Screen Gems | Release Date: August 21, 2013
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 308 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
169
Mixed:
48
Negative:
91
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kyle20ellisOct 23, 2016
You critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much moreYou critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much more than that. As far as I can see if you don't love sci-fi, action, romance, comedy, fantasy in one novel and movie. It's not for you. But don't bash it because it didn't meet your needs. TMI will always have it's book fans and they will grow from fans of the movie and be supported. Shadow Hunters are not going anywhere. Oh and to the person who said that Cassie stole ideas from other novels/movies. Why are you not bashing every vampire, werewolf, witch etc. film/tv show or book made? Those ideas were ledgends already here before you were born. So no one stole any 'idea'. I love the books and the movie. x Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KadeemluvmusicApr 20, 2016
This is actually why I'm so happy why The Mortal Instruments just couldn't keep on track against both Twilight and The Hunger Games and just like Divergent, it's one failed YA franchise potential after another. City of Bones (which I watchedThis is actually why I'm so happy why The Mortal Instruments just couldn't keep on track against both Twilight and The Hunger Games and just like Divergent, it's one failed YA franchise potential after another. City of Bones (which I watched it on Freeform the other day) were kinda familiar because though the casting of Lily Collins and Lena Hedey are decent, but I haven't even read the entire books so yeah I don't even know what the movie is about. It wasn't exactly as bad, but I felt that the filmmakers tried so much pressure that they can't go on with a sequel now that's officially kicked to the curb and just made a TV show called Shadowhunters (which is also a 'Meh').

In short, there's nothing to say anything good about City of Bones. Confusing acting abilities with zero character development, a poorly-rendered script, blatant use of crappy CGI effects, and a scant stòry that doesn't need to tell in the first place.

So congrats, Mortal Instruments. You're the Twilight's "Yin" into Eragon's "Yang." I might prefer a rental, but I give up.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lukechristianscJan 30, 2016
This film adaptation feels like "Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief" the Twilight Saga also "The Hunger Games" "The Host" "Beautiful Creatures" so it's just a crappy rip off of other successful YA film adaptations, which makes this filmThis film adaptation feels like "Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief" the Twilight Saga also "The Hunger Games" "The Host" "Beautiful Creatures" so it's just a crappy rip off of other successful YA film adaptations, which makes this film successful which this will start a teen franchise. I wanted to have fun time watching this film, I was expecting a fun guilty pleasure movie, but this film sucks the fun out like a vampire sucks out the blood out of a human. So it misses it the opportunities, instead it feels like a familiarity of things we have seen before in successful and well-made films. In New York City, we meet an ordinary teenage girl Clary Fray (Lilly Collins) learns she is descended from a line of Shadow Hunters half angel warriors who protect humanity from evil forces. After her mother (Lena Headey) disappears, Clary joins forces with a group of Shadow Hunters and enters the Downworld, an alternate realm filled with demons, vampires and a host of other creatures. Clary and her companions must find and protect an ancient cup that holds the key to her mother's future. Collins's performance was annoying, whiny and just not good at all so is her love interest in the film Jamie Campbell Bower. At least the film didn't bore me to death it actually was interesting. I did not read the book series by Cassandra Clare, but I'm judging this as a film there's a TV show based on Clare's novels just hope it's not bad like this film. 1. 5 out of 5 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
heromoderAug 5, 2015
A lot of "borrowing" from other authors (*cough*JK Rowling/Joss Whedon*cough*) makes for an unoriginal, predictable product. Not surprising, really, considering a known plagiarist wrote it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheEmpireJan 25, 2015
So much better than Twilight, but not lucky as it. With no success at all, they had no other option but cancel the sequels. Only now we have to live knowing we'll never know what would happen with Claire's mother, Jocelyn, and all other characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: You can tell that Lilly Collins clearly wanted this to work as she was not part of the problem at all. Decent enough special effects. The Bad: A completely
"The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: You can tell that Lilly Collins clearly wanted this to work as she was not part of the problem at all. Decent enough special effects.

The Bad: A completely unoriginal cliche of a film that perhaps would have been watchable a decade ago. Themes and elements of other franchises are stolen right and left ... but not half as well done. Over-acting so bad that it eventually becomes unbearable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AllionsOct 6, 2014
Not original, nonsense and boring movie. Nice CGI effects (demons are good)... but what else? Nothing! the movie is confusing and is too long (124 minutes?!?) why!?). thanks god i didn't read the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aqua__Cat1Sep 28, 2014
I loved this movie. I read the books and they were amazing, and I believe the movie was beautifully adapted. I only wish more people had falling in love with it the same way I did. There were changes here and there, but that has to beI loved this movie. I read the books and they were amazing, and I believe the movie was beautifully adapted. I only wish more people had falling in love with it the same way I did. There were changes here and there, but that has to be expected when you are making a movie from a book with that much history and back-story and also that level of action going on. There was so much to tell and explain and in the span of time they had, I think they did really well at explaining thing. I love the casting and I think everyone was as perfect as you could get to the characters in the book. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a second film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EmmyPadenSep 19, 2014
I can't believe that City of Bones did so poorly in the theaters. I have read 3 of the four books. At first, when I have read a book before watching the movie, I pick it apart because of changes they have made and parts they left out. Then II can't believe that City of Bones did so poorly in the theaters. I have read 3 of the four books. At first, when I have read a book before watching the movie, I pick it apart because of changes they have made and parts they left out. Then I take a step back. Why would anyone want to watch a movie in which they already know the ending? All of the "series" movies and shows have done the same thing. I now try very hard to view the book and the movie as separate entities. Double the entertainment!! I truly love this movie. I even DVRed it and watch it every day!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Sep 19, 2014
One of those fun and underrated movies that never got much hype. This was actually a good movie. Takes you into an underground would adventure full of odd characters nobody else can see. I never read the book, but that did not stop me fromOne of those fun and underrated movies that never got much hype. This was actually a good movie. Takes you into an underground would adventure full of odd characters nobody else can see. I never read the book, but that did not stop me from enjoying it. This is much more interesting than the first Hunger Games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MinaChapinSep 12, 2014
this movie completely ruined the book. if i were the author i would sue the producers. they didn't stick to the book hardly at all. 1.) practically none of the scenes happened where or how they were supposed to happen. 2.) hodge neverthis movie completely ruined the book. if i were the author i would sue the producers. they didn't stick to the book hardly at all. 1.) practically none of the scenes happened where or how they were supposed to happen. 2.) hodge never suggests to valentine that he should tell Clary and Jace that they are brother and sister. valentine raised Jace and wanted to crush all happiness in Jace's life. 3.) Clary's mother was not in the basement of the institute she was on Blackwell's island and basically chained to a bed. 4.) they left out the entire battle at Blackwell's island. there are so many more things wrong with this movie but i could go on forever. lets just say they didn't stick to the book like at all. ok sure if you've not read the book i guess its an ok move. but if you've read the book, you'd understand. the only thing they did even remotely right were the actors who played Jace, Isabel, Alec and Magnus Bane. but again that is the only thing they even remotely did right Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
gregory109Sep 4, 2014
The book was good. The only thing I liked about the movie was the characters that were picked. I understand some compacting of scenes for time. What I don't understand is completely changing it around. I say try to stick to the book as muchThe book was good. The only thing I liked about the movie was the characters that were picked. I understand some compacting of scenes for time. What I don't understand is completely changing it around. I say try to stick to the book as much as you can and I don't think they did that at all for this movie.I will not be watching the next one because it does nothing but aggravate me when I see that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
beqerelMay 23, 2014
Shehaan ruined the movie ,Movie is quite good otherway.Probably they changed the scenario cause of him , he is one of the producers.It is a bit longer than needed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ePxOscuraNieblaApr 18, 2014
What. The. Actual. ****

The movie is so terrible, i cant even...
nothing here makes sense, nothing explained. It was a total waste of time!
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gailygrindMar 19, 2014
I love this movie, even though I know it got bad critic reviews. It followed the plot pretty well and was just poorly directed. The cast was pretty good, just wished that Jace was mildly more attractive as he was described.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
laughingbunniesMar 10, 2014
This is one of the worst book to movie adaptations I have ever seen. I can't believe that if you loved the books you would ever love this movie. The casting was awful, and anything that was taken from the book was completely changed. TheThis is one of the worst book to movie adaptations I have ever seen. I can't believe that if you loved the books you would ever love this movie. The casting was awful, and anything that was taken from the book was completely changed. The end was changed beyond recognition and absolutely terrible. I should have turned this movie off after the first 20 minutes. If they really wanted to turn this into a franchise then maybe they should have followed the book a little more closely like, oh, I don't know, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, even The Help, which anyone who read these books can see they tried to stay as close to the book as possible. I would be shocked if the author had any say in this movie because why would you want to throw away everything you worked so hard to achieve by turning your book into a bad movie. The book had the makings of a good movie with plenty of drama that it didn't need it all added in.
The next time someone tells me not to see the movie of a book we both read I will listen. I knew that this was rate horribly but I figured there had to be something good about it and I was wrong.
If you have read the book but haven't seen this film yet, do not see it. Do not waste your time or your money on this million dollar train wreck.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CECtheRoninFeb 1, 2014
The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a huge disappointment, at least until the third act where it became halfway decent. The first two acts were a constant parade of exposition and action scenes with almost no time for characterThe Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a huge disappointment, at least until the third act where it became halfway decent. The first two acts were a constant parade of exposition and action scenes with almost no time for character development. On top of that, the pacing, acting (save for the main actress), and script are fairly poor. Plot threads are set up and left dangling, possibly for the sequel or possibly because of the cut source material. Some reviews label it as the next Twilight, but to me it feels like the next Eragon. Twilight at least set time aside for characterization, though admittedly the romantic chemistry is just as bad. There are some redeeming moments, but those can't be discussed for spoiler reasons and they raise even more questions. The least that can be said about it is that it's entertaining, but the truth is that you've seen this movie before and better under many different titles. No need to waste your money on this one.

Still better than Man of Steel, though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
masterjohnson1Jan 29, 2014
I enjoyed this movie more then I thought I would, with no big actors in it this movie is good.
there are better movies out there and I might forget about it when I watch a great movie, it is worth at least one watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGoer14Jan 28, 2014
I never had any problem with such movies, for example "Twilight" or "The Host" movies that I like to call "Triangular Teen Love Stories" always the same content. As for "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones", which is the first motionI never had any problem with such movies, for example "Twilight" or "The Host" movies that I like to call "Triangular Teen Love Stories" always the same content. As for "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones", which is the first motion picture of the upcoming book-based trilogy. This movie holds an interesting enough premise to grab your attention (although obvious that Screen Gems wants the next Twilight). It is not overall original but it is better than the above titles. It is not anything that you will keep in memory, it is just "it's there" type of movie, no more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jan 27, 2014
For those of you who didn't read the book, City of Bones, this movie may seem a bit confusing to you. This film is kind of like a cliff notes version of the book. Certainly they had to cut things out of the nearly 500 page novel, but some keyFor those of you who didn't read the book, City of Bones, this movie may seem a bit confusing to you. This film is kind of like a cliff notes version of the book. Certainly they had to cut things out of the nearly 500 page novel, but some key moments are simply touched upon with a line or two, making the movie a bit confusing at times. Clary Fray (Lily Collins) is a seemingly normal girl, who for some reason can't stop drawing a symbol. When she starts asking about the symbol, she is pulled into a world she never knew existed. As it turns out, Clary is keeping secrets, secrets she doesn't even know she has. It's those secrets that will eventually put her life, and the lives of everyone she knows, in danger. At first, the two main characters seem like they are completely different and won't have any chemistry at all, but as time goes on, they learn they're more alike than they think. Once their on the same page, the story really takes off. Lily Collins (Abduction, The Blind Side) really takes hold of her character and gives the film a strong female lead, that rivals Katniss Everdeen. Collins is paired with British heart-throb, Jamie Campbell Bower, who is a lot more than eye candy. I'd never seen Bower in anything, except bit parts in Twilight and Harry Potter, but the guy has some serious fighting skills. Bower is another one who at first doesn't seem to fit, but in the end really helps to make this film something special. To answer the big question about City of Bones, no, it is not as good as the book and you really shouldn't have expected it to be. The novel is massive and has entire parts that simply couldn't be transferred to the big screen. Some things were left out that shouldn't have been, while some of the more fast paced scenes were extended for the screen. All in all, I thought this movie was a pretty good representation of an excellent novel and a great film to include in your next movie night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MagicWandaJan 22, 2014
I have read all the books; and I am an older woman - not a teenager. I waited with such anticipation to see the movie (especially after the Hunger Games movies). What a disappointment and waste of my money. The two main characters lackedI have read all the books; and I am an older woman - not a teenager. I waited with such anticipation to see the movie (especially after the Hunger Games movies). What a disappointment and waste of my money. The two main characters lacked in chemistry and what's with putting vampire bites on Simon's neck? Valentine, who is the reason for all this drama taking place is barely covered. Maybe if I had not read the books (which are amazing) I would not feel this way.

It's a shame when producers and directors take a great story with great characters and change things. The reason the book is a best seller is because of how it is written and the development of the storyline.

I like what Kevin Kosner said on the night show about his movie Dances With Wolves and its length. He said, if I am going to make a movie I want to make sure the integrity of the story is not compromised and the movie will be as long as necessary to tell the story!!!

Authors who sell the movie rights to their books (especially if they have such a strong fan base) should make sure the contract does not allow for such drastic changes - or better yet - save money from the sale of your books and produce it yourself or at least co-produce.

No since making any sequels for me - I won't wast my time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
undafedJan 4, 2014
I haven't read the series, but I watched 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' with my girlfriend and we both Loved it! This movie should definitely be on everyone's watch list. Looking forward to the trilogy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HerdelicateSoulJan 3, 2014
Don't always believe the critics. Only seeing The Mortal Instruments last night, I was intrigued with the story line and although it seemed a little familiar it was very fun to watch. I haven't read the books and I am not the one to watchDon't always believe the critics. Only seeing The Mortal Instruments last night, I was intrigued with the story line and although it seemed a little familiar it was very fun to watch. I haven't read the books and I am not the one to watch many movies, but I have to say that TMI kept me on the edge of my seat, especially at the end. What I don't agree with is the Twilight comparison. I would rather watch TMI over Twilight any day. I'm excited to see what the producers will be doing with the squeal. Hopefully, it will be just as great or even better than the first film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RevRonDec 30, 2013
Yep, this movie was not meant for me. I guess if you think Bella and Edward are dynamic characters with rich backgrounds and their romance is a whirlwind event, you might enjoy this latest dash to cash in on “Twilight” with another tweenYep, this movie was not meant for me. I guess if you think Bella and Edward are dynamic characters with rich backgrounds and their romance is a whirlwind event, you might enjoy this latest dash to cash in on “Twilight” with another tween book franchise. The film is a complete mess of bad acting, uninteresting characters, weak action, a weaker plot and a story that feels the need to stuff itself with every single fantasy film cliché you can think of. Unless you’re a part of the target audience (tweens), this movie is just a forgettable piece of unimaginative nothingness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Fairchild2300Dec 13, 2013
This movie was the worst book to screen adaptation I have ever seen like, it was worse than Eragon they could have could have continued with the inheritance series movies but they chose not to, it is aso like the Percy Jackson movie they pullThis movie was the worst book to screen adaptation I have ever seen like, it was worse than Eragon they could have could have continued with the inheritance series movies but they chose not to, it is aso like the Percy Jackson movie they pull things from other books I mean sure its little things but still its enough to ruin the movie for you if you have actually read the books. So I don't think that Cassandra had any say in the writings for the movie what so ever and I'm pretty sure that they are supposed to consult the author of the book for her ideas on how she wants it. The only part about it that I liked was the midnight flower scene, I think that that is the only thing that they got right. Also I would have went with a different actor for Jace and Alec. So in conclusion I don't think that they should make the second book into a movie, and I'm sure that after seeing the first one Cassandra won't sell the rights to the second book. That was the only reason that they didn't continue with the Eragon movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
sammieteeDec 12, 2013
Well, I did not not enjoy this movie. I have read the book and did enjoy that a bit but this movie just doesn't cut it. The adaptation mostly followed the book but they squished everything into such a sort span of time that we were jumpingWell, I did not not enjoy this movie. I have read the book and did enjoy that a bit but this movie just doesn't cut it. The adaptation mostly followed the book but they squished everything into such a sort span of time that we were jumping from one scene to the next. There was no character development and you are just left to guess. I even read the book and got lost in parts of the movie. I probably could have been done well with a different adaptation but this just fell flat. On the bright side, Jonathan Rhys-Myers is still dreamy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SlyckNickChickDec 10, 2013
I haven't read the series, but I just finished watching 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' and Loved it. I wish there were more supernatural movies. Its unfortunate that book lovers slam some movies that are based on the Novels theyI haven't read the series, but I just finished watching 'The Mortal Instruments': 'City of Bones' and Loved it. I wish there were more supernatural movies. Its unfortunate that book lovers slam some movies that are based on the Novels they have read. When it comes to novels being produce into movies it's hard to make readers happy. Maybe that's why I'm not so much into reading as much as I am into watching a great movie or two, or three, (Trilogies Rock) I like to believe I have a pretty great taste in movies and this one should definitely be on everyone's watch list. Looking forward to watching this trilogy and will pray and hope it does not get cancelled! GO TEAM GO! I have faith you will get more followers! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Aknb47Dec 7, 2013
Really disappointed. The books were much better. They took a lot of small important details that made the books great out of the movie and crammed it all together. A person who hadnt read the books couldnt even get into this garbage.. IReally disappointed. The books were much better. They took a lot of small important details that made the books great out of the movie and crammed it all together. A person who hadnt read the books couldnt even get into this garbage.. I waited forever for this (horrible) movie. If i were the author id be ashamed, they ruined her books. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Rachelb1992Dec 4, 2013
I read the first book and unfortunately that is as far as I will go with the series. This movie was a big disappointment for me. The story line was jumbled and sections of the book were moved around and important parts were completelyI read the first book and unfortunately that is as far as I will go with the series. This movie was a big disappointment for me. The story line was jumbled and sections of the book were moved around and important parts were completely omitted. The end was nothing like it was supposed to be and I was overall let down by the movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JohnnySanchezNov 24, 2013
I've never read the book, but this movie has encouraged me to do so. A good story and a good visual style, although some of the casting didn't quite fit their roles. But nonetheless, you must watch it. If you don't watch it, then you suck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GalletonnNov 24, 2013
This film doesn't catch you. I read the book and it's so good, I love it, but the film doesn't translate the great history of the book to it. I don't recommend this movie, it's so bad, it changes ALL of the book. Almost all actors don't catchThis film doesn't catch you. I read the book and it's so good, I love it, but the film doesn't translate the great history of the book to it. I don't recommend this movie, it's so bad, it changes ALL of the book. Almost all actors don't catch the feelings and personality of the real characters. The end is the worst part, the beginning is normal. I hope they cannot do the sequel of it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
elena-mccolmNov 16, 2013
I thought the movie was fantastic!!!!! I can't wait for the next one no matter what the critics say about it
:)I thought the characters where cast well. I love the books and the movie was a little different but still had the same concept. I
I thought the movie was fantastic!!!!! I can't wait for the next one no matter what the critics say about it
:)I thought the characters where cast well. I love the books and the movie was a little different but still had the same concept. I thought the movie really was very well one.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
mybabymichaelNov 15, 2013
I loved the book I was so happy there was movie coming out. So I went to see it when it first came out and I was devastated the movie was awful and nothing like the book everything was changed I hated it. Way to ruin a book and it's characters.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Olguiss99Nov 14, 2013
Also the script was amazing and kind of the same as the book, and usually i like more the books than the movies but in this case its different. The movie was BETTERR i loved how they put things and what they said and i think the cast did aAlso the script was amazing and kind of the same as the book, and usually i like more the books than the movies but in this case its different. The movie was BETTERR i loved how they put things and what they said and i think the cast did a great job filling for the characters, i absolutely fell in love with the movie and the characters... It was simply awsome! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
khutchNov 12, 2013
Surprisingly interesting, in a world where 'Percy Jackson's' are released every year, and say by the way are nothing exciting, 'The City Bones' is at least worthy of respect and attention.
Clary seems to have a lot to present, as well as
Surprisingly interesting, in a world where 'Percy Jackson's' are released every year, and say by the way are nothing exciting, 'The City Bones' is at least worthy of respect and attention.
Clary seems to have a lot to present, as well as your friends.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
SissybearOct 24, 2013
First off I have to say, I absolutely adore the books (beautifully written by the way) so I held the movie up to certain standards. While naturally the movie would be different, it was pretty close to the book, so close in fact that I wasFirst off I have to say, I absolutely adore the books (beautifully written by the way) so I held the movie up to certain standards. While naturally the movie would be different, it was pretty close to the book, so close in fact that I was impressed. My favorite part about the whole thing, was that they kept some of the best lines in the book, in the movie. The ending kind of upset me a little but overall, very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
twilightnutterOct 22, 2013
Loved it.. I was straight to the book store for the rest of the books so I could find out what happened next. Jamie and Lily were amazing, but I knew Jamie would be great just like in Twilight, really impressed with Lily. Totally fell in loveLoved it.. I was straight to the book store for the rest of the books so I could find out what happened next. Jamie and Lily were amazing, but I knew Jamie would be great just like in Twilight, really impressed with Lily. Totally fell in love with it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobOct 15, 2013
Biggest flaw of the film Terrible script. It explained nothing, You seriously did not learn the characters until a good 20 minutes into it. It was so difficult to follow because you had no idea what was going on. Completely ruined the film.Biggest flaw of the film Terrible script. It explained nothing, You seriously did not learn the characters until a good 20 minutes into it. It was so difficult to follow because you had no idea what was going on. Completely ruined the film. Even then, The acting is so-so and it was supported by poor actions scenes. How do people like this trash? Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
lordslayerOct 14, 2013
wow, take Constantine, mix it with twilight and add some Buffy the vampire slayer, what you get is a poor excuse for a movie, with action scenes that are all over the place and 2 main characters that you just don't give a damn.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sivvieOct 13, 2013
this movie is great, i really do hope they make the series! would love to see the other movies in future! i would imagine them doing really well, if you think that this movie was a bad one, then you wait till the whole sequels come out, i'mthis movie is great, i really do hope they make the series! would love to see the other movies in future! i would imagine them doing really well, if you think that this movie was a bad one, then you wait till the whole sequels come out, i'm sure you will be changing your minds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jade_COct 2, 2013
I saw the movie twice in the cinema and loved it both times and I've read all the books, all the cast in the mortal instruments city of bones are extremely talented I just can't understand why people don't like it it was full of action,I saw the movie twice in the cinema and loved it both times and I've read all the books, all the cast in the mortal instruments city of bones are extremely talented I just can't understand why people don't like it it was full of action, romance, comedy and bits of horror it was an all genres film that everyone likes. I loved the cast in the film, especially Jamie campbell Bower he is extremely talented and very successful Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lelefoxx00Sep 24, 2013
I couldn't believe when I saw what score this movie got with the critics. I thought it was excellent and well put together. Special effects were great, acting was great. story line was great, etc. I don't know what all the hate is about butI couldn't believe when I saw what score this movie got with the critics. I thought it was excellent and well put together. Special effects were great, acting was great. story line was great, etc. I don't know what all the hate is about but personally I can not wait for the second one. I get this genre isn't everyone's "cup of tea" so to speak but come one people, give it some credit! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MusicGurl8192Sep 23, 2013
I loved this Movie, there were Great Effects Good Action Scenes, Comedy and Romance. It makes no sense why there are so many Bad Reviews. This Film is so differant then any other Films out there and People need to Stop comparing it to HarryI loved this Movie, there were Great Effects Good Action Scenes, Comedy and Romance. It makes no sense why there are so many Bad Reviews. This Film is so differant then any other Films out there and People need to Stop comparing it to Harry Potter and twilight cause there is nothing to compare. Me and my Sister loved this and can't wait for the Sequel. This Movie was very enjoyable.
Don't listen to the Critics People, this Movie was Great.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
hotelier777Sep 22, 2013
I'm glad I don't listen to the movie critics and give this movie a chance. I haven't read the book yet, but I enjoy the movie, love the story, even though it's not perfect. There is a part that I don't enjoy so much, i think they shouldI'm glad I don't listen to the movie critics and give this movie a chance. I haven't read the book yet, but I enjoy the movie, love the story, even though it's not perfect. There is a part that I don't enjoy so much, i think they should change the script writer. And a song by Demi levato, kinda ruined the mood of the movie, which is more goth and moody. But overall I like city of bones, and I'll loved to watch city of ashes if they make the sequel. There's a lot of potential, they only need to work it better. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
MarkDetrelSep 20, 2013
The book is the good, but the movie is... awful. Bad performances, regular cast, terrible script, the only good are the effect, but the rest is terrible. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is bad, bad, bad...
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
crystalgenoveseSep 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this movie. The books have a great story line and I think the director did a wonderful job at displaying that in the film. I don't think that there were too many twists in the movie. I found that the entire time I wasI absolutely loved this movie. The books have a great story line and I think the director did a wonderful job at displaying that in the film. I don't think that there were too many twists in the movie. I found that the entire time I was watching it I wanted to know what happened next. Where as usually I don't get that interested. I don't know exactly what about the movie,critics didn't like but the only things that I have heard bad about it is that it had too much crammed into it. I feel just the opposite. I have read the books and if anything they could have added more to the movie. I like to watch movies that keep me entertained not bore me to sleep. The whole point of having a young adult book or film is to have a really great story line so you keep your readers into it. And I don't care what anybody else thinks this movie had a great story line! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
PaperThingSep 13, 2013
Well... once again a piece of derivative garbage is vomited across screens around the world. It's sad that this will be occupy theatres instead of films far more worthy. Please don't waste your time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
ricksrosesSep 12, 2013
So I do not often agree with the critics... I usually agree with the users, but I must say this movie is not one that I would recommend unless you are a teenaged girl in need of some dark Gothic type of romance, then I might possibly seeSo I do not often agree with the critics... I usually agree with the users, but I must say this movie is not one that I would recommend unless you are a teenaged girl in need of some dark Gothic type of romance, then I might possibly see some merit to this movie. The acting so so, story line so so, and special effects just o k. If you are a young man I would recommend that you do NOT attend this with your teen girlfriend you may wish you had not spent the money or the time.... Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
AlexProductionsSep 7, 2013
I went in to City of Bones thinking it was going to be a terrible movie, but it turns out I was wrong, it was worse. Before we get too far into the review, I will say that I have not read any of the books so there will be no comparison at allI went in to City of Bones thinking it was going to be a terrible movie, but it turns out I was wrong, it was worse. Before we get too far into the review, I will say that I have not read any of the books so there will be no comparison at all in this review. The film straight out rips off Twilight, Harry Potter, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, all at the same time. You would think that with all these good ideas already existing they could put together a pretty good movie, but I found myself already tired ten minutes, in with another 90 minutes to go.

City of Bones is the story of Clarissa Fray (Lily Collins) who learns that she has special powers and is a shadowhunter. She meets Jace (Jamie Bower) who has a British accent, and together they fight monsters in New York, that only they can see. It's impossible not to see Twilight in this film because there are just so many similarities. A couple hours ago I checked the Rotten Tomatoes score of the film and it reminded me of MySpace. A couple years ago it would've been hot, but today no one likes it or should see it.
Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was just cheap. Cheap special effects that weren't impressive, cheap acting, and a lot of extra false drama incorporated into the film. For example, there was a scene within a few minutes of the start, where Clary's mom picked up a creepy note on the table and the whole family freaked out, like three times slower than a regular persons reaction. From that time, through the rest of the movie, I felt like I was watching a bad soap opera.

The romance felt fake and was at the most random times. Since Twilight had romance, this film had to have a poor copy of romance too. I mean seriously, at least Twilight’s romance was more convincing and made sense. Oh and by the way, Jace was also in all three Twilights and Harry Potter. REALLY?! When I found this out, it reminded me one of those shows where the employee works at their competitors company so they will get all the secrets. Except it didn't help, City of Bones was still crap.

With the colon in the title, it hints the production of another film in the series, which kills me. Hopefully viewers will know the quality of this film, and won’t waste money with the next installment. I felt like this movie belonged more on Nickelodeon, then on the big screen. With no originality, false drama, bad acting, even worse special effects, and soap opera qualities, it’s a no brainer that City of Bones is one of the worst movies I have ever seen, and will obviously not be recommended.
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
1
AbnugglerSep 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time, how there are some people who have given it a 10 is beyond my comprehension.

I'll start by saying that I never read the book and am not really interested in doing so now, I saw the trailer and immediately thought this was a the next franchise to try and follow Twilight's footsteps, but seemed to be a little less "teen supernatural romance" than twilight and would be at least a movie a guy could sit through if your girl who wanted to watch it. I thought I knew what I was getting myself into but boy was I wrong.

The movie has an "ok" premise in the beginning, and it doesn't start that bad but somewhere along the lines everything goes to hell, ridiculous plots emerge, the story then just goes everywhere and nowhere at the same time, it gets so bad it starts to get funny just watching how lame and predictable the story is.

You can tell they took parts and pieces from other successful book-movie franchises and just splattered them in this; you can even see Hogwart's infirmary inside the institute that resembles Hogwarts a lot, there's a love triangle just like "twilight", the group of good guys are pretty much out of twilight (just take off the fangs and give them weapons), the whole shadow-hunter thing is pretty much Constantine for teens, hell they even have wand like thingies that glow that look a lot like Dr. Who's Sonic Screwdriver

Some scenes are so unnecessary that if you think about it for just one second you can tell they make no sense being there (they almost seem that they literally took what was written in the book and did the scene as is, instead of doing some screenwriting to make it fit in a movie), the two worst parts of the movie have to do with the big "Twist" near the end:
1) When Valentine reveals that Jace and Clary are brothers; after you had to go through a cliched scene where they sucked face (by the way the kiss scene was one of the worst scenes and so poorly done), which I just thought was wrong in so many levels, and in the end Jace and Clary seem not to even care about their incestuous kiss and feelings and simply dismiss them as "I don't really think we are" (would have been ok with it if during the movie they had only seemed to have feelings for each other and didn't kiss so in the end you didn't know whether those feelings were attraction or family love and or if Valentine was lying or not)

2) Again when Valentine tells Jace he is his son, Jace doesn't believe him and shows him his father's ring with a W (Wayland his family's name), and then Valentine grabs the ring and turns it around so its an M (Morgenstern, Valentine's last name) I swear everyone in the theatre laughed at that moment, it's like:
-Valentine: see?, if you turn it around its and M not a W
-Jase: Oh my god! You're right! I've had this ring for ages and never did I ever see that if you turned it
around it would have an M instead of a W. That is all the proof I need, I totally believe you!

The plot twist was just so poorly executed it was laughable.

In the end what could have been an OK franchise; grabbing what made Twilight successful (a supernatural love plot oriented for teen girls) and adding some action with other supernatural beings that weren't all all hopeless romantic on the effeminate side, it turns out to be even worse than Twilight (never thought I'd say that) with obvious plots and twists, poor writing, and characters that just come out bland

I'm not sure if the book is written as poorly or if its just a very bad adaptation, but I really don't recommend this movie to anyone who is not a teenage girl, believe me when I say "You will loose 2hr & 10min of your life" you would rather spend on "anything" and y mean "ANYTHING" else
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Paula97Sep 3, 2013
I was satisfied with the adaptation, as a fan of the books I had my hopes a little up. I liked it very much and I am looking forward for a sequel, though I am hoping they improve one thing or more. I was a little disappointed by some of theI was satisfied with the adaptation, as a fan of the books I had my hopes a little up. I liked it very much and I am looking forward for a sequel, though I am hoping they improve one thing or more. I was a little disappointed by some of the cast performances, specially Magnus Bane.
So, again, I really liked this movie, and I really hope they continue the series, and if they do, I hope they make the next movies better.

P.S. Please forgive my english.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
jaimericeSep 1, 2013
The movie is a complete mess. And this is coming from a major teen fan of the book series. I never got into the twilight series or hunger games series much but once I started reading these books, I couldn't stop. The books were fascinatingThe movie is a complete mess. And this is coming from a major teen fan of the book series. I never got into the twilight series or hunger games series much but once I started reading these books, I couldn't stop. The books were fascinating and followed a clear story line. But the movies, they just flipped from one book to the next and added things that NEVER happened in the books! The rune? That was made up. She made a binding rune and destroying rune, not a freezing time rune. Summoning the demons? That happened in the plains of Idris. Not the Institute. The fake cup? Um no. He got the real thing and summoned the angel. One minute, they were kissing (First book, chapter 11 or 12)and the next, Valentine had the cup. (Book 2 or 3). If they make a sequel, I sure hope it's a clearer story line. I do give this movie a one for it's humorous parts. Just remember, this is coming from a teenage girl. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
nicp2112Sep 1, 2013
I was expecting this movie to be a lot worse then it was. I enjoyed watching it the same if not more then reading the book. Yeh they changed a few things but nothing dramatic enough to change the plot. There was only one part that I feltI was expecting this movie to be a lot worse then it was. I enjoyed watching it the same if not more then reading the book. Yeh they changed a few things but nothing dramatic enough to change the plot. There was only one part that I felt could have been done better, but even then it was entertaining to watch. Other then that I loved this movie! I really hope they make a sequel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
FolstarAug 31, 2013
Completely derivative movie where nothing pays off or even makes much sense. A series of things happen in this movie though it is all flat, shoehorned, and copy/pasted from other, better, films. Attempting to hide poor writing and utterCompletely derivative movie where nothing pays off or even makes much sense. A series of things happen in this movie though it is all flat, shoehorned, and copy/pasted from other, better, films. Attempting to hide poor writing and utter nonsense behind the "this is a book for kids" defense is insulting to actual good movies and children everywhere. One point for offering some of the most unintentionally hilarious bad movie moments in recent memory. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
WalissonOliverAug 31, 2013
Surprinsingly a great movie. I went to watch it expecting another twilight wannabe, but in the middle of the way I was completely sold for this. I can't wait for the next movie.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
MarcelineAug 30, 2013
The critics are nuts. This is nothing like Twilight! Though if you want to compare it t others it is a cross between Harry Potter, Star Wars, Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a little bit if Dungeons and Dragons. And yet it is NOT those and isThe critics are nuts. This is nothing like Twilight! Though if you want to compare it t others it is a cross between Harry Potter, Star Wars, Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a little bit if Dungeons and Dragons. And yet it is NOT those and is an enjoyable movie all around. It is an excellent action-fantasy and is very funny without being a comedy. I highly recommended it! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
LunabelleAug 29, 2013
You critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much moreYou critics don't know what you are talking about. Lets get one thing straight, Twilight does not rule any other supernatural movie franchise. So stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments etc. Twilight was a love story. TMI is much more than that. As far as I can see if you don't love sci-fi, action, romance, comedy, fantasy in one novel and movie. It's not for you. But don't bash it because it didn't meet your needs. TMI will always have it's book fans and they will grow from fans of the movie and be supported. Shadow Hunters are not going anywhere. Oh and to the person who said that Cassie stole ideas from other novels/movies. Why are you not bashing every vampire, werewolf, witch etc. film/tv show or book made? Those ideas were ledgends already here before you were born. So no one stole any 'idea'. I love the books and the movie. x Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
RougePandaAug 28, 2013
This below par book adaptation is not only poorly acted, miss-cast and badly adapted it barely resembles the story. The humour is gone, the chemistry is lacking and the best aspect of the book (ie the reveal of this unseen world) is glossedThis below par book adaptation is not only poorly acted, miss-cast and badly adapted it barely resembles the story. The humour is gone, the chemistry is lacking and the best aspect of the book (ie the reveal of this unseen world) is glossed over. Only truly delusional fans of the series will praise this mess.

There was some good action and visual effects and I also acknowledge that the director had a limited time to introduce so much. But with a history like his we could have predicted this shallow interpretation when the source deserves more.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
FandomFanaticAug 27, 2013
I don't know about the critics but this is a franchise based movie, with the majority of it's audience already being avid fans of the books. While it doesn't make much sense to the mundanes, let me assure you it makes total and perfect senseI don't know about the critics but this is a franchise based movie, with the majority of it's audience already being avid fans of the books. While it doesn't make much sense to the mundanes, let me assure you it makes total and perfect sense if you cared enough to know the back stories.

They did the best they could in the brief amount of screen time they were allowed and from a fans point of view they not only succeeded in quoting from the book and creating the perfect atmosphere for our Shadowhunters. They were able to include every little nook and cranny that caused so many of us to fall in love with the books in the first place.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
PStakhivAug 26, 2013
Awful scenario stupid dialog disaster in a fiction! Yeah, action is good, but it's nowhere near enough! City of Bones is too long (too boring), mediocre movie at best.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
aaflowers12Aug 26, 2013
Great book to movie adaptation. My husband never read the books, found the movie "better than expected" and "will definitely see the squeal." It could be hard to catch up with the new terminology and a little jumpy- always room forGreat book to movie adaptation. My husband never read the books, found the movie "better than expected" and "will definitely see the squeal." It could be hard to catch up with the new terminology and a little jumpy- always room for improvement. The cast was picked perfectly and caught their personalities very well. Altered a piece of story so i'm not sure what to expect next. Won't be as big as Hunger Games, but better than Twilight. Try to see it at least once! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
amiamiAug 26, 2013
I loved the book and I loved the movie! I don't know what all of these critics were watching but I would see this movie 10 times over!! It was AMAZING!!! So worth it!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
MustangMatt07Aug 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the book a lot, after having just seen the movie, i have a red hand print on my face from the constant face palms i gave myself. I knew going in that not everything would be like the book, but this was bad, like "Eragon" bad. (Eragon was such a bad movie adaption they couldn't make the sequels)

For the most part, I thought they did a good job on the casting. The acting might not have been so great, but at least looks wise, everyone looked the part. The one glaring exception was having Jonathan Rhys Meyers as Valentine. In the book, he was described as being tall, muscular and broad shouldered, with short greyish hair. He was always calm and collected and often dressed in a suit. In the movie, Valentine was portrayed as small, and skinny like Jace, with a little chin and mustache scruff, not to mention dark, almost black hair, with weird little rat tail braids hanging all over. He was also dressed in a black leather biker jacket with no shirt underneath. He was also highly emotional and out of control. On a side note, i thought the guy that played Magnus was horrible as well, from a cosmetic stand point he might have been ok, but his acting in the few brief minutes he had, was worse then Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker.

How anyone that read the books could enjoy this movie was beyond me. They didn't even introduce us to Raphael, the lead vampire that cautioned them from the Hotel Dumort.

Maybe the budget was tight, and they couldn't afford to film at a new location, but the final battle between the werewolves and Valentines Forsaken warriors, would have been a nice reprieve. Instead, the final battle takes place at the institute( holy ground) which kinda negates the entire point of the place, and its the werewolves vs crow/fire demons (which can be killed by a flame thrower apparently), which sounds cool....except the werewolves can't transform, they just kinda stand there like "ok, what now?" as they get picked off one by one. Even if i never read the book, i still would have hated the movie.

At least Jace and Simon's banter was funny at times.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
lalo2000Aug 24, 2013
this movie is more than amazing and its a really goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood adaptation better that Harry Potter andthis movie is more than amazing and its a really goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood adaptation better that Harry Potter and Hunger Games, i will not mention twilight because f*ck twilight, The Mortal Instruments:City of Bones is really gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood, very recomended Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Raissa_SilvaAug 23, 2013
it's amazing, I love the books and the movie was perfect, everybody should watch more soon possible and please ignore the most critical and comparisons, really worth watch
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
laismalekAug 23, 2013
It's fun, full of action and the effects look awesome. The young actors are as amazing as the older one, and we have the always amazing Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Jared Harris, Lena Headey and CCH Pounder in it!
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
knmAug 23, 2013
Don't pay attention to the critics. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a really good adaptation of a fun and well-written YA Fantasy book.

Critics complain about how it's like a combination of Harry Potter meets Buffy The Vampire
Don't pay attention to the critics. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a really good adaptation of a fun and well-written YA Fantasy book.

Critics complain about how it's like a combination of Harry Potter meets Buffy The Vampire Slayer meets Percy Jackson meets Twilight. Everywhere they look, a plot point is "borrowed" from these other works.

So what? The books were actually well-written (unlike some OTHER popular books in this genre. Yes, I'm looking at YOU, Hunger Games and Twilight.) And the movie adaptation was well done, in large part thanks to the excellent casting. It is rare to find young actors who have this much chemistry on screen. (This is a large part of why the Twilight movies were so awful, and why the Harry Potter and Hunger Games movies were so successful.)

So, if you harbor an affection for YA sci-fi or fantasy, don't let the haters keep you away. This was not a B-movie, not a hodge-podge of incongruous plot points, and not a rip-off of other genre films. (In fact, many "dangling" plot points are there precisely because this is the first in a six book series. They eventually resolve! And I'm glad they got left in the movie, even if they would make non-book readers leave feeling like there was still a good bit of unresolved mystery.)
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
Movie1997Aug 23, 2013
I know people don't want to hear this, but lets the facts, it's a combination of "Twilight", "Harry Potter" and possibly other books series that you might have loved. There's nothing new here, it's just the next big teen movie. If your a girlI know people don't want to hear this, but lets the facts, it's a combination of "Twilight", "Harry Potter" and possibly other books series that you might have loved. There's nothing new here, it's just the next big teen movie. If your a girl and love "Twilight" then you'll absolutely adore this movie. If you're like me and were disappointed with its lack of originality, then you'll probably hate this movie. Overall, it's from book series that you've read before. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife". Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Laurenwilcox97Aug 23, 2013
Very good book adaptation, all the actors protrayed the characters very well. The special effects linked to what was described in the book. Overall a very good movie and would gladly see it again
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
kbrinuAug 23, 2013
The movie is audacious, comparing to other teen adaptations. The acting is really something that highlights this franchise. All audiences will like it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryAug 23, 2013
The writer of this series of novels (and this subsequent movie) is cashing in on all the fantasy tropes: demons, witches, vampires, werewolves. A young woman (Lily Collins) becomes intertwined with Shadowhunters, who are out to save theThe writer of this series of novels (and this subsequent movie) is cashing in on all the fantasy tropes: demons, witches, vampires, werewolves. A young woman (Lily Collins) becomes intertwined with Shadowhunters, who are out to save the world…but wait, she's also torn between two handsome men…starting to sound familiar? The maze of characters just gets ridiculous. There are some cool fantasy concepts and special efx, but the plot is cluttered and the action is unfocused. There must be an audience with the book fans, but for everyone else, it's just a flashy mess crammed with complications. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
soulsurvivor911Aug 23, 2013
I am a huge fan of the books so the movie is a no brainer. Its the bestbook to movie adaptation I have ever seen. So much better than twlight and Jamie as Jace is perfect cannot wait for the second one.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
awesomeness274Aug 22, 2013
I loved it, and I read the book. I thought everything was great, the set, the props, the acting, and the cast. The plot might of be iffy with Valentine, but I think if everyone tries hard in the next movie to make it as close to the book asI loved it, and I read the book. I thought everything was great, the set, the props, the acting, and the cast. The plot might of be iffy with Valentine, but I think if everyone tries hard in the next movie to make it as close to the book as they can, it will turn out great. This is not another Twilight romance! Twilight was a romance story, this is a full on story, and like any other good book, has some romance in it. A lot of the big critics are just sick of seeing fantasy movies, well get over it because fantasy and sci-fi will never stop with teens and tweens. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
SteamcausedthisAug 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So I'm going to try and write a review that doesn't contain a plethora of grammar mistakes that make me look like I'm from a third world country and actually discuss why this movie garnered a whopping 2 out of 10.

Having never read the books nor having a desire to watch this film, I have never witnessed such a piece of cinematic debauchery within this current decade. Knowing that this film is geared towards younger audiences and knowing that the film contains more drama than there would be action I prepared myself for something that would put me to sleep, and boy was I wrong. This film did its absolute best in filling me with nothing but plot devices and special snowflake syndrome to make me hurl my bunches of crunch at the screen. The only moment in this film that I thought any character on screen had any sense of rationalism was when Simon declared the relationship between Clary and Jace ludicrous on the immediate attachment by Rico Suave not 72 hours after meeting one another.

I didn't care that there were vampires or werewolves or anything of the like, what disappointed me was for the underline title of City of Bones, I saw next to nothing relevant to this title other than the brotherhood of eyeless mutes who had a screen time of 3 minutes. If screen time for the celibate skeletons weren't enough than the short-bus of werewolves coming to save the day was even worse as they serve as nothing more than cannon fodder to be quickly picked off and leave only a main side character as the only survivor. Lets not forget the Heroic Sacrifice? of Hodge going toe to toe with thing #1 and then needlessly sacrificing himself to the birds as a way to make up for having aligned himself with evil and causing all this to happen in the first place.

Now the fighting aside from the endless vampire horde was actually pretty interesting all things considering, I even found myself cheering on Simon as he hit Ms Cleo upside the head with a shovel, but it wasn't enough to save this film from the obvious heartache of having to condense a novel of this size into a bite size 2 hour film.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
IagoMAug 21, 2013
As a fan of the book, I found it really great. The scenes and the cast was perfectly catch from essence of the books (of course the book is way better than the movie, but as a fan, I can say that they tried so hard to be loyal to the source).As a fan of the book, I found it really great. The scenes and the cast was perfectly catch from essence of the books (of course the book is way better than the movie, but as a fan, I can say that they tried so hard to be loyal to the source). Somethings are really missing, but I hope the director put it on the second. I had a good time watching it. And as a have read here, it's a movie to the fans and the young people, or everyone who likes this kind of story. Expand
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
10
francis007Aug 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is where I start stressing the importance of opening week/end. It’s very important that you see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones opening week/end Wednesday through Sunday. We need this film to do well in the box office the first week to ensure future movies. You want to see more Mortal Instruments movies, as well as Infernal Devices movies, right? Then go see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones multiple times this week and bring your friends and family with you and keep spreading the word. It’s time to show the mundane world that the Shadowhunters are indeed a force to be reckoned with. As Jace says, “Have a little faith!”

Lily also encourages fans to see it multiple times opening weekend!The movie is amazing! Don't compare Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones to Harry because the don't have the same story. Give them a chance to have a sequel so they can correct their mistakes.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
4
ThegodfathersonAug 21, 2013
In the end, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is yet another would-be franchise trying (and quite likely failing) to fill the post-Twilight void. Even with a richer, darker, more action-packed premise; a more intriguing world; and a castIn the end, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is yet another would-be franchise trying (and quite likely failing) to fill the post-Twilight void. Even with a richer, darker, more action-packed premise; a more intriguing world; and a cast featuring some quality UK thespians with actual acting chops in the leads, there is just no denying that the story and the movie are both sub-par, forgettable and worst of all, crushingly boring by the end. Bury this one under a city of bones, and tell the cast to seek more lively pastures. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
9
JTSTmommyAug 21, 2013
The books are always way better than the movies hands down, but I have to say that I really enjoyed the movie. It has been a while since I read the book, so I am not sure if they left out any important details. I was a bit worried when I sawThe books are always way better than the movies hands down, but I have to say that I really enjoyed the movie. It has been a while since I read the book, so I am not sure if they left out any important details. I was a bit worried when I saw the preview, but I have to say this is way better than Twilight and if I didn't have a child I would be seeing this a lot more then one time in the theatre. I am very annoyed by the critic's reviews because they have clearly never read the book. This is one of those movies that if you haven't read the book you will not understand the story. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
Pattz25Aug 21, 2013
A great book-to-movie adaptation of an already much-loved book series. The cast is amazing and so is the plot which has no more than a few changes to it compared to the book.
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
9
natasha_riceAug 21, 2013
The book will be a massive hit with book fan base, although it has a fast past plot and skips out some details and relieves some details too early. It is not just a film for teen girls. It has many leading male characters and has plenty of action.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
8
StephmikoAug 21, 2013
If you have read the book, you will love this movie. Harald Zwart has managed to create basically the book on the screen. With including all the important scenes (they switched the order but still included it all), it made it a very enjoyableIf you have read the book, you will love this movie. Harald Zwart has managed to create basically the book on the screen. With including all the important scenes (they switched the order but still included it all), it made it a very enjoyable movie to watch as a fan of the book! However, if you are not a fan of the book, it may be a bit confusing. Some of the exposition given by Magnus was boring and it dragged the movie a bit but overall, I believe they did a good job! So if you can ignore some script awkwardness and a bit of story dragging, I think you should go out and watch the movie because I am personally looking forward to the next one! Expand
14 of 21 users found this helpful147
All this user's reviews
7
DanniquimaAug 21, 2013
The movie it's entertaining, it got holes in the storyline, and its a little bit different to the book. However, its not something that we haven't seen before, but its enjoyable and you will have a good time watching it. And besides, it's aThe movie it's entertaining, it got holes in the storyline, and its a little bit different to the book. However, its not something that we haven't seen before, but its enjoyable and you will have a good time watching it. And besides, it's a movie for the youngest people, for the fans of the books, not for an Academy Award. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
7
jikkyAug 21, 2013
I'm rating this based purely on how much I liked the movie. If I focused on plot gaps or script awkwardness, my rating would be much lower. However, I watched this (yes, I actually watched it it, unlike, I suspect, the writers of earlierI'm rating this based purely on how much I liked the movie. If I focused on plot gaps or script awkwardness, my rating would be much lower. However, I watched this (yes, I actually watched it it, unlike, I suspect, the writers of earlier user reviews) purely for kicks. The kick of a hot young cast, with hot older supporting actors, battling it up fantasy-style in New York. The CGI was impeccable, the action fun, and the script mostly not cringe-inducing. That is more than can be said for your typical YA movie. All in all I got what I came for-- fun. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
1
MoresAug 21, 2013
The book is not so good... The movie is even worse!
Harald Zwart proves again: He don't know how to make movies!

Don't spend your money on this!
Pass away, far far away...
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews