Lionsgate | Release Date: November 19, 2010
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 170 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
119
Mixed:
42
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
WarEagleMar 9, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised by this film (and that doesn't happen often). There was less action than I was expecting, and while it started slow, about halfway through I was leaning forward in suspense. I had watched "The Town" recentlyI was pleasantly surprised by this film (and that doesn't happen often). There was less action than I was expecting, and while it started slow, about halfway through I was leaning forward in suspense. I had watched "The Town" recently (which I also liked), and compare this movie favorably to that film. The action was low-key, the drama was taut, and I was drawn in and started caring about the characters. I was actually a bit sad that the film ended without giving me a bit of an epilogue. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MG1595Jan 4, 2011
Great movie, I used to think Rolling Stone magazine was for old people, now I definitely think that.

I think the movie is really good cause among it, you do nothing but crapping yourself..
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
PanichellaNov 29, 2010
Great movie. Haggis does a wonderful job at intertwining the intricate plot. Lots going on...I'm sure it wasn't easy. Also, if you have any history with the city of Pittsburgh, this movie is a must see. The views of the city andGreat movie. Haggis does a wonderful job at intertwining the intricate plot. Lots going on...I'm sure it wasn't easy. Also, if you have any history with the city of Pittsburgh, this movie is a must see. The views of the city and southwestern PA are beautiful. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
drpinstripeMar 12, 2011
I had no expectations upon watching this movie, so it could've gone either way for me. But I was pleasantly surprised with the level of emotion, thoughtfulness, and suspense throughout the film. Some elements of the plot are less thanI had no expectations upon watching this movie, so it could've gone either way for me. But I was pleasantly surprised with the level of emotion, thoughtfulness, and suspense throughout the film. Some elements of the plot are less than believable, but I was willing to buy into them because my affection for the characters made me want to. If I had been expecting an action-driven heist movie, then I might have been disappointed. What I found instead was a complex and thrilling romance, and I liked it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GamesAndMoviesApr 26, 2011
This was an Excellent Movie that should be much higher than it actually is rated. The acting, story, plot, everything was great! The whole everything was very well done and made lots of sense and was good. WATCH THIS MOVIE
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
gleenoblyMay 22, 2011
A+ for eerie darkness.
A+ for the cast.
B for the plot. D for diabolical shiveries. So what do you do in the face of danger? What do you do when your options are low and good enough isn't good enough? Possible answers exist in this movie
A+ for eerie darkness.
A+ for the cast.
B for the plot.
D for diabolical shiveries.

So what do you do in the face of danger? What do you do when your options are low and good enough isn't good enough? Possible answers exist in this movie about a family whose life takes a turn for the worst when the mother gets charged for murder. I'm loving the level of darkness and suspense. Really makes you question life, the good and bad things that happen to you, and how you handle it. The movie left me feeling mostly satisfied. Though, still.. felt a little empty. Like still dealing with the aftermath of how to really take in what I just witnessed. All-in-all, it is rare for me to not be able to guess the ending, so that's a plus for the movie makers. I wouldn't mind seeing an alternate ending. And I would love to see a sequel. Gain closure and more positivity. I love the cast. I cannot think of a single Russell Crowe movie that I do not like, except for maybe Beautiful Mind. Elizabeth Banks - not her typical role, she did a great job though. She's one of my favorite actresses. I also enjoyed seeing Liam Neeson & Olivia Wilde and that d00d Michael from Jericho, and the guy from Ultimate Gift.

This movie reminds me of the McStay family (they went missing in California a year or 2 ago). And all the other people who have to go through tough situations such as this in real life. I pray that they can all receive the justice they deserve.

Now go see a comedy after you watch this movie. You'll need it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KingmushMar 27, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/next-three-days.html

I first saw the trailer for this movie a few months ago and was interested. Fast forward to when it actually came out and I kept hearing mediocre reviews so I didn't go see it.
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/next-three-days.html

I first saw the trailer for this movie a few months ago and was interested. Fast forward to when it actually came out and I kept hearing mediocre reviews so I didn't go see it. Fast forward again to today when I was bored and decided to watch it. I was not disappointed.

This may stem though from my obsession with bank robbery and prison break movies. Which brings me to the plot. This movie is about a husband who's wife is arrested for murder and put in a maximum security prison which leaves him and his six year old kid to fend for themselves. After his wife's suicide attempt he is determined to break her out. The rest of the movie is his plans and plots and eventual attempt to get her out.

I thought this movie was well thought out and very smart. No loose end was left untied, all his ideas were real things and he had every aspect of his plan planned out in excruciating detail, almost to the point where I feel that if I had to break out my wife I could.

Overall I thought it was a great prison break movie although that's pretty much all it was. There was bits and pieces of a moral (as seen on the poster) about how you have to loose yourself in order to save what you love. Which is true but kind of obvious and overdone. Still good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jimbot21Jun 16, 2011
I understand others opinions but I feel I look past all the negative. I really liked this film. It was unbelievebly gripping, every scene had me rooting for Brennan. The story was good. I liked the characters. Each little scene and detail hadI understand others opinions but I feel I look past all the negative. I really liked this film. It was unbelievebly gripping, every scene had me rooting for Brennan. The story was good. I liked the characters. Each little scene and detail had a meaning some small some big. But this film brought so much more than action to the table. It showed Desire, Despiration and Love aswell. I thorougly enjoyed this film. Highly reccomend. Worth the Watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jmeffvaNov 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was both exciting and kept me interested throughout. I was constantly trying to solve the puzzles presented and they were all explained before the credits rolled. Russell Crowe was very believable and everything made sense. I found this very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sle0609Apr 22, 2011
fairly well told prison break movie. it does a great job at surprising you with many plot twists. you never really sure what the jailbreak plan is or if it will succeed. the characters and acting is fairly believable as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuFeb 5, 2013
The Next Three Days is a very enjoyable thriller. It features good performances and a crack-a-jack climax. It'll never win any awards or anything but The Next Three Days is superior entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OverworlderJul 2, 2011
A highly underrated movie; it's been a long time since I cared so much about characters in a movie. To be sure, it's not your standard run-and-gun popcorn flick. This one takes just a little bit of work to get invested, but once you manage toA highly underrated movie; it's been a long time since I cared so much about characters in a movie. To be sure, it's not your standard run-and-gun popcorn flick. This one takes just a little bit of work to get invested, but once you manage to stick yourself in the main character's shoes it's absolutely worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aryanruleMar 26, 2011
9 only because of reality factor. in my opinion its more fantasy movie, but ok, maybe it could be achieved in real life, but with **** load of luck. so...anyhow, great tension movie, excellent story and fine acting...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dfwforeignMay 4, 2011
Lara Brennan (Banks) is convicted of murdering her boss after an altercation at work. Following the failure of her appeal, Lara's husband John Brennan (Crowe), a professor at a community college, becomes obsessed with the idea of breaking herLara Brennan (Banks) is convicted of murdering her boss after an altercation at work. Following the failure of her appeal, Lara's husband John Brennan (Crowe), a professor at a community college, becomes obsessed with the idea of breaking her out of jail. I went into watching the movie not know a whole lot about the movie except that I tend to like most thrillers. This one is kind of long 2 hrs 20 minutes. Its slightly slow for a thriller till the last half hour. Really I thought the entire movie beautifully filmed and constructed except for the slowness. Of course the plot is not very plausible but what they heck do you expect from a thriller --there has to be some suspension of belief on the part of the viewer. Haggis is remaking a 2008 French film titled "Anything for Her," I did not see it (not out here on DVD yet) . I think the film is much better than the 50 % assigned to it on Rotten Tomatoes. I read a lot thrillers in book format and this is a completely acceptable thriller on film--but still a TAD slow. This film did not stay in the theaters long but it did gross $51 mil world wide and then straight to DVD. If you like mystery thriller genre watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CGH13Mar 10, 2011
Wow! Seamless, totally believable, thrilling, and just beautiful. Really enjoyed this film and would recommend it to most everyone. Wish we had more films like it. I am SO delighted I saw it on the big screen.

Moving performances by all
Wow! Seamless, totally believable, thrilling, and just beautiful. Really enjoyed this film and would recommend it to most everyone. Wish we had more films like it. I am SO delighted I saw it on the big screen.

Moving performances by all three: Russell Crowe, Elizabeth Banks, and Brian Dennehy (who really was a standout). I was just SURE Dennehy would get an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor for his performance. Several critics mentioned it. I hate it that the Academy only seems to nominate films based on true stories or animated films. Very little else seems to get any attention from them. And this was an incredible film. Great character development, all-but-perfect film edits and direction, and a moving story. Bravo!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How far would you go if your wife was wrongfully accused, charged and serving life in prison for a murder she didnâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Jan 14, 2013
If your just looking for an action fast paced movie. This will not b.e a good movie for you. I think this movie was good in it`s own way. Kind of slow at first but I liked the ending and story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Feb 20, 2015
No matter how many times you roll your eyes and shout "There's no way!" at your television screen, you still end up appreciating Paul Haggis' earnest "The Next Three Days," an appropriate nod to classic man-on-the-run films like "TheNo matter how many times you roll your eyes and shout "There's no way!" at your television screen, you still end up appreciating Paul Haggis' earnest "The Next Three Days," an appropriate nod to classic man-on-the-run films like "The Fugitive" and even "North By Northwest." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WriteFilmLive21Jan 6, 2013
"The Next Three Days" is a surprisingly powerful and emotionally gripping thriller. The performances are all fantastic, especially from the two leads, and the chemistry between the characters and the raw heart put into their moments together"The Next Three Days" is a surprisingly powerful and emotionally gripping thriller. The performances are all fantastic, especially from the two leads, and the chemistry between the characters and the raw heart put into their moments together gives the gradually-building suspense and action a hefty emotional tension. It's a completely engrossing movie beginning to end, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching every minute of it. Great, great entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Movie1997Apr 27, 2013
It's a stylish thriller of a man's wife who is accused of murder. The beginning of the movie was exciting to watch. Even though it was early into the movie, it really kept you on the edge of your seat. But once the wife does get thrown inIt's a stylish thriller of a man's wife who is accused of murder. The beginning of the movie was exciting to watch. Even though it was early into the movie, it really kept you on the edge of your seat. But once the wife does get thrown in jail, the middle part of the movie tends to stretch and get a little boring. Yet once you start getting closer to the big finale of the movie, that's when you know it starts to boost up the story and starts becoming more and more intense in storytelling. But by the finale of the movie just becomes better than expected. As far as acting goes, it's Russell Crowe (John) who steals the show with his great performance (like usual). It was also nice to see Elizabeth Banks (Lara) take on this type of role. She's usually known for being in other comedies with Paul Rudd. But taking the role of a convicted mother was utterly winning to watch. The reason I give it a 7 is mostly because of the slowness of pace during the middle part of the movie. But overall, it's an interesting and stylish thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMar 8, 2014
A very good suspenseful, thrilling drama with good performances by the two leads, The Next Three Days is engrossing as well as being a worthy edition to the genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammurphy66Jul 22, 2014
The Next Three Days is spectacularly underrated - not only does it boast one of Crowe's best performances, but emotionally envelopes you to the point where you feel the characters pain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Phil_T_123May 23, 2016
Russell Crowe's wife, Elizabeth Banks, gets arrested for a murder she claims not to have committed. After the appeals fail, Russell decides that he's going to break her out himself.

What follows is a well-paced, taught and tight thriller.
Russell Crowe's wife, Elizabeth Banks, gets arrested for a murder she claims not to have committed. After the appeals fail, Russell decides that he's going to break her out himself.

What follows is a well-paced, taught and tight thriller. One of those old school thrillers that wasn't basically just an action film (although there is a decent amount).

Both the leads do a great job and the film stays interesting and/or exciting the whole way through. The soundtrack is great, particularly the songs by Moby.

If I had to pick faults then I think the ending wraps things up too cleanly and the did-she-didn't-she-do-it is under-used in the plot. Also, The Next Three Days themselves cause a minor scheduling bump, and don't really seem significant enough to become titular.

I would say that this film is a perfect evening thriller, so get the popcorn out and enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews