Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 553 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A computer hacker (Reeves) learns that his entire life has been a virtual dream, orchestrated by a strange class of computer overlords in the far future. He joins a resistance movement (led by Fishburne) to free humanity from lives of computerized brainwashing.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. 91
    The Matrix slams you back in your chair, pops open your eyes and leaves your jaw hanging slack in amazement.
  2. 90
    The Wachowskis do it so playfully well, keeping The Matrix's potentially confusing plot intelligible, intelligent, and suspenseful, that it doesn't matter.
  3. 88
    Kinetic, atmospheric, visually stunning, and mind-bending.
  4. For those who have been waiting for movies to catch up with the graphic possibilities of comic books, wait no longer: The Matrix is among us.
  5. The plot switches gears every time it threatens to run out of energy, which keeps the show as lively as it is preposterous.
  6. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    With an arsenal of cool f/x at their disposal, the Wachowskis have come up with a dizzyingly enjoyable junk movie that has just enough on its mind to keep the pleasure from being a guilty one.
  7. It's astonishing that so much money, talent, technical expertise and visual imagination can be put in the service of something so stupid.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 164
  1. LeoR.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    The greatest action movie of all time, my favorite movie, its so perceptive so mind boggling you will watch it more than once to then fall more in love with the matrix a world without borders or boundaries. I love this movie. Expand
  2. AndrewR.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Phenomenal don't believe any of the ratings under a 7, they're simply trying to keep you from being unplugged.
  3. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    No matter how mush times you watch this, its always entertaining. The story is very deep, the cast is great and the special effects are still good even if this game out more 11 years ago. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    The Matrix
    Average User Score: 8.7
    10
    The Matrix Image
    The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern
    religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to create a cryptic, symbolic action film. Everything in this movie has occult meaning, but it's up to us, the viewers to figure out what that meaning is. This movie is like a puzzle. But this is all done in a very cool, entertaining way with awesome special effects (cutting edge at the time it was released) and great memorable action scenes, some which have greatly influenced the special effects of Hollywood movies produced afterwards. My only complaint about this movie is the way the love of Neo by Trinity is revealed, I mean you have no idea and I remember in the theater myself and everyone around me groaning since the whole love story in action films thing has been done to death and this seemed so cliche. The love between Trinity and Neo is very important to the trinity in the long run but imo it could have been introduced in a much better manner, maybe some flirting scenes leading up to it because you just don't see it coming at all which makes it really unrealistic. But other than that a great, epic movie.

    The Matrix (and the entire Matrix Trilogy) is like an onion, it has many layers of meaning, and every-time I watch it I notice something new. Definitely a masterpiece with profound hidden meaning and my favourite movie off all time to this day. 10/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    A mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it may actually happen. The fights are incredibly choreographed, and the special effects were revolutionary for their time, and still hold up today. Buckle up and prepare for The Matrix! (and its crappy sequels). Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    i absolutely loved the spectacular future vision! it must have taken quite the imagination to come up with such a future for our earth. the action is unmatched too. Expand
  7. PaulK
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    One of the worst movies of the last 10 years. Horrible acting by Reeves, a stupid script and an even dumber plot. Nothing more than a special effects display disguised as a movie. Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.