Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 1, 2008
3.6
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 238 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
51
Negative:
132
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
choomtabi31Feb 16, 2016
The first two movies were better movies by far. But this was good for at least a one time watch.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-664-The-Mummy-Tomb-of-the-Dragon-Emperor-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
I'm at a loss for words about this movie. Fraser looks bored in this movie, and all the energy from the first one has diminished. It was just horrible overall, and the list of flaws is longer than span of the Sahara Desert.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenAug 30, 2013
I enjoyed this movie- no matter how much hate it has gotten. It is stupid, but it is entertaining. The script is cliche, but the visuals and action dazzle and keep you on the edge of your seat. It is fantastic entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 31, 2013
The previous two parts were entertaining, this is not so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
The first 2 were great. This was absolute trash. It just felt like some B-movie piece of crap that just leaves you feeling like you've wasted hours on a movie that was so terrible you never want to see a sequel to it. The acting was crap, theThe first 2 were great. This was absolute trash. It just felt like some B-movie piece of crap that just leaves you feeling like you've wasted hours on a movie that was so terrible you never want to see a sequel to it. The acting was crap, the setting was crap, the action was crap. Just crap.crap.crap Don't bother watching this Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
WriteFilmLive21Dec 23, 2012
Although I just love the first two Mummy movies, I was leery when I heard of a third one coming out. After all, it had been a while since the second film and sequels released after that long a time (like Rush Hour 3) usually fail in capturingAlthough I just love the first two Mummy movies, I was leery when I heard of a third one coming out. After all, it had been a while since the second film and sequels released after that long a time (like Rush Hour 3) usually fail in capturing the magic of the predecessors. However, I was a big enough fan of the franchise to give the movie a go, and I kept my expectations low. Unfortunately, they were not low enough. This movie was so unexpectedly and abominably bad that it shames the entire franchise to brand it as a Mummy movie. All but one of the action scenes are a clumsy mess of crap, the acting is dismal, the special effects are overblown, the mummy is just stupid, and it is completely anticlimactic. Even Brendan Fraser, who I hoped would be the ONE redeeming thing in this film, completely forgets his charming portrayal of Rick O Connell from the first two and instead turns in a corny, wannabe, unbelievably painful performance. If you want a good popcorn flick, go for either of the first two movies - DO NOT waste your time with this landfill of a 3-quel. It is simply, and truly, horrid - a piece of crap to which a toilet would lend far too much dignity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
Sloppy it its construction, the only major things going for it are the humor and action. The story is far too unorganized.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jedi_JettsonFeb 19, 2012
Yes, its the worst out of all 3 though I am going to be honest: Not a great addition to the franchise, it is, but as a guilty pleasure, I have to approve of the fact that its quite the imagination of an adventure through China betweenYes, its the worst out of all 3 though I am going to be honest: Not a great addition to the franchise, it is, but as a guilty pleasure, I have to approve of the fact that its quite the imagination of an adventure through China between dungeons and dragons with walking statues despite its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Potter17Oct 9, 2011
Sometimes when a franchise is a major hit in the box-office the same franchise tends to become worse or worse. That was what happened with "The Mummy". After two delightful films, the third entry of the series was a complete flop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Congrats! "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" is the razzie-winning movie of the year! It's one of the few films that can be so terrible despite the abundant development years it was given. Hurray!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
2
ImUnavailableSep 1, 2011
The third Mummy movie is easily the worst in a franchise, turning bad a series that was just average so far. Special effects and large action set pieces take precedence over character development and plot. This may seem standard of anyThe third Mummy movie is easily the worst in a franchise, turning bad a series that was just average so far. Special effects and large action set pieces take precedence over character development and plot. This may seem standard of any blockbuster but it is particularly glaring here. The characters are hastily drawn sketches, the romance feels forced and the drama is dead from the outset. The action that is supposed to thrill instead feel hollow and lifeless as we don't care what happens to anybody and we don't feel the significance of what is taking place. The plot is flimsy, made worse by ridiculous twists and coincidences where belief isn't so much suspended as it is thrown off a bridge. If visual effects are all that you want, you may get brief enjoyment out of it. If you want something of substance, something with heart, then you should look elsewhere. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
J_Thom123Aug 20, 2011
This movie would be great, it would be an awesome continuation of the Mummy series, except that it is in no way related to the previous two Mummies. It moves the setting to China, that's a little disappointing but not unforgivable; it agesThis movie would be great, it would be an awesome continuation of the Mummy series, except that it is in no way related to the previous two Mummies. It moves the setting to China, that's a little disappointing but not unforgivable; it ages one character almost a decade while leaving the others unchanged, but with all the ancient mysticism that they have been involved in maybe they don't age anymore; it changed one of the main characters, now what the h***! No back story, no notice, no dramatic character death, no attempt to patch the story at all, it's like the filmmakers just gave up on the story and characters. I mean, this wasn't some secondary character, this wasn't the first sequel, it was the third movie in the series and they swapped a main character, talk about breaking the third wall, they might as well have the characters smile and wave at the camera. This movie could have been great, it could have been fun, but it could never be the "The Mummy". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
A nice sequel for the thrilling The Mummy Series. But thats all. Thats why i watched this movie. It was all good in the first 2 movies when they were after Imhotep in Egypt. But China has nothing to do about it. I wish they were still in Egypt. -_-
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerFeb 15, 2011
This movie is a huge let down, even if your a fan of the series like I am you still wont like this, even the second one was better than this, don't watch this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It's pretty much the same old fare with a few Asian people thrown in for good measure (and abominable snowmen?) Honestly, two years later can anyone honestly say they remember this movie?
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
KeenanSAug 3, 2009
At first I was expecting the worst, especially after witnessing the travesty that was Indy 4, and the first twenty minutes bore the worst of my fears. But then, the film became entertaining, and good. This film is gleefully stupid and At first I was expecting the worst, especially after witnessing the travesty that was Indy 4, and the first twenty minutes bore the worst of my fears. But then, the film became entertaining, and good. This film is gleefully stupid and preposterous, and yet ridiculously fun to watch. I enjoyed this over-the-top film and it provided plenty of popcorn thrills and excitement even if the acting was B-movie at best and the script felt as if they made it up as they went along. Still, I had fun watching this film. It was the least of the trilogy, but it was still fun and at least I wasn't left pissed off like I was when I saw Indy 4. However, if you want the closest thing to a modern Indiana Jones, watch the Tomb Raider flicks they're pretty awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyApr 2, 2009
It's a shame the critics gave such negative reviews. It's an awesome thrill ride, a very good action movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
kevinmJan 29, 2009
This latest entry in the series kind of became a parody of itself, which is too bad because I really love the first two.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ColinCJan 19, 2009
My least favorite of the three. A lot of spectacle, but the story and characters fall flat. It's the kind of movie that reminds you that no amount of spectacle can replace having a solid story with characters you actually care about. Is My least favorite of the three. A lot of spectacle, but the story and characters fall flat. It's the kind of movie that reminds you that no amount of spectacle can replace having a solid story with characters you actually care about. Is it too much to ask for both, Hollywood? Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AndrewBJan 12, 2009
Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is definitely my least favorite of the series because it seems pointless as the first two said pretty much all that needed to be said. There's also the issue with Alex aging at an exponential rate. But, when Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is definitely my least favorite of the series because it seems pointless as the first two said pretty much all that needed to be said. There's also the issue with Alex aging at an exponential rate. But, when you stop thinking about what's wrong with the film and just enjoy it for what it is, The Mummy 3 is still an enjoyable ride. Filled with plenty special effects, wit, and absurdities to keep you entertained the whole time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkRJan 12, 2009
I didn't expect much from this, the third installment in The Mummy series. The second movie in the series I found similarly uninspired, but this far surpassed all of my expectations. Truly, a horrible horrible movie. When your high I didn't expect much from this, the third installment in The Mummy series. The second movie in the series I found similarly uninspired, but this far surpassed all of my expectations. Truly, a horrible horrible movie. When your high point in a movie is an unexplained run-in with asian yetis, and a truly uninspired scene of yeti football, you're doing something wrong. Worse is the budget, you'd think they could spend a little on writers this time around. I wouldn't wish this movie on anyone, truly a torture device of mediocrity and insipid idiocy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobR.Dec 26, 2008
One of the worst movies i have ever seen, i literally fell asleep watching it. A huge waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
R.LopezDec 25, 2008
Truly the best in the series!! The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is an amazing action/adventure film that will make you forget you ever saw the first two. This time the O'Connell's unearth the ruthless Dragon Emperor. This new Truly the best in the series!! The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is an amazing action/adventure film that will make you forget you ever saw the first two. This time the O'Connell's unearth the ruthless Dragon Emperor. This new mummy epic will take you for the ancient catacombs of china to the frigid Himalayas, this movie will keep you laughing and your heart pounding trough the whole movie. It's an amazing film that you can watch over and over again and love every minute of this amazing adventure film. I very highly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonnyD.Dec 20, 2008
Besides the special effects the movie sucked... Horrible they really tried to do too much in this movie... love, comedy, action, drama, and oh did I mention love? You tried to kill me and I love you. (schoffs) too much English for people Besides the special effects the movie sucked... Horrible they really tried to do too much in this movie... love, comedy, action, drama, and oh did I mention love? You tried to kill me and I love you. (schoffs) too much English for people that lived in China for 2000 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Dec 12, 2008
Granted it is not a great movie, but it is well produced with good special effects. It does entertain but it also tends to drag a bit too much and seemed longer than its hour and 52 minute length.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertSep 30, 2008
I couldn't believe they went ahead with the same character but with no Rachel Wiesz. Honestly getting someone to try to act like Rachel was a disgusting choice.Would have been better off just killing the character off and start over. I couldn't believe they went ahead with the same character but with no Rachel Wiesz. Honestly getting someone to try to act like Rachel was a disgusting choice.Would have been better off just killing the character off and start over. That was the most disappointing move ever, and thats saying something considering I expected it to be utter crap. It was worse than that!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JeffC.Sep 29, 2008
Much better than I expected based on the ratings. Incredible action and special effects, with good comedy, as proved by laughs in the theater. Could have been better, but a good film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarryL.Sep 13, 2008
Easily the worst movie i have ever layed eyes on, i am a big film nerd, and this was nothing compared the the others, boring story line, no mummys in the actually movie, jet li sold out once again, and yeti's ragons, and giant dogs, Easily the worst movie i have ever layed eyes on, i am a big film nerd, and this was nothing compared the the others, boring story line, no mummys in the actually movie, jet li sold out once again, and yeti's ragons, and giant dogs, should not be in a movie based around Egypt, oh wait it wasn't, please i urge nobody else watch this travesty of a movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JurajAug 28, 2008
The only thing good about the film are the special effects. However, without anything to support the FX, the movie blows. The humor (especially Jonathan's) is so forced at times. Oh, and the emperor - he was invincible when he was The only thing good about the film are the special effects. However, without anything to support the FX, the movie blows. The humor (especially Jonathan's) is so forced at times. Oh, and the emperor - he was invincible when he was awaken; then he drank from the well of invincible water, and then he finally became invincible once more. A few seconds later, the good guys kill him. Darn. Oh, and the actress looked nice in her dresses. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AlexR.Aug 27, 2008
Basically if you've seen the first two Mummy movies and you have seen the commercial for it, you've basically already seen Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. Nothing new has been brought to the table, just too much of what we've Basically if you've seen the first two Mummy movies and you have seen the commercial for it, you've basically already seen Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. Nothing new has been brought to the table, just too much of what we've already seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeC.Aug 27, 2008
It had some redeeming qualities...but the ending was terrible. "soon after, mummies were found in Peru." if you saw the movie you know what I'm talking about. IMO this ruined the franchise.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JeremyAug 26, 2008
Literally sent me to sleep, extremely boring, avoid at all costs!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterK.Aug 23, 2008
Dreadful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuardCoreAug 21, 2008
This is the best mummy I've seen in my life. All those criticize the movie are sucks.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Aug 15, 2008
I'll admit it. I went into the theatre not expecting much from this film, and even then I was disappointed. As my mother and I left the theatre we didn't even talk about it. It just didn't have the same fun feeling that its I'll admit it. I went into the theatre not expecting much from this film, and even then I was disappointed. As my mother and I left the theatre we didn't even talk about it. It just didn't have the same fun feeling that its prequels had. I wanted to like it, I tried to like it, but I couldn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyAug 14, 2008
Another one bites the dust. One too many Mummies if you ask me. This one is over the top and kills the franchise. Next...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EdwardC.Aug 12, 2008
This movie was just ridiculous
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KerryAug 10, 2008
I fell asleep watching this movie. No kidding - it's that boring. If there was an original or interesting line, event or character in there, it escaped me. I want those 2 hours of my life back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyV.Aug 10, 2008
Really fun, similar in a lot of things to the first episodes. A great moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelJ.Aug 9, 2008
I was really disappointed by this movie. Seeing as I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, I thought that this one would be decent at least. Anyway, let me explain why I thought this movie was terrible. This movie is nothing like I was really disappointed by this movie. Seeing as I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, I thought that this one would be decent at least. Anyway, let me explain why I thought this movie was terrible. This movie is nothing like previous Mummy films. At least the first Mummy, which was excellent because it combined drama with comedy successfully and had a good storyline. This one does a horrible job of combining drama with comedy. Whenever the Mummy 3 tries to be funny, which is most of the time(there is a bad joke every 30 seconds), it fails miserably, you end up trying to figure out a reason to laugh but can't find one. Another thing was that the story was terrible, it felt boring and that it had no point(at one point in the movie I almost fell asleep from boredom). The action and effects are no good either. The creatures all look fake and are not convincing. The one thing that made me laugh was how fake the effects were. In my opinion, I think that the studio wanted to make big money and decided that a lot of people would go see this movie out of curiosity based on the success of the first two. Then pulled a story out of nowhere and made this catastrophe. All in all a disappointing movie that is only successful in boring its audience trying to be funny. The only funny thing is how bad this movie is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeAverageAug 9, 2008
I was able to see this film about a month ago in a preview screening and to put it in kind words, its terrible. Jet Li is about the only good thing about the film but he's hardly in it. Brendan Fraser was phoning in his performance and I was able to see this film about a month ago in a preview screening and to put it in kind words, its terrible. Jet Li is about the only good thing about the film but he's hardly in it. Brendan Fraser was phoning in his performance and looked if he was waiting from a call from his agent to get him out of the movie. Maria Bello looked goofy and miscast and the actor who plays their son makes Hayden Christensen from the Star Wars films look like an Oscar winner. John Hannah manages to bring some laughs to the table but his stick is not as fresh as it was before and Michelle Yeoh does not really do much with her role. This movie lacks the creepiness of the first two Mummy movies and the stone warriors of this movie don't hold a candle to the ghouls of the first two films at all. Not to mention the fact that the visual effects in this film look even worse than the second film(The Mummy Returns). The film itself seemed toned down in the fun and thrills department and just feels tired in certain scenes not to mention the dialogue, which seems like it was written by a five year old. This film seemed like a quick payday from all involved and sadly with the little effort spent in giving the audience something to root for and care for, its just feels like no one even cared about what they were making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisK.Aug 9, 2008
I was able to catch this movie at a test screening in California while i was on vacation and its not much of a film. Its the same story as the previous ones and most of the stuff in the movie were taken from them as well. I love Brendan I was able to catch this movie at a test screening in California while i was on vacation and its not much of a film. Its the same story as the previous ones and most of the stuff in the movie were taken from them as well. I love Brendan Fraser but he didn't look happy to be there and with how the story was set up, you can't blame him for looking miserable. He has no chemistry with Maria Bello, who was just awful (She's no Rachel Weisz, that's for damn sure.) and he has even less chemistry with his own son played by Luke Ford, who has the charisma and the charm of a brick, not to mention the fact that he looks just as old as both Fraser and Bello. Fraser has more chemistry with John Hannah, who is a welcome distraction from the lousiness of the film. The movie itself is just a flat headed mess of bad visual effects with no soul. Jet Li lacks the menacing presence of Arnold Vosloo from the previous films but that problem is more than less on the shoulders of the director, who was in my opinion more concern with the style of the film than any substance it could have had and because of that, Jet Li and most of the cast got the short end of the stick and it shows. They should have ended it with the second film but instead, we have a movie that manages to make even "The Scorpion King" look as good as Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KurisuD.Aug 9, 2008
Not a true Mummy movie, but as a general action-adventure flick I don't really have any complaints. Just go in with some popcorn; normal expectations; don't try and over analyze the movie; and you should be fine.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
VincentVDBAug 9, 2008
I really loved the first two movies and I was very excited when I heared the news they were working on a new part, but this... Why does the third episode always go Asian? (Pirates of the carribean 3) Pfff, it lacks all the good things the I really loved the first two movies and I was very excited when I heared the news they were working on a new part, but this... Why does the third episode always go Asian? (Pirates of the carribean 3) Pfff, it lacks all the good things the other episodes had. High budget and brilliant effects, but a story that was better off written by some toddlers... Very dissapointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrasG.Aug 8, 2008
This is a great way to destroy an excellent franchise. This is pure garbage!! This idiot who directed this abismal should never do anything in his life again. I came out of the conema almost crying. To me this has never happend!!! Abismall, This is a great way to destroy an excellent franchise. This is pure garbage!! This idiot who directed this abismal should never do anything in his life again. I came out of the conema almost crying. To me this has never happend!!! Abismall, terrible, idiotic, mindless garbage!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JGMAug 8, 2008
The most under-rated film of the summer, no classic this but delivers on every promise it makes. Most of the criticism seems to be that it isn't really a "Mummy" film in the scarabs-and-sand sense, and that's true (of course if it The most under-rated film of the summer, no classic this but delivers on every promise it makes. Most of the criticism seems to be that it isn't really a "Mummy" film in the scarabs-and-sand sense, and that's true (of course if it was the critics would carp that the franchise was stale), but as a stylized adventure flick M3 is easily the match of the overhyped and overpraised Indiana Jones 4 with the benefit of being 30 minutes shorter and less self-serious (though, in fairness IJ4 *does* have a mummy in it, sorry Ms. Allen). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeoAug 7, 2008
WARNING: Do not watch this movie!! watch the Dark night or something good maybe pineapple express this movie is terrible how does Brendan Frasier get work, being the B class.....wait D class actor he is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianC.Aug 6, 2008
They tried to recreate the same humorous courtship that happened with Rick & Evy from the first two movies, by using the Son and failed miserably. The characters all seemed out of place. Jet Li was the only worthwhile performance. The They tried to recreate the same humorous courtship that happened with Rick & Evy from the first two movies, by using the Son and failed miserably. The characters all seemed out of place. Jet Li was the only worthwhile performance. The Yeti's were like Jar Jar Binks or the Ewoks...completely unnecessary. It was painful to watch the characters trod through a bad script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeoffM.Aug 6, 2008
The editing is horrible, screen writer was definitely tunned the whole time ( not in the good way) , and the soundtrack was a complete miss. I wasted my money so you don't have to, seriously don't even rent this rubish when it comes out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMAug 5, 2008
This is about the most "meh" of a movie ive seen ALL SUMMER. The first Mummy film became an instant classic in my book.....its simply simply a classic "popcorn movie" with a certain charm that dosen't tarnish over the years (ive seen This is about the most "meh" of a movie ive seen ALL SUMMER. The first Mummy film became an instant classic in my book.....its simply simply a classic "popcorn movie" with a certain charm that dosen't tarnish over the years (ive seen the movie at least 100 times). The second Mummy film choked on its own extravagance trying to top the first film by adding 100s more effects shots that held the film back more than it helped.....in other words, the second Mummy movie pales in comparison to the first. This 3rd offerring......i just couldnt think of this as a film in the "The Mummy" franchise, it just didn't feel right. The action sequences are interesting.....but they are shot so quickly and edited so poorly its simply no fun to watch. The Yetis were.....neat.....and the whole field goal thing didn't bother nearly as much as the WHOLE FILM being a clutterred mess. Rick and Eveys characters seemed to be in the right place (Maria Bello did a.....decent job) but Ricks son Alex came off as annoying and his Chinese girlfriend didn't do so well either. Jonathon (John Hannah) gets NOTHING to do in this movie but sit their and look stupid.....and freak out when say.....an avalanche happens, and thats a shame.....i really enjoyed his character in the previous films, then again his character was written SO MUCH better in those films, here he is completely wasted. Its not a TOTAL loss.....but so close to it you may not even care, see with caution......either youll "kinda like it" or "hate it" completely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
IanOAug 4, 2008
This is the worst movie of the year to me the actors never went well with each other all in all it sucked in every thing . I say go see THE DARK KNIGHT,RIGHT NOW!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Aug 3, 2008
The Himalayas are in Nepal. The filmmaker doesn't provide a legend(i.e. Himalayan Mts, Nepal) for the geographically-challenged, nor does Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) say, "C'mon gang. We have to reach NEPAL before General The Himalayas are in Nepal. The filmmaker doesn't provide a legend(i.e. Himalayan Mts, Nepal) for the geographically-challenged, nor does Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) say, "C'mon gang. We have to reach NEPAL before General Han(Jet Li) utilizes the immortality pool which will infuse himself with eternal life and the power to shape-shift into a three-headed dragon," to his wife Eleanor(Maria Bello, who seems to be channeling Stephanie Powers: "Hart to Hart Goes to China"?), or son Alex(Luke Ford, who seems to be channeling a surfer dude from the future). Because of the times, some people, the geographically-challenged, may leave the cineplex thinking that the mythical Shangri-La lies in China. And exactly what are we supposed to make of this Chinese connection? Do you assess this change of scenery as a deft melding of revisionist folklore and cinematic traditions, or a shameless attempt to revive a franchise of dubious public acclaim by pouncing on a genre that the filmmaker knows has a built-in audience? This is a rhetorical question, of course, in which you can gauge my answer by the sarcastic tone of this blog entry. Unfortunately, the most memorable thing that Jet Li does in "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" is dissolve into mud before engulfing himself in flames. And then there's Michelle Yeoh. She so horny. Two-thousand years in a cave, Zi Juan waited for Ming Guo(Russell Wong), with her two-thousand-year-old daughter Lin(Isabella Leong), who talks to the snow animals. This movie seems to have been made for people who saw Ang Lee's "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", or any of the recent Zhang Yimou films, and thought to themselves with melancholic reflection: You know what this movie needed? A yeti. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeM.Aug 3, 2008
Replacing Rachael Weisz with Maria Bello really compromises the chemistry of this franchise. Half of the fun of the first two movies was watching the interplay of Brendan Fraser's character with Ms Weisz; Ms Bello and him have about as Replacing Rachael Weisz with Maria Bello really compromises the chemistry of this franchise. Half of the fun of the first two movies was watching the interplay of Brendan Fraser's character with Ms Weisz; Ms Bello and him have about as much chemistry as two dead fish. Once the movie gets going, about a third in, it starts to become enjoyable, as long as Ms. Bello isn't a primary focus. Fun, but could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlecB.Aug 3, 2008
The first two mummy films not being entirely great, but good enought to sit through the movie and walk out pleased with it. I was however dissapointed with this film. The story was as if the director told his 8 year old son to put a story The first two mummy films not being entirely great, but good enought to sit through the movie and walk out pleased with it. I was however dissapointed with this film. The story was as if the director told his 8 year old son to put a story together and hand it in. Brendan Fraiser wasnt as good, the chick who replaced Rachel Weisz as Evy was a terrible attribute to the film and the guy who played Alex was also terrible. Jet Li is the only character that played a decent part in the movie. RIP MUMMY SAGA. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonBAug 3, 2008
I really enjoyed the first two Mummy movies, but this one was terrible. If you came in halfway through the movie, you would be wondering if this was IJ4 or Mummy 3. Overall, save your money and Netfilx it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RG.Aug 3, 2008
Action franchises have a weird tendency of finding some horrible script and mindless director to set them to RIP. We saw it happen in the former batman sequence. And this Mummy movie is simply the best franchise killer I've ever seen. Action franchises have a weird tendency of finding some horrible script and mindless director to set them to RIP. We saw it happen in the former batman sequence. And this Mummy movie is simply the best franchise killer I've ever seen. The main charaters' personalities are simply ruined (Rick actually discusses marriage through some bad-sitcom lines and forgets to be, well, Rick), the (wanna-be) actress who play evy is just terrible, the secondary characters and villans all have no emotion. Well, apart from Jet Li, who puts up a decent performance. Plus, the lines are, almost entirely, composed of cheesy, beaten-up or absolutely-no-fun dialogues and the story poor with even worse conections to make sense in things. Bottomline, the once-reasonably fun action franchise is now defunct. Lets hope it stays that way, unlike its characters. (At least I took a couple naps during the movie, so it wasnt a total waste of time.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GraemeB.Aug 3, 2008
I was forced to go see this movie. Needless to say, I'm no longer friends with the people that dragged me there. This was a waste of my life. I tried really hard to care about this movie at the beginning, but it was just one cliche I was forced to go see this movie. Needless to say, I'm no longer friends with the people that dragged me there. This was a waste of my life. I tried really hard to care about this movie at the beginning, but it was just one cliche after another. When the Yetis showed up, I was done. I would say that the Yetis were a product of writers running out of ideas, but they had run out of ideas when they decided to make this movie. The only reason that I'm giving this movie any score at all is that it gave my friends and I something to laugh at. I would recommend this movie to no one; save your time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JahzonAug 3, 2008
Horrible script Horrible acting, very scary to think that a movie like this exist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
concretetesterAug 3, 2008
The story was good. The actors never jelled and the frantic action appeared pedestrian. Jet Li was subdued. Should have been a much better movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RulerInc.Aug 2, 2008
If the beginning of this movie wasn't so over done and trying to look so good it would have made the movie a TON better. For the fighting scenes in the movie they were well done and so were the very popular camera angles. The story line If the beginning of this movie wasn't so over done and trying to look so good it would have made the movie a TON better. For the fighting scenes in the movie they were well done and so were the very popular camera angles. The story line was interesting it could have had so much life and excitement to it. But I'm afraid that the beginning puts you in a state of mind that they are trying to over due it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertC.Aug 2, 2008
Amazing Special effects and the really big stuff happening makes this a great and highly solid and entertaining movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DannyC.Aug 2, 2008
It may not be scary, it may have to many effects, it may not make any sense why their calling this chinese emperor a mummy. All there is to say is that this movie is repetitive but sooooo entertaining. It's the most satisfying Mummy It may not be scary, it may have to many effects, it may not make any sense why their calling this chinese emperor a mummy. All there is to say is that this movie is repetitive but sooooo entertaining. It's the most satisfying Mummy movie yet. It looks much cooler, its big, exciting, and full of great action. It's not clunky, it's excellent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HDAddictsAug 2, 2008
Just got back from Mummy 3 and it was quite enjoyable. But it's definetly NOT Mummy 3, it's Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. This latest installment is very different from the previous 2 movies. Although awesome I found it very hard to Just got back from Mummy 3 and it was quite enjoyable. But it's definetly NOT Mummy 3, it's Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. This latest installment is very different from the previous 2 movies. Although awesome I found it very hard to get used to the China setting rather than Egypt. I think that's partially because of how many times I've seen 1 & 2 on DVD or on TV. Other than that it has its cheesy moments just like the first 2, perhaps a little more. The CG is great and it has some unique FX. As far as Bello replacing Weisz (sp?), I actually noticed it more than I thought I would. But it didn't really come across as replacing.......she was almost like a different character. Not saying Maria Bello's performance wasn't good, but besides the english accent she seemed different. It almost would have been better to have some backstory of Evelyn and Rick divorcing with Bello being the new wife. Once again this opinion stems from the shear amount of times Mummy 1 and 2 have been viewed. Other than that it was an entertaining popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HastyManicAug 2, 2008
This falls neatly under the category of 'big loud dumb fun.' While it is completely unmemorable, the film, in spite of itself, has a mild charm about it and some amusing dialogue and action to offset the general mediocrity of the This falls neatly under the category of 'big loud dumb fun.' While it is completely unmemorable, the film, in spite of itself, has a mild charm about it and some amusing dialogue and action to offset the general mediocrity of the proceedings. I must say, however, that Jet Li's villian has to be one of the most impotent of bad dudes in a big commercial film in as long as I can remember. OK entertainment and a decent distraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
kevinl.Aug 2, 2008
Such a poor film it will leave you pondering which was better... battlefield earth or this piece of garbage?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JessfEAug 1, 2008
It was OK. It was much like "IJ4" in all respects. The kids will like it for it has non stop action for about one hour or so and although many of the gags fall flat a few of them do work. So if your looking for a mild diversion and lots of It was OK. It was much like "IJ4" in all respects. The kids will like it for it has non stop action for about one hour or so and although many of the gags fall flat a few of them do work. So if your looking for a mild diversion and lots of action sequences this is the ticket for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LouisH.Aug 1, 2008
I give it a seven because it was as fun as the rest of the mummy series, but also the worst one of them. I mean, what happened to Rachel Weis as Evy? Thats like terminator without Arnold Shwarzanagger! And, although its a new twist, it takes I give it a seven because it was as fun as the rest of the mummy series, but also the worst one of them. I mean, what happened to Rachel Weis as Evy? Thats like terminator without Arnold Shwarzanagger! And, although its a new twist, it takes place in China, not egypt, and the jokes were'nt so funny. On the lighter side, still fun, still exciting, hot chicks, and great FX as usual. Definently a seven. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CamilleAug 1, 2008
This is honestly one of the worst movies I've seen in a really long time. Typically, I would enjoy a movie like this; even if the premise is silly, I'll like it if it's told and acted well. Unfortunately, this had a terrible This is honestly one of the worst movies I've seen in a really long time. Typically, I would enjoy a movie like this; even if the premise is silly, I'll like it if it's told and acted well. Unfortunately, this had a terrible story, terrible character development, terrible pacing, and terrible acting. This movie had everything working against it. It's almost as if they had a whole epic film written about China and the Emperor and then decided to throw the The Mummy characters in it for the hell of it. I suppose if your a huge Mummy fan or big Brendan Frasier fan, you'll at least be pleased seeing him and the franchise on the big screen again. But to everyone else, I'd say avoid at all cost. Don't even bother renting it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesL.Aug 1, 2008
Dang i afraid this will tear off the franchise. Because it has weak story, flaw of casting of Mario Bello, and opposed of two Egyptian movies for the previous series. This got to be the worse of the mummy series ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulL.Aug 1, 2008
it sucked. Why, because the flaws of CGI, casting of Maria Bello, and bad storyline. This will kill off the whole mummy franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanD.Aug 1, 2008
Dumb fun, but still fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnJul 31, 2008
Surprisingly not as bad as what the critics would make you believe. Go in with low expectations and you might have a little fun with it. The whole franchise is mindless popcorn trite so keep that in mind before you go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesCoolJul 30, 2008
Bad directing, bad dialouge, and hammy acting make this movie's predecessors look like The Godfather Part 1 and 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShenY.Jul 30, 2008
Looked pretty good to me. It would have been way too tired as another movie set in Egypt. And mummies are all over the world, people. Go to a library.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.Jul 29, 2008
A really cool movie. Some people have decided to work up a hatred for this film, but they haven't seen it-I have. And it's a LOT of fun. The fight scene between Fraser and Li is like a snake fighting a mongoose. And the visual A really cool movie. Some people have decided to work up a hatred for this film, but they haven't seen it-I have. And it's a LOT of fun. The fight scene between Fraser and Li is like a snake fighting a mongoose. And the visual effects make the effects in the first two look like an old Bruce Campbel movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DahvidR.Jul 29, 2008
The best action movie I've seen in a long time. The new cast members are top notch-they really didn't cheap out. A bit more sober than the other two, but retains the charm found in the previous Mummy movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jul 29, 2008
Really good movie. I came out very pleasantly surprised.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WylieM.Jul 29, 2008
Wow. Surprisingly awesome. Best action flick of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleC.Jul 29, 2008
Exactly what this franchise needed. It's the sequel that should have happened the last time around 7 years ago. It's fresh, it's fun, a tad darker than the others, and brings a LOT of new material to the trailer. This is NOT a Exactly what this franchise needed. It's the sequel that should have happened the last time around 7 years ago. It's fresh, it's fun, a tad darker than the others, and brings a LOT of new material to the trailer. This is NOT a movie made for a quick buck. I was very impressed after the sneak preview. Rob Cohen has succeeded with TOTDR where Spielberg failed with Indiana Jones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful