Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 21, 2007
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 394 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
274
Mixed:
46
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AdamC.Mar 20, 2008
127 minutes long? This film is a joke. Truly a steaming pile.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FloydH.Mar 29, 2008
Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or Excellent. I had no idea this was the same director of the Shawshank Redemption, and the Green Mile. I almost avoided renting this DVD because it was 'a rental store exclusive' which to my mind seemed to impute box office or critical failure. Had it not been a Stephen King book adaptation, starred Thomas Jane, and been lauded by Richard Roeper, and Pete Hammond - I would not have given it a second glance due to it's lack of critical acclaim. I can only conclude that the lack of critical acclaim is due in no small measure to its indictment of religion as a form of mental calcification. Why else? The acting was sterling. The monsters no less than macabre. The story singular with only a slight nod to the Silent Hill series. Why this film is important: It shines an caustic light onto the religious bias of an overwhelming number of film critics. I now know which film critics to avoid in the future when researching how to spend my last 350,640 hours. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
halbApr 3, 2008
Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own Overall, very disappointing film.... probably because I had such high expectations for it. It's primary 'saving grace' is the ending. Unexpected and bleak and powerful. Those who hate the ending should just stay in their own sugar-coated disneyland of typical hollywood outcomes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
keApr 6, 2008
The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King The low reviews kept me away from this film in theaters, but once I rented it, I was surprised by how good the movie is. It's entertaining and scarier than any other shit out there right now. It's a really good Stephen King adaptation and the acting strong. The ending is a little turn off, but the rest of the film make up for it. Watch the film >>>> It's f**king good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DrewL.Nov 22, 2007
The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first The first half was terrific! One of the most tense movies to come along in years! The, the more we saw of the creatures, the less scary and more stupid the movie became. I wish Darabont continued with the tone he established in the first half, instead of going effects crazy. 'Dreamcatcher' was better than this, because that movie didn't take itself seriously...it knew it was a B grade monster movie. 'The Mist' tries to have its cake and eat it too. Now I haven't seen all adaptations, but this is the worst adaptation of a King novel yet. The biggest disappointment of 2007. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TerrinB.Dec 2, 2007
Solid story line (believable as far as monster movies go)Silly ending based on the character of the father of the kid.His survival instinct would not allow him to do what he did prematurely.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SébastienC.Dec 2, 2007
Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic Really bad. The director tried to instillate some social psychology (how humans behave in a life or death situation) into a fantastic/horror movie. The idea was good, but was very poorly implemented. Unsubtle close-ups and would-be realistic shaky camera, stereotyped characters, laughable lines, predictable events (apart for the end), and the usual overflow of disgusting scenes traditionally seen in mediocre horror movies. Even a non-hollywoodian and original end cannot make a poor movie better. Stay away from it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MatthewU.Dec 9, 2007
A great adaptation of a great short story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnOMar 17, 2008
I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the I wonder if this would have seen the inside of a cinema were it not for Darabont's success with Green Mile and Shawshank. From the cheap production and second rate cast to the poor CGI, this film feels 'made for TV' right the way through. Good TV, (like watching a sci-fi/horror two hour special) but tv nonetheless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ArielGMar 8, 2008
It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting It started off quite well, and built up a great chilling atmosphere. A feeling of dread and horror. Then it all went downhill from there. Bad special effects aside, the acting was atrocious - at the end the way the main character is shouting is just plain unbelievable and silly. But the most frustrating thing to watch was the bad decisions the characters kept making over and over again. I know with movies like this, you have to suspend beliefs for a while, but the things they did was just unrealistic. The idea and the theme of the movie was good, but I just don't think it was executed the right way. A shame though, it could've been a great movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MattG.Apr 15, 2008
This was a horrible cliche-riddled crap film. the ending did not fit.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JonathanF.Nov 24, 2007
Charmingly ridiculous. Sometimes just plain ridiculous. And the rest of the time outright terrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CablesNov 28, 2007
Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The Marcia Gay Harden's character is one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen in a movie and she needed to take an exit MUCH earlier. Some parts of this movie were laugh out loud terrible. Some parts were just creepy. The special effects were also laugh out loud bad. It's a rare case of a completely average movie with a pretty good ending (even if it was terribly depressing). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JohnMNov 26, 2007
The movie was good for a while but it grew increasingly ridiculous and the ending was so far from what any real person with sense would do. If you are a fan of quitters watch this awful movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariusS.Dec 26, 2007
Steven King at his best,. I truly enjoyed this movie, excellent!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
spadenxDec 12, 2011
It was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its aIt was pretty terrible and a rather generic film up until the very end, Literally the last scene of the film. Acting was below average and I expected far better, The story wasnt interesting, and the ending was just so stupid but its a hilariously stupid ending (if you have a sick sense of humor like me). Its a rather trashy film if you ask me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
voidersJun 14, 2013
One of the black list of worst of all time. Dont make sense any thing.
The plot? A drama, yes a drama, not a action/SciFi, just a drama that try artificially puts some people together and show the "society problems". Like religion, guilty, fear...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
uristmcdwarfAug 20, 2013
Okay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with timeOkay. what the heck is this? Seriously, probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's a pointless story, the acting (esp. that fundamental cult thing) is just silly. At the beginning you could think it will be a great movie, but with time progressing it goes straight down. The characters are so single-sided with dialogs everyone could write. It's full of cliches and the effects aren't good, either. Though, the end is the worst part of this ridiculous movie so predictable and just.... wrong. I can't really find words that fit. I don't even know why this exists. It shouldn't, Don't watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Soma9840Nov 11, 2015
This movie is not good. The plot, rather than having you on the edge of your seat, will have you slumped down in it, drinking that sweet, sweet Pepsi-Cola you bought at the grocery store where you picked up this movie. The acting is nothingThis movie is not good. The plot, rather than having you on the edge of your seat, will have you slumped down in it, drinking that sweet, sweet Pepsi-Cola you bought at the grocery store where you picked up this movie. The acting is nothing special. The soundtrack is boring. The movie relies on blood and jumpscares too much to say, "It was so spooky!" but rather, "Eh, it startled me a couple times." It isn't a 0 because it isn't awful. It's just bad. It's mediocre at best, and not worth any amount you pay for the disc or on Amazon or anywhere. As for the ending, instead of making us go like, "OH. EM. JEEEEEEEEEE!" we ended up chuckling at that excuse for a sad ending. Basically, don't watch it. It isn't worth two or three hours. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AbhieApr 26, 2015
Totally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon thanTotally terrible movie with very bad characters ! Im very disappointed .. I like the story but the movie was so far its a waste of your time ! Its not entertaining lots of stuff happening ..I would rather watch the Harry Potter marathon than watching this trash ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewLJul 10, 2009
Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good Once again i was almost fooled by the critics, the movie was brilliant. its actually very hardcore, not in a violent sense, although it is quite graphic. for a modern horror movie im surprised how little it makes you jump, this was a good thing, it didnt need cheap scare tactics to totally creep you out, it does it through the people in the mall and how they react to the situation. the movie really was great, scary, fun, intense, suspenseful, really just a great horror flick. the Ending, by far, is one of the most powerful pieces of cinema ive seen, ever. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 4, 2015
"The Mist" doesn't really reach the heights of other classic masterpieces director Frank Darabont has directed before, but the movie does show his traditional style of excellence through solid film editing, stellar acting, and, despite what"The Mist" doesn't really reach the heights of other classic masterpieces director Frank Darabont has directed before, but the movie does show his traditional style of excellence through solid film editing, stellar acting, and, despite what others have to say, a pretty good story with a creative ending different from its original source material. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
MicheleC.Mar 30, 2008
This movie had it's moments and could have been a pretty good movie if not for the absolute horrific ending. I have 2 young sons and this upset me to my core! The dumbest outcome I have ever seen in a movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
NKMar 29, 2008
Not weighty enough to be the intellectual film Darabont wants it to be, not scary enough to be the horror film it should be. (And as ever, the monsters just aren't scary...)
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JohnD.Feb 9, 2010
Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't Do yourself a favour: skip to the end. The Mist features one-dimensional characterisations, hammy effects and dialogue unrealistic enough to be laughable. The final 15 minutes are maaaybe work watching. Its just a shame the same can't be said for the 111 dirge-like minutes that preceed it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists Ridiculous acting, Thomas Jane can't act. Only the biggest monster was well done, the others were quite ridiculous. The other bizarre thing was the plot trying to separate minds and opinions with religious, scientifics and rationalists beliefs. I'm not a religious at all and I'm a rationalist, but I was quite shocked by the semi-hidden insults made to both opinions and beliefs. The good points: it was entertaining and despite the hidden insults towards both "camps" it was really interesting to see how human race reacts in front of an event like this. The worst is that it would be very probable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CaseyDOct 27, 2009
It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, It would have been a 7 or 8 but that ending pissed me off.it was not original at all, i think I've seen and read that ending about a million times and it just makes people angry at this movie after watching it(it really was not needed, it was just plain horrible and disturbing and it made me mad at the "writer" of that ending). other than that, it was ok. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
FrozenStar90Jun 12, 2011
A depressing and visceral cautionary tale about the monsters that hide inside us all. The acting ranged from wholly believable to flat-out cheesy, but it was trivial by the end. Speaking of endings...holy crap. I think I've made my point.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
JanschieJul 17, 2011
Some tension - interesting effects - many annoying performances - ridiculous plot contrivances - many boring sections - a terrible movie - one of the worst ever that I've seen
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
TMay 6, 2008
I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and I didn't see the first 10 minutes of the movie, but I feel like it didn't matter so much. I was also under the influence of alcohol when watching, which i thought would make it better...but it didn't. The acting is ho-hum, and every single horror-movie cliche you can think of is in this movie. Oh, and the special effects are bad. I will admit that I don't know much about the horror genre, but I feel like there can be so much better than this drivel. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful