Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 1999
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1243 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,166
Mixed:
38
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Falling_HammerJul 10, 2011
An excellent movie with tons of special effects, fight scenes, etc., and the best thing is that they are all done perfectly. A really good film with an interesting story behind it. YOU'LL ENJOY IT.
22 of 23 users found this helpful221
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
Yes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can askYes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can ask for from a 1990's action film. Expand
20 of 21 users found this helpful201
All this user's reviews
8
KevinV.Nov 4, 2007
What a concept! Although the movie is well executed, it is not exceptional. It makes for an entertaining ride.
7 of 7 users found this helpful
10
MikeN.Feb 10, 2004
You see a lot of reviews at Metacritic complaining about how "overrated" such and such a movie is. Well please allow me to nominate The Matrix as the Most Under-rated Movie here. The Matrix is more intelligent, more stylish, more exciting You see a lot of reviews at Metacritic complaining about how "overrated" such and such a movie is. Well please allow me to nominate The Matrix as the Most Under-rated Movie here. The Matrix is more intelligent, more stylish, more exciting and better looking than any other movie made in the last twenty years. It is probably the best Science Fiction movie ever made, far better than such pretenders as Blade Runner or Forbidden Planet and challenged in stature only by the beauty and mystery of 2001 and by the pure popcorn entertainment of Star Wars. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
tbagurdrumset94Feb 10, 2012
The best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so manyThe best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so many things... and I thought of whether I would take the blue pill or the red pill... you know, I'd probably take the blue pill. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a greatFirst off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a great job throughout the movie. Overall, The Matrix is a great sic-fi action blockbuster that a great movie to watch. You really should watch this movie. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
SarahK.Mar 17, 2003
I'm suprised at the lack of intelligiance many viewers who gave it bad rating had. For instance, on person thought the idead of alternate worlds was "unimaginative". I'd like to see you think up something like this. "The visual I'm suprised at the lack of intelligiance many viewers who gave it bad rating had. For instance, on person thought the idead of alternate worlds was "unimaginative". I'd like to see you think up something like this. "The visual effects were the only good thing about this movie..." First of all, WHY do you think the special effects were there?! To make the movie cooler? NO! They were apart of the storyline. Did you pay attention to the storyline? I think not. You sound like one of those people who gave the first Lord of the Rings movie a bad rating. As for S.F Chronicle...lately, they've been giving bad ratings to some great movies (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Signs, and much more....), "well-worth-seeing"s to some movies that needed the highest rating (Spirited Away) and giving their best ratings to some movies that weren't something to hop out of your chair about (Tuck Everlasting, The Ring). Never trust S.F. chronicle... "The Matrix" also provided us with some special qualities that other masterpiece sci-fi films had, including: "Akira", "Minority Report", and "Ghost in Shell". It was NOT a copy of these films! It was just added to the list of sci-fi masterpieces! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
LeoR.Jul 5, 2008
The greatest action movie of all time, my favorite movie, its so perceptive so mind boggling you will watch it more than once to then fall more in love with the matrix a world without borders or boundaries. I love this movie.
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
KoKoJieJan 12, 2012
After I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but noAfter I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but no where near The Matrix good. If you haven't seen The Matrix series, I pity you, for you have missed the BEST movie ever made, go see it NOW! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Groundbreaking synthesis of East meats West, in a brilliant sci-fi mind-scape.

...trippy, cool, and fun ride all around.


Forget the sequels, they suck
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
In my top ten movies of all time. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
DalekFeb 9, 2013
Well, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has veryWell, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has very impressive CGI for 1999. It's definitely worth watching. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
MoneyShot53Nov 20, 2011
The thought that went into this movies plot is astounding. I can understand how some could be confused and dislike it but ive found the more i watch this film the more i love it. Some minor flaws here and there but overall an amazing film.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
AoKuroiRaccoonJan 7, 2012
Amazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combinationAmazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combination between action scenes that will keep you on the edge of your seat and reflective dialogues concerning the movie's very deep theme. Additionally, the technical production is astonishing with very good graphic special effects that form an unbelievably awesome visual appeal. Truly a must-watch production that will not leave you unchanged. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PQuinnyJan 15, 2012
This movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. IThis movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. I would definitely consider this movie to be a modern classic action film. The movie certainly goes above and beyond the standard 90's movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
handobaMay 25, 2012
This film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar thatThis film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar that shows to the world the true reality, from whence we came and where we can go. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10 The Matrix Image The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10
The Matrix Image
The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to create a cryptic, symbolic action film. Everything in this movie has occult meaning, but it's up to us, the viewers to figure out what that meaning is. This movie is like a puzzle. But this is all done in a very cool, entertaining way with awesome special effects (cutting edge at the time it was released) and great memorable action scenes, some which have greatly influenced the special effects of Hollywood movies produced afterwards. My only complaint about this movie is the way the love of Neo by Trinity is revealed, I mean you have no idea and I remember in the theater myself and everyone around me groaning since the whole love story in action films thing has been done to death and this seemed so cliche. The love between Trinity and Neo is very important to the trinity in the long run but imo it could have been introduced in a much better manner, maybe some flirting scenes leading up to it because you just don't see it coming at all which makes it really unrealistic. But other than that a great, epic movie.

The Matrix (and the entire Matrix Trilogy) is like an onion, it has many layers of meaning, and every-time I watch it I notice something new. Definitely a masterpiece with profound hidden meaning and my favourite movie off all time to this day. 10/10
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Nk71Feb 7, 2013
If You Ever had to choose one movie for your unborn child to see. It would definitely be the matrix. FREE YOUR MIND. The perfect illustration of control and power and how it influences everything around you
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
chwJul 17, 2014
The Matrix was genius. Acting was great, the story: perfection, direction was perfect, and then the fights were absolutely badass, and anyone who's seen it would agree.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ZachP.Aug 28, 2002
The radical premise, hip cast (Keanu's best performance), kickin soundtrack and provocative philosophy combine to "blow your mind". "Whoa"
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NoahSMar 1, 2008
The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so I'm definitely nowhere close to being an expert on this, but the action scenes were pretty awesome. The combination of slick and fast hand-to-hand with a load of guns thrown in...awesome. The music to the fights completed the experience. The second issue most people have with the Matrix is something I am quite familiar with: the plot. The plot of the Matrix is fantastic. That is because of two things: One, it is a fresh idea. The Matrix's plot is not a clone of anything. And two, the plot is incredibly deep, having multiple levels for every part in it. The agents, Neo being freed, the idea of the Matrix itself, all great. If you don't like sci-fi, then that's fine. You probably won't like this movie. You definitely won't like the sequels. But don't knock them for being "stupid" or "moronic." Because they simply aren't. And on a last note, the acting is exactly suited to this movie. The people in this movie act exactly how their characters should. Keanu Reeves was cast BECAUSE he acts the way he does on camera. It was perfect for the part. Hugo Weaving is SUPPOSED to be dry and humorless. Keep in mind the context of the characters when you judge acting. If you have any complaints, I'll be willing to defend the greatness of this movie. A 10 out of 10. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
a fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the storya fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the story feels fresh and original . the acting is abit dry but fits this film and especialy Reeves who i dont think you could get any dryer then his acting . Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
THE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They justTHE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They just known previously as small budget film Director, BOUND (1996). Later, the movie has two more sequels MATRIX RELOADED and MATRIX REVOLUTION in 2003. You can almost classify the Stars of thiz movie as B-Class Casts, except Keanu Reeves, but still the outcome is beyond the expectations. Each of the characters like: Neo (Keanu Reeves), Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne), Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) , even the villain Agent Smith (Hugo Weaving) already become a legendary icon in the industries. One of the fervencies of thiz movie is on the action scene. The fight scene is something new and different, which follows later by other movies. Behind that extraordinary fight scene is well-known Martial Arts Choreographer, Yuen Woo Ping. Woo Ping is the man behind CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON(2000), KILL BILL (2003),THE FORBIDDEN KINGDOM (2008), even Jackie Chan classic action SNAKE IN THE EAGLE SHADOW (1978). His experiences in a lot of Asian movies made him effective. The movie definitely exceed beyond our imagination. In fact, many people did not understand entirely the story of THE MATRIX, there are still many blank spot to question about. The Content of the movie fills with great philosophies inside. It seemed to me Wachowski Brothers discovered successfully how to make a brilliant concept from some of religions. The essence is not that simple as appear to be, Actually we will always have something new, every time we watch it.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
le_oneJun 8, 2013
This is the best sci-fi movie ever made, together with Star Wars IV and V, of course. I can't tell you much about it. You REALLY need to watch it so you can make conclusions.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OhRlyMay 10, 2011
I feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buyI feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buy Legend of the Guardians. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
KAS--WillSep 10, 2011
Despite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewersDespite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewers can have something, the 'computer goers' like myself have something to get into and when it's all thrown together it makes the perfect combination of action and story. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
PhoenixeuhouaiNov 29, 2011
The best sci-fi movie of its time.
Excellent original soundtrack
I still keep the thinking as a reference for some of my work and my everyday life. Loved it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
Really recommend this movie (not the sequels however). Good plot and storyline, nice special effects (not too overdone) and if you can overlook the plot holes and suspend disbelief, your in for a great ride!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MisterMDGJul 14, 2014
If I was dying and had to recommend to my child only 1 film to watch until they understand it fully, it would be the Matrix (trilogy).

That's how good it is.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
R.LopezSep 6, 2009
When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now seeing it again after all these years I could see that I was not ready back then to handle a movie of this complexity and strange coherent means of story telling. But now I fully respect and love this movie for what it is and for what it always will be, mindbogglingly, mind blowing, out of this world fun. When the Matrix was released in 1999 this was the film to go see people were busting out of the theater's and telling anyone they can to go see this movie. It was the "It" movie of the year and it gained the title justly. This film mapped out new territory in action and ushered in a whole new generation of action & Sci-Fi thrillers and video games as well(Max Payne comes to mind) it is one of the biggest and most beloved film of the 90's and has one of the biggest fan base out there. This movie unique and I mean unique story and style has such and impact on you when you first see it you'll want to see it the minute it's over and some more after that and after that and you'll want to see it a million times it's just that good. The Matrix put's a Gothic and dark spin on the dystopia and apocalyptic themes that have become very common in Sci-Fi films, this film does it one better it takes those overly used themes and creates a completely original and unique world around which everything we Believe is a lie. It has a great monolithic tone to it that makes it a masterpiece by any standards and it creates a great aftershock in which few films can actually do these days. It purposes that machines while enslave humanity and use us as a battery source to power there vasts armies of machines around the world. But that's what makes it so great to watch it gives you a sense of hope and a sense of justice that you just feel all the way to your bones. This movie has given the fellow movie goer what they've always wanted and always searched for in a film, great action, a smart story and plot, acting you can live with and put them all together and what do you got? The Matrix! This movie will stick with long after it's over and even after tour old you'll still remember one movie that rocked your world like none other. All in all this film delivers great any day entertainment that is like Laurence Fishburn said, " Unfortunately no one can be told what the Matrix is you have to see it for yourself." And trust me once you do you won't ever look at Sci-Fi or other movies the same way again. This movie delivers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 2, 2007
Awesome action, awesome acting, awesome plot, awesome everything!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElenaBFeb 28, 2008
It is an epic. Classic. Great philosphy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Mar 1, 2001
Best movie in the WORLD!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlecG.Apr 2, 2003
You think the Matrix is stupid? Read Plato. Dive right in to 'Republic'. Then watch the movie again, and I will be astonished if you can still squeeze the words 'Wachowski bros. are morons!' out of your mouth.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TeemuE.Sep 9, 2003
This is a great movie!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CameronS.Mar 1, 2004
One of the best films of all time. Great effects, fantastic provoking story and the actings fantastic. Shame about the other two films though.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 30, 2004
"What is the Matrix?" "The Matrix has you..." The movie is addressing the audience at the same time. The dialogue is brilliant. There's a deeper meaning to it. If you still don't understand, watch it again, and again until you "What is the Matrix?" "The Matrix has you..." The movie is addressing the audience at the same time. The dialogue is brilliant. There's a deeper meaning to it. If you still don't understand, watch it again, and again until you grasp it. The Kung Fu scenes were also great. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BitBurnJun 15, 2002
By far one of the best action movies there is out there! This film carries not only awesome special effects but a storyline that's poignant and powerful. Alleluia!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GrahamM.Feb 15, 2005
Mr. Anderson...... Go see this movie! The special effects are out of this world, as is the fight choreography, and quite literally, the plotline. This is most definetely my favorite movie of all time. There must be some degree of hell for Mr. Anderson...... Go see this movie! The special effects are out of this world, as is the fight choreography, and quite literally, the plotline. This is most definetely my favorite movie of all time. There must be some degree of hell for people who don't like "The Matrix"... lol, jk all of you tastless S.O.B's who didn't like this movie (but I still hope you suffer). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ManveerR.Feb 18, 2006
I thought the matrix was brilliant the god of Sci-Fi.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KevinLDec 27, 2009
Great movie, a definite heartwarming, classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeAug 14, 2002
The only people that I've found that rate this movie less then a 10 are either people that can't stand any violence in movies, or stupid people that just can't follow the story. The movie is pure visual and audio hypnotism, The only people that I've found that rate this movie less then a 10 are either people that can't stand any violence in movies, or stupid people that just can't follow the story. The movie is pure visual and audio hypnotism, and the story is genius and so well executed that the sequels will have to be perfect to stand a chance of competing with the original. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TAMPjackoonOct 19, 2011
Sure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, andSure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, and has great action scenes. I think it's a great ride of 90's movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
I remember when I first saw this movie at school, years ago. I wasn't fully focused and even missed a piece of the movie, but I recall thinking that this film is complex and needs more than a couple watches to be understood. Now, years later,I remember when I first saw this movie at school, years ago. I wasn't fully focused and even missed a piece of the movie, but I recall thinking that this film is complex and needs more than a couple watches to be understood. Now, years later, after I have seen the movie time and time again, it is almost as simple as it gets.

"Matrix" was the first of its kin. It has been made into parody more times than I can count, and a lot of movies have been influenced by it. This is a master piece, right here.

The world, the ideology, and the characters all stand their own ground, firm and unyielding. The idea behind the story is complex, coming apart piece by piece. Words of wisdom are offered, but you need to grasp the right things to really comprehend them. There is no big "surprise" lurking around; you have the answer all the time. You just need to understand it first.

The fighting scenes are one of a kind. The slow-motion camera work is artistic, adding to the coolness that seems to hang above this movie. Sunglasses, black leather, the soundtrack on the background, and the monotone voices - it all creates an atmosphere you either love or hate.

I love it. This is totally one of my favorite movies, and when viewed as part of the Matrix series, this is the most "whole" part.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mephageJan 6, 2012
Beautifully filmed and written. Best film of all time. The charcters are so real and engaging, the settings are perfect and I couldn't find a single fault if I tried.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelBagameryMay 3, 2014
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere character into archetype. But who HASN'T felt as if this life is something less than it seems? This stands alongside 'Serenity' among science-fiction cinema's greatest champions of human liberation and truth. If you care about your mind, see this. You will not be disappointed.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
iffyguyDec 11, 2013
A mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it mayA mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it may actually happen. The fights are incredibly choreographed, and the special effects were revolutionary for their time, and still hold up today. Buckle up and prepare for The Matrix! (and its crappy sequels). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
christianobucciDec 26, 2013
"You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the system, that they will fight to protect it. "
Morpheus
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
FatalityHDApr 26, 2014
The beginning of the movie for me was very confusing but by the end all your questions will be answered. The slo-mo and CGI make the tricks a whole lot better.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SkyrimGuy935Jan 17, 2015
My third favorite movie ever and one of the four films I consider to be perfect. While Keanu Reeves delivers his usual grade of acting, he more than makes up for it as the badass hero. The premise, while questionable from a logicalMy third favorite movie ever and one of the four films I consider to be perfect. While Keanu Reeves delivers his usual grade of acting, he more than makes up for it as the badass hero. The premise, while questionable from a logical standpoint, is haunting and deeply thought-provoking. The effects still hold up today and give the action sequences a special charm. Oh, and the ending is just one of the most satisfying ever.

The Matrix is definitely a 10/10 in my book.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MrPeteyJonesSep 7, 2014
I am just fascinated by the idea of the movie:"Human reproduction has stopped, humans are used as an infinite source of energy." So basically they are grown as mere vegetables.
Everyone agrees that the fight sequences are more than awesome.
I am just fascinated by the idea of the movie:"Human reproduction has stopped, humans are used as an infinite source of energy." So basically they are grown as mere vegetables.
Everyone agrees that the fight sequences are more than awesome. Special effects are spectacular considering the year the film was made.
The first part of The Matrix is more than enough to satisfy your expectations from a sci-fi movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIApr 4, 2016
...................................................................................................................................................................A Masterpiece movie of sci-fi & action, with a smart script...
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
Don't miss the first minute of this movie. That's how fast and interesting it is. And the most interesting concept of it all, that we are not really here. Our perception of the world is a computer construct that we are hard wired into.Don't miss the first minute of this movie. That's how fast and interesting it is. And the most interesting concept of it all, that we are not really here. Our perception of the world is a computer construct that we are hard wired into. Too far out? Then you won't like this. By the way, Neo (Keanu) goes to a bar to meet his contact. That bar is in Australia. It was not constructed for this movie. It and the patrons look like that everyday. Too far out? The sequels went downhill from this movie so I only have this one in my collection. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Legion121Dec 22, 2015
Not the best movie of all time, but I really appreciate ambitious movies that are full of interesting ideas. The matrix is certainly ambitious and has many new, interesting ideas. A lot of fun to watch.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
VincenzoC.Jun 24, 2003
Blew the second flick away.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherG.Aug 4, 2003
Like the previous Dr. D, this is anexcelent movie, had me laughing the whole way through. It's nice to see a movie once in a while with no extemely vulgar langage in it. What has happened to the movie industry? The only movies we seem Like the previous Dr. D, this is anexcelent movie, had me laughing the whole way through. It's nice to see a movie once in a while with no extemely vulgar langage in it. What has happened to the movie industry? The only movies we seem to get are full of sex and nasty langage. Is this what THEY think the public wants? I say not. 10 thumbs up for Mr. Murphy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyMar 5, 2004
Lance E., I see you have put much thought into that mile-long comment of yours, but whatever you're trying to say, you don't make it clear. There are flaws in this (and every movie), but if you think the script SUCKS, then you Lance E., I see you have put much thought into that mile-long comment of yours, but whatever you're trying to say, you don't make it clear. There are flaws in this (and every movie), but if you think the script SUCKS, then you gotta think again. Compare this movie to Citizen Kane (according to AFI the best film ever, and often mentioned by critics when they want to name something BIG, extremely thought-provoking, and smartest thing ever) and you'll find how "un-overrated" The Matrix really is. Good heavens, if you think the philosophy, script and practically everything about this movie SUCKS, then you'd hardly like any movie. Now just calm down, and admit that it is the ultra-die-hard-matrix fans that makes you feel this way. I'm pretty sure it is. It's pretty irritating when people whine "you don't understand this movie" when you try to make a point clear, I agree, but the philosophy behind this film IS thought-provoking and superb, the acting isn't supposed to go over the top (this isn't Shakespeare), and frankly, this film mops the floor with 2001: A Space Odyssey (apply everything you've said about The Matrix to THIS movie and you'll have a good point). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RossS.Aug 20, 2001
Unlike those who see integration of special effects as being at the expense of story line, the characters in this story have been placed in dramatically unusual situations and they have done a good job. As Roger Ebert stated, this movie does Unlike those who see integration of special effects as being at the expense of story line, the characters in this story have been placed in dramatically unusual situations and they have done a good job. As Roger Ebert stated, this movie does have the obligatory "love conquers all" thematic element that most movies seem to have. To be honest this was the only incredulous part of the movie. Otherwise the movie consistently followed a storyline that was not necessarily predictable. Anyway, I will fork out the money to see the sequel once it comes out and so will most people who have watched the movie. And isn't that finally what counts? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NIKONov 2, 2002
Very good action movie, with good story! It is My favorite movie! I really want MATRIX 2. Uskokaa tai alkaa.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonnieDarkoFeb 8, 2003
This is the most obscenely, ridiculous, groingrabbingly amazing movie ever conceived by man. Props to the Wachowski bros. for creating the most original piece of art -- masterpiece -- ever. This movie is a stunning achievement in not just This is the most obscenely, ridiculous, groingrabbingly amazing movie ever conceived by man. Props to the Wachowski bros. for creating the most original piece of art -- masterpiece -- ever. This movie is a stunning achievement in not just moviemaking, but in the history of art, imagination, and f.ck it, everything damn thing out there. To all these matrix haters, you all must suck at life cause you retards cant grasp one of the greatest stories ever written. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SlawomirJ.Apr 21, 2003
"Unfortunately, no one can be told what the matrix is. You have to see it for yourself."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RachelD.Jun 16, 2003
Great movie. If it weren't for "Ghost In Shell" and Philip K. Dick we probably would never get a fantastic movie like this (note: the Wachowski brothers said this idea was INSPIRED by "Ghost In Shell", not COPIED!)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VikramM.Dec 6, 2004
This is the action film. No question. When you think of the Matrix, you can relate to many different things, bending back and dodging bullets, punching people as hard as they can, many things. This movie is flat out awesome. You can't This is the action film. No question. When you think of the Matrix, you can relate to many different things, bending back and dodging bullets, punching people as hard as they can, many things. This movie is flat out awesome. You can't even stop to take a breath before BAM Neo jumps off a building, BAM Morpheus just jumped in the air and kicked Neo and now they are fighting like psycho maniacs. Unbelievable. I am not blaming anybody, but really for people who think the plot is confusing or it doesn't make sense or this is just two guys in suits fighting (I have heard so many whines like this) just forget it and watch the movie. Then I will bet you that you will sit back and say WOAH! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobM.May 30, 2004
This is one great movie. Very interesting combination of kung-fu choreography/cypberpunk sci-fi/ graphic novel philosophy, also its groundbreaking visual effects (which won an Oscar) and it's stunning production design command attention This is one great movie. Very interesting combination of kung-fu choreography/cypberpunk sci-fi/ graphic novel philosophy, also its groundbreaking visual effects (which won an Oscar) and it's stunning production design command attention throughout. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of actors, including Keanu Reeves as Neo, Lawrence Fishburne as Morpheus, and Carrie-Ann Moss as Trinity. Even if you're not into kung fu fight scenes, this movie will still satisfy you with its wonder and philosophical elements. Some movies go overboard with special effects and fight scenes, but this one does not. It has a perfect balance of fight scenes and philosophical things. Note: You have to see this movie a few times before you really understand everything that is being said. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TechAug 3, 2006
Movie was great. Effects, Storyline, Scripts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonnaMDec 20, 2007
The movie is excellent! I did not even pay attention to the special effects, It is the concept that really rocks! Extremely mind blowing! This is the best movie I ever saw!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.Mar 1, 2001
I haven't felt that drawn into an action movie since I was a first grader watching the original "Star Wars" on opening weekend at Mann's Chinese. It absolutely dwarfed Episode One... Jar Jar Who? And I liked how the writers used I haven't felt that drawn into an action movie since I was a first grader watching the original "Star Wars" on opening weekend at Mann's Chinese. It absolutely dwarfed Episode One... Jar Jar Who? And I liked how the writers used the Matrix as modern example of Plato's Cave Image from Chapter V of the "Republic." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TaylorG.Aug 4, 2002
Too many people think this movie is all about ground breaking effects and fight scenes. The Wachowski brothers made that their last priority. The story is amazing, better than Shakespeare; more provocative than Aristotle. Symbolisms around Too many people think this movie is all about ground breaking effects and fight scenes. The Wachowski brothers made that their last priority. The story is amazing, better than Shakespeare; more provocative than Aristotle. Symbolisms around every corner and hidden meanings everywhere you look; an amazing work of literature. The is by far the greatest movie ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DaveC.Nov 6, 2003
*sigh* Everytime I go back to this excellent piece of sci-fi, I weep at how so much potential was wasted on the sequels. This film is truly unique, with astonishing production design (inside the Matrix anyway), mesmerising cinematography, *sigh* Everytime I go back to this excellent piece of sci-fi, I weep at how so much potential was wasted on the sequels. This film is truly unique, with astonishing production design (inside the Matrix anyway), mesmerising cinematography, some kick ass fight sequences and an interesting jab at authority. Unlike its sequels, this film is lean, with a perfectly comprehensible narrative. Some may argue it's not a classic, but it's still well worth anyone's time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Jan 3, 2003
I'm not a big fan of sci-fi films. But I think this is the greatest one to date! The special effects didn't ruin the storyline or characters (I hope your reading this, George Lucas) and the acting was superb. Yes, it was gruesome I'm not a big fan of sci-fi films. But I think this is the greatest one to date! The special effects didn't ruin the storyline or characters (I hope your reading this, George Lucas) and the acting was superb. Yes, it was gruesome at some times, but that only made the film better. I was suprised at its R-rating though. I mean, it was violent and had a lot of cussing, but it wasn't so bad as to giving it an R-rating! This is such a PG-13 film! I hope the sequel will be rated PG-13 because R isn't the right rating. I'm suprised none of the critics gave this film a 10. It was brilliant! See it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MstandsforMasterpiece--anditalsostandsforTheMatrixApr 22, 2003
I am SICK of hearing people complaining about how this film has too many special effects! Come on, Lord of the Rings was packed with special effects, why aren't we complaining about that film? The Matrix is very similar to LOTR in a way I am SICK of hearing people complaining about how this film has too many special effects! Come on, Lord of the Rings was packed with special effects, why aren't we complaining about that film? The Matrix is very similar to LOTR in a way as well, but the top thing that they both have in common is that they're both masterpieces. The Matrix had to be a difficult thing to make. It required intelligence and imagination to make such a well-written story. Heck, if this was a novel, I'll bet it'd be acclaimed by everyone (including myself). But it's a movie, and when people think of a movie with loads of special effects and a very sci-fi story, they thing "Oh, it's going to be a stupid movie that'll be as bad as the new Star Wars movies George Lucas is making. Ha,ha,ha." YEAH RIGHT! Critics just don't get it! They barely even judged the movie by its plot. They kept focusing on its visuals. SHUT UP SF CHRONICLE! I mean, that newspaper complained about the film's horrible dialogue. Oh, I suppose you think "The Ring"'s dialogue was PERFECTO huh? (the SF Chronicle gave "The Ring" their highest score). The dialogue is so philosophical and true, it's...incredible. The actors gave great performances. Keanu Reeves was so great at showing truly real reactions to things that happened to him, Laurence Fishburne was wise and mysterious-sounding, and Hugo Weaving was like Elrond's evil twin. Someone complained about the "gay" kung-fu fight between Neo and Morpheous. Now, gay means either "happy" or *cough* *cough* two people of the *cough* same sex *cough* who are in *cough* *choke* love with each other. The relationship between Morpheous and Neo was what I like to call a FRIENDSHIP. Who says boys aren't allowed to have that and girls are allowed? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinR.Apr 3, 2003
I think, what Matrix hating people are forgetting is that movies are an art form. They complain that The Matrix has special effects. Well duh! Who ever didn't wet their pants at the pure eye candy of The Matrix has their head stuck in I think, what Matrix hating people are forgetting is that movies are an art form. They complain that The Matrix has special effects. Well duh! Who ever didn't wet their pants at the pure eye candy of The Matrix has their head stuck in the black and white past of crappy, poor quality 'classics.' Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.May 13, 2003
I am not a Keanu Reeves fan nor a big sci-fi fan. I finally saw this movie two years after it came out only because everyone I know kept raving about it. They were right. The Matrix is a masterpiece! Anyone who can't see that is a I am not a Keanu Reeves fan nor a big sci-fi fan. I finally saw this movie two years after it came out only because everyone I know kept raving about it. They were right. The Matrix is a masterpiece! Anyone who can't see that is a moron. I've now seen it 5 times and I can't wait for the sequels. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
UranidiotifuhatethisfilmMay 14, 2003
People who haven't seen this film don't get it at all. Everyone's saying the plot is weak, and everytime they do, I crack up. You obviously don't know much about the Japanese culture. Study your butt off on Japanese People who haven't seen this film don't get it at all. Everyone's saying the plot is weak, and everytime they do, I crack up. You obviously don't know much about the Japanese culture. Study your butt off on Japanese culture and religion, read a few fantasies, watch some decent anime movies (examples: Akira, Ghost In Shell, Kiki's Delivery Service, and My Neighbor Tortoro) study 10-year-olds, and then watch this movie. You'll be suprised that you actually said the plot was "weak". Then you might as well be saying every fantasy's plot is weak because they're almost exactly like this. Plus, Spirited Away didn't intend to be a complex story like Lord of the Rings. It was aiming to be a fairy tale. And it succeeded. Oh, also, before you watch this movie, watch Alice in Wonderland. If you ask me, there's barely any similarities. Spirited Away has more elements from The Phantom Tollbooth (a book you MUST read if you haven't already done so) than Alice in Wonderland. Spirited Away also offers more realistic characters (exp: Chihiro and Haku), unpredictable situations (exp: Kamaji's first scene), and an ending that isn't sappy 'n' happy. The situations don't "wrap up too fast". Count all of the problems Chihiro had in the film. Not only will you see that each situation is help for the next situation, but you will also see that the plot is stronger than it seems. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewK.May 16, 2003
GREAT! amazing efects, great story and alot of killing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TheElusivePossomMay 27, 2003
Not much to say about this: the title of "One Of The Great Movies Of All Time" says it all really. And to "Sandy H.": when you want to badmouth a film by comparing it with other sources, you might wanna try actually picking some bad examples Not much to say about this: the title of "One Of The Great Movies Of All Time" says it all really. And to "Sandy H.": when you want to badmouth a film by comparing it with other sources, you might wanna try actually picking some bad examples i.e. played a Nintendo game recently, Sandy? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LyraS.Jun 3, 2003
Greatest film of all time. And most under-rated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JenniferD.Jul 18, 2003
Brian C., is there a "none of the above" for your answers? a)I don't mind people thinking I'm a geek. I think it's a compliment. b)How could I have "heard it was bad" when I saw it the second day it came out and people were Brian C., is there a "none of the above" for your answers? a)I don't mind people thinking I'm a geek. I think it's a compliment. b)How could I have "heard it was bad" when I saw it the second day it came out and people were just starting to see it? c)The only greatness of the film was its plot. But it was totally abused by its dull, forced-up, laughable acting (yes, I noticed a difference between the acting in the first and the acting in the seconf), characters you could barely care about at all (they rarely ever got hurt in the second and were basically invincible...so why should I care about them?), ugly settings (and no, the action did NOT make me forget about them. Both the real world and the matrix looked ugly and cold), and I'm sure I could name a few more scenes but those were my highlights (if I said the sex/dance scene, everbody would beat me up). And those negatives totally ruined the fun of the movie as well. But I loved the first one. You actually CARED about the characters (due to how vulnerable they were) in the first one. I'm sorry if you think I'm a "moron" for hating the second film, but it's just based on my opinion, and I don't see how that makes you a moron. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KateG.Jul 2, 2003
I've seen the second one once. I still see this one a multiple amount of times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenV.Aug 10, 2003
This movie is unbelievable it is amzazing. great story and suspenseful eye popping action!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Oct 13, 2005
Oh my god this film is brilliant. It has blown my mind. Thank you god for giving me the Matrix!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
garionc.Nov 4, 2005
Omg OMG exelent as both bill and teds just not as funny specilfx are brill and agent smith dude i need thst suit a spex they r great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
UyiO.Dec 5, 2005
Nothing like this has really been made before. A combination of theology, philosophy, kungfu and cyberworld.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousJun 7, 2005
One of the most interesting and exciting movies you can get. Along with the great FX, the story and setting have endless sitational and political analogies that make this hit a universal smash. Make the connections, and you'll see how One of the most interesting and exciting movies you can get. Along with the great FX, the story and setting have endless sitational and political analogies that make this hit a universal smash. Make the connections, and you'll see how this movie is not just an excellent addition, but an absolutly essential one. Everyone should see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NebularJan 12, 2006
'The Matrix' is a revolution in the sci-fi genre. It's simply amazing!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
Easily in top 20 greatest movies of all time.Action packed from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesnR.Feb 25, 2007
The most undoubtedly cool movie in a very long time. An absolute pity about the sequels. Sigh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.Jan 15, 2008
A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines good use of colour, atmosphere and truly believable fear from some of the characters to make on of the best sci-fi films ever. Go buy it. It's just a shame the sequels were so bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeMJun 1, 2009
Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or just didn't really understand the movie!. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MugrisG.Feb 24, 2001
Great special effects and awesome philosophical views.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EstebanMay 31, 2001
This really is a fantastic movie. If nothing else, for it's visuals, which are breathtaking, but also because of the depth of the plot. Probably far too deep than most would want to imagine.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Jul 18, 2001
Bob Graham from the San Francisco Chronicle does obviously not have the brain capacity of a 6 year old. This movie is great for people who don't mind thinking into the movie. Even if you don't think, you should be amazed by the Bob Graham from the San Francisco Chronicle does obviously not have the brain capacity of a 6 year old. This movie is great for people who don't mind thinking into the movie. Even if you don't think, you should be amazed by the great action sequences and cinematography. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WobiekisserM.Aug 27, 2001
Posseses something many films do not, more than an action flick, it's a modern masterpiece of superhero technology.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickV.May 12, 2003
Great movie with lots of twits and turns helped push actors to the next level.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatrixFanMay 17, 2003
I loved this movie. The 2nd movie sucked, but this one still rox.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianC.Jul 17, 2003
The Matrix, as far as I'm concerned, is one of the best movies ever made. Not because of the action, but because of the story, the symbolism, and the philosophy involved. It is one of the most cerebral movies I've ever seen. It is The Matrix, as far as I'm concerned, is one of the best movies ever made. Not because of the action, but because of the story, the symbolism, and the philosophy involved. It is one of the most cerebral movies I've ever seen. It is only equalled by it's sequel. That's right. As amazing as this movie is, as much of an eyeopener as this movie is, the sequel is still better. Better action, better plot, better symbolism, and better philosophy. It's sad that people don't want to give these movies a chance because A) they don't want to look like a geek B) "heard it was bad" or C) don't feel like having to think about it in order to fully understand it's greatness. This movie woke me up--I can only hope it will do the same for some of you, the average movie goer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredDec 12, 2006
WOW! The special effects were amazing and the stunts in the movie were really cool and fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielH.Jun 29, 2007
Although difficult to understand at times, this action packed masterpiece brought together brilliant action sequences and fantastic filming to bring you a really great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewNJul 26, 2007
This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film was such drivel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful