New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2306 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,130
Mixed:
65
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BobLuxenburgJan 20, 2004
Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cupCormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R, Fantasy, Jude T, Simon L, C B, Antonio A, John D, Joyce T, Rick S, Sweet angle, Brian K, Mike G, Jeffery G, Matt B, Eric M, Matt R, Maria T, Marcus B, Matt P, John S, Sam K, Joe C, i want you all to die and rott in hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no joy in this series so all of you all are full of s&^%t!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you all are the weakest link. goodbye. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
NickS.Mar 7, 2004
It was great. I have to agree with some people that the ghosts left the battle something to be desired. The battle did last long enough though to make it epic. But, it really wasn't the epic battle of the movie. The battle at theIt was great. I have to agree with some people that the ghosts left the battle something to be desired. The battle did last long enough though to make it epic. But, it really wasn't the epic battle of the movie. The battle at the Black Gate was honestly the epic one. If you think about it, they faced impossible odds, and they were all united to fight the odds. Anyway, the film was one of the best ive ever seen, and it is not overrated. Its actually underrated from my point of view. I reccomend this film to anyone who loves fantasy movies. Oh yeah, and CONGRATS to the Lord of the Rings cast and crew. You worked hard to make it, and you won alll 11 Oscars. HORRAY FOR LORD OF THE RINGS: RETURN OF THE KING!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JiggyG.Nov 7, 2005
A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
C.B.Oct 20, 2005
More like "Lord of the Borings."
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.Sep 20, 2005
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines the other two in most respects - acting, direction, cinematography, and overall story depth are but a few that spring to mind.
Make no mistake, this trilogy (which not long ago most thought would be impossible to make) is a cinematic achievement rivalled by few, and bettered by none.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
J.kJan 4, 2006
It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SamXApr 1, 2006
Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted anotherFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BassApr 20, 2006
I hate all the Lord of the Rings films, there all pathetic works of cinema that should have never been made. If you ever see a copy of any of them on dvd somewhere, stop what ever you're doing and make every attempt to destroy theI hate all the Lord of the Rings films, there all pathetic works of cinema that should have never been made. If you ever see a copy of any of them on dvd somewhere, stop what ever you're doing and make every attempt to destroy the disk-you'll be making the world a better place. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful
10
WilliamH.Apr 6, 2008
These films show film journalists and fans everywhere that fantasy films can be absolutely superb. And this film has been the perfect end to what has been an epic masterpiece and adventure.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
XavierEJul 2, 2009
The greatest film I've ever seen.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AaronRAug 1, 2009
I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and well crafted that I myself started to love Arwen. Every character was fleshed out so much so that there is no question as to them being real. You really feel that this is more of a true story then a fantasy epic. The sets? My god, I want a scal model of Minas Tirith. These sets were so well designed, so well painted, that it was just, amazing. Special effects were easily the best I have ever seen. The Oliphaunts were my favorite effect next to the Fell beast, which was also an amazing effect. Finally, the story, its a fitting end to the best trilogy that i can think of. At four hours long (the credits accounting for the last twelve minutes or so), it doesn't rush, nor does it feel drawn out. This trilogy, not just the film, but the entire trilogy, set the bar for how book-to-movie adaptations should be made. Thank you, Mr. Peter Jackson, thank you for giving me my most cherished film series of all time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AnnaLAug 1, 2009
An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest book in all its majesty. Even if it was 10 times longer I would have watched it to the end. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
BobB.Jan 1, 2004
BORING.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JoelCamboJan 23, 2004
This movie was really good, just like the previous two. Acting was great, and the action flowed well. I give this movie a 9 because the conclusion took too long. It made me keep thinking "Frodo, please just get on the boat and get on withThis movie was really good, just like the previous two. Acting was great, and the action flowed well. I give this movie a 9 because the conclusion took too long. It made me keep thinking "Frodo, please just get on the boat and get on with life,". The goodbyes didnt need to take 15 minutes. It could have ended with a bang, but the ending dragged on a little and kind of ruined an otherwise perfect final chapter. Too bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RamyCungJan 28, 2004
All those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegenceAll those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegence is below our standard level, and if this is an American site then it's probably normal so don't worry about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryPotterIsgayJan 2, 2004
Anyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which meansAnyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which means it is made for the cinema and isn't going to have every fucking thing that was in the books in the movies. You stupid shitlickers Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jan 3, 2004
It's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies manyIt's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies many times. I love Stars Wars and the Godfather movies, but the Lord of the Rings is both grander and more subtle. And the Return of the King distills its best qualities to their essence. Their has never been a better blend of operatic grandeur and intimacy, and there won't be until someone takes decades to create world and its history again. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveI.Jan 8, 2004
ZZzzzZzZzZzZzZz, thank god this boring trash is done and finished with. I didn't think this movie would ever end. We won't have to deal with it next year. THANK GOD.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WillJan 8, 2004
I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content and this film went above my expectations. This trilogy will be the new Star Wars for the younger generation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 9, 2004
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
brandonbMar 27, 2004
i enjoyed the previous two but as i was watching ROTK, i started to ask questions like what is the eye going to do with a ring?, or if it was forged from the other rings, then why it it better than the other rings? it's a fake!, andi enjoyed the previous two but as i was watching ROTK, i started to ask questions like what is the eye going to do with a ring?, or if it was forged from the other rings, then why it it better than the other rings? it's a fake!, and lastly, why diddnt they go to the ghosts sooner? it would have saved everyone a whole lot of work and agony since the ghosts killed ALL the bad guys in 5 minutes without casualty. someone please explain these things and maybe i'll reconsider. maybe i wasnt paying attention, maybe im thinking too much, or maybe i should read the books. till then, this movie definetely doesn't deserve 11 oscars and it definetely won't get a 10. it was long, cheesy, and dissapointing. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Jun 18, 2004
The best movie ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
6
MichaelRamseyJun 4, 2004
While all-in-all was a decent conclusion to the series. I agree with Mr. Phipps in his (Jackson's) not adding the "Scouring of the Shire". There are moments in it which let us understand what it all was about, at least for the Hobbits. While all-in-all was a decent conclusion to the series. I agree with Mr. Phipps in his (Jackson's) not adding the "Scouring of the Shire". There are moments in it which let us understand what it all was about, at least for the Hobbits. And that wisdom does come from experience... not age. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielB.Sep 3, 2005
The greatest epic fantasy of all time. Movies will never be the same again!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
1
TacoM.Oct 9, 2006
At last it is over. The most horrifying trilogy of movies to ever insult the screen are finished. Made me wretch almost as much as the new episodes of Star Wars. These movies, like Titanic and Star Wars, are made popular by morons who listen At last it is over. The most horrifying trilogy of movies to ever insult the screen are finished. Made me wretch almost as much as the new episodes of Star Wars. These movies, like Titanic and Star Wars, are made popular by morons who listen to what the movie industry tells them. Anyone who can seriously step back and evaluate this movie will see that is a joke. If you read the books, you are completely let down by the stupifyingly modern take on everything and the fact that most of books have been left out. If you didn't read the books and could follow what was going on, well good for you. Peter Jackson: next time you attempt to turn a book into a movie, try reading the book first! Expand
1 of 20 users found this helpful
3
D.B.Feb 5, 2006
Boring, melodramatic, laughably cheesy at the end. And "The Days of our Lives" has more believable, authentic acting. When there are so many interesting things to watch, why spend (a ton of) your time watching this? It's proof that Boring, melodramatic, laughably cheesy at the end. And "The Days of our Lives" has more believable, authentic acting. When there are so many interesting things to watch, why spend (a ton of) your time watching this? It's proof that movie critics have become so jaded that they are only impressed by size, glitz, and visual grandeur ("Oooh! Look at the big mountain!). That's the only way I can explain the outpouring of praise for this mediocre, boring, self-absorbed, self-indulgent piece of second rate epic tripe. My precious? Not in the least. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Jordan`PatraoMar 10, 2006
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a legacy, thats with as few as The Godfather and Shindlers List. K so stfu you virgins cause this is the best fantasy you'll every lay your eyes on. mmmk? Im not much for the books, font is too damn small, im sure they're good though. The movie left tolkien no shame. Jacksons sendin her home happy. Runnin for prez next elec. Vote for Me!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
StefanMar 5, 2006
A magnificent fantasy film, but I can't bear to watch it. Jackson invents unnecessary scenes which makes it apparent that he hasn't understood the original story, or deemed it more important to cater for his own visual and A magnificent fantasy film, but I can't bear to watch it. Jackson invents unnecessary scenes which makes it apparent that he hasn't understood the original story, or deemed it more important to cater for his own visual and dramaturgical interests. This is ok when it comes to King Kong, but Tolkien's book has a much different, and imho superior quality of atmosphere: more wise, more witty and more... magnificent. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KamranK.Apr 3, 2006
If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative type (i.e. you can't get into a fantasy world because it is 'unreal'), this movie may seem boring. This is a sci-fi movie. And your brain needs to be stimulated to accept the details of a new world. So the ones who complain about it being long shouldn't just see it in the first place. They aren't the type suited for it. For people who do care about depth and thought provoking ideas in a fantasy, the extra long nature of the movie is just what they had been in dire need for. Also, if we didn't have such a long run, the first tag to be thrown on the movie would be 'mindless action'. Incredible story and direction make this the finest on-screen moment I've ever seen. There are those who would complain about The Army of Dead being too unreal. But if you look closely, the whole trilogy including The One Ring bit is unreal. The way that you connect part of imaginary world to your own is the real thing. And the story clearly expresses the desperation in which Aragorn used the Army of Dead in the battle for Gondor. Whereas he did comprehend the fact that the army can be used only for a single time and this certainly wasn't his last battle before Sauron's downfall. This is one of the main aspects that I love about the trilogy, i.e. the relationship between hope and actions based on it. The story is a dark one which holds many paths and choices for the main characters. And though they don't have any hope, they still go for the best they could have hoped for. And through the complex plot line, we're explained many bits of sayings we interpreted only as 'quotes'. Such as "even the smallest one can change the course of history" or "don't be too eager to deal out death and life, for even the wise cannot see all the ends". To summarize it all, this movie is as much for eyes as it is for brains. Lord of the Rings did change many aspects of my thinking. And as the movie trilogy was my introduction to the phenomenon, I give it a 10/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineL.Jan 11, 2007
Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 page book (it's something like that I'm not getting technical). Also for those who say Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 page book (it's something like that I'm not getting technical). Also for those who say it's to long, I can stay up all night and watch all three extended additions. Yay for Tolkien and PJ. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StarrettBJan 2, 2007
The acting by many of the characters was excellent and the cinematography was unparalleled. Congrats to Peter Jackson for accomplishing such an amazing epic in film especially with such a difficult series of books to convert to screen. While The acting by many of the characters was excellent and the cinematography was unparalleled. Congrats to Peter Jackson for accomplishing such an amazing epic in film especially with such a difficult series of books to convert to screen. While I would not call it the greatest movie of all time, I definitely would say that it holds its own against a vast majority of films. Oh and to Taco M...if you took the time to view any of the documentaries on the film, it would become evident to you that they read all three of Tolkien's books (including the Silmarrion) multiple times and in great detail in order to get as much as they could out of the stories. To include every minute detail and story within the books would result in at least three 6 hour movies (which no one would watch). The trilogy was an adaptation of the books, not a visual representation of them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JacksonG.Jan 4, 2007
Although it does have some gems, overall I'm glad that the trilogy is FINALLY OVER!!! I felt all three of them were incomparably boring.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GiEiJan 8, 2007
The best movie trilogy ever. The extended editions are even better. Hours of extra movie material really adds to the story. 10 out of 10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JasonJ.May 30, 2007
I love this series. The entire story is well organized and keeps the three long movies feeling short. Upon watching all three (again) recently, I have determined that the 3rd is the weakest. Maybe it was director fatigue. Maybe it was the I love this series. The entire story is well organized and keeps the three long movies feeling short. Upon watching all three (again) recently, I have determined that the 3rd is the weakest. Maybe it was director fatigue. Maybe it was the fact that all of the genius was spent. The ending of this movie was the disaster that pulled it down from a 9.5 to a 7. Too much crying and too many endings. It was like watching the extra Napoleon Dynamite scene (the wedding). It must be man's instinct to try and ruin something that was otherwise perfect. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JackSJul 26, 2007
My wife and step daughters loved the books and the films, but I could never get into them. Granted, the acting, cinematography and attention to detail are there, but in my opinion, this movie drags on and on. My family was riveted and loved My wife and step daughters loved the books and the films, but I could never get into them. Granted, the acting, cinematography and attention to detail are there, but in my opinion, this movie drags on and on. My family was riveted and loved every second, but I was reaching for the No-Doze. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FogleG.Feb 11, 2008
Best movie ever! incredible acting and non-stop action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RahulApr 8, 2008
Best movie of the last 50 years, enough said. It was long, but the ending was amazing. Some parts were boring if you haven't read the books, but the action moments more than made up for them.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmyW.Jun 13, 2008
A beautiful finish to the greatest Trilogy of all time. Peter Jackson was able to capture every possible emotion to its full. An Epic story filled with struggle, pain and evil but overcome with with perserveriance, friendship and love. The A beautiful finish to the greatest Trilogy of all time. Peter Jackson was able to capture every possible emotion to its full. An Epic story filled with struggle, pain and evil but overcome with with perserveriance, friendship and love. The best story of good and evil ever written, from the brilliant mind of professor J.R.R. Tolkein. Jackson was able to completly capture and bring the book to life. Every actor seemed to just magicaly fill the role perfectly. I colud go on and on untill the end of time writing about this movie but I'm going to leave you with this FACT. The Lord of the Rings is the best movie ever made and there will probably never be a movie like it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
I don't remember when I watched the return of the king for the first time, but I know this. Watching it now, I can only say that this movie imparts a feeling which I cannot express it in words. The lord of the rings trilogy is and will I don't remember when I watched the return of the king for the first time, but I know this. Watching it now, I can only say that this movie imparts a feeling which I cannot express it in words. The lord of the rings trilogy is and will always remain my favorite! Story... If you haven't watched the first two then it's gonna be difficult for you to keep up with the story but if you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out his/her roles with dedication and devotion. No complaints. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... I don't think any movie will ever be able to come up to the level of return of the king in terms of visuals. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! Such movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. THE LORD OF THE RINGS IS A JOURNEY OF EPIC PROPORTIONS!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeS.Sep 26, 2008
This movie is supreme in every aspect: visualy, story-wise, directing and with an extraordinary soundtrack. My personal favorite ever since I saw it!
16 of 19 users found this helpful
5
StabsM.Sep 4, 2008
Look, the movie was good. The best that can be done turning the compelling, but slow-paced and sprawling, Tolkein trilogy into a movie. I loved the books. I liked the movies fine. But I never understood the intense love-a-thon thrown to the Look, the movie was good. The best that can be done turning the compelling, but slow-paced and sprawling, Tolkein trilogy into a movie. I loved the books. I liked the movies fine. But I never understood the intense love-a-thon thrown to the movies - they aren't exactly masterpieces of anything but special effects (though the special effects were incredible). It isn't like there's any acting in the movie, and it isn't like they were somehow better than the books, you know? Expand
7 of 24 users found this helpful
10
ChristosMMar 18, 2009
I used to believe no movie could match the strength of Tolkien's literature but Jackson's passion with the material is so overwhelming that produces a cinematic troumph!There's no bad acting,only faith and obedience to I used to believe no movie could match the strength of Tolkien's literature but Jackson's passion with the material is so overwhelming that produces a cinematic troumph!There's no bad acting,only faith and obedience to Tolkien's work,presented here in breathtaking landscapes,epic battle scenes and fantastic art direction! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherEMay 7, 2009
Half way through this movie, my girlfriend and I lost interest and started talking instead - luckily, we were at the drive-in.
3 of 67 users found this helpful
10
JonathanT.Apr 3, 2010
The best of the trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.May 22, 2010
The best movie ever made.
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Dec 11, 2003
Best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JDec 12, 2003
All of these movies are no good at all! It's just one gigantic battle scene, that is boring after about 1 minute. Everything is too weird with all these hobbits and dwarves and wizards and magical people that don't exist. All ofAll of these movies are no good at all! It's just one gigantic battle scene, that is boring after about 1 minute. Everything is too weird with all these hobbits and dwarves and wizards and magical people that don't exist. All of this is too fake and I can't believe that so many people love these worthless movies so much. How can you sit through 3 straight hours of junk like that? Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
bwDec 16, 2003
this movie was pathetic, why would gandalf get his head cut off. in the book, aragorn never died...but in the movie, that damn arwen chick shot him! gimli's legs got chopped off by legolas, and then legolas died of old age! saruman diedthis movie was pathetic, why would gandalf get his head cut off. in the book, aragorn never died...but in the movie, that damn arwen chick shot him! gimli's legs got chopped off by legolas, and then legolas died of old age! saruman died from drug overdose, and frodo and sam were too high to throw the ring in the fire! gollum committed suicide after the movie, and the ring was made of see through plastic! stupid stupid movie Expand
1 of 21 users found this helpful
7
AMJan 2, 2004
Obviously, this is a well-made, often thrilling, and gorgeous looking movie, but I must admit to a feeling of "is this it" afterwards. The battles were wonderfully shot, and aside from Eowyn, Theodan and Merry's contributions, entirely Obviously, this is a well-made, often thrilling, and gorgeous looking movie, but I must admit to a feeling of "is this it" afterwards. The battles were wonderfully shot, and aside from Eowyn, Theodan and Merry's contributions, entirely devoid of emotion. Denethor's character was muddled, to say the least. Orc deaths took precedence over the ringbearer himself. Something in this movie is distressingly off kilter, unbalanced. I realize it was an enormous task to translate such a literary work to such a visual medium, and applaud Jackson's zeal in making it work to some extent, but really: best motion picture of the year? Of all time? A perfect film, this is not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolynFeb 2, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Mar 2, 2004
Awesome.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CarolynApr 4, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Jun 19, 2004
Best movie ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamuelU.Dec 5, 2005
One of the greatest films of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCJan 3, 2006
If "Fellowship" and "Towers" were considered epic filmmaking, "The Return of the King" is super-epic. The battles are bigger, the emotions are stronger, the scenery is grander. You don't want the story to be over quite yet, and JacksonIf "Fellowship" and "Towers" were considered epic filmmaking, "The Return of the King" is super-epic. The battles are bigger, the emotions are stronger, the scenery is grander. You don't want the story to be over quite yet, and Jackson does his best to stretch it out as long as he possibly can! It's a culmination right to follow the previous two films and worthy of the awards bestowed on it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MBReviewTeamOct 8, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. It has great acting, great special effects, and a great musical score. I HIGHLY recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 26, 2006
It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a total of ten hours of film. In order to do the master works of fiction any justice, every character must say their good byes, every action must be taken to blow the audience away. I found, then, that I wasn't only plastered to my seat, my eyes welling to the brim with tears, but that I wanted to remain with each character long after the story had ended. And for producing that profound want alone, the film deserves the rating I gave it, as well as for it being quite simply one of the great master works of cinema. These are the essential images magic is made of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 3, 2006
Peter Jackson is an absoloute marvel at filmaking, even the spectacular action scenes have their share of emotional beauty. The Return of the King is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, surpassed by Jackson's King Kong.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RajivI.Mar 3, 2006
Simply awesome! Words fail me to describe what I felt when I was watching this movie. Certainly, one of the finest achievements in the history of cinema & certainly the most stupendous achievement in 21st century cinema so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxW.May 17, 2006
Tolkien unravels an amazing book. Jackson resulted an amazing movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshR.May 18, 2006
The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an awe-inspiring conclusion to what is arguably one of the greatest trilogies ever conceived - fantasy or otherwise. I wasn't there when the original star wars trilogy opened for the first time at the movies. I always felt that I missed out on something - the buzz and excitment that inevitably accompanies the opening nights of truely great films. I'm just glad that I was lucky enough to see the full Lord of the Rings trilogy on the big screen - knowing full well that this will go down in history as one of the greats, and may never been shown on the big screen again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.Jul 13, 2006
Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read the books loved the movies. There always has to be special needs people out there who have to be different from everyone else. if only natural selection were still working as effectively on human beings, because none of you would be alive right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertEDec 3, 2007
Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some shit and give it 10's and have no idea what a truly great movie entails. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
The trilogy is pretty good, but this one dragged. "I know how we can fend off evil!! With an army of ghosts!! Yeah!!" What a lame ending!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JE.Feb 24, 2008
I have been a Ring fan since the early 60's. I have followed the animated attempts and, while I appreciated each, none came anywhere close to doing justice to the trilogy. Jackson's effort was nearly perfect; the same spirit, drive I have been a Ring fan since the early 60's. I have followed the animated attempts and, while I appreciated each, none came anywhere close to doing justice to the trilogy. Jackson's effort was nearly perfect; the same spirit, drive and reach I felt in the books, without obvious flaws. Plus, it was gorgeous. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
AlextheNomadMar 13, 2008
Folks, I had the stamina and time to go through all the comments on this here thread. And I think all that should have been said to acclaim the movie was said, but here is the interesting thing i noticed... 80-90 percent of all 0 ratings are Folks, I had the stamina and time to go through all the comments on this here thread. And I think all that should have been said to acclaim the movie was said, but here is the interesting thing i noticed... 80-90 percent of all 0 ratings are submitted by the same dork who uses similar dorky wordings like too busy, too long, not impressed, much ado about nothing, not my cup of tea etc. But even with the dork bending over backwards to diminish the score it still got an 8 plus... Just goes to show how great this movie is ... Long live the true craftsmen of the cinematic art!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Mar 16, 2008
Awesome.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
4
MarionmMay 1, 2008
The music is the best ever for any relaxation therapy !!!! Its kinda like church MUSIC!!!!!! sadly most of these people think this movie is GREAT!!!! its aint trust me folks!!! It was boring and REALLY REALLLY CHEESY. It might have passed asThe music is the best ever for any relaxation therapy !!!! Its kinda like church MUSIC!!!!!! sadly most of these people think this movie is GREAT!!!! its aint trust me folks!!! It was boring and REALLY REALLLY CHEESY. It might have passed as a when-you-have-nothing-to-do FILM!!!! but ist just wayyyyyyyyy tooo long!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.May 29, 2008
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ROBJul 8, 2008
It kept me focused the entire 3+ hours, and excited. That is a testament to a truly great epic. It had everything I could ask for in a fantasy movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanO.Jul 8, 2008
This movie ROCKS!!! Intense action, amazing action and good story line I loved the books and the movie livies up to standerd this is a must see movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
sdMar 28, 2009
To everyone who rated this at 0 or 1(and used the word hoopla)I physically shudder to think of the movies you rate highly.White chicks springs to mind.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiagoM.Mar 29, 2009
This is perhaps the best film ever made! It's the most dramatic an epic end of a great trilogy ever imagined! Tolkien was definitely a genius and Peter Jackson is an excellent director. His vision of Middle Earth is simply amazing and This is perhaps the best film ever made! It's the most dramatic an epic end of a great trilogy ever imagined! Tolkien was definitely a genius and Peter Jackson is an excellent director. His vision of Middle Earth is simply amazing and "The Return of the King" shows it very clearly! Fantastic, unbelievable, magic, it's a film from a different world! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful
5
RuisertTheGaelMay 17, 2009
Well, Jackson managed to not foul this one up quite as bad as Two Towers, but still, it has to pick up and continue all the problems from TT. I was not about to spend decent money on this in a theater, since I pretty much knew it was going Well, Jackson managed to not foul this one up quite as bad as Two Towers, but still, it has to pick up and continue all the problems from TT. I was not about to spend decent money on this in a theater, since I pretty much knew it was going to inherit all the junk leftover from TT, and probably add to it. At least it did NOT have Arwen take the sword from Aragorn and show him how to use it right, like I feared it might... Add to that the half dozen or more times when Jackson re-wrote some of the best scenes from the book and pretty much ruined them, well. I'm just glad I can read. Expand
4 of 31 users found this helpful
0
RyanSAug 7, 2009
This movie, along with the entire series, is a slap in the face to J.R.R. Tolkien. Besides for changing the characterizations of nearly all the major characters (aka Pippin, the idiot in the book, tricks Treebeard, one of the smartest This movie, along with the entire series, is a slap in the face to J.R.R. Tolkien. Besides for changing the characterizations of nearly all the major characters (aka Pippin, the idiot in the book, tricks Treebeard, one of the smartest characters, into invading Isengaurd????????) changing the basic mythology about dwarfs and elves ( The first scene in the two towers i EXACTLY OPPOSITE as it is in the book. You couldn't make it more opposite if you were actively trying to destroy Tolkien's work.) It also adds a pointless and time consuming romance between Aragorn and Arwyn that was just plain cheesy. And finally, in the book, if any character could kill a OLIPHAUNT you would have expected it to be one of the MAIN characters such as Gandalf or Aragorn or even Frodo. But no. Instead, Legalas, in the books one of the supporting characters but in the movies he might as well have been the star considering the airtime he gets compared to other supporting characters such as Gimli, kills an OLIPHAUNT. I have never seen anything more ridiculous in my life. Meanwhile, scenes that ACTUALLY HAPPENED in the books such as Pippin defeating TWO CAVE TROLLS is cut in favor of more shots of Legolas's face and more romance crap between Aragorn and Arwyn. And don't even get me started on the camera work. It's like all the cameramen took a bunch of speed before shooting and were unable to prevent the camera from shaking uncontrollably. All in all I'd have to say congratulations Peter Jackson you managed to turn a masterpiece into a sensationalized, special effects ridden piece of Hollywood crap that any real fan of the books would be utterly disgusted with. Expand
1 of 18 users found this helpful
9
ButtahBiscuitDec 12, 2003
Amazing! I am the 41st reviewer of a movie that has 5 more days to be released! This is almost like Minority Report - we find you guilty of being about to see this movie and rate it with a 9. Remarkable - What'll they think of next?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnDec 16, 2003
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HayleyR.Dec 17, 2003
Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy something that is so much fun probably enjoys absolutely nothing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LegionODorkSDec 19, 2003
This ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life-- including the first two installments of this outrageously overrated series-- than yes, FANBOY, this isThis ZERO is for the pinheads rating this movie as 'BEST MOVIE EVER'. Yes, if you've seen only three movies in your life-- including the first two installments of this outrageously overrated series-- than yes, FANBOY, this is the best picture ever. If, on the other hand, you're over 3 years old, you may have seen... oh... I don't know... 200 better films, conservatively? Let me guess: George W. Bushole.. best President EVER?!? I thought so... Expand
0 of 18 users found this helpful
5
DaveDec 21, 2003
I must say i'v read Rick's review, and although i don't agree, i was laughing my a** off. The moive did start to drag ALOT in the middle, and it seemed like everyone was kinda forcing there acting(script) parts. The effects I must say i'v read Rick's review, and although i don't agree, i was laughing my a** off. The moive did start to drag ALOT in the middle, and it seemed like everyone was kinda forcing there acting(script) parts. The effects however, is the most superior to date than any other movie.Absolutely demolish?s matrix special effects. I did however understand what Rick meant by "nerds". I think it was geared to more of the hardcore fans. With such length, thats why it kinda fell in the middle and picked itself back up again. I don't think it was that bad though, in consideration of the whole film, and its length. I know it's based on a book but i lowered my score based on the ending as well, it could have been better. I do feel that Ebert's review was dead on. And Tyler G., you don't have to read all the books to tell if this movie was good or not. It's like looking at Matrix Revolution(without seeing the pervious installments) and saying Matrix Revolution was a perfect movie. Its not, it was horrible. The return of the king, stands by ITSELF as not such a great movie. And no i didn't compare it to Hogwarts and what Middle-Earth stands for, and bla bla bla, cuz im not that much of a diehard fan.I just thought the movie really disappointing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
PatrickSJun 22, 2004
While some of you, given the great reviews this stinker has gotten, may be brainwahed, or rather pressured into loving this trilogy of CGI crud, I ask everyone else to stay far away. This movie is obviously inspired by some sort of Al QaedaWhile some of you, given the great reviews this stinker has gotten, may be brainwahed, or rather pressured into loving this trilogy of CGI crud, I ask everyone else to stay far away. This movie is obviously inspired by some sort of Al Qaeda training video, teaching us how "the enemy" (the good ole US of A) can not be reasoned with and therefore must all be slaughtered. You who live by this movie should rethink your life. And about three-quarters of the way through, Return of the King suddenly becomes laugh-out-loud awful, with dreadful, lame lines delivered painfully badly - as if a different screenwriter and director had taken over for the movie's final act. From Gimli's "we'll surely die... let's go" speech to anything coming out of the mouth of neurotic man-beast Elijah Wood, this movie is a clunker. And why'd they have to kill Legolas? It doesnt work, and wasnt in Tolkiens original book. They also should have kept in the scene where Frodo and Sam fight the spyder. I was sad to see that they left it out of all three movies entirely. Overall, miss this crappy movie and see a real mans movie like Dirty Dancing 1 or House Party 4. Avoid this torrid flimsy piece of messy crap at all costs, unless you wish to be overtaken by boredom. This is one ring you won't want to be the lord of.
Expand
1 of 19 users found this helpful
0
KevinM.Jun 23, 2004
That was an awesome movie, you can really attach to the charactors, you feel that you know them. The battles are great and also the acting. Overall, one of the best movies I have seen in my life.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
PaulShoomanJun 23, 2004
Peter Jackson seems to specialize in making uncalled-for remakes of moribund 1950s movie genres that aren't exactly aching for callbacks. House of Ghouls was a fitfully funny, successfully stupid pothead gloss on the Dracula moviePeter Jackson seems to specialize in making uncalled-for remakes of moribund 1950s movie genres that aren't exactly aching for callbacks. House of Ghouls was a fitfully funny, successfully stupid pothead gloss on the Dracula movie series. This one, however, fails on just about every level. Not only have Wes Craven, the Wachowski brothers and Ed Wood (of all people!) pretty much squeezed every drop of blood out of the Fantasy concept, but ROTK commits the unforgivable sin of movie trilogy endings: it eventually becomes the exact same thing it's a sequel of! To add insult to injury, the brilliant 1950s spoof Cheaper By the Dozen, which almost completely reinvents the movie-parody genre and was released at virtually the same time, makes this mess look even more like a total failure than it already is. I guess Petey J can go for lambada movies as his next target.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
PeterJacksonJun 23, 2004
Hello, Peter Jackson here. Just wanted to apologize for this terrible piece of crap I made. Looking back, I realize how stupid it was of me to make this movie. First of all, I really need to learn how to direct and make real characters in myHello, Peter Jackson here. Just wanted to apologize for this terrible piece of crap I made. Looking back, I realize how stupid it was of me to make this movie. First of all, I really need to learn how to direct and make real characters in my movies. Sorry about that. I guess if you want to see one of my good movies, see House of Ghouls. I musta had an extra bottle o scotch when we started making this movie. Again, I apologize, and I hope you ignore my crappy movies in the future. I'm only out for the money, you silly lorries.
Love,
Peter Jackson
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
9
patrickd.Nov 12, 2005
Beautiful camerawork, breathtaking shots, majestic action and a perfect fantasy enviroment make up this conclusion. It's really long though, and I still believe it's overrated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JamesMNov 19, 2005
What rubbish! After first and second chapters of magnificence and beauty, Peter Jackson inexplicably ruins the epic trilogy with a boring and overlong third installment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Feb 24, 2005
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinP.Sep 14, 2005
The best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickM.Nov 16, 2006
The greatest movie of all time. No other movie compares to its scope of production and detail as well as its level of entertainment.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenL.Dec 23, 2006
After twice reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the RIngs, I would not have thought it possible to bring the books to the big screen. Having seen the films I can say that Peter Jackson did a masterful job and the films are excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoW.May 17, 2006
HE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
6
NikkoC.May 19, 2006
Crying, weeping, applauding - the movie had come to an end.......and finally, I could leave. Jackson's inability to 'kill his babies' in the diting process means an exercise in ticking boxes and presents, because of the Crying, weeping, applauding - the movie had come to an end.......and finally, I could leave. Jackson's inability to 'kill his babies' in the diting process means an exercise in ticking boxes and presents, because of the world's inherent fantasticness and ymtholigical landscape, characters one simply cannot care for becuase they are clearly total bollocks in any real sense. So if the premise is ridiculous, yet is subsequently treated seriously and with the most mundane of affection (clearly caring for 1d characters who he does not give enough to for us to do the same), the movie is undited nd almost seven hours long.......why wouldn't anyone, as I did, stand and applaud in sheer relief at its conclusion (about an hour late)....I mean shit! Boot camp was finally over....and this kiwi (but no dim one) could finally fly home. A movie review is not about judging a film's vision or the child-like sinserity of its maker...NO!...It is about the merits of the film as they sit objectively and whether it stacks up in all the genral areas and any we didn't see coming...this does neither. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
The best of the trilogy, a film you can watch 30 times and still love. Shame its just out of the top 5. (hmm... none of the top 5 are recent films) But if it was up to me this would be #1 and the other two would be about #6 or 7.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
LukeT.Sep 24, 2006
I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done for Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, and the crew. My one tiny quibble: no Saruman. I understand the reasoning for leaving him out, but I and others who have seen it felt that it left that part of the story unfinished. Yet, that decision made the extended edition that much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
I see some of you hated this movie. but that's silly because a LOT of movies are long and boring nowadays (and I was being sarcastic). LOTR was at least a good trilogy. in some of the boring bits, I tried to stay awake for the exciting I see some of you hated this movie. but that's silly because a LOT of movies are long and boring nowadays (and I was being sarcastic). LOTR was at least a good trilogy. in some of the boring bits, I tried to stay awake for the exciting parts, and yes it was a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanceB.Apr 23, 2007
The trilogy was one of the only ones that I've seen that actually matched the books.
1 of 1 users found this helpful