The Notebook

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 355 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 355
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    The most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story linesThe most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story lines ever. Just because a story happened in the past doesn't mean it isn't straightforward. I guessed the so called twist within the first 5 minutes (seriously that is not an exaggeration). Towards the end it gets a bit stronger and I can understand why fans call it the most emotional ending to any movie ever. To be honest The Notebook is not worth watching and is nowhere near as good as most say it is. Thank god the critics have more sense than the general public. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    4
    Only one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is a good try but a love story should be coherent
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    The director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win a prize. The movie is phony and generic.
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    4
    Chick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purelyChick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purely for girls, and particularly girls who don't give a crap about how contrived the story is. Was forced to watch this in my psychology class because it deals with memory. Needless to say, I didn't like it. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    Gosling is great. He shows a variety of strong emotions, while still keeping his cool. It's the rest of the cast the overact and rip The Notebook to shreds.
  6. May 21, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half hour was boring, only after halfway was mildly entertaining. However, I did loudly cry and yell at my screen at the end. Sad, but ultimately boring and, for me, just didn't live up to the hype. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Mar 3, 2005
    4
    I firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would have something to do. Unfortunately, this tepid love story of a man and a woman with no chemistry failed to moisten my eyes. And I'm a girl. I guessI firmly believe that all of those people voting are the same Ryan Gosling-loving fangirl with too much time on her hands. This movie was boring, from start to finish. I wished for it to be sad enough to make me cry, just so that I would have something to do. Unfortunately, this tepid love story of a man and a woman with no chemistry failed to moisten my eyes. And I'm a girl. I guess I'm just too hardcore. Expand
  8. MarkB.
    Jul 2, 2004
    5
    Ironically, this mildly pleasant-if-predictable World War II romance is being touted as one of this summer's few adult offerings, when it reminded me of nothing more than one of those overheated Sandra Dee-Troy Donahue potboilers that the too-young-to-vote-for-Kennedy-or-Nixon crowd used to steam up their car windows at the drive-in while partially watching. Main difference is that Ironically, this mildly pleasant-if-predictable World War II romance is being touted as one of this summer's few adult offerings, when it reminded me of nothing more than one of those overheated Sandra Dee-Troy Donahue potboilers that the too-young-to-vote-for-Kennedy-or-Nixon crowd used to steam up their car windows at the drive-in while partially watching. Main difference is that Ryan Gosling's facial hair, Rachel McAdam's dimples, and both of their combined (and considerable) charm easily trumps Sandy's blondness and Troy's blandness. Best of all is the great Joan Allen as a manipulative mom; having seen the trailer, I was fully prepared to be disappointed by the one-dimensionality of her role, but I underestimated one of my favorite actresses: she brings all kinds of nuances to the table (note her character's happy little bounces during a bridal shower) and her scene in which she reveals her own desires and longings is by far the best in the movie. Unfortunately, there's also a parallel love story featuring Gena Rowlands and James Garner that leads to a so-called surprise twist that...well, let's just say that it won't be causing M. Night Shyamalyan any sleepless night soon; if you think you've figured it out in the first 20 minutes, chances are you're right. Worse, it exploits a tragic medical condition (which has coincidentally received a lot of attention in the news lately) offensively; the fact that Rowlands and Garner are old pros who do what they're asked (Rowlands by her director son!!!) in a very effective manner doesn't remove the slightly dirty feeling I had watching them, or lift this above the level of what I'm sure at least one studio exec or Variety columnist would call a "sobsploitation film". In short, women...if you insist on dragging your significant other to see this all-too-typical "chick flick", don't blame him if he understandably insists that you sit through 5 Jean-Claude Van Damme epics to seal the deal! Expand
  9. AndyP.
    Feb 23, 2006
    4
    Ryan Gosling is perhaps the worst actor out there working today. Yes, even worse than Orlando Bloom.
  10. AlL
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    [***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or something. Instead, they just go home. I expected Noah to get maimed in the war, he merely comes home a *little* bit less jovial. I expected [***SPOILERS***] Goes through the romance movie playbook page-by-page. The only thing that surprised me in this movie was the distinct lack of tragedy throughout. I expected the rich girl's parents to have Noah destroyed, or jailed, or something. Instead, they just go home. I expected Noah to get maimed in the war, he merely comes home a *little* bit less jovial. I expected Allie's perfect beau to cheat on her, I thought she might develop a drinking problem, or that he would at least go after Noah with a shotgun, ANYTHING! Nope, everyone in this movie is the nicest person in the world, and nothing in their world ever goes sour. Allie is so mawkishly dishy and nice that Noah's war-widow bit-on-the-side steps gracefully aside sighing 'gosh, but she's just wooonderful!' Fellahs, your lady will love this film. But, be warned, a man who will literally wither and die without them is NOT what women want- it's what they want to want. A wise man once said 'Man who put woman on pedestal, rarely knock her off.' Expand
  11. BobA.
    Jan 17, 2006
    4
    Knows what every adolescent and teenage girl wants to see --and delivers it. That makes it a good product, but a pretty boring movie.
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Well, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance, someone mentions the conversation: "You like it? Have you seen The Notebook?" The story is too beautiful and the romantic cliches are all thereWell, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance, someone mentions the conversation: "You like it? Have you seen The Notebook?" The story is too beautiful and the romantic cliches are all there (thankfully) because the novel is to be romantic, it is to have remarkable dialogues, is to have beautiful scenes, etc.. Not to mention how I cried during the 2-hour movie, it seems that nothing else matters but the happiness of two characters on television. It's over, and and I was still crying ten minutes more, nor could he comment on the scenes without thrill me again ... ahahah (I'm hopeless, I know). Those who like novels, have to see The Notebook (it took me to see, because I'm stupid). I have a list of novels to watch (or read), but I better take a break, because life without these cinematographic, would be depressing! Expand
  13. Jun 1, 2015
    6
    I rated it with 6 stars but I think I deserved only 4; I think the flashback is good but only when you do it well, so I suggest you to start with the family picture at the garden of the hospital when they told The father that there is no hope and also ask him to back home, or the death of the two. then back with the story teller.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mercilessly plodding pacing, problematic character motivations and a fundamental lack of chemistry between the two star-crossed lovers in question don't do a lot to help its cause.
  2. 25
    I have the same allergic reaction to this open faucet of tear-jerking swill as I do to the 1996 Nicholas Sparks novel that inspired it.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    A determined and often affecting romance that doesn't speak down to audiences.