New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2279 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,103
Mixed:
65
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BobLuxenburgJan 20, 2004
Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cupCormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R, Fantasy, Jude T, Simon L, C B, Antonio A, John D, Joyce T, Rick S, Sweet angle, Brian K, Mike G, Jeffery G, Matt B, Eric M, Matt R, Maria T, Marcus B, Matt P, John S, Sam K, Joe C, i want you all to die and rott in hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no joy in this series so all of you all are full of s&^%t!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you all are the weakest link. goodbye. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JiggyG.Nov 7, 2005
A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamE.Sep 20, 2005
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines
I suspect the people who give this or any LOTR movie a low score must be frustrated Matrix- or Star Wars-fans, jealous of LOTR's success.

I am a big fan of all three franchises, but in our hearts, we all know that LOTR far outshines the other two in most respects - acting, direction, cinematography, and overall story depth are but a few that spring to mind.
Make no mistake, this trilogy (which not long ago most thought would be impossible to make) is a cinematic achievement rivalled by few, and bettered by none.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
J.kJan 4, 2006
It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SamXApr 1, 2006
Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted anotherFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamH.Apr 6, 2008
These films show film journalists and fans everywhere that fantasy films can be absolutely superb. And this film has been the perfect end to what has been an epic masterpiece and adventure.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
XavierEJul 2, 2009
The greatest film I've ever seen.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AaronRAug 1, 2009
I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and I recently re-watched the entire trilogy. I can safely say, that these are my all time favorite movies. RotK has some of the best action scenes I've ever had the pleasure to watch. The love between Aragorn and Arwyn is so beautiful and well crafted that I myself started to love Arwen. Every character was fleshed out so much so that there is no question as to them being real. You really feel that this is more of a true story then a fantasy epic. The sets? My god, I want a scal model of Minas Tirith. These sets were so well designed, so well painted, that it was just, amazing. Special effects were easily the best I have ever seen. The Oliphaunts were my favorite effect next to the Fell beast, which was also an amazing effect. Finally, the story, its a fitting end to the best trilogy that i can think of. At four hours long (the credits accounting for the last twelve minutes or so), it doesn't rush, nor does it feel drawn out. This trilogy, not just the film, but the entire trilogy, set the bar for how book-to-movie adaptations should be made. Thank you, Mr. Peter Jackson, thank you for giving me my most cherished film series of all time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AnnaLAug 1, 2009
An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest An amazing finale to an epic trilogy. The first two out of necessity lacked the satisfactory feel of really ending, whereas this final film had the privilege of finishing all character arcs and loose ends and presents Tolkein's finest book in all its majesty. Even if it was 10 times longer I would have watched it to the end. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RamyCungJan 28, 2004
All those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegenceAll those trashing the lord of the rings and saying such things as "predictable!" then first of all learn how to read and then pick up Tolkien's wonderful book and start reading. Many of you have trashed it so becasue your intellegence is below our standard level, and if this is an American site then it's probably normal so don't worry about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryPotterIsgayJan 2, 2004
Anyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which meansAnyone who doesn't like the lord of the rings can suck my ass. You dirty pieces of shit are the reason it has an 8.9 out of ten instead of one hundred. And all you purists can shut the hell up because its called a screenplay, which means it is made for the cinema and isn't going to have every fucking thing that was in the books in the movies. You stupid shitlickers Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jan 3, 2004
It's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies manyIt's amusing to watch the reaction of Star Wars and Godfather fans as many professional critics slaughtered their sacred cows by proclaiming Lord of the Rings trilogy better -- which it is. At 37, I have viewed those other trilogies many times. I love Stars Wars and the Godfather movies, but the Lord of the Rings is both grander and more subtle. And the Return of the King distills its best qualities to their essence. Their has never been a better blend of operatic grandeur and intimacy, and there won't be until someone takes decades to create world and its history again. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayE.Jan 4, 2004
A Fitting ending to the greatest trilogy of all time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillJan 8, 2004
I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content I couldn't help at some points to become teary eyed. Jackson does a great job of tying everything together perfectly so no questions are raised in after thought. Was a bit long but it was worth it in the end. I left the theater content and this film went above my expectations. This trilogy will be the new Star Wars for the younger generation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 9, 2004
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Jun 18, 2004
The best movie ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DanielB.Sep 3, 2005
The greatest epic fantasy of all time. Movies will never be the same again!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
Jordan`PatraoMar 10, 2006
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a
ok for all you who gave it lower then 8 wtf.
if you had the money, the tools, the actors, everything Jackson had to work with, do u actually think u could of came fukin close to creating as marvelous as a masterpiece as he did.
He set a legacy, thats with as few as The Godfather and Shindlers List. K so stfu you virgins cause this is the best fantasy you'll every lay your eyes on. mmmk? Im not much for the books, font is too damn small, im sure they're good though. The movie left tolkien no shame. Jacksons sendin her home happy. Runnin for prez next elec. Vote for Me!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KamranK.Apr 3, 2006
If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative If you are a fan of fantasy and Tolkien, this movie is probably the best you'll ever see. If you are a fan of fantasy and haven't read Tolkien, this movie may inspire you to pick the books. If you are just not of the imaginative type (i.e. you can't get into a fantasy world because it is 'unreal'), this movie may seem boring. This is a sci-fi movie. And your brain needs to be stimulated to accept the details of a new world. So the ones who complain about it being long shouldn't just see it in the first place. They aren't the type suited for it. For people who do care about depth and thought provoking ideas in a fantasy, the extra long nature of the movie is just what they had been in dire need for. Also, if we didn't have such a long run, the first tag to be thrown on the movie would be 'mindless action'. Incredible story and direction make this the finest on-screen moment I've ever seen. There are those who would complain about The Army of Dead being too unreal. But if you look closely, the whole trilogy including The One Ring bit is unreal. The way that you connect part of imaginary world to your own is the real thing. And the story clearly expresses the desperation in which Aragorn used the Army of Dead in the battle for Gondor. Whereas he did comprehend the fact that the army can be used only for a single time and this certainly wasn't his last battle before Sauron's downfall. This is one of the main aspects that I love about the trilogy, i.e. the relationship between hope and actions based on it. The story is a dark one which holds many paths and choices for the main characters. And though they don't have any hope, they still go for the best they could have hoped for. And through the complex plot line, we're explained many bits of sayings we interpreted only as 'quotes'. Such as "even the smallest one can change the course of history" or "don't be too eager to deal out death and life, for even the wise cannot see all the ends". To summarize it all, this movie is as much for eyes as it is for brains. Lord of the Rings did change many aspects of my thinking. And as the movie trilogy was my introduction to the phenomenon, I give it a 10/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineL.Jan 11, 2007
Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 page book (it's something like that I'm not getting technical). Also for those who say Ok first up please let me establish that I am both a fan of the books and movie. I think Jackson did a damn good job of interpreting the 1110 page book (it's something like that I'm not getting technical). Also for those who say it's to long, I can stay up all night and watch all three extended additions. Yay for Tolkien and PJ. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GiEiJan 8, 2007
The best movie trilogy ever. The extended editions are even better. Hours of extra movie material really adds to the story. 10 out of 10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FogleG.Feb 11, 2008
Best movie ever! incredible acting and non-stop action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RahulApr 8, 2008
Best movie of the last 50 years, enough said. It was long, but the ending was amazing. Some parts were boring if you haven't read the books, but the action moments more than made up for them.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmyW.Jun 13, 2008
A beautiful finish to the greatest Trilogy of all time. Peter Jackson was able to capture every possible emotion to its full. An Epic story filled with struggle, pain and evil but overcome with with perserveriance, friendship and love. The A beautiful finish to the greatest Trilogy of all time. Peter Jackson was able to capture every possible emotion to its full. An Epic story filled with struggle, pain and evil but overcome with with perserveriance, friendship and love. The best story of good and evil ever written, from the brilliant mind of professor J.R.R. Tolkein. Jackson was able to completly capture and bring the book to life. Every actor seemed to just magicaly fill the role perfectly. I colud go on and on untill the end of time writing about this movie but I'm going to leave you with this FACT. The Lord of the Rings is the best movie ever made and there will probably never be a movie like it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
I don't remember when I watched the return of the king for the first time, but I know this. Watching it now, I can only say that this movie imparts a feeling which I cannot express it in words. The lord of the rings trilogy is and will I don't remember when I watched the return of the king for the first time, but I know this. Watching it now, I can only say that this movie imparts a feeling which I cannot express it in words. The lord of the rings trilogy is and will always remain my favorite! Story... If you haven't watched the first two then it's gonna be difficult for you to keep up with the story but if you get the plot then it's a story that's gonna captivate you even after the end of the movie. Kudos to J.R.R.Tolkien for creating such a world and Peter Jackson for filling this world with life. Acting... Every character is special and all the credit goes to the actors. Each and every actor, has carried out his/her roles with dedication and devotion. No complaints. Direction... I'd only say that no other person in this universe could have made lord of the rings other than Peter Jackson. Visuals... I don't think any movie will ever be able to come up to the level of return of the king in terms of visuals. It's not easy for a 3 hour movie to keep you entertained for long but this movie makes you beg for more! Such movies are made once in a decade and to not see them is the biggest mistake of your life. THE LORD OF THE RINGS IS A JOURNEY OF EPIC PROPORTIONS!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeS.Sep 26, 2008
This movie is supreme in every aspect: visualy, story-wise, directing and with an extraordinary soundtrack. My personal favorite ever since I saw it!
16 of 19 users found this helpful
10
ChristosMMar 18, 2009
I used to believe no movie could match the strength of Tolkien's literature but Jackson's passion with the material is so overwhelming that produces a cinematic troumph!There's no bad acting,only faith and obedience to I used to believe no movie could match the strength of Tolkien's literature but Jackson's passion with the material is so overwhelming that produces a cinematic troumph!There's no bad acting,only faith and obedience to Tolkien's work,presented here in breathtaking landscapes,epic battle scenes and fantastic art direction! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonathanT.Apr 3, 2010
The best of the trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.May 22, 2010
The best movie ever made.
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Dec 11, 2003
Best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jan 5, 2004
One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the One of the most breath-taking films ever produced with brilliant acting and dialogue. An adequate adaptation of the books, which some of you seem to forget. How can you say the ending is too predictable? Did you expect them to change the ending from what had been written 50 years ago? Idiots. Look beyond the glitter and big fancy setwork and you will see at the heart of this story the relationship between hopeless hobbits and the definition of the heroic in identity in Aragorn, something our culture has lost. This movie is one of the best I have ever seen and should be at least viewed by all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolynFeb 2, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Mar 2, 2004
Awesome.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CarolynApr 4, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Jun 19, 2004
Best movie ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamuelU.Dec 5, 2005
One of the greatest films of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MBReviewTeamOct 8, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. It has great acting, great special effects, and a great musical score. I HIGHLY recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 26, 2006
It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a It astonishes me how many believed the ending to be far too long. But I feel it was a necessary choice to lengthen it as they did. This film attempted to its best to tie all the loose ends, and to conclude an epic adventure that spanned a total of ten hours of film. In order to do the master works of fiction any justice, every character must say their good byes, every action must be taken to blow the audience away. I found, then, that I wasn't only plastered to my seat, my eyes welling to the brim with tears, but that I wanted to remain with each character long after the story had ended. And for producing that profound want alone, the film deserves the rating I gave it, as well as for it being quite simply one of the great master works of cinema. These are the essential images magic is made of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 3, 2006
Peter Jackson is an absoloute marvel at filmaking, even the spectacular action scenes have their share of emotional beauty. The Return of the King is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, surpassed by Jackson's King Kong.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RajivI.Mar 3, 2006
Simply awesome! Words fail me to describe what I felt when I was watching this movie. Certainly, one of the finest achievements in the history of cinema & certainly the most stupendous achievement in 21st century cinema so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxW.May 17, 2006
Tolkien unravels an amazing book. Jackson resulted an amazing movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshR.May 18, 2006
The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an The last thing I want to do is jump on the bandwagon, and join the millions of people out there gushing and babbling about how amazingly fantastic this movie was. Unfortunately, I have little choice in the matter. It really is an an awe-inspiring conclusion to what is arguably one of the greatest trilogies ever conceived - fantasy or otherwise. I wasn't there when the original star wars trilogy opened for the first time at the movies. I always felt that I missed out on something - the buzz and excitment that inevitably accompanies the opening nights of truely great films. I'm just glad that I was lucky enough to see the full Lord of the Rings trilogy on the big screen - knowing full well that this will go down in history as one of the greats, and may never been shown on the big screen again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.Jul 13, 2006
Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read Every time I come onto this website I am blown away by the stupidity of people. If you've read the books and enjoyed them, how could you not enjoy the movies? People who haven't read the books loved the movies, people who have read the books loved the movies. There always has to be special needs people out there who have to be different from everyone else. if only natural selection were still working as effectively on human beings, because none of you would be alive right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertEDec 3, 2007
Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some shit and give it 10's and have no idea what a truly great movie entails. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JE.Feb 24, 2008
I have been a Ring fan since the early 60's. I have followed the animated attempts and, while I appreciated each, none came anywhere close to doing justice to the trilogy. Jackson's effort was nearly perfect; the same spirit, drive I have been a Ring fan since the early 60's. I have followed the animated attempts and, while I appreciated each, none came anywhere close to doing justice to the trilogy. Jackson's effort was nearly perfect; the same spirit, drive and reach I felt in the books, without obvious flaws. Plus, it was gorgeous. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
AlextheNomadMar 13, 2008
Folks, I had the stamina and time to go through all the comments on this here thread. And I think all that should have been said to acclaim the movie was said, but here is the interesting thing i noticed... 80-90 percent of all 0 ratings are Folks, I had the stamina and time to go through all the comments on this here thread. And I think all that should have been said to acclaim the movie was said, but here is the interesting thing i noticed... 80-90 percent of all 0 ratings are submitted by the same dork who uses similar dorky wordings like too busy, too long, not impressed, much ado about nothing, not my cup of tea etc. But even with the dork bending over backwards to diminish the score it still got an 8 plus... Just goes to show how great this movie is ... Long live the true craftsmen of the cinematic art!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Mar 16, 2008
Awesome.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.May 29, 2008
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ROBJul 8, 2008
It kept me focused the entire 3+ hours, and excited. That is a testament to a truly great epic. It had everything I could ask for in a fantasy movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanO.Jul 8, 2008
This movie ROCKS!!! Intense action, amazing action and good story line I loved the books and the movie livies up to standerd this is a must see movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiagoM.Mar 29, 2009
This is perhaps the best film ever made! It's the most dramatic an epic end of a great trilogy ever imagined! Tolkien was definitely a genius and Peter Jackson is an excellent director. His vision of Middle Earth is simply amazing and This is perhaps the best film ever made! It's the most dramatic an epic end of a great trilogy ever imagined! Tolkien was definitely a genius and Peter Jackson is an excellent director. His vision of Middle Earth is simply amazing and "The Return of the King" shows it very clearly! Fantastic, unbelievable, magic, it's a film from a different world! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JohnDec 16, 2003
Great!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HayleyR.Dec 17, 2003
Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy something that is so much fun probably enjoys absolutely nothing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Feb 24, 2005
Awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinP.Sep 14, 2005
The best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickM.Nov 16, 2006
The greatest movie of all time. No other movie compares to its scope of production and detail as well as its level of entertainment.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenL.Dec 23, 2006
After twice reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the RIngs, I would not have thought it possible to bring the books to the big screen. Having seen the films I can say that Peter Jackson did a masterful job and the films are excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoW.May 17, 2006
HE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
The best of the trilogy, a film you can watch 30 times and still love. Shame its just out of the top 5. (hmm... none of the top 5 are recent films) But if it was up to me this would be #1 and the other two would be about #6 or 7.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
LukeT.Sep 24, 2006
I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done I totally echo Chris H's sentiments about the detractors. As to the film, I am proud to say that it is my favorite film of my lifetime (1985-) and certainly one of the best of all time. Excellent performances by all and a job well done for Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Phillipa Boyens, and the crew. My one tiny quibble: no Saruman. I understand the reasoning for leaving him out, but I and others who have seen it felt that it left that part of the story unfinished. Yet, that decision made the extended edition that much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
I see some of you hated this movie. but that's silly because a LOT of movies are long and boring nowadays (and I was being sarcastic). LOTR was at least a good trilogy. in some of the boring bits, I tried to stay awake for the exciting I see some of you hated this movie. but that's silly because a LOT of movies are long and boring nowadays (and I was being sarcastic). LOTR was at least a good trilogy. in some of the boring bits, I tried to stay awake for the exciting parts, and yes it was a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanceB.Apr 23, 2007
The trilogy was one of the only ones that I've seen that actually matched the books.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrandonS.Jun 22, 2008
A classic in every sense. These movies were essentially one 14-hour epic broken into three installments (just as the original is really one long novel broken into three books). Completely amazing, groundbreaking, and full of heart. It's A classic in every sense. These movies were essentially one 14-hour epic broken into three installments (just as the original is really one long novel broken into three books). Completely amazing, groundbreaking, and full of heart. It's set the bar by which all future epics will be judged. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryJun 23, 2008
It is cinema at its finest. The story, told through a genuine narrative, is very deep, as it is full of symbolism. Tolkien had vision when he wrote the books. Jackson then made the films. They were perfect. He envisioned one of the most It is cinema at its finest. The story, told through a genuine narrative, is very deep, as it is full of symbolism. Tolkien had vision when he wrote the books. Jackson then made the films. They were perfect. He envisioned one of the most imaginative world with so much skill, making every detail feel realistic. The beauty of the score and the magical atmosphere of the Elvish culture is simply unforgettable. The performances are really good. I didn't see actors, I saw mythological creatures. The film is full of emotions, touching themes such as friendship, courage and love. The films are deeper than what they seem, even philosophical, with Gollum being the most complex character of the series. His transformation is extraordinary, he could be a reflect of a psycho's psychology. The film is a cinematic achievement. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdrianV.Feb 17, 2009
Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t need even more exagerations from the actors to ruin it. it was acted as it should have been. Few movies ever made me cry this made me more than cry at the end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TonylJul 25, 2009
Hands down best movie for all ages once you've seen the first two. This movie has a shot at being the best of all time.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Dec 17, 2003
Best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HayleyR.Dec 17, 2003
Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy Someone gave this a zero, I noticed. Who would do such a thing? This movie made me so incredibly happy. My friends and I saw it last night and we all agree that it was perfect. It completely overshot our expectations. Anyone who cannot enjoy something that is so much fun probably enjoys absolutely nothing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeDec 14, 2005
First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot less. Anyone who's read this book should agree that if Peter Jackson had ended it the same way tolkein did it the climax would have come at the hour-and-a-half mark, with 3 more hours to go, which is fine for a book which is read in multiple sittings but tourture for a movie. I'm glad Jackson ended it like he did and wrapped everything up. Well done sir! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndyE.Dec 11, 2006
This film takes the cake as one of my favorite movies of all time. The special effects are spectacular, and the action sequences make me want to watch them over and over again! Peter Jackson really outdid himself in making an excellent book This film takes the cake as one of my favorite movies of all time. The special effects are spectacular, and the action sequences make me want to watch them over and over again! Peter Jackson really outdid himself in making an excellent book into a movie that is the best I have ever seen. The acting was excellent, there were no blotches in the special effects, and the models were beyond perfection! If I could give this a higher grade, I would give Lord of the Rings: Return of the King a perfect A+. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Nov 16, 2007
Best movie ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RelaxingKyleAug 30, 2010
I personally don't understand how someone could NOT give this movie 10/10. It's one of the very few movies that's both touchingly beautiful and downright disturbing. I don't really care about the length of movies to be perfectly honest,I personally don't understand how someone could NOT give this movie 10/10. It's one of the very few movies that's both touchingly beautiful and downright disturbing. I don't really care about the length of movies to be perfectly honest, therefore the length of this movie doesn't bother me. And really, how many of us die-hard fans didn't shed a tear when Gandalf tells the Hobbits "I will not say 'do not weep,' for not all tears are evil." In fact, I was basically in tears from the point where all of the Humans were about to fight at the Black Gate. This movie is absolutely a perfect movie, and in my opinion it is THE best movie ever made. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
My favorite movie of all time, perhaps the greatest movie of all-time, and definitely the greatest fantasy movie of all time. It seemed like it was a combination of both the elements of the the first to movies plus extra emotion andMy favorite movie of all time, perhaps the greatest movie of all-time, and definitely the greatest fantasy movie of all time. It seemed like it was a combination of both the elements of the the first to movies plus extra emotion and intensity. This movie movie is the definition of epic. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Take one of the best books ever written, give a visionary director a limitless budget and a perfect cast, and you will end up with this movie. I will watch this movie with my grandchildren (after we read the books!)
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
mazkyAug 29, 2010
Who in their right mind would give this anything but a 10/10. Possibly one of the best films ever released, better than part 1 about the same as part 2. With some of the most epic battle scenes and strongest storytelling this one will be aWho in their right mind would give this anything but a 10/10. Possibly one of the best films ever released, better than part 1 about the same as part 2. With some of the most epic battle scenes and strongest storytelling this one will be a classic for generations. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
libnoOct 22, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although the eagle part is both kinda random and it kinda makes you think 'hey, let's just ride some eagles to Mordor instead!" And Gandalf is a disappointment ever since he got resurrected. All he does is hit people with a stick and shine bright lights. When he was Grey he actually used magic but now he's white (not the racist way) and he's nothing more than a human flashlight. When Orcs are attacking, they waited until they surrounded their entire army before finally attacking. And the whole reunion thing was kinda stupid. And the Gondor palace was at the top of a cliff with no handrails or anything. When Aragorn was getting crowned, it looked like somebody was going to fall off. However, all the temptation elements, and neglected second son elements along with the after-waiting-for-the-enemy-to-form-up-action completely make up for it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SasquatchFelixDec 16, 2010
If you hate these movies than you must hate movies in general theses are easily some of the most engaging and epic movies ever, which is saying a ton about a movie based on a book. Reviewers like J should not be able to use this website... period
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
the best movie of all time and the only one that nearly made me cry.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
ClankaNov 21, 2010
Perhaps some of those who gave this masterpeice 0 should look at the screen and watch the movie next time they see one! ha ha ha! Idiots ones who give this a low score don't even know what a good movie is, perhaps they can go back to theirPerhaps some of those who gave this masterpeice 0 should look at the screen and watch the movie next time they see one! ha ha ha! Idiots ones who give this a low score don't even know what a good movie is, perhaps they can go back to their cots and pway wive their tweddies! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
marian1233321Aug 9, 2011
a
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
DLev18Jan 18, 2011
An epic book series ends with an epic movie series. Peter Jackson has taken J.R.R. Tolkien's books and brought them to the big screen. Well done Mr. Jackson. I really don't know how you could dislike these movies. He literally took the booksAn epic book series ends with an epic movie series. Peter Jackson has taken J.R.R. Tolkien's books and brought them to the big screen. Well done Mr. Jackson. I really don't know how you could dislike these movies. He literally took the books and included as much as he could to perfection. Any negative comment don't listen to them cause they are ill advised ratings. Best book trilogy of all time = best movie trilogy of all time. 5/5 stars. Expand
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
10
brasdJan 20, 2011
By far this is my all time favorite movie. It surpasses virtually every other movie in every way. The lord of the Rings Return of the king is a must see before you kick the bucket.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterMar 13, 2011
I love this movie so very much. Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. Even though it is really hard to tell what there saying( another marvelous feet by the director). An incredible movie that i thinkI love this movie so very much. Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. Even though it is really hard to tell what there saying( another marvelous feet by the director). An incredible movie that i think has the best freaking ending ever. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
I have read and re-read these books for 25 years. When I saw them I was blown away. True to the story and CGI, visuals were excellent. The only time I was disappointed visually was when they used little people. It was not done well. AndI have read and re-read these books for 25 years. When I saw them I was blown away. True to the story and CGI, visuals were excellent. The only time I was disappointed visually was when they used little people. It was not done well. And read the books. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
quicksilversFeb 22, 2011
The best film I've ever watched. It combines everything I love about films. Superb directing, passionate acting (with the exception of Bloom), amazing music, and the ability to grab and not let go. This film (and trilogy) completely fulfillThe best film I've ever watched. It combines everything I love about films. Superb directing, passionate acting (with the exception of Bloom), amazing music, and the ability to grab and not let go. This film (and trilogy) completely fulfill the definition of epic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live this experience thoughout 2001-2002 and 2003 phenomenon, The Hobbit is coming soon!!!!! i have a feeling that this will be as good as this threeThis film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live this experience thoughout 2001-2002 and 2003 phenomenon, The Hobbit is coming soon!!!!! i have a feeling that this will be as good as this three brilliant masterpieces Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ShahmeerMay 15, 2011
Just to warn you, this might be my longest review. Ever. Lord of the Ring The Return of the King is directed by Peter Jackson, starring Elijah Wood and many others. It was released in 2003, following the previous two film, The Two Towers andJust to warn you, this might be my longest review. Ever. Lord of the Ring The Return of the King is directed by Peter Jackson, starring Elijah Wood and many others. It was released in 2003, following the previous two film, The Two Towers and The Fellowship of the Ring. Its success in the box office made it the 2nd most grossing film of all time back then. Then, a year after it's release, the folm got nominated for 11 Academy Awards. It went on to win all of them. Never had a film done so well financially, critically and with fans. Yes, this sparked one of the biggest franchise makings ever. With the longest lenght of game ever, one of the most character figures in stores, and so much more. Fans were never more pleased. And so, here I write the review on The Lord of the Rings The Return of the King, the film that changed the entertainment industry forever. The Lord of the Rings The Return of the King is based in the fictional world of Middle Earth. It follows a young Hobbit, Frodo, and his guides and friends (The Fellowiship of the RIng) as the journey on a quest to destroy the Ring and to bring man back to it's rightful throne. In the first film, the quest begins, in the second one, it is continued and more complexity is brought to the plot, and in the third film, it is at it's climax and is concluded. On the quest, the Fellowship seperates form the fact that they were attacked by a battalion of Orcs. They are seperated into 3 groups; Frodo and Sam; Pippin and Merry; and Gimli, Legolas, and Aragorn (who are later meet up with Gandalf). We follow all three of the groups as they fight, survive, and save Middle Earth.

This film is like no other I have ever seen. And for that, i have to break it down into five parts. (1) Story (2) Acting (3) Vissuals and Cinematgrophy (4) Score (5) Directing.
(1) Story; When JRR Tolken fisrt wrote The Hobbit, he knew he could get farther with the story. After years of writing, he finally came up with The Lord of the RIngs. When Peter JAckson first started filming the movies, people said it couldn't be done. But oh, were they wrong. Never have I seen such a complex, exciting, and moving story come to the big screen. It's spectacular sense of drama and action all put into one is a masterpiece. Story: 10/10
(2) I don't know what idiots run the Academy, but I can tell you that they are some stupid people. To rob this fillm of any acting NOMINATION is just sad, sad supidity. When you got the only good acting from a fantasy film ever, you might as well congratulate it with atleast a nomination. But no, just go and screw up the voting proccess with not adding any actors from this film to the ballot. With the best acting coming from Viggo Mortenson, a supporting actor, he brought so much fun to the dull parts and to the exciting parts of thr film, as well. Elijah Wood also brought clear emotion and pain to his character, which is what was needed to make his character perfect. And he did make it perfect. Acting: 10/10
(3) When it comes to visuals and cinematgrophy, this film had the very best. Angles that blew your breatha way, and special effects that looked so real that you could tough it, critics just knew nothing could beat this in those two aspects (besides Avatar). With years of designing beasts, creatures, and other organisms for Middle Earth, the special effects team put those long years to good use. One scene, in which Gandalf and Pippin are climbing to the top of Minis Tirith, the angles and use of camera were so amazing, that no place on Earth could rest your pleading for Middle Earth to be real. But sadly, it's only real in the film, and that's good enough for me. Visuals and Cinematography: 10/10
(4) Score: Howard Shore's score for this film brought a sense of amazement, such as John Williams did to Star Wars. Intensity, sadness, and joy were all felt in the making of thsi score. When the score was needed most, this film gladly used it to it's best extent. I advise everyone reading this review to check it out one YouTube, for it can go with almost anything you're doing (peeling potatoes, drying yourself with a tower, etc.) The Academy Award winning song "Into the Woods" is being played while I write this review. Yup, one of the best scores ever. Score: 101/10
(5) Directing; Saving the best for last, the directing. Peter Jackson brought every, freakin good part from the books to every freakin scene in the film. 'Nuff said.

So, as I complete my longest review ever, I just wantn to say to all the haters: You guys hate, us lovers will love. Now this is probably my most unproffesional review, for I am just loving it and loving it for no reason. But you don't need reason to know that the best film in the world is the best for it's brotherhood, friendship, and love; The Lord of the Rings The Return of the King.
10/10
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
CursedKnight187Jul 31, 2012
This has to be the greatest movie I have ever had the pleasure to watch. Stereo-typically franchises lose their flavor as they progress, but this is absolutely untrue for the Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson has created what is probably theThis has to be the greatest movie I have ever had the pleasure to watch. Stereo-typically franchises lose their flavor as they progress, but this is absolutely untrue for the Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson has created what is probably the closes we will ever get to a perfect book adapted movie. It has the personal touch of the characters, the epic battles, the beautiful visuals and possibly the best cast ever assembled. A truly inspiring movie. Well done Peter Jackson. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
unfortunatelysoMay 7, 2011
The greatest book in the world has rightfully become the greatest movie in the world. 10 out of 10 any day! Tolkien is by far my favorite author, and out of all the books turned into movies, this was the best. Howard Shore conducts aThe greatest book in the world has rightfully become the greatest movie in the world. 10 out of 10 any day! Tolkien is by far my favorite author, and out of all the books turned into movies, this was the best. Howard Shore conducts a legendary score second only to John Williams. Every aspect of this movie was as impeccable os the novel itself. If Tolkien were alive today... (sniff, sniff) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanMay 21, 2011
A fittingly epic end to a near-perfect trilogy. ROTK not only breaks the formula of third parts in the trilogy being the worst, it actually succeeds in bettering its predecessors. Luckily it has the privilege of resolving all the plot pointsA fittingly epic end to a near-perfect trilogy. ROTK not only breaks the formula of third parts in the trilogy being the worst, it actually succeeds in bettering its predecessors. Luckily it has the privilege of resolving all the plot points from FOTR and TTT, and therefore doesn't suffer from their chief problem - they had to break off the story at some point. The finale is awesome in every sense of the word, from start to finish - from the colossal battle scenes to the quieter character-driven moments it sets the standard not just for fantasy films, but all films. The only real drawback of ROTK is that after watching it, you are finally forced to leave Middle Earth behind. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
LordOFlibertYJan 9, 2012
A masterpiece of the film the battle of Pellenor Fields when they introduced the Mumakils were absolutely breath-taking. I did felt however that Faramir should've given just a tad bit more screen time even a minute. But thats the most minorA masterpiece of the film the battle of Pellenor Fields when they introduced the Mumakils were absolutely breath-taking. I did felt however that Faramir should've given just a tad bit more screen time even a minute. But thats the most minor of the minor problems so I thought this film was EPIC! the ending was a drag though Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CaestusMar 4, 2013
Its the awesome final to a awesome trilogy and tops even its two predecessor. I lost myself in the film, when I was watching it. The best in the trilogy and one of the best films to be ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ChrnoToddNov 18, 2011
The best movie ever made. This movie is supreme in every aspect: visualy, story-wise, directing and with an extraordinary soundtrack (one of the best soundtrack - if not is - ever made
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
CurumoJun 14, 2011
I think masterpiece is the word that summarizes the whole movie. Also, it has one of the best productions ever. The original story did not disturbed much. Moreover, the cast is the best cast possible.
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
10
davenbettridgeFeb 6, 2012
An epic conclusion to one of the best movie trilogies of all time. Great characters, action scenes and a story that we cared for. The Lord of the Rings delivered to the hype and although its cheesy at times it makes up with it with its charm.An epic conclusion to one of the best movie trilogies of all time. Great characters, action scenes and a story that we cared for. The Lord of the Rings delivered to the hype and although its cheesy at times it makes up with it with its charm. Masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TTTJul 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is incredible . When I watch the backstage of the film I was surprised of the work to make this movie. The sword are real and produced by a smith . And the commitment of the actors . Second, the movie has played very well the Tolkien's book including environments, characters and plot.
I really love this film.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
Dutter92Feb 4, 2012
One of the best Epics to date. I Can't imagine this Film being better, the magnitude and scale was almost too much to handle but Peter Jackson Pulled it off in triumphant fashion. The characters were as pure and rich as ever before. What aOne of the best Epics to date. I Can't imagine this Film being better, the magnitude and scale was almost too much to handle but Peter Jackson Pulled it off in triumphant fashion. The characters were as pure and rich as ever before. What a treasure to have for the rest of our lives. Wonderful! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basically flawless. One of the best ever
37 of 42 users found this helpful375
All this user's reviews