deep for those shallowminded slapsticklovers who are cursed with a mind-numbing superficiality (if that's a word, and if it means what I think it means) to not recognize true perfection when it's playing right in front of them. Thanks, Illya Z, for ruining my day. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
OliverT.Jul 14, 2005
A very, very, very good movie, one of best of the all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnA.Jul 3, 2005
Good movie, but not the best in the trilogy. The best one is, in my oppinion, The Two Towers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
rickymJun 30, 2005
I believe this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Being a major film buff I watch all sorts of movies be it lowbrow comedy, foreign dramas, logic-free action, satires, etc, etc. this movie however left me amazed at how well-made it I believe this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Being a major film buff I watch all sorts of movies be it lowbrow comedy, foreign dramas, logic-free action, satires, etc, etc. this movie however left me amazed at how well-made it was. Everything was top-notch!!! And I don't particularly understand that comment. That's like saying "Silence of the Lambs" had too much make-up. Its part of the film process, its part of the filmmakers responsibility to make it as lifelike as possible and if that means using computers rather than rubber masks or animatronics then so be it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NChatanaJun 27, 2005
Illya Z. You should watch only "bold and the beautiful
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LILSJun 18, 2005
Simply, a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
anonomisIJun 18, 2005
This is the best movie I have ever or possibly will ever see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamDJun 17, 2005
To contemplate in all its epic splendor just watch the behind the scene features on the DVD. They show just how much love and work put into this film. It will remain the greatest undertaking in current film history and probably for a great To contemplate in all its epic splendor just watch the behind the scene features on the DVD. They show just how much love and work put into this film. It will remain the greatest undertaking in current film history and probably for a great long time in the future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
rondaJun 13, 2005
Ten doesnt even begin to tell how much i like this movie not including the others.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousJun 8, 2005
Actually, a 10 isn't nearly enough. It derserves every academy award it won. Emotional resonance is prevalent throguhout, acting is top grade, and the action is quite the eye-opener. If you thought the battle of Helm's deep in Two Actually, a 10 isn't nearly enough. It derserves every academy award it won. Emotional resonance is prevalent throguhout, acting is top grade, and the action is quite the eye-opener. If you thought the battle of Helm's deep in Two Towers was good, wait till you see The battle for minas tirinth. Possibly the best movie ever made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
jasonDMay 4, 2005
The great adventure masterpiece of our time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IanF.Apr 22, 2005
I am a dedicated convert to teh Lord of the Rings series, i was hooked the first time i saw The Fellowship of The Ring. In my opinion The Lord Of The Rings series is collectively the best films ever made. The film makes up for the slight I am a dedicated convert to teh Lord of the Rings series, i was hooked the first time i saw The Fellowship of The Ring. In my opinion The Lord Of The Rings series is collectively the best films ever made. The film makes up for the slight disappointment which was The Two Towers after the mesmorislingly excellent Fellowship of The Rings . Somehow Jackson succeeded in doing the impossible, making the final chapter of the trilogy better than the first chapetr of the series, which was a cinematic masterpiece itself. From the frist second when we found out how Gollum or Speagle turned evil to when Frodo et al departed on the boat, the film kept up its unrelenting excellence. Forget what they say - that the second or thrid film in a series is never better - with Return of The King, i am happy to say, this myth is well and truly derailed and destroyed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CamilleV.Apr 8, 2005
It's the best film that i ever seen! with so talented actors and so talented realisator!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlmightyB.Apr 1, 2005
I will do no harm in the film's reputation so i better keep my mouth shut for risking to speak an understatement for the film... Simply my lifetime favorite.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichelleJ.Mar 15, 2005
OK. I'm a girl and I absolutly Loved this (and the rest) Movie. Now the people that gave it a crappy review are phsyco and need SERIOUS HELP!!! It was excellent...the special effects, Orlando Bloom...EVERYTHING!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewMar 9, 2005
I wish there was a score of 11/10. This is the greatest movie of all time, next to "The Godfater" of course. Those who gave this film a score of 5 or less, you should have no right to post your score, because you obviously have no reason I wish there was a score of 11/10. This is the greatest movie of all time, next to "The Godfater" of course. Those who gave this film a score of 5 or less, you should have no right to post your score, because you obviously have no reason abilities, or know a good movie when you see one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Feb 24, 2005
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaylaB.Feb 11, 2005
This is the best movie I have ever seen! Everything was awesome - the special effects, the acting....... If you haven't seen it yet, it is more than worth seeing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuisB.Jan 30, 2005
Beautiful movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrism.Jan 28, 2005
It is very unusual to see the 3rd movie of a trilogy that is so good. great ending to a great epic story. I found this movie to be very satisfying. would recommend to anyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Jan 28, 2005
Best movie trilogy of all time. And this is coming from a non-Tolkien reader who thought fantasy movies was something I wouldn't like anymore. Has everything a movie ever dreamed of having. Renews the movie-making art-form that's Best movie trilogy of all time. And this is coming from a non-Tolkien reader who thought fantasy movies was something I wouldn't like anymore. Has everything a movie ever dreamed of having. Renews the movie-making art-form that's been missing for so long. This has set the trend of great epic movies. Directors will try and copy the scope of it's greatness but it won't be matched in a very long time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnneJan 23, 2005
Quite possibly the best movie ever made. its a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinH.Jan 19, 2005
King Arthur was better?!?!?!?!? Dude, you have got to be kidding me! This may very well be the best movie trilogy ever put on film! Awesome!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jan 19, 2005
This is the best movie ever made! I have been an enormous Lord of the Rings fan my whole life, true, but I have been a "good movie" fan even longer. This movie has incredible acting (Sean Astin, Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, Viggo This is the best movie ever made! I have been an enormous Lord of the Rings fan my whole life, true, but I have been a "good movie" fan even longer. This movie has incredible acting (Sean Astin, Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, Viggo Mortensen, Andy Serkis, David Wenham, the whole bunch), simply unbelievable special effects, incredible directing and screenplay, wonderfully choreographed battle sequences, and a simply beautiful score. The whole series captivated me from the start...and it kept me subjugated for 3 years! The Return of the King, being in my opinion the best of the three, brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. If I could give grades to only two people for this film, I would have to grade as follows: A++ to Peter Jackson for a dazzling movie and the incredible retelling of the best story ever created, and an A++ to Sean Astin for his simply amazing portrayal of Sam, who was my favorite character when I read the books and remained such in the movies. It is a "must see!" Go, become enthralled in the amazing epic trilogy of J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanM.Dec 21, 2004
What the hell is monkey rugby?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobD.Dec 15, 2004
A fantastic Movie, very enjoyable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchM.Dec 7, 2004
The three films are but one, and it is a stupendous cinematic achievement. This final installment delivers on the promise of the first two, and even ups the ante for jaw-dropping spectacle as civilizations clash.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AleCNov 12, 2004
I'm sorry peter. This used to be my favorite film but know it's hero. this has a beautiful music and a great acting but a like alot more hero. this is my movie list: 1.Hero 2.Lord of the Rings 3. Yellow Submarine 4. Limelight 5. The Kid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
r6affleckOct 27, 2004
One of the best movies with the great effects and with the fantastic actors and the director did a supreme job.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamE.Aug 18, 2004
Awsome film, brilliant battle scenes has to be the best film of all time. It truly deserved 11 oscars!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneA.Aug 8, 2004
I love the Lord of the Rings films (and books). See the extended editions.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonB.Aug 8, 2004
Simply a masterpiece! Peter Jackson's best ever! Peter Jackson turned the books into great movies. Even, you know it's a little long, who gives a crap? Not me. Great special effects. A little sad of an ending, but nevertheless a Simply a masterpiece! Peter Jackson's best ever! Peter Jackson turned the books into great movies. Even, you know it's a little long, who gives a crap? Not me. Great special effects. A little sad of an ending, but nevertheless a good one. I was very glad it won 11 Academy Awards. I was very pleased. One of the best movies ever!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.Jul 29, 2004
I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular scenes. People need to lighten up. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RachelM.Jul 9, 2004
When i first herd of the lord of the rings i thot it was just gonna be somme other movie but boy was i wrong! i also enjoyed the battle of midel earth!!! i think i would of preferd another ending thow! oh well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinJ.Jul 2, 2004
IT ROCKS!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MaidenW.Jun 28, 2004
Visual FX were well done! I do not think they deserved 11 oscars, but it was a very good movie. You either liked it, or despised it. I have to hand it to Pete, it's very hard to please everyone...and doing all three movies, he has shown Visual FX were well done! I do not think they deserved 11 oscars, but it was a very good movie. You either liked it, or despised it. I have to hand it to Pete, it's very hard to please everyone...and doing all three movies, he has shown his visions of Tolkien's world. If you didn't like this movie, the fans and those who truly do appreciate this movie don't gave a f... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarmenB.Jun 23, 2004
This movie was the best out of all three! people who did not like it are MAJOR butt heads, and orlando bloom and elijah wood made outsanding preformances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Jun 20, 2004
That was an awesome movie, you can really attach to the charactors, you feel that you know them. The battles are great and also the acting. Overall, one of the best movies I have seen in my life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Jun 19, 2004
Return of the King is an extraordinary piece of flim making and full credit goes to Peter Jackson for such a wonderful job.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Jun 19, 2004
Best movie ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Jun 18, 2004
The best movie ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SuI.Jun 18, 2004
The greatest movie movie I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeffL.Jun 14, 2004
I really enjoyed the lord of the rings movies. There are so many themes and characters in these movies that there is something for everyone. I really love the ending except for the fact that i don't understand it. When Froddo, Bilbo, I really enjoyed the lord of the rings movies. There are so many themes and characters in these movies that there is something for everyone. I really love the ending except for the fact that i don't understand it. When Froddo, Bilbo, Gandalf and the elves sail away on the boat are they simply leaving Middle Earth or are they dying in a sense and going to heaven? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GregT.Jun 7, 2004
I don't know if this series of movies were true to the books. I don't read fiction. However, I watch fiction and this movie involved so much effort on the part of the people involved in it that you would have to give them "A" for I don't know if this series of movies were true to the books. I don't read fiction. However, I watch fiction and this movie involved so much effort on the part of the people involved in it that you would have to give them "A" for effort in any case. Great special effects, lots of action. A keeper. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KevinF.Jun 7, 2004
Great to look at, but the least amazing of the series. It feels as if Jackson's creativity meter has been tapped out by this point, and he relies on scale to compensate.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EdwardD.Jun 4, 2004
Epic, masterful work. Fans of Tolkien should understand the long ending and be grateful that he didn't give in to the typical Hollywood: end fight, end movie (no need to worry about resolution.)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ShanimalR.Jun 4, 2004
The end, or should I say ends, were a little drawn out, but overall the movie was excellent. I love Aragorn!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Jun 3, 2004
This movie is by far the best film to be made in quite a few years. All Tolkien fans are urged to go and see this film - it's worth the Oscars and worth the money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyJun 1, 2004
Come'on! Who doesn't love Lord of the Rings?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HadiF.May 31, 2004
Fantastic epic movie, which is beyond expectations.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RenatoV.JuniorMay 29, 2004
This is a fantastic film!!! No more comments!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Flat23May 29, 2004
OVERATED by far... i gave it 8 cause i am not saying it SUCKED, but i am saying i dont think it deserved all the hype! TH
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DennisP.May 29, 2004
Long live the King! Great fun. I expect to feel a little empty this year when I don't get a new LOTR movie for Christmas.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GustavoH.R.May 29, 2004
Forgettable and overrated. The ending is so slow it hurts. Far from perfection.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeebopZippidydooMay 28, 2004
It's a little slow, but it has the awesomest graphics and the best battle sequences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.May 28, 2004
A classic for the ages. I'd give this movie an 11 if I could - it is that much better than most films out there. There has never been a more sublime fusion of Art and populist entertainment.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdrianH.May 27, 2004
It's interesting to see these people vote 0-3 on this movie. Makes you wonder how they'd rate truly bad movies. This is an excellent movie, and I think criticism falls into 2 areas: 1) wasn't faithful enough to the book or 2) It's interesting to see these people vote 0-3 on this movie. Makes you wonder how they'd rate truly bad movies. This is an excellent movie, and I think criticism falls into 2 areas: 1) wasn't faithful enough to the book or 2) was too long. Those people who thought it was boring, probably didn't see the first 2, they'd know what to expect. If you enjoy the first two, you will LOVE this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HaileyP.May 27, 2004
This is the best movie in the whole world everybody has to see it. I think that the books are better than the movies though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardG.May 27, 2004
Moviemaking at its best!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KenE.May 25, 2004
I give LOTR: Return of the King a score of 11!! HEY KAYLA YOU CAN GIVE THE MOVIE A SCORE OF 11 IF YOU WANT TO.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewL.May 25, 2004
I realize that at the times this is being posted my review is on the bottom of a novel in itself. I realize that for every one movie with the size scale and hype of Rotk that there is going to be a mass of great reviews and a few bad reviews I realize that at the times this is being posted my review is on the bottom of a novel in itself. I realize that for every one movie with the size scale and hype of Rotk that there is going to be a mass of great reviews and a few bad reviews some from people with honest opinion, and others who want to feel special by bashing something popular. with that said this is a great movie that could have followed the books better but given the transition of medium does a good job on its own. The acting is superb the special affects awe inspiring, and the battles about as perfect as you can get from cinema. I ask that everyone who watches these movies read the books as well to get the full experience as thay are masterpieces of literature...that's right they are literature. I also ask that you not be swayed by a few pissants who want to be cool and go against anything popular so as to feel "special." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaylaK.May 11, 2004
This movie is awesome!!! I would give it an 11 if I could, it ROCKS! Go Orlando and Elijah (LoL)!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 10, 2004
Max C. gave it a 7: I was somewhat disappointed in this film. Having been very impressed by the first two, I expected a great deal. I was looking forward to seeing certain characters portrayed such as the Mouth of Sauron, Ghan Buri Ghan and Max C. gave it a 7: I was somewhat disappointed in this film. Having been very impressed by the first two, I expected a great deal. I was looking forward to seeing certain characters portrayed such as the Mouth of Sauron, Ghan Buri Ghan and some of Aragorn's fellow Rangers. There was no mention of the houses of healing and no scouring of the shire. I understand that films need to have pace and need to edit source material heavily. I felt they achieved that balance in the first two installments. However in this one they left out a lot and it still felt long. Overall I think everyone did a good job with attention detail, however in ROTK I found myself "seeing" the CGI stuff instead of it blending in as in the previous two. And for those of you arguing about whether Tolkien is art or not, that is just silly. Tolkien falls somewhere between the Sistine Chapel and a velvet painting of Elvis. Where on that continuum he falls is up to the individual, do not be snobs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielleB.May 7, 2004
The books are so moving, magical, inspiring, and jaw dropping, so it would be pretty obvious that the movie would turn out the same. To tell you the truth I was never into the masterful triliogy until last summer. I have to admit I once The books are so moving, magical, inspiring, and jaw dropping, so it would be pretty obvious that the movie would turn out the same. To tell you the truth I was never into the masterful triliogy until last summer. I have to admit I once thought The Lord of the Rings franchise was another book adaption for a movie, when screenplay writers ran out of ideas. When I saw Two Towers last year, I quickly got caught in the Lord of the Rings hysteria and couldn't wait for the finale. Two Towers may be the least memorable of the three, but it certainly caught this ONE fish from the sea. I took the time to read each book, and loved every piece of it!! What other movie do you see that has a director so devoted and close to these books?! Peter Jackson, unlike Christopher Columbus on the Harry Potter series, took seven complete years of his life attempting to film a movie that was considered "unfilmable." He wasn't even a renowned director, his most famous movie at the time being Heavenly Creatures. Yet he took a chance, took a book he truly adored, and created a masterpiece! Return of the King had epic battles, jaw dropping effects, and a great story!! This movie series will be talked about in a hundred years from now being in the same breath as the Godfather and Star Wars! Thank you Peter Jackson and LOTR cast for creating a movie so memorable and awe inspiring at the same time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MatiasP.May 2, 2004
Far too overrated, but still pretty good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RandyJ.Apr 18, 2004
This movie was more than a'ight, it was the bomb. Know what I'm sayin'? Are you feelin' it too? Go see this movie. Even Simon liked it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeccaF.Apr 13, 2004
This movie seriously has it all -- emotion, adventure, action, special effects. There's no way, and i mean no way, that this movie could have been any better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZeaZ.Apr 12, 2004
Working on a movie for 7,8 years, it could not be easy. For this, PJ deserves a 10, and every other honor he's got. Just love this adventure!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DaveB.Apr 9, 2004
Shining proof that SOMEONE out there still gives a damn about filmmaking. With the majority of movies (equally mainstream and independent if you ask me) getting crappier every year as we speak, this Kiwi is looking more and more like part of Shining proof that SOMEONE out there still gives a damn about filmmaking. With the majority of movies (equally mainstream and independent if you ask me) getting crappier every year as we speak, this Kiwi is looking more and more like part of a dying breed indeed, by my reckoning. Good thing he was able to contribute one last hopeful muster - Middle-Earth will be sorely missed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnaW.Apr 7, 2004
10? That's as high as it goes?!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BillR.Apr 6, 2004
Ah, my final word on the Rings cycle, taking the world by storm. Never really cared for the books, honestly, but these film adaptations are so anti-Harry Potter and BBC miniseries in their sensibilities and visuals that as bound as they may Ah, my final word on the Rings cycle, taking the world by storm. Never really cared for the books, honestly, but these film adaptations are so anti-Harry Potter and BBC miniseries in their sensibilities and visuals that as bound as they may ultimately be to Tolkien's overrated, doddering text......I just can't help but like them, even feel they are better than Shakespearean in many areas. And the action - rampaging elephants and all - an inexplicable thrill to watch, to say the least. The Extended Edition in this case will make for a very precious DVD in my growing collection, alright. Though not quite as airtight, character-driven and brashly irresistible as The Two Towers IMHO, Return of the King is a very impressive finale, the rare kind that thankfully doesn't hold anything back and thus has me melancholy to see end. (Where it does exceed TTT, however, is the "Into the West" number over the end credits, without a doubt. And simply put, most end credit numbers are utter sh*te.) Again, anything Gollum-related was a hoot and then some. Could any other filmmaker dig into this kind of overstuffed source material and yield such a watchable, 100% fantasy-steeped trilogy? Not only that, but one filled with as much refreshing vitality, willing experimentation and dramatic fearlessness as this it could *only* be traced back to Mr. 'Heavenly Creatures' Jackson? I think not. (Best of luck on Kong, sir.) Even Fellowship of the Ring, more than ever now, remains a skillful, humble road trip that still proves more lively and amounts to greater, more resonant levels than the majority of movies with clearly higher ambition. Overall, I daresay no other undertaking (individual or series, of epic or intimate proportions, not even the modest HC, really) in cinematic history manages to maintain *this* much dramatic investment in so many characters for three-hour blocks, yet for stretches has several dangerously absent at a time. This ensemble cast is absolutely first-rate, once more rising far and above what could have been potentially leaden, mumbo-jumbo stage-bound dialogue. A few undervalued actors in particular (i.e. Sean Astin, Miranda Otto) finally get the kind of screentime and focus they deserve, that's for sure. Even Elijah Wood finally hit some kind of a personal best in his sympathetic struggle with the Tolkienesque (perhaps as much as with the One Ring!). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnandP.Apr 5, 2004
This is the greatest movie I have ever seen!!! The action was terrific, the acting was superb and Peter Jackson should be commended for his great direction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolynApr 4, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KaliM.Apr 3, 2004
An extraordinary cinematic achievement and powerful conclusion to the Lord of the Rings. The film is exquisite in detail allowing the viewer to slip into the world of Middle-earth. Highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenE.Mar 29, 2004
This was one of the greatest action, adventure, fantasy and epic films of all time. It had everything but was possibly a bit too long with too many false endings. Only film that is better is The Two Towers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenA.Mar 26, 2004
It was one of the best movies I've ever seen.
2 of 2 users found this helpful