The Mist

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 344 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 344
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sarah
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    this movie is one of the best movies i've seen in a long time! i loved the way the director set up the tension and you could feel it. its like you don't know whats gonna happen next. overall the film was amazing! i will buy it the day it comes out on dvd!
  2. RussW
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    I always thought the short story The Mist would make a great movie and it didn't disappoint. Great tension and effects and a very daring ending that outdid the original book.
  3. TomP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    2
    Hard to believe the guy who did Shawshank Redemption also did this inept adaptation of a good Stephen King story. I give it two points for a couple of okay action scenes, but the other 95% of the movie was painfully bad. I sat through it just to see the supposedly shocking ending, which was as big a mistake as actually bying a ticket in the first place. Don't waste your time.
  4. JenniferC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    I think that it was a pretty good movie being adapted from Stephen King. It left you thinking "Could I ever do that if I was him?". It's scary what fear brings out of people.
  5. LisaL
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    The scariest movie I have every seen! The ending is incredible, the monsters are genuinely terrifying, and the plot is phenomenal. I loved every minute of this terrifying thriller!
  6. DanielC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    7
    Maybe my expectations were low. Maybe I just thought it was better than most horror films out there today.
  7. ManniB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Great adaptation of King, with inteligent and preety depressing ending. Another fantastic movie from Darabont.
  8. PJ.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Hands down, one of the scariest films I've seen (and I'm not easily scared at a movie). People were cheering, screaming, and clapping. The ending was heart wrenching and, from what I understand, not the ending that was in the original short story.
  9. MikeR.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I agree with those of you that felt the ending was ridiculous. It was not the ending that King gives it in the novella. Up until that last scene, I thought that the production was well acted, tight, the two hours for me flew by, and I thought that the special effects were about average. they certainly had me on the edge of my seat during the tentacle scene. The last scene was a major I agree with those of you that felt the ending was ridiculous. It was not the ending that King gives it in the novella. Up until that last scene, I thought that the production was well acted, tight, the two hours for me flew by, and I thought that the special effects were about average. they certainly had me on the edge of my seat during the tentacle scene. The last scene was a major disappointment for me. It was obviously a hallucination, since you would NOT have the both the miltary and town civilian heading TOWARD the town as it is being cleared, plus no one acknowledged his presence. But why go it that direction, leaving it open ended as King does in the novella works best, but the devastating ending of the movie, without the final oddly out of place scene, had me tearing up, at a horror film yet. By the way, I do not get the whole "ridiculous plot line" argument. It is horror after all, but it does need to be consistent and logically progress. Up until the last scene it was as outstanding movie for it type. Expand
  10. AnnieR.
    Nov 28, 2007
    1
    It was an ok movie, but the ending made me want to slap a baby. Seriousely It sucked I am depressed now. That and it made christians look likt A$$holes, which they are not. I am glad they shot her.
  11. VanessaC.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie with great metaphors and a shocker ending!
  12. meyou
    Dec 10, 2007
    3
    Since there was little to no music to set the scene, you only went by the visual effects. Without the creepy lead-up music, the "scary" parts were not very scary. After the zealot gets shot in the stomach, an audience member yells out "shoot her in the head!" We all laughed histerically when Olly did just that! Very predictable and funny - Never was I scared.
  13. AlaricP.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great movie. I don't like movies with a bunch of gore, like Saw, Hostel, or other torture porn movies. But this movie has only one or two instances of gore, so I like it for staying a thriller. But that's not all. The cinematography is great. The camera is always moving around, just adding to the feeling to the movie. I am a loyal fan of Stephen King, and this I think this is a great movie. I don't like movies with a bunch of gore, like Saw, Hostel, or other torture porn movies. But this movie has only one or two instances of gore, so I like it for staying a thriller. But that's not all. The cinematography is great. The camera is always moving around, just adding to the feeling to the movie. I am a loyal fan of Stephen King, and this movie stays true to the story. Although the ending is a little upsetting, it is a good one. I can't recommend this movie enough. Expand
  14. joer
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    i went to this film kicking and screaming the whole way. i was off base. tremendous movie with outstanding performances and a gut-wrenching finish. Highlky recommended!
  15. LizT.
    Dec 1, 2007
    6
    Abundance applauce actually errupted in our theater when Mrs. Carmody was shot. The ending was horrible! What it lacked was exection. People laughed at David's screaming/moaning because it was so unrealistic. And the fact that the army magically showed up unscathed and immediately saved the day by clearingup all fog and monsters was completely surreal. However, the fact that David Abundance applauce actually errupted in our theater when Mrs. Carmody was shot. The ending was horrible! What it lacked was exection. People laughed at David's screaming/moaning because it was so unrealistic. And the fact that the army magically showed up unscathed and immediately saved the day by clearingup all fog and monsters was completely surreal. However, the fact that David had just shot his son and murdered three others, seconds before rescue, made me feel like I had been punched in the gut. And that reaction, even tainted by substaindard execution, was worth the $9. Expand
  16. BoscoO.
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    I'm usually the person watching suspenseful movies between parted fingers, but THIS movie didn't even make me flinch- It was totally ridiculous and frustrating to the point that I ***couldn't believe*** all the hype I read prior to going to see it. TOTALLY FRUSTRATING!!! I was so aggravated by the time it was over and wished I had those couple hours back to do something I'm usually the person watching suspenseful movies between parted fingers, but THIS movie didn't even make me flinch- It was totally ridiculous and frustrating to the point that I ***couldn't believe*** all the hype I read prior to going to see it. TOTALLY FRUSTRATING!!! I was so aggravated by the time it was over and wished I had those couple hours back to do something more interesting- like watching paint dry. Expand
  17. BoydM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    0
    How are you people even rating this movie?? I can't even find the proper words to say how absolutely insanely bat sh!t crazy this horrible movie was. The plot line just made me feel disgusted that I actually went to this movie. The acting was an insult to pre-schoolers. And the ending?? My god, the ending. Are you kidding me?!
  18. GaryS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Veers close to crass and cheap and jokey but stays the right side of serious, giving that ending a nice sharp stab.
  19. StephenC.
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    HOLY ENDING! I cannot believe that ending. It was an awesome movie. The ending is very depressing though.
  20. PimpD
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    What a crappy movie!People who really thinks this is a scary movie, should se a pschologist. The only good this about this movie was the funny ending, just made me laugh. Bad acting, bad script and irritating characters.
  21. JoeM.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    This is one of the stupidest movies I think I have ever seen. Do not waste you money especially if you spend 5 dollars at Blockbuster.
  22. JeremyB.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie I was very impressed with this movie. Very scary and upsetting, especially as a married man with 2 young boys. The relationship between Thomas Jane and his son was very believable. Marcia Gay Harden was awesome. One of the best screen villains in a long time. Creature effects were very creepy, trying very hard to not show everything (ala: Jaws, War of the Worlds, Blairwitch). The movie knows that what is not seen is better. Ending was a major shock...and pitch perfect. Darabont is a great director. Super intense!! Expand
  23. LexL
    May 17, 2008
    6
    Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I Overall the movie was good. I would of probably rated it an 8 if I didn't have a son myself. The father was so protective and passionate about saving his life, then makes a 2 minute decision to kill him. It was disturbing and I would of let it go until I saw all the Christian wannabes being saved by the military. Then I felt hatred. If that was their intentions then well done. But I won't watch it again Expand
  24. AlL
    May 17, 2008
    2
    Disappointing on so many levels it's shameful. A talky morality bum-wipe broken up with action sequences so poorly staged and paced they bordered on tedious. The lengthy discussions that fill the rest of the film had me wearing out the forward button. The CGI was deeply uneven- well animated but shoe-horned into some really crappy live-action mime. The creatures were especially Disappointing on so many levels it's shameful. A talky morality bum-wipe broken up with action sequences so poorly staged and paced they bordered on tedious. The lengthy discussions that fill the rest of the film had me wearing out the forward button. The CGI was deeply uneven- well animated but shoe-horned into some really crappy live-action mime. The creatures were especially disappointing, I was hoping for something truly demonic, but instead they're just bugs, only bigger. Marcia Gay Harden deserves an award for 'most annoying/overdone christian nutjob cliche in history'. The idea that this screeching lunatic could somehow be a charismatic figurehead in a time of crisis is laughable. And yes, I hated the ending. Any parent who thinks that the last act of the main character is in any way plausible needs to have their own children removed from their care. Expand
  25. JonathanR.
    Jun 15, 2008
    9
    I very much enjoyed this movie, it seemed as if it were a big-screen version of Half-Life 1 and 2 combined. As many things seemed to be taken from there: Tentacles, Dementional Warp-gates, Mist as well as many other things. The movie seemed to be bashing religion and the ending was horrible and leaves you feeling half enraged and half despaired.
  26. FrancoisD.
    Jun 15, 2008
    0
    Lame from beginning to end. Horrible movie.
  27. SethH
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    A pretty good movie, I agree with most that the ending was pretty easy to guess, but overall it was very spooky and the constant depressed feeling in the movie gave it some realism.
  28. Andrew
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    I jokingly called the ending in the movie theater before it happened. Go see the movie instead of YouTube-ing the ending, it'd ruin it. Really good movie that's worth your time to watch.
  29. BobN
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission Wow. I really loved this film. It seemed to me akin to reading an old Ray Bradbury short story, like say from the Illustrated Man. The atmoshpere is all that matters in a short, and this film holds true on that count. Like I said, it was exactly like reading King's short stories, or any other old-school sci-fi/horror, and how often do films achieve that nowadays? Darabont, mission accomplished, thank you for the generous throw back, your film rocked. You are one of the only directors to do King justice. Holy crap though, Steven King is a weird human being. The atmosphere in this film is depressing, imagine a writer LIVING that atmoshpere for extended periods of time...weird individual. Expand
  30. ks
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Excellent monster movie, in which not the monsters are the thread, the ordinary people are. The Ending is one of the best in horror movie history.
  31. BetsyM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    The Mist has always been one of my favorite King stories and I was really happy that I also enjoyed the movie (unlike The Shining which really distorted the book). As a horror movie The Mist is right on target. Suspense and creatures abound. I liked the character development and the behavior of the characters as the tension grew. The ending, while disturbing, was perfect for making one The Mist has always been one of my favorite King stories and I was really happy that I also enjoyed the movie (unlike The Shining which really distorted the book). As a horror movie The Mist is right on target. Suspense and creatures abound. I liked the character development and the behavior of the characters as the tension grew. The ending, while disturbing, was perfect for making one think about the various paths people take and decisions they make. Overall a wonderful movie. Expand
  32. JimM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    Seriously the worst movie of all time. Full of worthless cliches from every terrible horror movie you've ever seen. At all costs you should avoid this movie. To quote a line from the movie...if i wanted to see something this bad I would "squat down and sh.t one out myself."
  33. AaronB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    This movie is interesting in that it allows for different readings. If you are looking for a few laughs, which a good horror movie should give you, then you are in for a few. If you are looking a movie to push the envelope then don't see the Mist. What you'll find instead is a look at the worst humanity has to offer. The monsters for the most part are irrelevant. They are a This movie is interesting in that it allows for different readings. If you are looking for a few laughs, which a good horror movie should give you, then you are in for a few. If you are looking a movie to push the envelope then don't see the Mist. What you'll find instead is a look at the worst humanity has to offer. The monsters for the most part are irrelevant. They are a means to the movie. Its actually the mist and that which it revels, ironically enough, that is at the center of this movie. Given enough push, humanity if capable of almost anything. King has shown us this before in books and movies. Within us there is the possibility for good. However, as any paradox, there has to be two sides. Human nature allows for an immense amount of bad as well. On the surface this movie may come off a little dismal and at times cheesy. But dig deeper and you will find an interesting message. No matter what you take away from this film, whether it be the monsters or the mist, this movie is something to think about. Expand
  34. JohnN.
    Nov 25, 2007
    0
    That ending was absolutely, unforgivably ridiculous. The special effects were terrible. And Marcia Gay Hardon was unwatchable. But that ending. Oh My God! You have got to be kidding me!
  35. Jdaz2
    Nov 25, 2007
    7
    This a good popcorn movie, it makes you jump in certain spots and makes you laugh in others. I like the end because it doesn't wrap it up with a pretty bow. I think Jim M. took it to seriously, just enjoy the movie for what it is.
  36. MoeP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    Good God... This is perhaps the most faithful reproduction of any King story that I have seen. Having read the novella many years ago, wishing someone would make a film from it, I am impressed. Although the ending, the ending, the ending... Whoa... Overall, great movie, and surprisingly good acting for a horror flick. My apologies to any offended actors, but I mean that as a true Good God... This is perhaps the most faithful reproduction of any King story that I have seen. Having read the novella many years ago, wishing someone would make a film from it, I am impressed. Although the ending, the ending, the ending... Whoa... Overall, great movie, and surprisingly good acting for a horror flick. My apologies to any offended actors, but I mean that as a true compliment. This is a wildly surreal story, and getting the right feel is a very delicate process. The main protagonist is like a suburban Henry Rollins, if you can imagine such a thing. Very cool. I think you'll like it. Expand
  37. EdG.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    What started as a slow film that had me wondering what I got myself into, soon became a pleasure to watch with one of the best endings to a movie I have ever seen.
  38. MikeS
    Dec 14, 2007
    8
    Having read the story a few years ago, I was very interested in watching this movie, even with the mixed reviews it got. I thought it was very well done, and the creatures were terrifying, each more gruesome than the last! The tentacles were a bit unconvincing, but other than that, excellent special effects. Tension mounting as the people got more and more frazzled by the experience, Having read the story a few years ago, I was very interested in watching this movie, even with the mixed reviews it got. I thought it was very well done, and the creatures were terrifying, each more gruesome than the last! The tentacles were a bit unconvincing, but other than that, excellent special effects. Tension mounting as the people got more and more frazzled by the experience, until the protagonists were forced to leave for fear of what the others in the store would do to them, and barely escape with their lives. The main character makes a snap decision during the escape that leads to having to make a difficult decision later. The ending was an emotional kick in the gut (different from the short story) , very unexpected! Expand
  39. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    A depressing and visceral cautionary tale about the monsters that hide inside us all. The acting ranged from wholly believable to flat-out cheesy, but it was trivial by the end. Speaking of endings...holy crap. I think I've made my point.
  40. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very
    I disagree with many critics and evidently many viewers in that I think this film was an excellent character drama, and a very good film overall. The characters were solid, the acting was great in most cases, it built up a lot of suspense and character development, and it avoided a lot of tropes and cliche's, with a pretty brutal ultimatum.

    It wasn't a typical horror movie, or even a very good horror movie, by any means. The enemies are rarely seen, in several cases passive, and scare moments don't last very long. However, in almost every other respect I'd say the film is a great success. Most characters actually have interesting opinions and beliefs, and don't follow genre cliche's (when they do, it's with depth and subtlety). A small example is the seeming jobsworth store department manager, I forget his name, who has a goofy appearance, is stumpy, and has glasses. In EVERY other horror movie he would be comic/ sicko relief, and would be killed by the main character or somesuch after he pervs on the love interest or some crap. However, he turns out to be a good guy, one of the best in the film, and is likeable and has a lot of story/plot input. The generic psycho antagonist seems one-dimensional and cliche, but is acted with extreme finesse- when she finally starts driving people to violence (which is inevitable), you can actually see that she is shocked at what is going on, but keeps at it out of fear and wavering momentum. The whole thing is about why people do these things- basically fear and how people deal with it.

    The story is basic and doesn't reveal much about what is going on, but that's not necessary, as it's mostly about the characters' survival and relationships, yet it still does a good job of setting up an ecology and background for the strange creatures the players encounter. The film's not much of a horror, but as a thriller and a character piece- I'd say hit it up like a whack-a-mole.
    Expand
  41. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Eh. Sad, depressing, but scary. An interesting (but somewhat predictable) look at the way people work together. Overall, the ending is what really shocked me. That was good.
  42. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Strangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience forStrangely, one of my favorite films of all time, although I understand that people don't like it. I'm not a fanboy, or a hater, so I won't bag out people who dislike this film, likewise i don't expect to be knocked just because I really enjoyed this. I liked the pace, the premise, and the cheesy acting and effects. Even though it felt a bit B grade I felt this added to the experience for me. I saw this in cinemas and remember walking with a big smile on my face. If you're a fan of post-apocalyptic, sci-fi and horror you should get a kick out of this, if you're a Dark Tower fan then maybe even moreso (as their are a few nods to the series in this film). To me this film captures the dire reality of such an event quite well by pitting a small group of people together who must learn to fight off a common threat. It deals with the microcosm of society and how certain people can influence the masses. There is a real feeling of dread and despair that is portrayed in the film. The characters are survivors but we know that not all of them will make it through to the end, we know that their situation is a dangerous one and the film keeps you on your toes.

    All in all, I really liked it and always mention this to friends as being one of my faves of all time, they always laugh, heh, but that's life. Don't be deterred by bad reviews, its just one of those movies, some love it, some hate it, you might really like it.
    Expand
  43. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    the mist is a strange experience and annoying in a good way, of course. monsters that attack to people are innocent in comparison with monster people inside. music that heard in the last scenes don't let the eyes to be dry.
  44. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    When I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tacticsWhen I first watched the first 15 minutes of this film, I was thinking to myself, "Man, this movie is kinda unoriginal." I was wrong. When the mist starts rolling in, the film keeps you hooked until the ending. The characters are well put together, and although the acting isn't perfect, it's still very solid. What I enjoyed the most about this movie is that it doesn't rely on cheap tactics to make you scared. It's suspenseful, gory, and thrilling. This movie also gets credit for having one of the most depressing endings in film history. Expand
  45. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    The beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any givenThe beauty of a good horror movie is when the actual threat itself becomes insignificant in comparison to the ills that manifest from the very people that are trying to escape it. This very story telling mechanic is what The Mist does in magnificent fashion. If you watch this movie with the right head on your shoulders, respecting the situation the central characters are in at any given moment, then the end scene will rip your very soul clean in half. I know the end differs from the short story originally penned by King, but the author himself has ok'd the revised ending with much applause (there is actually a sit down chat with King and Darabont on the disc where this is seen and heard). One point I will make that really needs to be listened to is the viewing of this film in Black & White. I myself have never seen the colour version as the director himself (there is a 'forward' at the start of the B&W presentation on Blu-ray by Darabont) has stated that the B&W is the native viewing experience... and i certainly agree with that. The Mist is a mini masterpiece that got reviewed at the time by the wrong people and therefore has not reached the audience it deserves. The fans will continue to spread the word and keep the films legacy alive through word of mouth and passion for what this reviewer truely believes is one of the best horror movies of all time Expand
  46. Jan 28, 2013
    4
    Although the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag aboutAlthough the foundation for a good story is there, the poor acting and melodramatic character development make the movie fall short of being a good film. The ending is unfitting and characters are often portrayed as hysterical, making it hard to feel any kind of connection to them. On top of that, the movie just doesn't end. It lasts 2 hours and 7 minutes and it really starts to drag about halfway through. Expand
  47. j30
    Nov 1, 2011
    8
    A truly terrifying movie. It's nice to watch a horror movie that's not obsessed with throwing gore and cheap tricks scares at you. I have heard countless complaints about the ending, which to my surprise, was not nearly as bad as everyone had made it out to be.
  48. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    The mis-categorizing of The Mist as a horror movie was unfortunate. The building sense of hopelessness along with Marcia Gay Harden's award deserving role as Mrs. Carmody creates a movie that is worth your attention.
  49. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interestingI definitely enjoyed the movie. It was better than what I expected, yet, I know it was not brilliant. It works in its genre, although there was room for improvement. I think it is not easy to describe the feelings that this movie inspires to me; but I know this is a movie that I would recommend to those who enjoy horror films where violence and gore are justified. The story is interesting and it takes a while for the mistery to be unfolded. Although some may have already thought where the answer was, the way it was done in the movie, is to be applauded. Good performances and good cast. It had an interesting perspective, that made me reflect-again- in how dangerous religious fanatism can be to the world ( be aware I mean, fanatism, for there is nothing wrong with religion itself) and how easy to manipulate are human beings under certain conditions. Great ending, although sad. Overall, a good movie but i am disappointed to se the low score, especially considering how many good reviews it got...I wonder if the metacritic system is working for I don't see it changing much days after some comments are post..strange indeed. Something that they should ckeck...for it is not only the percentage, but the number of 'positive' doesn't add after my friends or I write a review...! Expand
  50. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    As always Frank Darabont makes a great job .
  51. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    the premise is interesting, and the effects range from being really good to really cheesy, but the film is very suspenseful, this is a lot better than your average monster movie. The ending is terrible though.
  52. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    This is, by far, the greatest work of Stephen King. The thought of using something rather common, like mist, makes it seem like anything can happen now. Every time I see mist, I think it will turn into a horror story. I am also VERY impressed with the special effects. A little too impressed...actually.
  53. May 26, 2013
    8
    I loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in andI loved this film! The Mist follows a group of townspeople trapped in a grocery store as a mysterious mist blows into town, bringing with it a variety of unfamiliar creatures. The trapped townspeople are played perfectly by a great cast; Thomas Jane is good as the main character, and Marcia Gay Harden is chillingly brilliant as the disturbed Christian. She steals every scene she's in and delivers multiple monologues that rank among her best performances. The cast had a surprisingly great script to work with; sharp dialogue and well-written conversations make this film extremely realistic. There were a few stupid decisions and characters scattered throughout, but that doesn't hold back the film much. Also, the CGI could have been a little better. With it's strong cast, memorable monologues, and solid script, The Mist builds perfectly to an ending that's unforgettable. Devastating, infuriating, but perfect. Expand
  54. Jun 14, 2013
    0
    One of the black list of worst of all time. Dont make sense any thing.
    The plot? A drama, yes a drama, not a action/SciFi, just a drama that try artificially puts some people together and show the "society problems". Like religion, guilty, fear...
  55. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Okay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren'tOkay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren't good, either. Though, the end is the worst part of this ridiculous movie so predictable and just.... wrong. I can't really find words that fit. I don't even know why this exists. It shouldn't, Don't watch it. Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Really solid horror/suspense movie. Thomas Jane is prettty damn good here. Yeah, some of the acting is a bit wooden, but i you're a fan of The Walking Dead or TV/movies of the type that make you examine human nature, you'll enjoy this one. A solid 7/10.
    For those complaining about the ending, I believe Stephen King himself said he wished he had thought of this particular way to end the story.
  57. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    This film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horrorThis film is precisely the kind that is destined to be under rated. I came to view it out of an unusual impulse toward gratuitous monster mashing gore. But The Mist is far more substantial than anything the average horror fan is going to be prepared for. The film is an allegory for the for the human condition at its most grim. And as such within the genre, it is not just as good as horror gets, it is correct. And I use the word 'correct' here in the most laudatory sense that a person could use it while aghast and weeping. Expand
  58. Aug 8, 2015
    8
    This is one of the best Stephen King's adaptation I have seen.The acting is good,the special effects are well made and the movie is intense.The end is surprising but extremely good and raise the movie even higher.
  59. Mar 1, 2015
    1
    This movie was crap. No other word for it, except maybe a swear word, but kids use this website. First off, the acting. It was very bland, the characters acted like this:
    *Bored voice* Oh no, we need to block up the doors fast. Here's a bag of rock salt, block up the windows.
    *Really, really bad impression of a scared person* OH GOD, BEE THINGS! RUN! HIDE THE CHILDREN! I'M SUPPOSED TO BE
    This movie was crap. No other word for it, except maybe a swear word, but kids use this website. First off, the acting. It was very bland, the characters acted like this:
    *Bored voice* Oh no, we need to block up the doors fast. Here's a bag of rock salt, block up the windows.
    *Really, really bad impression of a scared person* OH GOD, BEE THINGS! RUN! HIDE THE CHILDREN! I'M SUPPOSED TO BE A GOOD ACTOR! MY ACTING IS MORE SCARY THAN THE BEES!
    Yeah.... Next, the movie relied on blood and gore multiple times to keep the fans scared, but it turned into a slasher multiple times during the movie. It was startling, yeah, but you knew it was gonna happen every time because it always got super quiet. And people always stand up for it by saying, "Duh, the plot twist at the end was epic, duh, I'm gonna watch Twilight, duh." First off, it's not a plot twist, and second off, the ending was so hilariously stupid, I laughed out loud. Seriously. This movie barely escaped a zero, only because the crazy religious lady was creepy, and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie- for all the wrong reasons. I liked it because of the fact it was so bad that it was hilarious. So, if you're looking for terror, watch The Shining, but if you're looking for comic relief, look no further than The Mist.
    Expand
  60. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    The Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how itThe Mist is what a horror film should be - dark, tense, and punctuated by just enough gore to keep the viewer's flinch reflex intact. In fact, that movie's ending is so uncompromising that one must assume director Frank Darabont had final cut so the studio couldn't interfere. (It's worth noting that the ending is not the same as that of Stephen King's novella, but I won't mention how it has changed.) Darabont has fashioned a tense motion pictures that's ultimately more about paranoia, religious fanaticism, and the price of hopelessness than it is about monsters. But the creatures are present and accounted for, lurking in the white-out that is the mist. Someone has finally succeeded where John Carpenter failed with The Fog.

    Darabont, who was an established screenwriter before trying his hand at directing with 1994's The Shawshank Redemption, has made four motion pictures. The Mist is the third one that uses a Stephen King story as source material. Before The Mist, Darabont stuck to King's "straight" stories, but this time he takes a turn for the horrific. What he does right, however, is to focus more on the interplay between the characters than on the monsters. By the end, one wonders which group is more savage: us or them. Darabont's theme in some ways echoes a sentiment voiced by Ellen Ripley in Aliens: that human beings can be as bad or worse than the nightmares that sometimes hunt them. (The movie borrows other things from the Alien series, including the expulsion of creatures from the body and the cocooning of victims.)

    The majority of the film takes place within the supermarket, although the most tense scenes are those in which one or more characters leaves its relative "safety" for a short period. Inside, as the terrified and trapped people grow increasingly more tense, the population fractures into three groups: those who believe in the supernatural explanation and follow Mrs. Carmody; those who reject that anything serious is wrong and follow Brent Norton, and those who know there are monsters but don't think praying is the answer and follow David. It's a story we have seen before: while the demons gather their forces in the darkness, the humans bicker amongst themselves.

    The special effects are both a strength and a weakness. They are effective when portraying monsters seen through the gloom of the mist. (There's one horrific and awe-inspiring moment late in the movie.) When seen a little closer and clearer, however, the CGI is too apparent. Atmosphere is Darabont's strength. It's what drives the movie - wondering and fearing what might be out there, preparing to launch itself at the huge plate glass windows that front a supermarket. Using ingredients supplied by King, the director brews a potent stew that concludes with a scene tinged with the most bitter irony imaginable.

    If there's a fault, it's in the "explanation" that details what the mist is and why the creatures are displacing humankind. This has tacked-on, obligatory feel. The scenario might have worked better if it was left to our imagination to figure out where the monsters come from or why they are here. Like time travel, the more the filmmakers try to explain it, the more lame it sounds. Fortunately, it's a small part of an otherwise superbly made motion picture. Finally, after a long list of failures, someone has done justice in bringing one of King's horror stories to the screen. Though definitely not the feel-good movie of the season, this is a must-see for anyone who loves the genre and doesn't demand "torture porn" from horror.
    Expand
  61. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    Totally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon than watching this trash !
  62. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    One of the best horror movies I have ever seen, great story and the ending is one of the best horror movies endings of all time. Must watch movie if you love horror films.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There's a grim modern parable to be read into the dangerous effects of the gospel-preaching local crazy lady Mrs. Carmody (brilliantly played by a hellfire Marcia Gay Harden) on a congregation of the fearful.
  2. Less horrific than it is horribly didactic.
  3. 60
    The Mist is itself a supermarket of B-movie essentials, handsomely stocked with bad science, stupid behavior, chewable lines of dialogue, religious fruitcakes, and a fine display of monsters.