Overture Films | Release Date: November 6, 2009
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
50
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
A trippy movie that manages to be funny as hell while making very little sense. That's how I would sum up this movie, but then, it wouldn't be entirely fair; the beginning and the middle of the film were very good, but the end made me frown aA trippy movie that manages to be funny as hell while making very little sense. That's how I would sum up this movie, but then, it wouldn't be entirely fair; the beginning and the middle of the film were very good, but the end made me frown a lot - while laughing or grinning like a fool. I wasn't sure about the motivation of the characters, really, or the big picture behind it all, but I guess I'll get it one day. Or not.

Either way, Ewan McGregor and George Clooney were very funny. Kevin Spacey was kind of badass, but cool. Robert Patrick had definitely changed from his days in The X-Files (he didn't have a major role, but I had to mention this since I was so shocked when I saw him).

Anyway, the movie isn't as much about goats - or is it? - as it is about men in a very special unit within the US army. What could be psychic warriors is actually a group of hippies, more or less, but some of them have more talent than the others. Or do they?

The story is very amusing, told from Ewan's character's point of view, and when a reporter?s skepticism finally begins to turn into actual belief - at least somewhat - the plot suffers a little. But not much.

Whether I understood the story or not, I have to say watching this movie was worth every second, because there were so many priceless moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
I really don't understand why people hated this movie. It's hysterical! Clever, dry and flat-out nonsensical. Fantastic cast and extremely entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenJun 4, 2011
Apparently based more in fact than you might believe, this movie is by turns satirical, amusing and poignant. An original indie with a great cast. Clooney and Bridges do not disappoint
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HarmonicAug 6, 2014
A little gem, as crazy as poignant!! You enjoy every minute !! Ewan McGregor and George Clooney give us a fantastic duo, full of surprises, emotion and, mostly, laughs... A good reflection on the importance given to our faith. I love thisA little gem, as crazy as poignant!! You enjoy every minute !! Ewan McGregor and George Clooney give us a fantastic duo, full of surprises, emotion and, mostly, laughs... A good reflection on the importance given to our faith. I love this parallel between the wacky humour's side, and the serious side, at the end of the movie... Yes, after all, we all need Jedi Knights !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UriGMar 7, 2010
First of all, I must say I was nearly forced to go inside the cinema to watch the movie. But after watching it, I accept that it was a really nice film: fresh, not slow(but not as fast as I would have liked), really funny, and with a few First of all, I must say I was nearly forced to go inside the cinema to watch the movie. But after watching it, I accept that it was a really nice film: fresh, not slow(but not as fast as I would have liked), really funny, and with a few moments that everybody in the cinema laughed really loud. It is worth watching it, so I recommend it to everybody. A must-see film if you wanna enjoy a really nice time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SanderSJan 3, 2010
Seeing Doctor Parnassas(hope it was right), I left from cinema thinking that the movie had everything right - acting, story and the purpose but it failed with very important thing - entertainment. This movie dosen`t have great story or some Seeing Doctor Parnassas(hope it was right), I left from cinema thinking that the movie had everything right - acting, story and the purpose but it failed with very important thing - entertainment. This movie dosen`t have great story or some other things but it doesn't fail with entertainment. You get great emotional feeling and can always enjoy film with your friends. For me it had great message and wasn't disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CarolynMNov 10, 2009
My husband and I loved this. It's completely wacky, yet based on a period of time when the US military seriously investigated paranormal approaches to war. Great performances that leave you wondering, "Are they crazy? Am I?"
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VanessaRNov 6, 2009
What a fun and wacky ride! The cast was exceptional. If you have a good sense of humor and appreciate the absurd, you should enjoy this movie as much as we did.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ObiWanKenobiFeb 4, 2010
The "mixed" reviews don't understand what war or longing for normality really is. When you are in war everything is funny or you die. Nothing in this movie is true, so be it. You will never be able to understand what really is going on. The "mixed" reviews don't understand what war or longing for normality really is. When you are in war everything is funny or you die. Nothing in this movie is true, so be it. You will never be able to understand what really is going on. I believe this what every Soldier, Sailor, Marine, Airman, and Coastie wants to feel. Disconnected and whole. Take from it what you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanRMar 29, 2010
As someone who actually did a great deal of research into remote viewing/psyops/MK Ultra and such, this movie was right up my alley. The pacing and visual style of the film remind me a bit of Burn After Reading. As far as performances go, As someone who actually did a great deal of research into remote viewing/psyops/MK Ultra and such, this movie was right up my alley. The pacing and visual style of the film remind me a bit of Burn After Reading. As far as performances go, none of the movies stars are at their best. Mediocre performances aside, this is a very entertaining movie. At times comical, at times intriguing. If you have no interest in the subject of remote viewing you will most likely be bored to tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobKNov 12, 2009
Most ppl won't (don't, from the comments) "get" this movie. From Bridge's perspective, Lebowski 2. And Clooney plays a wacko as well as almost anyone. Lots of snide reeferences. Desert scenes were shot at White Sands, NM and Most ppl won't (don't, from the comments) "get" this movie. From Bridge's perspective, Lebowski 2. And Clooney plays a wacko as well as almost anyone. Lots of snide reeferences. Desert scenes were shot at White Sands, NM and NMMI in Roswell stands in for Fort Bragg. Aliens, Roswell, 1st atomic bomb, Werner von Braun etc...seems like appropriate synergies to me. Walked out of it into a Santa Fe mall...and the film knocked me off-kilter enough that maybe, just maybe, I could've walked through a wall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeGNov 14, 2009
I had a great time with this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillHNov 14, 2009
It was hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonMNov 14, 2009
This was a great film. You WILL laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethKNov 15, 2009
Don't try to take it seriously. It was very adult and funny. I don't think kids will "get" it. As antiwar movies go, it was quite good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielRMar 26, 2010
I went to see the film with a group of friends, expecting to be moderately entertained by another average, yet kind-of-fullfilling comedy starring the always spectacular George Clooney and several other main cast members that draw you into I went to see the film with a group of friends, expecting to be moderately entertained by another average, yet kind-of-fullfilling comedy starring the always spectacular George Clooney and several other main cast members that draw you into the film. I was suprised to find that, while at times it was slightly hard to follow, I enjoyed the film. I genuinely enjoyed the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Nov 7, 2009
Great movie, but too much cake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FranciscoONov 23, 2009
Now that I know the Coens are behind this film I understand it better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
arakaki77Jun 16, 2011
I liked it and was touched by this story about beliefs, like winning a war with love instead of violence, the movie made â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews