User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 239

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    The most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story linesThe most famous thing about The Notebook is probably how it is universally hated by men but loved by women. I don't hate it, but it is definitely weak and overrated. The performances are good, especially from Ryan Gosling who luckily is now picking much better projects to work on. But the plot is predictable and cliched, despite many claiming it is one of the most original story lines ever. Just because a story happened in the past doesn't mean it isn't straightforward. I guessed the so called twist within the first 5 minutes (seriously that is not an exaggeration). Towards the end it gets a bit stronger and I can understand why fans call it the most emotional ending to any movie ever. To be honest The Notebook is not worth watching and is nowhere near as good as most say it is. Thank god the critics have more sense than the general public. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I recommend this movie to many people. Because it is very nice and moved story. This is about love story. The main character is old man who loves one old woman. In the last scene, you must be cry. It is famous movie in America. I love this story!
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    4
    Only one word describe this movie, nonsense, most of the elements of this movie simply have no sense, the ambientation is ok, but if you analize it you will realize that most of the things that happen, are simply stupid or exaggerated, is a good try but a love story should be coherent
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    I can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, but delightful just the same, and I like the performances. Still, the story is not truly original, but it has good moments and all the elements together makeI can see why many people like it. Especially girls. I am myself a female spectator, yet, although I truly enjoyed, I don't find it as good as most people here seem to find it. The story is certainly beautiful, at times predictable, but delightful just the same, and I like the performances. Still, the story is not truly original, but it has good moments and all the elements together make this movie special, not an easy movie to forget. For what it is, however...is over the average, but not much more. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    The director seemed to do everything in his power to make this the most over dramatic romantic movie ever. Its as if he were trying to win a prize. The movie is phony and generic.
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    Gosling is great. He shows a variety of strong emotions, while still keeping his cool. It's the rest of the cast the overact and rip The Notebook to shreds.
  7. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    Really, quite good and touching. Somewhat predictable and frustrating at times, overall a good watch. At some parts, it was rather boring, but nothing to complain about profusely.
  8. Jun 5, 2013
    4
    Chick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purelyChick flick alert. This movie is just another sappy love story. If I didn't have to rate it as a critic and just gave what I think about it as a score instead of being fair, its score would be even lower. I have to give credit to the actors, because you can tell they tried their best, and one of the scenes with the old people is kinda sad, (not the ending). But this one is made purely for girls, and particularly girls who don't give a crap about how contrived the story is. Was forced to watch this in my psychology class because it deals with memory. Needless to say, I didn't like it. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon to guess how the story is going to play out. And it does unapologetically play on your emotions, practically begging you to squeeze out a few tears. ButI’ve heard people refer to “The Notebook” as cheesy, as a ‘chick flick’ (a label very few of my colleagues can stand because of its negative connotation), as predictable and sappy. So “The Notebook” doesn’t exactly take a brain surgeon to guess how the story is going to play out. And it does unapologetically play on your emotions, practically begging you to squeeze out a few tears. But here’s why I enjoyed “The Notebook”: it’s a movie you can relax and let flow over you. It’s also one of the few films out there that tells a complete story. There’s a well-defined beginning, middle, and end. “The Notebook” is a gentle romantic tale in the midst of blockbuster action films and goofball comedies. It could be argued that releasing it in mid-June is counter-programming at its best, giving adults who don’t want their senses assailed by CGI special effects a real choice at the box office. But you have to wonder if “The Notebook” would have stood a better chance of finding the right audience had it been released later in the year, when moviegoers are really ready for more intense storytelling, than during the crowded summer months. The Notebook” isn’t just a film for women. It’s a movie for anyone who wants to get lost in a beautiful story, for anyone who believes romance is still alive on film. Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    The first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch it because he said the second time he saw it he realized that you have to be very very much in love to enjoy it. He was right. I think this movie speaks toThe first time I saw this film I hated it. The second time I saw it I hated it. The third time I saw it I loved it. I'm not sure how I ended up watching a movie I hated so many times, but the third time my husband-to-be told me to watch it because he said the second time he saw it he realized that you have to be very very much in love to enjoy it. He was right. I think this movie speaks to our romantic fantasies. I just never had any romantic fantasies to compare it to until they happened to me in real life. This movie is wonderful if A) You are a hopeless romantic or B) You are that in love with someone yourself. I think how good it is is all about whether you can relate to the feelings of the characters. Expand
  11. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Well, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance, someone mentions the conversation: "You like it? Have you seen The Notebook?" The story is too beautiful and the romantic cliches are all thereWell, I am one of those romantic ... and I much prefer a romance to a romantic comedy (anytime!) then, so was predisposed to like the movie. Of course I heard much about it because it is the typical movie that when people talk about romance, someone mentions the conversation: "You like it? Have you seen The Notebook?" The story is too beautiful and the romantic cliches are all there (thankfully) because the novel is to be romantic, it is to have remarkable dialogues, is to have beautiful scenes, etc.. Not to mention how I cried during the 2-hour movie, it seems that nothing else matters but the happiness of two characters on television. It's over, and and I was still crying ten minutes more, nor could he comment on the scenes without thrill me again ... ahahah (I'm hopeless, I know). Those who like novels, have to see The Notebook (it took me to see, because I'm stupid). I have a list of novels to watch (or read), but I better take a break, because life without these cinematographic, would be depressing! Expand
  12. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    The Notebook is surprisingly a sincere film that draws you into the characters and makes them believable most of the time. The connection between Ryan Gosling and Rachael McAdam's is fantastic even when they both go a little overboard in some parts.
  13. Apr 23, 2014
    7
    "Racheal McAdam's performance in notebook was just boring and well played"................................................................................................
  14. May 21, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half hour was boring, only after halfway was mildly entertaining. However, I did loudly cry and yell at my screen at the end. Sad, but ultimately boring and, for me, just didn't live up to the hype. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mercilessly plodding pacing, problematic character motivations and a fundamental lack of chemistry between the two star-crossed lovers in question don't do a lot to help its cause.
  2. 25
    I have the same allergic reaction to this open faucet of tear-jerking swill as I do to the 1996 Nicholas Sparks novel that inspired it.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    A determined and often affecting romance that doesn't speak down to audiences.