DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 11, 2009
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 246 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
77
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnBJan 5, 2010
Very beautiful and moving film. Love it lots, especially Saoirse Ronan, who is simply the Best.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
D.F.NJan 3, 2010
A little slow in parts, but a beautiful crafted film with terrific cinematography. The cast is excellent. Just the right combination of touching and suspenseful.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
HamishGDec 31, 2009
Although I found the script a little weak in places, and the cgi spiritual a little obvious and unnecessary I was still engrossed from start to finish and consider it one of the best entries into Peter Jackson's back catalogue. Watch Although I found the script a little weak in places, and the cgi spiritual a little obvious and unnecessary I was still engrossed from start to finish and consider it one of the best entries into Peter Jackson's back catalogue. Watch Heavenly Creatures for reference. These other reviewers don't get the film because they're expected either a typical Hollywood family film or thriller. This film is neither. Its a unique and imaginative fantasy drama. Its subversive and feels like an independent film made with a mega budget. Perhaps the film would have been received more positive if it was marketed in a less Hollywood way. Keep it up pete, you the man. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobEDec 31, 2009
Beautiful portrayal of the abtract and ethereal consequences of tragic loss - an amazingly accurate portrayal of a unique and thought provoking novel.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
StevenM.Jan 16, 2010
I thought this movie was very moving and beautiful. Ronan and Tucci give incredible performances. The horror of Susie's death drives this movie throughout. You feel sympathy and remorse for her and her family and you want something good I thought this movie was very moving and beautiful. Ronan and Tucci give incredible performances. The horror of Susie's death drives this movie throughout. You feel sympathy and remorse for her and her family and you want something good to happen for her and in the end it does. This film reminds us all how precious and brief our lives are and the hole we leave for others when we are gone. Jackson did a terrific job. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jonathannJan 12, 2010
Beautifully rendered vision of the book. Gripping and moving. A pleasure to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CCDec 14, 2009
I did not read the book but this film makes me cry all the way through. I will recommend all parents with teen age daughter to watch this film. I am against all critics and believe Peter Jackson did another master piece after Lord of the I did not read the book but this film makes me cry all the way through. I will recommend all parents with teen age daughter to watch this film. I am against all critics and believe Peter Jackson did another master piece after Lord of the Rong and king Koun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
UtopianStuffJun 11, 2013
Its TOTALLY underrated! Its visually stunning, well acted, well directed, it had an interesting premise and some very intense scenes! It had it's share of suspenseful moments and it's touching moments and that's hard to do that as well asIts TOTALLY underrated! Its visually stunning, well acted, well directed, it had an interesting premise and some very intense scenes! It had it's share of suspenseful moments and it's touching moments and that's hard to do that as well as this movie does it. I loved the movie and I believe that it should have gotten the ratings it deserved. And no, I'm not going to say I would recommend it to everyone, because it's not for everyone, my mother refuses to watch it due to its premise of a innocent teen being brutally murdered. It does seem quite upsetting at points and if young kids would watch it, it may cause them nightmares. But it's a good movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMadnessJun 1, 2011
People expect this movie to be dark and gloomy, but it is not, is it a happy and moving film. Yes, this movie is sad, but it is a very inspirational film, Saoirse Ronan is an amazing actress, one to watch! :D
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
It really is quite a beautiful movie. It is rather unique. Acting is great along with the pace. The ending is sad but a spectacle at the same time. I didn't know what to expect from this movie but it certainly pulled through.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
rodriqueJul 8, 2012
Peter Jackson is not as good as he was in the lord of the rings,but this movie has good performances,amazing visuals and a script that touches the heart.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
GeorgeBaileySep 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers. Coming to this long after the critics had mauled it, I was surprised and impressed with how good it is. I haven't read the book, so I can't comment on its fidelity to source material, but Jackson creates hyper-real worlds where saturated seventies garish and the usual unforgiving close-ups he adores somehow endow genre stereotypes with a peculiarly hallucinogenic depth. Oddly, the spacious landscapes of the afterlife somehow feel more real than the suffocating scenes of suburbia and the household, but perhaps that's wishful thinking!

I can't help thinking that what was expected was a satisfying moral fable, and the unexpected conclusion will have disappointed those wanting earthly justice rather than just desserts. I wonder if that's why critics like Roger Ebert ("a deplorable film") could be so thrown off balance that that they don't even follow the plot (the "lovely bones" do not belong to Susie) and obsess about whether the heaven presented is factually accurate! The fact is that the ending is truer to life than Ebert gives it credit. As a fan of Brian Eno, I guess I'm biased, but I thought the climax of the film, accompanied by his "The Big Ship" had more emotional draw than either of the big endings of KK and LOTR. Tucci was fantastically creepy (though he seemed to have based his style on Dustin Hoffman's tics and murmurs) and anyone who thinks that Jackson shied away from the horror of the murder has just become desensitised by graphic violence, failing to sense the evil in even the most mundane encounters with George Harvey.

My only caveat was that some scenes seemed a touch too long, but perhaps brisker editing would have turned it into the thriller that some thought it should have been, and it would have lost the lyrical, elegiac quality that made it so absorbing.

Now, back to my Eno collection and 'Small Craft on a Milk Sea.'
Collapse
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
tomymgDec 16, 2012
42... emm.... what the heck!? Maybe it is not a masterpiece, but it is a very good film and not a movie of 42 score... OMG and films like Breaking Down has more score...
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Dec 18, 2011
Saoirse Rohnan leads The Lovely Bones to victory with a mind blowing performance, and Peter Jackson doesn't do a good job by differing visual beauty which it has and utter horror where the whole story is, but it is actually a well made film.Saoirse Rohnan leads The Lovely Bones to victory with a mind blowing performance, and Peter Jackson doesn't do a good job by differing visual beauty which it has and utter horror where the whole story is, but it is actually a well made film. I give this movie a 72% of a good one. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
SankalpaJun 22, 2011
A beautifully crafted film that resonates with evil, love, vengeance, and the devastating effects of the death of a child at the hands of a serial killer. The critics who pan this movie must be bereft of sensation. I thought it was mesmerising!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
EmilioA.Jan 20, 2010
It such a beautiful and emotional film that give movie real power, ronan performance was perfect, peter Jackson the greatest director of the decade show he can visualize the perfect heaven and the ugly human world of the killer
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i think that this film was very emotional it adds a lot of drama especially for the kind of story that it is. the cast performed very well and convincing especially Saoirse Ronan. for those who have read the book it adds suspension knowingi think that this film was very emotional it adds a lot of drama especially for the kind of story that it is. the cast performed very well and convincing especially Saoirse Ronan. for those who have read the book it adds suspension knowing what is going to happen and knowing the events that are building up in the movie Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
KingmushOct 18, 2010
I saw the Lovely Bones sometime last year and went in expecting actually a boring chick flick, what I got was actually a intellectual and visual appealing and exciting thriller about a child serial killer and how it affected a family. ThisI saw the Lovely Bones sometime last year and went in expecting actually a boring chick flick, what I got was actually a intellectual and visual appealing and exciting thriller about a child serial killer and how it affected a family. This film was very well done. Kept all likes of people interested I feel. You had the guys being taken care of from the aspect of the thriller, girls by the character's short lived romance as well as the family dynamics, some comedy was thrown in as well, and the visuals for the people who care about such things. I definitely suggest watching this if you want somewhat of a thriller but...a different kind. Not gory or anything just suspenseful and shocking. 3.5 out of 5.

http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/lovely-bones.html
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
kammi666Dec 10, 2010
Just when you start to feel sad- BOOM THERES A DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! Sorry I couldnt be helped. But yeah, the contrast between grief and giant rainbows and butterflies is pretty nicely done. I actually enjoyed this movie. I love Mark W'sJust when you start to feel sad- BOOM THERES A DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! Sorry I couldnt be helped. But yeah, the contrast between grief and giant rainbows and butterflies is pretty nicely done. I actually enjoyed this movie. I love Mark W's constantly confused-looking face, it warms my heart. There was too much time spent in rainbowland, I agree with most people here, but one thing i disagree with is: Character development. This was decent enough, for the time spent in the real world. The father goes from obsessive ship builder to crazed obsessive maniac daddy from hell, the sister goes from being an extra to an active character (did she have any lines at all??), and the son, went from almost suffocating to a half mentally challenged cild, hooray. I did not like the mothers character. Waah, im portraying the familys grief, and im gonna go abandon my kids... Its not deep, but when you cut out all the rainbows the movie is rather short, and there wasnt much time for them to develop more than this. Definately worth a watch (or a stream) at leat once. Its great for someone like me, who lacks emotional capacity and is easily distracted by bright shiny rainbows ^^. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
THE LOVELY BONES based on a best-selling novel written by Alice Sebold. The story about a girl named Susie who has been murdered and her vacillation between earth and heaven. If you watched the trailer, the movie offers tremendous images ofTHE LOVELY BONES based on a best-selling novel written by Alice Sebold. The story about a girl named Susie who has been murdered and her vacillation between earth and heaven. If you watched the trailer, the movie offers tremendous images of heaven. But, after I watched it, substantively I did not find surprising element on that description. The heaven images have similarity on what we seen in WHAT DREAMS MAY COME (1998). But in the other hand, I think the movie was successfully delivered the drama in a romantic and beautifully way. The essence of the story is simple, but we can feel clearly sorrow and confusion around the characters. The narration and glimpse of the Susie past in the beginning of film brings us sufficient mood to build sympathy. The Scene was involving Suzie and her boyfriend, Brian (Jack Kebel) is a scene-stealer on thiz movie. Thiz is a recent movie directed by Peter Jackson, one of the greatest Directors in our era (LORD OF THE RINGS Trilogy (2001-2003) and KING KONG (2005)). Susie Salmon played by Saoirse Ronan. Ronan made her promising debut on great drama ATONEMENT in 2007. Mark Wahlberg and Rachel Weisz played as her parents and Susan Sarandon as her grandmother. The villains played convincingly by Stanley Tucci. I think Saoirse Ronan has a potential skill to become a great Actress in the future, even greater than Dakota Fanning.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Commen0136Apr 12, 2011
I wouldn't say I enjoyed The Lovely Bones because saying I enjoyed this film would sound rather disturbing. I would say I found it interesting. The best part in this film for me is the acting. The acting was great. The special effects wereI wouldn't say I enjoyed The Lovely Bones because saying I enjoyed this film would sound rather disturbing. I would say I found it interesting. The best part in this film for me is the acting. The acting was great. The special effects were good too. The story was okay, a little touching, a little creepy and a little happy. The thing I didn't like about the story was the ending. The film was good and interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
I'm not sure why people haven't learned that most movies aren't going to be like the book. A book is meant to be cut in you own imagination and interpretation. That's the beauty of a book. A director and writer are going to have their ownI'm not sure why people haven't learned that most movies aren't going to be like the book. A book is meant to be cut in you own imagination and interpretation. That's the beauty of a book. A director and writer are going to have their own view along with what will score at the box office. Accusing a movie for not being like the book is like accusing a garage band for selling out. Eventually they gotta feed the family. No I wasn't a big fan of the fantasy land but I liked the stark reality of her death. I think it speaks to the harsh realities of our time that you can't let your 14 year-old daughter travel by herself anymore. Yeah Walberg had his usual hushed voice and confused looks but again that's the movie. Picture him more intelligent when you read the book if you like. I haven't read the book but when I do like with The Time Travelers wife I'm going to seperate somewhat. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LeewayJun 4, 2011
The Lovely Bones is a frustrating experience but it compels and embraces the imperfection and flaws that it makes. It isn't like your typical drama and its probably one of the few that you'll ever find this decade. The story is an adaption toThe Lovely Bones is a frustrating experience but it compels and embraces the imperfection and flaws that it makes. It isn't like your typical drama and its probably one of the few that you'll ever find this decade. The story is an adaption to Alice Sebold's 2002 The Lovely Bones (which is by far the honest and most inspiring novels of our time) but with Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings Trilogy and King Kong) behind the helm for the big screen. He has his own ways and (if you've seen him direct his other movies) he loves to put in some CGI effects but never full overload. However, I must say that he did make the heaven scenes look all that clichà Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
loveandlaughterJul 28, 2011
Great film. I hadn't read the original novel, but reading the critics reviews of that and a synopsis Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh and Phillipa Boyens did a marvellous job adapting it, not sure whether I would now want to read the book though.Great film. I hadn't read the original novel, but reading the critics reviews of that and a synopsis Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh and Phillipa Boyens did a marvellous job adapting it, not sure whether I would now want to read the book though. I loved the imagery in the film and how it plays emotionally and that is the key to this, it is magic realism, and if you like that genre both in novels and films this is a must see.
I'm surprised at Roger Eberts reaction. He claims not to have read the book but begins with a fact that changed from novel to film. There is no rape or suggestion of rape in the film. The "heaven" or rather "between place" was I thought well done, it was the young girls memories, places she had been, like being in a dream, and it's seasons changed with her emotional tone.
The acting by the way is superb. Tucci as the killer is very creepy, in an understated way. Mark Wahlberg and Rachel Weitz are convincing in their roles as the grieving parents, and Siarose Ronan as the murdered girl is brilliant and will go very far.
I really did find this film moving without being mawkish, and it did everything very well. It reminded me more of Pan's Labyrinth (again magic realism) than the last heaven based film What Dreams May Come which was frankly awful. On this one I think the critics were way off the mark.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jtfoixSep 11, 2011
The cast, the soundtrack, the production design, and the cinematography are excellent, but little by little the film is losing its axis, and the viewer's attention, it's like three movies in one. Anyway as I said before, this filmThe cast, the soundtrack, the production design, and the cinematography are excellent, but little by little the film is losing its axis, and the viewer's attention, it's like three movies in one. Anyway as I said before, this film technically is really beautiful, and a girl called Saoirse Ronan is stunning. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dannytran555Jul 22, 2012
Great film actually! It make me think a bout revenge and let think go for greatest good.Beautiful portrayal of the abtract and ethereal consequences of tragic loss - an amazingly accurate portrayal of a unique and thought provoking novel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
sunshine101Jan 4, 2013
The film 'the lovely bones' is really moving as it brings you into the life of the girl and her experiences- you really get to feel what she does. I also loved the supernatural element questioning what happens between life and death andThe film 'the lovely bones' is really moving as it brings you into the life of the girl and her experiences- you really get to feel what she does. I also loved the supernatural element questioning what happens between life and death and whether you still have a connection with the real world. The film also made you think about how other peoples minds work and what goes on in the minds of psychopaths as well as presenting relationships between the girl and her family after she dies. I would not say it has a great storyline or has lots of action, if that is what you are looking for, but it is great for making you think and is a film that you will definitely remember for the right reasons! The acting is also brilliant Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGJun 15, 2015
Quite an underrated movie if I must say. The suspense in the third act of this movie was exquisite, the characters were somewhat relatable, but the big downfall of this movie was the drawn out ending with the love interest, it was unnecessaryQuite an underrated movie if I must say. The suspense in the third act of this movie was exquisite, the characters were somewhat relatable, but the big downfall of this movie was the drawn out ending with the love interest, it was unnecessary and boring and just didn't need to happen whatsoever. The drama created was exceptional and did entertain me through about half the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
While choppy in terms of storytelling, it kind of fits in with the situation. Ronan and Tucci fit their characters perfectly and as a result produce a heartfelt and powerful watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lkalibaMay 30, 2014
A beautiful film that deals with vengeance and the effects that come when a loved one dies. This film needs to give thanks to Saoirse Ronan who carries this film with grace and beauty.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JuanPironMay 4, 2014
Je viens de le voir, le paradis à son charme. Très bien filmer, les personnages sont très attachent, la narration et excellente. On voit que pour mettre en place le personnage du psychopathe il on dut travailler sur les technique de prédationJe viens de le voir, le paradis à son charme. Très bien filmer, les personnages sont très attachent, la narration et excellente. On voit que pour mettre en place le personnage du psychopathe il on dut travailler sur les technique de prédation de ces derniers, tous y est.
Film touchant. Une prose sur ce qu'est la mort, qui nous rappelle à tous la valeur de vivre, et que nous sommes éphémères.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
One flew over the cuckoo's nest is a strange but brilliant cinematic piece. Jack Nicholson without a doubt proves illness can be cured with innocence and assurance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21Apr 24, 2016
The Lovely Bones is probably a much better idea for a book than it is a movie, but it's still a very good one, and those don't come along too often.

Watch online for free
The Lovely Bones is probably a much better idea for a book than it is a movie, but it's still a very good one, and those don't come along too often.

Watch online for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-60a5-The-Lovely-Bones-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SidneycuckleMar 2, 2010
Great film. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CRITICS THIS IS A GOOD FILM. This movie deserves more respect, all in all this movie is underrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackCJan 18, 2010
The Lovely Bones is a good solid film. There are aspects of the film that are great, and there are other aspects that do not work so well. Overall, the film is entertaining, suspenseful (and a little scary), emotional, and it offers The Lovely Bones is a good solid film. There are aspects of the film that are great, and there are other aspects that do not work so well. Overall, the film is entertaining, suspenseful (and a little scary), emotional, and it offers something genuinely different than most of the garbage that goes to theaters. Do not get me wrong, this film has flaws, and truthfully, I'd give this more of a 7.5 rating, but it is absurd that this film has as low reviews as it does. It is a well-made, ultimately compelling film that I will concede is not as moving or powerful as it could or should be. It is not a failure at all, but, again, certain aspects do not work as well as others. But, to me, it's a lot more interesting to watch an interesting "failure" than another rote by the numbers thriller or tired raunchy comedy. Again, The Lovely Bones is not a failure, but I can appreciate the film even when it slips, because the overall vision is admirably ambitious (elements of domestic drama / thriller / fantasy collide together) and generally well-done. I say this not to provoke, but I frankly enjoyed The Lovely Bones much, much more than Avatar. Avatar was an experience, yes, but as a film, I found it formulaic, cliched, predictable, and pretty cheesy. I just find it too bad that critics can fawn over Avatar, which is pretty empty when you remove the bells and whistles, and then many of the same ones shrug or sneer at The Lovely Bones. Again, TLB is not a GREAT film, but it is good, and deserves much better reviews than it is getting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobWJan 19, 2010
Without knowledge of the book, I found the film to be moving and suspenseful, with an attention to craft that alone merits watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ReeqA.Jan 21, 2010
Honestly, after seeing the film the audience will know why critics gave such low scores. It is a film based on a brilliant emotional book, but failed to make full use of it. When you watch it you will notice that Peter Jackson does a Honestly, after seeing the film the audience will know why critics gave such low scores. It is a film based on a brilliant emotional book, but failed to make full use of it. When you watch it you will notice that Peter Jackson does a fantastic job with revered, complex source material the same thing he did in the lord of the rings. The film can be emotional to some people, as the very idea of a young girl dying and seeing her family from heaven is a sad seen. But the film could have been a lot better. The only thing in the film is up to the expectation is Stanley Tucci's performance. He truly shows both mental and physical behavior of a killer. Overall this film can be watched for time pass. Don't watch if you are expecting something like Lord of the rings-The return of the kings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DCFeb 15, 2010
Awesome film, u'll either love it or hate it.... reminds on the Pan's Labyrinth days where everyone hated it, yet its one of the most glorified movies of the decade... GO watch Lovely BOnes and decide for yourself... excellent Awesome film, u'll either love it or hate it.... reminds on the Pan's Labyrinth days where everyone hated it, yet its one of the most glorified movies of the decade... GO watch Lovely BOnes and decide for yourself... excellent interpretation of the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NerijusDFeb 20, 2010
A good film, very touching at moments, the acting is superb and certain scenes are directed masterfully. Certain points I didn't like, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NoahF.Mar 14, 2010
Great movie. Some great acting. Good message. Could watch again with friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanL.Jan 16, 2010
At times difficult, at times moving, at times rushed, and at times beautiful. The Lovely Bones is a daring film that reaches near perfection but, hits a couple bumps along the way. Much criticism has been thrown at the visuals for taking to At times difficult, at times moving, at times rushed, and at times beautiful. The Lovely Bones is a daring film that reaches near perfection but, hits a couple bumps along the way. Much criticism has been thrown at the visuals for taking to much time away from the characters. This is not so. Other than a fleeting seen of 70's psychedelic visionary when Susie accepts that she can enjoy herself, the use of visuals is very inspired. It is not the way I would have pictured it from the book but, in a way it is better. And the use of the gazebo as the place where Susie is in limbo, watching the world, is much better than placing her in the room as I did in my head. There has also been criticism about a lack of emotion in this film. Nothing could be further from the truth. I broke down in tears at least 3 times in this movie. The moment when Susie says, in her perfect voice over narration, that "he could not know the love a father has for his daughter," I was moved in ways that the book could not quite get out of me. This of course is partly because of the performances and that amazing voice over but, it has largely to do with the technical side of things. The lighting, editing, Andrew Lesnie's cinematography, Brian Eno's wonderful score, and Peter Jackson's visionary direction all combine to pull the emotion out that I only really felt once in the novel. As a matter of fact, if I was to judge this film by the first 45 minutes to an hour it would be in my top ten films of the year. However, this is where the movie reaches it's issue. The events that take place once the movie settles on the fact that Susie is dead are quite a bit rushed. Scenes are shortened and montages created in order to get as much of the story as possible in there. This is not because visual effects are overbearing the film, it is actually becuase of the perfect hour that preceded it. In the book, we start right off the bat with Susie's murder. The movie takes it's time and develops the family before creating the huge ripple in their lives. This works much better than the book did in creating an emotional connection to these characters. This is extremely well done in the connection the movie creates between Susie (played perfectly by Soairse Ronan) and her father, Jack (Mark Wahlberg in one of his best performances). However, without stretching the movie to well over 3 hours, the movie needed to make some tough decisions on what to cut from the novel. It could be argued that he cut to much but, I would argue that he may have needed to cut more to leave room for some of the scenes he has to grow. I think that Mr. Harvey is so perfectly played by Stanley Tucci that I did not really need to go to deep into his past and see the other victims. I think shifting some of that time back over into the other side of the story could have fixed this problem. This is not to say that these pieces do not work to bring together a coherent whole but, in there rushed state the uplifting transcendance that may have been achieved in Susie's acceptance of death is slightly lost. And the kiss she so longs for is not quite as moving as it could have been. These are all minor issues that prevent an outstanding film from becoming a masterpiece. Things that are usually forgotten in repeat viewing or sometimes enhanced. I believe that I will enjoy this film more a second time as I will not feel any need to wish for different sections to fill out as firmly as they did in the novel. A film can never be a book. At times it can be better. At times it can be worse. The Lovely Bones exists in the middle as a singular vision from a brilliant director who loved what he saw in their pages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanJ.Jan 24, 2010
An incredibly touching, horrifying and visually stunning film. Suzy was perfectly cast, but I can't say the same about Wahlberg, who continues to be rotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OmarD.Jan 31, 2010
The Lovely Bones was a truly awesome event. I felt that the way Jackson transitioned between the events in the real world and Susie in the in-between really showed the emotional connection between the characters. Also I've noted that The Lovely Bones was a truly awesome event. I felt that the way Jackson transitioned between the events in the real world and Susie in the in-between really showed the emotional connection between the characters. Also I've noted that many critics are citing the exclusion of the highly graphic rape scene and Jackson's indirect portrayal of the murder as being a bad thing. Um...no. I'll put it this way: Hitchcock would be pleased with how it was handled. I also feel that the exclusion of Rachel Weiss' character's extramarital affair with the investigating detective only helped to keep the film focused, especially considering her performance was arguably one of the weakest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackSFeb 22, 2010
Why Avatar is considered 'meaningful and beautifully shot' and this is considered 'badly written CG-wank' confuses me to no end. As chilling as it is heartwarming, The Lovely Bones is something that you rarely see in Why Avatar is considered 'meaningful and beautifully shot' and this is considered 'badly written CG-wank' confuses me to no end. As chilling as it is heartwarming, The Lovely Bones is something that you rarely see in movies nowadays; New. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful