Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 21, 2007
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 394 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
274
Mixed:
46
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AdamC.Mar 20, 2008
127 minutes long? This film is a joke. Truly a steaming pile.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FloydH.Mar 29, 2008
Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not have given it a second glance due to it's lack of critical acclaim. I can only conclude that the lack of critical acclaim is due in no small measure to its indictment of religion as a form of mental calcification. Why else? The acting was sterling. The monsters no less than macabre. The story singular with only a slight nod to the Silent Hill series. Why this film is important: It shines an caustic light onto the religious bias of an overwhelming number of film critics. I now know which film critics to avoid in the future when researching how to spend my last 350,640 hours. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
halbApr 3, 2008
Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own sugar-coated disneyland of typical hollywood outcomes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
keApr 6, 2008
The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King adaptation and the acting strong. The ending is a little turn off, but the rest of the film make up for it. Watch the film >>>> It's f**king good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DrewL.Nov 22, 2007
The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it was a B grade monster movie. 'The Mist' tries to have its cake and eat it too. Now I haven't seen all adaptations, but this is the worst adaptation of a King novel yet. The biggest disappointment of 2007. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TerrinB.Dec 2, 2007
Solid story line (believable as far as monster movies go)Silly ending based on the character of the father of the kid.His survival instinct would not allow him to do what he did prematurely.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SébastienC.Dec 2, 2007
Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes traditionally seen in mediocre horror movies. Even a non-hollywoodian and original end cannot make a poor movie better. Stay away from it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MatthewU.Dec 9, 2007
A great adaptation of a great short story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnOMar 17, 2008
I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the way through. Good TV, (like watching a sci-fi/horror two hour special) but tv nonetheless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ArielGMar 8, 2008
It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I know with movies like this, you have to suspend beliefs for a while, but the things they did was just unrealistic. The idea and the theme of the movie was good, but I just don't think it was executed the right way. A shame though, it could've been a great movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MattG.Apr 15, 2008
This was a horrible cliche-riddled crap film. the ending did not fit.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JonathanF.Nov 24, 2007
Charmingly ridiculous. Sometimes just plain ridiculous. And the rest of the time outright terrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CablesNov 28, 2007
Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The special effects were also laugh out loud bad. It's a rare case of a completely average movie with a pretty good ending (even if it was terribly depressing). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JohnMNov 26, 2007
The movie was good for a while but it grew increasingly ridiculous and the ending was so far from what any real person with sense would do. If you are a fan of quitters watch this awful movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariusS.Dec 26, 2007
Steven King at his best,. I truly enjoyed this movie, excellent!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
spadenxDec 12, 2011
It was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its aIt was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its a hilariously stupid ending (if you have a sick sense of humor like me). Its a rather trashy film if you ask me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
voidersJun 14, 2013
One of the black list of worst of all time. Dont make sense any thing.
The plot? A drama, yes a drama, not a action/SciFi, just a drama that try artificially puts some people together and show the "society problems". Like religion, guilty, fear...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
uristmcdwarfAug 20, 2013
Okay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with timeOkay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren't good, either. Though, the end is the worst part of this ridiculous movie so predictable and just.... wrong. I can't really find words that fit. I don't even know why this exists. It shouldn't, Don't watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Soma9840Nov 11, 2015
This movie is not good. The plot, rather than having you on the edge of your seat, will have you slumped down in it, drinking that sweet, sweet Pepsi-Cola you bought at the grocery store where you picked up this movie. The acting is nothingThis movie is not good. The plot, rather than having you on the edge of your seat, will have you slumped down in it, drinking that sweet, sweet Pepsi-Cola you bought at the grocery store where you picked up this movie. The acting is nothing special. The soundtrack is boring. The movie relies on blood and jumpscares too much to say, "It was so spooky!" but rather, "Eh, it startled me a couple times." It isn't a 0 because it isn't awful. It's just bad. It's mediocre at best, and not worth any amount you pay for the disc or on Amazon or anywhere. As for the ending, instead of making us go like, "OH. EM. JEEEEEEEEEE!" we ended up chuckling at that excuse for a sad ending. Basically, don't watch it. It isn't worth two or three hours. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AbhieApr 26, 2015
Totally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon thanTotally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon than watching this trash ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewLJul 10, 2009
Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the movie really was great, scary, fun, intense, suspenseful, really just a great horror flick. the Ending, by far, is one of the most powerful pieces of cinema ive seen, ever. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 4, 2015
"The Mist" doesn't really reach the heights of other classic masterpieces director Frank Darabont has directed before, but the movie does show his traditional style of excellence through solid film editing, stellar acting, and, despite what"The Mist" doesn't really reach the heights of other classic masterpieces director Frank Darabont has directed before, but the movie does show his traditional style of excellence through solid film editing, stellar acting, and, despite what others have to say, a pretty good story with a creative ending different from its original source material. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
MicheleC.Mar 30, 2008
This movie had it's moments and could have been a pretty good movie if not for the absolute horrific ending. I have 2 young sons and this upset me to my core! The dumbest outcome I have ever seen in a movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
NKMar 29, 2008
Not weighty enough to be the intellectual film Darabont wants it to be, not scary enough to be the horror film it should be. (And as ever, the monsters just aren't scary...)
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JohnD.Feb 9, 2010
Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't be said for the 111 dirge-like minutes that preceed it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and beliefs. The good points: it was entertaining and despite the hidden insults towards both "camps" it was really interesting to see how human race reacts in front of an event like this. The worst is that it would be very probable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CaseyDOct 27, 2009
It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, it was just plain horrible and disturbing and it made me mad at the "writer" of that ending). other than that, it was ok. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
FrozenStar90Jun 12, 2011
A depressing and visceral cautionary tale about the monsters that hide inside us all. The acting ranged from wholly believable to flat-out cheesy, but it was trivial by the end. Speaking of endings...holy crap. I think I've made my point.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
JanschieJul 17, 2011
Some tension - interesting effects - many annoying performances - ridiculous plot contrivances - many boring sections - a terrible movie - one of the worst ever that I've seen
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
TMay 6, 2008
I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much about the horror genre, but I feel like there can be so much better than this drivel. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
GraemeWJun 16, 2008
Would of given it a couple of points more , if it wasn't the cheap trick of an ending , I do not need sugar sweetened , but 5 going out like that, unbelievable bunch of losers, the rest average b grade, not even funny, dialogue written Would of given it a couple of points more , if it wasn't the cheap trick of an ending , I do not need sugar sweetened , but 5 going out like that, unbelievable bunch of losers, the rest average b grade, not even funny, dialogue written by a 13 year old, but suppose that's Mr King, read him at that age. Don't mind my team losing as long as they play- bunch of losers Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Cloud of mist appears over a lake, traps people in a supermarket, mayhem ensues.
Stereotypes galore, awful dialogue, general stupidity all round & I wanted most of the people dead about 25 minutes in.
Ending is quite good though. Watch The
Cloud of mist appears over a lake, traps people in a supermarket, mayhem ensues.
Stereotypes galore, awful dialogue, general stupidity all round & I wanted most of the people dead about 25 minutes in.
Ending is quite good though.
Watch The Fog, Dawn of the Dead & The Thing which this steals from but are much, much better.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
TiberiuC.Jan 15, 2010
So bad I had to skip to the end. S. King simply can't write good books. And the movies based upon his books are even worse. Don't waste your time with this crap, there are many other good movies out there.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AndreMApr 26, 2009
I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. I thought that it would be some kind of psycologic thriller, what would be a lot more interesting. However, the movie has some really boring alien bugs, just as in any other B class movie. That took a lot of the movie credibility away. Through the movie, there were some interesting parts, some funny and some very intense. But some (most of) the persons were extremely dumb, by taking too long to decide to do something. And finnaly, the end was very, very sad, not bad, really, it was probably the most well thought part of the movie, but very sad. If it was with me, I would wait for the bugs come, not suicide so early. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LeeL.Nov 23, 2007
This was garbage, without a single authentic reaction from any of the actors, warmed-over horror cliches without an ounce of fresh air, and absurd pretension pawned off as knowing social commentary. Maybe it would work for five-year-olds.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
The_ShedNov 1, 2010
I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense andI disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very good horror movie, by any means. The enemies are rarely seen, in several cases passive, and scare moments don't last very long. However, in almost every other respect I'd say the film is a great success. Most characters actually have interesting opinions and beliefs, and don't follow genre cliche's (when they do, it's with depth and subtlety). A small example is the seeming jobsworth store department manager, I forget his name, who has a goofy appearance, is stumpy, and has glasses. In EVERY other horror movie he would be comic/ sicko relief, and would be killed by the main character or somesuch after he pervs on the love interest or some crap. However, he turns out to be a good guy, one of the best in the film, and is likeable and has a lot of story/plot input. The generic psycho antagonist seems one-dimensional and cliche, but is acted with extreme finesse- when she finally starts driving people to violence (which is inevitable), you can actually see that she is shocked at what is going on, but keeps at it out of fear and wavering momentum. The whole thing is about why people do these things- basically fear and how people deal with it.

The story is basic and doesn't reveal much about what is going on, but that's not necessary, as it's mostly about the characters' survival and relationships, yet it still does a good job of setting up an ecology and background for the strange creatures the players encounter. The film's not much of a horror, but as a thriller and a character piece- I'd say hit it up like a whack-a-mole.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MelcherOct 9, 2011
Strangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I reallyStrangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience for me. I saw this in cinemas and remember walking with a big smile on my face. If you're a fan of post-apocalyptic, sci-fi and horror you should get a kick out of this, if you're a Dark Tower fan then maybe even moreso (as their are a few nods to the series in this film). To me this film captures the dire reality of such an event quite well by pitting a small group of people together who must learn to fight off a common threat. It deals with the microcosm of society and how certain people can influence the masses. There is a real feeling of dread and despair that is portrayed in the film. The characters are survivors but we know that not all of them will make it through to the end, we know that their situation is a dangerous one and the film keeps you on your toes.

All in all, I really liked it and always mention this to friends as being one of my faves of all time, they always laugh, heh, but that's life. Don't be deterred by bad reviews, its just one of those movies, some love it, some hate it, you might really like it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BlogDog123Jun 25, 2012
When I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well putWhen I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tactics to make you scared. It's suspenseful, gory, and thrilling. This movie also gets credit for having one of the most depressing endings in film history. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ClamBusterJun 14, 2011
The beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does inThe beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any given moment, then the end scene will rip your very soul clean in half. I know the end differs from the short story originally penned by King, but the author himself has ok'd the revised ending with much applause (there is actually a sit down chat with King and Darabont on the disc where this is seen and heard). One point I will make that really needs to be listened to is the viewing of this film in Black & White. I myself have never seen the colour version as the director himself (there is a 'forward' at the start of the B&W presentation on Blu-ray by Darabont) has stated that the B&W is the native viewing experience... and i certainly agree with that. The Mist is a mini masterpiece that got reviewed at the time by the wrong people and therefore has not reached the audience it deserves. The fans will continue to spread the word and keep the films legacy alive through word of mouth and passion for what this reviewer truely believes is one of the best horror movies of all time Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
j30Nov 1, 2011
A truly terrifying movie. It's nice to watch a horror movie that's not obsessed with throwing gore and cheap tricks scares at you. I have heard countless complaints about the ending, which to my surprise, was not nearly as bad as everyone hadA truly terrifying movie. It's nice to watch a horror movie that's not obsessed with throwing gore and cheap tricks scares at you. I have heard countless complaints about the ending, which to my surprise, was not nearly as bad as everyone had made it out to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DerkamiteApr 1, 2013
The mis-categorizing of The Mist as a horror movie was unfortunate. The building sense of hopelessness along with Marcia Gay Harden's award deserving role as Mrs. Carmody creates a movie that is worth your attention.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
I definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires toI definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interesting and it takes a while for the mistery to be unfolded. Although some may have already thought where the answer was, the way it was done in the movie, is to be applauded. Good performances and good cast. It had an interesting perspective, that made me reflect-again- in how dangerous religious fanatism can be to the world ( be aware I mean, fanatism, for there is nothing wrong with religion itself) and how easy to manipulate are human beings under certain conditions. Great ending, although sad. Overall, a good movie but i am disappointed to se the low score, especially considering how many good reviews it got...I wonder if the metacritic system is working for I don't see it changing much days after some comments are post..strange indeed. Something that they should ckeck...for it is not only the percentage, but the number of 'positive' doesn't add after my friends or I write a review...! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyOct 6, 2012
As always Frank Darabont makes a great job .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsOct 6, 2012
Great movie .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ci4o759tyg235p0Mar 8, 2014
the premise is interesting, and the effects range from being really good to really cheesy, but the film is very suspenseful, this is a lot better than your average monster movie. The ending is terrible though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleSep 25, 2015
The Mist is truly a mixed bag. The beginning is quite weak. Though as hectic as it should be as the townsfolk try to piece together what is happening, the acting really holds it back. However, once we get into the swing of things, the actingThe Mist is truly a mixed bag. The beginning is quite weak. Though as hectic as it should be as the townsfolk try to piece together what is happening, the acting really holds it back. However, once we get into the swing of things, the acting remains negligible but the increased tension and edge of your seat moments of terror are worth it. Though far from being a truly horrifying film, the film manages to be incredibly intense and thrilling and, thanks to the camerawork, chaotic and somewhat claustrophobic. However, what truly sets the film apart from practically anything I have ever watched is the ending. Oh my God what an incredible ending. The book ending sounds nice, but holy cow this blows it out of the water. The film up to that sequence is solid, but far from being near extraordinary. The ending transcends the rest of the film and truly elevates the preceding ~two hours. Wow. Overall, The Mist is a good science fiction horror film with a killer ending that will stick with you for a while. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Sheldonc1981Sep 29, 2012
This is, by far, the greatest work of Stephen King. The thought of using something rather common, like mist, makes it seem like anything can happen now. Every time I see mist, I think it will turn into a horror story. I am also VERY impressedThis is, by far, the greatest work of Stephen King. The thought of using something rather common, like mist, makes it seem like anything can happen now. Every time I see mist, I think it will turn into a horror story. I am also VERY impressed with the special effects. A little too impressed...actually. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersMay 26, 2013
I loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast;I loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in and delivers multiple monologues that rank among her best performances. The cast had a surprisingly great script to work with; sharp dialogue and well-written conversations make this film extremely realistic. There were a few stupid decisions and characters scattered throughout, but that doesn't hold back the film much. Also, the CGI could have been a little better. With it's strong cast, memorable monologues, and solid script, The Mist builds perfectly to an ending that's unforgettable. Devastating, infuriating, but perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
mrjoneseznNov 10, 2013
Really solid horror/suspense movie. Thomas Jane is prettty damn good here. Yeah, some of the acting is a bit wooden, but i you're a fan of The Walking Dead or TV/movies of the type that make you examine human nature, you'll enjoy this one.Really solid horror/suspense movie. Thomas Jane is prettty damn good here. Yeah, some of the acting is a bit wooden, but i you're a fan of The Walking Dead or TV/movies of the type that make you examine human nature, you'll enjoy this one. A solid 7/10.
For those complaining about the ending, I believe Stephen King himself said he wished he had thought of this particular way to end the story.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DLMillerNov 30, 2013
This film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to beThis film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horror gets, it is correct. And I use the word 'correct' here in the most laudatory sense that a person could use it while aghast and weeping. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 8, 2015
This is one of the best Stephen King's adaptation I have seen.The acting is good,the special effects are well made and the movie is intense.The end is surprising but extremely good and raise the movie even higher.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
marc5477Feb 25, 2016
Total trash. All the characters reacted in an unbelievable manner given the situation. The conflict between them was forcefully shoved down the viewers throat on top of being formulaic and cliche. The social interactions were laughable. OneTotal trash. All the characters reacted in an unbelievable manner given the situation. The conflict between them was forcefully shoved down the viewers throat on top of being formulaic and cliche. The social interactions were laughable. One second people are rational, the next they give up all hope. One second they dont believe in anything, the next they are all religious zealots. There is nothing good about this movie. It does not illicit any sort of emotion of any kind and I am not sure it should be called horror. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Sep 7, 2015
The Mist is painfully real considering it is a very unreal story. Frank Darabont converts another Stephen King story into an exceptional film, much like he did with the Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile. This film felt like Dawn of theThe Mist is painfully real considering it is a very unreal story. Frank Darabont converts another Stephen King story into an exceptional film, much like he did with the Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile. This film felt like Dawn of the Dead in a supermarket at first but it begins to break its own new ground. The characters were very good for a horror movie and the acting was great. The best part about The Mist is that it is not afraid to cross the line. I was very disturbed on several occasions in this film and a great horror film should make you uncomfortable. I sure was. I was horrified. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
The Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cutThe Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how it has changed.) Darabont has fashioned a tense motion pictures that's ultimately more about paranoia, religious fanaticism, and the price of hopelessness than it is about monsters. But the creatures are present and accounted for, lurking in the white-out that is the mist. Someone has finally succeeded where John Carpenter failed with The Fog.

Darabont, who was an established screenwriter before trying his hand at directing with 1994's The Shawshank Redemption, has made four motion pictures. The Mist is the third one that uses a Stephen King story as source material. Before The Mist, Darabont stuck to King's "straight" stories, but this time he takes a turn for the horrific. What he does right, however, is to focus more on the interplay between the characters than on the monsters. By the end, one wonders which group is more savage: us or them. Darabont's theme in some ways echoes a sentiment voiced by Ellen Ripley in Aliens: that human beings can be as bad or worse than the nightmares that sometimes hunt them. (The movie borrows other things from the Alien series, including the expulsion of creatures from the body and the cocooning of victims.)

The majority of the film takes place within the supermarket, although the most tense scenes are those in which one or more characters leaves its relative "safety" for a short period. Inside, as the terrified and trapped people grow increasingly more tense, the population fractures into three groups: those who believe in the supernatural explanation and follow Mrs. Carmody; those who reject that anything serious is wrong and follow Brent Norton, and those who know there are monsters but don't think praying is the answer and follow David. It's a story we have seen before: while the demons gather their forces in the darkness, the humans bicker amongst themselves.

The special effects are both a strength and a weakness. They are effective when portraying monsters seen through the gloom of the mist. (There's one horrific and awe-inspiring moment late in the movie.) When seen a little closer and clearer, however, the CGI is too apparent. Atmosphere is Darabont's strength. It's what drives the movie - wondering and fearing what might be out there, preparing to launch itself at the huge plate glass windows that front a supermarket. Using ingredients supplied by King, the director brews a potent stew that concludes with a scene tinged with the most bitter irony imaginable.

If there's a fault, it's in the "explanation" that details what the mist is and why the creatures are displacing humankind. This has tacked-on, obligatory feel. The scenario might have worked better if it was left to our imagination to figure out where the monsters come from or why they are here. Like time travel, the more the filmmakers try to explain it, the more lame it sounds. Fortunately, it's a small part of an otherwise superbly made motion picture. Finally, after a long list of failures, someone has done justice in bringing one of King's horror stories to the screen. Though definitely not the feel-good movie of the season, this is a must-see for anyone who loves the genre and doesn't demand "torture porn" from horror.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gab19Jun 7, 2015
One of the best horror movies I have ever seen, great story and the ending is one of the best horror movies endings of all time. Must watch movie if you love horror films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 6, 2015
"The Mist" an incredible adaptation of Stephen King , who has been on the surface a chilling and shocking experience safe living hell in a fog full of murderers monsters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HamedM.Jul 20, 2008
This is one of the greatest movies that i have ever seen about the human and God. They (the main characters) died because of losing their practical faith in God.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeW.Jan 20, 2008
This movie was fantastic and leaves a lot to the imagination. It's not your typical ending and heroes die. See it if you like shows like the outer Limits or the Twilight Zone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnL.Mar 30, 2008
I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking I really liked this movie, i went into it expecting a lot considering the director (frank darabont) and it really did not disappoint.The horror genre seems like its geting harder and harder to do well and too many movies are taking influences from asian horror cinema and it was fresh in the beginning (the ring) but now the movies are all too similar in theme and mood and frankly the reviews speak for themselves those movies are terrible..As your watching this movie you really start to get scared, not because of whats jumping out from around a corner but from the ideas behind the story...that our worst fears are often found in ourselves..This is the best horror movie i have seen since frailty (2002)...i hope i dont have to wait another 6 years for another quality horror title Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoryGApr 25, 2008
Good movie, but omg, what was up with the ending!?!?!?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FB.Jul 4, 2008
Fair amount of suspense (hard to make a good monster movie these days) great character interaction especially once the weakest ones are done away with. One of the better book-to-screen adaption of any of king's books I have seen yet. Fair amount of suspense (hard to make a good monster movie these days) great character interaction especially once the weakest ones are done away with. One of the better book-to-screen adaption of any of king's books I have seen yet. Even better when you look at the budget they had to make this movie with. Above all the LEAST Hollywood ending ever made the movie a standout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhilM.Jul 6, 2008
Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean Alright something about this movie made me like it despite alot of flaws. I can't really put my finger on what made it great to watch, I guess it was how they just set up everything. How the story was told. If you understand what I mean then this movie is for you. Despite the good points, the CG was pretty bad, but that's forgivable, considering I'm a 3d artist and actually KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO CREATE, unlike many idiots who just watch and whinge. Also, I agree with one of the posters here who said the characters did things that people wouldn't do in real life. I found myself going "JUST SAY THIS" or "YOU WOULD DO THIS INSTEAD". Overall, worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
UliD.Nov 30, 2007
Sorry. but , like nearley all Stephen King Films -> worse than the book. for me , as a european watcher, this film is more a propagandistic film than one close to the story. i have read this book ( or a part of it , as in the german form , Sorry. but , like nearley all Stephen King Films -> worse than the book. for me , as a european watcher, this film is more a propagandistic film than one close to the story. i have read this book ( or a part of it , as in the german form , you just can have it combined with some other short stories) and i even tried to make my own theorie of makin a theatre production out of it ( but i missed , because it went too funny). i have to say - (sorry my english is not very good) the latest poin where i was depressed by this film was after the action when the alien with flys came in inthe supermarket. If i can remember exactly the action with mrs carmody didn`happen in the book like this. ( for me a kind of pathetic action, which is made to solidarize the creationists in the US )i don ´t know if S.K. would like to have it that way... another thing is the animation and the look, - toomuch cgi which takes away the best of the story. you(guys from teh film), woul have been dine better to make more strange sequences from actions and cuts we all know, (in the supermarket ) (especially there !!!) instead of wasting toomuch time by animating sceneries ..i read this book oftenenough, butmaybe european guys have another taste of sth. like . that but i have to say ( for me ) -> finally i have expected more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhilB.Dec 3, 2007
The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story The feeling of "surrealness" that the movie captures is exceptional. There are not too many moments where the characters are doing something stupid to move the story along. As you watch you end up feeling lost/helpless just as the story intends you too. (NO SPOILERS HERE) The ending just floors you...the whole movie just floors you. Whether you think the "monsters" are cheesy or unbelievable, that is not the point as the whole situation is unbelievable, but the movie does a great job of showing you a believable story in an unbelievable situation. Not the best, but definitely worth watching if you like movies with good stories. Horror fans might not like it because it is not a true horror. Action fans might not like it because there is not enough action. This is a good story, with good acting, direction and cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
vidManDec 8, 2007
When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding When I first saw the trailer I though it was another "Storm of the Century." And when you see the movie it seems to have influences from that story as well as possibly a few video games. But it all ties together nicely, eventually finding it's own identity. At it's worst, the stupidity of some characters may actually aggravate the audience. The monsters are obviously CG. Overall, this movie has an interesting point of view, tension filled scenes, and unexpected results. Good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Dec 9, 2007
"The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Mist" reminded me of the original "Twilight Zone" when Rod Serling experimented with a one-hour format. Both, the anthology show and current Stephen King adaptation, undoubtedly are overlong and overstays its welcome. Reminiscent of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street", "The Mist" even has a twist ending that punches you in the gut. Give the film its due; the political allegory might be a little hackneyed, but at least the film tries to be relevant as well as entertaining. Brent Norton(Andre Braugher) is like a member of President Bush's administration who ignores the people who are better informed and ends up getting his followers killed. "The Mist" also reminds people that American has its share of religious zealots; it's not just Iraq. As Mrs. Carmody, Marcia Gay Harden is such a showstopper, her performance feels better suited for the stage. She gives "The Mist" that filmed-play feel. Mrs. Carmody and Brent are the real monsters, not that squid thing(hey, NBC already gave us "The Beast", this monster is like SNL's Land Shark) who kills without prejudice. Rhetoric is what gets us killed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattOct 7, 2008
Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, Really bad horror movie. Absolutely awful. I guess it only takes 3 days in a fully food-stocked grocery store for humans to revert back to the tribal stage of society. There's a bunch of really obvious, bad commentary on small towns, religion, and the military - insulting to each group in its own way. The monsters are incredibly bland. If we're to understand correctly, these things come from another dimension, but the best they could come up with is bigger versions of dragonflies, pterodactyls, squids, spiders, and lobsters? Fun fact: If you imagine the protagonist screaming "JUMANJIIIIIII" at the end instead of just screaming, it almost makes it worth the rental price in pure comedic value. Almost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 19, 2008
Great horror flick, really scary and imaginatively done. Excellent special effects, good characters that are nicely defined, superb atmosphere. creepy and very engrossing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamJMar 24, 2008
To Me. It was a up and down movie with a STUPID ending. How could anyone shot there own kid and people you said you were going to save! Just plan Stupid
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KhalidN.Mar 28, 2008
Awesome movie! the ending is about why people commit suicide, the pressure of hopelessness, the anit-happy ending that these modern horror movies fail to achieve, the mist has so much to say about modern society and there's freakin Awesome movie! the ending is about why people commit suicide, the pressure of hopelessness, the anit-happy ending that these modern horror movies fail to achieve, the mist has so much to say about modern society and there's freakin giant monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkJ.Mar 28, 2008
A nicely minimal movie that moves forward through the standard cliches, cheesecake dialog, and implausible decisions as creatively as it can. If it weren't for an absolute failure of an ending this would be the stuff of b-movie legends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HeatherB.Mar 30, 2008
Out of touch dialog...the re-writers just massacred Kings novel...the messy dialog and the unrealistic character reactions were a constant distraction. The only reason I give it a 1 is for when Mrs. Carmody was shot in the gut and then in Out of touch dialog...the re-writers just massacred Kings novel...the messy dialog and the unrealistic character reactions were a constant distraction. The only reason I give it a 1 is for when Mrs. Carmody was shot in the gut and then in the head....that was the best part and the most realistic part of the whole movie....other then that, such a disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TommyP.Apr 27, 2008
As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally As this movie was a Stephen King film, I will say my sister and i just finished up watching it. The acting and one sided thought process of the people in the film made me utterly "PISSED OFF" The Mist was the most annoying, and totally against the way an actual human adult would act, let alone comunicate with eachother. I would not ask anyone to watch this flick. I have never gotten angry at a movie until now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeC.Apr 3, 2008
The film does two things extremely well. First, you have to make the viewer want the bad guy (woman in this case) dead, really, really badly. Check. Second, it really pulls off the death to the living and no hope for all ending quite well. The film does two things extremely well. First, you have to make the viewer want the bad guy (woman in this case) dead, really, really badly. Check. Second, it really pulls off the death to the living and no hope for all ending quite well. That's why Invasion of The Bodysnatchers sticks with you forever. These kinds of endings are not common, so enjoy them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanM.Apr 5, 2008
A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of A haunting vision that examines peoples' limits. Having read "The Mist" the same year Skeleton Crew came out, it has been to this day my favourite novella by King. As such, I'm well aware that the majority of film adaptations of King's work tend to bomb quite horribly. This movie, however, did not leave me with a sour taste after it was over. The premise of the military creating this havoc is by no means a new idea, yet with a mild suspension of belief it's plausible. The CGI, I admit, was certainly not up to the standards of today's big budget films but then I can easily understand that the terrors in the mist was not the primary conflict. No, that distinction was humanity's basic instincts. It would be folly to assume that society has the capacity to hunker down in any post-apocalyptic situation and easily overcome it's own shortcomings. As a species, we are all capable of mistakes, and when confronted by our worst fears (both imagined and real), every person will react differently. Everyone has a limit. At what point they reach that limit varies, and throughout the movie we are shown where those limits are. The dialogue, often criticized for being cliche, worked for me as it felt more realistic than what Hollywood tends to do with how people communicate to one another. The ending, while surprising different from the novella, did not take away anything from the movie. Nay, it was just another example of someone reaching their limit for dealing with something beyond their means. With news stories throughout the years regarding people who have faced their own tragedies and chosen the more horryifying result, is it any wonder we see the same here? Bottom line, if you think that we as a species are infallible, this move is not for you. If you were expecting a horror film with scary monsters, this film is not for you. If you are open to the idea that we, as people, are capable of giving up hope when we have reached our limits... then yes, this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BilalY.Apr 7, 2008
The movie is full of crap. There are all sorts of monsters, the one's with tenticles, the spiders, the mosquitoes, you name it. Acting was not too impressive either. And dont even ask about the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
vs.dobbsApr 8, 2008
Goodness, this was horrible. I was laughing thru the entire thing. The dialogue was atrocious--among the worst I've ever heard. Hard to believe a pro screenwriter did this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveB.Aug 11, 2008
Excellent adaptation of the novella. I like the nods to other horror movies and the rose from the Dark Tower that it is rumored that Thomas Jane will also be in. The ending is phenomenal, a true horror classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TammyR.Aug 9, 2008
This is a great movie that i really enjoyed. Worthwhile to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanSep 30, 2008
An exemplary piece of horror filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillB.Nov 8, 2009
As with most effective horror movies, The Mist scares you most when the threat is what you cannot see. Thanks to Darabont's direction, the tension doesn't let up as the mystery is slowly revealed. The danger posed by some within As with most effective horror movies, The Mist scares you most when the threat is what you cannot see. Thanks to Darabont's direction, the tension doesn't let up as the mystery is slowly revealed. The danger posed by some within the grocery store only amps it up. And the ending nearly knocked me to the floor. This is certainly not your run-of-the mill gross-out flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RickyM.Oct 19, 2009
The ending is black but the film up til then is great harrowing and breathtakingly scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TommyG.Jan 23, 2009
Absorbing and scary - This skillful horror film treats the viewer with intelligence. The characters make you belief in the premise. Some of the special effects could be a little better, but the construction, attention to detail and multiple Absorbing and scary - This skillful horror film treats the viewer with intelligence. The characters make you belief in the premise. Some of the special effects could be a little better, but the construction, attention to detail and multiple layers of storytelling (not to mention the entirely haunting ending) certainly make of for it. Darabont's really great with the actors too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertSSep 19, 2009
I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday I love a horror film that goes for the bleak and the depressing - this is the horror genre folks, why on Earth would I want a 'happy ending' to all that has gone before? Keep your ludicrous 'Sorority Row', 'Friday the 13th' and 'Saw' claptrap and give me a group of people riven by mistrust, fear of 'what's out there' and attempting to exert their influence over others. That's horror - not the monsters (and the effects are not that bad for a film that had a pretty low budget), not the short term visceral satisfaction of arterial spray that most of us are desensitized to know anyway or the B movie trimmimngs that Darabont provides along the way. The confrontations between the people in the store is far more engaging and suspenseful, and even if the film doesn't quite make the points it wants to (although it mostly manages) it at least attempts to have some meat and bones to it. Which is more than can be said for other so-called horrors of late. For my money, one of the more memorable horror films of the last couple of years and one that I frequently recommend to others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickC.Nov 22, 2007
A wicked little horror flick with a good cast, authentic reactions, consequences of actions, deft camera work, music that stays largely ambient, decent special effects, a terrific "villain," an assortment of Lovecraftian monsters and a A wicked little horror flick with a good cast, authentic reactions, consequences of actions, deft camera work, music that stays largely ambient, decent special effects, a terrific "villain," an assortment of Lovecraftian monsters and a polarizing ending. What's not to like?! The most fun I've had at a monster movie since The Host. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChaseK.Nov 22, 2007
Bad special effects, bad acting, pretty much a complete, total misfire. It just feels like it should have gone straight to DVD...or TV.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 23, 2007
What an ending. That's all I can even say about it. I never want to see it again, it was painful to watch, but so worth it. It's a really interesting look into the mindset of desperate people, more than it is a typical King horror flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattFNov 23, 2007
The mist while not a horror, is completely suspenseful and disturbing, the ending, which changed from the book works like a breath of fresh air. The creatures looked terrifying the effects worked well and Thomas Jane gives his usual solid The mist while not a horror, is completely suspenseful and disturbing, the ending, which changed from the book works like a breath of fresh air. The creatures looked terrifying the effects worked well and Thomas Jane gives his usual solid performance. Finally a Stephen King horror done right! Please so see this and save R rated horror! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.B.Nov 24, 2007
Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem Generally it's one of the better and most faithful of Stephen King adaptations. Some of the character development slows the movie down a 'bit, but without that development the characters and the dynamics of the group would seem more as if they were all following a script rather than their reactions developing from the situation. Marcia Gay Harden's character is not as ham-fisted as a lesser director would have allowed her to be, and Thomas Jane makes the hero a well-rounded character. The ending, serves more as a flip-side view of the original story while preserving the dark tone - and it still works as one of those ironic "gotcha", "Twilight Zone" type endings. The movie shows us just enough of what's in the mist as it cinematically should in adapting this story, and the score is wonderfully spare and moody (and I loved that there was no pop-tune over the end credits, just the background sound effects to leave you in a pensive mood, the same as the original story. I've hoped for a long time they could adapt this King story well, and I'm not disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanN.Nov 24, 2007
Great investigation into how groups of people may react in extreme situations. Monster CG not as realistic as it could have been, but creepy mood achieved through use of the actual mist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertC.Nov 24, 2007
Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls Whoa. The Mist, Frank Darabont's newest film version of a Stephen King tale, is a kick in the gut. Adapted from a nearly flawless novella originally published in the Kirby McCauley edited 1983 anthology DARK FORCES, The Mist recalls George A. Romero's Night of the Living Dead for sheer apocalyptic dread. Moreover, like Romero's film, The Mist owns an ending brutal in its anguish. Whereas King's novella ends with ambiguity concerning the survival of the characters and the world, Darabont's film serves a clear denoument that leaves the viewer emotionally exhausted, helpless, and weirdly satisfied. I left the theater satisfied that I'd seen a nearly perfect horror film whose intact and intelligent subtext and resonance is difficult to find at today's multiplex. I also left the theater satisfied that the filmmakers respected me as a member of the audience. Like Night and James Gunn's Slither, The Mist is bright, intellectual popcorn horror steeped deeply in the human condition. Darabont utilises the "desert island" trope as creatively as Romero did in 1968. This trope strands several people in a place where there is little or no chance of escape and allows the human part of them to take over. Greed, cowardice, need for order, all these things rise to the surface and the people trapped in the island become dangerous. In the case of Romero's and Darabont's films, the people trapped in the farmhouse and grocery store become more dangerous than the ghouls and creepy other-dimensional crawlies who wish to consume them. More importantly, like Romero, Darabont doesn't flinch in presenting an ending that belongs more in the European ouvre of Austria's Michael Haneke than in a Hollywood film. Perhaps the Weinstein brothers, who produced, understand that The Mist is material in need of a resonant and stunning denoument to respect every action and death occurring throughout the story. Regardless, go and see this movie! You will not regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BCguy85Nov 25, 2007
this is what movies are about. getting people passionate about a movie. when I'm in a theater and people are cheering when things are happening you know it's got a good impact. it's also nice to have endings you don't see coming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Dec 11, 2007
The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in The only person who could make a great movie of a King book was Kubrick, and he changed the screenplay so drastically that The Shining became his own. The Mist is the latest and this time Frank Darabont comes closer than anyone since in capturing the claustrophobic fear of a King book, but it's the special effects in this one that cheapen the whole film and take away from the real story of people trapped inside a supermarket where evil lurks in a fog outside. Marcia Gay Harden is impressive as a Bush-like fanatical Christian with delusions of grandeur who becomes more of a threat than the tentacled creatures outside. As unbelievable as the ending was, I did like the way Darabont didn't sugar coat it. It ain't The Shining folks, but it's the best King adaptation since. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilS.Dec 1, 2007
A terrifric movie for several reasons and one the best scary films in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Dec 2, 2007
At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was At last, a smart, scary, fearless American horror film. 2007 has been a bleak year for terror, and with critics anointing the ghastly "1408" and the dumb-dumb "The Host" as brilliant, I wasn't expecting much from "The Mist". I was mistaken. Excellent acting (Bravo, Marcia Gay Harden!), some jump-out-of-your seat jolts, and an all-too real ending make this the best creepshow I've seen since 2006's "The Descent". Simple-minded viewers who need a "let's kick some Martian butt!" all-American ending will be angry at the conclusion of this film... good! Thank God Darabont had the clarity of vision to see this thing through to its (blessedly non-heavy metal soundtrack) closing credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Dec 3, 2007
What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other What a great horror movie this is, an homage to the old style classics that not only were unafraid to take risks, but to tell an actual story, one that didn't rely on the body count and gore and sex and drugs and pretty much every other kind of trash out there that eventually took over the genre, but on pure, unadulterated suspense. What makes 'The Mist' work isn't in it's monsters (which are a visual delight), or in it's gore (which is actually effective and disturbing, something Eli Roth should take note), or even in it's scares (which are certainly nerve jangling) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamN.Feb 22, 2008
The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't The movie is by no means perfect, but it's extremely well made, with admirable performances and an astounding ending. Yet while the performances are admirable, they're certainly not perfect, and some of the dialouge doesn't help. Another thing bothered me was the fact that too much of the creatures were shown. It left little to the imagination, with the exception of the tentacle creature. As I mentioned before, the ending is absolutely phenomenal. I certainly hope those of you that disliked the ending weren't expecting a 'Ok, the mist has gone away, let's go home, lol' type of ending. If anything, the movie bitch slaps those of you that were expecting that. And, to Annie R. Marcia Gay Harden wasn't really a 'Christian'. She was more of a pagan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WayneC.Feb 25, 2008
If you concentrate on the cheap special effects, you'll be disappointed; but if you read it as a modern morality tale -- how do we fight an enemy we cannot see or eawsily identify (?) -- then the film has some merit; the ending is If you concentrate on the cheap special effects, you'll be disappointed; but if you read it as a modern morality tale -- how do we fight an enemy we cannot see or eawsily identify (?) -- then the film has some merit; the ending is harrowing but just a bit this side of cliche (as in "we may have seen it somewhere else before but it still makes us wrench"). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanR.Mar 14, 2008
I thought it was a great movie, not like most horrors with a twist to make a happy ending, which can make a movie dull sometimes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LucyK.Mar 21, 2008
Absolute drivel. Condescending, frustrating, slow moving and disappointing. Two hours of my life I'll never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful